专家论文
公平:确保每个人都能从沿海和海洋旅游中受益

什么在增加流向当地社区的利益、减少沿海和海洋旅游对当地社区的影响以及避免扩大不平等方面是有效的?

Prof. Amran Hamzah
阿姆兰·哈姆扎教授
旅游规划教授和IUCN WCPA东南亚区域副主席

旅游业的公平应包括承认和庆祝多样性,同时通过利益分享确保包容性。在沿海和海洋旅游中,公平应争取在脆弱的环境中获得、使用和分配旅游发展收益的公平性。本文将重点关注东南亚的例子,以说明沿海和海洋旅游的公平问题——以及在寻找解决方案时要吸取的教训。有鉴于此,必须强调,在沿海和海洋旅游的政治经济和生态更广泛的背景下,权力动态对公平有很大的影响。

东南亚沿海和海洋旅游的演变和当地社区的作用

从 1970 年代到 1980 年代,有关旅游业对东南亚沿海和岛屿社区的影响的学术出版物通过揭示这些社区因旅游业发展而流离失所或边缘化,含蓄地指出了社会不公[1].到 1990 年代,研究结果开始认识到这些社区中出现了一种新兴的企业家精神,这些社区不再被视为被动的旁观者,而是成为小规模的旅游经营者,在旅游蛋糕中占有相对较小的份额[2]. 2000 年代,旅游学者开始应用相关理论和概念来调查当地社区对旅游业的态度及其对旅游业发展的支持程度。用于调查居民感知的流行理论是社会交换理论(SET),它基本上假定人们的支持(和参与)水平将取决于这种“交换”的潜在经济、社会、政治和文化利益[3].

虽然 SET 部分驳斥了早先关于沿海和岛屿社区只是被边缘化的旁观者的说法,但 1980 年代与东南亚沿海和岛屿旅游地理相关的研究不仅承认了当地的积极反应,而且还探索了当地企业家的商业特征。这项研究揭示了一种自 1970 年代以来演变而来的二元论形式,其中正规旅游业与非正规旅游业并存,但两者在业务或细分市场方面没有联系[4].正规部门的特点是酒店和度假村、餐馆、购物中心、海上运动场所、旅游巴士等,而非正规部门包括木屋、食品摊位、市场、潜水商店和当地交通工具,例如 笃笃。 在一些目的地,正规部门带头发展沿海和岛屿旅游,引入国际连锁酒店,受到慷慨的税收减免和其他政府激励措施的吸引。相反的情况发生在所谓的流浪者发现的偏远岛屿上,这导致了非正规部门的有机增长。尽管缺乏正规教育和当地能力,沿海和岛屿社区开始提供基本的住宿和设施,例如 A 型木屋、小木屋和食品摊位,以满足亚洲和拉丁美洲背包客小径沿线徒步旅行者的需求[5].

然而,自 1990 年代以来,旅游动机和行为的变化引发了正规部门和非正规部门之间的趋同,入住正规度假村的游客不再犹豫购买街头食品、使用当地公共交通工具,甚至花一些钱。在当地的寄宿家庭过夜。例如,在越南胡志明市,从独立代理商处预订一日游的背包客最终与来自正规酒店的包裹游客共享同一辆旅游大巴,以参观和体验湄公河三角洲的相同景点[6].因此,我们不能再说沿海和海洋社区正在被旅游发展所取代或边缘化,但在财富创造和分配方面实现公平仍然是一个挑战。具体而言,挑战在于提升非正规旅游部门的规模,以使当地社区(以及来自农村地区的移民)的参与不仅限于兜售小饰品、成为海滩男孩或在红灯区被剥削为工人。

另一个没有得到足够重视的公平的重要方面是不可持续的岛屿旅游业对水资源公平的威胁。这在世界著名的旅游岛巴厘岛就很明显,那里 85% 的旅游财产掌握在非巴厘岛人手中,旅游业使用了该岛 65% 的稀缺水资源[7].外部投资者在政府的大力支持下,垄断了用水,压倒了传统民主的水系统(苏巴克)。这反过来又导致地下水的过度使用、盐水的侵入、水质恶化和水资源冲突,特别是在农业用水需求方面。最令人担忧的是非巴厘岛人拥有的旅游别墅的侵占,这是巴厘岛自 9 世纪以来传统实行的民主决策和适应性管理制度逐渐瓦解的表现[8].

提升本地企业家精神的途径

从本质上讲,有两种方法可以提升沿海和岛屿旅游的当地企业家精神,以实现公平。首先是改善小额信贷设施的使用,以帮助那些成功经营微型企业但由于缺乏资金而无法扩大和向价值链上游移动的经营者。 1970 年代,在马来西亚的旅游岛屿上,小型旅游经营者在没有政府帮助的情况下设法建造了基本的 A 型框架小屋和小木屋。为了促进小规模旅游业,马来西亚政府在 1990 年代为此引入了小额信贷设施,例如特别旅游基金 (STF) 和旅游基础设施基金 (TIF)。小规模经营者在获得这些贷款方面的成功率很低,原因如下:缺乏抵押品、财产的多重所有权;未能制定令人信服的商业计划;以及遵守更适合投资回报期短于旅游企业典型 10 年的企业的支付银行条件的义务[9].

因此,马来西亚旅游岛屿上许多成功的小规模经营者发现他们的职业和商业道路停滞不前,这反过来又阻碍了他们维护建筑物、改善污水处理系统、使用信息和通信技术以及尝试绿色举措的能力。在这方面,沿海和海洋旅游发展的动力仍然掌握在局外人手中,他们更具竞争力的商业模式和与主流旅游的紧密联系。克服这一障碍将需要一种改变游戏规则的方法,例如建立一个移动咨询部门来提供技术和财务建议,包括协助制定商业计划。鉴于小规模运营商,尤其是在岛屿上的小型运营商,不熟悉申请 STF 和 TIF 的条件和流程,移动咨询部门应联系具有良好记录的运营商,帮助他们向价值链上游移动在竞争日益激烈的商业环境中。

提升当地企业家精神的第二种方式是通过能力建设,其中包括赋予当地社区决策权。这通常需要从自上而下的治理或管理结构转变为协作管理,以确保当地社区的领导人(包括妇女、青年和弱势群体)得到正式代表。为此,将传统或本土法律纳入正式治理结构势在必行。例如,虽然 2016 年马来西亚沙巴敦穆斯塔法公园的宪报显着增加了该州海洋保护区的比例,但鉴于有 80,000 名居民(其中许多生活在贫困中,包括海洋游牧民族)在这片近 90 万公顷的海洋保护区内属于不同的民族[10].在巴厘岛,保持传统和民主 苏巴克 或水庙网络对于保护当地社区的用水至关重要——尤其是需要水来准备食物和其他家庭用途的妇女[11].事实是 苏巴克 越来越多地被外人拥有的“别墅”(用词不当,因为“别墅”在巴厘岛可以有 200 多个房间)侵占是一个令人担忧的主要原因。需要一种基于权利的方法来复兴土著水庙系统[12].

确保沿海和海洋旅游的公平性要求治理结构采用协作管理模式,以促进公平、参与和包容的决策过程。此外,应纳入基于权利的方法,以纳入日益受到权力动态和外部投资者对政治经济影响的威胁的传统民主进程。确保平权政策和商业便利化向下延伸到目的地层面也至关重要——赋予目标接受者权力,不仅增加旅游蛋糕的规模,而且增加当地社区各部分所享有的份额,同时提高他们对环境管理的认识和承诺。

—–

[1] E. Cohen,“边缘天堂:泰国南部岛屿上的平房旅游”, 旅游研究年鉴 9,没有。 2 (1982): 189–228; K. Din,“旅游的社会和文化影响”, 旅游研究年鉴 15,没有。 4 (1988): 563–66; B.鸟, 兰卡威——从马苏里到马哈蒂尔:为谁旅游? (吉隆坡:仁山,1989 年)。

[2] A. Hamzah,“马来西亚小规模旅游业的演变:问题、机遇和对可持续性的影响”,在 旅游与可持续发展:实践原则, 由 MJ Stabler 编辑,199–217(纽约:CAB International,1997)。

[3] J. Ap,“居民对旅游影响的看法”, 旅游研究年鉴 19,没有。 2 (1992): 665–90; R. Nunkoo,“更全面地利用社会交换理论研究居民对旅游的态度”, Procedia 经济与金融 39 (2016): 588–96。

[4] 科恩,“边缘天堂”。

[5] MP Hampton 和 A. Hamzah,“变化、选择和商业化:东南亚的背包客路线”, 成长与变化 47,没有。 4 (2016): 556–71。

[6] 旅游部(马来西亚), 背包客旅游对马来西亚旅游业的潜力和贡献研究, 2008.

[7] S. Cole,“水资源公平和旅游业的政治生态学:巴厘岛案例研究”, 旅游研究年鉴 19,没有。 2(2012 年 4 月):1221–41。

[8] JS Lansing,“巴厘岛‘水庙’和灌溉管理”, 美国人类学家 89,没有。 2 (1987): 326–41; C.鲍德温,导演,  斯蒂芬 兰辛,完美秩序:巴厘岛一千年,全球电影,2006 年。

[9] 旅游、艺术和文化部(马来西亚), 2020-2030 年国家旅游政策 (2020).

[10] 沙巴公园董事会, 敦穆斯塔法公园, 2022, https://www.sabahparks.org.my/tun-mustapha-park。

[11] Cole,“水资源公平与旅游业的政治生态学”。

[12] Cole,“水资源公平与旅游业的政治生态学”。

 

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Equity: Ensuring Everyone Can Benefit from Coastal and Marine Tourism

What has been effective in increasing the benefits that flow to local communities, reducing the impacts of coastal and marine tourism on local communities and avoiding widening inequalities?

Prof. Amran Hamzah
Prof. Amran Hamzah
Professor in Tourism Planning and IUCN WCPA Regional Vice-Chair Southeast Asia

Equity in tourism should include recognising and celebrating diversity while ensuring inclusiveness through benefit-sharing. In coastal and marine tourism, equity should strive for fairness in the access, use and distribution of benefits from tourism development in a fragile environment. This essay will focus on examples from Southeast Asia to illustrate equity issues in coastal and marine tourism—and lessons to be learned in the search for solutions. In this light it has to be stressed that power dynamics within the wider context of the political economy and ecology of coastal and marine tourism has a strong influence on equity.

Evolution of coastal and marine tourism in Southeast Asia and the role of local communities

From the 1970s to the 1980s, scholarly publications related to the impact of tourism on coastal and island communities in Southeast Asia implicitly pointed to social injustice by revealing that these communities were either displaced or marginalised by tourism development[1]. By the 1990s, research findings were beginning to recognise an emerging entrepreneurial spirit among these communities, which were no longer considered passive bystanders but had become small-scale tourism operators enjoying a relatively small slice of the tourism pie[2]. Tourism scholars in the 2000s started to apply relevant theories and concepts to investigate local communities’ attitudes towards tourism and their level of support for its development. Among the popular theories that were applied to investigate residents’ perception is social exchange theory (SET), which basically posits that people’s level of support (and involvement) will depend on the potential economic, social, political and cultural benefits from this ‘exchange’[3].

While SET partly debunks the earlier assertion that coastal and island communities were merely marginalised bystanders, 1980s research associated with the geography of coastal and island tourism in Southeast Asia not only recognised active local response but also explored the business characteristics of local entrepreneurship. This research revealed a form of dualism that had evolved since the 1970s, in which the formal tourism industry existed side by side with the informal tourism sector but without the two being connected in terms of business or market segment[4]. The formal sector was characterised by hotels and resorts, restaurants, shopping malls, marine sports outlets, tour buses and so on, while the informal sector comprised chalets, food stalls, markets, dive shops and local transport such as tuk tuk. In some destinations the formal sector spearheaded coastal and island tourism development, introducing international hotel chains attracted by generous tax breaks and other government incentives. The opposite scenario occurred on remote islands discovered by the so-called drifters, which led to the organic growth of the informal sector. Despite their lack of formal education and local capacity, coastal and island communities started to offer basic accommodation and facilities such as A-frame huts, chalets and food stalls to cater to the needs of hikers along the backpacker trails in Asia and Latin America[5].

Since the 1990s, however, changing tourist motivation and behaviour has triggered a convergence between the formal sector and the informal sector, whereby tourists staying in the formal resorts no longer hesitate to buy street food, use local means of public transport and even spend a few nights in a local homestay. In Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, for instance, backpackers who had booked day tours from independent agents ended up sharing the same tourist coach as package tourists from the formal hotels to visit and experience the same attractions at the Mekong Delta[6]. We thus can no longer say that coastal and marine communities are being displaced or marginalised by tourism development, but achieving equity in terms of wealth creation and distribution remains a challenge. Specifically, the challenge lies in upscaling the informal tourism sector so that the involvement of the local community (and migrants from rural areas) is not limited to peddling trinkets, becoming beach boys or being exploited as workers in the red-light district.

Another important dimension of equity that has not received sufficient attention is the threat posed to water equity by unsustainable island tourism. This is evident on the world-renowned tourism island of Bali, where 85 percent of the tourism property is in the hands of non-Balinese and tourism uses 65 percent of the island’s scarce water supply[7]. Outside investors, with the strong support of the government, had monopolised water use, overwhelming the traditional and democratic water system (subak). This in turn resulted in the overuse of ground water, intrusion of salt water, deterioration of water quality and conflicts over water resources, especially regarding the needs of water for agriculture. Of prime concern is the encroachment by tourism villas owned by non-Balinese, a manifestation of the gradual dismantling of the democratic decision-making and adaptive management system traditionally practised since the ninth century in Bali[8].

Pathways to upscaling local entrepreneurship

Essentially there are two ways to upscale local entrepreneurship in coastal and island tourism in order to achieve equity. The first is to improve access to microcredit facilities to assist operators who have been successfully operating microbusinesses but are constrained from expanding and moving up the value chain due to their lack of capital. In the 1970s on Malaysia’s tourism islands, small-scale tourism operators managed to build basic A-frame huts and chalets without any help from the government. To promote small-scale tourism, in the 1990s the Malaysian government introduced microcredit facilities for this purpose, such as the Special Tourism Fund (STF) and the Tourism Infrastructure Fund (TIF). Small-scale operators’ success in securing these loans was low for several reasons: the lack of collateral, multiple ownership of property; the failure to prepare a convincing business plan; and the obligation to comply with disbursement-bank conditions that are more suitable for businesses with a return-on-investment period shorter than the typical 10 years for a tourism enterprise[9].

Consequently, many successful small-scale operators on Malaysia’s tourism islands found their career and business paths stagnating, which in turn hampered their ability to maintain buildings, improve sewage treatment systems, use information and communications technology and try green initiatives. In this respect, the power dynamics of coastal and marine tourism development is still in the hands of outsiders with their more competitive business models and strong linkages to mainstream tourism. Overcoming this impediment will require a game-changing approach such as setting up a mobile advisory unit to provide technical and financial advice, including assistance in preparing business plans. Given that small-scale operators, especially on the islands, are not familiar with the conditions and process of applying for the STF and TIF, the mobile advisory unit should reach out to operators with a good track record and help them move up the value chain in an increasingly competitive business environment.

The second way to upscale local entrepreneurship is through capacity building, which includes empowering the local community in decision-making. This would usually entail the transformation from a top-down governance or management structure into collaborative management that ensures that leaders of the local community (including women, youth and disadvantaged groups) are formally represented. Towards this end, the incorporation of traditional or native laws into the formal governance structure is imperative. For instance, while the gazettement of Tun Mustapha Park in Sabah, Malaysia, in 2016 significantly increased the percentage of marine protected areas in the state, achieving social equity remains a challenge given the presence of 80,000 inhabitants (many of them living in poverty, including sea nomads) belonging to diverse ethnic groups in this nearly 900,000-hectare marine protected area[10]. In Bali, maintaining the traditional and democratic subak or water temple network is critical to protecting the local community’s access to water—especially women who need water for food preparation and other domestic purposes[11]. The fact that the subak has been increasingly encroached by outsider-owned ‘villas’ (a misnomer, since a ‘villa’ can have more than 200 rooms in Bali) is a major cause of concern. A rights-based approach is needed to resurrect the indigenous water temple system[12].

Ensuring equity in coastal and marine tourism requires that the governance structure adopt a collaborative management model to facilitate a fair, participatory and inclusive decision-making process. Furthermore, rights-based approaches should be incorporated to include traditional democratic processes increasingly threatened by power dynamics and the influence of outside investors on the political economy. It is also crucial to ensure that affirmative policies and business facilitation cascade down to the destination level—empowering the targeted recipients and increasing not only the size of the tourism pie but also the share being enjoyed by the various sections of the local community, while raising their awareness of and commitment to environmental stewardship.

—–

[1] E. Cohen, “Marginal Paradises: Bungalow Tourism on the Islands of Southern Thailand,” Annals of Tourism Research 9, no. 2 (1982): 189–228; K. Din, “Social and Cultural Impacts of Tourism,” Annals of Tourism Research 15, no. 4 (1988): 563–66; B. Bird, Langkawi—From Mahsuri to Mahathir: Tourism for Whom? (Kuala Lumpur: Insan, 1989).

[2] A. Hamzah, “The Evolution of Small-Scale Tourism In Malaysia: Problems, Opportunities and Implications for Sustainability,” in Tourism and Sustainability: Principles to Practice, edited by M.J. Stabler, 199–217 (New York: CAB International, 1997).

[3] J. Ap, “Residents’ Perception on Tourism Impacts,” Annals of Tourism Research 19, no. 2 (1992): 665–90; R. Nunkoo, “Toward a More Comprehensive Use of Social Exchange Theory to Study Residents’ Attitudes to Tourism,” Procedia Economics and Finance 39 (2016): 588–96.

[4] Cohen, “Marginal Paradises.”

[5] M.P. Hampton and A. Hamzah, “Change, Choice, and Commercialization: Backpacker Routes in Southeast Asia,” Growth and Change 47, no. 4 (2016): 556–71.

[6] Ministry of Tourism (Malaysia), Study on the Potential and Contribution of Backpacker Tourism to the Malaysian Tourism Industry, 2008.

[7] S. Cole, “A Political Ecology of Water Equity and Tourism: A Case Study from Bali,” Annals of Tourism Research 19, no. 2 (April 2012): 1221–41.

[8] J.S. Lansing, “Balinese ‘Water Temples’ and the Management of Irrigation,” American Anthropologist 89, no. 2 (1987): 326–41; C. Baldwin, dir.,  Stephen Lansing, Perfect Order: A Thousand Years in Bali, Whole Earth Films, 2006.

[9] Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture (Malaysia), National Tourism Policy, 2020–2030 (2020).

[10] Board of Trustees of Sabah Parks, Tun Mustapha Park, 2022, https://www.sabahparks.org.my/tun-mustapha-park.

[11] Cole, “A Political Ecology of Water Equity and Tourism.”

[12] Cole, “A Political Ecology of Water Equity and Tourism.”

 

Close
back to top