Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
融资:将雄心与实现可持续发展的手段联系起来

存在哪些融资机制来支持对可持续沿海和海洋旅游模式的投资并克服实现规模的关键障碍?还需要什么?

Shaun Mann
肖恩曼
世界银行集团高级私营部门专家
Louise Twining-Ward
路易丝·特宁-沃德
世界银行集团高级私营部门专家

海洋及其沿海地区对旅游业至关重要。根据联合国环境规划署 (UNEP) 的数据,每年有近 7000 万人次前往珊瑚礁,每年创造 $360 亿美元的收入并创造 650 万个就业机会[1].海洋保护区 (MPA) 提供广泛的生态系统服务,保护重要的生物多样性,作为渔业的育苗场和增加鱼类资源,保护缓冲风暴和海浪影响的栖息地,并从空气中去除多余的营养物质和污染物,以及水。它们还可以提供更可持续的旅游和娱乐效益,并提高其他非使用价值,例如文化和遗产价值。

COVID-19 大流行引起了人们对许多生物多样性热点、公园和海洋保护区对旅游收入的依赖的关注。 2020 年全球旅游业的出口收入估计损失 $1.2 万亿[2].例如,在加拉帕戈斯群岛,一项研究预测,由于大流行原因而实施为期 6 个月的入境限制,将导致该岛 53% 的年总收入损失,即近 $10 百万[3].在东非的部分地区,由于缺乏旅游收入以及由此导致的公园护林员和安全资金削减,野生动物偷猎、非法狩猎和捕鱼、伐木和烧林的情况有所增加[4].

这是重新考虑现有沿海和海洋资产的可持续性并为其扩张创造机会的好时机。由于 COVID-19 旅行限制导致旅游收入不足,这为沿海和海洋资源采用替代性和非消耗性和再生性收入流提供了明确的理由。与此同时,政府、开发机构和投资者正在认识到,这些沿海和海洋资源具有超越其目前用于旅游和渔业的内在价值。海洋通过吸收近三分之一的大气二氧化碳来帮助调节全球温度和全球碳循环。这种“蓝色”碳被隔离在红树林、海草和珊瑚礁系统等沿海生态系统中,这些生态系统具有长期将碳储存在沉积物中的巨大能力。沿海植被栖息地是最有效的天然碳汇之一,因此除了是拥有丰富生物多样性和提供关键生态系统服务的重要栖息地外,它还是减缓和适应气候变化的重要工具。通常,这些沿海生态系统属于政府,政府也承担其作为公共产品的管理和保护成本。

国际协议和承诺[5] 在过去十年中,主权国家及其中央银行、金融市场、私营部门、捐助者、非政府组织和慈善家越来越多地聚集在一起,共同实现增加资金流动以评估和保护海洋生态系统的目标。需求由希望为国际公约商定的气候和生物多样性目标做出积极贡献的私营部门公司的股东和金融家推动[6].目标是通过建立新类型的市场,使这些生态系统价值能够在很大程度上是自愿的市场上进行衡量和监测、独立验证和交易,从而将货币价值附加到生态系统服务、碳和生物多样性上,从而创造新产品的供应。

挑战

尽管对蓝色资产有需求,但一系列挑战阻碍了这一领域的融资增长。这些可以从需求侧和供应侧来表征。蓝色资产的购买者(需求方)需要透明且国际公认的标准、框架和通用验证系统才能充满信心地进行投资。正如可持续海洋经济高级别小组所指出的那样,当前支持投资的框架和分类法彼此之间没有充分沟通,并且尚未受到普遍采用的原则的指导[7].如果没有这个国际框架和对什么构成蓝色资产分类以及如何衡量、监控和维护它们的共识,供应方(政府和资产开发商)就无法确定游戏规则。这些信息不对称和协调失败扭曲了市场动态,以至于唯一向前发展的融资模式是定制的和小规模的。除了这些框架问题外,围绕使用融资、利益分享机制和交易蓝色资产的市场结构的治理系统仍处于初期阶段。在这些仍在发展的监管框架的背景下,投资蓝色资产是有风险的。虽然《巴黎气候协定》等国际协议已经到位,但细节仍不清楚。优质、经过验证和可投资的蓝色项目也缺乏供应。

资产创建

世界银行在海洋和海洋相关部门的全球投资组合超过 $90 亿,在应对这些挑战方面处于独特的地位。开发机构有一个令人信服的理由来支持资产创造,不仅通过创造有利的投资环境,而且通过降低可投资项目的初始管道的风险。

以下是在国家层面创建资产的过程。该过程从供应方开始,提高政府的兴趣和意识,识别和评估潜在的蓝色资产;然后,它在最终交易信用之前开发投资协议、测量协议和验证手段。

 

图1。 蓝色经济的资产创造过程

资源: 作者的图表。

 

政府需要建议、资金和资源来帮助为碳信用和生物多样性信用建立制度性和透明的法律、监管和会计框架,从而使这个市场能够更快、更大规模地发展。这一框架类似于为任何“新”行业建立投资环境所需的框架。例如,制定规则可以帮助创建标准化的碳和生物多样性资产,这些资产可以出售给承诺实现净零排放的公司或金融市场。它还将通过为私人和社区所有权或租赁提供高潜力的生态系统(例如,在海洋保护区周围的缓冲区),为政府在其保护区系统之外运作创造空间。

融资选择

这里提出的核心论点是沿海和海洋资源有可能产生超越传统渔业和旅游业的收入来源。为了使这些领域更具弹性,他们必须这样做。虽然本文的重点是生态系统服务以及碳和生物多样性支付的融资机制,但依赖旅游业的沿海和海洋生态系统采用更多的循环经济实践并改善这些生态系统的治理和地方管理以促进再生实践也很重要(例如废物和塑料)。当地社区和企业需要接受培训,才能融入这些价值链。世界银行集团 (WBG) 正在通过 PROBLUE 致力于加勒比、西非和其他地区的许多此类领域,PROBLUE 是世界银行管理的一个多方捐助信托基金,旨在支持海洋和沿海资源的可持续和综合发展。健康的海洋[8].

世界银行集团和其他发展合作伙伴的另一个切入点可能是构建和提供融资工具,以降低项目风险,并利用来自需要不同类型回报的不同供应商的不同类型资本。这可能包括一系列结构和工具:

  • 混合融资:吸引和调动额外商业融资的战略发展融资和慈善赠款;增加项目的范围、范围和有效性;并提供符合市场预期的风险调整回报。
  • 蓝色债券:固定收益金融工具,资本预先投资于可带来可衡量成果的计划,例如碳和生物多样性信用。对经过验证的结果的需求至关重要,因为投资者只能从经过验证的结果中获得回报。这可能是目前最常用的工具,例如在塞舌尔。
  • 债务互换:债务换自然互换,根据债转股模型,利用资金用于当地的保护工作。收益投资于负债国家的保护活动。债务互换也可能涉及债务免除。蓝色碳信用是通过广泛的碳封存或展示生物多样性保护指标的活动产生的。
  • 保护或捐赠基金(混合模式):通常是为保护活动提供资金的赠款实体。它们由政府、基金会和私营部门提供资金。通常没有回报的预期,使资金能够支持结果不太确定的高风险项目。
  • 碳信用:通过广泛的碳封存活动产生; 蓝碳 指海洋和沿海生态系统(红树林、潮汐湿地、海草等)中的封存。尽管例子有限,但该领域正在发展壮大,并且可以借鉴在陆地碳封存方面获得的经验。
  • 参数保险产品:为各种海洋领域开发。加勒比海洋和水产养殖可持续性基金是世界上第一个参数化保险,由世界银行为渔业部门开发,以促进海洋环境的复原力和可持续管理。它通过鼓励渔民注册以从保险计划中受益来促进该部门的正规化。它的最终目标是减少气候变化对粮食安全造成的自然灾害风险,并促进政策改革,以促进气候智能型渔业实践和沿海恢复力。

海洋和沿海资产的可持续性对旅游业和应对气候变化至关重要。尽管它们很重要,但这些蓝色资产在历史上一直被低估且管理不善。 COVID-19 对旅游业的影响和日益紧迫的气候危机使人们关注对这些资源的估值、融资和管理进行根本性改变的必要性。发展伙伴在为可持续海洋资源创造有利环境和促进私营部门投资方面可发挥重要作用。

—–

[1] R. Brumbaugh,“保护百万美元的珊瑚礁是维持全球旅游业的关键”,联合国环境规划署,2017 年 5 月 10 日,https://www.unep.org/news-and-stories/story/protecting-million-dollar-reefs -关键维持全球旅游。

[2] 世界旅游组织,“2020 年:旅游史上最糟糕的一年,国际入境人数减少了 10 亿人”,2021 年 1 月 28 日,https://www.unwto.org/news/2020-worst-year-in-tourism-history-with-国际入境人数减少 10 亿。

[3] JP Díaz-Sánchez 和 M. Obaco,“冠状病毒 (COVID-19) 对自然保护预期旅游收入的影响:以加拉帕戈斯群岛为例”, 旅游、休闲和活动政策研究杂志 13,没有。 2(2021 年):285–89。

[4] S. Roberts,“非洲零年:关于野生动物旅游未来的特别报告”, 金融时报,2020 年 10 月 28 日,https://www.ft.com/content/6a4f6c76-8a00-46ef-a645-23a5eda58825。

[5] 包括爱知宣言(2011)、巴黎协定(2015)和格拉斯哥宣言(2021)。

[6] 例如,《爱知宣言》的目标 11:“到 2020 年,至少 10% 的沿海和海洋区域,特别是对生物多样性和生态系统服务特别重要的区域,通过有效和公平管理、具有生态代表性和良好联系保护区系统和其他有效的基于区域的保护措施,并融入更广泛的景观和海景。”

[7] 爱知宣言,目标 11。

[8] 世界银行,PROBLUE,主页,https://www.worldbank.org/en/programs/problue。

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Financing: Connecting Ambition with the Means to Achieve Sustainability

What finance mechanisms exist to support investment in sustainable coastal and marine tourism models and overcome key barriers to achieving scale? What else is needed?

Shaun Mann
Shaun Mann
Senior Private Sector Specialist, The World Bank Group
Louise Twining-Ward
Louise Twining-Ward
Senior Private Sector Specialist, The World Bank Group

The ocean and its coastal zones is critical to tourism. According to the UN Environment Programme (UNEP) almost 70 million trips are taken each year just to visit coral reefs, generating US$36 billion a year in revenue and creating 6.5 million jobs[1]. Marine protected areas (MPAs) provide a wide variety of ecosystem services, conserving important biodiversity, serving as nursery grounds for fisheries and enhancing fish stocks, protecting habitats that buffer the impacts of storms and waves, and removing excess nutrients and pollutants from the air and water. They can also provide more sustainable tourism and recreational benefits, as well as enhance other non-use values such as cultural and heritage values.

The COVID-19 pandemic has put a spotlight on the reliance of many biodiversity hotspots, parks and marine protected areas on tourism revenues. The travel and tourism industry globally recorded an estimated loss of $1.2 trillion in export revenues in 2020[2]. In the Galapagos Islands, for example, a study projected that a six-month entry restriction for pandemic reasons would lead to the loss of 53 percent of the islands’ total yearly income, or nearly $10 million[3]. In parts of East Africa, wildlife poaching, illegal hunting and fishing, logging and bush-burning has increased due to the lack of tourism revenue and the resulting cuts in funding for park rangers and security[4].

This is an opportune time to rethink the sustainability of existing coastal and marine assets and develop opportunities for their expansion. The absence of tourism revenue resulting from COVID-19 travel restrictions has made a clear case for coastal and marine resources to adopt alternative and non-consumptive and regenerative revenue streams. At the same time, governments, development institutions and investors are recognising that these coastal and marine resources have intrinsic values beyond their current uses for tourism and fisheries. The ocean helps regulate global temperatures and the global carbon cycle by absorbing nearly one-third of atmospheric carbon dioxide. This ‘blue’ carbon is sequestered in coastal ecosystems such as mangroves, seagrasses and reef systems, which have a great capacity to store carbon in their sediments over long time scales. Vegetated coastal habitats represent one of the most efficient carbon sinks naturally available and are therefore an important tool for climate mitigation and adaptation, in addition to being crucial habitats hosting rich biodiversity and providing key ecosystem services. Typically, these coastal ecosystems belong to governments, which also bear the costs for their management and conservation as a public goods.

International agreements and commitments[5] over the past decade are increasingly bringing together sovereign nations and their central banks, financial markets, the private sector, donors, non-governmental organisations and philanthropists towards common goals to increase the flow of financing to the valuation and protection of marine ecosystems. Demand is driven by the shareholders and financiers of private sector companies who want to contribute positively to climate and biodiversity targets agreed in international conventions[6]. The goal is to create a supply of new products by attaching monetary values to ecosystem services, carbon and biodiversity by forming new types of marketplaces that allow these ecosystem values to be measured and monitored, independently verified and traded in largely voluntary markets.

Challenges

Despite the demand for blue assets, a range of challenges are preventing the growth of financing into this space. These could be characterised from both the demand side and the supply side. Buyers of blue assets (demand side) need transparent and internationally accepted standards, frameworks and common verification systems to invest with confidence. As noted by the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy, current frameworks and taxonomies on which investments to support do not adequately communicate with each other and are not yet being guided by universally adopted principles[7]. Without this international framework and common understanding of what constitutes a taxonomy of blue assets and how they are measured, monitored and maintained, the supply side (governments and asset developers) is uncertain about the rules of the game. These information asymmetries and coordination failures distort market dynamics to the extent that the only financing models moving forward are bespoke and small-scale. In addition to these framework issues, governance systems around the use of financing, benefit-sharing mechanisms and market structures for trading blue assets are still nascent. Investing in blue assets is risky in the context of these still-developing regulatory frameworks. While international accords like the Paris Climate Agreement are in place, the details are still unclear. There is also a lack of supply of high-quality, verified and investible blue projects.

Asset creation

With a global portfolio of more than $9 billion in investments in oceanic and ocean-related sectors, the World Bank is in a unique position to address these challenges. There is a compelling rationale for development institutions to support asset creation not only by creating the enabling environment for investments but also by de-risking an initial pipeline of investible projects.

The following would be a process for asset creation at a country level. The process starts on the supply side by raising government interest and awareness and identifying and valuing potential blue assets; it then develops investment protocols, measurement protocols and means of verification before finally trading the credits.

 

Figure 1. Process of asset creation for a blue economy

Source: Authors’ diagram.

 

Governments need advice, capital, and resources to help create institutional and transparent legal, regulatory, and accounting frameworks for both carbon and biodiversity credits that enable this market to move faster and at greater scale. This framework would be like the one required to set up an investment climate for any ‘new’ industry. Getting the rules in place could help create standardised carbon and biodiversity assets that can be sold to companies or financial markets that have pledged to reach net-zero emissions, for example. It would also create space for governments to operate beyond their protected area systems by offering high-potential ecosystems for private and community ownership or lease—for instance, in buffer zones around MPAs.

Financing options

The core argument presented here is that coastal and marine resources have the potential to generate revenue streams beyond traditional fisheries and tourism. For these areas to be more resilient, they must do this. While the focus of this essay is on financing mechanisms for ecosystem services and carbon and biodiversity payments, it is also important that coastal and marine ecosystems dependent on tourism adopt more circular-economy practices and improve governance and local management of these ecosystems to facilitate regenerative practices (of waste and plastics, for instance). Local communities and businesses will need training to enable their inclusion in these value chains. The World Bank Group (WBG) is working on many of these areas in the Caribbean, West Africa and other regions through PROBLUE, a multi-donor trust fund administered by the World Bank that supports sustainable and integrated development of marine and coastal resources in a healthy ocean[8].

A further entry point for the WBG and other development partners could be in structuring and providing financing instruments to de-risk projects and leverage different types of capital from different providers who require different types of returns. This could include a range of structures and instruments:

  • Blended finance: Strategic development finance and philanthropic grants that attract and mobilise additional commercial finance; increase the project’s scope, range and effectiveness; and deliver risk-adjusted returns in line with market expectations.
  • Blue bonds: Fixed-income financial instruments where capital is invested upfront in initiatives that deliver measurable outcomes, such as carbon and biodiversity credits. The need for verified outcomes is paramount because investors get repaid only for proven results. This is perhaps the most common instrument currently used, as exemplified in the Seychelles.
  • Debt swaps: Debt-for-nature swaps that leverage funds for use in local conservation efforts based on the model of debt-for-equity swaps. Proceeds are invested in conservation activities in the indebted country. A debt swap can also involve debt forgiveness. Blue carbon credits are generated through a wide range of activities that sequester carbon or demonstrate biodiversity conservation metrics.
  • Conservation or endowment funds (hybrid model): Typically grant-making entities that provide finance for conservation activities. They are capitalised by governments, foundations and the private sector. Often there is no expectation of a return, enabling the funds to support higher-risk projects with less-certain outcomes.
  • Carbon credits: Generated through a wide range of activities that sequester carbon; blue carbon refers to sequestration in marine and coastal ecosystems (mangroves, tidal wetlands, seagrasses, etc.). Although examples are limited, the field is growing and can build on the experience gained in terrestrial carbon sequestration.
  • Parametric insurance products: Developed for various oceanic sectors. The Caribbean Oceans and Aquaculture Sustainability Facility, the world’s first parametric insurance, was developed by the World Bank for the fisheries sector to catalyse resilience and sustainable management of the marine environment. It promotes formalisation of the sector by giving fishers incentives to register in order to benefit from the insurance scheme. It aims ultimately to reduce the natural disaster risk that climate change poses to food security and foster policy reforms that promote climate-smart fisheries practices and coastal resilience.

The sustainability of marine and coastal assets is vital to the tourism sector and to the battle against climate change. Despite their importance, these blue assets have been historically undervalued and poorly managed. COVID-19’s impact on tourism and the increasingly urgent climate crisis has put a spotlight on the need for a fundamental change in the valuation, financing and management of these resources. Development partners have an important role to play in creating the enabling environment for and promoting private sector investment in sustainable ocean resources.

—–

[1] R. Brumbaugh, “Protecting Million Dollar Reefs Is Key to Sustaining Global Tourism,” UN Environment Programme, 10 May 2017, https://www.unep.org/news-and-stories/story/protecting-million-dollar-reefs-key-sustaining-global-tourism.

[2] World Tourism Organization, “2020: Worst Year in Tourism History with 1 Billion Fewer International Arrivals,” 28 January 2021, https://www.unwto.org/news/2020-worst-year-in-tourism-history-with-1-billion-fewer-international-arrivals.

[3] J.P. Díaz-Sánchez and M. Obaco, “The Effects of Coronavirus (COVID-19) on Expected Tourism Revenues for Natural Preservation: The Case of the Galapagos Islands,” Journal of Policy Research in Tourism, Leisure and Events 13, no. 2 (2021): 285–89.

[4] S. Roberts, “Africa’s Year of Zero: A Special Report on the Future of Wildlife Tourism,” Financial Times, 28 October 2020, https://www.ft.com/content/6a4f6c76-8a00-46ef-a645-23a5eda58825.

[5] Including the Aichi Declaration (2011), the Paris Agreement (2015), and the Glasgow Declaration (2021).

[6] For instance, Target 11 of the Aichi Declaration: “By 2020, at least 10 per cent of coastal and marine areas, especially areas of particular importance for biodiversity and ecosystem services, are conserved through effectively and equitably managed, ecologically representative and well-connected systems of protected areas and other effective area-based conservation measures and integrated into the wider landscapes and seascapes.”

[7] Aichi Declaration, Target 11.

[8] World Bank, PROBLUE, home page, https://www.worldbank.org/en/programs/problue.

Close
back to top