Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
规划:可持续海洋规划创新以激励向可持续沿海和海洋旅游的转变

规划工具和治理机制如何成为沿海和海洋旅游部门变革的催化剂?可以复制或扩展的创新示例有哪些?

Ministry of Tourism and Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Mexico
墨西哥旅游部和外交部
墨西哥旅游和对外关系秘书处

可持续旅游开发区,墨西哥沿海和海洋旅游模式的机会

为了设想到 2030 年向可持续沿海旅游业转变,我们需要设定具体目标,以确保到 2025 年取得成果。这意味着在未来三年内,我们需要设定维持和确保可持续旅游模式的基本组成部分用于生物多样性丰富的沿海和海洋地区。此外,如果我们想开始设想 2050 年可持续旅游业的样子,我们必须在 2030 年之前立即建立一个稳定和可持续的基础。

“将生物多样性保护标准纳入墨西哥旅游部门的主流,强调生物多样性丰富的沿海生态系统”,更为人所知的是 Kuxatur(或玛雅语 Yucatec 中的“生活旅游”),是在墨西哥城发起的一项独特的全球环境基金 (GEF) 项目2020 年 10 月,联合国开发计划署 (UNDP) 作为执行机构,墨西哥旅游部和外交部以及位于墨西哥三个州的非政府组织作为执行伙伴:金塔纳罗奥州的 Amigos de Sian Ka'án、下加利福尼亚州的 ISLA瓦哈卡海岸的苏尔和世界自然基金会 (WWF)。

Kuxatur 将在 2025 年前为可持续旅游奠定基础,重点建设可持续旅游开发区(zonas de desarrollo turístico 可持续发展或 ZDTS),它将在三个地区进行试点,并将作为有形和可复制的模型。

预计主要成果将成为可持续沿海和海洋旅游的可行模式,其中政府、私营部门、学术界和民间社会三级将加强各自的能力,以扭转环境退化和利用自然资源可持续和公平的方式。上述目标将通过在立法、规划和决策过程中将生物多样性、环境可持续性、低排放发展和蓝色与绿色经济纳入主流来实现。

可持续旅游开发区

ZDTS 模型提供了一种替代方案,其基础是通过一种新的可持续旅游发展模式将旅游部门的生物多样性保护保障纳入主流,该模式可以通过其他旅游发展举措的最佳实践进行复制。

目前正在建立两个 ZDTS:一个位于纳亚里特州的 Punta de Mita,另一个位于金塔纳罗奥州的 Tulum。 Kuxatur 旨在在三个试点项目中建立另外三个 ZDTS:

  • Maya Ka'an 在金塔纳罗奥州与 Amigos de Sian Ka'án
  • 瓦哈卡海岸从 Huatulco 到 Lagunas de Chacahua 与 WWF
  • 南下加利福尼亚州与 ISLA 从拉巴斯–塞拉拉拉古纳到洛斯卡沃斯

这些生物多样性丰富的沿海旅游区的现状如下:

  1. 生态系统退化和生物多样性丧失。
  2. 生态系统服务的丧失。
  3. 旅游业发展缺乏生物多样性保护保障措施,逐渐侵蚀脆弱的生态系统,包括生物多样性丰富的沿海地区。
  4. 促进可持续旅游业发展的财政和补偿机制和激励措施不足,导致生物多样性密集型旅游活动有增无减,主要涉及划船、钓鱼和潜水,还有其他活动。

为了实现其目标,ZDTS 模型提出了四个关键转变:

  1. 加强体制、监管和政策框架。
  2. 为旅游业创造有利条件,纠正市场失灵,促进生物多样性保护融资。
  3. 将生物多样性纳入沿海旅游开发和运营的主流,并在增强蓝碳方面产生协同效应。
  4. 促进知识管理和学习。

重建得更好:变革的催化剂

全球大流行为改变沿海和海洋旅游业提供了前所未有的机会,因为游客热衷于探索大自然并寻找新的旅行方式。社会疏离将旅游业带到了一个新的层面,大众旅游正在转向生态旅游和对自然的探索。此外,环境意识提高了,气候变化和生物多样性丧失的威胁变得真实而切实。大流行还为居住在 ZDTS 的社区提供了开发新商业模式和可持续旅游基础设施的宝贵机会。

大流行还增加了对可持续沿海旅游业的威胁。开发商在有吸引力的沿海地区看到了新的商机,并开始采用同样不可持续的旅游模式,增加了对本已脆弱的生态系统的压力。

随着人们习惯了在家工作,很明显不再需要住在拥挤和昂贵的城市,这引发了人们向以前被认为是度假胜地的有吸引力的沿海旅游胜地的迁移。随着游客成为永久居民,新的挑战和威胁变得显而易见:

  1. 缺乏支持快速增长的人口的基础设施(废水管理、固体废物管理、运输、供应链等)。
  2. 对当地土地所有者和社区的压力增加(埃吉多斯市政厅) 将他们的土地出售给开发商和房地产投资者,从而增加了对自然保护区和自然保护区的压力,并使当地社区没有土地所有权。
  3. 缺乏适当和长期的沿海旅游规划。
  4. 森林、红树林和珊瑚礁等沿海生态系统面临的环境压力增加。
  5. 旅游业发展缺乏生物多样性和保护保障措施。
  6. 破坏提供环境服务和旅游景点的基本和脆弱生态系统的新高速公路和交通基础设施。

因此,亟需实施具有创新性和可持续性的新型旅游模式。

转型:沿海和海洋旅游在可持续海洋经济中的作用

Kuxatur 希望通过 ZDTS 的总统令合法保护这三个区域,从而改变这三个区域。要获得成为 ZDTS 的资格,网站需要按照旅游部 SECTUR 的指导方针满足特定要求,以确保其可持续性。

建立长期的公共政策和经济激励措施以促进对生物多样性友好的旅游业,并鼓励地方当局和社区的积极参与,应该会带来持久的变化。这一变化将对社会所有部门产生变革性影响,并将为可持续旅游业奠定基础。

Kuxatur 的使命是通过加强能力建设、实施新的可持续商业模式、将性别平等纳入主流以及让年轻人积极参与所有规划过程,将当地社区纳入可持续旅游发展模式。主要目标是加强当地社区并确保他们从旅游业和生物多样性保护中获得直接经济利益。

此外,土著人民计划是 Kuxatur 发展不可或缺的一部分,包括公平和整合祖先和生物文化知识、价值观和组织。 Kuxatur 为促进实现其目标的具体活动制定了战略性年度规划系统。在所有三个试点地区,包容性和参与性模式正在不断发展,包括联邦、州和地方当局、社区、非政府组织、私营旅游部门、学术界和其他重要利益相关者。在这种支持下,该项目的目标是到 2025 年建立至少三个 ZDTS,作为模型,可以在其他沿海旅游景点复制,并有可能变成 ZDTS。

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Planning: Innovation in Sustainable Ocean Planning to Incentivize a Shift to Sustainable Coastal and Marine Tourism

How have planning instruments and governance mechanisms been a catalyst for change in the coastal and marine tourist sector? What are examples of innovation that could be replicated or scaled?

Ministry of Tourism and Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Mexico
Ministry of Tourism and Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Mexico
Secretaría de Turismo y Secretaría de Relaciones Exteriores de México

Sustainable tourism development zones, an opportunity for a coastal and marine tourism model in Mexico

In order to envision a shift towards a sustainable coastal tourism by 2030 we need to set specific goals that will assure results by 2025. This means that in the next three years we need to set the basic building blocks that will sustain and ensure sustainable tourism models for biodiversity-rich coastal and marine areas. Furthermore, if we want to start envisioning what a sustainable tourism must look like in 2050, we must immediately establish a stable and sustainable foundation by 2030.

‘Mainstreaming Biodiversity Conservation Criteria in Mexico’s Tourism Sector with Emphasis on Biodiversity-Rich Coastal Ecosystems’, better known as Kuxatur (or ‘Living Tourism’ in the Mayan language Yucatec), is a unique Global Environment Facility (GEF) project launched in Mexico City in October 2020 with the UN Development Programme (UNDP) as implementing agency and, as implementing partners, Mexico’s Ministries of Tourism and of Foreign Affairs and NGOs based in three Mexican states: Amigos de Sian Ka’án in Quintana Roo, ISLA in Baja California Sur and World Wildlife Fund (WWF) on the coast of Oaxaca.

Kuxatur will lay the foundation for sustainable tourism by 2025 focusing on the establishment of sustainable tourism development zones (zonas de desarrollo turístico sustentable, or ZDTS), which will be piloted in three regions and will function as tangible and replicable models.

The main outcome is expected to be a viable model for a sustainable coastal and marine tourism in which the three levels of government, the private sector, academia and civil society will strengthen their respective capacities to reverse environmental degradation and take advantage of natural resources in a sustainable and equitable manner. The foregoing will be achieved through the mainstreaming of biodiversity, environmental sustainability, low-emission development and the blue and green economy in the process of legislation, planning and decision-making.

Sustainable tourism development zones

The ZDTS model offers an alternative scenario based on the mainstreaming of biodiversity conservation safeguards in the tourism sector through a new sustainable tourism development model, one that can be replicated with best practices for other tourism development initiatives.

Presently two ZDTS are being established: one in Punta de Mita, in the state of Nayarit, and another one in Tulum, in Quintana Roo. Kuxatur aims to establish three additional ZDTS in the three pilot projects:

  • Maya Ka’an in Quintana Roo with Amigos de Sian Ka’án
  • The coast of Oaxaca from Huatulco to Lagunas de Chacahua with WWF
  • Baja California Sur from La Paz–Sierra la Laguna to Los Cabos with ISLA

The present situation of these richly biodiverse coastal tourism zones is the following:

  1. Ecosystem degradation and loss of biodiversity.
  2. Loss of ecosystem services.
  3. Lack of biodiversity conservation safeguards for tourism development, which has progressively encroached on fragile ecosystems, including biodiversity rich coastal areas.
  4. Inadequate financial and compensatory mechanisms and incentives to promote sustainable tourism development, resulting in unabated biodiversity-intensive tourism activity, mainly related to boating, fishing and diving, but also other activities.

To achieve its goals, the ZDTS model proposes four key shifts:

  1. Strengthen the institutional, regulatory and policy framework.
  2. Enable favourable conditions in the tourism sector for rectifying market failures and catalyse financing for biodiversity conservation.
  3. Mainstream biodiversity in coastal tourism development and operation with co-benefits in blue carbon enhancement.
  4. Promote knowledge management and learning.

Building back better: A catalyst for change

The global pandemic offers an unprecedented opportunity to transform coastal and marine tourism, as visitors are keen to explore nature and find new ways to travel. Social distancing has brought tourism to a new dimension in which mass tourism is shifting towards ecotourism and the exploration of nature. Also, environmental awareness has increased and the threat of climate change and loss of biodiversity have become real and tangible. The pandemic has also opened a valuable opportunity for communities living in ZDTS to develop new business models and sustainable tourism infrastructure.

The pandemic has also increased threats to sustainable coastal tourism. Developers have seen new business opportunities in attractive coastal areas and have started to apply the same unsustainable tourism model, increasing the pressure on already fragile ecosystems.

As people have become used to working from home, it has become evident that it is no longer necessary to live in a crowded and expensive city, and this has triggered migration to attractive coastal tourism sites previously considered vacation places. As tourists have become permanent residents, new challenges and threats have become evident:

  1. A lack of basic infrastructure to support a fast-growing population (waste water management, solid waste management, transportation, supply chains, etc.).
  2. Increased pressure on local landowners and communities (ejidos and bienes comunales) to sell their land to developers and real estate investors, thus increasing the pressure on natural protected areas and nature reserves and leaving local communities without land ownership.
  3. A lack of proper and long-term coastal tourism planning.
  4. Increased environmental pressure on coastal ecosystems such as forests, mangroves and coral reefs.
  5. A lack of biodiversity and conservation safeguards for tourism development.
  6. New highways and transportation infrastructure that harm basic and fragile ecosystems providing environmental services and tourist attractions.

For this reason, new tourism models that are innovative and sustainable need to be implemented urgently.

Transformation: The role of coastal and marine tourism in a sustainable ocean economy

Kuxatur hopes to transform these three zones by legally protecting them through the presidential decree of ZDTS. To qualify to become a ZDTS, a site needs to meet specific requirements following the guidelines of the Ministry of Tourism SECTUR in order to ensure its sustainability.

Establishing long-term public policy and economic incentives to promote biodiversity-friendly tourism, and encouraging active participation by local authorities and communities, should bring an enduring change. This change will have a transformative impact on all sectors of society and will lay the foundations for a sustainable tourism.

Kuxatur’s mission is to include local communities in the sustainable tourism development model by enhancing capacity building, implementing new sustainable business models, mainstreaming gender equity and including young people’s active participation in all planning processes. The main objective is to strengthen local communities and ensure them direct economic benefits from tourism and the conservation of biodiversity.

Also, the Indigenous Peoples Programme is integral to the development of Kuxatur and includes equity and integration of ancestral and biocultural knowledge, values and organisation. Kuxatur has developed a strategic yearly planning system for specific activities advancing achievement of its goals. In all three pilot sites, an inclusive and participatory model is in constant development, including federal, state and local authorities, communities, NGOs, the private tourism sector, academia and other important stakeholders. With this support, the project aims by 2025 to establish at least three ZDTS that will serve as models that can be replicated in other coastal tourism sites with the potential to turn into ZDTS.

Close
back to top