专家论文
公平:确保每个人都能从沿海和海洋旅游中受益

什么在增加流向当地社区的利益、减少沿海和海洋旅游对当地社区的影响以及避免扩大不平等方面是有效的?

Marit Liv Miners
Marit Liv 矿工
Misool 度假村和 Misool 基金会联合创始人

海洋旅游可以成为保护的有力工具,不仅可以保护脆弱的生态系统,还可以保护依赖这些生态系统的社区。随着世界各地的海洋屈服于气候变化、过度捕捞、污染、海洋酸化和珊瑚白化的层叠压力,积极保护的区域变得越来越珍贵。海洋保护区 (MPA) 有可能建立一定程度的抵御未来冲击的能力,例如全球流行病和由此导致的经济崩溃。然而,多方利益相关者的参与,包括社区的支持和政府的支持,对于长期成功至关重要。

Misool 度假村于 2005 年在印度尼西亚四王群岛成立,位于被普遍认为是地球上生物多样性最丰富的珊瑚礁系统的中心[1].该度假村是 Misool 基金会的重要筹资工具,该基金会是一家在印度尼西亚注册的慈善机构,对海洋保护采取整体方法。

米苏尔的私人度假岛周围环绕着自己的 300,000 英亩的米苏尔海洋保护区,该保护区于 2005 年直接从土著社区租用。2007 年,政府在四王群岛的几个海洋保护区之一覆盖了这个租赁区域,进一步加强了对海洋保护区的保护。区域。 Misool 海洋保护区由两个不同的禁捕区 (NTZ) 组成,其中禁止所有采掘活动。该保护区还包括九个无人居住的大岛,由米苏尔度假村注册的非盈利机构米苏尔基金会管理。该基金会培训了一支从当地村庄招募的护林员队伍。 2021 年,护林员每天平均每天进行 2.7 次巡逻[2].

疫情前,游侠巡逻队全部由米苏尔度假村捐款资助:2019年,公司向米苏尔基金会捐赠US$359,000[3].在撰写本文时,由于印度尼西亚的边境限制,度假村仍然关闭。尽管度假村的资金能力显着降低,但在非政府组织 (NGO) 的慷慨支持下,游侠巡逻队在大流行期间仍能够继续工作。

Ranger Patrol 的警惕性结果是明确且可衡量的:Misool 海洋保护区内的鱼类生物量在六年内平均增加了 250%,在某些地点上升到 600%[4]. 2012 年,科学家在保护区内记录的鲨鱼数量是外面的 25 倍[5]. 2020 年的一项研究将米苏尔海洋保护区内的一个地点命名为蝠鲼“求爱超级地点”,越来越多地看到怀孕的雌性和求偶行为[6].

鱼类生物量和鲨鱼和鳐鱼等关键物种的增加对旅游经营者来说非常有价值。鲨鱼和蝠鲼在旅游业中的经济价值有据可查,并且已经证明,活的比死的更有价值。例如,研究表明,法属波利尼西亚的个体鲨鱼的生态旅游价值估计约为每公斤 $1,200[7],而当地渔民对鲨鱼肉的上岸价值为每公斤 $1.50[8].全球运营商的蝠鲼观赏收入和相关的旅游支出估计为每年 $1.4 亿[9].事实上,蝠鲼对当地经济如此宝贵,以至于四王群岛政府在 2012 年宣布其水域为严格的鲨鱼和鳐鱼保护区,这在 2014 年引发了印度尼西亚政府决定在印度尼西亚水域全面保护这两种蝠鲼的决定[10].

不仅仅是那些直接参与旅游业的人从保护海洋生态系统中受益。在米苏尔海洋保护区外拥有传统渔场的沿海社区也享有更多的渔获量,离家更近。这是因为 NTZ 充当“鱼库”:使用 NTZ 保护鱼类资源类似于创建储蓄账户。随着受保护种群的繁殖,鱼在“溢出”效应中游出 NTZ。溢出可以理解为这些储蓄的利息。通过将捕捞限制在指定区域,社区成员不仅可以保护当今的鱼类资源,还可以为后代稳定其食物来源和潜在的旅游收入。大流行导致无数工作岗位流失,导致全球对渔业的依赖增加,通常是在敏感的生态系统中。建立和维护 NTZ 的完整性现在比以往任何时候都更加重要,因为它们可以保障在指定捕鱼区捕鱼的当地人的食物供应。

一个支持沿海社区的真正有弹性的系统需要额外的经济一体化层次。虽然旅游业的当地参与和可持续生计至关重要,但低影响和高端旅游往往规模较小,因此往往无法吸引足够多的社区成员来获得足够的支持。需要一种具有创造性解决方案的整体海洋保护方法。

Misool 基金会建立了 Djabatan 合作社,这是一项替代生计计划,支持社区开发小型果园和菜园,并制造增值产品以供转售。合作社在当地米苏尔语中的名称 Koperasi Famenbefi 大致翻译为“互相照顾”。来自有机花园的水果和蔬菜被加工成干香蕉和芋头片等消费品。这些产品在当地销售(包括向 Misool 度假村),从而增强了社区的经济弹性。

Djabatan 合作社为社区成员提供稳定可靠的收入,并且需要最少的投资。这与渔业形成鲜明对比,后者需要高额资本支出来购买船只、燃料和捕鱼设备。此外,捕鱼与高财务风险有关,因为渔获量取决于天气、海流和海况等不可控制的变量。该项目可以很容易地在其他与保护区相邻的地区复制,从而使经济机会多样化,并创造与海洋保护区相关的更公平的利益分配。

除了创造收入外,合作社还为社区成员创造了管理自己的小企业的机会。最活跃的成员是巴布亚妇女,米苏尔基金会和米苏尔度假村都在努力参与这一领域。这是由于妇女在社区中的习惯角色,她们通常在家中从事无偿劳动并作为照料者。

事后看来,很明显,女性对社区渔民(主要是男性)的影响被低估了。随着妇女越来越多地参与将农产品加工成干果片,她们呼吁丈夫、兄弟、父亲和儿子协助收割。这意味着男性不太可能从事合法或其他方式的捕鱼活动,并且获得了与海洋开采无关的稳定收入的第一手经验。此外,当有收获香蕉等低财务风险活动时,妇女不愿释放家庭收入来购买捕鱼燃料。

乍一看,小规模农业活动似乎超出了海洋保护基金会的职权范围,但初步结果表明捕捞压力有所降低,社区对米索尔基金会的支持有所增加。通过让更多社区妇女参与可持续生计,我们增强了当地经济的复原力,使其与渔业和旅游收入脱钩。 Djabatan 合作社还赋予巴布亚妇女权力,她们遭受重叠和交叉的歧视。

禁捕区和替代生计计划对于保护生态系统、建设可持续旅游业和支持当地经济至关重要。然而,这些私营部门和非政府组织的举措只有在政府大力支持下才能确保取得长期成功。需要空间测绘和长期管理计划以确保可持续发展。 2017 年四王群岛承载能力研究由保护国际、巴布亚大学和帕蒂穆拉大学的科学家撰写[11].这项研究为当局限制游客人数从而限制对生态系统的压力奠定了基础。与其衡量游客数量是否成功,不如将与旅游相关的收入与环境和社会指标一起优先考虑,例如生物量和关键物种的恢复、减少碳足迹、禁止使用一次性塑料以及建立社区健康和教育计划。事实上,Misool Resort 的年度财务报告包括一个名为“保护红利”的部分,该部分跟踪鱼类生物量、鲨鱼数量、回收海洋塑料和珊瑚礁修复。另一个称为“可持续性指标”的类别测量每晚客人的二氧化碳和可再生能源生产。 Misool Resort 还跟踪平等指标,努力打造更加多元化的工作场所。

敏感的海洋生态系统根本无法承受大众旅游的压力。如果没有政府管理的人数上限和分区系统,目的地就有可能在自身成功的重压下崩溃并被迫关闭,从而为那些依赖旅游业的人创造了经济真空。由于过度旅游,泰国标志性的玛雅湾于 2018 年突然关闭。玛雅湾周围超过 80% 的珊瑚被垃圾、船只和防晒霜摧毁。在关闭之前,该地点每年产生的收入估计为 $12 百万[12].经过三年积极的环境修复项目,目的地终于在新的限制下重新开放。

政府管理的分区系统将进一步增强旅游目的地的弹性。为不同类型的旅游划定特定区域是关键,因为每种类型都有优势,但只有通过有效的管理才能共存。例如,专属旅游目的地通常雇用较多的当地人,但可能是外资拥有和管理的。社区的经济利益通常表现为薪水、税收、社区计划以及在全球平台上为目的地创造知名度。较小规模的预算生态旅游也很有价值,因为这些业务通常由当地拥有和经营。但是,必须对这两种类型的旅游进行管理,以便它们能够共存并最大限度地为各方带来利益。

通过使独立于旅游业和海洋开采的收入来源多样化,可以在敏感的沿海地区建立另一层弹性。通过为保护海草床和红树林发放蓝色碳信用,政府即使在旅游业突然中断的情况下也可以保证收入,同时保护环境。

大流行和由此导致的旅游业停摆表明,对海洋旅游和海洋保护采取多方利益攸关方方法至关重要。社区、私营企业和政府必须共同努力,在金融和其他方面创建多层保护和激励措施,以持续保护生态系统。

—–

[1] SA McKenna、GR Allen 和 S. Suryadi,“印度尼西亚巴布亚省拉贾安帕特群岛的海洋快速评估”,保护国际快速评估计划,2002 年。

[2] 米苏尔基金会, 2021年影响报告, https://static1.squarespace.com/static/588f4f236a4963c41010a7d9/t/627e882d8b3185599e4cf270/1652459583718/Impact+Report+2021_FINAL_web.pdf。

[3] 米苏尔基金会, 2019年年度报告, https://static1.squarespace.com/static/588f4f236a4963c41010a7d9/t/5f8d6d4bed952341d8aa7bd4/1603104085153/Misool+Foundation+Annual+Report+2019_FINAL.pdf。

[4] 马克·艾伦,默多克大学,2013 年。

[5] VH Jaiteh 等人,“世界上最大的鲨鱼渔业空间保护后,海洋捕食者数量的增加和渔民行为的变化”, 海洋科学前沿, 2016 年 4 月 7 日。

[6] E. Setyawan 等人,“印度尼西亚鸟头海景中蝠鲼的自然历史,分析了印度尼西亚的人口学和空间生态学” 莫布拉阿尔弗雷迪 (Elasmobranchii: Mobulidae),” 海洋科学基金会杂志 36(2020):49-83。

[7] E. Clua、N. Burray、P. Legendre、J. Mourier 和 S. Planes,“商业伙伴还是简单的捕捞?法属波利尼西亚镰鳍柠檬鲨的经济价值,” 海洋和淡水 研究 62 (2011): 76470.

[8] UR Sumaila、AD Marsden、R. Watson 和 D. Pauly,“全球船外价格数据库:构造和应用”, 生物经济学杂志 9 (2007): 39-51。

[9] MP O'Malley 等人,“蝠鲼观赏旅游业的全球经济影响”, PLOS ONE 5,没有。 8(2013 年 5 月 31 日),doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0065051。

[10] Setyawan 等人,“蝠鲼的自然历史”。

[11] V. Nikijuluw 等人,“Daya-Dukung-Pariwisata-Berkelanjutan-Raja-Ampat 2”,国际保护组织-印度尼西亚,2017 年。

[12] H. Ellis-Petersen,“泰国湾因 沙滩 无限期关闭,” 监护人,2018 年 10 月 3 日,https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/oct/03/thailand-bay-made- Famous-by-the-beach-closed-indefinitely。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Equity: Ensuring Everyone Can Benefit from Coastal and Marine Tourism

What has been effective in increasing the benefits that flow to local communities, reducing the impacts of coastal and marine tourism on local communities and avoiding widening inequalities?

Marit Liv Miners
Marit Liv Miners
Co-founder of Misool Resort and Misool Foundation

Marine tourism can be a powerful tool for conservation and has the potential to protect not only fragile ecosystems but the communities which depend upon them. As oceans around the world succumb to the cascading pressures of climate change, overfishing, pollution, ocean acidification and coral bleaching, areas with active protection become increasingly precious. Marine protected areas (MPAs) have the potential to build in a measure of resilience to future shocks such as global pandemics and resultant economic collapse. However, multi-stakeholder engagement, including community buy-in and government support, is essential to long-term success.

Misool Resort was founded in 2005 in Raja Ampat, Indonesia, at the epicentre of what is generally believed to be the most biodiverse reef system on Earth[1].  The resort functions as a critical funding vehicle for Misool Foundation, a registered Indonesian charity that takes a holistic approach to marine conservation.

Misool’s private resort island is surrounded by its own 300,000-acre Misool Marine Reserve, which was leased directly from Indigenous communities in 2005. In 2007, the government overlaid this lease area with one of several MPAs in Raja Ampat, further strengthening the protection of the area. The Misool Marine Reserve comprises two distinct no-take zones (NTZs), in which all extractive practices are prohibited. The reserve, which also includes nine large uninhabited islands, is managed by the Misool Foundation, the registered non-profit arm of Misool Resort. The foundation has trained a team of rangers, who are recruited from local villages. The rangers are salaried and conducted an average of 2.7 patrol trips per day every day in 2021[2].

Before the pandemic, the Ranger Patrol was fully funded by donations from Misool Resort: in 2019, the company donated US$359,000 to the Misool Foundation[3]. At the time of writing, the resort remains closed due to Indonesia’s border restrictions. Despite the resort’s significantly reduced funding capacity, the Ranger Patrol has been able to continue during the pandemic with generous support from non-governmental organisations (NGOs).

The results of the Ranger Patrol’s vigilance have been clear and measurable: fish biomass inside the Misool Marine Reserve has increased on average by 250 percent over a six-year period, and at some sites this rose to 600 percent[4]. In 2012, scientists recorded 25 times more sharks within the reserve than just outside[5]. A 2020 study named a site within the Misool Marine Reserve as a manta ray ‘courtship supersite’, with increased sightings of pregnant females and courtship behaviour[6].

Increases in fish biomass and keystone species such as sharks and rays are highly valuable to tourism operators. The economic value of sharks and mantas on tourism is well documented, and it has been demonstrated that elasmobranchs are of more value alive than dead. For example, research has shown that individual sharks in French Polynesia have an estimated ecotourism value of about $1,200 per kilogram[7], compared with a landed value to local fishers of $1.50 per kilo for shark meat[8].  Global manta-watching revenue to operators and associated tourism expenditures has been estimated at $140 million annually[9]. In fact, manta rays are so valuable to the local economy that the Raja Ampat government declared its waters a strict shark and ray sanctuary in 2012, which in 2014 triggered the Indonesian government’s decision to fully protect both species of manta ray in Indonesian waters[10].

And it’s not just those directly involved with tourism who benefit from protection of the marine ecosystem. Coastal communities with traditional fishing grounds just outside of the Misool Marine Reserve also enjoy increased catch, closer to home. This is because the NTZs act as a ‘fish bank’: protecting fish stocks with the NTZ is akin to creating a savings account. As protected stocks reproduce, fish swim out of the NTZ in a ‘spillover‘ effect. Spillover can be understood as the interest on those savings. By limiting fishing to designated areas, community members not only protect today’s fish stocks but also stabilise their food source and potential tourism revenue for generations to come. Countless jobs have been lost as a result of the pandemic, resulting in an increased reliance on fishing globally, often in sensitive ecosystems. Establishing and maintaining the integrity of NTZs is now more important than ever, as they safeguard food availability for local people fishing in designated fishing areas.

Additional layers of economic integration are required for a truly resilient system that supports coastal communities. While local engagement and sustainable livelihoods in tourism are critical, low-impact and high-end tourism is often small-scale and therefore often unable to engage enough members of the community to reach a critical mass of support. A holistic approach to marine conservation with creative solutions is needed.

The Misool Foundation established the Djabatan Cooperative, an alternative livelihoods programme that supports the community in developing small-scale fruit orchards and vegetable gardens and manufacturing value-added products for resale. The cooperative’s name in the local Misool language, Koperasi Famembefi, translates roughly as ‘to look after one another.’ Fruits and vegetables from the organic gardens are processed to make consumer goods such as dried banana and taro chips. These products are sold locally (including to Misool Resort), thereby bolstering economic resilience in the community.

The Djabatan Cooperative provides community members with a steady and reliable income and requires minimal investment. This is in direct contrast to fishing, which requires high capital expenditure to purchase boats, fuel and fishing equipment. Furthermore, fishing is associated with high financial risk, as catch is dependent upon uncontrollable variables such as weather, currents and sea conditions. The project could easily be replicated in other conservation-adjacent areas, thereby diversifying economic opportunities and creating a more equitable distribution of benefits associated with MPAs.

In addition to generating income, the cooperative creates opportunities for community members to manage their own small businesses. The most active members have been Papuan women, a sector both the Misool Foundation and Misool Resort have struggled to engage. This is due to the customary role of women in the community, who are generally engaged in unpaid labour around the home and as caregivers.

In hindsight it became clear that the influence of women on the fishers of the community, who are predominantly men, had been underestimated. As women have become more involved in the processing of the produce into dried fruit chips, they’ve called upon their husbands, brothers, fathers and sons to assist with the harvesting. This means men are less available for fishing activity, legal or otherwise, and gain firsthand experience with a steady income not associated with marine extraction. Furthermore, women are reticent to release household income to purchase fuel for fishing when a low-financial-risk activity such as harvesting bananas is available.

While at first glance a small-scale farming initiative may seem to be outside the remit of a marine conservation foundation, preliminary results suggest a decrease in fishing pressure and an increase in community support for the Misool Foundation. By engaging more women from the community in a sustainable livelihood, we build resilience into the local economy, decoupling it from both fishing and tourism revenues. The Djabatan Cooperative also empowers Papuan women, who experience overlapping and intersecting discrimination.

No-take zones and alternative livelihood programmes have been absolutely critical to protecting ecosystems, building sustainable tourism, and bolstering the local economy. However, these private sector and NGO initiatives can only be assured long-term success when paired with strong governmental support. Spatial mapping and long-horizon management plans are needed to ensure sustainable development. A 2017 carrying capacity study of Raja Ampat was authored by scientists from Conservation International, Universitas Papua and the University of Pattimura[11]. This study lays the groundwork for authorities to cap the numbers of tourists and thereby limit pressure on the ecosystem. Rather than measuring success in number of visitors, tourism-related revenue should be prioritised along with environmental and social metrics such as biomass and keystone species recovery, reduction in carbon footprint, banning single-use plastics, and establishing community health and education initiatives. Indeed, Misool Resort’s annual financial report includes a section titled ‘Conservation Dividends’, which tracks fish biomass, shark populations, recycling ocean-bound plastics and reef restoration. A further category called ‘Sustainability Metrics‘ measures carbon dioxide per guest night and renewable energy production. Misool Resort also tracks equality metrics to work towards a more diverse workplace.

Sensitive marine ecosystems simply cannot withstand the pressures of mass tourism. Without a government-managed cap on numbers and a zoning system, destinations are at risk of collapsing under the weight of their own success and being forced to close, creating an economic vacuum for those reliant on tourism. Thailand’s iconic Maya Bay suddenly closed in 2018 as a result of overtourism. Over 80 percent of the corals around Maya Bay were destroyed by litter, boats and sunscreen. Before the closure, the location was generating an estimated $12 million per year in revenue[12].  After three years of active environmental restoration projects, the destination finally reopened with new restrictions.

A government-managed zoning system will further strengthen the resilience of tourism destinations. Demarcating specific areas for different types of tourism is key, as each type has advantages but can only co-exist through effective management. For example, exclusive tourism destinations often employ a relatively high number of local people but may be foreign-owned and managed. Financial benefits to the community are often experienced as salaries, tax revenue, community programmes and creating visibility for a destination on a global platform. Smaller-scale, budget ecotourism is also valuable, as these operations are often locally owned and operated. However, the two types of tourism must be managed so they can co-exist and maximise the benefit to all parties.

Another layer of resilience can be built in sensitive coastal areas by diversifying income streams which are independent from both tourism and marine extraction. By issuing blue carbon credits for the protection of seagrass beds and mangrove forests, governments can guarantee revenue even in the face of a sudden disruption in tourism while simultaneously protecting the environment.

The pandemic and the resulting shutdown of tourism has demonstrated that a multi-stakeholder approach to marine tourism and marine conservation is essential. Communities, private enterprise and governments must work together to create multiple layers of protection and incentives, financial and otherwise, for continuous protection of the ecosystem.

—–

[1] S.A. McKenna, G.R. Allen and S. Suryadi, “A Marine Rapid Assessment of the Raja Ampat Islands, Papua Province, Indonesia,” Conservation International Rapid Assessment Program, 2002.

[2] Misool Foundation, Impact Report 2021, https://static1.squarespace.com/static/588f4f236a4963c41010a7d9/t/627e882d8b3185599e4cf270/1652459583718/Impact+Report+2021_FINAL_web.pdf.

[3] Misool Foundation, Annual Report 2019, https://static1.squarespace.com/static/588f4f236a4963c41010a7d9/t/5f8d6d4bed952341d8aa7bd4/1603104085153/Misool+Foundation+Annual+Report+2019_FINAL.pdf.

[4] Mark Allen, Murdoch University, 2013.

[5] V.H. Jaiteh et al., “Higher Abundance of Marine Predators and Changes in Fishers’ Behavior Following Spatial Protection within the World’s Biggest Shark Fishery,” Frontiers in Marine Science, 7 April 2016.

[6] E. Setyawan et al., “Natural History of Manta Rays in the Bird’s Head Seascape, Indonesia, with an Analysis of the Demography and Spatial Ecology of Mobula alfredi (Elasmobranchii: Mobulidae),” Journal of the Ocean Science Foundation 36 (2020): 49–83.

[7] E. Clua, N. Burray, P. Legendre, J. Mourier and S. Planes, “Business Partner or Simple Catch? The Economic Value of the Sicklefin Lemon Shark in French Polynesia,” Marine and Freshwater Research 62 (2011): 76470.

[8] U.R. Sumaila, A.D. Marsden, R. Watson and D. Pauly, “A Global Ex-vessel Price Database: Construction and Applications,” Journal of Bioeconomics 9 (2007): 39–51.

[9] M.P. O’Malley et al., “The Global Economic Impact of Manta Ray Watching Tourism,” PLOS ONE 5, no. 8 (31 May 2013), doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0065051.

[10] Setyawan et al., “Natural History of Manta Rays.”

[11] V. Nikijuluw et al., “Daya-Dukung-Pariwisata-Berkelanjutan-Raja-Ampat 2,” Conservation International–Indonesia, 2017.

[12] H. Ellis-Petersen, “Thailand Bay Made Famous by The Beach Closed Indefinitely,” Guardian, 3 October 2018, https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/oct/03/thailand-bay-made-famous-by-the-beach-closed-indefinitely.

Close
back to top