Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow

海洋作为气候变化的解决方案:五个行动机会

健康的海洋对于实现全球目标至关重要 限制气候变化。

完整报告
概括

气候变化对海洋健康以及实现繁荣和可持续的海洋经济构成严重风险。酸化和海洋温度上升正在对渔业和旅游业等重要行业以及沿海人口的福祉产生负面影响。迫切需要减少温室气体排放并限制进一步的温度上升。

尽管处于危险之中,但海洋也是减少全球温室气体排放的核心。为了突出海洋在解决全球气候变化方面的重要作用,海洋小组委托编写了一份特别报告,题为“海洋作为气候变化的解决方案:五个行动机会”,以强调健康的海洋对于实现全球目标至关重要限制气候变化,发现新见解并为报告的行动呼吁提供信息。

该报告的发布恰逢 2019 年 9 月第 74 届联合国大会。

值得注意的是,该研究发现,基于海洋的气候行动在减少世界碳足迹方面可以发挥比以前认为的更大的作用,它可以提供高达五分之一(21%,或 11 GtCO2e)的年度温室气体(GHG) 减排需要在 2050 年将全球气温上升限制在 1.5°C。

该报告经过了严格的同行评审过程,其论点、发现和建议代表了作者的观点。归根结底,本报告是对海洋专家组进程的独立投入,并不代表海洋专家组的观点。

在作者的博客中阅读更多信息, “扭转局面:基于海洋的解决方案可以在 21% 之前缩小排放差距”,在海洋小组联合主席的“专栏”中“向海洋寻求气候变化解决方案” 并在新闻报道中通过 基督教科学箴言报 和 新闻周刊,等等。一篇配套文章也发表在 科学.

考虑到这份报告和其他重要的气候研究,海洋专家组发起了一项 “呼吁基于海洋的气候行动” 在 2019 年 9 月在纽约举行的联合国气候行动峰会上。海洋小组的承诺和其他利益相关者的回应记录如下。

本文的召集主要作者是 欧维·霍格-古尔德伯格。特约专家作者包括 Ken Caldeira、Thierry Chopin、Steve Gaines、Peter Haugen、Mark Hemer、Jennifer Howard、Manaswita Konar、Dorte Krause-Jensen、Catherine Lovelock、Elizabeth Lindstad、Mark Michelin、Finn Gunnar Nielsen、Eliza Northrop、Robert WR Parker , Joyashree Roy, Tristan Smith, Shreya Some 和 Peter Tyedmers。

additional attachments
呼吁以海洋为基础的气候行动

作为海洋小组成员的政府首脑紧急呼吁采取基于海洋的气候行动,以激发政治承诺、商业伙伴关系和投资,以在六个优先领域扩大和加速行动,以应对气候变化和帮助实现《巴黎协定》和可持续发展目标 (SDG) 的目标。

新闻稿
呼吁采取行动
语音-印度尼西亚
语音-牙买加 (MHPM)
演讲-日本
演讲-肯尼亚
语音-墨西哥
演讲-纳米比亚
挪威-介绍性声明
挪威-结束语
Background
行动领域

一些国家政府已经承诺根据以下 6 个行动领域制定新举措、建立伙伴关系并提供大量资金投资,以迅速加快基于海洋的气候解决方案。海洋专家组成员迄今作出的指示性承诺如下。请注意,此列表将进一步发展,以反映出现的新想法。

气候解决方案
可再生能源
海洋产业
可持续食品
碳捕获和储存
海洋观测与研究
coral
投资基于自然的气候解决方案

恢复、保护和管理沿海和海洋生态系统,包括红树林、海草、盐沼、大型藻类和珊瑚礁,以增强其吸收和储存碳的能力,适应气候变化的影响,并提高沿海恢复力。

commitments
承诺
Australia
澳大利亚
Fiji
斐济
Japan
日本
Kenya
肯尼亚
Mexico
墨西哥
Namibia
纳米比亚
Norway
挪威
Portugal
葡萄牙
下一篇:可再生能源 Arrow
coral
利用海洋可再生能源

扩大海上和海洋可再生能源,包括风能、波浪能、潮汐能、电流能和太阳能,以满足未来的能源需求并具有成本竞争力。

commitments
承诺
Australia
澳大利亚
Japan
日本
Namibia
纳米比亚
Norway
挪威
Portugal
葡萄牙
下一个:海洋工业 Arrow
coral
海洋工业脱碳

投资于支持海洋产业快速脱碳所需的解决方案,包括航运和海上运输、港口基础设施和运营、渔业、水产养殖和旅游业。

commitments
承诺
Australia
澳大利亚
Fiji
斐济
Japan
日本
Namibia
纳米比亚
Norway
挪威
Portugal
葡萄牙
下一篇:可持续食品 Arrow
coral
确保未来的可持续食品

促进可持续、安全、公平、有弹性和低碳的海洋食物来源,以养活和改善今世后代的营养,包括缓解粮食不安全。

commitments
承诺
Australia
澳大利亚
Kenya
肯尼亚
Namibia
纳米比亚
Norway
挪威
Portugal
葡萄牙
下一篇:碳捕获和储存 Arrow
coral
推进碳捕集与封存部署

通过国际合作减少海底碳捕获和储存的障碍,包括绘制海底地质构造的储存潜力

commitments
承诺
Norway
挪威
Portugal
葡萄牙
下一篇:海洋观测与研究 Arrow
coral
扩大海洋观测和研究

扩大对地方到全球综合观测和研究的支持,以便更好地为决策者提供有关气候变化、变暖和酸化对海洋的观测和预测影响以及海洋在全球碳循环中的作用的信息。

commitments
承诺
Australia
澳大利亚
Japan
日本
Kenya
肯尼亚
Namibia
纳米比亚
Norway
挪威
Portugal
葡萄牙
下一个: Arrow
coral
commitments
承诺
下一篇:气候解决方案 Arrow
响应海洋小组的行动呼吁

公司和其他组织也开始组建联盟并发展伙伴关系以推进相关行动,包括:

partners
皮尤慈善信托基金

皮尤慈善信托基金 正在发起一项为期 3 年的倡议,以支持各国将沿海湿地和珊瑚礁纳入其《巴黎协定》下的国家自主贡献 (NDC)。他们将与政府、研究人员和其他非政府组织合作。

“高级别小组呼吁以海洋为基础的气候行动表明了保护沿海湿地作为一种基于自然的解决方案的价值,这对于在不断变化的气候中建立复原力和保护我们的海洋的全球努力是不可或缺的。沿海栖息地是地球上生物最丰富的生态系统之一。它们在风暴期间保护海岸线,对碳封存至关重要,使其成为签署《巴黎协定》国家减缓和适应努力的重要组成部分。”

– Tom Dillon,皮尤慈善信托基金副总裁兼环境主管

Ørsted和Equinor

Ørsted和Equinor, 两家处于海上可再生能源前沿的公司宣布成立一个以行业为主导的新联盟,以扩大海洋可再生能源的规模,以支持实现《巴黎协定》的努力。该联盟正在召集领先的海洋行业参与者,并将在 2020 年 6 月的联合国海洋会议上提出行动路线图。

“我们应对气候变化的唯一方法是共同努力采取实际行动,我很高兴地代表两个世界领先的海上风电开发商 Ørsted 和 Equinor 宣布成立这个新的海上可再生能源行动联盟活力。该报告显示,海洋可再生能源,尤其是海上风能,在帮助缓解气候变化方面具有巨大潜力,因此我们期待将行业参与者聚集在一起,以响应高级别小组对海洋行动的呼吁,了解我们如何能够以国际视角应对我们将面临的挑战并协调我们的行动,以释放海洋可再生能源的全部潜力以防止全球过热。”

 – Benj Sykes,Orsted 副总裁,领导海上可再生能源行动联盟

走向零联盟

这 走向零联盟 将与工业界合作,争取到 2030 年在深海贸易航线上拥有商业上可行的零排放船舶,并得到可扩展零碳能源的必要基础设施的支持,包括生产、分销、储存和加油。

“我们支持可持续海洋经济高级别小组对海洋气候行动的呼吁,并同意只有引入零碳燃料才能全面淘汰航运业的温室气体排放。因此,我们的目标是到 2030 年加速部署商业上可行的深海零排放船舶。”

– Johannah Christensen,全球海事论坛董事总经理,零排放联盟的合作伙伴

海洋管理海鲜企业 (SeaBOS) 倡议

海洋管理海鲜企业 (SeaBOS) 倡议代表世界上最大的十家海产品公司,从事野生捕捞渔业、水产养殖和饲料业务,将推进加强可持续渔业的战略,并研究适应气候变化对海产品生产影响的机制。这些行业领导者正在努力完善以科学为基础的全球行动战略,与高级别小组加快行动以确保从海洋中获取可持续食物的努力保持一致。

“SeaBOS 成员的目标是增加健康和可持续海产品的产量,并从整体上改善海洋健康。成员们认识到,正如可持续海洋经济高级小组所呼吁的那样,食用更多可持续生产的海产品可以在降低全球食品碳足迹方面产生积极的好处,并指出这将产生积极的社会和生态影响。更健康的海洋。这些努力将有助于阐明行业需要优先考虑的以科学为基础的解决方案,以增加可持续的海产品生产,改善海洋健康。综合起来,这些行动将有助于减少全球蛋白质生产和食物来源的总体碳足迹。”

– SeaBOS 董事长、Maruha Nichiro Corporation 首席执行官兼总裁 Shigeru Ito 先生

智利鲑鱼水产养殖协会 (SalmonChile AG)

智利鲑鱼水产养殖协会 (SalmonChile AG) 呼吁开展一项全行业倡议,旨在到 2025 年将抗生素的使用减少 50%,并由著名的蒙特雷湾水族馆海鲜观察计划进行监测。

智利国家渔业协会 (SONAPESCA

智利国家渔业协会 (SONAPESCA) 呼吁根据海洋管理委员会 (MSC) 的严格标准对智利最大的渔业杰克鲭鱼进行可持续性认证,以期使其成为拉丁美洲最大的认证渔业。

智利鲑鱼水产养殖协会 (SalmonChile AG)

智利鲑鱼水产养殖协会 (SalmonChile AG) 强调了其成员公司“Salmones Camanchaca”到 2020 年实现 50% 碳中和和到 2025 年实现 100% 的目标,为其他公司树立了榜样。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow

The Ocean as a Solution to Climate Change: Five Opportunities for Action

A healthy ocean is critical to achieving global targets to limit climate change.

Full Report
Summary

Climate change poses stark risks to the health of the ocean and to the realisation of a prosperous and sustainable ocean economy. Acidification and rising ocean temperatures are negatively impacting important industries such as fishing and tourism, as well as the well-being of coastal populations. There is an urgent need to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and limit further temperature rise.

Although at risk, the ocean is also central to reducing global greenhouse gas emissions. To highlight the ocean’s important role as a solution to global climate change, the Ocean Panel commissioned a Special Report, ‘The Ocean as a Solution for Climate Change: Five Opportunities for Action’, to underscore that a healthy ocean is critical to achieving global targets to limit climate change, to identify new insights and to inform the report’s call to action.

The report’s publication coincided with the 74th session of the UN General Assembly in September 2019.

Notably, the research found that ocean-based climate action can play a much bigger role in shrinking the world’s carbon footprint than was previously thought, and it could deliver up to one-fifth (21 percent, or 11 GtCO2e) of the annual greenhouse gas (GHG) emission cuts needed in 2050 to limit global temperature rise to 1.5°C.

The report was subjected to a rigorous peer review process and the arguments, findings and recommendations represent the views of the authors. Ultimately, this report is an independent input to the Ocean Panel process and does not represent the perspectives of the Ocean Panel.

Read more in the authors’ blog, ‘Turning the Tide: Ocean-Based Solutions Could Close Emission Gap by 21%’, in the Ocean Panel Co-chairs’ op-ed ‘‘Look to the ocean for climate change solutions’ and in news coverage via The Christian Science Monitor and Newsweek, among others. A companion piece was also published in Science.

Considering this report and other important climate research, the Ocean Panel launched a ‘Call to Ocean-Based Climate Action’ at the UN Climate Action Summit in New York in September 2019. Ocean Panel commitments and other stakeholder responses are documented below.

The convening lead author of this paper is Ove Hoegh-Guldberg. The contributing expert authors include Ken Caldeira, Thierry Chopin, Steve Gaines, Peter Haugen, Mark Hemer, Jennifer Howard, Manaswita Konar, Dorte Krause-Jensen, Catherine Lovelock, Elizabeth Lindstad, Mark Michelin, Finn Gunnar Nielsen, Eliza Northrop, Robert W. R. Parker, Joyashree Roy, Tristan Smith, Shreya Some and Peter Tyedmers.

additional attachments
Call to Ocean-Based Climate Action

An urgent Call to Ocean-Based Climate Action by the heads of government who serve as members of the Ocean Panel members to inspire political commitments, business partnerships and investments to scale up and accelerate action in six priority areas to confront the threat of climate change and help meet the objectives of the Paris Agreement and Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Press Release
Call to Action
Speech-Indonesia
Speech-Jamaica (MHPM)
Speech-Japan
Speech-Kenya
Speech-Mexico
Speech-Namibia
Norway-Introductory Statement
Norway-Closing Remarks
Background
Areas for Action

Some national governments have already committed to developing new initiatives, partnerships and providing significant funding investments to rapidly accelerate ocean-based climate solutions in line with the 6 action areas below. The indicative commitments made by Ocean Panel members to date are captured below. Note, this list will be further developed to reflect new ideas as they emerge.

Climate Solutions
Renewable Energy
Ocean Industries
Sustainable Food
Carbon Capture and Storage
Ocean Observation and Research
coral
Invest in Nature-Based Climate Solutions

Restore, protect and manage coastal and marine ecosystems, including mangroves, seagrasses, salt marshes, macroalgae and reefs, to enhance their ability to sequester and store carbon, adapt to the effects of climate change, and improve coastal resilience.

commitments
Commitments
Australia
Australia
Fiji
Fiji
Japan
Japan
Kenya
Kenya
Mexico
Mexico
Namibia
Namibia
Norway
Norway
Portugal
Portugal
Next: Renewable Energy Arrow
coral
Harness Ocean-Based Renewable Energy

Scale up offshore and ocean-based renewable energy, including wind, wave, tidal, current and solar, to meet future energy demand and become cost-competitive.

commitments
Commitments
Australia
Australia
Japan
Japan
Namibia
Namibia
Norway
Norway
Portugal
Portugal
Next: Ocean Industries Arrow
coral
Decarbonize Ocean Industries

Invest in the solutions needed to support rapid decarbonization of ocean industries, including shipping and marine transport, port infrastructure and operations, fisheries, aquaculture and tourism.

commitments
Commitments
Australia
Australia
Fiji
Fiji
Japan
Japan
Namibia
Namibia
Norway
Norway
Portugal
Portugal
Next: Sustainable Food Arrow
coral
Secure Sustainable Food for the Future

Promote sustainable, safe, equitable, resilient and low-carbon sources of food from the ocean to feed and improve the nutrition of present and future generations, including mitigating food insecurity.

commitments
Commitments
Australia
Australia
Kenya
Kenya
Namibia
Namibia
Norway
Norway
Portugal
Portugal
Next: Carbon Capture and Storage Arrow
coral
Advance the Deployment of Carbon Capture and Storage

Reduce barriers for carbon capture and storage below the seabed through international collaboration, including mapping the storage potential of the sub-seabed geological formations

commitments
Commitments
Norway
Norway
Portugal
Portugal
Next: Ocean Observation and Research Arrow
coral
Expand Ocean Observation and Research

Scale up support for integrated local-to-global observation and research to better inform decision-makers on the observed and projected impacts of climate change, warming and acidification on the ocean, and the role of the ocean in the global carbon cycle.

commitments
Commitments
Australia
Australia
Japan
Japan
Kenya
Kenya
Namibia
Namibia
Norway
Norway
Portugal
Portugal
Next: Arrow
coral
commitments
Commitments
Next: Climate Solutions Arrow
Responding to the Ocean Panel’s Call to Action

Companies and other organisations are also starting to form coalitions and grow partnerships to advance relevant action, including:

partners
The Pew Charitable Trusts

The Pew Charitable Trusts is launching a 3-year initiative to support countries to incorporate coastal wetlands and coral reefs into their National Determined Contributions (NDCs) under the Paris Agreement. They will work in partnership with governments, researchers and other NGOs.

“The High Level Panel’s Call to Ocean-Based Climate Action demonstrates the value of protecting coastal wetlands as a nature-based solution, which is integral to the global effort to build resilience and protect our ocean in a changing climate. Coastal habitats are among the planet’s most biologically rich ecosystems. They protect shorelines during storms and are critical for carbon sequestration, making them an important part of mitigation and adaptation efforts for countries that have signed the Paris Agreement.”

– Tom Dillon, Vice President and Head of Environment for The Pew Charitable Trusts

Ørsted and Equinor

Ørsted and Equinor, two companies in the forefront of offshore renewable energy, have announced the creation of a new industry-led coalition to scale up ocean-based renewable energy in support of efforts to achieve the Paris Agreement. The coalition is bringing together leading ocean industry players and will present a roadmap for action at the UN Ocean Conference in June 2020.

“The only way we can combat climate change is by working together to take real action, and on behalf of Ørsted, and Equinor, two of the world-leading offshore wind developers, I am delighted to announce this new coalition for action for offshore renewable energy. The report reveals that ocean renewable energy, and in particular offshore wind energy, has a huge potential to help mitigate climate change, so we are looking forward to bringing industry players together, in response to the High Level Panel’s Call to Ocean-Based Action, to understand how we can take an international perspective to the challenges we will face and coordinate in our action to unlock the full potential of ocean renewable energy to prevent global overheating.”

 – Benj Sykes, Vice President at Orsted and leading on the Coalition for Action for offshore renewable energy

Getting to Zero Coalition

The Getting to Zero Coalition will work with industry towards having commercially viable zero emission vessels operating along deep sea trade routes by 2030, supported by the necessary infrastructure for scalable zero-carbon energy sources including production, distribution, storage and bunkering.

“We support the Call to Ocean-Based Climate Action from the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy and agree that the full phaseout of GHG emissions from shipping will only be possible with the introduction of zero-carbon fuels. Hence, it is our ambition to accelerate the deployment of commercially viable deep-sea zero emission vessels by 2030.”

– Johannah Christensen, Managing Director, Global Maritime Forum, a partner of the Getting to Zero Coalition

The Seafood Business for Ocean Stewardship (SeaBOS) Initiative

The Seafood Business for Ocean Stewardship (SeaBOS) Initiative, representing ten of the largest seafood companies in the world, operating in wild capture fisheries, aquaculture, and feeds, will advance strategies to enhance sustainable fisheries, and investigate mechanisms to adapt to climate change impacts on seafood production. These industry leaders are working to refine science-based strategies for global action, aligned with the High Level Panel’s efforts to accelerate action to secure sustainable food from the ocean.

“The ambition of SeaBOS members is to increase the production of healthy and sustainable seafood, and to improve ocean health overall. The members recognise the positive benefits that eating more sustainably produced seafood can have at lowering the global food carbon footprint, as called for by the High Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy, and also note that it would have positive social and ecological impacts to have a healthier ocean. These efforts will help shine a light on the science-based solutions that industry will need to prioritise to increase sustainable seafood production, improve ocean health. Combined, those actions will assist in reducing the overall carbon footprint of protein production and food sources globally.”

– Mr Shigeru Ito, Chairman SeaBOS, also CEO and President Maruha Nichiro Corporation

The Chilean Salmon Aquaculture Association (SalmonChile AG)

The Chilean Salmon Aquaculture Association (SalmonChile AG) has called for an industry-wide initiative aimed at reducing by 50% the use of antibiotics by the year 2025 and monitored by the prestigious Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch Program.

The Chilean National Society of Fisheries (SONAPESCA

The Chilean National Society of Fisheries (SONAPESCA) has called for a sustainability certification of the largest Chilean fishery, the Jack-Mackerel, under the strict standard of the Marine Stewardship Council (MSC), with the view of making it the largest certified fishery in Latin America.

The Chilean Salmon Aquaculture Association (SalmonChile AG)

The Chilean Salmon Aquaculture Association (SalmonChile AG) has highlighted the objective of reaching 50% carbon neutrality by 2020 and 100% by 2025 of its member company “Salmones Camanchaca”, setting an example of leadership for other companies to follow.

Close
back to top