造福人类、自然和经济的海洋解决方案

说明可持续的海洋经济如何, 保护、生产繁荣 携手并进,才能打造健康海洋,为全球挑战提供解决方案。

完整报告
概括
报告一览
人、自然和经济的三赢:有效保护、可持续生产和公平繁荣。

“造福人类、自然和经济的海洋解决方案”是可持续海洋经济高级别小组委托编写的一份报告,由 SYSTEMIQ 和海洋专家组联合主席于 2020 年 12 月撰写。

它通过借鉴最新的科学研究和分析,包括来自海洋专家组先前委托的 19 篇论文的见解,着手创建一个新的叙述,并结合雄心勃勃和可行的行动议程。

该报告详细介绍了如何实现可持续的海洋经济,让人们拥有更多机会和更好的健康,自然繁荣,资源分配更公平。

人类福祉与海洋健康息息相关

数十亿人与海洋有着个人联系,海洋在地球上所有居民的日常生活中发挥着至关重要的作用。

海洋通过提供地球一半的氧气使生命成为可能,每年为全球经济贡献超过 $1.5 万亿美元。海洋中发生的事情不仅影响斐济的渔民,还影响津巴布韦的农民,他们的进口工具可能乘坐集装箱船运往非洲,他们的空气质量和气候也受到海洋中发生的事情的影响。

对于沿海人口来说,海洋不仅是食物和生计的来源,也是他们文化和遗产的内在组成部分。对于数以百万计以海洋为生的人来说,海洋是一种收入来源和一种生活方式。对于生活在海岸线 150 公里以内的世界人口中的 40% 以及数以亿计的人来说,海洋是他们生活的中心——包括文化、精神和娱乐享受。

为了使生命得以延续,人类继续享受海洋提供的无数好处,人类与海洋之间需要一种新的关系。

不仅要接受人类和海洋的未来是相互关联的,而且以不同的方式思考可以为双方带来好处,并说明不同的思考方式是什么样子,这一点势在必行。这份及时的报告描绘了前进的道路。

海洋的巨大潜力陷入困境

人类压力几乎影响整个海洋,使海洋更难维持地球上的人类生命。气候变化、过度捕捞、栖息地破坏、生物多样性丧失、污染和其他问题正在损害海洋健康。代表性不足和服务不足的社区在这些影响的负担中承担了不成比例的大部分。

 

通过三个 P 创造可持续的海洋经济: 保护、生产和繁荣

摒弃经济发展和环境保护之间的错误选择,可持续的海洋经济将不同的利益相关者聚集在一起,以实现共同目标——有效保护、可持续生产和公平繁荣的三个 P。

 

 

在这种新范式中,团体通过采用综合和平衡的海洋管理方法进行合作,其中三个 P 中的每一个都对其他 P 做出贡献。这种方法并不意味着只留下海洋。这意味着积极管理人类活动以明智地利用海洋(而不是用尽海洋),以创造更健康的海洋,通过提供更健康和更可持续的食物、可再生能源和应对气候变化的解决方案来帮助解决全球挑战。

投资于可持续的海洋经济也提供了绝佳的经济机会,每投资 $1 至少会产生 $5 的净收益,而且往往更多。

尽管对海洋的威胁很大,但解决方案是存在的

实现可持续的海洋经济是可能的,但如果业务照常进行,这将不会发生。要改造整个海洋系统,重要的是要掌握正确的基础。

五个组成部分可以为可持续的海洋经济奠定基础:

  • 使用数据来推动决策
  • 从事以目标为导向的海洋规划
  • 降低金融风险并利用创新调动投资
  • 停止陆源污染
  • 改变海洋核算,使其反映海洋的真实价值。

有了这些基础,就可以实施和加速针对特定行业的改革、创新和研究。

海洋太大了,对地球的未来来说太重要了,不容忽视

多年来,总体观点是海洋是如此广阔,以至于它太大而不能倒闭。这种方法的愚蠢现在显而易见。现在主流的说法是,问题是如此复杂,以至于海洋太大而无法修复。这种观点也是错误的。海洋的问题是真实存在的,但已经采取行动解决这些问题。

海洋不是太大而不能倒下,也不是太大而不能修复—— 它太大了,不容忽视。

我们对海洋了解得越多,就越能看到它能够解决人类面临的最紧迫挑战,包括气候变化和粮食安全。是时候从将海洋视为受害者的想法转变为将其视为解决全球挑战的重要组成部分的时候了。

选择不是 之间 海洋保护和生产,而是海洋保护和生产 一起 可以帮助为所有人建立一个健康繁荣的未来。

 

本文的主要作者是 Martin R. Stuchtey、Adrien Vincent、Andreas Merkl 和 Maximilian Bucher。撰稿人包括 Peter M. Haugan、Jane Lubchenco 和 Mari Elka Pangestu。

Close
back to top

Ocean Solutions that Benefit People, Nature and the Economy

Illustrating how a sustainable ocean economy, where protection, production and prosperity go hand in hand, can create a healthy ocean that provides solutions to global challenges.

Full Report
Summary
Report at a Glance
A triple win for people, nature and the economy: effective protection, sustainable production and equitable prosperity.

‘Ocean Solutions that Benefit People, Nature and the Economy’ is a report commissioned by the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy and written by SYSTEMIQ and the Ocean Panel Expert Group co-chairs in December 2020.

It sets out to create a new narrative, paired with an ambitious and feasible action agenda, by drawing on the latest scientific research and analyses, including insights from 19 previous Ocean Panel-commissioned papers.

The report details how to achieve a sustainable ocean economy where people have more opportunities and better health, nature thrives and resources are distributed more equitably.

Humanity’s Well-Being Is Intertwined with the Health of the Ocean

Billions of people have personal connections to the ocean, and it plays an essential role in the daily lives of all of the planet’s inhabitants.

The ocean makes life possible by providing half of the earth’s oxygen, and it contributes more than $1.5 trillion a year to the global economy. What happens in the ocean affects not only fishers in Fiji, but farmers in Zimbabwe whose imported tools may have travelled to Africa in a container ship, and whose air quality and climate are affected by what happens in the ocean.

For coastal populations, the ocean is not only a source of food and livelihoods, but also an intrinsic part of their culture and heritage. For the millions of people who earn their living from the ocean, it is a source of income and a way of life. For the 40% of the world’s population that live within 150 kilometres of the coastline and the hundreds of millions of others who visit it, the ocean is central to their lives—including cultural, spiritual and recreational enjoyment.

For life to endure and for humanity to continue enjoying the innumerable benefits that the ocean provides, a new relationship between humanity and the ocean is needed.

It is imperative to not only accept that the future of people and the ocean are interconnected, but that thinking differently can unleash benefits for both—and to illustrate what that different thinking looks like. This timely report charts the way forward.

The Ocean’s Enormous Potential is in Trouble

Human stressors affect virtually the entire ocean, making it more difficult for the ocean to sustain human life on earth. Climate change, overfishing, habitat destruction, biodiversity loss, pollution and other problems are damaging ocean health. Underrepresented and underserved communities bear a disproportionately large share of the burden of these impacts.

 

Creating a Sustainable Ocean Economy Through the Three P’s: Protection, Production and Prosperity

Abandoning the false choice between economic development and environmental protection, a sustainable ocean economy brings diverse stakeholders together to achieve common goals—the three Ps of effective protection, sustainable production and equitable prosperity.

 

 

In this new paradigm, groups work together by adopting integrated and balanced ocean management approaches in which each of the three Ps contributes to the others. This approach does not mean just leaving the ocean alone; it means proactively managing human activities to use the ocean wisely (rather than using it up), in order to create a healthier ocean that can help solve global challenges by providing healthier and more sustainable food, renewable energy and solutions to climate change.

Investing in a sustainable ocean economy also presents an excellent economic opportunity, with each $1 invested yielding at least $5 net benefits, and often more.

Although the Threats to the Ocean Are Great, Solutions Exist

Achieving a sustainable ocean economy is possible, but it will not happen if business continues as usual. To transform the entire ocean system, it is important to get the fundamentals right.

Five building blocks can set the foundation for a sustainable ocean economy:

  • Using data to drive decision-making
  • Engaging in goal-oriented ocean planning
  • De-risking finance and using innovation to mobilise investment
  • Stopping land-based pollution
  • Changing ocean accounting so that it reflects the true value of the ocean.

With these foundations in place, sector-specific reform, innovation and research can be implemented and accelerated.

The Ocean Is Too Big and Too Central to the Planet’s Future to Ignore

For years, the overarching view was that the ocean is so vast that it is simply too big to fail. The folly of this approach is now evident. Now the dominant narrative is that the problems are so complex that the ocean is too big to fix. This view is also misguided. The ocean’s problems are real, but actions already are being taken to solve them.

The ocean is not too big to fail, and it’s not too big to fix – it is too big to ignore.

The more we learn about the ocean, the more we see that it holds answers to the most pressing challenges facing humanity, including climate change and food security. It’s time to shift away from thinking of the ocean as a victim and toward seeing it as an essential part of the solution to global challenges.

The choice is not between ocean protection and production, but instead, ocean protection and production together can help build a healthy and prosperous future for all.

 

The lead authors of this paper are Martin R. Stuchtey, Adrien Vincent, Andreas Merkl and Maximilian Bucher. Contributing authors include Peter M. Haugan, Jane Lubchenco and Mari Elka Pangestu.

Close
back to top