造福人类、自然和经济的海洋解决方案

“造福人类、自然和经济的海洋解决方案”是可持续海洋经济高级别小组委托编写的一份报告,由 SYSTEMIQ 和海洋专家组联合主席于 2020 年 12 月撰写。它旨在创建一个新的叙述,与雄心勃勃且可行的行动议程相结合,通过绘制 [...]

海洋和海洋经济国民核算

本文提出了国家海洋核算的四项原则,并讨论了测量和评估海洋资产及其兴衰的方法。该文件为实施已经商定的统计标准和海洋国民核算的新创新铺平了道路,使国民核算成为创建[...]的更有用的工具

海洋可再生能源和深海矿物在可持续未来中的作用是什么?

本文探讨了海洋能源如何以及在多大程度上有助于气候议程和可持续发展目标 7(负担得起的清洁能源)的实现,包括确定新的解决方案及其潜在影响,以及解决相关的安全和环境问题.此外,本文还讨论了绿色技术的当前发展 […]

非法、未报告和不受管制的捕捞活动及相关驱动因素

通过审视需要改革的广泛领域,本蓝皮书提出了解决 IUU 捕捞问题的方法,包括实施《港口国措施协议》的最佳做法和其他防止 IUU 渔获物进入市场的方法。它还讨论了推广打击 IUU 捕鱼技术的方法,[…]

可持续管理海洋资源的技术、数据和新模式

本文探讨了现有的和突破性的技术,例如无人机、人工智能和区块链,以及它们对海洋管理和提高对生态系统和人类与海洋互动的理解所带来的相关挑战和可能性。它还探索了可能刺激对海洋数据的需求的潜在市场以及公共和私人参与者可以 [...]

来自海洋的食物的未来

本文探讨了在区域和全球范围内通过渔业和水产养殖进行粮食生产的现状和未来趋势、海洋食品在实现可持续发展目标 2(零饥饿)方面的机会,以及如何克服当前障碍以过渡到更多的建议。来自海洋的可持续和丰富的粮食生产。 '[…] 的未来

海洋作为气候变化的解决方案:五个行动机会

气候变化对海洋健康以及实现繁荣和可持续的海洋经济构成严重风险。酸化和海洋温度上升正在对渔业和旅游业等重要行业以及沿海人口的福祉产生负面影响。迫切需要减少温室气体排放和 […]

back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow

Opportunities for Transforming Coastal and Marine Tourism: Towards Sustainability, Regeneration and Resilience

In December 2020, the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy (Ocean Panel) released its ‘Transformations for a Sustainable Ocean Economy: A Vision for Protection, Production and Prosperity’. One of the pillars of action within this ambitious roadmap for a sustainable ocean economy was for sustainable ocean-based tourism, establishing the goal that by 2030 […]

Ocean Solutions that Benefit People, Nature and the Economy

‘Ocean Solutions that Benefit People, Nature and the Economy’ is a report commissioned by the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy and written by SYSTEMIQ and the Ocean Panel Expert Group co-chairs in December 2020. It sets out to create a new narrative, paired with an ambitious and feasible action agenda, by drawing […]

National Accounting for the Ocean and Ocean Economy

This paper offers four principles for national ocean accounting and discusses methods for measuring and valuing ocean assets and their rise and decline. The paper paves the way to implement already-agreed statistical standards and new innovations in national accounting for the ocean, enabling the national accounts to become a more useful tool for creating a […]

What Role for Ocean-Based Renewable Energy and Deep-Seabed Minerals in a Sustainable Future?

This paper examines how and to what degree energy from the ocean can contribute to the climate agenda and achievement of Sustainable Development Goal 7 (Affordable and Clean Energy), including identifying new solutions and their potential impact, as well as addressing related safety and environmental concerns. Additionally, the paper discusses current developments in green technology […]

Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated Fishing and Associated Drivers

By looking at the breadth of areas in need of reform, this Blue Paper lays out a methodology for addressing IUU fishing, including best practices for implementing the Port State Measures Agreement and other means to prevent IUU fishing catches from entering the market. It also discusses ways to promote technologies for combating IUU fishing, […]

Technology, Data and New Models for Sustainably Managing Ocean Resources

This paper examines existing and breakthrough technologies, such as drones, artificial intelligence and blockchains, and the associated challenges and possibilities they pose for ocean management and improving understanding of ecosystems and human interactions with the ocean. It also explores potential markets that could stimulate demand for ocean data and ways public and private players can […]

The Future of Food from the Sea

This paper considers the status and future trends of food production through fisheries and aquaculture at regional and global scales, the opportunities of ocean-based food in achieving SDG 2 (Zero Hunger), and recommendations for how current barriers might be overcome to transition to more sustainable and abundant food production from the ocean. ‘The Future of […]

The Ocean as a Solution to Climate Change: Five Opportunities for Action

Climate change poses stark risks to the health of the ocean and to the realisation of a prosperous and sustainable ocean economy. Acidification and rising ocean temperatures are negatively impacting important industries such as fishing and tourism, as well as the well-being of coastal populations. There is an urgent need to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and […]

back to top