对 COVID-19 危机的可持续和公平的蓝色复苏

健康的海洋是充满活力的经济的基础。在 COVID-19 大流行之前,据估计,海洋产业贡献了世界总增加值的 2.5% 和超过 3100 万个直接全职工作。然而,随着各国政府在大流行之后寻求重新设置和重建,海洋经济在刺激措施中被忽视了,特别是当人们考虑到大流行对工人和 [...] 的毁灭性影响时

渔业部门的有组织犯罪

多年来国际社会关注的渔业部门的犯罪活动已经变得越来越有组织。此类犯罪通常是跨国犯罪,可以表现为范围广泛的犯罪,最常见的是经济犯罪,例如洗钱、欺诈、伪造、逃税和逃税、腐败和人口贩运。轶事,科学和基于案例的证据[...]

2050 年的可持续海洋经济:估算其收益和成本

海洋面临紧迫的环境挑战,采取行动保护海洋生态系统并确保海洋活动的环境可持续性将有助于为社会带来诸多好处。在特别报告“海洋作为气候变化的解决方案:五个行动机会”的基础上,这项新的海洋小组委托研究发现,将 $1 投资于关键 [...]

关键生境和生物多样性:清单、阈值和治理

本文研究了世界海洋中物种和重要海洋栖息地的分布;分析驱动因素、压力、影响和响应方面的趋势;并建立保护生物多样性热点的阈值,以及监测变化的指标。从这个科学基础,它评估了生物多样性保护的当前法律框架和可用工具,当前差距 [...]

非法、未报告和不受管制的捕捞活动及相关驱动因素

通过审视需要改革的广泛领域,本蓝皮书提出了解决 IUU 捕捞问题的方法,包括实施《港口国措施协议》的最佳做法和其他防止 IUU 渔获物进入市场的方法。它还讨论了推广打击 IUU 捕鱼技术的方法,[…]

气候变化对海洋经济的预期影响

本文研究了现有和预期的气候驱动变化,强调了有效机构和市场减少这些影响的机会,通过强调气候变化影响的幅度和方向来探索投资机会,并就各国如何通过以下方式实现蓝色经济增长提供建议实施降低风险和建立复原力的政策和基础设施 […]

来自海洋的食物的未来

本文探讨了在区域和全球范围内通过渔业和水产养殖进行粮食生产的现状和未来趋势、海洋食品在实现可持续发展目标 2(零饥饿)方面的机会,以及如何克服当前障碍以过渡到更多的建议。来自海洋的可持续和丰富的粮食生产。 '[…] 的未来

海洋作为气候变化的解决方案:五个行动机会

气候变化对海洋健康以及实现繁荣和可持续的海洋经济构成严重风险。酸化和海洋温度上升正在对渔业和旅游业等重要行业以及沿海人口的福祉产生负面影响。迫切需要减少温室气体排放和 […]

back to top

A Sustainable and Equitable Blue Recovery to the COVID-19 Crisis

A healthy ocean is the foundation for vibrant economies. Before the COVID-19 pandemic, ocean-based industries were estimated to contribute 2.5 percent of world gross value added and over 31 million direct full-time jobs. However, as governments seek to reset and rebuild following the pandemic, the ocean economy has been overlooked in stimulus measures, especially when one considers the pandemic’s devastating impacts on workers and […]

Organised Crime in the Fisheries Sector

Criminal activity in the fisheries sector, which has concerned the international community for years, has become increasingly organised. Frequently transnational, such crime can manifest in a broad range of offences, the most common being economic crimes such as money laundering, fraud, forgery, tax and customs evasion, corruption and human trafficking. Anecdotal, scientific and case-based evidence […]

A Sustainable Ocean Economy for 2050: Approximating Its Benefits and Costs

The ocean faces urgent environmental challenges and taking action to protect ocean-based ecosystems and ensure the environmental sustainability of ocean-based activities will help deliver a host of benefits to society. Building on the Special Report ‘The Ocean as a Solution to Climate Change: Five Opportunities for Action’, this new Ocean Panel–commissioned research finds that investing $1 in key […]

Critical Habitats and Biodiversity: Inventory, Thresholds and Governance

This paper examines the distribution of species and critical marine habitats across the world’s oceans; analyses trends in drivers, pressures, impacts and response; and establishes thresholds for protecting biodiversity hotspots, as well as indicators to monitor change. From this scientific base, it assesses the current legal framework and available tools for biodiversity protection, current gaps […]

Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated Fishing and Associated Drivers

By looking at the breadth of areas in need of reform, this Blue Paper lays out a methodology for addressing IUU fishing, including best practices for implementing the Port State Measures Agreement and other means to prevent IUU fishing catches from entering the market. It also discusses ways to promote technologies for combating IUU fishing, […]

The Expected Impacts of Climate Change on the Ocean Economy

The paper examines existing and expected climate-driven changes, highlights opportunities for effective institutions and markets to reduce these impacts, explores opportunities for investments by highlighting the magnitude and direction of climate change impacts, and provides recommendations for how countries can achieve blue economic growth by implementing policies and infrastructure that reduce risks and build resilience […]

The Future of Food from the Sea

This paper considers the status and future trends of food production through fisheries and aquaculture at regional and global scales, the opportunities of ocean-based food in achieving SDG 2 (Zero Hunger), and recommendations for how current barriers might be overcome to transition to more sustainable and abundant food production from the ocean. ‘The Future of […]

The Ocean as a Solution to Climate Change: Five Opportunities for Action

Climate change poses stark risks to the health of the ocean and to the realisation of a prosperous and sustainable ocean economy. Acidification and rising ocean temperatures are negatively impacting important industries such as fishing and tourism, as well as the well-being of coastal populations. There is an urgent need to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and […]

back to top