Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
合作:为创新和成功建立伙伴关系

协作和伙伴关系如何支持向可持续发展的转变?考虑公私伙伴关系在促进创新和克服进入壁垒和/或区域合作作为降低风险的机制方面的作用?有哪些成功的例子?

Marina Novelli
玛丽娜·诺维利
英国布莱顿大学教授

可持续旅游发展和管理的合作是学术界和从业者广泛讨论的话题,也是可持续旅游规划的重要组成部分[1].在全球范围内,旅游业一直是社会经济和环境问题的受害者和载体,沿海目的地经历经济剥夺、环境退化或两者兼而有之[2].从社会经济角度来看,就业机会仍然有限、收入低且以非技术性季节性就业为主,而过度依赖旅游业是常态[3].从环境角度来看,气候变化影响蓝色空间,沿海地区受到海平面上升、洪水和侵蚀的影响[4].这使得旅游业极易受到政治、环境、经济和健康冲击,例如持续的 COVID-19 大流行,对历史上脆弱的沿海目的地造成毁灭性影响[5].为蓝色空间建立可持续性和复原力至关重要,因为它们具有对旅游业及其居民至关重要的生态、美学和健康价值[6].

联合国 2030 年可持续发展议程和可持续发展目标 17——实现目标的伙伴关系——强调 合作伙伴关系 作为一个有弹性和更可持续的未来的核心原则。在旅游业中,合作对于建立有益的伙伴关系、支持生计、保护文化和环境资产以及更负责任地发展旅游业至关重要[7].

合作和伙伴关系旨在通过让具有不同价值观和议程的机构、组织、企业、学术机构、特殊利益集团和社区成员等广泛的利益相关者参与进来,从而利用旅游业的可持续发展。尽管让如此多的利益相关者参与任何规划过程可能既困难又耗时,但它可能通过提高目的地效率、公平与和谐为可持续性带来显着的好处[8].本文将通过三个例子来展示协作的重要性:

  • 研究和知识交流:COAST 项目
  • 对等教学:Peer2Peer 能力建设倡议
  • 社区旅游企业:Turtle SOS,冈比亚

撒哈拉以南非洲包括 32 个沿海国家,不可持续的旅游做法已经对脆弱的生态系统造成不可挽回的破坏,导致重大经济损失。 2010 年,联合国环境规划署、全球环境基金、联合国工业发展组织和世界旅游组织共同制定了针对撒哈拉以南海岸线的可持续旅游合作行动 (COAST) 倡议[9]. COAST 项目由来自学术界和工业界的专家组成的联盟实施,合作开展了一个共同构建的研究和知识交流项目。该项目涉及九个国家(喀麦隆、冈比亚、加纳、肯尼亚、莫桑比克、尼日利亚、塞内加尔、塞舌尔和坦桑尼亚)的公共、私营和第三部门机构的能力建设。它旨在减少沿海旅游的负面影响,并释放旅游业对整个非洲沿海发展的潜在贡献。该项目的初始阶段确定了每个国家的主要挑战和障碍,描述了解决一系列培训和能力挑战的总体计划要素,并特别关注每个国家的示范点。九个国家特定需求评估中的每一个都是独立设计的,但遵循共同的方法和方法。在所有九个国家,缺乏有效的 环境管理系统 酒店和度假村行业被确定为COAST项目的三个重点领域之一,其次是 生态旅游,广泛理解为包括沿海旅游的环境、经济和社会文化规划和管理,其特点是东道国社区参与和提高当地利益。对于东非国家, 珊瑚礁养护和保护 成为优先事项。

作为在九个 COAST 示范项目中的三个工作的 COAST 联盟的一部分,我的团队为尼日利亚、冈比亚和加纳的“最佳可用实践/技术”做出了研究。我们确定了生态旅游发展的培训需求和政府指导方针。在此基础上,COAST 确定了示范点,并在冈比亚沿海村庄 Kartong 开展了有针对性的培训和当地倡议等活动。这项合作研究使当地利益相关者能够阐明他们村庄的旅游发展愿景,并有助于社区对其未来的信心日益增强。这一过程对双方都具有变革性,导致对当地企业的直接和间接支持,并在更广泛的社区中产生深远的社会和经济效益。

与 COAST 项目同时,自 2007 年以来,我通过利基旅游研究和教学计划促进了 Peer2Peer (P2P) 能力建设。 P2P 计划的主要价值在于学术研究人员、当地从业者、国际学生和当地参与者之间的结构化点对点合作,他们共同设计利基旅游商机和创新的社区旅游企业。彼得伯恩斯和我揭示了通过旅游网络发展和点对点能力建设合作的重要性,旨在促进非洲劳动力发展和减轻贫困[10].自成立以来,P2P 倡议在推动可持续旅游实践和吸引冈比亚南部沿海村庄的低收入社区方面发挥了关键作用。到 2020 年,由于布莱顿大学和 Sandele 基金会之间的密切合作,60 名当地社区成员(每年 10 名参与者,为期六年)从 P2P 能力建设计划中受益。通过产品开发培训,社区成员获得了与可持续旅游商业规划、保护和社区发展相关的新知识、技能和价值观,带领低收入社区成员发起了 16 项微型倡议和创业初创企业。

P2P 倡议的一个关键成果是在冈比亚建立了第一个以社区为基础的海龟保护项目“海龟 SOS”,以应对毁灭性的海龟偷猎。该项目为 7 名环保人士(包括两名前偷猎者)带来了直接的有偿就业,并雇佣了 10 至 30 名当地正规志愿者。 Turtle SOS 已在五个低收入沿海社区的七所学校开展教育计划,惠及约 5,000 名 3-14 岁儿童及其家庭,通过电影放映和演示让更广泛的社区参与进来。 2015年11月,我们进一步合作在桑德勒新建的海龟保护和解释中心的战略和实践发展,提供当地独特的小规模高收益旅游景点,平均每年吸引200名游客。

凭借这一经验,自 2018 年以来,我通过与全球知名艺术家 Serge Clottey、La360 社区艺术节团队和当地青年团体的合作,领导了 P2P 计划在加纳的实施。这种 P2P 干预提高了阿克拉低收入沿海社区 La (Labadi) 的社区生活水平。它刺激了社区成员态度的转变,从目睹城市和海洋环境退化的被动旁观者转变为这些环境的积极守护者。通过 P2P 能力建设研讨会,450 名社区成员被激励参加海滩和社区清洁活动,从而改变了社区对环境卫生和废物管理需求的理解。社区成员也对他们如何从旅游和主客相遇中受益有了新的理解。

上述合作提高了劳动力技能,产生了创新的利基旅游产品,并通过让冈比亚的 5,000 名儿童及其家人参与海龟保护工作以及让 450 名社区成员参与冈比亚拉社区沿海地点的废物管理,使六个低收入沿海社区受益。阿克拉。

尽管 COVID-19 危机带来了前所未有的挑战,但大流行后的复苏将为旅游业的创新投资提供机会[11].增强行业可持续性和复原力的干预措施确实很重要[12],但今天比以往任何时候都更重要的是促进沿海目的地的恢复和再生。

—–

[1] B. Bramwell 和 B. Lane,“可持续旅游:不断发展的全球方法”, 可持续旅游杂志 1,没有。 1 (1993): 1-5; WC 加特纳, 旅游业发展:原则、过程和政策 (纽约:Van Nostrand Reinhold,1996 年); PW Williams、RW Penrose 和 S. Hawkes,“旅游用地规划中的共同决策”, 旅游研究年鉴 25,没有。 4 (1998): 860–89; J. Liburd 和 D. Edwards, 可持续旅游发展合作 (英国牛津:Goodfellow,2018 年);联合国气候变化框架公约(UNFCCC), 通过合作伙伴关系增强海洋、沿海地区和生态系统的复原力 (波恩:内罗毕工作计划,2021 年)。

[2] S. Agarwal、S. Jakes、S. Essex、SJ Page 和 M. Mowforth,“英国海滨度假村的劣势:贫困社区的类型”, 旅游管理 69 (2018): 440–59;联合国气候变化框架公约, 增强海洋、沿海地区和生态系统的复原力.

[3] V. Della Corte、G. Del Gaudio、F. Sepe 和 S. Luongo,“高级可持续旅游管理的目的地弹性和创新:文献计量分析”, 可持续性 13,没有。 22(2021):12632。

[4] 菲利普斯先生、AL Jones 和 T. Thomas,“气候变化、沿海管理和可接受的风险:旅游业的后果”, 海岸研究杂志 85(2018):1411-15; M. Zsamboky、A. Fernández-Bilbao、D. Smith、J. Knight 和 J. Allan,“气候变化对不利的英国沿海社区的影响”,约瑟夫·朗特里基金会,2011 年 3 月 6 日; D. Jarratt 和 NJ Davies,“气候变化影响规划:沿海旅游目的地复原力政策”, 旅游规划与发展 17,没有。 4(2020):423-40。

[5] N. Ntounis、C. Parker、H. Skinner、C. Steadman 和 G. Warnaby,“COVID-19 大流行期间的旅游和酒店业弹性:来自英格兰的证据”, 当前的旅游问题, 2021 年 2 月 13 日,1-14。

[6] Jarratt 和 Davies,“气候变化影响规划”; AM Cisneros-Montemayor、M. Moreno-Báez、G. Reygondeau、WW Cheung、KM Crosman、PC González-Espinosa 等人,“为公平和可持续的蓝色经济创造条件”, 自然 591,没有。 7850(2021):396–401; S. Volker、J. Matros 和 T. Claben,“确定与健康相关的城市开放空间:对蓝色空间重要性的定性分析”, 环境地球科学 75,没有。 13(2016):1-18。

[7] 利伯德和爱德华兹, 可持续旅游发展合作.

[8] DJ Timothy,“发展中目的地的合作旅游规划”, 可持续旅游杂志 6,没有。 1 (1998): 52-68。

[9] EW Manning,“可持续旅游 (COAST) 的协作行动:项目概述和培训需求综合”,Tourisk,2010 年,https://iwlearn.net/resolveuid/d4cd56a10bffe2e8cdbdcf583020828c。

[10] M. Novelli 和 P. Burns,“旅游中的点对点 (P2P) 能力建设:实地教育的价值观和经验”, 南部非洲发展 27,没有。 5 (2010): 741–56。

[11] A. Traskevich 和 M. Fontanari,“后 COVID19 的旅游潜力:旅游高级可持续管理的目的地弹性概念”, 旅游规划与发展, 2021 年 3 月 3 日,1-25。

[12] GD Sharma、A. Thomas 和 J. Paul,“在 COVID-19 后重振旅游业:基于弹性的框架”, 旅游管理观点 37(2021 年 1 月):100786。

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Collaboration: Building Partnerships for Innovation and Success

How can collaboration and partnerships support the shift to sustainability? Consider the role of public private partnerships to promote innovation and overcome barriers to entry and/or regional collaboration as a mechanism to reduce risk? What are examples of success?

Marina Novelli
Marina Novelli
Professor at University of Brighton, UK

Collaboration for sustainable tourism development and management is a well-covered topic among both academics and practitioners, and it is an essential ingredient in sustainable tourism planning[1]. Globally, tourism has been the victim and the vector of socioeconomic and environmental problems, with coastal destinations experiencing economic deprivation, environmental degradation or both[2]. From a socioeconomic perspective, job opportunities remain limited, low-paid and dominated by unskilled, seasonal employment, while overreliance on the tourism industry is the norm[3]. From an environmental perspective, climate change affects blue spaces, with coastal areas being impacted by rising sea levels, flooding and erosion[4]. This makes tourism extremely vulnerable to political, environmental, economic and health shocks such as the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, with a devastating effect on historically fragile coastal destinations[5]. Building sustainability and resilience for blue spaces is vital, as they possess ecological, aesthetic and wellness values essential for tourism, as well as for their residents[6].

The UN Agenda 2030 for Sustainable Development and Sustainable Development Goal 17—Partnership for the Goals—highlight collaboration and partnerships as central tenets for a resilient and more sustainable future. In tourism, collaboration is essential to create beneficial partnerships, support livelihoods, protect cultural and environmental assets and develop tourism more responsibly[7].

Collaboration and partnerships are meant to leverage the sustainable development of tourism by engaging a vast range of stakeholders, such as agencies, organisations, businesses, academic institutions, special interest groups and community members with a diverse set of values and agendas. Although involving such a range of stakeholders in any planning process can be difficult and time-consuming, it may bring significant benefits for sustainability by increasing destination efficiency, equity and harmony[8]. This essay will look at three examples showcasing the importance of collaboration:

  • Research and knowledge exchange: the COAST project
  • Peer-to-peer teaching: the Peer2Peer Capacity Building initiative
  • Community-based tourism enterprises: Turtle SOS, the Gambia

Sub-Saharan Africa includes 32 coastal states where unsustainable tourism practices have already irreparably damaged fragile ecosystems, leading to significant economic losses. In 2010, the UN Environment Programme, the Global Environmental Facility, the UN Industrial Development Organization and the World Tourism Organization worked together to develop the Collaborative Actions for Sustainable Tourism (COAST) initiative for the sub-Saharan coastline[9]. The COAST project was carried out by a consortium of experts from academia and industry, collaborating on a co-constructed research and knowledge-exchange project. The project involved capacity building for public-, private- and third-sector institutions in nine countries (Cameroon, the Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Nigeria, Senegal, the Seychelles and Tanzania). It aimed at reducing the negative effects of coastal tourism and unlocking tourism’s potential contribution to coastal development throughout Africa. The project’s initial phase defined key challenges and barriers in each of the countries, delineating elements of the overall programme to address a range of training and capacity challenges, with specific attention to each country’s demonstration sites. Each of the nine country-specific needs assessments was designed to stand alone but followed a shared methodology and approach. In all nine countries, the lack of effective environmental management systems for the hotel and resort industry was identified as one of the COAST project’s three areas of focus, followed by ecotourism, broadly understood as encompassing environmental, economic and sociocultural planning and management of coastal tourism, characterised by host-community participation and enhanced local benefits. For the East African countries, reef conservation and protection emerged as a priority.

As part of the COAST consortium working in three of the nine COAST demonstrator projects, my team contributed research into ‘Best Available Practices/Technologies’ in Nigeria, the Gambia and Ghana. We identified training needs and government guidelines for ecotourism development. On this basis, COAST identified demonstrator sites and delivered, for example, targeted training and local initiatives in the Gambian coastal village of Kartong. This collaborative research enabled local stakeholders to articulate a vision for tourism development in their village and contributed to the community’s growing confidence in its future. The process was transformative on both sides, leading to direct and indirect support for local businesses and far-reaching social and economic benefits in the wider community.

Concurrently with the COAST Project, and since 2007, I facilitated the Peer2Peer (P2P) Capacity Building through Niche Tourism research and teaching initiative. The main value of the P2P initiative lies in its structured peer-to-peer collaborations among academic researchers, local practitioners, international students and local participants, who co-design niche tourism business opportunities and innovative community-based tourism enterprises. Peter Burns and I revealed the importance of collaboration through tourism network development and peer-to-peer capacity building aimed at workforce development and poverty alleviation in Africa[10]. Since its inception, the P2P initiative has played a pivotal role in advancing sustainable tourism practices and engaging low-income communities in coastal villages of southern Gambia. By 2020, 60 local community members (10 participants each year, over a six-year period) had benefitted from the P2P Capacity Building initiative, as a result of a close collaboration between the University of Brighton and the Sandele Foundation. Through product development training, community members acquired new knowledge, skills and values associated with sustainable tourism business planning, conservation and community development, leading members of low-income communities to launch 16 micro-initiatives and entrepreneurial start-ups.

A key outcome of the P2P initiative was the establishment of the first-ever community-based turtle conservation project in the Gambia, ‘Turtle SOS’, in response to devastating turtle poaching. The project resulted in direct paid employment to seven conservationists (including two former poachers) and engaged between 10 and 30 regular local volunteers. Turtle SOS has delivered educational programmes in seven schools in five low-income coastal communities, reaching approximately 5,000 3–14-year-old children and their families, engaging the wider community through film showings and presentations. In November 2015, we further collaborated on the strategic and practical development of the new Turtle Conservation and Interpretation Centre at Sandele, offering a unique small-scale but high-yield tourism attraction in the locality, attracting an average of 200 visitors per year.

Following from this experience, since 2018, I have led the implementation of the P2P initiative in Ghana, through a collaboration with globally renowned artist Serge Clottey, the La360 community-based arts festival team and a local youth group. This P2P intervention improved community living standards in the low-income coastal neighbourhood of La (Labadi) in Accra. It stimulated change in community members’ attitudes from passive bystanders witnessing the degradation of their urban and ocean environments, to active custodians of these environments. Through the P2P capacity-building workshops, 450 community members were incentivised to participate in beach and neighbourhood clean-up exercises, leading to changes in community understanding of the need for environmental sanitation and waste management. Community members also gained new understanding of how they can benefit from tourism and host-guest encounters.

The above collaborations have advanced workforce skills, generated innovative niche tourism products and benefitted six low-income coastal communities by also engaging 5,000 children and their families in turtle conservation in the Gambia and 450 community members in waste management at coastal sites in the La community of Accra.

While the COVID-19 crisis has posed unprecedented challenges, the post-pandemic recovery will provide opportunities for innovative investments in tourism[11]. Interventions that enhance the industry’s sustainability and resilience are indeed important[12], but today more than ever collaborative action that fosters the recovery and regeneration of coastal destinations is paramount.

—–

[1] B. Bramwell and B. Lane, “Sustainable Tourism: An Evolving Global Approach,” Journal of Sustainable Tourism 1, no. 1 (1993): 1–5; W.C. Gartner, Tourism Development: Principles, Processes and Policies (New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1996); P.W. Williams, R.W. Penrose and S. Hawkes, “Shared Decision-Making in Tourism Land Use Planning,” Annals of Tourism Research 25, no. 4 (1998): 860–89; J. Liburd and D. Edwards, Collaboration for Sustainable Tourism Development (Oxford, UK: Goodfellow, 2018); UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), Enhancing Resilience of Oceans, Coastal Areas and Ecosystems through Collaborative Partnerships (Bonn: Nairobi Work Programme, 2021).

[2] S. Agarwal, S. Jakes, S. Essex, S.J. Page and M. Mowforth, “Disadvantage in English Seaside Resorts: A Typology of Deprived Neighbourhoods,” Tourism Management 69 (2018): 440–59; UNFCCC, Enhancing Resilience of Oceans, Coastal Areas and Ecosystems.

[3] V. Della Corte, G. Del Gaudio, F. Sepe and S. Luongo, “Destination Resilience and Innovation for Advanced Sustainable Tourism Management: A Bibliometric Analysis,” Sustainability 13, no. 22 (2021): 12632.

[4] M.R. Phillips, A.L. Jones and T. Thomas, “Climate Change, Coastal Management and Acceptable Risk: Consequences for Tourism,” Journal of Coastal Research 85 (2018): 1411–15; M. Zsamboky, A. Fernández-Bilbao, D. Smith, J. Knight and J. Allan, “Impacts of Climate Change on Disadvantaged UK Coastal Communities,” Joseph Rowntree Foundation, 6 March 2011; D. Jarratt and N.J. Davies, “Planning for Climate Change Impacts: Coastal Tourism Destination Resilience Policies,” Tourism Planning & Development 17, no. 4 (2020): 423–40.

[5] N. Ntounis, C. Parker, H. Skinner, C. Steadman and G. Warnaby, “Tourism and Hospitality Industry Resilience during the COVID-19 Pandemic: Evidence from England,” Current Issues in Tourism, 13 February 2021, 1–14.

[6] Jarratt and Davies, “Planning for Climate Change Impacts”; A.M. Cisneros-Montemayor, M. Moreno-Báez, G. Reygondeau, W.W. Cheung, K.M. Crosman, P.C. González-Espinosa et al., “Enabling Conditions for an Equitable and Sustainable Blue Economy,” Nature 591, no. 7850 (2021): 396–401; S. Volker, J. Matros and T. Claben, “Determining Urban Open Spaces for Health-Related Appropriations: A Qualitative Analysis on the Significance of Blue Space,” Environmental Earth Sciences 75, no. 13 (2016): 1–18.

[7] Liburd and Edwards, Collaboration for Sustainable Tourism Development.

[8] D.J. Timothy, “Cooperative Tourism Planning in a Developing Destination,” Journal of Sustainable Tourism 6, no. 1 (1998): 52–68.

[9] E.W. Manning, “Collaborative Actions for Sustainable Tourism (COAST): Project Overview and Synthesis of Training Needs,” Tourisk, 2010, https://iwlearn.net/resolveuid/d4cd56a10bffe2e8cdbdcf583020828c.

[10] M. Novelli and P. Burns, “Peer-to-Peer (P2P) Capacity-Building in Tourism: Values and Experiences of Field-Based Education,” Development Southern Africa 27, no. 5 (2010): 741–56.

[11] A. Traskevich and M. Fontanari, “Tourism Potentials in Post-COVID19: The Concept of Destination Resilience for Advanced Sustainable Management in Tourism,” Tourism Planning & Development, 3 March 2021, 1–25.

[12] G.D. Sharma, A. Thomas and J. Paul, “Reviving Tourism Industry Post-COVID-19: A Resilience-Based Framework,” Tourism Management Perspectives 37 (January 2021): 100786.

Close
back to top