精选: 各国签署海洋与气候行动联合宣言 Arrow 精选: COP28 值得关注的 10 个海洋事件 Arrow 精选: 阅读新报告:海洋作为气候变化的解决方案 Arrow 精选: 阅读 2023 年联合国大会海洋小组领导人联合公报 Arrow
专家论文
愿景设定:2030 年和 2050 年可持续的沿海和海洋旅游业

什么是 2030 年和 2050 年的可持续沿海和海洋旅游?到 2025 年,实现这一雄心勃勃的愿景需要哪些三个关键转变?

Gloria Làzaro
格洛丽亚·拉萨罗
蓝色计划项目官员(UNEP/MAP)

贡献者:François Guerquin、Julien Le Tellier、Helena Rey 和 Lina Tode

 

地中海是沿海和海洋旅游的标志性地区,其趋势和挑战反映了全球形势。它拥有独特的景观和生态系统,以及丰富的生物多样性,提供了广泛的文化和历史遗产。它的真实性、四通八达的位置、安全性和温和的天气使其成为世界领先的旅游目的地[一世].

地中海面积不到世界海洋面积的 1%,但被认为是生物多样性热点,拥有世界海洋生物多样性的 4-18%,包括 20-30% 的特有物种,是世界上特有率最高的[ii].它也可以被视为旅游热点:2019 年有超过 4 亿国际游客(ITA),地中海地区的旅游业占该地区 GDP 和就业的 15%[iii].自 1995 年以来,该行业增长了约 75%,根据联合国世界旅游组织 (UNWTO) 的数据,在大流行之前,预计到 2025 年将达到 6.26 亿个 ITA[四].

如果计划不周,这种增长可能会损害吸引游客的资产,危及居民和当地企业的经济和社会回报[五] 并威胁其长期可持续性[六].地中海旅游业的特点是沿海地区人口密集,主要是在夏季。虽然旅游业对该地区的经济发展做出了重大贡献,但它也造成了重大的负面外部影响,影响了沿岸国家的自然、文化和社会资源。环境退化、资源枯竭、能源需求增加、人口增长及其集中在沿海地区以及气候变化等全球性挑战可能会加剧这种情况。与其他地区相比,地中海沿岸地区受气候变化影响的影响更大,而且受到的影响甚至比之前预期的更大,热浪、洪水、干旱和缺水等极端事件将加剧[七].

COVID-19 大流行动摇了旅游业,暴露了其差距和弱点,以及地中海经济体对旅游业的高度依赖。 COVID-19 大流行改变了我们的生活方式,让我们有机会重新思考我们的行为和选择,提高对人类对环境和可持续性影响的认识。从大流行中恢复显示出新的旅游趋势[八]:人们现在越来越重视长期逗留(缓慢的旅游)、自然和开放空间以及离家近。例如,在 2021 年,法国的 Bouches du Rhône 省的国内游客增长了 9%[九].

旅游业也是一个能源需求部门,当前形势急需改变,以通过推广可再生能源确保该地区及其人民的福祉,但也需要在未来十年内将排放量减半以尽快实现净零排放尽可能购买格拉斯哥宣言[X].

 

我们不能错过这个独特的机会,通过从头开始的可持续转型来重塑旅游业。但是我们如何才能在地中海地区实现可持续旅游呢?三个班次似乎是绝对必要的:

第一班: 考虑到整个价值链,将旅游业视为一个跨领域部门。旅游业应处于地中海地区向可持续和有弹性的蓝色经济过渡的最前沿。该部门可以为可持续发展铺平道路,并与地中海国家的其他重要经济部门合作。该部门需要解决缺乏措施来减少影响海洋和沿海地区的压力,基于更可持续、循环和包容性的商业模式。旅游业需要考虑通过脱碳和有效利用自然资源,对价值链中所有相互关联的活动(住宿、交通、食品和饮料、塑料生产、能源效率等)采取可持续的消费和生产战略和政策。考虑到上述新趋势,该部门必须更加关注目的地的承载能力以及岛屿或保护区等区域的敏感性。

第二班: 推广良好做法,为当地社区增加社会经济和环境效益。地中海旅游需要从不可持续的标准“海洋、阳光和沙滩”商业模式和大众沿海旅游(包括在全包式套餐中)向更具附加值的产品和服务发展[十一],使当前的旅游产品多样化,以包括更专注于自然、文化、负责任的游轮和 MICE(会议、奖励、会议和活动)[十二].这可以通过提高差异化、真实性和竞争力来实现,包括为促进净零技术和中小企业提供资金支持,以及将质量置于数量之上。

一些举措可以作为实施成功工具或做法的基础,这些工具或做法已经在地中海地区进行了测试,并可在其他地区复制。例如,Interreg MED 可持续旅游社区[十三] 提供来自 30 个主题项目的解决方案,在过去 6 年中,这些项目一直在提出提高可持续性的方法::

  • 通过突出当地和区域资源,包括水下遗产、烹饪遗产、保护区内的生态旅游、内陆旅游、渔业旅游、自行车旅游和小型未知目的地,提供大众旅游的替代方案,并制定管理良好的计划以避免过度开发。
  • 减少旅游活动的影响(水和能源消耗、废物产生、游客流量管理、目的地承载能力)并实施循环经济。
  • 促进最佳规划和管理实践。

这些项目不仅对试点地区产生影响,而且在国外也产生影响,将倡议或工具纳入公共政策。例如,作为 INCIRCLE 项目的一部分,希腊罗希姆诺市实施了一项示范,以促进电动汽车与可再生能源相结合,从而避免了 12.5 吨二氧化碳排放,相当于 52,000 公里旅行产生的二氧化碳排放量。常规汽车。产生的能量足以让一辆典型的电动汽车行驶 160,000 公里。

第三班: 建立有效的监测机制,即对数据进行测量、整合和分析,以有效地实时评估旅游目的地的情况。这将支持来自不同类别(企业、地方当局、公共机构、民间社会组织等)的决策者和利益相关者更好地识别风险、差距和机遇,并相应地调整政策以适应当地情况。

在这个过程中,数字化将至关重要。旅游业是最早在全球范围内实现业务流程数字化的行业之一,这使得在线预订住宿和交通成为可能。这些信息和通信技术已经展示了它们的优势,并将伴随旅游业带来新的商机和新的旅行方式(智能签证、边境、安全流程和基础设施等)。[十四] 如果预期的话,这也可以监测该部门的可持续性。

在 COVID-19 大流行期间,数字化已经证明了它的相关性,包括二维码和病例接触监测。它还可以帮助重新分配游客在空间和时间上的流动,减少对过度拥挤的目的地的影响,正如在西班牙巴伦西亚和克罗地亚杜布罗夫尼克进行的测试一样[十五].

 

实现这三个转变至关重要,在这一努力中,我们所有人都可以发挥作用。从一个地中海国家到另一个地中海国家,旅游业正在以截然不同的速度复苏。必须通过让所有利益攸关方利用为大流行后恢复而设计的国家政策、战略和计划来改善地中海的区域跨界合作。

Plan Bleu 制定的地中海地区游轮和休闲划船可持续性指导方针是合作提高旅游业最突出部分之一的复原力的一个很好的例子。这些指南旨在 (a) 分析游轮和休闲划船的影响,(b) 向利益相关者报告促进这两个子行业可持续发展的良好做法,以及 (c) 帮助政策制定者和决策者思考立法和限制游轮和休闲划船造成的污染,在中期(2030 年)实现明确目标,到 2050 年全面实施[十六].为此,Plan Bleu 制定了一个包容性的参与过程,聚集了 100 名参与者,包括私营部门、公共当局、研究人员以及非政府组织和国际组织的代表,共同起草邮轮和休闲划船可持续性的联合指南[十七].

共同建设 2030 年可持续、有复原力、绿色、数字和包容性的沿海和海洋旅游业,将大大有助于各国实现联合国 2030 年议程的可持续发展目标和该框架下的地中海可持续发展战略目标联合国环境规划署地中海行动计划和巴塞罗那公约[十八].

如果这三个转变全面实施,到2030年地中海旅游将具有以下特点:

  1. 它将是可持续的,关注整个价值链,除了“海洋、阳光和沙滩”大众沿海旅游之外,还提供大量产品。全年分发,它将促进离家更近的旅游业,并优先考虑低排放交通。
  2. 它将减少影响并更有效地利用资源。例如,邮轮旅游和休闲划船,占地中海旅游的很大一部分,全球约 70% 的大型游艇全年在地中海航行,将通过实施诸如指定根据 MARPOL 附则 VI 和欧盟绿色协议目标,以及扩大邮轮旅游和休闲划船的可持续实践,将地中海作为硫氧化物排放控制区 (Med SOX ECA)。
  3. 由于当地社区参与旅游治理,并通过数字转型提供的机会实施实时监控,使旅游业适应不可预见的情况,它将更具弹性。

地中海是我们所有人生活和享受的绝佳地区,但它也有可能成为其成功的受害者。需要进行根本性转变,各级协调努力,将旅游业重塑为具有弹性、包容性和可持续的活动,照顾地中海财富的基础:环境。

—–

[一世] J. Fosse 等人,“(后)COVID 世界中地中海旅游的未来”,生态医学简报,2021 年 4 月,https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.4616983。

[ii]  联合国环境规划署/地中海行动计划和蓝色计划(2020 年)。地中海环境与发展状况。内罗毕。 https://planbleu.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/SoED_full-report.pdf

[iii] 世界旅游与旅游理事会,2017 年数据,旅游业对 GDP 的直接和间接贡献,https://wttc.org/。

[四] Fosse 等人,“地中海旅游的未来”。

[五] Interreg 地中海可持续旅游,“政策概况 #3:旅游业是地中海地区包容、负责任和可持续增长的战略驱动力”,2020 年 1 月 9 日,https://sustainable-tourism.interreg-med.eu/no-cache/ en/news-events/news/detail/actualites/policy-factsheet-3-tourism-as-a-strategic-driver-for-inclusive-responsible-and-sustainable-growth/。

[六] J. Fosse 和 J. Le Tellier, 地中海的可持续旅游业:发展现状和战略方向,Plan Bleu Cahier 17(2017 年 5 月),https://planbleu.org/en/publications/sustainable-tourism-in-the-mediterranean-state-of-play-and-strategic-directions/。

[七] W. Cramer、J. Guiot 和 K. Marini 编辑, 地中海盆地的气候和环境变化:现状和未来风险,第一份地中海评估报告,2020 年,地中海气候和环境变化专家,10.5281/zenodo.4768833;政府间气候变化专门委员会, 2022 年气候变化:影响、适应和脆弱性,第六次评估报告,2022 年。

[viii] 欧洲旅游委员会,鼓励可持续旅游实践,2021 年 9 月,https://etc-corporate.org/uploads/2021/09/ETC_SUSTAINABLE_TOURISM_HANDBOOK_vs6_FINAL.pdf

[九]      我的普罗旺斯,“Bilan de fréquentation Touristique 2021: Bouches du Rhône,” https://www.myprovence.pro/la-source/les-donnees-en-synthese/bilan-de-frequentation-touristique-2021。

[x] https://www.oneplanetnetwork.org/programmes/sustainable-tourism/glasgow-declaration

[十一] Interreg 地中海可持续旅游,“旅游业是地中海地区包容、负责任和可持续增长的战略驱动力”,2019 年 5 月,https://sustainable-tourism.interreg-med.eu/fileadmin/user_upload/Sites/Sustainable_Tourism/horizontal_project /BTM_Documents/Policy_Factsheets/BTM_PolicyFactsheets_3_EN.pdf。

[十二] 福斯和勒泰利尔, 地中海的可持续旅游.

[xiii] Interreg 地中海可持续旅游,主页,https://sustainable-tourism.interreg-med.eu/。

[十四] 世界旅游组织,“数字化转型”,https://www.unwto.org/fr/digital-transformation。

[十五] Interreg 地中海遗产数据项目,“杜布罗夫尼克的历史核心”,https://www.unwto.org/fr/digital-transformation。

[十六] 蓝色计划, 地中海地区游轮和休闲划船可持续性指南,2022 年 4 月 13 日,https://planbleu.org/en/publications/guidelines-for-the-sustainability-of-cruising-and-recreational-boating-in-the-mediterranean-region/。

[十七] 蓝色计划,“地中海的巡航和休闲划船”,https://planbleu.org/en/page-theme/cruises-and-boating-in-the-mediterranean/。

[十八] 联合国环境规划署地中海行动计划和蓝色计划, 地中海环境与发展状况,2020 年 10 月 21 日,https://www.unep.org/resources/report/state-environment-and-development-mediterranean。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Vision Setting: A Sustainable Coastal and Marine Tourism Sector in 2030 and 2050

What is sustainable coastal and marine tourism in 2030 and 2050? What are three key shifts needed by 2025 to achieve this ambitious vision?

Gloria Làzaro
Gloria Làzaro
Programme Officer en Plan Bleu (UNEP/MAP)

Contributors: François Guerquin, Julien Le Tellier, Helena Rey and Lina Tode

 

The Mediterranean is an emblematic region for coastal and marine tourism, with trends and challenges reflective of the global situation. With unique landscapes and ecosystems, as well as a rich biodiversity, it offers a wide-ranging cultural and historical heritage. Its authenticity, well-connected locations, security and mild weather have made it the world’s leading tourist destination[i].

The Mediterranean covers less than 1 percent of the world’s ocean surface but is considered a biodiversity hotspot, hosting 4–18 percent of the world’s marine biodiversity, including 20–30 percent endemic species, the highest rate of endemism in the world[ii]. It could also be considered a tourism hotspot: with more than 400 million international tourist arrivals (ITAs) in 2019, the tourism sector in The Mediterranean region, accounted for up to 15 percent of regional GDP and employment[iii]. Since 1995, the sector has grown by about 75 percent and, according to the UN World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), it was expected—before the pandemic—to reach 626 million ITAs by 2025[iv].

If not well planned, this growth can harm the very assets tourists are attracted to, endangering the economic and social returns for residents and local businesses[v] and threatening its long-term sustainability[vi]. Tourism in the Mediterranean is characterised by densely occupied coastal areas, mainly during the summer season. While tourism has significantly contributed to the region’s economic development, it also has created major negative externalities, impacting the natural, cultural and social resources of countries along its shores. This situation could be exacerbated by global challenges such as environmental degradation, resource depletion, increasing energy demand, population growth and its concentration in coastal areas, and climate change. Mediterranean coastal zones will be more impacted by climate change effects than other areas, and they will be affected even more than previously anticipated, with intensifying extreme events such as heat waves, floods, droughts and water scarcity[vii].

The COVID-19 pandemic has shaken the tourism sector, exposing its gaps and weaknesses, as well as the Mediterranean economies’ high dependence on it. The COVID-19 pandemic has changed our lifestyle and given us the opportunity to rethink our behaviour and choices, heightening awareness of humankind’s impact on the environment and sustainability. The recovery from the pandemic shows new touristic trends[viii]: people now increasingly prioritise longer stays (slow tourism), nature and open spaces, and proximity to home. In 2021, for example, France’s Bouches du Rhône department saw a 9 percent increase in domestic tourists[ix].

Tourism is also an energy-demanding sector, and the current situation imposes urgent changes to ensure the wellbeing of the region and its people through the promotion of renewable energies but also the need to halve emissions over the next decade to reach Net Zero emissions as soon as possible as state buy the Glasgow Declaration[x].

 

We cannot miss this unique opportunity to reinvent the tourism sector with a sustainable transition from the ground up. But how can we achieve sustainable tourism in the Mediterranean region? Three shifts seem absolutely necessary:

First shift: Approach tourism as a cross-cutting sector, considering the whole value chain. Tourism should be at the forefront of the transition towards a sustainable and resilient blue economy in the Mediterranean region. The sector can pave the way towards sustainability and collaborate with other important economic sectors of the Mediterranean countries. The sector needs to address the lack of measures to reduce the pressures affecting marine and coastal areas, based on more sustainable, circular and inclusive business models. Tourism needs to consider adopting sustainable consumption and production strategies and policies of all the interconnected activities in the value chain (accommodation, transport, food and beverage, plastic production, energy efficiency, etc.) through decarbonisation and efficient use of natural resources. Considering new trends mentioned above, the sector must pay more attention to the carrying capacity of destinations and sensitivity of areas such as islands or protected areas.

Second shift: Scale up good practices to increase the socioeconomic and environmental benefits for local communities. Mediterranean tourism needs to evolve from unsustainable standard ‘sea, sun and sand’ business models and mass coastal tourism, as included in all-inclusive packages, towards more value-added products and services[xi], diversifying current tourism products to include more focused on nature, culture, responsible cruises, and MICE (meetings, incentives, conferences and events)[xii]. This could be achieved by enhancing differentiation, authenticity, and competitiveness, including finance support to boost net-zero technologies and small and medium-sized enterprises, and by prioritising quality over quantity.

Several initiatives could serve as a basis to implement successful tools or practices that have already been tested in Mediterranean territories and are replicable in other regions. For example, the Interreg MED Sustainable Tourism Community[xiii] offers solutions from 30 thematic projects that, during the last 6 years, have been proposing ways to improve sustainability:               :

  • Offer alternatives to mass tourism by foregrounding local and regional resources, including underwater heritage, culinary heritage, ecotourism in protected areas, inland tourism, fishing tourism, cycling tourism and small unknown destinations with well-managed plans to avoid their overexploitation.
  • Reduce the impact of tourism activities (water and energy consumption, waste generation, management of tourists flows, carrying capacity of destinations) and implement a circular economy.
  • Promote best planning and management practices.

These projects had an impact not only on their pilot sites but also abroad, with the incorporation of initiatives or tools in public policies. For instance, as part of the INCIRCLE project, the Municipality of Rethymno, Greece, implemented a demonstrator to promote electromobility in combination with Renewable Energy Sources, thereby avoiding 12.5 tons of carbon dioxide emissions, equivalent to those produced by 52,000 kilometres of travel in a conventional car. The energy produced is enough for a typical e-car to cover 160,000 kilometres.

Third shift: Establish effective monitoring mechanisms, which means measuring, integrating and analysing data to effectively assess the situation of tourist destinations in real time. This will support decision-makers and stakeholders from various categories (businesses, local authorities, public agencies, civil society organisations, etc.) better identify risks, gaps and opportunities, and adapt policies to the local situation accordingly.

Digitalisation will be crucial in this process. Tourism was one of the first sectors to digitalise business processes on a global scale, making it possible to book online stays and transport. These information and communication technologies have shown their strengths and will accompany the tourism sector by bringing new business opportunities and new ways of travelling (smart visas, borders, security processes and infrastructure, etc.)[xiv] that could also allow monitoring of the sector’s sustainability, if anticipated.

Digitalisation already proved its relevance during the COVID-19 pandemic, with QR codes and monitoring of case contacts. It could also help redistribute visitors’ flows in space and time, reducing the impact on overcrowded destinations, as tested in Valencia, Spain, and Dubrovnik, Croatia[xv].

 

It is crucial to make these three shifts happen, and in that effort all of us have a role to play. Tourism is recovering at vastly different speeds from one Mediterranean country to the next. Regional, transboundary cooperation in the Mediterranean must be improved by involving all stakeholders making use of the national policies, strategies and plans designed for the post-pandemic recovery.

Plan Bleu’s development of guidelines for the sustainability of cruises and recreational boating in the Mediterranean region is a good example of cooperation to increase the resilience of one of the tourism industry’s most prominent segments. These guidelines aim to (a) analyse the impacts of cruises and recreational boating, (b) report to stakeholders on good practices to enable the sustainable development of both subsectors, and (c) help policymakers and decision-makers reflect on ways to legislate and limit pollution from cruises and recreational boating, with clear objectives to be reached in the medium term (2030) and full implementation by 2050[xvi]. For this purpose, Plan Bleu set an inclusive participatory process, gathering a hundred participants, including representatives of the private sector, public authorities, researchers, and non-governmental and international organisations, to draft joint guidelines for the sustainability of cruises and recreational boating[xvii].

Building together a sustainable, resilient, green, digital and inclusive coastal and marine tourism for 2030 will contribute significantly to countries’ pursuit of the Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations’ 2030 Agenda and the objectives of the Mediterranean Strategy for Sustainable Development under the framework of the UN Environment Programme Mediterranean Action Plan and the Barcelona Convention[xviii].

If these three shifts are fully implemented, by 2030 tourism in the Mediterranean will have the following characteristics:

  1. It will be sustainable, paying attention to the entire value chain, with a large offer of products apart from ‘sea, sun and sand’ mass coastal tourism. Distributed throughout the year, it will promote tourism closer to home and prioritise low-emission transport.
  2. It will have reduced impact and use resources more efficiently. For example, cruise tourism and recreational boating, a huge percentage of Mediterranean tourism with around 70 percent of the world’s mega-yachts sailing in the Mediterranean year-round, will be adapted to minimise current impacts through the implementation of commitments such as the designation of the Mediterranean Sea as an Emission Control Area for Sulphur Oxides (Med SOX ECA) pursuant to MARPOL Annex VI and the EU Green Deal objectives, as well as by scaling up sustainable practices for cruise tourism and recreational boating.
  3. It will be more resilient, thanks to the engagement of local communities in tourism governance and through the implementation of real-time monitoring through the opportunities offered by the digital transition, adapting the tourism sector to unforeseen circumstances.

The Mediterranean is a wonderful region for us all to live in and enjoy, but it is also at risk of becoming the victim of its success. A fundamental shift is needed, with coordinated efforts at all levels to reinvent the tourism sector as a resilient, inclusive and sustainable activity that takes care of the basis of the Mediterranean’s wealth: its environment.

—–

[i] J. Fosse et al., “The Future of Mediterranean Tourism in a (Post) COVID World,” eco-med briefing, April 2021, https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.4616983.

[ii]  United Nations Environment Programme/Mediterranean Action Plan and Plan Bleu (2020). State of the Environment and Development in the Mediterranean. Nairobi. https://planbleu.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/SoED_full-report.pdf

[iii] World Travel & Tourism Council, 2017 data, direct and indirect contribution of tourism to GDP, https://wttc.org/.

[iv] Fosse et al., “The Future of Mediterranean Tourism.”

[v] Interreg Mediterranean Sustainable Tourism, “Policy Factsheet #3: Tourism as a Strategic Driver for Inclusive, Responsible and Sustainable Growth in the Mediterranean Region,” 9 January 2020, https://sustainable-tourism.interreg-med.eu/no-cache/en/news-events/news/detail/actualites/policy-factsheet-3-tourism-as-a-strategic-driver-for-inclusive-responsible-and-sustainable-growth/.

[vi] J. Fosse and J. Le Tellier, Sustainable Tourism in the Mediterranean: State of Play and Strategic Directions, Plan Bleu Cahier 17 (May 2017), https://planbleu.org/en/publications/sustainable-tourism-in-the-mediterranean-state-of-play-and-strategic-directions/.

[vii] W. Cramer, J. Guiot, and K. Marini, eds., Climate and Environmental Change in the Mediterranean Basin: Current Situation and Risks for the Future, First Mediterranean Assessment Report, 2020, Mediterranean Experts on Climate and Environmental Change, 10.5281/zenodo.4768833; Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Climate Change 2022: Impacts, Adaptation and Vulnerability, Sixth Assessment Report, 2022.

[viii] European Travel Commission, Encouraging Sustainable Tourism Practices, September 2021, https://etc-corporate.org/uploads/2021/09/ETC_SUSTAINABLE_TOURISM_HANDBOOK_vs6_FINAL.pdf

[ix]      MyProvence, “Bilan de fréquentation touristique 2021: Bouches du Rhône,” https://www.myprovence.pro/la-source/les-donnees-en-synthese/bilan-de-frequentation-touristique-2021.

[x] https://www.oneplanetnetwork.org/programmes/sustainable-tourism/glasgow-declaration

[xi] Interreg Mediterranean Sustainable Tourism, “Tourism as a Strategic Driver for Inclusive, Responsible and Sustainable Growth in the Mediterranean Region,” May 2019, https://sustainable-tourism.interreg-med.eu/fileadmin/user_upload/Sites/Sustainable_Tourism/horizontal_project/BTM_Documents/Policy_Factsheets/BTM_PolicyFactsheets_3_EN.pdf.

[xii] Fosse and Le Tellier, Sustainable Tourism in the Mediterranean.

[xiii] Interreg Mediterranean Sustainable Tourism, home page, https://sustainable-tourism.interreg-med.eu/.

[xiv] World Tourism Organization, “Digital Transformation,” https://www.unwto.org/fr/digital-transformation.

[xv] Interreg Mediterranean Herit-Data project, “The Historical Core of Dubrovnik,” https://www.unwto.org/fr/digital-transformation.

[xvi] Plan Bleu, Guidelines for the Sustainability of Cruises and Recreational Boating in the Mediterranean Region, 13 April 2022, https://planbleu.org/en/publications/guidelines-for-the-sustainability-of-cruising-and-recreational-boating-in-the-mediterranean-region/.

[xvii] Plan Bleu, “Cruising and Recreational Boating in the Mediterranean,” https://planbleu.org/en/page-theme/cruises-and-boating-in-the-mediterranean/.

[xviii] UN Environment Programme Mediterranean Action Plan and Plan Bleu, State of the Environment and Development in the Mediterranean, 21 October 2020, https://www.unep.org/resources/report/state-environment-and-development-mediterranean.

Close
back to top