Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
转型:沿海和海洋旅游在可持续海洋经济中的作用

沿海和海洋旅游如何成为支持各国向可持续海洋经济过渡的基石?

Valerie Hickey
瓦莱丽·希基
世界银行环境、自然资源和蓝色经济全球实践全球总监

在 COVID-19 大流行之前,沿海和海洋旅游是经济增长的引擎。该部门每年增长约 $1340 亿美元,占至少七个小岛屿发展中国家国内生产总值的四分之一以上[1].然而,大流行使该行业倒退了至少两年,预计航空旅行和旅游业在 2024 年之前不会恢复到 2019 年的水平[2].尽管沿海和海洋旅游不太可能恢复得更快,但最近的研究表明,以自然为基础的旅游越来越受欢迎[3].世界旅游组织的最新数据显示,蓝色旅游业占主导地位的地区正在重新吸引流失的游客。例如,与 2020 年相比,2021 年前往加勒比地区的国际游客人数增加了 63%,但仍比 2019 年的水平低 37%[4].

正如可持续海洋经济高级别小组所指出的那样,“COVID 危机后的复苏提供了一个思考创新措施以及旅游企业在提升当地社区和保护沿海和海洋环境方面发挥积极作用的机会。”同样,世界银行在关注“重建得更好”后 COVID 时,希望优先考虑向蓝色经济过渡的机会,蓝色经济定义为海洋部门在健康海洋中的可持续和综合发展,包括通过发展一个可持续的沿海和海洋旅游部门。三个关键考虑因素可以帮助该行业实现这一转变。

  1. 海洋空间规划是将旅游业纳入蓝色经济方法的重要工具。

海洋空间规划 (MSP) 是可持续海洋规划的重要组成部分,为将沿海和海洋旅游以及其他部门整合到更广泛的蓝色经济方法中提供了一个框架。 MSP 流程有助于评估和思考如何最好地利用一个国家的海洋区域和资源,包括沿海和海洋旅游,以及它们将如何造福于人民、经济和社区所依赖的生态系统。

海洋和沿海旅游战略是海洋空间规划等综合规划框架的一部分,可确保

  • 在对该行业进行投资之前,与其他用户的主要冲突已在上游得到解决[5];
  • 海洋空间规划过程平衡了旅游业和其他部门之间需要做出的权衡,包括保护,因此旅游业可以为蓝色经济做出最佳贡献并带来社会和经济效益;和
  • 海洋空间规划有助于为旅游业指定最合适的地点,并与旅游业等部门计划建立联系,以有效管理环境和社会影响,从而最大限度地促进部门对蓝色经济的贡献。

反过来,将沿海和海洋旅游纳入 MSP 流程有助于改善可持续旅游业投资的环境,并最终支持蓝色经济。此外,海洋空间规划减少了用户群体之间长期谈判或冲突的风险,以及环境问题的不可预见成本,并为旅游业提供了获取沿海和海洋资源的急需程度的确定性,以及规定为可持续运营。

将旅游业纳入海洋空间规划还有助于确定旅游业可以多样化的合适区域,避免累积的环境影响以及与其他用户的冲突。它可以指导旅游业保护和保护生态系统,减少海洋塑料等污染源。规划过程可以与土地利用规划和综合景观规划等其他规划工作相结合,从而进一步降低污染风险。

例如,在佛得角,世界银行正在支持圣玛丽亚桥及周边地区沿海渔业和旅游价值链的整合。这增加了酒店业对本地采购食品的兴趣。然而,只有 5-10% 的酒店食品是在当地采购的。处理和卫生要求等问题限制了渔民和批发商供应当地酒店的能力。世界银行 PROBLUE 信托基金资助的一项活动侧重于改善捕鱼上岸量和建设渔民达到卫生标准的能力,这最终将帮助当地渔业合作社向当地酒店供应可持续捕捞的鱼。这项活动有助于提高渔民的收入,并支持旅游设施提供满足游客需求的可持续来源鱼类的能力。

在阿尔巴尼亚,沿海和海洋旅游的潜力长期以来一直未被开发。世界银行正在与该国合作制定一项蓝色经济战略,其中包括海洋空间规划,重点是保护沿海生态系统的可持续旅游业,同时为沿海社区提供经济增长和生计。

支持蓝色经济方法的沿海和海洋旅游战略必须考虑如何最好地管理旅游业以实现长期可持续性。最近的研究[6] 提出以下改进管理的机会:

  • 基于自然和文化特征的多样化旅游
  • 推广替代地点以防止海洋资源过度使用和退化
  • 引入更可持续实践的行业要求
  • 考虑政策和行动,让当地居民参与并提供投资机会,从蓝色旅游中受益

结合海洋空间规划的国家旅游战略最终可以加强蓝色经济。在企业层面,与国家旅游战略相一致的行业指导将确保整个业务运营的可持续性[7].在东帝汶,世界银行目前正在支持海洋空间规划和国家旅游总体规划并行发展。

  1. 沿海和海洋旅游必须支持能够抵御气候变化的更健康的生态系统。

沿海和海洋旅游直接依赖于健康的生态系统和蓝色的自然资本[8].例如,在 COVID-19 大流行之前,超过 3.5 亿人参观了珊瑚礁,通过直接和间接使用产生了每年价值约 $360 亿的蓝色旅游业,超过 70 个国家和地区拥有“百万美元的珊瑚礁”[9].这些珊瑚礁每年每平方公里产生超过 $1 百万的旅游收入。改善加勒比海、中美洲和东南亚珊瑚礁的健康每年可以释放数十亿美元[10].然而,海洋生态系统和蓝色自然资本正受到污染、过度使用和气候变化的威胁。世界银行最近的一份报告, 2021年国富变化, 表明,作为全球总财富的一部分,蓝色自然资本从 1995 年到 2018 年下降了一半[11].

在以保护这些健康的生态系统和蓝色自然资本为中心的蓝色经济中,沿海和海洋旅游可以通过促进减少废物,特别是塑料的措施来发挥关键作用。有效的废物管理系统对于遏制进入海洋的废物和海洋塑料的数量至关重要。另一个好处是,即使在度假村综合体内,固体废物管理也是劳动密集型的,并支持创造就业机会。同样,减少化肥的使用和清洁中使用更少的有毒化学品可以支持更可持续的旅游业。

该部门还可以从蓝色标准和认证中受益,这些标准和认证提供了关于什么是“可持续”或“蓝色”旅游企业的指导方针,类似于制定几项认证可持续渔业的举措。为此,世界银行正在为三个西非国家的中小型沿海旅游企业制定指导方针,以提高其可持续性,包括减少环境足迹,重点是塑料的使用。

旅游业可以为更健康的生态系统做出贡献的另一个关键领域是依靠海洋保护区(MPA)并与之互动。世界银行最近的一项研究表明,从长远来看,保护自然资产和扭转退化是促进生物多样性保护和吸引游客的关键。这样做有可能产生至少六倍于成本的投资回报[12].当保护区正规化、管理投资、MPA 管理人员的能力得到加强、游客数量和影响得到监控时,MPA 的回报和利益就会更加安全。

使海洋保护区内的蓝色旅游业务多样化,为当地社区带来额外的收入和经济效益,增加了对该行业的支持,并降低了过度使用和退化的风险。为了鼓励对各种沿海和海洋旅游选择的投资,应考虑特许政策,特别是因为海洋资源通常是没有明确使用权或使用权的共同财产。

此外,沿海和海洋旅游活动只有在其管理者和员工具备遵循该行业最佳实践的知识和能力的情况下才能支持向蓝色经济的过渡。需要加强旅游部门的能力,以将可持续性最佳实践纳入主流。尽管鼓励客人重复使用毛巾和床单是一个良好的开端,但要实现可持续发展的重大转变需要采取全面的业务方法。这包括超越企业的边界,考虑如何减少对周围社区和企业所依赖的生态系统的影响。

世界银行还通过指导和培训支持西非的沿海和海洋旅游经营者使用虚拟现实和人工智能技术安全、可持续地重新开放,以期在对环境影响最小的情况下达到 COVID 预防标准。

  1. 沿海和海洋旅游应确保所有利益相关者的参与,并考虑到边缘化群体的需求。

利益相关者和当地社区在规划过程中的每一步都必须有效参与,以确保海洋和沿海旅游的利益与当地社区公平分享。研究表明,不同利益相关者的积极参与可以提高决策质量;平衡的经济、社会和环境目标;利益相关者拥有和支持的更大潜力;降低实施成本;减少利益相关者之间的冲突;并获得新的和额外的信息和知识[13].世界银行的环境和社会保障措施确保利益相关者能够有意义地参与世行项目,而这种参与通过其“具有弹性和包容性的蓝色经济的海洋空间规划”项目得到加强。

例如,世界银行支持五个加勒比国家(多米尼克、格林纳达、圣卢西亚、圣文森特和格林纳丁斯以及圣基茨和尼维斯)[14] 通过加强海洋治理以及沿海和海洋地理空间规划的能力,向蓝色经济过渡。在此过程的早期,利益相关者分析使该项目能够将其参与计划重点放在微型、中小型海洋旅游和酒店企业。这对于确保这些利益相关者了解 MSP 流程以及他们必须参与其中的机会至关重要。

结论

越来越多的共识是,沿海和海洋旅游可以成为支持各国向蓝色经济过渡的关键组成部分[15].这种转变需要通过海洋空间规划以蓝色经济方法为基础的旅游战略。确保健康的蓝色自然资本是该行业长期可持续发展的关键。

—–

[1] 联合国,“水下生命:为何如此重要”,可持续发展目标编号。 14、https://www.un.org/sustainabledevelopment/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/14_Why-It-Matters-2020.pdf;世界旅游组织 (UNWTO),“小岛屿发展中国家的旅游业:为岛屿人民打造更可持续的未来”,2014 年 8 月,https://www.e-unwto.org/doi/pdf/10.18111/9789284416257。

[2] 麦肯锡公司,“COVID-19:对商业的影响”,2022 年 4 月 13 日,https://www.mckinsey.com/business-functions/risk-and-resilience/our-insights/covid-19-implications-for -商业。

[3] 市场和技术全球旅游团队,“市场 COVID-19 指导说明:旅游部门的影响和政策响应”,2020 年 4 月 3 日。

[4] UNWTO,“世界旅游晴雨表”,2022 年 1 月,https://www.e-unwto.org/doi/epdf/10.18111/wtobarometereng.2022.20.1.1

[5] 生态、三角洲和海洋发展, 蓝色增长:海洋、海洋和海岸可持续增长的情景和驱动因素,向欧盟委员会报告,DG MARE,2012 年 8 月 13 日,https://webgate.ec.europa.eu/maritimeforum/en/node/2946。

[6] UNTWO,“世界旅游晴雨表”,

[7] 例如,雨林联盟、保护国际、全球环境基金和联合国环境规划署, 海洋-沿海生态系统可持续旅游良好实践指南:住宿业, 2011, http://cpps.dyndns.info/cpps-docs-web/planaccion/docs2011/oct/turismo_biodiv/Doc.2.Guide_to_good_practices_marine_coasta_eng..pdf。

[8] 国际金融公司,蓝色自然资本:增强沿海旅游市场的业务成果和可持续性,2021 年 4 月,https://www.ifc.org/wps/wcm/connect/b32071a6-0d74-44e4-afa6-e261b6be5726/EMCompass-Note-101 -Blue-Natural-Capital.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CVID=nzrCRAF

[9] R. Brumbaugh,“保护百万美元的珊瑚礁是维持全球旅游业的关键”,联合国环境规划署,2017 年 5 月 10 日,https://www.unep.org/news-and-stories/story/protecting-million-dollar-reefs -关键维持全球旅游。

[10] 联合国环境规划署、威尔士亲王国际可持续发展部门、国际珊瑚礁倡议和 Trucost, 珊瑚礁经济:投资保护、保存和增强珊瑚礁健康的商业案例, 2018.

[11] 世界银行, 2021 年国富变化:为未来管理资产, https://www.worldbank.org/en/publication/changeing-wealth-of-nations。

[12] 世界银行,“加勒比地区海洋景观项目”,https://projects.worldbank.org/en/projects-operations/project-detail/P159653。

[13]. Frazão Santos、Catarina、Tundi Agardy、Francisco Andrade、Larry B. Crowder、Charles N. Ehler 和 Michael K. Orbach。 “发展海洋空间规划的主要挑战。” 海洋政策,2018 年 9 月。https://doi.org/10.1016/j.marpol.2018.08.032。 & Almodovar、Margarida、Demetrio De Armas、Fátima Lopes Alves、Luis Bentes、Catarina Fonseca、Jordi Galofré、Kira Gee 等人。 “TPEA 良好实践指南:欧洲大西洋跨界规划中的跨境 MSP 经验教训”,2014 年。https://doi.org/10.13140/2.1.2915.1045

[14] 世界银行,“加勒比区域海洋景观项目”。

[15] 雨林联盟,保护国际,海洋-沿海生态系统可持续旅游良好实践指南,http://cpps.dyndns.info/cpps-docs-web/planaccion/docs2011/oct/turismo_biodiv/Doc.2.Guide_to_good_practices_marine_coasta_eng.. pdf

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Transformation: The Role of Coastal and Marine Tourism in a Sustainable Ocean Economy

How can coastal and marine tourism be a foundational building block for supporting countries to transition to a sustainable ocean economy?

Valerie Hickey
Valerie Hickey
Global Director of the Environment, Natural Resources and Blue Economy Global Practice, World Bank

Coastal and marine tourism, prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, was an engine of economic growth. The sector was growing annually by an estimated US$134 billion per year and accounted for over one-quarter of the gross domestic product in at least seven small island developing states[1]. However, the pandemic has set this industry back by at least two years, with air travel and tourism not expected to return to 2019 levels before 2024[2]. Although coastal and marine tourism is not likely to recover more quickly, recent research indicates that nature-based tourism is increasing in popularity[3]. The latest World Tourism Organization figures show regions with a significant blue tourism sector regaining lost visitors. For example, international tourist arrivals to the Caribbean in 2021 were up by 63 percent compared to 2020, although they remained 37 percent below 2019 levels[4].

As noted by the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy, ‘Recovery following the COVID crisis presents an opportunity to think about innovative measures and where tourism businesses play an active role in uplifting local communities and protecting coastal and marine environments.’ Likewise, the World Bank, in its focus on ‘building back better’ post-COVID, looks to prioritise opportunities to transition to a blue economy, defined as the sustainable and integrated development of oceanic sectors in a healthy ocean, including through the development of a sustainable coastal and marine tourism sector. Three key considerations can help the sector along this transition.

  1. Marine spatial planning is an essential tool for the integration of tourism within a blue economy approach.

Marine spatial planning (MSP), an essential component of sustainable ocean plans, provides a framework to integrate coastal and marine tourism, along with other sectors, into a broader blue economy approach. The MSP process facilitates taking stock and thinking through how best to use a country’s marine areas and resources, including coastal and marine tourism, and how they will benefit people, economies and the ecosystems that communities depend on.

Marine and coastal tourism strategies, which are part of an integrated planning framework such as marine spatial planning, ensure that

  • key conflicts with other users are resolved upstream, before investment in the sector[5];
  • the marine spatial plan process balances the trade-offs that need to be made between tourism and other sectors, including conservation, so tourism can optimally contribute to a blue economy and deliver social and economic benefits; and
  • a marine spatial plan helps designate the most appropriate locations for tourism and links to sector plans such as tourism to efficiently manage environmental and social impacts, therefore maximising the sectors’ contribution to a blue economy.

In turn, integrating coastal and marine tourism into the MSP process helps improve the climate for investments in tourism that are sustainable, and ultimately support a blue economy. Furthermore, marine spatial planning reduces the risks of prolonged negotiations or conflicts among user groups, as well as the unforeseen costs from environmental problems, and provides the tourism sector with a much-needed degree of certainty to access coastal and marine resources, along with provisions for sustainable operations.

Integrating tourism into marine spatial plans also helps identify suitable areas where tourism can be diversified and avoid cumulative environmental impacts, as well as conflicts with other users. It can guide the tourism sector in conserving and protecting ecosystems and reduce sources of pollution such as marine plastics. The planning process can be integrated with other planning efforts such as land use planning and integrated landscape planning, thus further reducing the risks of pollution.

For example, in Cabo Verde the World Bank is supporting the integration of coastal fisheries and tourism value chains in Pontão de Santa Maria and surrounding area. This has increased the hospitality sector’s interest in locally sourced food. However, only 5–10 percent of hotel food is procured locally. Issues such as handling and sanitary requirements limit the ability of fishers and wholesalers to supply local hotels. An activity funded by the World Bank’s PROBLUE Trust Fund focuses on improving fishing landings and building fisher capacity to meet sanitary standards, which would ultimately help local fishing cooperatives to supply local hotels with sustainably caught fish. This activity is instrumental in raising the incomes of fishers and supporting tourist facilities’ ability to provide sustainably sourced fish that meet tourist demand.

In Albania, the potential for coastal and marine tourism has long been underdeveloped. The World Bank is working with the country to formulate a blue economy strategy that includes marine spatial planning, with a focus on sustainable tourism that conserves coastal ecosystems while providing economic growth and livelihoods for coastal communities.

A coastal and marine tourism strategy that supports a blue economy approach must consider how best to manage tourism for long-term sustainability. Recent research[6] suggests the following opportunities for better management:

  • Diversifying tourism based on natural and cultural characteristics
  • Promoting alternative locations to prevent overuse and degradation of marine resources
  • Introducing industry requirements for more sustainable practices
  • Considering policies and actions to engage and provide investment opportunities for local populations to benefit from blue tourism

A country tourism strategy that integrates marine spatial planning can ultimately strengthen the blue economy. At the enterprise level, industry guidance that is aligned with the country tourism strategy will ensure sustainability across entire business operations[7]. In Timor-Leste, the World Bank is currently supporting the parallel development of marine spatial planning and the country’s master tourism plan.

  1. Coastal and marine tourism must support healthier ecosystems that are resilient to climate change.

Coastal and marine tourism directly relies on healthy ecosystems and blue natural capital[8]. For example, prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, over 350 million people visited coral reefs, generating a blue tourism sector worth an estimated $36 billion annually from direct and indirect use, with over 70 countries and territories endowed with ‘million-dollar reefs’[9]. These reefs generate over $1 million per square kilometre in tourism revenue annually. Improving the health of the coral reefs of the Caribbean, Central America and Southeast Asia could unlock billions of dollars each year[10]. However, marine ecosystems and blue natural capital are under threat from pollution, overuse and climate change. A recent World Bank report, The Changing of Wealth of Nations 2021, has shown that, as a share of total global wealth, blue natural capital fell by half from 1995 to 2018[11].

In a blue economy centred on the need to preserve these healthy ecosystems and blue natural capital, coastal and marine tourism can play a key role by fostering measures to reduce waste, and particularly of plastics. Functioning waste management systems are essential to curbing the amount of waste and marine plastics that make their way into the ocean. An added benefit is that solid waste management, even within resort complexes, is labour-intensive and supports job creation. Similarly, reducing the use of fertilisers and employing fewer toxic chemicals in cleaning can support a more sustainable tourism sector.

The sector can also benefit from blue standards and certifications that provide guidelines on what qualifies as a ‘sustainable’ or ‘blue’ tourism enterprise, similarly to the development of several initiatives to certify sustainable fisheries. To that end, the World Bank is preparing guidelines for small and medium coastal tourism enterprises in three West African countries to improve their sustainability including by lowering their environmental footprint with a focus on the use of plastics.

Another key area where the tourism sector can contribute to healthier ecosystems is through its reliance on, and interactions with, marine protected areas (MPAs). A recent World Bank study shows that protecting natural assets and reversing degradation is key to promoting biodiversity conservation and attracting visitors in the long term. Doing so has the potential to generate a return on investment at least six times the cost[12]. The returns and benefits of MPAs are more secure when the protected area is formalised, there is investment in management, MPA managers’ capacity is strengthened, and visitor numbers and impacts are monitored.

Diversifying blue tourism businesses in MPAs to generate additional revenue and economic benefits for local communities increases support for the sector and reduces the risk of overuse and degradation. To encourage investments in diverse coastal and marine tourism options, concession policies should be considered, especially since marine resources are often common property without clear tenure or access rights.

Furthermore, coastal and marine tourism activities will only support the transition to a blue economy if their managers and employees have the knowledge and capacity to follow best practices for the sector. Capacity within the tourism sector needs to be strengthened to mainstream sustainability best practices. Although encouraging guests to reuse towels and linens is a good start, significant shifts to sustainability require a whole-of-business approach. This includes looking beyond the boundaries of the enterprise and considering how to reduce impacts on surrounding communities and the ecosystems the business relies on.

The World Bank is also supporting coastal and marine tourism operators in West Africa with guidance and training to reopen safely and sustainably using virtual reality and artificial intelligence technology, with a view to meeting COVID-prevention standards with minimal environmental impact.

  1. Coastal and marine tourism should ensure that all stakeholders are engaged, and the needs of marginalised groups taken into account.

Effective engagement of stakeholders and local communities in every step during the planning process is necessary to ensure that the benefits from marine and coastal tourism are shared equitably with local communities. Research has shown that the active participation of diverse stakeholders results in higher-quality decision-making; balanced economic, social and environmental objectives; higher potential for stakeholder ownership and support; lower implementation costs; reduced conflicts among stakeholders; and access to new and additional information and knowledge[13]. The World Bank’s environmental and social safeguards ensure that stakeholders are meaningfully engaged in Bank projects, and this participation is strengthened through the its project ‘Marine Spatial Planning for a Resilient and Inclusive Blue Economy’.

For instance, the World Bank supported five Caribbean countries (Dominica, Grenada, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and St. Kitts and Nevis)[14] in transitioning towards a blue economy by strengthening their capacity for ocean governance and coastal and marine geospatial planning. Earlier in the process, a stakeholder analysis enabled the project to focus its engagement plan on micro-, small and medium-sized marine-based tourism and hospitality enterprises. This was critical for ensuring that these stakeholders were aware of the MSP process and the opportunities they had to engage in it.

Conclusion

There is growing consensus that coastal and marine tourism can be a key building block to support countries’ transition to a blue economy[15]. This transition requires a tourism strategy grounded in a blue economy approach through marine spatial planning. Ensuring healthy blue natural capital is key to the long-term sustainability of the sector.

—–

[1] United Nations, “Life below Water: Why It Matters,” Sustainable Development Goal no. 14, https://www.un.org/sustainabledevelopment/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/14_Why-It-Matters-2020.pdf; World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), “Tourism in Small Island Developing States: Developing a More Sustainable Future for the People of Islands,” August 2014, https://www.e-unwto.org/doi/pdf/10.18111/9789284416257.

[2] McKinsey and Company, “COVID-19: Implications for Business,” April 13, 2022, https://www.mckinsey.com/business-functions/risk-and-resilience/our-insights/covid-19-implications-for-business.

[3] Markets and Technology Global Tourism Team, “Markets COVID-19 Guidance Note: Impact and Policy Responses in the Tourism Sector,” April 3, 2020.

[4] UNWTO, “World Tourism Barometer,” January 2022, https://www.e-unwto.org/doi/epdf/10.18111/wtobarometereng.2022.20.1.1

[5] Ecorys, Deltares and Oceanic Development, Blue Growth: Scenarios and Drivers for Sustainable Growth from the Oceans, Seas and Coasts, report to European Commission, DG MARE, 13 August 2012, https://webgate.ec.europa.eu/maritimeforum/en/node/2946.

[6] UNTWO, “World Tourism Barometer,”

[7] For example, Rainforest Alliance, Conservation International, Global Environment Facility, and UN Environment Programme, Guide to Good Practices for Sustainable Tourism in Marine-Coastal Ecosystems: Lodging Businesses, 2011, http://cpps.dyndns.info/cpps-docs-web/planaccion/docs2011/oct/turismo_biodiv/Doc.2.Guide_to_good_practices_marine_coasta_eng..pdf.

[8] IFC, Blue Natural Capital: Enhancing Business Outcomes and Sustainability of Coastal Tourism Markets, April 2021, https://www.ifc.org/wps/wcm/connect/b32071a6-0d74-44e4-afa6-e261b6be5726/EMCompass-Note-101-Blue-Natural-Capital.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CVID=nzrCRAF

[9] R. Brumbaugh, “Protecting Million Dollar Reefs Is Key to Sustaining Global Tourism,” UN Environment Programme, 10 May 2017, https://www.unep.org/news-and-stories/story/protecting-million-dollar-reefs-key-sustaining-global-tourism.

[10] UN Environment Programme, Prince of Wales’ International Sustainability Unit, International Coral Reef Initiative and Trucost, The Coral Reef Economy: The Business Case for Investment in the Protection, Preservation, and Enhancement Of Coral Reef Health, 2018.

[11] World Bank, The Changing of Wealth of Nations 2021: Managing Assets for the Future, https://www.worldbank.org/en/publication/changing-wealth-of-nations.

[12] World Bank, “Caribbean Regional Oceanscape Project,” https://projects.worldbank.org/en/projects-operations/project-detail/P159653.

[13]. Frazão Santos, Catarina, Tundi Agardy, Francisco Andrade, Larry B. Crowder, Charles N. Ehler, and Michael K. Orbach. “Major Challenges in Developing Marine Spatial Planning.” Marine Policy, September 2018. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.marpol.2018.08.032. &  Almodovar, Margarida, Demetrio De Armas, Fátima Lopes Alves, Luis Bentes, Catarina Fonseca, Jordi Galofré, Kira Gee, et al. “TPEA Good Practice Guide: Lessons for Cross-Border MSP from Transboundary Planning in the European Atlantic,” 2014. https://doi.org/10.13140/2.1.2915.1045

[14] World Bank, “Caribbean Regional Oceanscape Project.”

[15] Rainforest Alliance, Conservation International, Guide to Good Practices for Sustainable Tourism in Marine-Coastal Ecosystems, http://cpps.dyndns.info/cpps-docs-web/planaccion/docs2011/oct/turismo_biodiv/Doc.2.Guide_to_good_practices_marine_coasta_eng..pdf

Close
back to top