精选: 各国签署海洋与气候行动联合宣言 Arrow 精选: COP28 值得关注的 10 个海洋事件 Arrow 精选: 阅读新报告:海洋作为气候变化的解决方案 Arrow 精选: 阅读 2023 年联合国大会海洋小组领导人联合公报 Arrow

海洋与气候行动联合宣言

在迪拜举行的 COP28 上,各国签署了一份联合声明,承认迫切需要在国家管辖范围内可持续管理 100% 海洋,并敦促世界各国共同致力于维护海洋的长期健康和恢复力。

2023 年 12 月 2 日
资料来源:海洋小组
联合声明

海洋的健康以及依赖海洋的生计和经济要求世界根据《巴黎协定》的目标紧急减少温室气体排放。实现这一目标需要从本十年开始,迅速、深入地、在大多数情况下立即减少所有部门的温室气体排放。我们强调,迫切需要采取有效、大规模和雄心勃勃的行动,减少全球温室气体排放,将气温上升控制在 1.5°C 以内,同时实现公正转型并增强气候适应能力。

可持续海洋经济高级别小组(海洋小组),由澳大利亚、加拿大、智利、斐济、法国、加纳、印度尼西亚、牙买加、日本、肯尼亚、墨西哥、纳米比亚、挪威、帕劳、葡萄牙、塞舌尔、美国组成王国、美利坚合众国以及美洲国家组织秘书处共同重申其通过可持续管理各自国家海洋管辖区的 100% 来实现可持续海洋经济的承诺。

海洋小组的行动议程, “可持续海洋经济转型”专家小组于 2020 年制定的《海洋战略》规划了通过海洋财富、海洋健康、海洋公平、海洋知识和海洋金融等五个领域的转型实现保护、生产和繁荣的路线。该议程的核心原则是各国承诺制定和实施可持续海洋计划。 

可持续海洋计划是指导国家管辖范围内海洋区域可持续管理的政策工具,通过保护支撑发展的自然海洋生态系统并可持续利用海洋资源,促进长期经济和社会发展。 

我们认识到海洋已吸收了 25% 的二氧化碳排放量,并捕获了 90% 的温室气体排放产生的额外热量,以此强调健康的海洋在应对全球气候变化方面的核心作用2,其结果是变暖、脱氧、酸化,海平面上升。

我们认识到海洋小组委托报告的重要性, “海洋作为气候变化的解决方案:最新的行动机会” 其中重申了基于海洋的气候解决方案在实现关键减排方面的潜力。 

我们注意到,根据上述报告,全面实施这些基于海洋的气候解决方案,到 2050 年,在 1.5°C 的轨迹上,“排放差距”可能会减少多达 35%。 

我们强调,其中许多解决方案可以提供无数的共同效益,推动可持续发展目标和可持续海洋经济。因此,我们正在努力加快国内和集体海洋气候行动。我们将坚决采取行动,并要求其他领导人也这样做,将海洋措施纳入减缓和适应气候变化战略、计划和政策中,并加强海洋措施,同时考虑到现有的最佳科学知识并确保可持续性。 

我们强调海洋健康、气候行动和可持续发展之间的相互联系,为人类和环境带来广泛的利益。 

因此,我们重申致力于采取雄心勃勃的气候措施,使世界与《巴黎协定》的目标保持一致并恢复海洋健康,并重申我们制定和实施可持续海洋计划的决心,并敦促各国:

  1. 酌情考虑在国家气候目标和这些目标的实施中采取基于海洋的行动,包括但不限于国家自主贡献(NDC)、长期战略和适应沟通。
  2. 以可持续海洋计划为指导,致力于实现国家管辖范围内100%海域的可持续管理目标.
  3. 制定可持续海洋计划,作为加快实施海洋气候行动的工具,并将海洋气候行动纳入相关战略、计划和政策,认识到到2030年可持续海洋管理的紧迫性和重要性。3

为了实现这些共同目标,我们在此宣布坚定致力于海洋地区的可持续管理,迅速制定可持续海洋计划,作为维护海洋长期健康和复原力的可靠基础,我们敦促所有沿海地区和海洋国家加入我们的这一努力。

澳大利亚

加拿大 智利

斐济

法国

加纳

印度尼西亚

牙买加

日本

肯尼亚

墨西哥

纳米比亚

挪威

帕劳

葡萄牙

塞舌尔共和国

英国

美国

美洲国家组织总秘书处4

迪拜,2023 年 12 月。

 1该宣言仅反映参与国的政治承诺,并非国际协议。

2 https://www.un.org/en/climatechange/science/climate-issues/ocean

3受到指南的启发: 100% 可持续海洋管理 可持续海洋计划简介.

4 美洲国家组织总秘书处,由以下成员国组成:安提瓜和巴布达、阿根廷、巴巴多斯、伯利兹、玻利维亚、巴西、加拿大、智利、哥伦比亚、哥斯达黎加、古巴、多米尼加联邦、多米尼加共和国、厄瓜多尔、萨尔瓦多、格林纳达、危地马拉、圭亚那、海地、洪都拉斯、牙买加、墨西哥、尼加拉瓜、巴拿马、巴拉圭、秘鲁、圣基茨和尼维斯、圣卢西亚、圣文森特和格林纳丁斯、苏里南、巴哈马(联邦) 、特立尼达和多巴哥、美利坚合众国、乌拉圭和委内瑞拉玻利瓦尔共和国。

Close
back to top

Featured: Countries sign onto a joint declaration on ocean and climate action Arrow Featured: 10 ocean events to watch out for at COP28 Arrow Featured: Read the new report: The Ocean as a Solution to Climate Change Arrow Featured: Read the Ocean Panel Leaders joint communiqué issued at the 2023 UN General Assembly Arrow

Joint declaration on ocean and climate action

At COP28 in Dubai, countries have signed onto a joint declaration that recognises the urgent need to sustainably manage 100% of the ocean under national jurisdictions and they urge countries around the world to join in committing to safeguard the long-term health and resilience of the ocean.

Dec 2, 2023
Source: Ocean Panel
Joint Declaration

The health of the ocean, and the livelihoods and economies that depend on it, requires the world to urgently reduce greenhouse gas emissions in line with the goals of the Paris Agreement. Achieving this goal necessitates rapid and deep and, in most cases immediate, reductions in greenhouse gas emissions across all sectors beginning this decade. We highlight the urgency of pursuing effective, scaled-up and ambitious actions to reduce global greenhouse gas emissions in line with keeping a limit of 1.5°C temperature rise within reach, while carrying out just transitions and fostering climate resilience.

The High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy (Ocean Panel), consisting of Australia, Canada, Chile, Fiji, France, Ghana, Indonesia, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Namibia, Norway, Palau, Portugal, Seychelles, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America, and the Secretariat of the Organization of American States, collectively reiterate their commitment to achieve a sustainable ocean economy by sustainably managing 100% of our respective national ocean jurisdictions.

The Ocean Panel’s action agenda, ‘Transformations for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’, laid out by the Panel in 2020, charts a course towards achieving protection, production and prosperity through transformations across five areas including ocean wealth, ocean health, ocean equity, ocean knowledge and ocean finance. A central tenet of this agenda is a commitment by each country to develop and implement Sustainable Ocean Plans. 

A Sustainable Ocean Plan is a policy tool to guide the sustainable management of a nation’s ocean area under national jurisdiction to advance long-term economic and social development — by protecting the natural marine ecosystems that underpin that development, and by using the ocean’s resources sustainably. 

We highlight the centrality of a healthy ocean in addressing global climate change by recognising that the ocean has absorbed 25% of all carbon dioxide emissions and captured 90% of the additional heat generated from greenhouse gas emissions2, and as a consequence it is warming, deoxygenating, acidifying, and sea levels are rising.

We recognise the significance of the Ocean Panel-commissioned report, ‘The Ocean as a Solution to Climate Change: Updated Opportunities for Action’ which reiterates the potential of ocean-based climate solutions in delivering critical emission reductions. 

We take note that according to the said report, full implementation of these ocean-based climate solutions, could potentially reduce the “emissions gap” by up to 35% on a 1.5°C trajectory by 2050. 

We underline that many of these solutions can provide a myriad of co-benefits that advance the Sustainable Development Goals and a sustainable ocean economy. Accordingly, we are working to accelerate domestic and collective ocean-based climate actions. We will act with determination and request other leaders to do the same, to incorporate and strengthen ocean-based measures in climate change mitigation and adaptation strategies, plans and policies, taking into account the best available science and ensuring sustainability. 

We emphasise the interconnectedness of ocean health, climate action, and sustainable development, to unlock a wide array of benefits for humanity and the environment. 

Accordingly, we reaffirm our commitment to the adoption of ambitious climate measures to align the world with the goals of the Paris Agreement and to restore ocean health, and reiterate our determination to develop and implement Sustainable Ocean Plans, and urge fellow nations:

  1. To consider, as appropriate, ocean-based action in their national climate goals and in the implementation of these goals, including but not limited to Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs), long-term strategies and adaptation communications.
  2. To commit to the goal of sustainable management of 100% of ocean areas under national jurisdiction, guided by Sustainable Ocean Plans.
  3. To develop Sustainable Ocean Plans as a vehicle to accelerate the implementation of ocean-based climate actions, and to incorporate and strengthen ocean-based climate actions in relevant strategies, plans and policies, acknowledging the urgency and significance of sustainable ocean management by 2030.3

In the pursuit of these shared objectives, we hereby declare our firm commitment to sustainable management of our ocean areas, the expeditious development of Sustainable Ocean Plans as a credible basis for safeguarding the long term health and resilience of the ocean, and we urge all coastal and ocean states to join us in this endeavor.

Australia

Canada Chile

Fiji

France

Ghana

Indonesia

Jamaica

Japan

Kenya

Mexico

Namibia

Norway

Palau

Portugal

Republic of Seychelles

United Kingdom

United States of America

General Secretariat of the Organization of American States4

Dubai, December 2023.

 1This declaration reflects only the political commitments of participating nations and it is not an international agreement.

2 https://www.un.org/en/climatechange/science/climate-issues/ocean

3inspired by the guide: 100% Sustainable Ocean Management An introduction to Sustainable Ocean Plans.

4 The General Secretariat of the Organization of American States, comprised of the following member countries: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica (Commonwealth of), Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, The Bahamas (Commonwealth of), Trinidad and Tobago, the United States of America, Uruguay, and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of).

Close
back to top