Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
公平:确保每个人都能从沿海和海洋旅游中受益

什么在增加流向当地社区的利益、减少沿海和海洋旅游对当地社区的影响以及避免扩大不平等方面是有效的?

Dr. Ray Mutinda Ndivo
Ray Mutinda Ndivo 博士
肯尼亚穆朗加科技大学高级旅游讲师;联合国非洲经济委员会旅游顾问

海洋和海洋环境继续成为世界旅游业增长最快的领域,在全球旅游收入和游客人数中占据重要份额,为全球 70 多个国家和地区的就业和经济提供支持[1].事实上,大约 30% 的全球旅游活动发生在沿海地区和地区[2].此外,根据联合国世界旅游组织 (UNWTO) 的数据,每两名游客中就有一名前往沿海地区[3].在小岛屿发展中国家 (SIDS),旅游业被认为是主要的外汇来源,为全球贡献了价值约 $2200 亿美元的海洋消费品和服务[4].随着全球邮轮旅游的大规模增长(包括 2008 年至 2018 年间乘客人数增加了 75%)[5]),沿海旅游似乎更有希望。然而,经济利益份额的公平问题仍然存在,尤其是对于当地社区而言。在一篇发人深省的文章中,Rob Brumbaugh 和 Pawan Patil 断言“投资海洋健康就是创造海洋财富的代名词”[6].但 海洋财富为谁? 这个问题涉及另外两个问题:第一, 海洋经济,尤其是旅游业,与当地社区的联系如何?如果有的话,哪些限制因素限制了联系? 第二, 如何提高当地社区实现的经济效益? 本文试图回答这两个问题。 

与沿海和海洋旅游相关的挑战

尽管沿海和海洋旅游为东道国经济提供了显着的社会经济效益,但该行业也可以给目的地带来许多负面的社会、环境和经济影响。在大多数情况下,沿海旅游的投资者在物理上和社会上都远离该地区。从本质上讲,此类投资者的利益主要是利润,很少担心目的地的发展或可能降低生活质量[7].正如联合国环境规划署技术、工业和经济司所指出的那样,旅游投资者和开发商向政府施压,要求政府将公共资金用于改善对该行业至关重要的基础设施和服务、促销活动以及税收减免和其他财政激励措施.这是以健康和教育等所需服务为代价的。

此外,虽然沿海旅游可以增加当地人和外地人的就业机会,但淡季和其他旅游危机往往会导致大规模失业,并带来社会后果。此外,旅游业的发展可能会增加基本产品和服务以及房地产的成本,使当地居民无法接触到它们[9].

特别是在发展中国家,当地人融入旅游价值链受到许多限制。这些包括缺乏人力资本、金融资本、组织和市场力量,导致所有权或控制资源困难;与外国旅游投资者议价能力低;满足国际服务和管理标准的能力有限[10].其他限制因素包括不利的法规和繁文缛节,包括被排除在注册和推广的旅游设施和服务类别之外,导致进入旅游市场的机会不足;官方对发展国内、区域或独立旅游市场等替代市场的关注有限;主要针对正规部门的政府支持[11].更令人担忧的是,主流旅游公司,尤其是酒店,往往难以从当地小供应商那里采购[12].

小岛屿发展中国家桑给巴尔的案例证明了这种情况。一项名为“旅游业:桑给巴尔的更多价值”的研究确定了以下限制当地人参与旅游价值链 (TVC) 的关键问题: 不利于小工业的商业环境;由于培训设施有限,桑给巴尔人在旅游业的就业机会非常有限;桑给巴尔拥有的住宿供应有限,大多数高质量的住宿单位由外国人拥有和管理;当地商品供应商无法达到旅游部门业务一般运营所需的质量;向旅游业供应的商品质量和可靠性低;中小型旅游企业的建立和经营问题,包括穷人的商业开发技能低下;旅游业的扩张和增长作为一种间接的有利于穷人的战略,不被视为有利于穷人增长的可行战略。

当地社区对旅游价值链的参与度不高,导致大部分旅游支出从发展中目的地外流,而其余部分则主要惠及社会精英,.

确保沿海和海洋旅游公平:实际和政策干预

努力深化旅游业与当地经济其他部门的联系,作为遏制经济流失和促进更广泛经济发展的一种方式[14].已经制定了许多方法来实现这一目标,所有这些方法都可以应用于沿海和海洋旅游。

1970 年代和 1980 年代提倡的扶贫旅游 (PPT) 方法是第一次有意识地尝试利用旅游业来减少贫困[15].这种方法取决于世界银行的有利于穷人的增长概念,该概念试图将一国经济增长产生的收入分配给穷人[16]. PPT 方法一直与以社区为基础的旅游 (CBT) 密切相关,这是一种可持续旅游形式,当地居民(通常是农村、贫困和经济边缘化)邀请游客参观他们的社区并为他们提供过夜住宿。居民作为土地管理者、企业家、服务和产品供应商以及雇员赚取收入。旅游收入的至少一部分被预留给有益于整个社区的项目[17].从本质上讲,CBT 是关于社会正义、赋权、利益公平、再分配措施、旅游业的所有权和整体社区发展[18].然而,尽管 CBT 因参与和培训贫困社区并将收益分配给大量家庭而受到赞誉[19],该模型有许多限制。例如,由于成本和收入之间缺乏权衡、商业上不可持续的产品、市场联系薄弱、农民分化加剧、社会动荡、地方决策问题、缺乏当地旅游业务知识与培训、伪参与与工作与时间重组[20].这些弱点使 CBT 成为通过旅游业实现可持续社区经济赋权的无效途径。此外,CBT 强调社区利益是保护的动力。这种非经济重点限制了其产生有意义和可持续经济成果的潜力[21].

绘制旅游价值链图是另一种方法,通常旨在加深旅游与当地经济其他部门的联系,以检查经济泄漏并促进更广泛的经济发展[22]. TVC 逻辑专门寻求将东道国经济整合到涉及整个游客旅行生命周期的不同“节点”(业务)中,包括旅行的计划和开始、停留在目的地和返回原籍地的旅行[23]. TVC 分析检查每个节点,以确定短期、中期和长期的潜在干预措施,这些干预措施可以增加目标群体的经济效益,甚至有助于整个旅游目的地的总体竞争发展[24].

在与 L. Cantoni 合写的一篇论文中,我批评了早期的三种方法,并提出将扶贫旅游价值链(图 1)作为加强东道国社区参与主流旅游业的框架,特别关注发展中的目的地[25].在此框架的基础上,可以采用系统的干预方法来增强沿海和海洋旅游目的地的当地社区的参与和利益。这种系统性方法基于四个先决条件:

  1. 不同 TVC 级别和节点的 TVC 机会映射,以确定主办社区可以有效参与的机会。
  2. 估计东道主社区参与确定的 TVC 节点的性质和程度。
  3. 揭示东道社区参与确定的 TVC 节点和机会的限制因素。
  4. 探索适当的干预措施,以加强东道社区对 TVC 的参与,包括政策和实际干预措施。

 

图1
笔记: SMTE = 中小型旅游企业; TVC = 旅游价值链。
资源: RM Ndivo 和 L. Cantoni,“通过旅游业增强社区的经济权能:有利于穷人的旅游价值链方法”, 酒店与旅游研究进展 3,没有。 2 (2015): 116–34。

 

结论

沿海和海洋旅游对东道国经济的巨大潜力已得到广泛认可。然而,发展中沿海和海洋目的地的当地社区从该行业中受益的程度受到技术、创业和资本能力方面的若干限制;便利的监管和政策框架;和一般的产业结构。增加沿海和海洋旅游给当地社区带来的好处,并减少扩大不平等对当地社区的影响的关键在于采取一种深思熟虑的系统方法,将当地社区融入主流旅游业,在某些情况下通过平权干预。

此类干预将侧重于公共和私营部门的政策和做法。例如,要求为当地人保留一定比例的工作、供应甚至企业,或为人力资源开发提供旅游企业支持,使当地人能够在该部门工作。正如我在最近完成的一项关于非洲大陆自由贸易区背景下肯尼亚绿色旅游价值链潜力的研究中所展示的那样,许多此类干预措施已经在肯尼亚海岸及其国家公园进行[26].该研究报告了具有能力建设计划和政策的酒店案例,这些项目和政策是从当地社区雇用员工的百分比。一个典型的例子是一家五星级酒店,该酒店开发了一项计划,在酒店的不同区域培训高中毕业生,然后雇用他们。他们后来在肯尼亚乌塔利学院接受进修课程。在该研究报告的另一个案例中,安博塞利国家公园的一家旅馆有一项政策,即从当地社区购买至少 30% 的食物。该设施与当地供应商共享其标准采购规范,以使其符合质量规范。

有利于穷人的 TVC 干预措施提供了一条可靠的途径,以确保到 2030 年“沿海和海洋旅游业是可持续的、有弹性的、应对气候变化、减少污染、支持生态系统再生和生物多样性保护以及投资于当地就业和社区”,因为海洋小组报告中概述 可持续海洋经济的转型.[27]

—–

[1] R. Brumbaugh 和 P. Patil,“可持续旅游可以推动蓝色经济:投资海洋健康是创造海洋财富的代名词”, 世界银行博客,2017 年 5 月 22 日,https://blogs.worldbank.org/voices/Sustainable-Tourism-Can-Drive-the-Blue-Economy。

[2] T. Ghosh,“沿海旅游:机遇与可持续性”, 可持续发展杂志 4 (2011): 67-70。

[3] 世界旅游组织(UNWTO), 对旅游业贸易和价值链的援助 (马德里:世旅组织,2013 年); Brumbaugh 和 Patil,“可持续旅游业可以推动蓝色经济”。

[4] UNWTO, “Tourism in Small Island Developing States (SIDS),” 2014, https://www.e-unwto.org/doi/pdf/10.18111/9789284416257#:~:text=As%20one%20of%20the%20fastest,Competing%20in%20the%20global%20market; P. Karani and P. Failler, “Comparative Coastal and Marine Tourism, Climate Change, and the Blue Economy in African Large Marine Ecosystems,” 环境发展 36 (2020): 100572.

[5] 欧盟委员会, 2020 年欧盟蓝色经济报告 (卢森堡:欧盟出版局,2020)。

[6] Brumbaugh 和 Patil,“可持续旅游业可以推动蓝色经济”。

[7] 京东克莱恩, 旅游与自然资源管理:研究与问题概述 (华盛顿特区:美国农业部,2001 年)。

[8] 环境署技术、工业和经济司(UNEPTIE), 旅游业的可持续发展,联合国环境规划署,2006 年。

[9] 不爱, 旅游业的可持续发展.

[10] RM Ndivo 和 L. Cantoni,“通过旅游业增强社区的经济权能:一种有利于穷人的旅游价值链方法”, 酒店与旅游研究进展 3,没有。 2 (2015): 116–34; RM Ndivo 和 L. Cantoni,“重新思考当地社区参与旅游发展”, 旅游研究年鉴 57 (2016): 275–78; I. Lejarraja 和 P. Walkenhorst,“通过深化与旅游业的联系实现多样化”,世界银行国际贸易部,2007 年; C. Ashley、D. Roe 和 H. Goodwin, 有利于穷人的旅游战略:让旅游业为穷人服务, 扶贫旅游报告号。 1(伦敦:海外发展研究所、国际环境与发展研究所和负责任旅游中心,格林威治大学,2001 年)。

[11] Ndivo 和 Cantoni,“通过旅游业增强社区的经济权能”,118。

[12] Ndivo 和 Cantoni,“通过旅游业增强社区的经济权能”。

[13] UNWTO 和 Stichting Nederlandse Vrijwilligers, 旅游与扶贫手册:目的地实用步骤 (马德里:世旅组织,2010 年);阿卡玛(1999); W. Jamieson、H. Goodwin 和 C. Edmunds,“旅游业对减轻贫困的贡献:有利于穷人的旅游业和衡量影响的挑战”,联合国亚洲及太平洋经济社会委员会运输和旅游司,2004 年。

[14] C. Ashley 和 J. Mitchell,“做正确的事情大约不是错误的事情:监测旅游价值链中扶贫干预影响的挑战”(伦敦:海外发展研究所,2008 年)。

[15] 国际发展部,“旅游与消除贫困:未开发的潜力”,1999 年; T. Sofield、J. Bauer、TD Lacy、G. Lipman 和 S. Daugherty,“可持续旅游——消除贫困:概述”(澳大利亚黄金海岸:可持续旅游合作研究中心,2004 年); A. Rossetto、T. Sofield 和 FMS Li,“将旅游业作为减贫的一种手段:使用正确的语言实现成果”, 旅游休闲研究 32,没有。 1 (2007): 49-58。

[16] DW Barasa,“肯尼亚 Msambweni 区的旅游、贫困和减贫”,博士论文,贝德福德郡大学,2010 年,http://uobrep.openrepository.com。

[17] J. Francis,“什么是社区旅游?” 负责任的旅行, https://www.responsibletravel.com/copy/what-is-community-based-tourism。

[18] A. Giampiccoli 和 M. Saayman,“旅游/社区旅游的赋权模式”, 非洲酒店旅游与休闲杂志 7,没有。 4(2018):1-27。

[19] J. Mitchell 和 C. Coles, 加强私营部门和社区对埃塞俄比亚旅游服务的参与 (伦敦:海外发展研究所,2009); D. 哈里森,“有利于穷人的旅游:批判”, 第三世界季刊 29,没有。 5 (2008): 851–68, doi:10.1080/01436590802105983。

[20] Ndivo 和 Cantoni,“通过旅游增强社区经济权能”; J. Mitchell、J. Keane 和 C. Coles, 向上交易:价值链方法如何使农村贫困人口受益, Comercio y Pobreza en Latino América and Overseas Development Institute, 2009, https://odi.org/en/publications/trading-up-how-a-value-chain-approach-can-benefit-the-rural-poor/ .

[21] Ndivo 和 Cantoni,“通过旅游业增强社区的经济权能”。

[22] Ashley 和 Mitchell,“大约做正确的事,而不是精确地做错误的事。”

[23] 世旅组织, 对旅游业贸易和价值链的援助 (马德里:世界旅游组织,2013 年); Ashley 和 Mitchell,“大约做正确的事,而不是精确地做错误的事。”

[24] J. Gollub、A. Hosier 和 G. Woo,“使用基于集群的经济战略最大限度地减少旅游业流失”,联合国世界旅游组织,2003 年;阿什利等人, 扶贫旅游战略; D. Roe 和 P. Urquhart,“有利于穷人的旅游业:利用世界上最大的产业为世界穷人服务”,国际环境与发展研究所,2001 年。

[25] Ndivo 和 Cantoni,“通过旅游业增强社区的经济权能”。

[26] RM Ndivo,“在 AfCFTA 的背景下评估肯尼亚(绿色)旅游价值链的潜力”,联合国非洲经济委员会未发表的报告,2022 年。

[27] 可持续海洋经济高级别小组, 可持续海洋经济的转型:保护、生产和繁荣的愿景, 2021.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Equity: Ensuring Everyone Can Benefit from Coastal and Marine Tourism

What has been effective in increasing the benefits that flow to local communities, reducing the impacts of coastal and marine tourism on local communities and avoiding widening inequalities?

Dr. Ray Mutinda Ndivo
Dr. Ray Mutinda Ndivo
Senior Tourism Lecturer, Murang’a University of Technology, Kenya; Tourism Consultant, UN Economic Commission for Africa

The ocean and the marine environments continue to be the fastest-growing areas of the world’s tourism industry, accounting for a significant share of global tourism receipts and arrivals, supporting jobs and economies in more than 70 countries and territories across the world[1]. Indeed, approximately 30 percent of global tourism activities take place in coastal areas and regions[2]. Further, according to the UN World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), one out of every two tourists travels to a coastal area[3]. In small island developing states (SIDS), the tourism sector is considered the main source of foreign exchange, contributing about US$220 billion worth of ocean consumer products and services globally[4]. With the massive growth of global cruise tourism (including a 75 percent increase in passenger numbers between 2008 and 2018[5]), coastal tourism appears even more promising. And yet the question of equity in the share of economic benefits remains, especially with respect to the local communities. In a thought-provoking article, Rob Brumbaugh and Pawan Patil assert that ‘investing in ocean health is synonymous with generating ocean wealth’[6]. But ocean wealth for whom? This question entails two others: first, How linked is the ocean economy, and particularly the tourism industry, to the local community and what constraints, if any, limit linkages? and second, How can economic benefits realised by the local communities be enhanced? This paper seeks to answer these two questions. 

Challenges related to coastal and marine tourism

Although coastal and marine tourism offers significant socioeconomic benefits to the host economy, the industry can also bring to destinations numerous negative social, environmental and economic impacts. In most cases, investors in coastal tourism are both physically and socially far removed from the area. In essence, the interest of such investors is primarily profits, with little concern for development or possible degradation of quality of life at the destination[7]. As noted by the UN Environment Programme Division of Technology, Industry and Economics, tourism investors and developers pressure governments to spend public money on improving infrastructure and services essential for the industry, on promotion campaigns and on tax breaks and other financial incentives. This comes at the expense of needed services like health and education.

In addition, while coastal tourism can increase employment opportunities for both locals and outsiders, lean seasons and other tourism crises often result in mass unemployment, with its social consequences. In addition, tourism development may increase the cost of basic products and services and real estate, rendering them inaccessible to the local population[9].

Especially in developing countries, the integration of locals into the tourism value chain is limited by a number of constraints. These include a lack of human capital, financial capital, organisation and market power resulting from difficulties on ownership or control over resources; low bargaining power vis-à-vis foreign tourism investors; and limited capacity to meet international standards for service and management[10]. Others constraints include unfavourable regulations and red tape, including exclusion from registered and promoted categories of tourism facilities and services, resulting in inadequate access to the tourist market; limited official focus on developing alternative markets such as domestic, regional or independent tourism markets; and government support that is mainly targeted at the formal sector[11]. Of even greater concern is that mainstream tourism companies, especially hotels, often have difficulty making purchases from small local suppliers[12].

The case of Zanzibar, a SIDS, demonstrates this state of affairs. A study titled ‘Tourism: More Value for Zanzibar’ identified the following key issues as limiting locals’ participation in the tourism value chain (TVC): a business environment that does not favour small industry; Zanzibaris’ very limited access to employment in the tourism sector due to limited training facilities; a limited supply of accommodations owned by Zanzibaris, with most high-quality accommodation units owned and managed by foreigners; the inability of suppliers of local goods to meet the quality required for the general operation of tourism-sector businesses; the low quality and reliability of supplied goods to the tourism industry; issues with the establishment and running of small and medium-sized tourism enterprises, including low business-development skills among the poor; and the expansion and growth of the tourism industry as an indirect pro-poor strategy not being seen as a viable strategy for pro-poor growth.

The local community’s weak engagement in the tourism value chain results in much of the tourist spending leaking away from the developing destinations, while the remainder mainly benefits the society’s elite,.

Towards ensuring equity in coastal and marine tourism: Practical and policy interventions

Efforts to deepen tourism linkage with other sectors of the local economy have been pursued as a way of checking economic leakage and enhancing broader economic development[14]. A number of approaches have been formulated to pursue this goal, all of which can be applied in coastal and marine tourism.

The pro-poor tourism (PPT) approach advocated for in the 1970s and 1980s was the first deliberate attempt to use tourism to reduce poverty[15]. This approach hinged on the World Bank’s concept of pro-poor growth, which sought to distribute incomes accruing from a country’s economic growth in favour of the poor[16]. The PPT approach has always been closely associated with community-based tourism (CBT), a form of sustainable tourism in which local residents (often rural, poor and economically marginalised) invite tourists to visit their communities and provide them overnight accommodation. The residents earn income as land managers, entrepreneurs, service and produce providers, and employees. At least part of the tourist income is set aside for projects which benefit the community as a whole[17]. In essence, CBT is about social justice, empowerment, equity of benefits, redistributive measures, ownership of the tourism sector and holistic community development[18]. However, although CBT has been credited with engaging and training poor communities and distributing proceeds across a large number of households[19], the model has a number of limitations. For instance, the benefits to the community are not financially sustainable owing to factors including lack of a trade-off between costs and revenues, commercially unsustainable products, weak market linkages, increasing peasant differentiation, social unrest, problems with local decision-making, lack of local tourism business knowledge and training, pseudo-participation and work and time restructuring[20].  These weaknesses make CBT an ineffective avenue for sustainable community economic empowerment through tourism. Further, CBT emphasises community benefits as a motivation for conservation. This non-economic focus limits its potential to generate meaningful and sustainable economic outcomes[21].

Mapping the tourism value chain is another approach that generally seeks to deepen tourism linkage with other sectors of the local economy in order to check economic leakages and enhance broader economic development[22]. The TVC logic specifically seeks to integrate the host economy into the different ‘nodes’ (businesses) involved in the entire visitor trip lifecycle covering the planning and commencement of travel, stay at the destination and return travel to the region of origin[23]. TVC analysis examines each node to identify the short-, medium- and long-term potential interventions that could increase economic benefits for the target groups, or even contribute to the general competitive development of the tourism destination as a whole[24].

In a paper written with L. Cantoni, I have critiqued the three earlier approaches and propose the pro-poor tourism value chain (Figure 1) as a framework for enhancing host communities’ participation in the mainstream tourism industry, with particular attention to developing destinations[25]. Based on this framework, a systemic approach to interventions can be employed to enhance the involvement of and benefits to local communities arising from coastal and marine tourist destinations. This systemic approach is based on four prerequisites:

  1. TVC opportunity mapping of the different TVC levels and nodes to identify opportunities in which host communities can effectively participate.
  2. Estimating the nature and extent of host community involvement in identified TVC nodes.
  3. Uncovering the constraints to participation by host communities in identified TVC nodes and opportunities.
  4. Exploring appropriate interventions to enhance the participation of host communities in the TVC, including policy and practical interventions.

 

Figure 1
Notes: SMTE = small and medium tourism enterprise; TVC = tourism value chain.
Source: R.M. Ndivo and L. Cantoni, “Economic Empowerment of Communities through Tourism: A Pro-poor Tourism Value Chain Approach,” Advances in Hospitality and Tourism Research 3, no. 2 (2015): 116–34.

 

Conclusion

The immense potential of coastal and marine tourism to host economies is widely acknowledged. However, the extent to which local communities within developing coastal and marine destinations benefit from the industry is limited by several constraints in technical, entrepreneurial and capital capacity; the facilitative regulatory and policy framework; and the general industry structure. The key to increasing the benefits to local communities from coastal and marine tourism, and reducing impacts on local communities that widen inequalities, lies in a deliberate systemic approach to integrate the local community into the mainstream tourism industry, in some cases through affirmative interventions.

Such interventions would focus on policies and practices in both the public and private sector. For instance, requiring that a given percentage of jobs, supplies or even businesses be reserved for locals, or tourism business support for human resource development enabling locals to work in the sector. A number of such interventions are already happening on Kenya’s coast and in its national parks, as I showed in a recently concluded study on the potential of green tourism value chains in Kenya in the context of the African Continental Free Trade Area[26]. The study reports cases of hotels with capacity-building programmes and policies on the percentage of employees to be hired from the local community. A case in point was a five-star hotel that developed a programme to train high school leavers in different areas of the hotel, then hire them. They later receive refresher courses at Kenya Utalii College. In another case reported in the study, a lodge in Amboseli National Park has a policy of purchasing at least 30 percent of its food from the local community. The facility shares its standard purchase specifications with local suppliers to enable them meet quality specifications.

The pro-poor TVC interventions provide a sure pathway to ensuring that by 2030 ‘Coastal and ocean-based tourism is sustainable, resilient, addresses climate change, reduces pollution, supports ecosystem regeneration and biodiversity conservation and invests in local jobs and communities’, as outlined in the Ocean Panel report Transformations for a Sustainable Ocean Economy.[27]

—–

[1] R. Brumbaugh and P. Patil, “Sustainable Tourism Can Drive the Blue Economy: Investing in Ocean Health Is Synonymous with Generating Ocean Wealth,” World Bank Blogs, 22 May 2017, https://blogs.worldbank.org/voices/Sustainable-Tourism-Can-Drive-the-Blue-Economy.

[2] T. Ghosh, “Coastal Tourism: Opportunity and Sustainability,” Journal of Sustainable Development 4 (2011): 67–70.

[3] World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), Aid for Trade and Value Chains in Tourism (Madrid: UNWTO, 2013); Brumbaugh and Patil, “Sustainable Tourism Can Drive the Blue Economy.”

[4] UNWTO, “Tourism in Small Island Developing States (SIDS),” 2014, https://www.e-unwto.org/doi/pdf/10.18111/9789284416257#:~:text=As%20one%20of%20the%20fastest,Competing%20in%20the%20global%20market; P. Karani and P. Failler, “Comparative Coastal and Marine Tourism, Climate Change, and the Blue Economy in African Large Marine Ecosystems,” Environmental Development 36 (2020): 100572.

[5] European Commission, The EU Blue Economy Report 2020 (Luxembourg: Publications Office of the European Union, 2020).

[6] Brumbaugh and Patil, “Sustainable Tourism Can Drive the Blue Economy.”

[7] J.D. Kline, Tourism and Natural Resource Management: A General Overview of Research and Issues (Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 2001).

[8] UNEP Division of Technology, Industry and Economics (UNEPTIE), Sustainable Development of Tourism, UN Environment Programme, 2006.

[9] UNEPTIE, Sustainable Development of Tourism.

[10] R.M. Ndivo and L. Cantoni, “Economic Empowerment of Communities through Tourism: A Pro-poor Tourism Value Chain Approach,” Advances in Hospitality and Tourism Research 3, no. 2 (2015): 116–34; R.M. Ndivo and L. Cantoni, “Rethinking Local Community Involvement in Tourism Development,” Annals of Tourism Research 57 (2016): 275–78; I. Lejarraja and P. Walkenhorst, “Diversification by Deepening Linkages with Tourism,” World Bank, International Trade Department, 2007; C. Ashley, D. Roe and H. Goodwin, Pro-poor Tourism Strategies: Making Tourism Work for the Poor, Pro-poor Tourism Report no. 1 (London: Overseas Development Institute, International Institute for Environment and Development, and Centre for Responsible Tourism, University of Greenwich, 2001).

[11] Ndivo and Cantoni, “Economic Empowerment of Communities through Tourism,” 118.

[12] Ndivo and Cantoni, “Economic Empowerment of Communities through Tourism.”

[13] UNWTO and Stichting Nederlandse Vrijwilligers, Manual on Tourism and Poverty Alleviation: Practical Steps for Destinations (Madrid: UNWTO, 2010); Akama (1999); W. Jamieson, H. Goodwin and C. Edmunds, “Contribution of Tourism to Poverty Alleviation: Pro-poor Tourism and the Challenge of Measuring Impacts,” UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, Transport and Tourism Division, 2004.

[14] C. Ashley and J. Mitchell, “Doing the Right Thing Approximately Not the Wrong Thing Precisely: Challenges of Monitoring Impacts of Pro-poor Interventions in Tourism Value Chains” (London: Overseas Development Institute, 2008).

[15] Department for International Development, “Tourism and Poverty Elimination: Untapped Potential,” 1999; T. Sofield, J. Bauer, T.D. Lacy, G. Lipman and S. Daugherty, “Sustainable Tourism– Eliminating Poverty: An Overview” (Gold Coast, Australia: Sustainable Tourism Cooperative Research Centre, 2004); A. Rossetto, T. Sofield and F.M.S. Li, “Harnessing Tourism as a Means of Poverty Alleviation: Using the Right Language of Achieving Outcomes,” Tourism Recreation Research 32, no. 1 (2007): 49–58.

[16] D.W. Barasa, “Tourism, Poverty and Poverty Reduction in Msambweni District, Kenya,” PhD diss., University of Bedfordshire, 2010, http://uobrep.openrepository.com.

[17] J. Francis, “What Is Community Based Tourism?,” Responsible Travel, https://www.responsibletravel.com/copy/what-is-community-based-tourism.

[18] A. Giampiccoli and M. Saayman, “Empowerment Model in Tourism/Community-Based Tourism,” African Journal of Hospitality Tourism and Leisure 7, no. 4 (2018): 1–27.

[19] J. Mitchell and C. Coles, Enhancing Private Sector and Community Engagement in Tourism Services in Ethiopia (London: Overseas Development Institute, 2009); D. Harrison, “Pro-poor Tourism: A Critique,” Third World Quarterly 29, no. 5 (2008): 851–68, doi:10.1080/01436590802105983.

[20] Ndivo and Cantoni, “Economic Empowerment of Communities through Tourism”; J. Mitchell, J. Keane and C. Coles, Trading Up: How a Value Chain Approach Can Benefit the Rural Poor, Comercio y Pobreza en Latino América and Overseas Development Institute, 2009, https://odi.org/en/publications/trading-up-how-a-value-chain-approach-can-benefit-the-rural-poor/.

[21] Ndivo and Cantoni, “Economic Empowerment of Communities through Tourism.”

[22] Ashley and Mitchell, “Doing the Right Thing Approximately Not the Wrong Thing Precisely.”

[23] UNWTO, Aid for Trade and Value Chains in Tourism (Madrid: World Tourism Organization, 2013); Ashley and Mitchell, “Doing the Right Thing Approximately Not the Wrong Thing Precisely.”

[24] J. Gollub, A. Hosier and G. Woo, “Using Cluster-Based Economic Strategy to Minimize Tourism Leakages,” UNWTO, 2003; Ashley et al., Pro-poor Tourism Strategies; D. Roe and P. Urquhart, “Pro-poor Tourism: Harnessing the World’s Largest Industry for the World’s Poor,” International Institute for Environment and Development, 2001.

[25] Ndivo and Cantoni, “Economic Empowerment of Communities through Tourism.”

[26] R.M. Ndivo, “Assessing the Potential of (Green) Tourism Value Chains in Kenya within the Context of the AfCFTA,” unpublished report for the UN Economic Commission for Africa, 2022.

[27] High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy, Transformations for a Sustainable Ocean Economy: A Vision for Protection, Production and Prosperity, 2021.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Close
back to top