Featured: 10 ocean events to watch out for at COP15 Arrow Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow
专家论文
重建得更好:变革的催化剂

为什么全球大流行为沿海和海洋旅游业的转型提供了前所未有的机会?什么是最有希望的机会,以及必须克服哪些挑战才能抓住这些机会?

Jeremy Sampson
杰里米·桑普森
旅游基金会首席执行官

很难说 COVID-19 大流行对国际旅行和旅游业造成了毁灭性的影响——当然,这个行业依赖于人员和货物的自由流动,以及人类探索和联系的愿望。在最依赖游客的当地经济中,尤其是沿海和岛屿社区,这种影响被放大了很多倍[1].小企业(占旅游业的 80% 或更多)也受到了不成比例的影响,没有资源或能力“渡过”收入下降或转向新市场。然而,也有报道称一些沿海度假胜地过度旅游,例如在英国和美国,由于国内市场庞大,无法出国旅游,给当地社区带来了一系列不同的挑战[2].

在全球封锁期间,有很多关于重建更好重建的必要性和机会的讨论。但这只是一个标签和空洞的陈词滥调,除非我们清楚“更好”是什么意思,除非我们为这种改变创造了一条道路。否则,我们就有可能回到旧的商业模式,这种模式对社区和企业的服务都很差。更糟糕的是,这种流行病可能会加剧这个破碎系统中脆弱的一切——例如,一次性塑料的价格上涨[3],技能短缺和巨大的财务压力可能导致“逐底竞争”。

但是,我确实相信我们有一个真正的、千载难逢的机会来重置。我为什么这么说?因为有迹象表明,回归旧模式实际上可能比适应更难,而那些适应最快的人可能会随着旅游业的复苏而受益最大。许多在 COVID 之前就已经设定了发展方向的变革驱动因素现在已经被加强了。

例如,金钱谈判,根据德勤的说法,投资者和股东的优先事项正在成为向更公平和更可持续的旅游经济过渡的“第一驱动力”,我们正在接近一个转折点[4].经济合作与发展组织 (OECD) 表明,许多政府已将“绿色”复苏措施纳入旨在应对大流行的短期和中期社会经济影响的复苏刺激计划中,并规定加强公平、环境保护和实现可持续发展目标的进展[5].公司也在建立良好的利益相关者关系,以向投资者和利益相关者证明这些外部风险因素得到了很好的管理。

同样清楚的是,消费者对旅行和旅游的可持续方式的态度有所加强。最近,来自在线预订巨头 Expedia 和 Booking.com 的两项大型消费者调查都显示了类似的结果——得出的结论是,这是可持续旅行的潜在分水岭。 Booking.com 的调查显示,71% 的全球旅行者表示希望在未来 12 个月内以更可持续的方式旅行,比去年增加 10%[6].当然,我们应该对人们在调查中所说的话持怀疑态度,但也有证据表明这不仅仅是出于善意。自从谷歌航班开始对旅行进行碳标签以来,它已经看到了行为改变的迹象[7].

员工也不能幸免于这种在大流行期间加速的态度转变。我亲眼目睹了董事会的这种转变(毫无疑问,上述投资者和消费者的压力加剧了这种转变),这正在挑战他们的员工在实现可持续发展目标方面更加雄心勃勃。有证据表明,年轻一代越来越多地寻找与他们有共同信念并提供以目标为导向的使命的雇主[8], 以环保为重点的旅游公司招募“最优秀的”[9].

大流行还意味着许多社区从游客人群中收回了他们的城镇和村庄。 “暂停”让他们有时间反思旅游业的影响,无论是好是坏,现在有些人质疑他们是否希望旅游业像以前一样回归。例如,在 Tahoe 地区(美国加利福尼亚州和内华达州),最近的一份社区报告显示,居民引用相同的问题来提高生活质量,所有这些问题都与旅游业有关:住房、交通、旅游管理、社区基础设施, 短期出租和游客收费[10].旅游基金会现在正与 Tahoe 地区及其社区合作,他们正在寻求一种新的旅游管理方法。太浩并不是一个异常值。由于没有照常营业,因此更容易想象(并提出)替代方案,并且在大流行期间从目的地出现了许多进步策略[11].有时,甚至目的地旅游业的治理模式也受到质疑,例如目的地管理组织 (DMO) 温哥华岛旅游局 (TVI) 宣布将成为 4VI 并采用社会企业模式[12].

在大流行期间,随着旅游业迅速上升到政治议程,政策格局也发生了重要转变。这表明公共和私营部门之间可以通过旅游工作组和联合倡议进行激进的合作,例如努力刺激国内旅游业[13].欧盟委员会表示,为应对大流行的影响,旅游业将率先制定欧盟过渡途径。除其他事项外,随后的报告强调需要为旅游产品和服务的环境足迹制定共享基准,以及数字数据共享、技能伙伴关系和目的地气候行动计划共同指导的行为准则[14].同样重要的是,2021 年 11 月在 COP26 上发布了《格拉斯哥旅游业气候行动宣言》。这项由联合国支持的倡议是整个旅游业的第一次重大尝试,旨在调整此前对气候变化行动迟缓的行业,有几个值得注意的例外。旅游基金会现在正与联合国世界旅游组织合作,以巩固格拉斯哥宣言的势头,该宣言承诺组织(企业和目的地)发布气候行动计划并每年报告进展情况。 500 多家组织现已签约,其中包括家喻户晓的名字[15].

游客流量的管理方式在 COVID 之前是不可想象的,包括入境限制、由于社交距离而导致景点容量有限以及提前预订或预订的新要求。由于没有国际游客进入市场,供应方面的严重中断,DMO 比以往任何时候都更加关注当地企业、景点和居民的需求。随着旅游业再次开放,它有机会战略性地这样做,投资于具有积极影响的业务和创新[16].那些负责管理旅游业及其影响的人现在强调需要复原力,这意味着避免过度依赖任何单一市场(并欣赏和优化国内市场的价值),建立多样化的当地供应链并谨慎管理资源。

同样在大流行期间,我们与其他五个全球旅游非政府组织组成了旅游未来联盟:负责任旅游中心、绿色目的地、旅游关怀、可持续旅游国际和目的地管理中心。作为对封锁初期普遍存在的空洞(如果是善意的)“重建得更好”言论的直接回应,我们发布了 13 条旅游业未来指导原则,将社区和目的地需求置于旅游管理的中心和发展[17].实现这一愿景存在真正的机遇,但也面临许多挑战。我们需要迅速采取行动进行创新和展示 如何 我们可以建立一种更好的旅游业。

新模型需要三样东西。首先,旅游业需要一项完全不同的任务——将目的地管理从其旅游筒仓中解脱出来,并与其他“场所制造者”(活动组织者、零售商、海洋公园管理者、规划、企业机构、公共事业等)联合起来。我们必须确保考虑到居民的声音,并开发管理 21 世纪旅游业急需的新资金和新技能。我们正在与康奈尔大学合作,通过新的目的地管理在线课程解决技能差距[18].

其次,该行业需要更复杂的成功衡量标准。我们必须摆脱基于游客数量、过夜住宿和消费的不平衡关注量。旅游基金会正在试行新方法来衡量和优化旅游收益并减轻旅游对目的地的负担,并与 DMO 合作帮助他们将气候影响纳入方程式。

第三,如果我们要迎接未来的挑战,我们需要更多的私人合作和创新。商业和目的地优先事项将越来越一致。例如,我们正在与苏格兰旅游局和该国最大的入境旅游运营商 Travel Corporation 合作,寻找新的解决方案以使旅游供应链脱碳。对于 Travel Corporation,这些“范围 3”排放只能在目的地范围内解决。另一家旅行社easyJet holiday正在寻求与其顶级岛屿(西班牙特内里费岛)和沿海(葡萄牙阿尔加维)目的地建立关系,这种关系基于管理方法,与我们和当地利益相关者合作,以确定和解决最重要的影响旅游(不仅仅是易捷航空假期的影响)和合作解决方案。

在这十年中,旅游业无疑将发生翻天覆地的变化,该行业如何应对气候和公平等重大问题将决定其未来。我们如何确保向低碳经济的公平过渡?我们如何将资源转移到最需要的地方,尤其是全球南方?我们将如何改变平衡,使旅游业不是针对社区而是与他们一起做的事情?我们可能并不总是知道 如何, 但我们知道改变的时候是 现在.

—–

[1] 联合国贸易和发展会议 (OECD),“小岛屿发展中国家在 COVID-19 复苏中面临艰苦的战斗”,2021 年 6 月 10 日,https://unctad.org/news/small-island-developing-states-face-uphill -battle-covid-19-恢复。

[2] F. Street,“英国目的地采取措施避免游客混乱”,CNN,2021 年 3 月 6 日,https://edition.cnn.com/travel/article/uk-destinations-tourism-return/index.html。

[3] Aviva,“三分之二的英国成年人感到绿色内疚”,2022 年 3 月 28 日,https://www.aviva.com/newsroom/news-releases/2022/03/two-thirds-of-uk-adults-feel-绿色内疚/。

[4] I. Taylor,“投资者将旅行推向可持续发展的‘引爆点’”, 旅游周刊,2022 年 3 月 3 日,https://travelweekly.co.uk/news/air/investors-driving-travel-towards-tipping-point-on-sustainability。

[5] 经合组织,“让绿色复苏为就业、收入和增长服务”,政策简报,2020 年 10 月 6 日,https://www.oecd.org/coronavirus/policy-responses/making-the-green-recovery-work-for -工作收入和增长-a505f3e7/。

[6] Booking.com, 2022 年可持续旅游报告, https://globalnews.booking.com/download/1161485/booking.comsustainabletravelreport2022final.pdf; Expedia Group,“可持续旅游研究”,https://info.advertising.expedia.com/sustainability-study-2022。

[7] J. Hergenrader,“关注旅游业对环境的影响正在改变我们的旅行方式”, 精通旅行,2021 年 12 月 13 日,https://www.tripsavvy.com/environmental-impact-of-tourism-how-we-travel-5212825。

[8] 德勤, 呼吁问责和行动, 德勤全球 2021 年千禧一代和 Z 世代调查,https://www2.deloitte.com/content/dam/Deloitte/global/Documents/2021-deloitte-global-millennial-survey-report.pdf。

[9] H. Kemble,“注重环境的公司招聘‘最优秀的’” 旅游周刊,2021 年 5 月 20 日,https://travelweekly.co.uk/news/tourism/environmentally-focused-companies-recruit-the-best。

[10] 太浩繁荣中心, 太浩地区社区报告,2022 年 3 月,https://tahoeprosperity.org/wp-content/uploads/Tahoe-Community-Report_March-2022_Final.pdf。

[11] 例如, 挪威 2030 年国家旅游战略:影响大,足迹小,2021 年 4 月,https://assets.simpleviewcms.com/simpleview/image/upload/v1/clients/norway/Nasjonal_Reiselivsstrategi_engelsk_red_c59e62a4-6fd0-4a2e-aea1-5e1c6586ebc6.pdf;旅游俄勒冈, 俄勒冈州旅游委员会 2021-2023 年战略重建计划和预算,2021 年 6 月 15 日,https://industry.traveloregon.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Rebuild-Plan_Final_Approved-6.15.21-1.pdf;商业、创新和就业部(新西兰), 2020 年目的地管理指南,2020 年 1 月,https://www.mbie.govt.nz/assets/destination-management-guidelines-2020.pdf。

[12] 温哥华岛旅游局,“温哥华岛旅游业引领行业向 4VI 过渡:支持温哥华岛可持续未来的社会企业”,2022 年 4 月 13 日,https://vancouverisland.travel/2022/04/13/4vi-公告/。

[13] 经合组织,“应对冠状病毒 (COVID-19) 的旅游政策”,2020 年 6 月 2 日,https://www.oecd.org/coronavirus/policy-responses/tourism-policy-responses-to-the-coronavirus-covid- 19-6466aa20/。

[14] 欧盟出版物办公室,“旅游转型路径”,2022 年 4 月 4 日,https://op.europa.eu/en/publication-detail/-/publication/404a8144-8892-11ec-8c40-01aa75ed71a1。

[15] 旅游气候行动,“格拉斯哥宣言:对气候行动十年的承诺”,2021 年,https://www.oneplanetnetwork.org/programmes/sustainable-tourism/glasgow-declaration。

[16] B. Lynam,“我们在 2021 年面临的四大挑战,以更好地重建,” 城市国家/地方,2021 年 3 月 18 日,https://www.citynationplace.com/four-big-challenges-in-2021-to-build-back-better。

[17] 旅游的未来,“指导原则”,https://www.futureoftourism.org/guiding-principles。 13条指导原则是

  1. 查看全貌;
  2. 使用可持续性标准;
  3. 合作管理目的地;
  4. 选择质量而不是数量;
  5. 要求公平的收入分配;
  6. 减轻旅游负担;
  7. 重新定义经济成功;
  8. 减轻气候影响;
  9. 关闭资源循环;
  10. 包含旅游业的土地利用;
  11. 多元化的客源市场;
  12. 保护地方感;和
  13. 负责任地经营业务。

[18] 旅游基金会,“旅游目的地在线课程的可持续管理”,https://www.thetravelfoundation.org.uk/destination_management_online_course/。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Building Back Better: A Catalyst for Change

Why does the global pandemic offer an unprecedented opportunity for transformation for coastal and marine tourism? What are the most promising opportunities and what are the challenges that must be overcome to seize these opportunities?

Jeremy Sampson
Jeremy Sampson
CEO of the Travel Foundation

It would be hard to argue that the COVID-19 pandemic has been anything but devastating for international travel and tourism—a sector that, of course, relies on the free movement of people and goods, and the desire of humans to explore and connect. The impact has been magnified many times over in the local economies that rely most on visitors, particularly coastal and island communities[1]. Small businesses (which make up 80 percent or more of the tourism industry) have also been disproportionately affected, without the resources or capacity to ‘ride out’ the drop in income, or pivot to new markets. Yet there were also reports of overtourism in some coastal resorts, such as in the United Kingdom and United States, where a large domestic market, unable to travel abroad, brought a different set of challenges for local communities[2].

During the global lockdowns, there was much talk of the need, and opportunity, to build back better. But this is simply a hashtag and empty platitude unless we are clear on what ‘better’ means, and unless we create a path for that change. Otherwise we risk slipping back to old business models which served both communities and businesses poorly. Worse still, the pandemic could exacerbate all that was fragile in that broken system—for instance, single-use plastic is up[3], there is a skills shortage and intense financial pressures could lead to a ‘race to the bottom’.

However, I do believe we have a genuine, once-in-a-generation opportunity to reset. Why do I say this? Because the signs are it may actually be harder to return to old models than to adapt, and those who adapt soonest are likely to benefit the most as tourism recovers. Many drivers for change that were already setting the direction of travel before COVID have now been supercharged.

For instance, money talks, and according to Deloitte, investor and shareholder priorities are becoming the ‘number one driver’ for a transition to a fairer and more sustainable tourism economy, and we are approaching a tipping point[4]. And the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) has shown that many governments have included ‘green’ recovery measures in their recovery stimulus packages designed to address the short- and medium-term socioeconomic impacts of the pandemic, with stipulations for bolstering equity, environmental protection and progress towards the Sustainable Development Goals[5]. Companies are also building good stakeholder relationships to demonstrate to investors and stakeholders that these external risk factors are being well managed.

It is also clear that consumer attitudes have strengthened towards sustainable approaches to travel and tourism. Recently two large consumer surveys from online booking giants Expedia and Booking.com both showed similar results—concluding that this is a potential watershed moment for sustainable travel. The Booking.com survey showed that 71 percent of global travellers report a desire to travel more sustainably in the coming 12 months, up 10 percent from the previous year[6]. Of course, we should be sceptical of what people say in surveys, but there is also evidence that this is more than good intentions. Since Google Flights began its carbon labelling of trips, it is already seeing signs of behaviour change[7].

Employees are not immune to this attitude shift which accelerated during the pandemic. I have personally seen such a shift in boardrooms (no doubt reinforced by the investor and consumer pressures outlined above), which are challenging their staff to be more ambitious in their sustainability targets. And evidence shows that younger generations are increasingly looking for employers that share their beliefs and offer a purpose-led mission[8], and environmentally focused travel companies recruit ‘the best’[9].

The pandemic also meant that many communities reclaimed their towns and villages from the visitor crowds. The ‘pause’ gave them time to reflect on the impacts of tourism, both good and bad, and some are now questioning whether they want tourism to return as before. For instance, in the Tahoe region (U.S. states of California and Nevada), a recent community report showed that residents cited the same issues to improve quality of life, all of which have connections to tourism: housing, transportation, tourism management, community infrastructure, short-term lets and charges on tourists[10]. The Travel Foundation is now working with Tahoe region and its community, which is seeking a new approach to manage tourism. Tahoe is not an outlier. With no business as usual, it is easier to imagine (and propose) the alternatives, and many progressive strategies have emerged from destinations during the pandemic[11]. Sometimes even the governance model for tourism in a destination has been questioned, as happened when the destination management organisation (DMO) Tourism Vancouver Island (TVI) announced it was becoming 4VI and adopting a social enterprise model[12].

Important shifts also occurred in the policy landscape during the pandemic, as tourism rocketed up the political agenda. This demonstrated the radical collaboration that is possible between public and private sectors through tourism task forces and joint initiatives, such as efforts to stimulate domestic tourism[13]. The European Commission signalled that, in response to the impact of the pandemic, the tourism sector would be the first to work on an EU Transition Pathway. Amongst other things, the subsequent report highlights the need for shared benchmarks for environmental footprints of tourism products and services, as well as a code of conduct for digital data sharing, skills partnerships and common guidance for destinations on climate action plans[14]. It is also hugely significant that the Glasgow Declaration for Climate Action in Tourism was launched at COP26 in November 2021. This UN-backed initiative was the first major tourism-wide attempt to align a sector that previously had been slow to act on climate change, with a few notable exceptions. The Travel Foundation is now working with the UN World Tourism Organization to build on the momentum of the Glasgow Declaration, which commits organisations (businesses and destinations) to publish a climate action plan and report annually on progress. More than 500 organisations have now signed, including household names[15].

Visitor flows were managed in a way that would have been unthinkable pre-COVID, with restrictions around arrivals, limited capacity of attractions due to social distancing and a new requirement to book ahead or reserve. Without international visitors to market to, and with severe disruption on the supply side, DMOs focused more than ever on the needs of local businesses, attractions and residents. As tourism opens up again, it has an opportunity to do so strategically, investing in positive-impact businesses and innovation[16]. Those responsible for managing tourism and its impacts are now emphasising the need for resilience, which means avoiding overdependence on any single market (and appreciating and optimising the value of the domestic market), building diverse local supply chains and managing resources carefully.

Also during the pandemic, we formed the Future of Tourism Coalition with five other global tourism non-governmental organisations: the Center for Responsible Travel, Green Destinations, Tourism Cares, Sustainable Tourism International and the Destination Stewardship Center. As a direct response to the hollow (if well-meaning) ‘build back better’ rhetoric ubiquitous in the early months of lockdown, we published 13 guiding principles for the future of tourism, which place community and destination needs at the centre of tourism management and development[17]. There are real opportunities to achieve this vision but also many challenges ahead. We need to move quickly to innovate and demonstrate how we can build a better kind of tourism.

The new model needs three things. First, the tourism industry requires a fundamentally different mandate—taking destination management out of its tourism silo and joining up with fellow ‘placemakers’ (event organisers, retailers, marine park managers, planning, enterprise agencies, public utilities, etc.). We must ensure that the voices of residents are taken into account, and develop the new funding and skills urgently needed to manage tourism in the 21st century. We are collaborating with Cornell University to address the skills gap through a new online course on destination management[18].

Second, the industry needs more sophisticated measures of success. We must move away from the unbalanced focus on volume, based on visitor numbers, overnight stays and spend. The Travel Foundation is piloting new ways of measuring and optimising the benefits and reducing the burdens of tourism on destinations, and also working with DMOs to help them bring climate impacts into the equation.

Third, we need more private collaboration and innovation if we are to rise to the challenges ahead. Increasingly, commercial and destination priorities will align. For instance, we are working with Visit Scotland and the country’s biggest inbound tour operator, the Travel Corporation, to find new solutions to decarbonise the tourism supply chain. For the Travel Corporation, these ‘Scope 3’ emissions can only be addressed at a destination-wide level. Another tour operator, easyJet holidays, is seeking a relationship with its top island (Tenerife, Spain) and coastal (Algarve, Portugal) destinations that is based on a stewardship approach, working with us and local stakeholders to identify and address the most significant impacts of tourism (not just the impacts of easyJet holidays) and collaborating on solutions.

Tourism will undoubtedly change quite radically over the course of this decade, and how the sector responds to the big issues of climate and equity will define its future. How can we ensure a fair transition to a low-carbon economy? How can we shift resources to where they are needed most, in particular the Global South? How will we shift the balance so that tourism isn’t something that is done to communities but with them? We might not always know how, but we do know that the time for change is now.

—–

[1] UN Conference on Trade and Development (OECD), “Small Island Developing States Face Uphill Battle in COVID-19 Recovery,” 10 June 2021, https://unctad.org/news/small-island-developing-states-face-uphill-battle-covid-19-recovery.

[2] F. Street, “UK Destinations Take Steps to Avoid Tourist Pandemonium,” CNN, 6 March 2021, https://edition.cnn.com/travel/article/uk-destinations-tourism-return/index.html.

[3] Aviva, “Two-Thirds of UK Adults Feel Green Guilt,” 28 March 2022, https://www.aviva.com/newsroom/news-releases/2022/03/two-thirds-of-uk-adults-feel-green-guilt/.

[4] I. Taylor, “Investors Driving Travel towards ‘Tipping Point’ on Sustainability,” Travel Weekly, 3 March 2022, https://travelweekly.co.uk/news/air/investors-driving-travel-towards-tipping-point-on-sustainability.

[5] OECD, “Making the Green Recovery Work for Jobs, Income and Growth,” policy brief, 6 October 2020, https://www.oecd.org/coronavirus/policy-responses/making-the-green-recovery-work-for-jobs-income-and-growth-a505f3e7/.

[6] Booking.com, Sustainable Travel Report 2022, https://globalnews.booking.com/download/1161485/booking.comsustainabletravelreport2022final.pdf; Expedia Group, “Sustainable Travel Study,” https://info.advertising.expedia.com/sustainability-study-2022.

[7] J. Hergenrader, “Mindfulness about the Environmental Impact of Tourism Is Changing How We Travel,” tripsaavy, 13 December 2021, https://www.tripsavvy.com/environmental-impact-of-tourism-how-we-travel-5212825.

[8] Deloitte, A Call for Accountability and Action, Deloitte Global 2021 Millennial and Gen Z Survey, https://www2.deloitte.com/content/dam/Deloitte/global/Documents/2021-deloitte-global-millennial-survey-report.pdf.

[9] H. Kemble, “Environmentally-Focused Companies Recruit ‘the Best,’” Travel Weekly, 20 May 2021, https://travelweekly.co.uk/news/tourism/environmentally-focused-companies-recruit-the-best.

[10] Tahoe Prosperity Center, Community Report for the Tahoe Region, March 2022, https://tahoeprosperity.org/wp-content/uploads/Tahoe-Community-Report_March-2022_Final.pdf.

[11] For example, Norway National Tourism Strategy 2030: Big Impact, Small Footprint, April 2021, https://assets.simpleviewcms.com/simpleview/image/upload/v1/clients/norway/Nasjonal_Reiselivsstrategi_engelsk_red_c59e62a4-6fd0-4a2e-aea1-5e1c6586ebc6.pdf; Travel Oregon, Oregon Tourism Commission 2021–2023 Strategic Rebuild Plan and Budget, 15 June 2021, https://industry.traveloregon.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Rebuild-Plan_Final_Approved-6.15.21-1.pdf; Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (New Zealand), Destination Management Guidelines 2020, January 2020, https://www.mbie.govt.nz/assets/destination-management-guidelines-2020.pdf.

[12] Tourism Vancouver Island, “Tourism Vancouver Island Makes Industry-Leading Transition to 4VI: A Social Enterprise in Support of a Sustainable Future for Vancouver Island,” 13 April 2022, https://vancouverisland.travel/2022/04/13/4vi-announcement/.

[13] OECD, “Tourism Policy Responses to the Coronavirus (COVID-19),” 2 June 2020, https://www.oecd.org/coronavirus/policy-responses/tourism-policy-responses-to-the-coronavirus-covid-19-6466aa20/.

[14] Publications Office of the European Union, “Transition Pathway for Tourism,” 4 April 2022, https://op.europa.eu/en/publication-detail/-/publication/404a8144-8892-11ec-8c40-01aa75ed71a1.

[15] Tourism Climate Action, “Glasgow Declaration: A Commitment to a Decade of Climate Action,” 2021, https://www.oneplanetnetwork.org/programmes/sustainable-tourism/glasgow-declaration.

[16] B. Lynam, “Four Big Challenges We Face in 2021 to Build Back Better,” City Nation/Place, 18 March 2021, https://www.citynationplace.com/four-big-challenges-in-2021-to-build-back-better.

[17] Future of Tourism, “Guiding Principles,” https://www.futureoftourism.org/guiding-principles. The 13 guiding principles are

  1. See the whole picture;
  2. Use sustainability standards;
  3. Collaborate in destination management;
  4. Choose quality over quantity;
  5. Demand fair income distribution;
  6. Reduce tourism’s burden;
  7. Redefine economic success;
  8. Mitigate climate impacts;
  9. Close the loop on resources;
  10. Contain tourism’s land use;
  11. Diversify source markets;
  12. Protect sense of place; and
  13. Operate business responsibly.

[18] Travel Foundation, “Sustainable Management of Tourism Destinations Online Course,” https://www.thetravelfoundation.org.uk/destination_management_online_course/.

Close
back to top