Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
愿景设定:2030 年和 2050 年可持续的沿海和海洋旅游业

什么是 2030 年和 2050 年的可持续沿海和海洋旅游?到 2025 年,实现这一雄心勃勃的愿景需要哪些三个关键转变?

Randy Durband
兰迪·德班
全球可持续旅游理事会 (GSTC) 首席执行官

沿海和海洋旅游在许多方面都是巨大的:它在地球上的物理范围、人类互动的数量、旅游产品和服务类型的多样性。

考虑从事沿海和海洋旅游部门的子部门的数量:大小酒店和度假村;带有码头和大型港口的船只,通常与更大的货运贸易并列;各种景点,包括海洋主题公园、纪念品、餐厅、导游服务、潜水和浮潜、游泳和晒太阳等等。每一个都有自己庞大而多样化的供应链。

考虑到这种巨大性和多样性,以下是我对 2030 年和 2050 年更可持续的形式所需的三个最大转变的分类方式:

  1. 船舶和船舶运营在海上和港口变得更加气候友好
  2. 治理和公共政策改进
  3. 沿海地区的废物管理改进

更气候友好的道路

在气候和局部污染方面,休闲旅游巡航和划船向净零或更好的过渡涉及许多因素。大多数船舶释放大量碳排放。换句话说,各种尺寸的船只和船只在不同的地点都面临着明显的挑战。

过去 15 年建造的大多数船舶都拥有比过去更清洁、更高效的系统,排放的碳更少。可以而且应该做更多的事情,我将在下面就治理和政策发表评论。

在港口期间,公用事业和政策制定者需要采取可能对船舶温室气体 (GHG) 排放产生最大影响的后续步骤,以最大限度地利用近期船舶技术(以及废物管理)解决方案的优势。

左舷电气化是这里的关键。考虑一下:如果一艘大型船舶在港口停留数小时或数天,其发动机一直在运转,它会排放局部空气污染物、影响全球的温室气体、对当地居民和游客的噪音刺激、翻腾的水和快速变化的温度这可能会伤害海洋生物。相反,如果船舶接入左舷电气设备,这些有害影响就会减少或消除。在全球范围内,发电正在转向更清洁的形式,例如风能、太阳能和水力发电;而船舶发动机仍然相当依赖产生温室气体的化石燃料。因此,需要快速转向靠岸(又称岸边)电气化。

欧盟在这方面迈出了重要一步,要求所有欧盟港口的船舶在港口电气化,到 2030 年完成。更多的港口和国家应该设定目标年份来要求它。

沿海酒店、度假村、景点、陆路交通供应商、餐馆和任何其他旅游企业都在加快步伐,但在减少碳排放方面还有很长的路要走。向清洁能源公共汽车、货车和租车的转变可以而且应该更快。

治理和政策

国际海事组织(IMO)是联合国的一个特别机构。它为航运业的可持续性和其他政策事项提供指导。签署 IMO 的国家政府同意执行其要求。这种执法在某些情况下很强,在许多其他情况下很弱。 IMO 2020 计划要求降低船舶燃料中的硫含量,这需要特别警惕。

在“方便旗”下注册船舶的普遍做法使许多邮轮公司能够在劳工和环境保护法律法规宽松的国家注册船舶,以最大限度地降低运营成本。欧盟关于航运的法规至关重要,因为它们是最严格的法规之一,并且在其拥有执法权的欧盟水域的业务量很大。其他发达经济体很少看到船舶航行行程的主要部分在其国家水域内,这使得执法成为更大的挑战。欠发达国家往往有宽松的法律。因此,总体而言,IMO 要求和国家要求的执行力度没有达到快速解决关键环境问题所需的强度。

港口当局已经开始了解在发放入境许可证时需要考虑环境和社区影响。近年来,他们开始与公共管辖范围内的区域或地方旅游机构协调工作。更多的地方需要更多的这种参与。

海滩和其他沿海地区经常被垃圾冲上岸。太多人因缺乏游客管理而深受其害,造成局部污染和浪费。仅在近年来发生极端情况后,一些东南亚海滩才关闭,并采取了良好的做法(或多或少的执法机制)以使自然再生。在这方面,可以在地方政策和执法、行业协会推广良好做法、对所有参与者进行必要的改进教育、海滩清理运动和减少一次性塑料等问题上做更多的工作。

针对海滩和码头的蓝旗计划已从最初的欧洲基地扩展到世界更多地区;所有沿海地区都应鼓励这样做,以从其教育方案和良好做法指导中受益。

目的地管理组织应立即设定五年目标,以使租车公司在其目的地全部或大部分使用电动汽车。这种竞争前要求对所有公司都是公平的,因为对其运营成本的任何影响都由竞争对手共同承担。

废物管理

有几种形式的废物:垃圾、污水、水、泄漏和溢出物。其中大部分当然是由公用事业管理的,不受旅游业和地方或地区旅游当局的直接控制。

与减少以前碳排放量的设计和建造开发一样,过去 15 年几乎所有的新船建造都包括应用最先进的船上废物管理技术。在港口,与港口电气化一样,船舶依赖港口当局建立良好的废物处理系统。

许多其他类型的旅游企业也可以通过在沿海地区进行更好的废物管理来实现转型。所有旅游参与者都可以通过实践非凡的减少浪费来引领沿海目的地的发展。酒店、当地旅游经营者、餐馆、商店和其他企业可以通过其行业协会和政府机构共同努力,改善当地的废物管理。他们可以效仿许多同行,在带薪日派遣员工进行海滩清理。

石油和天然气泄漏似乎没有受到太多关注,但有许多受欢迎的海湾没有足够的加油设施、当地监管要求和/或污染控制法律和规范的执行。想象一个有游泳者、无数小船、滑翔伞之类的海湾。在许多这样的海湾中,您不会找到合适的燃料补给站,而是在岸上使用石油或天然气桶,用粗略的方法来填充船只的油箱。海湾水的循环在本质上是有限的,并且形成了一种非常局部的污染形式,对野生动物和人类游客都有害。

最后的想法

充满希望的迹象比比皆是,但实施需要公共和私营部门更多参与者的更多承诺。

在 COVID-19 大流行期间,大多数邮轮公司提前退役并拆除了旧船,远远超过了先前计划的节奏。这是一个“重建得更好”的案例,由于业务的巨大损失和闲置船舶的维护成本高昂。因此,我们从大流行中脱颖而出,拥有一支普遍更新、更清洁的船队。

可持续认证最近已应用于休闲巡航。我领导的组织全球可持续旅游委员会 (GSTC) 为目的地、酒店和旅游经营者提供良好的认证。 2016 年,皇家加勒比游轮公司开始向通过 GSTC 严格标准认证的岸上游览运营商提供首选合同条款。 2019 年,MSC Cruises 采用了相同的公式。现在,MSC Cruises 已开始通过绿色奖来寻求可持续船舶认证,该项目于 1990 年代后期由鹿特丹港为货船发起,最近开始向休闲船提供认证奖。

公共和私营部门越来越多地应用“目的地管理”原则。我们在 GSTC 认可良好的目的地认证,这种方法正在获得追随者。我们还与国际邮轮协会 (CLIA) 和皇家加勒比密切合作,根据我们的全球标准 GSTC 目的地标准对许多邮轮港口目的地进行客观评估[1].

让我们为 CLIA 为集体行动所做的努力和计划鼓掌,并呼吁整个行业加入这些努力,并达到或超过所有 IMO 和国家法规和准则。

 —–

[1] 全球可持续旅游理事会,“GSTC 目的地标准”,https://www.gstcouncil.org/for-destinations/。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Vision Setting: A Sustainable Coastal and Marine Tourism Sector in 2030 and 2050

What is sustainable coastal and marine tourism in 2030 and 2050? What are three key shifts needed by 2025 to achieve this ambitious vision?

Randy Durband
Randy Durband
CEO, Global Sustainable Tourism Council (GSTC)

Coastal and marine tourism is enormous in many ways: in its physical range across the planet, in the volume of human interactions, in the diversity of tourism product and service types.

Consider the number of subsectors engaged in the coastal and marine tourism sector: hotels and resorts large and small; boats and ships with marinas and massive ports, often side by side with the far greater freight shipping trade; various attractions, including marine-themed parks, souvenirs, restaurants, guide services, scuba and snorkel, swimming and sunning, and the like. And each of these has its own large and diverse supply chain.

Considering that enormity and diversity, here is the way I categorise the three greatest shifts required for more sustainable forms in 2030 and 2050:

  1. Ship and boat operations made more climate-friendly both at sea and in port
  2. Governance and public policy enhancements
  3. Waste management improvements in coastal regions

The path to more climate-friendly

The transition to net zero or better for leisure tourism cruising and boating with regard to climate and localised pollution involves a number of elements. Most vessels release significant carbon emissions. In other words, there are distinct challenges for ships and boats of all sizes, and in a variety of locales.

Most ships built in the past 15 years have cleaner and more efficient systems that emit less carbon than in the past. More can and should be done, which I’ll comment on below regarding governance and policy.

While in port, the next steps that can have the greatest impact on greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from ships need to be taken by public utilities and policymakers to maximise the benefits of recent ship technological (and also waste management) solutions.

Portside electrification is the key here. Consider this: if a large ship remaining in port for hours or days leaves its engines running the entire time, it is emitting localised air pollutants, globally impactful greenhouse gases, noise irritations to the local residents and visitors, and churning water and rapidly changing temperatures that may harm marine life. Conversely, if the ship plugs in to portside electrification, these harmful impacts are reduced or eliminated. Globally, electricity generation is shifting to cleaner forms such as wind, solar, and hydro; whereas ship engines remain quite dependent on GHG-producing fossil fuels. Therefore, a quick shift to portside (aka shoreside) electrification is needed.

The European Union has taken an important step in this regard by mandating portside electrification for ships at all EU-based ports, to be completed by 2030. More ports and nations should set target years to require it.

Coastal hotels, resorts, attractions, land transport providers, restaurants and any other tourism businesses are picking up the pace but all have far to go to reduce carbon emissions. The move to clean-energy buses, vans and rental cars could and should be much faster.

Governance and policy

The International Maritime Organization (IMO) is a special agency of the United Nations. It provides guidance to the shipping industry on sustainability and other policy matters. National governments that sign on to IMO agree to enforce its requirements. That enforcement is strong in some cases, weak in many others. The IMO 2020 scheme requires a reduction in sulphur content in fuels for ships that needs to be enforced with particular vigilance.

The common practice of registering ships under ‘flags of convenience’ enables many cruise lines to register their ships in countries with lax labour and environmental protection laws and regulations in order to minimise operating costs. EU regulations on shipping are vitally important because they are among the most rigorous, and the volume of business in EU waters where they have enforcement powers is significant. Other developed economies rarely see major portions of a ship’s sailing itinerary within their national waters, making enforcement a greater challenge. Less developed countries tend to have lax laws. Therefore, collectively, enforcement of IMO requirements and national requirements are not as strong as is needed to solve the critical environmental issues quickly.

Port authorities have begun to understand the need to consider environmental and community impacts in the issuance of entry permits. In recent years they have begun to coordinate their work with that of the regional or local tourism agencies in their public jurisdictions. More engagement of this sort is needed in more places.

Beaches and other coastal areas suffer from constant rubbish washing ashore. And all too many suffer greatly from a lack of visitor management, causing localised pollution and waste. Only after extreme conditions occurred in recent years were some Southeast Asian beaches closed and good practices put in place (with more or less enforcement mechanisms) to allow nature to regenerate. Much more can be done in this regard on such issues as local policy and enforcement, trade association promotion of good practices, education of all players on the imperatives for improvement, beach clean-up campaigns and reduction of single-use plastic.

The Blue Flag program for beaches and marinas has been growing from its original European base to more regions of the world; this should be encouraged in all coastal areas to benefit from their educational programs and guidance on good practices.

Destination management organisations should immediately set five-year targets for conversion to all or mostly electric vehicle usage by the rental car companies at their destinations. This sort of pre-competitive requirement is fair to all companies because any impact on their operating costs is shared by their competitors.

Waste management

There are several forms of waste: rubbish, sewage, water, leakage and spillage. Much of this is managed of course by public utilities, outside the direct control of the tourism industry and local or regional tourism authorities.

As with design and build developments that reduce previous amounts of carbon emissions, virtually all new ship builds of the past 15 years have included the application of state-of-the-art technologies for onboard waste management. At port, as with portside electrification, ships depend on the port authorities to have in place good systems for waste treatment.

Many other types of tourism businesses also can be transformational by engaging in better forms of waste management in coastal areas. All tourism players can lead the way at coastal destinations by practicing exceptional waste reduction. Hotels, local tour operators, restaurants, shops and other businesses can work collectively through their trade associations and government agencies to improve waste management locally. They can follow the lead of many of their peers by sending their staff on paid days for beach clean-up.

Oil and gas spillage seems not to receive much attention, but there are many popular bays with inadequate fuelling facilities, local regulatory requirements and/or enforcement of pollution control laws and norms. Picture a bay with swimmers, countless small boats, paragliders and the like. In many such bays you’ll not find proper fuelling depots but instead oil or gas drums on the shore with crude approaches to filling the tanks of the vessels. Circulation of the bay’s water is by nature somewhat limited, and a very localised form of pollution develops that is harmful to both wildlife and human visitors.

Final thoughts

Hopeful signs abound, but implementation requires increased commitment from more players in both the public and private sectors.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, most cruise lines retired and dismantled older ships well ahead of previously planned pacing. This is a case of ‘build back better’ occurring by virtue of the dramatic loss of business and the high cost of maintaining idle ships. So we emerge from the pandemic with a generally newer and cleaner fleet of ships.

Sustainable certification has recently been applied to leisure cruising. The organisation I lead, the Global Sustainable Tourism Council (GSTC), accredits good certification for destinations, hotels and tour operators. In 2016 Royal Caribbean Cruise lines began offering preferred contracting terms to shore excursion operators that are certified to the GSTC’s rigorous standards. In 2019 MSC Cruises adopted the same formula. Now, MSC Cruises has begun pursuit of sustainable ship certification through the Green Award, a program started in the late 1990s by the Port of Rotterdam for freight ships, and recently began offering its certification award to leisure ships.

‘Destination Stewardship’ principles are increasingly applied by the public and private sectors. We at the GSTC accredit good certification for destinations, an approach that is gaining adherents. We have also worked closely with the Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA) and Royal Caribbean to conduct objective assessments of many cruise port destinations to our global standard, the GSTC Destination Criteria[1].

Let’s applaud the efforts and plans that CLIA has put in place for collective action, and call on the entire industry to join in these efforts and meet or exceed all IMO and national regulations and guidelines.

 —–

[1] Global Sustainable Tourism Council, “GSTC Destination Criteria,” https://www.gstcouncil.org/for-destinations/.

Close
back to top