精选: 各国签署海洋与气候行动联合宣言 Arrow 精选: COP28 值得关注的 10 个海洋事件 Arrow 精选: 阅读新报告:海洋作为气候变化的解决方案 Arrow 精选: 阅读 2023 年联合国大会海洋小组领导人联合公报 Arrow
专家论文
重建得更好:变革的催化剂

为什么全球大流行为沿海和海洋旅游业的转型提供了前所未有的机会?什么是最有希望的机会,以及必须克服哪些挑战才能抓住这些机会?

Sam Teicher
山姆·泰歇尔
珊瑚维他联合创始人

我是珊瑚养殖者,我的工作不应该存在。种植珊瑚以振兴垂死的珊瑚礁不是任何人都应该梦想的存在。这个单一的生态系统覆盖不到 1% 的海底,却维持着 25% 的海洋生物[1].然而,我们面临的现实是严峻的,需要新的解决方案:世界上一半的珊瑚礁已经死亡,超过 90% 的珊瑚礁将在本世纪中叶死亡。这不仅是一场生态悲剧,也是一场社会经济灾难,因为仅珊瑚礁每年就产生 $2.7 万亿,同时支持多达 10 亿人的生计[2].全球 55% 的 GDP 依赖于健康的生态系统,80% 的旅游业发生在沿海地区[3].作为许多风险价值的一个例子,如果客人不再被珊瑚礁的魔力吸引到目的地,热带海洋旅游将如何可行?我们必须紧急采取行动,保护支持我们所有人的生态系统。通过启动恢复经济,我们可以解决一些社会最紧迫的挑战,同时为自然积极的再生旅游和以社区为中心的发展创造变革模式。

在负责任旅行中心 (CREST) 的 2020 年“趋势和统计”报告中,执行董事 Gregory Miller 博士指出,“随着旅行在 COVID 后恢复,我们必须对质量而非数量旅游(价值超过体积)。国家和目的地需要寻求和衡量的是游客的质量,而不是游客的数量,并以个人和社会对负责任复苏的承诺。”在同一份报告中,CREST 指出:“几十年来,我们心爱的行业一直走在自我毁灭的道路上,以牺牲人、地球和目标为代价来重视利润。可持续旅游业为目的地提供经济激励,避免以开采为基础的经济,提供就业机会,同时减少采矿、森林砍伐和刀耕火种农业等碳密集型做法。危机孕育创新,目的地社区和企业绝不能浪费这个机会。”[4]

我是一名社会企业家,担任 Coral Vita 的联合创始人兼首席珊瑚礁官,这是一家以使命为导向的公司,以高达 50 倍的速度种植适应气候变化的珊瑚,以恢复垂死的珊瑚礁。将我们最初的顾问开创的这些新方法整合到高科技陆地珊瑚养殖模式中,我们的工作与传统的保护举措不同,因为我们是一家营利性的公益企业。植根于我们团队对自然的终生热爱,我们认识到不幸的是,仅靠环境论点并不能推动采取足够的行动来保护和振兴生态系统。鉴于珊瑚礁提供的巨大价值以及它们的损失所面临的风险,Coral Vita 的创建是为了帮助注入急需的资金,通过财务上可持续的商业模式扩大恢复规模,而不是依赖不同的赠款和捐赠。通过向度假村、开发商、政府、保险公司等依赖珊瑚礁的客户出售修复服务;将我们的农场用作生态旅游景点;并利用新兴的保护融资机制,我们可以(与其他珊瑚礁利益相关者合作)最终培育出数以百万计的多样化、有弹性和负担得起的珊瑚。鉴于截至 2018 年“1% 的气候融资中只有 1/100 流向了珊瑚礁”,因此需要迅速做出深刻的改变[5].

考虑到我的学术和专业经验是在环境政策制定和非营利组织方面,我没想到我会成为一名企业家或珊瑚养殖者。但在考虑快速生态系统丧失的影响和迫切需要解决方案时,很明显,在我们全球经济的现实中,重新构想发展系统可能会改变我们重视和保护自然的方式。沿海旅游与海洋健康密不可分。正如 CREST 所指出的,必要性创造了机会。我相信珊瑚修复和自然旅游的经验教训和机遇适用于全球范围内的一切,从红树林到海草草地再到牡蛎礁,我希望读者能够想象这个充满机遇的世界。同样重要的是要承认,虽然我们必须催化和抓住这些机会,但对生态系统健康而言,最好的事情是并且将永远是我们的领导人停止杀死它们。当我们等待他们履行职责时,我们就可以开始工作了。

在 COVID-19 大流行给我们的许多教训中,最让我印象深刻的是,如果我们让大自然休息一下,它就可以恢复(尽管封锁也说明了这一点,有些人利用了减少的环境保护执法非法砍伐森林、偷猎或开采)。例如,佛罗里达州的海滩关闭与濒临灭绝的红海龟筑巢成功率增加 39% 相关[6].在适当类型的恢复干预措施的帮助下,自然可以更有效、更迅速地恢复。已经制定了保护珊瑚礁和重建海洋生物种群的路线图[7].自然界具有难以置信的弹性,这是我们应该从中汲取灵感的东西。但是通过社会的行动,我们继续推动它超越它的临界点。我们可以从珊瑚修复领域的存在这一事实中看出这一点。我们生活在这样一个时代,企业家、社区领袖、科学家、技术人员、金融家和政策制定者正被迫考虑如何重建生态系统。坦率地说,这很荒谬。但既然我们现在必须这样做,让我们利用我们的集体资源和技能开始扭转造成的损害并以正确的方式进行环境干预:为自然、生物多样性和依赖它们的人们提供资金和重建。

我住在大巴哈马岛,Coral Vita 在那里经营着它的第一个珊瑚农场。当我们种植珊瑚以恢复珊瑚礁并履行恢复合同时,该农场还作为当地社区的教育和劳动力发展中心,以及本身的生态旅游景点。来访的客人可以付费体验互动设施,并通过我们的珊瑚领养计划亲自或在线资助修复。世界各地的一些组织也为游客提供了在浮潜或水肺潜水时将珊瑚种植到珊瑚礁上的机会,这是对恢复性自然旅游的一种新尝试。生态系统价值和体验不仅限于珊瑚礁。除了在其中游泳之外,这里(以及更多地方)最受欢迎的旅游活动之一是划皮划艇穿越红树林。静止的水域、迷人的红树林根网以及水下和空中展示的无数生物多样性对卢卡亚国家公园或节俭港等地方具有巨大的吸引力。我们应该保护这些森林已经是理所当然了。尤其是当您考虑到它们所做的一切,从为生物学和经济上重要的海洋物种提供重要栖息地(无论是通过迁徙还是通过食物链甚至可以影响深海捕鱼旅游)到每公顷封存的二氧化碳比陆地森林多 10 倍.与珊瑚礁一样,从印度到越南再到墨西哥的红树林可以通过减少波浪能来拯救生命和保护财产,每年可提供超过 $650 亿的防洪效益[8].这就是为什么像瑞士再保险、威利斯大厦和安盛沃森这样的保险巨头正在制定政策来激励红树林和珊瑚的恢复。

我在 2019 年亲眼目睹了大自然的防御,当时大巴哈马和阿巴科被多里安飓风袭击,这是有记录以来袭击巴哈马的最强风暴。每小时超过 180 英里的持续大风袭击了岛屿近两天,一些地方的风暴潮达到 23 英尺(珊瑚农场被 17 英尺的水墙击中)。在接下来的几个月里,我们的团队参与了救援和救援工作,特别是在东大巴哈马。正是在那里,我们了解到红树林的真正重要性。在 Sweetings Cay 的定居点,每个人都待在原地迎接 Dorian。尽管受到风暴之眼并经历了来自三个不同方向的风向变化,但没有人员死亡。当我们问人们他们是如何幸存下来的时,一个又一个人指着 Sweetings Cay 周围的红树林,分享树木如何减缓潮汐的速度,使居民能够到达邻居家或更高的地方。在附近的麦克莱恩镇定居点,大部分红树林在过去几年都被砍伐,死亡人数令人心碎。不幸的是,根据巴哈马国家信托基金会的数据,当下一次风暴来临时,红树林提供的保护可能不存在,因为多利安的绝对力量摧毁了大巴哈马 70% 以上的红树林和阿巴科超过 40% 的红树林。

如果我们不仅保护了保护我们的生态系统、推动旅游经济并让家庭能够支付账单,而且还为游客创造了全新的体验机会来帮助资助恢复,那会怎样?

社区主导的红树林恢复项目,例如 Waterkeepers Bahamas、EarthCare 和 Blue Action Lab(专注于被 Dorian 破坏的森林)在 2021 年获得了来自国际发展机构和巴哈马保护区基金等倡议的种子资金[9].但只要支付少量费用,这些努力就可以被那些为红树林种植体验付费的游客放大和维持。与当地劳动力发展相结合,可以为出租车司机或旅游经营者创造额外收入,这些人接受了经过认证的培训,将这些以自然为基础的旅游活动纳入他们的产品中。作为 Coral Vita 贡献的一部分,我们将在 Freeport 农场托管红树林苗圃,并于 2022 年夏天推出“Mangrove Mania”,以促进当地人组成团队了解红树林的重要性,收集红树林进行修复,甚至赢取现金对影响最大的团队进行奖励。通过生态系统恢复为游客和当地人创造一种新的活动,增强有价值但受到威胁的生态系统吸引力(同时提供一系列额外的好处,如海岸保护和渔业)是一个灌篮高手。然而,我们的政治、工业和媒体领导人以及我们作为个人所表现出的缺乏问责制正在阻止我们采取集体行动来解决气候危机,这可能会浪费我们迎接这一时刻并齐心协力帮助最弱势群体的机会。我们,从一线社区到生物多样性的生态系统。

它不必是这样的。反对为公众和地球健康利益行事的最常见论点之一是,这样做会对经济繁荣构成威胁。实际上,它只是对根深蒂固的狭隘利益和制度的威胁。对于我们其他人来说,可持续性是通向共享繁荣和安全的途径。

自然与商业的未来的一份报告概述了从大流行中出现的蓝图,即“自然积极”的经济每年产生多达 $10.1 万亿美元,到 2030 年创造 3.95 亿个就业机会,而世界资源研究所发现 $5每投入 $1 于关键海洋行动,就会产生环境、健康和经济效益[10],[11].如果我们要建立一个为人类和地球服务的经济,我们需要投资于可持续基础设施和长期政策,以解决生存威胁、系统性不公正和结构性不平等。

换句话说,将旅游业重新调整为对自然有利的社会责任支出是不费吹灰之力的,对世界各地的个人和国家的社会责任也是如此。赋权恢复经济可以重振受威胁的生态系统及其带来的好处,同时创造本地就业机会并减轻气候危机带来的日益严重的威胁。显然,我们应该投资于我们的共同福祉,尤其是当它为社会和维持我们所有人的地球带来如此难以置信的红利时。正如通过做出我们知道的那些微小但必要的牺牲来团结和支持我们的邻国和国家符合我们的集体利益一样。我们都在一起,而改变的能力——无论是尊重训练有素的科学家,还是要求我们的领导人有效地为我们的共同利益行事——都掌握在我们所有人的手中。生命悬而未决。失败不是一种选择。您将如何应对这一挑战?

 

—–

[1] O. Hoegh-Guldberg、ES Poloczanska、W. Skirving 和 S. Dove,“气候变化和海洋酸化下的珊瑚礁生态系统”, 海洋科学前沿, 2017 年 5 月 29 日, https://doi.org/10.3389/fmars.2017.00158. https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fmars.2017.00158/full

[2] F. Staub、E. Corcoran 和 J. Greenlee, “Five A’s of the Coral Reef Indicators,” International Institute for Sustainable Development, SDG Knowledge Hub, 12 May 2021, https://sdg.iisd.org/commentary/guest-articles/five-as-of-the-coral-reef-indicators/#:~:text=A%20recent%20estimate%20indicates%20coral,%2Dfishing%2C%20and%20destructive%20fishing.

[3] 国际自然保护联盟,“基于自然的恢复”,IUCN 问题简报,https://www.iucn.org/resources/issues-briefs/nature-based-recovery; 世界自然基金会,“蓝色星球:海岸”,http://wwf.panda.org/our_work/oceans/coasts/

[4] 负责任旅行中心 (CREST),“负责任旅行案例:2020 年趋势与统计数据”,2020 年 9 月, https://30ghywahyur3pzyoi3qg4r9c-wpengine.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/213/2021/03/trends-and-statistics-2020.pdf.

[5] C. Cheney,“这个新基金能否在为时已晚之前拯救珊瑚礁?” Devex,2021 年 11 月 11 日,https://www.devex.com/news/can-this-new-fund-save-coral-reefs -在它太晚之前 101905。

[6] 有关 2020 年人类行为突然变化的一些好的和一些有害的后果,请参阅 B. Owens 和 H. 杂志,“自然并没有真正治愈”, 大西洋,2021 年 5 月 30 日,https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2021/05/pandemic-lockdowns-nature-wildilfe/619054/。

[7] 国际珊瑚礁协会,“重建珊瑚礁:十年大挑战”,2021 年 7 月,http://coralreefs.org/publications/rebuilding_coral_reefs; CM Duarte, S. Agusti, E. Barbier, GL Britten, JC Castilla, J.-P. Gattuso、RW Fulweiler 等人,“重建海洋生物”, 自然 580,没有。 39-51(2020),https://www.nature.com/articles/s41586-020-2146-7。

[8] P. Menéndez,IJ 洛萨达。 S. Torres-Ortega、S. Narayan 和 MW Beck,“红树林的全球防洪效益”, 科学报告 10,没有。 4404(2020),https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-020-61136-6。

[9] Waterkeepers Bahamas,“红树林种植”,Facebook,2022 年 4 月 1 日,https://www.facebook.com/242Waterkeepers/videos/mangrove-planting/2177868489031089/。

[10] 世界经济论坛, 新自然经济报告二:自然与商业的未来,2020 年 7 月 14 日,https://www.weforum.org/reports/new-nature-economy-report-ii-the-future-of-nature-and-business

[11] M. Konar 和 H. Ding, 2050 年的可持续海洋经济:估算其收益和成本, 可持续海洋经济高级别小组(华盛顿特区:世界资源研究所,2020 年)。 https://www.oceanpanel.org/economicanalysis

 

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Building Back Better: A Catalyst for Change

Why does the global pandemic offer an unprecedented opportunity for transformation for coastal and marine tourism? What are the most promising opportunities and what are the challenges that must be overcome to seize these opportunities?

Sam Teicher
Sam Teicher
Co-Founder, Coral Vita

I’m a coral farmer, and my job shouldn’t exist. Growing coral to revitalise dying reefs is not an existence anyone should dream for. This single ecosystem, which covers less than 1 percent of the seafloor, sustains 25 percent of marine life[1]. Yet the reality we face is stark and fresh solutions are needed: half of the world’s coral reefs are dead and over 90 percent are on track to die by mid-century. This is not just an ecological tragedy but also a socioeconomic catastrophe, as coral reefs alone generate $2.7 trillion annually while supporting the livelihoods of up to 1 billion people[2]. 55 percent of global GDP depends on healthy ecosystems and 80 percent of all tourism occurs in coastal areas[3]. As one example among many of value at risk, how will tropical marine tourism be viable if guests no longer are drawn to destinations by the magic of coral reefs? We must urgently act to protect the ecosystems that support us all. By kickstarting a restoration economy, we can solve some of society’s most pressing challenges while creating a transformative model for nature-positive regenerative tourism and community-centric development.

In the 2020 “Trends and Statistics” report of the Center for Responsible Travel (CREST), Executive Director Dr. Gregory Miller noted, “As travel resumes post-COVID, we must have significant, enduring change toward quality over quantity tourism (value over volume). It is the quality of visitation, not the quantity of visitors that countries and destinations need to seek, and measure, with an individual and societal commitment to a responsible recovery.” In that same report, CREST states that “our beloved industry was on a path of self-destruction for decades, valuing profits at the expense of people, planet, and purpose. Sustainable tourism provides an economic incentive for destinations to avoid extraction-based economies, providing employment while decreasing carbon-intensive practices such as mining, deforestation, and slash and burn agriculture. Crisis breeds innovation, and destination communities and businesses must not let this opportunity go to waste.”[4]

I am a social entrepreneur, serving as the Co-Founder and Chief Reef Officer of Coral Vita, a mission-driven company that grows climate change–resilient coral up to 50 times faster to restore dying reefs. Integrating these novel methods pioneered by our original advisors into a high-tech land-based coral farming model, our work takes a different angle than traditional conservation initiatives in that we are a for-profit for-good enterprise. Rooted in our team’s lifelong love for nature, we recognised that unfortunately environmental arguments alone aren’t driving sufficient action to protect and revitalise ecosystems. Given the immense value coral reefs provide and what’s at stake with their loss, Coral Vita was created to help inject critically needed capital to scale restoration through a financially sustainable business model, rather than relying on disparate grants and donations. By selling restoration as a service to reef-dependent customers like resorts, developers, governments, insurers and more; using our farms as ecotourism attractions; and tapping into emerging conservation-financing mechanisms, we can (in partnership with other reef stakeholders) ultimately grow millions and billions of diverse, resilient and affordable corals. And given that as of 2018 “only 1/100th of 1% of climate finance was going to coral reefs,” profound change is rapidly needed[5].

I didn’t imagine I’d be an entrepreneur or a coral farmer, given that my academic and professional experiences were in environmental policymaking and non-profits. But when considering the impacts of rapid ecosystem loss and the urgent need for solutions, it became clear that, within the realities of our global economy, reimagining development systems could shift how we value and protect nature. Coastal tourism is inextricably linked with ocean health. As CREST pointed out, necessity creates opportunity. I believe the lessons and opportunities from coral restoration and nature-positive tourism are applicable globally to everything from mangrove forests to seagrass meadows to oyster reefs, and I hope that readers can visualise this world of opportunities. It’s also essential to acknowledge that while we must catalyse and seize these opportunities, the best thing for ecosystems’ health is and will always be for our leaders to stop killing them. As we wait for them to live up to their duties, we can get to work.

Among the many lessons the COVID-19 pandemic has taught us, the one that sticks with me the most is that if we give nature a break, it can recover (though as also illustrated by lockdowns, some people took advantage of reduced environmental protection enforcements to illegally deforest, poach or mine). For example, beach closures in Florida correlated with a 39 percent increase in nesting success for endangered loggerhead turtles[6]. Nature can recover more effectively and rapidly with help from the appropriate types of restoration interventions. Roadmaps for protecting coral reefs and rebuilding marine life populations have already been created[7]. The natural world is incredibly resilient, and that’s something we should take inspiration from. But through society’s actions, we continue pushing it beyond its breaking point. We can see this in the mere fact that the field of coral restoration exists. We live at a time when entrepreneurs, community leaders, scientists, technologists, financiers and policymakers are being forced to consider how we can regrow ecosystems. That’s frankly absurd. But since we now must, let’s harness our collective resources and skills to start reversing the damage done and make environmental interventions the right way: funding and rebuilding on behalf of nature, biodiversity and the people whose lives depend on them.

I live on the island of Grand Bahama, where Coral Vita operates its first coral farm. As we grow coral to restore reefs and fulfil restoration contracts, the farm also operates as both an education and workforce development centre for local communities, as well as an ecotourism attraction in its own right. Visiting guests can pay to experience the interactive facility, as well as fund restoration in-person or online through our adopt-a-coral program. There are examples of organisations around the world that also give tourists the opportunity to plant corals onto reefs while snorkelling or scuba diving, a new take on restorative nature-based tourism. And the ecosystem value and experiences aren’t limited to coral reefs. In addition to swimming through them, one of the more popular tourist activities here (and many more places) is kayaking through mangrove forests. The still waters, mesmerising web of mangrove roots and myriad biodiversity on display underwater and in the air is a huge draw for places like Lucayan National Park or Thrift Harbor. It’s already a no-brainer that we should protect these forests. Especially when you consider they do everything from providing critical habitat for biologically and economically important marine species (which whether through migration or the food chain can even impact deep-sea fishing tourism) to sequestering up to 10 times more carbon dioxide per hectare than terrestrial forests. And like coral reefs, mangroves from India to Vietnam to Mexico can save lives and protect property by reducing wave energy, providing flood-defence benefits of over $65 billion annually[8]. It’s why insurance titans like Swiss Re, Willis Towers and AXA Watson are developing policies to incentivise mangrove and coral restoration.

I witnessed nature’s defences firsthand in 2019 when Grand Bahama and Abaco were struck by Hurricane Dorian, the strongest storm to hit the Bahamas in recorded history. Sustained winds of over 180 miles per hour battered the islands for nearly two days, together with a storm surge that reached 23 feet in some places (the coral farm was hit by a 17-foot wall of water). In the following months, our team engaged in rescue-and relief-efforts, particularly in East Grand Bahama. And it was there we learned how truly important mangroves are. In the settlement of Sweetings Cay, every person stayed put to weather Dorian. Despite receiving the eye of the storm and experiencing wind shifts from three different directions, there were no fatalities. When we asked people how they had survived, person after person pointed to the mangroves surrounding Sweetings Cay, sharing stories of how the trees slowed down the surge enough for residents to get to neighbours’ houses or higher ground. In the nearby settlement of Mclean’s Town, most mangroves had been removed in years past, and the death toll was heartbreaking. Unfortunately, the protection afforded by mangroves may not exist here when the next storms roll in, because the sheer power of Dorian destroyed over 70 percent of Grand Bahama’s and over 40 percent of Abaco’s mangrove forest according to the Bahamas National Trust.

What if we not only protected the ecosystems that protect us, power tourism economies and enable families to pay the bills but also created entire new experiential opportunities for tourists to help fund restoration?

Community-led mangrove restoration projects like ones here by Waterkeepers Bahamas, EarthCare and the Blue Action Lab (focused on forests devastated by Dorian) received seed funding in 2021 from international development agencies and initiatives like the Bahamas Protected Areas Fund[9]. But for a small fee, these efforts can be amplified and sustained by visitors who pay for the experience of planting mangroves. Tied in with local workforce development, supplemental income can be generated for, say, taxi drivers or tour operators who received certified training for building these nature-based tourism activities into their offerings. As part of Coral Vita’s contribution, we are hosting the mangrove nursery at our Freeport farm, and in the summer of 2022 ‘Mangrove Mania’ is launching to catalyse locals to form teams to learn why mangroves matter, collect mangroves for restoration and even win cash prizes for the teams that have the most impact. Creating a new activity for tourists and locals alike through ecosystem restoration that enhances valuable yet threatened ecosystem attractions (while providing a range of additional benefits like coastal protection and fisheries) is a slam dunk. Yet the lack of accountability demonstrated by our political, industrial and media leaders as well as ourselves as individuals is preventing us from acting collectively to solve the climate crisis, threatening to waste our opportunity to meet this moment and come together to help the most vulnerable among us, from frontline communities to biodiverse ecosystems.

It doesn’t have to be this way. One of the most frequently deployed arguments against acting in the interest of public and planetary health is that doing so poses a threat to economic prosperity. In reality, it is only a threat to entrenched and narrow interests and systems. For the rest of us, sustainability is a pathway to shared prosperity and security.

A report by the Future of Nature and Business outlined a blueprint to emerge from the pandemic with a ‘nature-positive’ economy that generates up to $10.1 trillion annually and creates 395 million jobs by 2030, while the World Resources Institute found that $5 in environmental, health and economic benefits are generated for every $1 invested in key ocean actions[10],[11]. If we are going to build an economy that serves people and the planet, we need to invest in sustainable infrastructure and long-term policies to address existential threats, systemic injustice and structural inequality.

In other words, socially responsible spending to realign tourism to become nature-positive is a no-brainer, as is socially responsibility for individuals and nations around the world. Empowering a restoration economy can revitalise threatened ecosystems and the benefits they provide while creating localised jobs and mitigating growing threats from the climate crisis. Clearly, we should be investing in our joint well-being, especially when it will yield such incredible dividends for society and the planet that sustains us all. Just as it is in our collective interest to rally and support our neighbours and country by making those small, yet necessary, sacrifices that we know work. We’re all in this together, and the ability to make a difference—whether by respecting trained scientists or demanding that our leaders effectively act in our shared interest—is in all of our hands. Lives hang in the balance. Failure is not an option. How will you rise to this challenge?

 

—–

[1] O. Hoegh-Guldberg, E.S. Poloczanska, W. Skirving and S. Dove, “Coral Reef Ecosystems under Climate Change and Ocean Acidification,” Frontiers in Marine Science, 29 May 2017, https://doi.org/10.3389/fmars.2017.00158. https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fmars.2017.00158/full

[2] F. Staub, E. Corcoran and J. Greenlee, “Five A’s of the Coral Reef Indicators,” International Institute for Sustainable Development, SDG Knowledge Hub, 12 May 2021, https://sdg.iisd.org/commentary/guest-articles/five-as-of-the-coral-reef-indicators/#:~:text=A%20recent%20estimate%20indicates%20coral,%2Dfishing%2C%20and%20destructive%20fishing.

[3] International Union for Conservation of Nature, “Nature-Based Recovery,” IUCN Issues Brief, https://www.iucn.org/resources/issues-briefs/nature-based-recovery; WWF, “Blue Planet: Coasts,” http://wwf.panda.org/our_work/oceans/coasts/

[4] Center for Responsible Travel (CREST), “The Case for Responsible Travel: Trends & Statistics 2020,” September 2020, https://30ghywahyur3pzyoi3qg4r9c-wpengine.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/213/2021/03/trends-and-statistics-2020.pdf.

[5] C. Cheney, “Can This New Fund Save Coral Reefs before It’s Too Late?,’ Devex, 11 November 2021, https://www.devex.com/news/can-this-new-fund-save-coral-reefs-before-it-s-too-late-101905.

[6] For some of the good, and some of the harmful, consequences of the abrupt change in human behaviour in 2020, see B. Owens and H. Magazine, “Nature Isn’t Really Healing,” Atlantic, 30 May 2021, https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2021/05/pandemic-lockdowns-nature-wildilfe/619054/.

[7] International Coral Reefs Society, “Rebuilding Coral Reefs: A Decadal Grand Challenge,” July 2021, http://coralreefs.org/publications/rebuilding_coral_reefs; C.M. Duarte, S. Agusti, E. Barbier, G.L. Britten, J.C. Castilla, J.-P. Gattuso, R.W. Fulweiler et al., “Rebuilding Marine Life,” Nature 580, nos. 39–51 (2020), https://www.nature.com/articles/s41586-020-2146-7.

[8] P. Menéndez, I.J. Losada. S. Torres-Ortega, S. Narayan and M.W. Beck, “The Global Flood Protection Benefits of Mangroves,” Scientific Reports 10, no. 4404 (2020), https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-020-61136-6.

[9] Waterkeepers Bahamas, “Mangrove Planting,” Facebook, 1 April 2022, https://www.facebook.com/242Waterkeepers/videos/mangrove-planting/2177868489031089/.

[10] World Economic Forum, New Nature Economy Report II: The Future of Nature and Business, 14 July 2020, https://www.weforum.org/reports/new-nature-economy-report-ii-the-future-of-nature-and-business

[11] M. Konar and H. Ding, A Sustainable Ocean Economy for 2050: Approximating Its Benefits and Costs, High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy (Washington, DC: World Resources Institute, 2020). https://www.oceanpanel.org/economicanalysis

 

Close
back to top