Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy

The First Progress Report from The High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy In 2020, the Ocean Panel released the Transformations, an ambitious ocean action agenda to transform how we produce, protect and prosper from the ocean. This agenda includes the shared ambition by all participating countries to sustainably manage 100% of their national […]

Des solutions océaniques qui profitent aux personnes, à la nature et à l'économie

« Des solutions océaniques qui profitent aux personnes, à la nature et à l'économie » est un rapport commandé par le groupe de haut niveau pour une économie océanique durable et rédigé par SYSTEMIQ et les coprésidents du groupe d'experts du groupe d'experts océan en décembre 2020. Il vise à créer un nouveau narratif, associé à un programme d'action ambitieux et réalisable, en dessinant […]

Une reprise bleue durable et équitable face à la crise du COVID-19

Un océan en bonne santé est le fondement d'économies dynamiques. Avant la pandémie de COVID-19, on estimait que les industries océaniques représentaient 2,5 % de la valeur ajoutée brute mondiale et plus de 31 millions d'emplois directs à temps plein. Cependant, alors que les gouvernements cherchent à réinitialiser et à reconstruire après la pandémie, l'économie océanique a été négligée dans les mesures de relance, en particulier si l'on considère les effets dévastateurs de la pandémie sur les travailleurs et […]

La relation humaine avec notre planète océan

En se concentrant sur les institutions qui affectent l'accès et les droits, ce document aborde les préoccupations concernant l'appropriation des ressources marines et le déplacement des visions autochtones de la gouvernance des océans en identifiant les façons dont ces institutions culturellement distinctes sont compatibles et en traçant la voie vers une gouvernance inclusive des océans. "La relation humaine avec notre planète océanique" lancée via un webinaire le 8 […]

La transition océanique : ce qu'il faut retenir des transitions systémiques

Pour ouvrir la voie à une économie océanique durable, il est important de tirer des enseignements des transitions mondiales comparables du passé. Ce document examine les succès et les échecs passés et leurs principaux facteurs contributifs, en identifiant les leçons apprises pertinentes à appliquer au contexte océanique. Le document considère la dynamique actuelle de la transition déjà en cours, […]

Gestion intégrée des océans

Tirant les leçons des succès et des échecs antérieurs, le document identifie les obstacles existants dans les politiques et les pratiques et présente un ensemble d'étapes et de principes directeurs pour une gestion intégrée des océans réussie. Il évalue les opportunités actuelles d'accélération des progrès et l'impact de ces opportunités sur l'emploi et l'équité. Le 20 mai 2020, le document a été […]

Le génome océanique : conservation et utilisation juste, équitable et durable des ressources génétiques marines

Ce document explore également comment les efforts visant à promouvoir l'innovation inclusive et une meilleure gouvernance peuvent contribuer à un partage plus équitable des avantages découlant de l'utilisation des ressources génétiques marines. 'The Ocean Genome: Conservation and the Fair, Equitable and Sustainable Use of Marine Genetic Resources' a été lancé le 17 avril 2020, pour coïncider avec une BBC en direct […]

Vers l'équité des océans

Le document décrit les tensions et les compromis et présente des recommandations pour remédier à certaines des caractéristiques sous-jacentes et systémiques des inégalités océaniques et comment la politique peut soutenir la transition vers une économie océanique durable et juste. Le 6 mars 2020, le document a été lancé via un webinaire « Towards Ocean Equity », animé par la coprésidente du groupe d'experts Jane Lubchenco […]

Technologie, données et nouveaux modèles pour une gestion durable des ressources océaniques

Ce document examine les technologies existantes et révolutionnaires, telles que les drones, l'intelligence artificielle et les chaînes de blocs, ainsi que les défis et les possibilités associés qu'elles posent pour la gestion des océans et l'amélioration de la compréhension des écosystèmes et des interactions humaines avec l'océan. Il explore également les marchés potentiels susceptibles de stimuler la demande de données océaniques et les moyens par lesquels les acteurs publics et privés peuvent […]

back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow

Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy

The First Progress Report from The High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy In 2020, the Ocean Panel released the Transformations, an ambitious ocean action agenda to transform how we produce, protect and prosper from the ocean. This agenda includes the shared ambition by all participating countries to sustainably manage 100% of their national […]

Ocean Solutions that Benefit People, Nature and the Economy

‘Ocean Solutions that Benefit People, Nature and the Economy’ is a report commissioned by the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy and written by SYSTEMIQ and the Ocean Panel Expert Group co-chairs in December 2020. It sets out to create a new narrative, paired with an ambitious and feasible action agenda, by drawing […]

A Sustainable and Equitable Blue Recovery to the COVID-19 Crisis

A healthy ocean is the foundation for vibrant economies. Before the COVID-19 pandemic, ocean-based industries were estimated to contribute 2.5 percent of world gross value added and over 31 million direct full-time jobs. However, as governments seek to reset and rebuild following the pandemic, the ocean economy has been overlooked in stimulus measures, especially when one considers the pandemic’s devastating impacts on workers and […]

The Human Relationship with Our Ocean Planet

Focusing on the institutions that affect access and rights, this paper addresses concerns about the appropriation of marine resources and displacement of indigenous visions for ocean governance by identifying ways these culturally distinct institutions are compatible and charting a path toward inclusive ocean governance. ‘The Human Relationship with Our Ocean Planet’ launched through a webinar on 8 […]

The Ocean Transition: What to Learn from System Transitions

In paving the way for a sustainable ocean economy, it is important to learn from comparable global transitions in the past. This paper examines past successes and failures and their key contributing factors, identifying relevant lessons learned to be applied to the ocean context. The paper considers the current dynamics of transition already under way, […]

Integrated Ocean Management

Drawing lessons from previous successes and failures, the paper identifies existing impediments in policy and practice and lays out a set of steps and guiding principles towards successfully integrated ocean management. It assesses current opportunities to accelerate progress and the impact of these opportunities on jobs and equity. On 20 May 2020, the paper was […]

Towards Ocean Equity

The paper outlines the tensions and trade-offs and presents recommendations for addressing some of the underlying and systemic features of ocean inequities and how policy can support the transition to a sustainable and just ocean economy. On 6th March 2020, the paper was launched via a webinar ‘Towards Ocean Equity’, moderated by Expert Group Co-Chair Jane Lubchenco […]

Technology, Data and New Models for Sustainably Managing Ocean Resources

This paper examines existing and breakthrough technologies, such as drones, artificial intelligence and blockchains, and the associated challenges and possibilities they pose for ocean management and improving understanding of ecosystems and human interactions with the ocean. It also explores potential markets that could stimulate demand for ocean data and ways public and private players can […]

back to top