Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
融资:将雄心与实现可持续发展的手段联系起来

存在哪些融资机制来支持对可持续沿海和海洋旅游模式的投资并克服实现规模的关键障碍?还需要什么?

Kathryn J Mengerink JD, PhD
Kathryn J Mengerink 法学博士,博士
执行董事,威特研究所

付费游戏:可持续的海洋旅游[1]

在小岛、大洋国家中,海洋旅游是重要的经济引擎。在 COVID-19 大流行期间,该引擎停止工作,造成大规模中断。

小岛屿发展中国家 (SIDS) 的海洋面积通常远大于其陆地面积,在基里巴斯的情况下是其 4,000 倍。根据联合国世界旅游组织的数据,在五分之二的小岛屿发展中国家中,旅游业占国内生产总值 (GDP) 的比重超过 20%[2].根据经济合作与发展组织的数据,2020 年小岛屿发展中国家的 GDP 下降了 6.9%,而其他发展中国家下降了 4.8%[3].

随着旅行的恢复和旅游业的复苏,许多人都在倡导蓝色复苏[4]——为人类和地球带来更可持续和更健康的未来。这包括设计支持经济、生态系统和社区的可持续旅游系统。考虑到蓝色复苏,本文探讨了建立海洋旅游系统的一些方法,以便它们对旅游相关的损害负责,最大限度地减少对海洋环境的损害,并增强其健康和功能。在适当的融资机制的支持下,这些系统可以为海洋和沿海社区带来公平和可持续的成果。

问题

使用过多会导致滥用。 使可持续海洋旅游业比海洋采掘业更具吸引力的原因在于它能够创造就业机会和建立蓝色经济,同时对物种、栖息地和地球的危害大大减少。然而,过多的海洋旅游或管理不善的系统仍然会降低吸引游客的资源。

潜水、浮潜和划船等珊瑚礁旅游活动每年在全球产生 $190 亿美元的收入[5] 并被理所当然地视为可持续海洋旅游业的一部分。然而,即使是这些活动的累积影响也可能很大。

珊瑚礁对物理破坏特别敏感,潜水和浮潜等活动可能会践踏和破坏脆弱的珊瑚群。反复和频繁的伤害可能会造成不可逆转的损害。同样,观赏鲸鱼和蝠鲼等具有超凡魅力的巨型动物的旅游业可能会对这些资源产生意想不到的负面影响。大量研究表明,观鲸引起的船只交通可以引起鲸鱼的行为变化,并与栖息地的暂时或永久性变化有关[6].休闲划船可能会因抛锚或拖过敏感栖息地、与濒危或受保护物种碰撞和/或与敏感栖息地碰撞而导致意外损坏。

冲浪是可持续海洋旅游的另一个领域,它越来越受欢迎,如果管理不当,可能会产生意想不到的负面后果。最近的研究估计,COVID 之前的冲浪旅游业每年价值在 $31.5 到 $649 亿之间[7].如果管理得当,冲浪旅游可以改变当地经济。然而,冲浪旅游可能会对当地社区产生有害影响,这些社区被开发或被排除在旅游开发过程之外[8].

即使是这些低影响的非采掘活动,单独看来是无害的,如果添加和管理不善,也会带来环境、经济和社会危害。将其与具有单独重大影响的活动相结合,其结果是作为旅游经济基础的潜在资源持续损失。那么,问题是如何以保护基础资源的方式发展该部门。

财务机制

通过费用和罚款解决影响。 许多目的地对到达的游客收取机场费或税费。通常,这是在机票中定价的。国际航空运输协会收取这笔费用,然后将其分发到目的地。费用差异很大,从 $5 到超过 $100。有许多支持和反对这些费用的论据,但往往不能支持环境管理缓解。然而,如果应用得当,它们是一个潜在的收入来源,可以帮助支付环境保护费用。

解决人类活动影响的另一种方法是规范访问。这通常是通过调节允许从事特定活动的人数来实现的。另一种方法是使用收费系统,如果费用足够高,可能会导致更少的人选择做某项活动。使用费可以反过来支持环境管理。

在加勒比海博内尔岛,潜水员必须从商店购买潜水标签,收入用于资源管理。在英属维尔京群岛,使用系泊浮标的费用,加上禁止锚定,支持国家公园系统中海洋保护区 (MPA) 的管理[9].对于此类机制,在线支付系统和其他电子工具可以简化管理并减轻运营负担。

在许多发展中的小岛屿、大海洋国家,国际游客可以支付比当地游客更高的访问和使用费,并且可能是支持海洋管理的主要收入来源。这些机制的缺点是,如果国际访问减少,融资也会减少。这些机制不应成为主要收入来源,而应成为支持抵御波动的多样化融资生态系统的一部分。

你打破它,你买它。 缓解和自然资源损害系统是解决计划或意外损害影响的重要但未充分利用的工具。当开发商对湿地和珊瑚礁等脆弱资源造成有计划的损害时,许多国家都需要采取缓解措施。此类系统要求那些损害资源的人通过直接恢复受影响的资源或类似资源、保护另一个地点的类似栖息地或向减灾基金捐款来减轻其损害。这种方法在包括红树林和河口在内的湿地生态系统中得到了很好的应用,并已在某些地区应用于珊瑚礁和海草环境。

其他伤害是计划外的。在这些情况下,责任制度(也称为自然资源损害制度)对于收回恢复受影响资源的成本可能很重要。与计划中的缓解措施类似,资金来自造成损害的那些。这种责任制度通常不是惩罚性的,而是旨在确保资源恢复到事故发生前的状态。资金可以支持更传统和直接的恢复活动,例如水质改善或珊瑚恢复,或者可以更有创意地使用它们,例如支持海洋保护区的合规成本[10],这可能对一个地区的恢复产生长期影响。

这些当前的机制对于确保造成影响的人对退化的成本负责非常重要。

如何构建系统很重要。 必须以公平、包容和持久的方式开发、设计和支持金融系统,以实现长期可持续性。这些系统需要以激励良好行为和鼓励保护的方式构建。

外国投资对于促进许多岛国的旅游业很重要。然而,本土企业面临来自外资企业的激烈竞争。一个关键挑战是旅游企业的外国所有权通常导致的经济泄漏。世界银行保守估计一些小岛屿发展中国家的泄漏率在 55% 到 80% 以上[11].认识到这一挑战,马尔代夫岛国已将其旅游模式从以主要度假村公司的大量外国投资为基础的一岛一度假村模式扩展到现在包括当地岛屿旅游并支持当地宾馆和当地旅游业务的增长。这在一定程度上是通过扩大投资机会来鼓励长期旅游、分时度假和潜在的住房份额,通过提供五年居民签证来吸引更大的投资者来实现的。最近的改革还为当地有人居住的岛屿上的社区旅游项目创造了机会,目的是让当地社区在该行业拥有更多所有权。

一个关键问题是如何减少经济流失并确保外国投资支持当地社区。已经在旅游业的背景下审查了包容性增长,以改善经济联系并减少泄漏。包容性增长旨在改善繁荣  包容,并实现更公平的资源分配、财富和收入[12].迈向包容性增长需要技术专长、广泛的社区和利益相关者参与,以及适应和适应不断变化的动态的意愿。

除了平衡外国投资与当地利益之外,解决经济流失问题和建立更强大的地方联系的地方方法的例子很少,但确实存在。在马尔代夫,拉姆岛六善酒店是一个部分外资所有的度假村,它开发了一个可持续发展基金来支持当地的海洋研究、保护和教育。可持续发展基金包括度假村总收入的 0.5%、水销售额的 50%、毛绒玩具销售额的 100% 以及任何客人捐款[13].近年来,该基金的大部分年度支出用于支持马尔代夫水下倡议 (MUI) 的研究、教育和社区项目。该度假村也是 MUI 的大本营。此外,度假村支持当地的商品生产和采购当地产品,包括从当地渔民那里购买鱼,以确保遵守当地 MPA 和渔业法规。度假村与社区团体合作,创造支持可持续发展倡议的就业机会。

另一个例子是印度尼西亚的米索尔度假村[14]. Misool 也是一家外资企业,专注于支持当地社区、海洋保护和可持续发展。在当地村领导的授权下,业主为度假村租用了土地和周边水域,并创建了一个 1,204 平方公里的完全受保护的 MPA,资金来自度假村的收入。度假村的姊妹组织米苏尔基金会提供执法工作,并雇用前渔民和社区成员作为护林员来保护 MPA。

与其依赖优秀的参与者,政府可以通过为可持续项目确定发展优先事项、设立奖励或认可,或者在预算允许的情况下补贴向绿色实践的过渡来鼓励此类计划。此外,政府可以将之前讨论的费用和罚款视为反馈到这些可持续性计划的机制。在这种情况下,政府必须建立正确的可持续金融结构,以确保为提高蓝色韧性而收集的资金用于实现这些目标的活动。

取胜的区域方法。 区域方法可以授权小岛屿、大洋国家采用这些战略。这种方法将使邻国能够行使集体力量来推动旅游业的积极变化,从而促进环境和当地经济的发展。例如,代表 32 个成员国政府的加勒比旅游组织制定了加勒比可持续旅游政策框架。这份不具约束力的文件为鼓励各国采用的政策和目标提供了一个集体愿景。负责任旅行中心 (CREST) 等机构认为,加勒比地区应进一步制定共同框架,以从游轮行业获得最大价值。这种方法将避免岛屿试图以不可持续的方式竞争的“逐底竞争”。

为了获得“可持续”的标签,海洋旅游的设计应促进和支持海洋保护,以实现支持当地社区的健康海洋。这需要对海洋保护区管理、可持续旅游业和依赖海洋的社区进行投资。

—–

[1] 特别感谢 Waitt Institute 助理主任 Laura Frank 和 Waitt Institute 蓝色经济主任 Angus Friday 博士。

[2] 世界旅游组织,“小岛屿发展中国家 (SIDS) 的旅游业”,2014 年,https://www.e-unwto.org/doi/pdf/10.18111/9789284416257。

[3] 经济合作与发展组织 (OECD),“COVID-19 大流行:迈向小岛屿发展中国家的蓝色复苏”,2021 年 1 月 26 日,https://www.oecd.org/coronavirus/policy-responses/covid -19-pandemic-towards-a-blue-recovery-in-small-island-developing-states-241271b7/。”

[4] 经合组织,“COVID-19 大流行”。

[5] The Nature Conservancy, “How Tourism Can Be Good for Coral Reefs,” 25 April 2017, https://www.nature.org/en-us/what-we-do/our-insights/perspectives/how-tourism-can-be-good-for-coral-reefs/#:~:text=In%20total%2C%20coral%20reefs%20represent,wildlife%20watching%20on%20reefs%20themselves.

[6] ECM Parsons,“观鲸的负面影响”, 海洋生物学杂志, 2012, doi:10.1155/2012/807294。

[7] L. Mach 和 J. Ponting,“为冲浪旅游建立 COVID-19 之前的基线:旅行支出和态度、行为和支付可持续性的意愿”, 旅游研究年鉴实证洞察 2,没有。 1(2021),https://doi.org/10.1016/j.annale.2021.100011。

[8] J. Ponting、M. McDonald 和 SL Wearing,“解构仙境:印度尼西亚的冲浪旅游”, 社会与休闲 28,没有。 1 (2005): 141–62; D. O'Brien 和 J. Ponting,“可持续冲浪旅游:巴布亚新几内亚以社区为中心的方法”, 体育管理杂志 27 (2013): 158–72。

[9] 从 2000 年到 2005 年, 系泊费占 BVI National Trust 收入的 25% 以上,该机构负责管理国家公园系统的海洋保护区。 L.加德纳, 英属维尔京群岛保护区系统计划,2007-2017 (托尔托拉岛:英属维尔京群岛国家公园信托基金,2007 年 1 月 4 日)。

[10] 美国珊瑚礁工作组珊瑚伤害和缓解工作组, 珊瑚礁影响手册:避免、最小化、补偿性缓解和恢复, 2016 年 12 月。

[11] MP Hampton 和 J. Jeyacheya,“依赖旅游业的小岛屿、包容性增长和蓝色经济”, 一个地球 2,没有。 1(2020):8-10。

[12] A. Dua、JP Julien、M. Kerlin、J. Law、B. McKinney、N. Noel 和 S. Stewart III, 包容性增长的理由,麦肯锡公司,2021 年。

[13] 拉姆岛六善酒店, 2021年度报告,马尔代夫水下倡议,https://www.sixsenses.com/media/13579/mui-2021-annual-report.pdf。

[14] 经济学家,“生态旅游能帮助拯救海洋吗?”YouTube,2018 年 7 月 25 日,https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BudHTnb9G5s。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Financing: Connecting Ambition with the Means to Achieve Sustainability

What finance mechanisms exist to support investment in sustainable coastal and marine tourism models and overcome key barriers to achieving scale? What else is needed?

Kathryn J Mengerink JD, PhD
Kathryn J Mengerink JD, PhD
Executive Director, Waitt Institute

Pay to play: Sustainable ocean tourism[1]

Among small-island, big-ocean nations, ocean-based tourism is a crucial economic engine. During the COVID-19 pandemic, this engine stalled, causing massive disruptions.

Small island developing states (SIDS) often have ocean areas far larger than their land masses, by a factor of 4,000 in the case of Kiribati. According the to the UN World Tourism Organization, tourism accounts for more than 20 percent of gross domestic product (GDP) in two-fifths of SIDS[2]. According to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, in 2020 the GDP of SIDS declined by 6.9 percent, compared with 4.8 percent for other developing countries[3].

As travel resumes and tourism churns back to life, many are advocating for a blue recovery[4]—one that leads to a more sustainable and healthy future for people and the planet. This includes designing sustainable tourism systems that support economies, ecosystems, and communities. With blue recovery in mind, this essay explores some ways to build ocean tourism systems so they are accountable for tourism-related damages, minimise damage to the marine environment, and enhance its health and function. Supported by appropriate finance mechanisms, these systems can yield equitable and sustainable outcomes for the ocean and for coastal communities.

The problem

Too much use can lead to abuse. What makes sustainable ocean tourism more appealing than extractive ocean industries is its ability to create jobs and build blue economies with significantly less harm to species, habitats, and the planet. However, too much ocean tourism or poorly managed systems can still degrade the resources that attract tourists.

On-reef tourism activities such as diving, snorkelling, and boating generate US$19 billion a year globally[5] and are rightfully viewed as part of the sustainable ocean tourism sector. However, the cumulative impact of even these activities can be significant.

Coral reefs are particularly sensitive to physical disruption, and activities such as diving and snorkelling can trample and break fragile coral colonies. Repeated and frequent injury may cause irreversible damage. Similarly, tourism to view charismatic megafauna such as whales and manta rays can have unintended negative consequences for those resources. Numerous studies have shown that boat traffic from whale watching can elicit behaviour changes in whales and has been linked to temporary or permanent shifts in habitat[6]. Recreational boating can lead to accidental damage from anchors dropped or dragged across sensitive habitats, collision with endangered or protected species, and/or collision with sensitive habitats.

Surfing is another sector of sustainable ocean tourism which is growing in popularity and may have unintended negative consequences if not managed properly. Recent research estimates the pre-COVID surf tourism industry to be worth between $31.5 and $64.9 billion annually[7]. When managed correctly, surf tourism can transform local economies. However, surf tourism can have deleterious effects on local communities exploited or left out of the tourism development process[8].

Even these low-impact non-extractive activities, which individually seem harmless, can have bring environmental, economic and social harms when additive and poorly managed. Combine this with activities that have individually significant impacts and the result is the potential ongoing loss of resources that serve as the basis for the tourism economy. The question, then, is how to develop the sector in a way that preserves the underlying resource.

Finance mechanisms

Address impact through fees and fines. Many destinations apply an airport fee or tax to visitor arrivals. Typically, this is priced into the airline ticket. The International Air Transport Association collects this fee and then distributes it to the destination. Fees vary widely, from $5 to well over $100. There are many arguments for and against these fees, which too often fail to support environmental management mitigation. However, if applied correctly, they are a potential source of revenue that could help pay for environmental safeguards.

Another way to address impact from human activity is to regulate access. This is often done by regulating the number of people allowed to undertake a given activity. Another approach is a fee system for use, which if fees are high enough may lead to fewer people choosing to do a certain activity. Access fees can in turn support environmental management.

On the Caribbean island of Bonaire, divers must purchase dive tag from a shop, with the revenue paying for resource management. In the British Virgin Islands, fees for use of mooring buoys, in combination with prohibitions on anchoring, support the management of marine protected areas (MPAs) in the national park system[9]. For such mechanisms, online payment systems and other e-tools can simplify the administration and reduce the operational burden.

In many developing small-island, large-ocean nations, international visitors can afford to pay higher access and use fees than local visitors and may be the primary source of income to support ocean management. The drawback of these mechanisms is that if international visitation decreases, so does the financing. These mechanisms should not be the main source of income and need to be part of a diverse financing ecosystem that supports resilience to fluctuations.

You break it, you buy it. Mitigation and natural resource damage systems are important yet under-utilised tools to address impacts from planned or accidental damage. Many nations require mitigation when developers cause planned injury to fragile resources such as wetlands and coral reefs. Such systems require those injuring the resource to mitigate their damage by either directly restoring the impacted resource or a similar resource, protecting similar habitat in another location or contributing to a mitigation fund. This approach is well-established in wetland ecosystems, including mangroves and estuaries, and has been applied in certain geographies to coral reef and seagrass environments.

Other injuries are unplanned. In these cases, a system of liability (also known as a natural resource damage system) can be important for recovering the cost of restoring the impacted resource. Similar to planned mitigation, the funds derive from those causing the damage. Such liability systems are not typically punitive but instead are designed to ensure that the resource recovers to its condition prior to the accident. Funds could support more traditional and direct restoration activities such as water quality improvement or coral restoration, or they could be used more creatively, for instance to support the cost of compliance in MPAs[10], which may have longer-term implications for restoration of an area.

These current mechanisms are an important in ensuring that those who cause the impact are accountable for the cost of that degradation.

How systems are built matters. Finance systems must be developed, designed, and supported in ways that are equitable, inclusive, and durable to achieve long-term sustainability. These systems need to be structured in ways that incentivise good behaviour and encourage protection.

Foreign investment is important to enabling tourism in many island nations. However, local businesses face tough competition from foreign-owned enterprises. A key challenge is the economic leakage that often results from foreign ownership of tourism businesses. The World Bank conservatively estimates leakage rates of 55 percent to over 80 percent for some small island developing nations[11]. Recognising this challenge, the island nation of the Maldives has expanded its tourism model from a one-island, one-resort model that is based on significant foreign investment by major resort companies to one that now includes local island tourism and supports local guesthouses and the growth of local tourism businesses. This was achieved in part by expanding investment opportunities to encourage long-stay tourism, time-share developments and potential home-shares, enticing larger investors by offering a five-year resident visa. Recent reform also created opportunities for community-based tourism projects on locally inhabited islands, with the goal of giving local communities more ownership in the industry.

A key question is how to reduce economic leakage and ensure that foreign investment supports local communities. Inclusive growth has been examined in the context of tourism to improve economic linkages and reduce leakages. Inclusive growth seeks to improve prosperity and inclusion, and achieve more equitable resource distribution, wealth and income[12]. Moving toward inclusive growth requires technical expertise, broad community and stakeholder engagement, and willingness to adapt and adjust to shifting dynamics.

Examples of local approaches that address the problem of economic leakage and create stronger local linkages, in addition to balancing foreign investment with local benefits, are rare but do exist. In the Maldives, Six Senses Laamu is a partially foreign-owned resort that has developed a Sustainability Fund to support local marine research, protection and education. The Sustainability Fund consists of 0.5 percent of total resort revenues, 50 percent of water sales, 100 percent of soft toy sales, and any guest donations[13]. In recent years, a majority of the fund’s annual expenditure supported the research, education and community projects of the Maldives Underwater Initiative (MUI). The resort is also MUI’s home base. Additionally, the resort supports local production of goods and sources local products, including buying fish from local fishers to ensure compliance with local MPA and fisheries regulations. The resort works with community groups to create jobs that support sustainability initiatives.

Another example is Misool Resort in Indonesia[14]. Misool is also a foreign-owned business with a strong focus on supporting local communities, marine protection and sustainability. With authorisation from local village leaders, the owners leased the land and surrounding waters for the resort and created a 1,204-square-kilometre fully protected MPA that is funded through the resort income. The resort’s sister organisation, the Misool Foundation, provides enforcement jobs and employs former fishers and community members as rangers to protect the MPA.

Rather than relying on good actors, governments could encourage programmes like these by establishing development priorities for sustainable projects, creating awards or endorsements, or, where budgets allow, subsidising transitions to green practices. Further, governments could look to the fees and fines discussed previously as mechanisms that feed back into these sustainability programmes. In this context, it is important for governments to establish the right sustainable finance structures to ensure that funding collected to advance blue resilience is directed at activities that accomplish such objectives.

Regional approaches for the win. A regional approach could empower small-island, large-ocean states to adopt these strategies. Such approaches would enable neighbouring nations to exercise collective power to advance positive changes to the tourism industry and thereby the environment and local economy. For instance, the Caribbean Tourism Organization, representing 32 member governments, developed a Caribbean Sustainable Tourism Policy Framework. This non-binding document provides a collective vision for policies and goals that nations are encouraged to adopt. Institutions such as the Center for Responsible Travel (CREST) have argued that the Caribbean should go further in developing a common framework to get the best value from the cruise ship industry. Such an approach would avoid a ‘race to the bottom’ in which islands try to compete in an unsustainable manner.

To achieve the label of ‘sustainable’, marine tourism should be designed to advance and support marine protection to achieve a healthy ocean that supports local communities. This requires investment in MPA management, the sustainable tourism sector and the communities that rely on the ocean.

—–

[1] Special thanks to Laura Frank, Waitt Institute Assistant Director, and Dr. Angus Friday, Waitt Institute Blue Economy Director.

[2] World Tourism Organization, “Tourism in Small Island Developing States (SIDS),” 2014, https://www.e-unwto.org/doi/pdf/10.18111/9789284416257.

[3] Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), “COVID-19 Pandemic: Towards a Blue Recovery in Small Island Developing States,” 26 January 2021, https://www.oecd.org/coronavirus/policy-responses/covid-19-pandemic-towards-a-blue-recovery-in-small-island-developing-states-241271b7/.”

[4] OECD, “COVID-19 Pandemic.”

[5] The Nature Conservancy, “How Tourism Can Be Good for Coral Reefs,” 25 April 2017, https://www.nature.org/en-us/what-we-do/our-insights/perspectives/how-tourism-can-be-good-for-coral-reefs/#:~:text=In%20total%2C%20coral%20reefs%20represent,wildlife%20watching%20on%20reefs%20themselves.

[6] E.C.M. Parsons, “The Negative Impacts of Whale-Watching,” Journal of Marine Biology, 2012, doi:10.1155/2012/807294.

[7] L. Mach and J. Ponting, “Establishing a Pre-COVID-19 Baseline for Surf Tourism: Trip Expenditure and Attitudes, Behaviors and Willingness to Pay for Sustainability,” Annals of Tourism Research Empirical Insight 2, no. 1 (2021), https://doi.org/10.1016/j.annale.2021.100011.

[8] J. Ponting, M. McDonald and S.L. Wearing, “Deconstructing Wonderland: Surfing Tourism in Indonesia,” Society and Leisure 28, no. 1 (2005): 141–62; D. O’Brien and J. Ponting, “Sustainable Surf Tourism: A Community Centered Approach in Papua New Guinea,” Journal of Sport Management 27 (2013): 158–72.

[9] From 2000 to 2005, mooring fees made up more than 25 percent of the revenue for the BVI National Trust, the body responsible for managing the marine protected areas of the national park system. L. Gardner, British Virgin Islands Protected Areas System Plan, 2007–2017 (Tortola: BVI National Parks Trust, 4 January 2007).

[10] U.S. Coral Reef Task Force Coral Injury and Mitigation Working Group, Handbook on Coral Reef Impacts: Avoidance, Minimization, Compensatory Mitigation, and Restoration, December 2016.

[11] M.P. Hampton and J. Jeyacheya, “Tourism-Dependent Small Islands, Inclusive Growth, and the Blue Economy,” One Earth 2, no. 1 (2020): 8–10.

[12] A. Dua, J.P. Julien, M. Kerlin, J. Law, B. McKinney, N. Noel and S. Stewart III, The Case for Inclusive Growth, McKinsey and Company, 2021.

[13] Six Senses Laamu, 2021 Annual Report, Maldives Underwater Initiative, https://www.sixsenses.com/media/13579/mui-2021-annual-report.pdf.

[14] The Economist, “Can Eco-tourism Help Save the Ocean?,” YouTube, 25 July 2018, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BudHTnb9G5s.

Close
back to top