Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
愿景设定:2030 年和 2050 年可持续的沿海和海洋旅游业

什么是 2030 年和 2050 年的可持续沿海和海洋旅游?到 2025 年,实现这一雄心勃勃的愿景需要哪些三个关键转变?

Gloria Fluxa Thieneman
格洛丽亚·弗拉萨·蒂尼曼
Iberostar Group 副主席兼首席战略官

沿海和海洋旅游业必须蓬勃发展,以建设有弹性的目的地,旅游业和居民所依赖的资产得到恢复、保护和可持续管理。这包括建立对气候变化的抵御能力、降低与气候引发事件相关的风险以及投资于基于自然的缓解和适应解决方案。它包括从传统的生产和消费模式以及相关的污染和废物转变为涉及旅游价值链各个层面的循环经济。

Iberostar 认为旅游业是解决方案的一部分。因此,它投资于资源和创新方法,以识别和测试可复制和可扩展的解决方案,同时与利益相关者分享知识。

自然和文化本质上是旅游体验的一部分。旅游利益相关者需要合作投资于基于自然的解决方案、保护和保存。除了创造就业机会或激励企业家之外,这种合作还必须通过生态旅游、绿蓝旅游基础设施或当地社区的其他经济途径产生经济效益。

 转变

  • 使旅游业脱碳并提高沿海资产和基础设施的复原力

对于旅游业而言,脱碳是应对气候变化的关键。虽然全球旅游业排放的主要驱动力是交通运输,约占与旅游业相关的温室气体排放量的 49%,但该行业的其他组成部分,如酒店业,必须在其运营脱碳和对供应链和其他行业施加压力方面发挥作用。到 2050 年实现净零排放的价值链。

通过保护和恢复工作以及转向基于自然的解决方案,旅游业直接支持应对气候变化并提高目的地的复原力。当它包括当地社区时,受威胁地区的高价值碳封存可以为保护和恢复提供资金,同时为拥有土地的当地社区提供经济替代方案。投资蓝绿色基础设施和其他基于自然的解决方案可以降低风险以及恶劣天气和海平面上升的威胁和成本。

Iberostar 签署了《格拉斯哥宣言》,并加入了基于科学的目标倡议,以建立可信且可验证的承诺,以在 2030 年前实现碳中和并迈向净零排放。脱碳是 Iberostar 运营范围 3 排放的主要目标。

在 Iberostar,碳封存是一种融资机制,用于确保生态系统的健康并恢复它们提供的生态系统服务。 Iberostar 投资于保护区的共同管理、新区域的创建和管理以及环境服务支付计划,旨在测试该行业可以在获得回报的同时投资的保护、恢复和可持续管理模式通过碳信用进行投资,是所有利益相关者的双赢。

  • 迈向可持续生产与消费相结合的循环经济

循环经济不仅适用于生产行业;服务业对于实现循环也至关重要。旅游价值链需要以更加全面和包容的方式重新定义,以最大限度地减少对环境的影响并最大限度地提高东道国的利益。作为一个行业,我们需要在我们经营的目的地从“获取、制造、浪费”的线性模式转变为可再生自然、人力和社会资本的模式。

通过其“变革浪潮”运动,Iberostar 对海洋做出了开创性和雄心勃勃的承诺,并正在引领负责任的旅游业走向循环经济,促进负责任的海鲜消费并改善沿海健康。其由约 20 名科学家和专家组成的 Wave of Change 团队提供战略指导并促进基于科学的行动,使 Iberostar 能够将创新、具有成本效益和财务上可行的行动整合到其运营中,从而增强其度假村和目的地的复原力。它们位于。

为了到 2025 年实现无浪费,Iberostar 成为第一家停止使用一次性塑料的连锁酒店,每年从其运营中淘汰超过 420 吨塑料。通过与 Winnow 合作,Iberostar 正在确定食物浪费的来源,并评估其购买食物并将其交付给旅行者的方式的变化。

  • 将自然和当地社区融入旅游价值链

海洋和海岸的健康是任何沿海或海洋旅游所固有的。人们旅行是为了享受海滩、海洋和在那里可以体验的体验,例如潜水或皮划艇。旅游业需要在尊重当地居民的情况下向前发展,并将自身呈现为社区创造收入的机会。通过将社区创业和基于自然的解决方案联系起来的举措,旅游业可以提供的不仅仅是就业和保护。支付生态系统服务计划让当地社区的收入多样化。将其与生态旅游机会相结合,将巩固企业家精神以及游客与当地社区之间的积极互动。

采购是旅游企业的重要组成部分,特别是那些在小岛屿发展中国家和最不发达国家经营的企业,这些国家的大部分食品都需要进口。承诺到 2025 年从负责任的来源采购 100% 的海鲜,到 2021 年,Iberostar 实现了 70% 的负责任海鲜采购。这当然涉及经过认证的海鲜,但也通过 Iberostar 的提升本地项目,承诺与目的地的小规模渔业合作,帮助他们成为可持续的供应商。

Iberostar 致力于改善其物业内及周边生态系统的健康状况,这使其在珊瑚礁研究和恢复方面进行了重要投资。 Iberostar 拥有两名专门的珊瑚科学家、多米尼加共和国的一个实验室和七个目的地的苗圃,正在寻求识别和恢复耐气候珊瑚。它与政府合作,投资恢复沙丘,从 2022 年开始在五个目的地进行。它已经恢复了近 10,000 棵红树林。除了增强气候适应能力外,红树林恢复水质的能力也在接受测试。这些项目遵循国际自然保护联盟制定的基于自然的解决方案的全球标准。

Iberostar 相信集体行动,并寻求与其他旅游领导者分享其知识和最佳实践,以建立具有弹性的目的地。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Vision Setting: A Sustainable Coastal and Marine Tourism Sector in 2030 and 2050

What is sustainable coastal and marine tourism in 2030 and 2050? What are three key shifts needed by 2025 to achieve this ambitious vision?

Gloria Fluxa Thieneman
Gloria Fluxa Thieneman
Vice-Chairman & CSO, Iberostar Group

Coastal and ocean-based tourism has to thrive to build resilient destinations where the assets both the tourism industry and residents depend upon are restored, protected and sustainably managed. This encompasses building resilience to climate change, reducing risks associated with climate-induced events and investing in nature-based solutions for mitigation and adaptation. It includes shifting from the traditional models of production and consumption, with their associated pollution and waste, to a circular economy that touches all levels of the tourism value chain.

Iberostar believes that the tourism sector is part of the solution. It therefore invests in resources and innovative approaches to identify and test replicable and scalable solutions, while sharing knowledge with stakeholders.

Nature and culture are intrinsically parts of the tourism experience. Tourism stakeholders need to collaborate to invest in nature-based solutions, conservation and preservation. This collaboration must generate economic benefits through ecotourism, green-blue tourism infrastructure or other economic avenues for local communities in addition to creating jobs or incentivising entrepreneurs.

 The Shifts

  • Decarbonise tourism and improve the resilience of coastal assets and infrastructure

For the tourism sector, decarbonisation is the key to addressing climate change. While the primary global driver of tourism emissions is transportation, which accounts for about 49 percent of tourism-related GHG emissions, other components of the industry such as hospitality have to play their part in decarbonising their operations and pressuring the supply chain and the rest of the value chain to reach net zero emissions by 2050.

Through conservation and restoration efforts and the shift to nature-based solutions, the tourism sector directly supports the response to climate change and increases destination resilience. When it includes local communities, high-value carbon sequestration in threatened areas can provide financing for conservation and restoration while generating economic alternatives for local communities that hold land. Investment in blue-green infrastructure and other nature-based solutions can reduce risk and the threats and costs of severe weather and sea level rise.

Iberostar signed on to the Glasgow Declaration and has joined the Science-Based Targets initiative to establish credible and verifiable commitments to reach carbon neutrality by 2030 and move towards net zero emissions. Decarbonisation is the primary goal of Iberostar’s operations working on Scope 3 emissions.

At Iberostar, carbon sequestration is a financing mechanism for ensuring the health of ecosystems and restoring the ecosystem services they provide. Investing in the co-management of protected areas, the creation and management of new areas as well as schemes for payment for environmental services, Iberostar seeks to test models for conservation, restoration and sustainable management that the industry can invest in while receiving a return on investment through carbon credits, a win-win for all stakeholders.

  • Move towards a circular economy that integrates sustainable production and consumption

The circular economy is not only for production industries; the service industry is also essential to achieving circularity. The tourism value chain needs to be redefined in a more holistic and inclusive way that minimises the environmental impact and maximises benefits in the host destinations. As a sector, we need to move from the linear pattern of ‘“take, make, waste” to a model that is regenerative of natural, human and social capital’ in the destinations we operate.

Through its ‘Wave of Change’ movement, Iberostar has made a pioneering and ambitious commitment to the ocean and is leading responsible tourism towards a circular economy, promoting the responsible consumption of seafood and improving coastal health. Its Wave of Change team of about 20 scientists and experts provide strategic guidance and promote science-based action, enabling Iberostar to integrate innovative, cost-effective and financially viable actions into its operations that will build the resilience of its resorts and the destinations in which they are located.

In the move to becoming waste-free by 2025, Iberostar became the first hotel chain to cease the use of single-use plastics, eliminating from its operations over 420 tons of plastics annually. In partnership with Winnow, Iberostar is identifying sources of food waste and evaluating changes in the way it purchases food and delivers it to travellers.

  • Integrate nature and local communities into the tourism value chain

The health of the ocean and coasts is intrinsic to any coastal or ocean-based tourism. People travel to enjoy the beach, the ocean and the experiences they can have there, such as diving or kayaking. Tourism needs to move forward with respect for local residents and present itself as an opportunity for their communities to generate income. Tourism can offer more than jobs and conservation, through initiatives that link community entrepreneurship and nature-based solutions. Payment for ecosystem services schemes allow local communities to diversify their income. Combining that with ecotourism opportunities will cement entrepreneurship and positive interaction between tourists and local communities.

Sourcing is an important component for tourism enterprises, particularly those operating in small island developing states and least developed countries, where much of the food needs to be imported. Committed to sourcing 100 percent of its seafood from responsible sources by 2025 in 2021 Iberostar achieved 70 percent responsible seafood sourcing. This of course involves certified seafood but also, through Iberostar’s Lifting Up Local project, a commitment to work with small-scale fisheries at its destinations to help them become sustainable suppliers.

Iberostar’s commitment to improving the health of the ecosystems in and around its properties has led it to make an important investment in coral reef research and restoration. With two dedicated coral scientists, a lab in the Dominican Republic and nurseries in seven destinations, Iberostar is seeking to identify and restore climate-resistant coral. In collaboration with governments, it is investing in dune restoration, starting with five destinations in 2022. It already has restored close to 10,000 mangroves. In addition to building climate resilience, mangroves are being tested for their ability to restore water quality. These projects follow the Global Standard for Nature-Based Solutions developed by the International Union for Conservation of Nature.

Iberostar believes in collective action and seeks to share with other tourism leaders its knowledge and best practices for scalable schemes to build resilient destinations.

Close
back to top