Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
规划:可持续海洋规划创新以激励向可持续沿海和海洋旅游的转变

规划工具和治理机制如何成为沿海和海洋旅游部门变革的催化剂?可以复制或扩展的创新示例有哪些?

Patricio Azcárate Díaz de Losada
帕特里西奥·阿斯卡拉特·迪亚斯·德洛萨达
负责任旅游协会秘书长

负责任旅游协会 (RTI) 于 1995 年在第一部《世界可持续旅游宪章》之后成立,其使命是将联合国峰会和宪章中确立的目标传递给该行业的所有参与者:公共行政部门、私营公司、公民和游客。

在该领域拥有超过 25 年的经验后,今天我们可以肯定,社会对可持续解决方案和空间的要求越来越高。随着大流行迫使旅游企业家重新定位他们的商业模式以适应大流行后的生存,这种新的方向对更负责任的生产和消费模式的需求是显而易见的。

我们可以在越来越多的针对海洋空间的可持续运动和倡议中看到这一趋势,即所谓的蓝色战略。尽管机构和企业家之间的协调相当复杂,但拯救海洋已成为共同目标。

经验表明 可持续性 不仅仅是一个词被包含在口号中。事实上,全球公民和游客对致力于尊重自然环境的目的地和公司的要求越来越高,这是由于信息、社会意识和对气候变化、污染的实际后果和当前社会不可持续模式的认识的结果。

鉴于旅游公司将有义务满足这一承诺产生的需求,预计旅游目的地对可持续性的这些需求将逐渐有利于向更可持续的行业发展。此外,旅游业的全球性意味着这一趋势将更快地蔓延到世界各地。

Biosphere 是 RTI 的负责任旅游系统,旨在促进目的地和公司的可持续性,根据联合国的指导方针朝着这些目标努力,鼓励我们社区的成员为实现他们的目标和目标做出贡献,同时我们帮助他们宣传和交流他们的努力和成就。

信息和通信计划

某些沿海旅游目的地的主要问题之一是过度开发。夏季到来,环境使人口增加一倍或三倍。在大流行期间,大众旅游对当地目的地的影响比以往任何时候都更加明显。例如,在一个月内,威尼斯的运河恢复了它们的动物群和水晶般的颜色。正如预期的那样,随着全球隔离措施的缓解和污染水平的再次上升,旅游活动立即恢复。与前一年相比,西班牙的旅游业在 2021 年增长了 64%,因为该国接待了多达 3100 万国际游客[1].这些数字无疑有利于受影响地区的经济,但由此产生的污染令人恐惧。

然而,随着对可持续产品和服务的需求,社会对保护自然区域重要性的认识也在不断提高。这迫使旅游利益相关者在他们的提议中纳入这一观点,这促进了目的地的保护,如果是海上目的地,则促进其沿海资源的保护。

海洋地区的旅游业产生了许多积极和消极的影响,这些影响来自于在海上发生的广泛的活动。从长远来看,观鲸、乘船派对、水肺潜水甚至洗澡都可能导致生态系统恶化,尽管它可以在经济或社会文化层面带来巨大利益。这使得分析对所涉及的不同参与者的积极和消极影响至关重要。

主要目标必须始终是预防,如果不可能,则补偿和尽量减少负面影响。为此,被证明最有效的行动是信息,因为游客最有可能不了解环境的特殊性,因此也不了解他们对护理和保护的需求。

我们建议该地区的机构制定全面的沟通计划,并在必要时针对发现的每个问题制定具体计划。目的是让游客了解该地区的具体情况及其资源,并为他们提供必要的工具来保护它。

为了保证旅游环境中沟通计划的成功,让我们考虑两个主要因素,这两个因素似乎很明显,但并不总是被考虑在内。首先,首先是使用不同的语言,根据游客概况进行选择。二是通过适当渠道获取信息,这些渠道通常是最接近受保护环境的渠道。

可持续旅游计划

对可持续发展的承诺的一个很好的例子是希洪,这个目的地拥有完整的可持续旅游计划,并且已经成为生物圈认证的目的地,这要归功于其良好的做法和为实现联合国 2030 年议程的 17 项可持续发展目标所做的努力.

除其他问题外,该计划涉及住宿公司采取有效的管理措施,致力于社会发展以及家庭管理和个性化待遇等问题。同样,餐饮公司必须在其模型中纳入生态和当地食品的消费,作为一个整体,整个旅游业必须促进与提高对目的地海洋和陆地环境的保护意识相关的文化活动,以及其他举措。在严格的海洋领域,该计划包括控制游客流量、修复海岸外墙以及其他提高海洋生态系统意识的举措,这些举措正在设法减轻这些空间所遭受的影响,主要是在旅游高峰期季节,恰逢夏季。

另一个重大的可持续性挑战是减少塑料污染,这尤其影响海洋。从个人的角度来看,可以采取某些行动,例如再利用或回收利用。然而,问题的规模需要涉及世界各地的社会、机构和公司的计划。

要了解海洋塑料污染的真实规模,调查数据就足够了:95% 的海洋垃圾是塑料,据估计,海洋中的塑料总量约为 2000 亿吨。鉴于这些数字,不幸的是预测如此不利:到 2050 年,海洋中的塑料可能比鱼类(按重量计)更多[2].

受这种情况影响最大的海洋环境之一是地中海,因为它几乎完全被大陆包围,有利于塑料的积累,这些塑料分解成越来越小的部分,影响整个生态系统。此外,地中海的污染不仅是由其附近产生的物质造成的,而且塑料和其他废物也通过河流运输。此外,每年约有 2 亿游客到地中海旅游,导致夏季海洋垃圾增加 40%[3].

正如旅游业对某些海洋环境产生影响一样,它也受到这种污染的破坏。堆积在海滩和其他沿海地区的垃圾阻碍了游客的到来,这对该地区的经济产生了直接影响。此外,政府正花费大量资金试图使这些地区没有垃圾。没有该地区所有代理人真正有效参与的空洞行动。

在特内里费岛的吉亚德伊索拉可以找到一个良好实践的例子,那里正在实施一项成功的可持续行动计划,因为它被认证为生物圈目的地。除其他举措外,该目的地还安装了增强现实信息面板,以告知游客该市海洋空间和生态系统的保护需求,提高当地人和游客对其海岸海洋动植物以及人类应如何开展活动的认识以免破坏这些生态系统。

尽管国际社会意识到需要减少海洋污染,但相关行为者之间的协调存在重大缺陷,鉴于污染的全球性质,这是一个根本问题。目前走的路是对的,但还有很长的路要走。

即使有了正确的治理、规划和信息,结果也不会立竿见影。可持续发展分阶段进行,变化的速度取决于该地区旅游代理的参与程度,他们负责制定和通知不同的策略,以及游客的参与,他们负责为维护海洋生态系统处于最佳状态。对于所涉及的自然空间,所有参与者都应牢记保持在大流行期间可见的复苏的目标。

在旅游业和可持续性之间找到平衡既困难又必要。并且已经创建了一个特殊的框架来在大流行之后重塑该行业。简而言之,旅游业复苏期应该被视为所有利益相关者——目的地、企业、员工、客户、公民和游客——共同考虑我们希望重建什么样的旅游业,希望继续享受什么样的资源的机会。未来,以及我们现在应该如何行动,每个人都扮演着各自的角色,以确保旅游业的生存,更加可持续、包容和有弹性。

—–

[1] Radiotelevisión Española (RTVE),“El turismo internacional se disparó un 64% en 2021, pero no recupera cifras previas a la pandemia”,2022 年 2 月 2 日,https://www.rtve.es/noticias/20220202/turismo-internacional-disparo -64-2021/2278380.shtml。

[2] E. Alessi 等人,“走出塑料陷阱:拯救地中海免受塑料污染”,世界自然基金会,2018 年,https://awsassets.panda.org/downloads/a4_plastics_med_web_08june_new.pdf。

[3] Alessi 等人,“走出塑料陷阱”。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Planning: Innovation in Sustainable Ocean Planning to Incentivize a Shift to Sustainable Coastal and Marine Tourism

How have planning instruments and governance mechanisms been a catalyst for change in the coastal and marine tourist sector? What are examples of innovation that could be replicated or scaled?

Patricio Azcárate Díaz de Losada
Patricio Azcárate Díaz de Losada
Secretary General, Responsible Tourism Institute

The Responsible Tourism Institute (RTI) was created in 1995 after the first World Charter for Sustainable Tourism with the mission to transfer the objectives established in the UN summits and charters to all the actors involved in this industry: public administrations, private companies, citizens and tourists.

After more than 25 years of experience in this sector, today we can affirm that society is increasingly demanding sustainable solutions and spaces. And as the pandemic forces tourism entrepreneurs to reorient their business models for their post-pandemic survival, the need for this new orientation towards more responsible production and consumption models is evident.

We can see this trend in the increasing number of sustainable campaigns and initiatives targeting maritime spaces, the so-called blue strategies. And although coordination between institutions and entrepreneurs is quite complex, saving the ocean has become a common goal.

Experience has shown that sustainability is more than just a word to be included in slogans. In fact, citizens and tourists worldwide are increasingly demanding destinations and companies committed to respecting the natural environment, as a result of information, social awareness and consciousness about climate change and the real consequences of pollution and the unsustainable models of current societies.

These demands for sustainability in tourist destinations are expected to progressively favour the evolution towards a more sustainable industry, given that tourist companies will be obliged to meet the needs derived from this commitment. Furthermore, the global nature of the tourism sector will mean that this trend will spread more quickly to all parts of the world.

Biosphere, the RTI’s responsible tourism system that promotes sustainability in destinations and companies, works towards these ends, based on the guidelines of the United Nations, encouraging the members of our community to contribute to the fulfilment of their objectives and goals, while we help them promote and communicate their efforts and achievements.

Information and communication plans

One of the main problems in certain coastal tourist destinations is overexploitation. Summer arrives and environments double or triple their population. During the pandemic, the impact of mass tourism on local destinations was more evident than ever before. For example, in one month the canals of Venice regained their fauna and crystalline colour. As expected, tourism activities resumed as soon as the global quarantine eased and pollution levels rose again. In Spain tourism grew by 64 percent in 2021 compared to the previous year of confinement, as the country received up to 31 million international tourists[1]. These figures undoubtedly favoured the economies of the affected areas, but the resulting pollution was frightening.

Yet social awareness of the importance of protecting natural areas is growing alongside demand for sustainable products and services. This is forcing the tourism stakeholders to include this perspective in their offer, which promotes the preservation of destinations and, in the case of maritime destinations, their coastal resources.

Tourism in maritime areas has many impacts, positive and negative, derived from the wide range of activities taking place around the sea. Whale watching, boat parties, scuba diving or even bathing can lead to deterioration of the ecosystem in the long term, even as it can bring great benefits at an economic or sociocultural level. This makes it essential to analyse the positive and negative implications for the different actors involved.

The main objective must always be prevention and, if that is not possible, compensation and minimisation of negative impacts. To this end, the action proven to be most effective is information, as tourists are most likely to be unaware of the particularities of the environment and, consequently, of their needs for care and conservation.

We recommend that the institutions in the area draw up comprehensive communication plans and, if necessary, specific plans for each problem detected. The aim is to make tourists aware of the specific circumstances of the area and its resources, and to provide them with the necessary tools to conserve it.

In order to guarantee the success of a communication plan in touristic environments, let’s consider two main elements, which seem obvious but are not always taken into account. First, The first is the use of different languages, selected based on the tourist profile. The second is information through the appropriate channels, which are usually those closest to the environment to be protected.

Sustainable tourism plans

A good example of commitment to sustainability is Gijón, a destination which has a complete sustainable tourism plan and already is a biosphere certified destination, thanks to its good practices and efforts to contribute to the fulfilment of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals of the UN 2030 Agenda.

This plan addresses, among other issues, the adoption by accommodation companies of efficient management measures, with a commitment to social development, as well as family management and personalised treatment. Likewise, catering companies must include in their models the consumption of ecological and local food and, as a whole, the entire tourist industry must promote cultural activities related to raising awareness of the care of the destination’s marine and land environments, among other initiatives. In the strictly maritime field, the plan includes the control of visitor flows, the repair of coastal facades, as well as other initiatives to raise awareness of marine ecosystems, which are managing to alleviate the impact suffered by these spaces, mainly during the peak tourist season, which coincides with the summer period.

Another major sustainability challenge is the reduction of plastic pollution, which particularly affects the seas and oceans. From an individual perspective, certain actions can be taken, such as reuse or recycling. However, the scale of the problem requires plans involving societies, institutions and companies around the world.

To understand the real scale of plastic pollution of the oceans, it can be enough to investigate the figures: 95 percent of maritime waste is plastic and, in total, it is estimated to contain around 200 billion tons in the sea. Given these figures, it is unfortunate that the predictions are so unfavourable: by 2050 the oceans could have more plastics than fish (by weight)[2].

One of the marine environments suffering the most from this situation is the Mediterranean Sea, since, being surrounded almost entirely by continent, it favours the accumulation of plastic that decomposes into smaller and smaller parts, affecting the entire ecosystem. Moreover, the pollution of the Mediterranean is not only caused by what is generated in its immediate vicinity, but plastics and other waste are also transported through rivers. In addition, each year, the 200 million or so tourists visiting the Mediterranean cause a 40 percent increase in marine litter during the summer[3].

And just as tourism has an impact on certain marine environments, it is also suffering from the ravages of such pollution. The litter which accumulates on beaches and other coastal areas is discouraging the arrival of visitors, which has a direct impact on the area’s economy. In addition, administrations are spending enormous amounts of money trying to keep these areas free of litter. An empty action without a real and effective involvement of all the agents in the area.

An example of good practice can be found in Guía de Isora, in Tenerife, where a successful sustainable action plan is being carried out as a result of its certification as a biosphere destination. Among other initiatives, this destination has installed augmented reality information panels to inform visitors about the conservation needs of the municipality’s marine spaces and ecosystems, raising awareness among locals and tourists about the marine fauna and flora of its coast and how humans should carry out their activities to avoid damaging these ecosystems.

Despite international awareness of the need to reduce maritime pollution, there are major shortcomings in coordination among the actors involved, a fundamental problem given the global nature of pollution. The path currently being followed is the right one, but there is still a long way to go.

Even with the right governance, planning and information in place, the results will not be immediate. Sustainability happens in stages, with the speed of change depending on the level of involvement of tourist agents in the area, who are responsible for creating and informing different strategies, as well as on the involvement of visitors, who are responsible for contributing to maintaining the marine ecosystem in optimal condition. For the natural spaces involved, all actors should keep in mind the objective of maintaining the recovery that became visible during the pandemic.

Finding the balance between tourism and sustainability is as difficult as it is necessary. And an exceptional framework has been created to reinvent the sector after the pandemic. In short, the period of tourism recovery should be seen as an opportunity for all stakeholders—destinations, businesses, employees, customers, citizens and tourists—to consider jointly what kind of tourism we wish to rebuild, what resources we wish to continue enjoying in the future, and how we should act now, each in our individual role, to ensure tourism’s survival, more sustainable, inclusive and resilient.

—–

[1] Radiotelevisión Española (RTVE), “El turismo internacional se disparó un 64% en 2021, pero no recupera cifras previas a la pandemia,” 2 February 2022, https://www.rtve.es/noticias/20220202/turismo-internacional-disparo-64-2021/2278380.shtml.

[2] E. Alessi et al., “Out of the Plastic Trap: Saving the Mediterranean from Plastic Pollution,” WWF, 2018, https://awsassets.panda.org/downloads/a4_plastics_med_web_08june_new.pdf.

[3] Alessi et al., “Out of the Plastic Trap.”

Close
back to top