专家论文
合作:为创新和成功建立伙伴关系

协作和伙伴关系如何支持向可持续发展的转变?考虑公私伙伴关系在促进创新和克服进入壁垒和/或区域合作作为降低风险的机制方面的作用?有哪些成功的例子?

Melinda Watt
梅琳达瓦特
EarthCheck 关系管理副总裁兼首席科学家

本着和解的精神,EarthCheck 承认澳大利亚全国的传统监护人及其与陆地、海洋和社区的联系。我们向他们过去和现在的长者表示敬意,并将这种敬意延伸到今天所有的原住民和托雷斯海峡岛民。 EarthCheck 承认 Turrbal 和 Jagera 人是我们总部所在的南岸土地的传统所有者。南布里斯班地区,包括马斯格雷夫公园,对澳大利亚原住民来说具有重要的文化意义,经常被用作访问 Meannjin(布里斯班河)北部和南部人民的聚会场所。

关于地球检查

EarthCheck 是世界领先的商业咨询集团,专门从事旅游业的可持续发展和目的地管理。 EarthCheck 对负责任旅游的整体方法及其世界领先的科学使目的地和运营商能够自信地对他们的表现进行基准测试和认证。

通过其 Total Tourism Management™ 平台,EarthCheck 与客户合作,帮助规划未来,指导智能建筑的设计、建造和运营以及旅游目的地的负责任管理[1].

合作:为创新和成功建立伙伴关系

EarthCheck 是世界领先的旅行和旅游业科学和环境基准、认证和咨询集团。 30 多年来,我们与全球领先的研究中心和大学合作,解决旅游目的地、社区和企业面临的关键可持续性和气候变化问题。 EarthCheck 相信,对企业有益的事情也会对地球有益。

EarthCheck 科学和研究,包括我们的可持续发展标准,最初是由澳大利亚政府的可持续旅游合作研究中心 (CRCST) 开发的,该中心成立于 1997 年。

CRCST 的目标是开展研究并提供知识和工具,为政策和规划提供信息,以支持可持续的旅游企业和目的地。为实现这一目标,该中心参与了广泛的利益相关者磋商,以构建三个核心研发主题:

  1. 旅游规划与环境管理:目标是提高旅游产品的质量,降低合规成本,确保生态和遗产价值的可持续性,并为社区带来更多的经济、社会和文化利益。
  2. 旅游技术、工程与设计:目标是为旅游发展开发具有成本效益、低影响的技术和工程解决方案,并通过更好地应用信息技术来提高旅游竞争力。
  3. 旅游政策、产品和业务: 目的是为旅游市场的战略发展、战略营销、影响评估政策和规划框架以及战略管理提供研究基础。

在实现全球气候目标的竞赛中,势头正在聚集。全球越来越多的组织必须传达他们的气候影响和减少气候影响的承诺。有效的沟通表明对国家和国际法规的遵守,并显示出远见和更大的雄心。管理良好和创新的参与策略可以极大地影响组织的形象和品牌。不过,最重要的是,它是变革的强大推动力。提高认识、促进伙伴关系和分享创新的气候解决方案可以带来真正和持久的变化。

同样,通过负责任的做法让公众和其他利益相关者参与进来,有助于您的气候努力取得成功。有效的参与促进对话,并围绕保护我们生态系统的气候和生物多样性的共同目标团结人们。

气候野心和行动在组织、部门和地理区域之间存在差异,在企业或组织层面没有普遍同意的标准定义,例如碳中和或净零。因此,用于谈论气候承诺和行动的语言通常是高度技术性的,有时不精确,甚至具有误导性。因此,挑战在于 技术上正确, 准确的, 和 符合最新的气候科学 同时是 无障碍 给你的利益相关者。

未来几年不能像往常一样对待。它们预示着一个新时期,社会、经济和环境的不确定性和破坏已成为常态。现在很明显,区域和全球气候变化已成为现实。尽管如此,我们的业务计划仍需要考虑其他一些危害和漏洞。现在需要标准操作程序来管理风险、建立适应和恢复响应中的弹性和因素。

随着全球旅行限制的逐步放宽,人们将再次开始离开家园,寻求与外界的重新联系和自己的再创造。鉴于国际旅行在相当长的一段时间内(两到三年)仍将受到限制,本地和国内旅游业将在 COVID-19 后的环境中提供绿芽。虽然可以预期人们最初会开始前往离家较近的地点,但随着更广泛的经济开放,这将逐渐扩展到更长的一日游、过夜住宿和延长休息时间。

我们目前的研究表明,随着我们进入重置和恢复阶段,卫生、一般游客安全和清洁将在接下来的几个月中成为所有目的地、区域和企业的首要和中心。与家人和朋友共度时光将变得越来越重要,拜访他们将成为旅行的主要动力。随着旅行者改变偏好并避开拥挤的地方,同时享受大自然对心理健康的好处,户外活动可能会蓬勃发展。

现在很清楚,在 COVID-19 之后,有意识的消费者将开始仔细检查目的地、业务和供应链的各个方面。有些组织会真正实现这些目标,有些组织会错误地声称他们已经实现了,有些则根本不在乎。有些人想但不知道怎么做。奖励真正符合这些目标的企业或目的地的一种方法是给予他们可信的(独立的)第三方认可。

就其核心而言,认证是确保活动或产品符合特定标准的一种方式。在旅游业中,不同的组织制定了衡量旅游业各个方面的认证计划:(a) 质量,针对整个旅游业,(b) 可持续性,也针对所有部门,(c) 生态旅游,针对发生在自然、受保护或脆弱的生态系统,以及 (d) 健康和卫生,也适用于所有部门。

认证设定了标准,并有助于将真正可持续(和/或卫生)的旅游企业与其他声称无法证实或仅表明希望以特定方式行事的企业区分开来。这有助于保护这些概念的完整性。

认证本身并不是目的。它是激励企业和其他人改善其环境、社会和经济绩效的多种工具之一。它为他们提供的回报有时是有形的,有时不是。

我们的经验表明,认证已帮助许多企业改进。进行认证过程具有教育意义。许多获得认证的企业表示,认证过程的最大好处之一是向他们传授其运营中的可持续性要素(包括风险、弹性和卫生),并将他们的注意力集中在他们需要做出的改变上。一家成功的公司往往效率更高,并吸引更多客户。据报道,认证还可以提高员工的敬业度和支持性。

 

“拥有可靠的环境管理系统有助于我们以全球企业为基准,可持续项目受到游客的高度重视。”

—Fabian Arriaga,Alltournative 运营总监

 

Alltournative 是一家专业的旅游运营商,在墨西哥金塔纳罗奥州的里维埃拉玛雅地区指导生态和探险探险。该公司于 2012 年开始了 EarthCheck 的可持续发展之旅。其敬业的团队促进了对玛雅人民及其独特文化的欣赏,确保游客负责任地行事并尊重当地社区和自然环境。通过真正推广墨西哥的自然宝藏并建立真正的文化和生态保护计划,Alltournative 致力于为当地社区实现经济和可持续发展。

加强该地区玛雅社区的发展,帮助当地人民从自给农业过渡到创造更可持续的收入。 Alltournative 100% 的员工来自当地社区,100% 的服务合同授予当地承包商。此外,Alltournative 仅从当地生产商处购买易腐烂商品。这些战略使当地社区受益,为该地区注入经济价值并促进其增长。

Alltournative 还鼓励当地玛雅社区接受他们的祖先遗产。提供就业机会和与当地青少年接触有助于最大限度地减少向主要城市工作的迁移和文化解体的可能性。

事实上,在过去几年中,已经提出了许多“重新思考”旅游及其目的的形式。许多司法管辖区都在考虑更慢、更有目的的旅游,并确保游客支付其产生的直接和间接成本的公平份额。对于旅游业,重要的新范式,包括恢复性和再生性旅游,需要在长期可持续发展倡议的背景下看待。反过来,这些必须置于所有人类活动的更广泛背景下,并与更全面的可持续发展目标相关联。

在目的地层面,人们越来越关注目的地管理以及旅游业与当地发展和福祉议程的整合。其核心是关于衡量旅游业影响的关键指标的基本问题。根据布伦特兰(联合国委托)的报告 我们共同的未来, 可持续性成为包括旅游业在内的所有资源部门的号角[2].许多人会争辩说 可持续性 已成为一个修辞术语,未能引起真正的关注。尽管如此,随着人类引起的环境压力变得越来越紧迫,“在地球边界内”生活的生存目标已经体现在关注“恢复”过去的破坏和“再生”自然系统的需要上。很容易迷失在“维持:恢复:再生”的语言中,但我们应该注意到,这些主要表达了需要仅利用可持续收获的自然资本,超越眼前的需求并回馈社会(恢复)自然资本和生态系统服务。

随着时间的推移,人们越来越关注以人为本的压力,尤其是在全球社会寻求更重要的发展公平的情况下。几位评论员认为,生物多样性和人类发展目标是当前气候危机之下的“冰山”。支撑这一点的是重建人类与环境之间关系的迫切需要(因持续的 COVID 大流行而加剧),重申人类存在的人类学范式,并通过生活在自然的限制内而不是支配它们来进步。正是通过这些不断扩大的目标,我们 EarthCheck 继续发展我们的指标。

 

'EarthCheck 的旅程始于 2003 年,当时我们开始了成为一个经过环保认证和更可持续发展的社区的进程。我们与 EarthCheck 的合作让我们在使用质量控制、纪律和合规性作为工具来专注于可持续目的地管理方面处于领先地位。

—Guðrún Magnúsdóttir,西冰岛自然研究中心项目经理

 

Snæfellsnes 是一个 90 公里长的半岛,位于冰岛西部。 Snæfellsnes 以其自然美景和多样性而闻名,是壮观的山脉、高耸的瀑布、沙滩和友好社区的超现实组合。 Snæfellsjökull 冰川覆盖的火山是皇冠上的明珠。这是一个交织着历史、魔法和冰岛传奇的神奇之地——儒勒·凡尔纳科幻小说的焦点 地心之旅 以及最近,在 权力的游戏 系列。冰岛吸引了许多旅行者的想象力,它是一个神话般的目的地,提供深厚的联系和丰富的体验,一个具有持久影响的假期!

Snæfellsnes 成为欧洲第一个 EarthCheck 可持续目的地,并于 2018 年获得 EarthCheck 白金认证。这一里程碑标志着连续 10 年测量和管理温室气体排放、能源、废物和水消耗以及社会影响。

Eyja-og Miklaholtshreppur、Helgafellssveit、Grundarfjarðarbær、Snæfellsbær 和 Stykkishólmsbær 的 Snæfellsnes 市政府决心保护自然和文化资产、解决当地社区问题并提高福祉,与 Snæfellsjökull 国家公园一起制定了一项可持续发展的共同政策,以投资于人员和培训,以及经济和社会基础设施。

Snæfellsnes 被亲切地称为“简而言之的冰岛”,是旅行者的梦想,拥有令人叹为观止的风景和 4,000 人稀少的人口。生活以渔业、农业和旅游业为中心;然而,80% 的企业承认旅游业是他们的主要收入来源。 2018 年,游客人数是冰岛当地人口的两倍。 Snæfellsnes 社区知道,如果不仔细管理,旅游业可能是有害的。

自 Snæfellsnes 加入 EarthCheck 可持续目的地计划以来,当地社区在该地区的可持续发展之旅中发挥了关键作用. “一开始,我们必须说服社区更加了解并参与我们的项目,”西冰岛自然研究中心的项目经理 Guðrún Magnúsdóttir 说。 “如今,由于全球意识的提高和我们可持续发展计划的影响力,越来越多的本地企业、组织和个人希望参与其中,并开始了自己的环境倡议。”

当地劳动力、社区服务和自然资源是市政当局的优先事项——保护文化遗产和每个社区的个性,促进就业机会和当地企业。与利益相关者的密切合作确保了更加协作的过程并尊重有关资源控制的法律法规。

 

沟通有助于社区参与以加强关系、教育游客、减少浪费、节约用水和节约能源。正如 Magnúsdóttir 所说,“我们了解到,在我们的大多数关键绩效领域实现目标的最佳方式之一是社会和文化管理——在我们的指标中看到积极发展的最佳方式是外展。这是具有挑战性的,但仍然有效。

在一个重要的意义上(COVID-19 大流行已经证明了这一点),旅游业只是更大的社会经济背景下的一个部门。旅游业的目标现在正面临挑战,不仅要解决可持续收获问题,还要在环境和社会方面“回馈”(恢复或再生)。旅游业在推进这一目标方面具有独特的优势。当建立在适合主客关系的“注意义务”框架内的人和地方的联系时,丰富的自然和文化体验可以成为更有目的的旅游体验的基石。

—–

[1] EarthCheck 主页,earthcheck.org。

[2] 世界环境与发展委员会, 我们共同的未来 (纽约:联合国,1987 年)。

 

 

 

 

 

 

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Collaboration: Building Partnerships for Innovation and Success

How can collaboration and partnerships support the shift to sustainability? Consider the role of public private partnerships to promote innovation and overcome barriers to entry and/or regional collaboration as a mechanism to reduce risk? What are examples of success?

Melinda Watt
Melinda Watt
Vice President Relationship Management & Chief Scientist, EarthCheck

In the spirit of reconciliation, EarthCheck acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today. EarthCheck recognises the Turrbal and Jagera people as the Traditional Owners of the lands at South Bank, where our headquarters are located. The region of South Brisbane, including Musgrave Park, is culturally significant to Indigenous Australians and was frequently used as a meeting place for visiting peoples from north and south of Meeannjin (Brisbane River).

About EarthCheck

EarthCheck is the world’s leading business advisory group specialising in sustainability and destination management for the travel and tourism industry. EarthCheck’s holistic approach to responsible tourism and its world-leading science enables destinations and operators to benchmark and certify their performance with confidence.

Through its Total Tourism Management™ platform, EarthCheck collaborates with clients to help plan for the future and guide the design, construction and operation of intelligent buildings and the responsible management of tourism destinations[1].

Collaboration: Building partnerships for innovation and success

EarthCheck is the world’s leading scientific and environmental benchmarking, certification and advisory group for the travel and tourism industry. For over 30 years, we have worked with leading research centres and universities worldwide to address the key sustainability and climate change issues facing tourism destinations, communities and enterprises. EarthCheck believes that what can be good for business can be good for the planet.

EarthCheck science and research, including our sustainability standards, were initially developed by the Australian government’s Cooperative Research Centre for Sustainable Tourism (CRCST), established in 1997.

The objective of the CRCST was to undertake research and deliver knowledge and tools to inform policy and planning to support sustainable tourism businesses and destinations. To achieve this objective, the centre participated in extensive stakeholder consultation to frame three core research and development themes:

  1. Tourism planning and environmental management: The objective was to enhance quality tourism products, reduce compliance costs, ensure the sustainability of ecological and heritage values and deliver increased economic, social and cultural benefits to the community.
  2. Tourism technology, engineering and design: The objective was to develop cost-effective, low-impact technologies and engineering solutions for tourism developments and enhance travel and tourism competitiveness through better application of information technology.
  3. Tourism policy, products and business: The objective was to provide the research foundation for the strategic development of tourism in tourism markets, strategic marketing, impact assessment policy and planning frameworks and strategic management.

In the race to meet global climate targets, momentum is gathering. More and more organisations worldwide must communicate their climate impact and commitments to reduce it. Communicating effectively demonstrates compliance with national and international regulations and shows foresight and increased ambition. Well-managed and innovative engagement strategies can strongly influence an organisation’s image and brand. Still, above all, it is a powerful driver of change. Raising awareness, fostering partnerships and sharing innovative climate solutions can lead to real and lasting change.

Similarly, engaging the public and other stakeholders through responsible practices can contribute to your climate efforts’ success. Effective engagement fosters dialogue and unites people around the common goal of preserving our ecosystems’ climate and biodiversity.

Climate ambitions and actions are heterogeneous across organisations, sectors and geographical areas without commonly agreed-upon, standard definitions of, say, carbon neutrality or net zero at a corporate or organisational level. As a result, the language used to talk about climate commitments and actions is often highly technical, sometimes imprecise and even misleading. Therefore, the challenge is to be technically correct, accurate, and consistent with the latest climate science while being accessible to your stakeholders.

The next few years cannot be treated as business as usual. They herald a new period where societal, economic and environmental uncertainty and disruption have become the norm. It is now clear that regional and global climate change is a reality. Still, some other hazards and vulnerabilities need to be factored into our business plans. Standard operating procedures are now required to manage risk, build resilience and factor in adaptation and recovery responses.

With the gradual easing of travel restrictions worldwide, people will once again start to leave their homes in search of reconnection with the outside world and their own re-creation. Given that international travel will remain constrained for a considerable period (two to three years), local and domestic tourism will provide the green shoots in a post-COVID-19 environment. While it can be expected that people will initially start travelling to sites closer to home, as the broader economy opens up, this will gradually extend to longer day trips, overnight stays and extended breaks.

Our current research indicates that hygiene, general visitor safety and cleanliness will be front and centre for all destinations, precincts and businesses in the next months as we move into a reset-and-recover phase. Spending time with family and friends will increase in importance, and visiting them will be a key motivator for travel. The great outdoors are likely to boom as travellers shift their preferences and avoid crowded places, while enjoying the benefits of nature on mental health.

It is now clear that after COVID-19, the conscious consumer will begin to scrutinise every aspect of a destination, business and supply chain. Some organisations will genuinely achieve these aims, others will falsely claim they have and some will simply not care. Some would like to but don’t know how. One way of rewarding the businesses or destinations that truly comply with these goals is by giving them credible (independent) third-party recognition.

At its core, certification is a way of ensuring that an activity or a product meets certain standards. In the tourist industry, different organisations have developed certification programs measuring various aspects of tourism: (a) quality, for the entire tourist industry, (b) sustainability, also for all sectors, (c) ecotourism, for sustainable tourism that takes place in natural, protected or fragile ecosystems, and (d) health and hygiene, also for all sectors.

Certification sets standards and helps distinguish genuinely sustainable (and/or hygienic) tourism businesses from others that make claims that cannot be substantiated or merely indicate a desire to act in a specific way. This helps to protect the integrity of these concepts.

Certification is not an end in itself. It is one of several tools for motivating businesses and others to improve their environmental, social and economic performance. The rewards it offers them are sometimes tangible and sometimes not.

Our experience has shown that certification has helped many businesses improve. Undertaking a certification process is educational. Many certified businesses have stated that one of the greatest benefits of the certification process was to teach them the elements of sustainability (risk, resilience and hygiene included) in their operations and focus their attention on the changes they needed to make. A successful company tends to be more efficient and attract more clients. Certification is also reported to lead to more engaged and supportive employees.

 

‘Having a reliable environmental management system helps us to benchmark against global businesses, and sustainable projects are highly valued by tourists.’

—Fabian Arriaga, operations director, Alltournative

 

Alltournative is a specialist tour operator guiding ecological and adventure expeditions throughout the Riviera Maya in the Mexican state of Quintana Roo. The company began its sustainable journey with EarthCheck in 2012. Its dedicated team fosters an appreciation of the Mayan peoples and their unique cultures, ensuring that visitors act responsibly and respect the local communities and natural environment. By genuinely promoting the natural treasures of Mexico and establishing authentic programs for cultural and ecological preservation, Alltournative is committed to achieving economic and sustainable development for local communities.

Enhancing the development of Mayan communities in the region has helped local people transition from subsistence agriculture to generating a more sustainable income. Alltournative hires 100 percent of its staff from the local community, and 100 percent of service contracts are awarded to local contractors. In addition, Alltournative purchases perishable goods solely from local producers. These strategies benefit local communities, inject economic value into the region and boost its growth.

Alltournative also encourages local Mayan communities to embrace their ancestral heritage. Providing employment opportunities and engaging with local adolescents has helped minimise migration to major cities for work and the possibility of cultural dissolution.

Indeed, numerous forms of ‘rethinking’ tourism and its purposes have been proposed over the last few years. Slower, more purposeful tourism and ensuring that tourists pay their fair share of the direct and indirect costs it generates are under consideration in numerous jurisdictions. For tourism, important new paradigms, including restorative and regenerative tourism, need to be seen in the context of longer-standing sustainability initiatives. These, in turn, must sit within the broader context of all human activity and speak to more comprehensive sustainability goals.

At the destination level, there is an increased focus on destination management and the integration of tourism with agendas for local development and well-being. At the core of this are essential questions about the key indicators to measure tourism’s impacts. Following the Brundtland (UN-commissioned) report Our Common Future, sustainability became a clarion call across all resource sectors, including tourism[2]. Many would argue that sustainability has become a rhetorical term and has failed to attract real attention. Notwithstanding, as human-induced environmental pressures have become more pressing, the existential goals of living ‘within planetary boundaries’ have been manifest in ways that focus on the need to ‘restore’ past damage and ‘regenerate’ natural systems. It would be easy to get lost in the language of ‘sustain: restore: regenerate’, but we should note that these are largely expressions of the need to draw only on a sustainable harvest of natural capital, to step beyond immediate needs and give back to (restore) natural capital and ecosystem services.

Over time, there has been an increasing focus on human-centred pressures, especially as the global community seeks more significant development equity. Several commentators argue that biodiversity and human development goals are the ‘iceberg’ sitting below the current climate crisis. Underpinning this is the pressing need (heightened by the ongoing COVID pandemic) to rebuild relationships between humans and the environment, reaffirming the anthropological paradigm that humans exist and progress by living within nature’s limits rather than dominating them. It is through these broadening goals that we at EarthCheck continue to evolve our indicators.

 

‘The journey with EarthCheck began in 2003 when we started the process to become an environmentally certified and more sustainable community. Our work with EarthCheck gave us a head start to focus on sustainable destination management using quality control, discipline and compliance as tools.’

—Guðrún Magnúsdóttir, Project Manager, West Iceland Nature Research Center

 

Snæfellsnes is a 90-kilometre-long peninsula located in western Iceland. Recognised for its natural beauty and diversity, Snæfellsnes is a surreal combination of spectacular mountains, towering waterfalls, sandy beaches and friendly communities. The Snæfellsjökull glacier-capped volcano is the jewel in the crown. It is a magical place woven in history, enchantments and Icelandic sagas—the focus of Jules Verne’s science fiction novel Journey to the Centre of the Earth and, more recently, a backdrop in the Game of Thrones series. Iceland has captured the imagination of many a traveller as a mythological destination that offers deep connections and rich experiences, a holiday with lasting impact!

Snæfellsnes became the first EarthCheck Sustainable Destination in Europe and, in 2018, achieved EarthCheck Platinum Certification. This milestone marked 10 continuous years of measuring and managing greenhouse gas emissions, energy, waste and water consumption, and social impact.

Determined to preserve natural and cultural assets, address local community issues and enhance well-being, the Snæfellsnes municipalities of Eyja-og Miklaholtshreppur, Helgafellssveit, Grundarfjarðarbær, Snæfellsbær and Stykkishólmsbær, together with the Snæfellsjökull National Park, established a shared policy of sustainable development to invest in people and training, as well as economic and social infrastructure.

Affectionately known as ‘Iceland in a nutshell’, Snæfellsnes is a traveller’s dream, with breath-taking scenery and a sparse population of 4,000 people. Life centres around fishing, agriculture and tourism; however, 80 percent of businesses acknowledge that tourism is their primary source of income. In 2018, the number of tourists was double the local Icelandic population. The Snæfellsnes community knows that tourism can be detrimental if not carefully managed.

Since Snæfellsnes joined the EarthCheck Sustainable Destinations program, the local community has played a key role in the area’s sustainability journey. ‘In the beginning, we had to convince the community to be more aware and involved in our projects’, says Project Manager, West Iceland Nature Research Center, Guðrún Magnúsdóttir. ‘Nowadays, thanks to increased global awareness and the reach of our sustainability program, more local businesses, organisations and individuals want to be involved and have started their own environmental initiatives.’

The local workforce, community services and natural resources are a priority for the municipalities—protecting cultural heritage and the individuality of each community and promoting job opportunities and local businesses. Working closely with stakeholders has ensured a more collaborative process and respect for laws and regulations regarding resource control.

 

Communication is instrumental for community engagement to enhance relationships, educate tourists, reduce waste, conserve water and save energy. As Magnúsdóttir  puts it, ‘We’ve learned that one of the best ways to reach our goals in most of our key performance areas is with social and cultural management—the best way to see positive development in our indicators is with outreach. Which is challenging, but nevertheless effective.’

In an important sense (and the COVID-19 pandemic has demonstrated this), tourism is but one sector within a larger socioeconomic context. Tourism’s goals are now being challenged to address more than sustainable harvest, to ‘give back’ (restore or regenerate) environmentally and socially. Tourism is uniquely placed to advance this goal. When grounded in the nexus of people and places within a framework of a ‘duty of care’ befitting host-guest relationships, rich natural and cultural experiences can be the cornerstone of more purposeful tourism experiences.

—–

[1] EarthCheck home page, earthcheck.org.

[2] World Commission on Environment and Development, Our Common Future (New York: United Nations, 1987).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Close
back to top