Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow

The Future of Food from the Sea

This Blue Paper confirms the importance of ocean food production systems in global future food and nutritional security, offering a dual message of urgency and hope.

Full Report
Press Release

This paper considers the status and future trends of food production through fisheries and aquaculture at regional and global scales, the opportunities of ocean-based food in achieving SDG 2 (Zero Hunger), and recommendations for how current barriers might be overcome to transition to more sustainable and abundant food production from the ocean.

‘The Future of Food from the Sea’ launched on 19th November 2019, at the FAO’s International Symposium on Fisheries Sustainability. The event featured Expert Group Co-chair Peter Haugan, lead authors Christopher Costello and Stefan Gelcich, Norwegian Minister of Fisheries and Seafood, H.E. Mr. Harald Tom Nesvik, and Assistant Director-General, Arni Mathiesen of the Fisheries and Aquaculture Department, United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).

Ocean Panel member President Uhuru Kenyatta of Kenya published ‘Securing seafood for the future’, on Pana Press (republished by Seafood Source).

Nature also published an adapted version of the Blue Paper ‘The Future of Food from the Sea’.

The World Resources Institute, alongside the U.S. Embassies of Jamaica, Mexico, Norway, and Portugal, as well as Blue Paper authors, hosted ‘The Future of the Ocean’, the U.S. release of the food and climate Blue Papers on 16th January 2020.

The lead authors of this paper are Christopher Costello, Ling Cao and Stefan Gelcich. The contributing authors include Miguel Angel Cisneros, Christopher M. Free, Halley E. Froehlich, Elsa Galarza, Christopher D. Golden, Gakushi Ishimura, Ilan Macadam-Somer, Jason Maier, Tracey Mangin, Michael C. Melnychuk, Masanori Miyahara, Carryn de Moor, Rosamond Naylor, Linda Nøstbakken, Elena Ojea, Erin O’Reilly, Giacomo Chato Osio, Ana M. Parma, Fabian Pina Amargos, Andrew J. Plantinga, Albert Tacon and Shakuntala H. Thilsted.

back to top