专家论文
合作:为创新和成功建立伙伴关系

协作和伙伴关系如何支持向可持续发展的转变?考虑公私伙伴关系在促进创新和克服进入壁垒和/或区域合作作为降低风险的机制方面的作用?有哪些成功的例子?

Carina Ren, PhD
任嘉玲博士
文化与学习系副教授;奥尔堡北极大学校长

气候变化和日益增长的地缘政治关注已将北极目的地置于全球旅行者的心智地图和愿望清单上。出于这个原因,在过去的十年里,北欧国家、北美和俄罗斯的许多北极目的地的旅游业发展迅猛。尽管 COVID-19 在很大程度上使全球旅游业停滞了两年多,但预计北极旅游业将在未来几年恢复甚至超过其游客人数。

旅游业的增加不仅为寻求多样化和发展经济的北极社区提供了新的经济机会,而且也给当地和土著社区及其环境带来了一系列严峻挑战。其中包括过度旅游、文化侵占和当地经济排斥、浪费和污染增加以及对敏感的北极生态系统的压力和退化的增加。

走向更可持续的北极邮轮旅游?

在北极的海洋和沿海地区,邮轮旅游通常被视为许多(如果不是全部)这些负面影响的罪魁祸首。当巨大的船只停靠在通常非常小的港口时,当地人可能会感到被潮水般的游客淹没,这些游客往往留下的只是垃圾、不请自来的关注和疲惫。可以理解的是,这些例子让社区和决策者质疑旅游业是否真的是支持北极生计的理想和可持续的途径。

然而,对社会、文化和环境更加敏感和负责任的北极旅游的其他方向存在,它们更好地尊重小社区以及敏感的陆地和海洋环境。远征邮轮运营商将自己展示为提供更敏感的旅游。他们的游轮不仅规模比通常的游轮旅游船小得多;他们还遵循一种商业模式和理念,为停靠港的价值创造提供更多空间,例如,通过促进当地而不是基于船舶的导游和体验,以及为乘客提供当地食物或让他们获得当地食物。他们遵守更严格的环境法规。

许多北极探险公司都是北极探险邮轮运营商协会 (AECO) 的成员,其目标是确保北极的邮轮旅游尊重自然环境、当地文化以及具有挑战性的海上和陆地安全隐患。该组织以斯瓦尔巴群岛的挪威北极群岛为基础,旨在代表邮轮业的利益并将负面影响降至最低[1],代表成员并与成员合作,在行业、当地社区、科学家和政策制定者之间架起桥梁并促进对话。

该协会在制定管理重质燃料使用的法规和起草其他环境保护指南方面发挥了重要作用。它还与许多研究和公民科学项目合作,以增加对噪音污染、搜救和负责任的旅游行为等主题的知识和认识。 AECO 成员遵循为北极探险巡航作业制定的指南,包括 20 多项针对特定地点的指南,以帮助防止在着陆期间对野生动物、植被和文化遗迹造成干扰。

为了补充其游客指南,AECO 于 2018 年还启动了社区特定指南的开发,作为一种旅游管理工具,使游轮更具社会责任感[2].该指南由社区利益相关者制定,为经营者和游客提供了有关如何周到地参观定居点的详细说明。社区指南目前适用于格陵兰、冰岛、斯瓦尔巴群岛和加拿大的目的地。社区可以在 AECO 网站上提供的模板中找到灵感。

该指南举例说明了停靠港、社区代表、旅游企业和 AECO 等组织之间的密切合作和伙伴关系如何有助于使沿海和海洋旅游在社会上更容易被当地企业接受并在经济上更可持续。这也为来到北极的游客提供了更好的体验,他们越来越意识到减少旅游足迹的必要性。

挪威邮轮 Hurtigruten 的沿海厨房食品概念也说明了本地业务的整合,该概念确保船上餐厅 80% 以上的食材来自 50 多家挪威供应商在当地采购,并通过 15 艘船运送到船上。海达路德访问了 34 个港口。当地食品采购是外部和当地旅游企业如何创造互惠互利和提高产品质量同时提高当地可持续性和价值的一个例子。

在一个因其不可持续的做法而备受批评的行业中,上述关于北极游轮旅游的例子表明,通过行业、当地企业和社区之间的合作、知识交流和对话,可持续性和当地价值创造是如何增加的。这表明北极邮轮旅游体验在未来几年可以而且应该得到改善。这将要求旅游价值链越来越多地锚定在北极旅游目的地的当地利益相关者身上。其先决条件之一是确保当地参与、拥有和共同设计旅游发展战略,使当地利益相关者能够为旅游发展的尽可能多方面做出贡献。这包括北极、它的地方和它的人民的规划、讲述和销售。

没有我们就没有我们

遵循“没有我们就没有我们”的信条,协作学习的一个很好的例子是欧盟资助的北极文化敏感旅游 (阿尔蒂森). 这个为期四年的项目致力于开发和营销基于当地和土著文化和知识的北极旅游产品和经验。虽然产品的核心植根于当地和土著文化,但分享故事和建设能力的工具却是最先进的。通过数字平台、基准旅行和在线课程,北极地区的目的地经理和小企业企业家齐聚一堂,学习、讨论和创新他们的产品和营销方式,使旅游业的各个方面都变得敏感,从而使其成为一个强大的工具地方发展。

Arctisen 展示了持续关注能够在通常较小的目的地内部和之间建立能力和共享知识的网络的必要性和价值。虽然 ARCTISEN 项目最近结束,但它继续存在于为期一年的北极社区的道德旅游恢复项目和创造的产品中,在人们日益意识到北极旅游和整个北极新知识网络中需要文化敏感性的意识中。

尽管北极沿岸目的地在许多方面存在差异,但在更可持续和负责任的旅游发展方面,它们也有很多值得相互学习和交流的地方。出于这个原因,北极目的地需要联盟来审议和改进旅游治理和规划、目的地管理、培训和教育以及产品创新——仅举几个领域。

—–

[1] L. Bets、MAJ Lamers 和 JPM Van Tatenhove,“海洋社区的集体自治:斯瓦尔巴群岛的远征邮轮旅游”, 可持续旅游杂志 25,没有。 11(2017):1583–99,doi:10.1080/09669582.2017.1291653。

[2] 北极探险游轮运营商协会,“社区指南”,https://www.aeco.no/guidelines/community-guidelines/。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Collaboration: Building Partnerships for Innovation and Success

How can collaboration and partnerships support the shift to sustainability? Consider the role of public private partnerships to promote innovation and overcome barriers to entry and/or regional collaboration as a mechanism to reduce risk? What are examples of success?

Carina Ren, PhD
Carina Ren, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Culture and Learning; Head, Aalborg University Arctic

Climate changes and increasing geopolitical attention have put Arctic destinations on the mental map—and bucket lists—of travellers around the globe. For this reason, the past decade has seen intense tourism development in many Arctic destinations in the Nordic countries, North America and Russia. While COVID-19 largely brought global tourism to a halt for more than two years, Arctic tourism is expected regain—and even surpass—its visitor numbers in the years to come.

Increasing tourism has not only offered new economic opportunities to Arctic communities seeking to diversify and grow their economies but also created a range of serious challenges for local and Indigenous communities and their environments. These include claims of overtourism, cultural appropriation and local economic exclusion, increasing waste and pollution and growing pressure on and degradation of sensitive Arctic ecosystems.

Towards more sustainable Arctic cruise tourism?

In the marine and coastal areas of the Arctic, cruise tourism is often targeted as a major culprit behind many, if not all, of these negative impacts. When huge ships call into often very small ports, locals may feel flooded by a tidal wave of tourists who often leave little more behind than trash, unsolicited attention and exhaustion. Understandably, such examples leave communities and decision-makers questioning whether tourism is really a desirable and sustainable avenue for supporting Arctic livelihoods.

Yet other directions for more socially, culturally and environmentally sensitive and responsible Arctic tourism exist that better respect small communities as well as sensitive on-land and marine environments. Expedition cruise operators present themselves as offering a more sensitive sort of tourism. Not only do their cruises operate on a much smaller scale than usual cruise tourism ships; they also follow a business model and philosophy that allow more room for value creation in the ports of call, for example, by facilitating local, as opposed to ship-based, guided tours and experiences and by serving or giving passengers access to local foods. And they comply with tighter environmental regulations.

Many Arctic expedition companies are members of the Association of Arctic Expedition Cruise Operators (AECO), whose objectives are to ensure that cruise tourism in the Arctic respects the natural environment, local cultures, as well as challenging safety hazards at sea and on land. Based on the Norwegian Artic archipelago of Svalbard, the organisation was set up to represent the interests of the cruise industry and to minimise negative impacts[1], working on behalf of and with members to bridge and facilitate dialogue among the industry, local communities, scientists and policymakers.

The association has played an important role in developing regulations governing the use of heavy fuels and in drafting other environmental protection guidelines. It also has collaborated with many research and citizen science projects to increase knowledge and raise awareness on topics such as noise pollution, search and rescue and responsible tourist behaviour. AECO members follow guidelines developed for expedition cruise operations in the Arctic, including more than 20 site-specific guidelines to help prevent disturbance of wildlife, vegetation and cultural remains during landings.

To supplement its visitor guidelines, in 2018 AECO also initiated the development of community specific guidelines as a tourism management tool enabling cruise ships to be more socially responsible[2]. The guidelines, developed by community stakeholders, offer operators and tourists detailed instructions on how to make considerate visits to settlements. Community guidelines are currently available for destinations in Greenland, Iceland, Svalbard and Canada. Communities can find inspiration in the template available on the AECO website.

The guidelines are examples of how close collaboration and partnership among ports of call, community representatives, tourism businesses and organisations such as AECO can help make coastal and marine tourism more socially acceptable and economically sustainable for local businesses. This also offers a better experience for tourists coming to the Arctic, who are becoming increasingly aware of the need to reduce their tourism footprint.

The integration of local business is illustrated also by the Norwegian cruise line Hurtigruten’s Coastal Kitchen food concept, which ensures that over 80 percent of the ingredients in the onboard restaurants are locally sourced from more than 50 Norwegian suppliers and delivered to the ships at 15 of the 34 ports Hurtigruten visits. Local food sourcing is an example of how external and local tourism businesses can create mutual benefits and improve product quality while increasing local sustainability and value.

In an industry that has received much criticism for its unsustainable practices, the above examples around Arctic cruise tourism show how sustainability and local value creation increases through collaboration, knowledge exchange and dialogue among industry, local businesses and communities. This demonstrates how the Arctic cruise tourism experience can and should be improved in the years to come.  This will require that tourism value chains be increasingly anchored to the local stakeholders of Arctic tourist destinations. One of the prerequisites for this is ensuring local engagement, ownership and co-design of tourism development strategies, enabling local stakeholders to contribute to as many aspects of tourism development as possible. This includes the planning, telling and selling of the Arctic, its places and its people.

Nothing about us without us

Following the credo ‘nothing about us without us’, a good example of collaborative learning is the EU-funded Culturally Sensitive Tourism in the Arctic (ARCTISEN). The four-year project worked to develop and market products and experiences in Arctic tourism based on local and Indigenous culture and knowledge. While the core of the product was anchored in local and Indigenous culture, the tools to share the stories and build capacity were cutting-edge. Through digital platforms, during benchmark trips and through online courses, destination managers and small business entrepreneurs across the Arctic came together to learn, discuss and innovate their products and marketing in ways that sensitise all aspects of tourism so that it may become a powerful tool in place development.

ARCTISEN displays the need for and value of a sustained focus on networks that are able to build capacity and share knowledge within and across often-small destinations. While the ARCTISEN project recently concluded, it lives on in the one-year project Ethical Tourism Recovery in Arctic Communities and in the created products, in the growing awareness of the need for cultural sensitivity in Arctic tourism and in new knowledge networks across the Arctic.

While Arctic coastal destinations differ in many respects, they also have much to learn from and exchange with each other regarding more sustainable and responsible tourism development. For this reason, alliances are needed across Arctic destinations to deliberate about and improve tourism governance and planning, destination management, training and education, and product innovation—to mention just a few areas.

—–

[1] L. Bets, M.A.J. Lamers and J.P.M. Van Tatenhove, ”Collective Self-Governance in a Marine Community: Expedition Cruise Tourism at Svalbard,” Journal of Sustainable Tourism 25, no. 11 (2017): 1583–99, doi:10.1080/09669582.2017.1291653.

[2] Association of Artic Expedition Cruise Operators, ”Community Guidelines,” https://www.aeco.no/guidelines/community-guidelines/.

Close
back to top