Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: Le Royaume-Uni rejoint le groupe de haut niveau pour une économie océanique durable Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel lance un rapport sur le tourisme durable et les perspectives d'experts qui l'accompagnent Arrow Featured: Déclaration conjointe des dirigeants du panel sur l'océan à la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l'océan Arrow

La relation humaine avec notre planète océan

Ce document applique une objectif historique pour illustrer les différentes relations économiques, juridiques, institutionnelles, sociales et culturelles que des personnes de différentes cultures entretiennent avec l'océan.

Rapport complet
Sommaire

En se concentrant sur les institutions qui affectent l'accès et les droits, ce document aborde les préoccupations concernant l'appropriation des ressources marines et le déplacement des visions autochtones de la gouvernance des océans en identifiant les façons dont ces institutions culturellement distinctes sont compatibles et en traçant la voie vers une gouvernance inclusive des océans.

"La relation humaine avec notre planète océanique" lancée par le biais d'un séminaire en ligne le 8 septembre 2020. L'événement a été animé par Heather Koldewey, National Geographic Fellow, et a présenté les conférenciers Taholo Kami, Représentant spécial pour les océans et Sherpa aux Fidji sur l'Ocean Panel, aux côtés des auteurs Eddie Allison, John Kurien et Nireka Weeratunge, ainsi que panéliste Sophie Benbow.

Le CGIAR (anciennement le Groupe consultatif pour la recherche agricole internationale) a publié un article de blog intitulé 'Plonger dans diverses relations homme-océan met à nu la base d'une économie bleue équitable' par les auteurs du Blue Paper Eddie Allison et John Kurien.

De plus, l'auteur du Blue Paper Nireka Weeratunge a publié un article de blog, 'Qu'est-ce que l'océan a jamais fait pour nous ? Humaniser le récit de l'économie océanique durable' dans WRI Insights.

Les principaux auteurs de cet article sont Edward H. Allison, John Kurien et Yoshitaka Ota. Parmi les auteurs contributeurs figurent Dedi S. Adhuri, J. Maarten Bavinck, Andrés Cisneros-Montemayor, Michael Fabinyi, Svein Jentoft, Sallie Lau, Tabitha Grace Mallory, Ayodeji Olukoju, Ingrid van Putten, Natasha Stacey, Michelle Voyer et Nireka Weeratunge.

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow

The Human Relationship with Our Ocean Planet

This paper applies a historical lens to illustrate the differing economic, legal, institutional, social and cultural relationships people of varying cultures have with the ocean.

Full Report
Summary

Focusing on the institutions that affect access and rights, this paper addresses concerns about the appropriation of marine resources and displacement of indigenous visions for ocean governance by identifying ways these culturally distinct institutions are compatible and charting a path toward inclusive ocean governance.

‘The Human Relationship with Our Ocean Planet’ launched through a webinar on 8 September 2020. The event was moderated by Heather Koldewey, National Geographic Fellow, and featured speakers Taholo Kami, Special Representative for Oceans and Sherpa to Fiji on the Ocean Panel, alongside authors Eddie Allison, John Kurien and Nireka Weeratunge, as well as panellist Sophie Benbow.

CGIAR (formerly the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research) published a blog post entitled Diving Into Diverse Human-Ocean Relationships Bares the Base of a Fair Blue Economy by Blue Paper authors Eddie Allison and John Kurien.

In addition, Blue Paper author Nireka Weeratunge published a blog post, ‘What Has the Ocean Ever Done for Us? Humanizing the Sustainable Ocean Economy Narrative’ in WRI Insights.

The lead authors of this paper are Edward H. Allison, John Kurien and Yoshitaka Ota. Contributing authors include Dedi S. Adhuri, J. Maarten Bavinck, Andrés Cisneros-Montemayor, Michael Fabinyi, Svein Jentoft, Sallie Lau, Tabitha Grace Mallory, Ayodeji Olukoju, Ingrid van Putten, Natasha Stacey, Michelle Voyer and Nireka Weeratunge.

Close
back to top