Les impacts attendus du changement climatique sur l'économie océanique

Ce document traite de l'impact des aléas cumulés du changement climatique sur l'économie océanique, en particulier pêche maritime, aquaculture et tourisme.

Rapport complet
Sommaire
Communiqué de presse

Le document examine les changements climatiques existants et attendus, met en évidence les opportunités pour les institutions et les marchés efficaces de réduire ces impacts, explore les opportunités d'investissement en soulignant l'ampleur et la direction des impacts du changement climatique, et fournit des recommandations sur la manière dont les pays peuvent atteindre une croissance économique bleue en mettre en œuvre des politiques et des infrastructures qui réduisent les risques et renforcent la résilience au changement climatique.

« Les impacts attendus du changement climatique sur l'économie océanique » a été lancé le 7 décembre 2019, lors de la 25e Conférence des Parties à Madrid. L'événement « Renforcer la résilience de l'économie océanique » a été animé par la coprésidente du réseau consultatif Maria Damanaki et a présenté Ocean Panel Sherpa pour Fiji Taholo Kami ainsi que les auteurs Elena Ojea, Willow Battista et Ove Hoegh-Guldberg. Peter Thomson, Envoyé spécial des Nations Unies pour l'océan, a prononcé un discours de clôture.

Le Premier ministre jamaïcain Andrew Holness, membre du Ocean Panel, a publié « Il n'y a pas d'équilibre entre l'environnement et l'économie pendant une crise climatique » dans EFE Verde. En savoir plus dans le blog du WRI 'Le changement climatique pose un risque existentiel pour les industries océaniques : voici comment elles peuvent réagir », par les auteurs du Blue Paper Steve Gaines et Erin O'Reilly et les membres de l'équipe du Secrétariat Eliza Northrop et Lauretta Burke.

Le World Resources Institute, aux côtés des ambassades américaines de la Jamaïque, du Mexique, de la Norvège et du Portugal, ainsi que des auteurs du Livre bleu, a accueilli "L'avenir de l'océan", la publication américaine des Blue Papers sur l'alimentation et le climat, le 16 janvier 2020.

Les principaux auteurs de cet article sont Steve Gaines, Reniel Cabral, Christopher M. Free et Yimnang Golbuu. Les auteurs contributeurs incluent Ragnar Arnason, Willow Battista, Darcy Bradley, William Cheung, Katharina Fabricius, Ove Hoegh-Guldberg, Marie Antonette Juinio-Meñez, Jorge García Molinos, Elena Ojea, Erin O'Reilly et Carol Turley.

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow

The Expected Impacts of Climate Change on the Ocean Economy

This paper addresses how the compounding hazards of climate change will impact the ocean economy, specifically marine fisheries, aquaculture and tourism.

Full Report
Summary
Press Release

The paper examines existing and expected climate-driven changes, highlights opportunities for effective institutions and markets to reduce these impacts, explores opportunities for investments by highlighting the magnitude and direction of climate change impacts, and provides recommendations for how countries can achieve blue economic growth by implementing policies and infrastructure that reduce risks and build resilience to climate change.

‘The Expected Impacts of Climate Change on the Ocean Economy’ launched on 7 December 2019, during the 25th Conference of the Parties in Madrid. The event ‘Building the Resilience of the Ocean Economy’ was moderated by Advisory Network Co-chair Maria Damanaki and featured Ocean Panel Sherpa for Fiji Taholo Kami as well as authors Elena Ojea, Willow Battista and Ove Hoegh-Guldberg. Peter Thomson, UN Special Envoy for the Ocean, provided closing remarks.

Ocean Panel member Prime Minister Andrew Holness of Jamaica published ‘There Is No Balance between the Environment and the Economy during a Climate Crisis’ in EFE Verde. Read more in the WRI blog post ‘Climate Change Poses an Existential Risk to Ocean Industries: Here’s How They Can Respond’, by Blue Paper authors Steve Gaines and Erin O’Reilly and Secretariat team members Eliza Northrop and Lauretta Burke.

The World Resources Institute, alongside the U.S. Embassies of Jamaica, Mexico, Norway and Portugal, as well as Blue Paper authors, hosted ‘The Future of the Ocean’, the U.S. release of the food and climate Blue Papers, on 16 January 2020.

The lead authors of this paper are Steve Gaines, Reniel Cabral, Christopher M. Free and Yimnang Golbuu. The contributing authors include Ragnar Arnason, Willow Battista, Darcy Bradley, William Cheung, Katharina Fabricius, Ove Hoegh-Guldberg, Marie Antonette Juinio-Meñez, Jorge García Molinos, Elena Ojea, Erin O’Reilly and Carol Turley.

Close
back to top