Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
愿景设定:2030 年和 2050 年可持续的沿海和海洋旅游业

什么是 2030 年和 2050 年的可持续沿海和海洋旅游?到 2025 年,实现这一雄心勃勃的愿景需要哪些三个关键转变?

Caroline Tippett
卡罗琳蒂皮特
世界自然基金会海洋市场和金融副总裁

随着大多数沿海地区逐渐取消大流行限制,今年夏天将有数百万游客涌向他们最喜欢的海滩目的地。旅游业仍然是人们与自然联系的一种有效且熟悉的方式。尽管健康的海洋无疑是高质量旅行者体验的基石,是为保护区提供资金的最重要的市场贡献者,也是造福当地社区和企业的工具,但占主导地位的大众旅游方式并没有考虑到自然——具有破坏性对海洋栖息地及其动物群的影响。

根据联合国世界旅游组织(UNWTO)的数据,在大流行之前,有超过 14 亿国际旅客在世界各地旅行[1],旅游业作为可持续发展的强大和变革力量的潜力是巨大的。 2019 年,旅游业是出口第三大行业,是增长最快、最大的服务业雇主之一,也是通过创造就业和企业创造、出口收入和基础设施发展来推动经济增长的最关键驱动力之一。预计这一趋势将在大流行消退时恢复。

没有满足消费者需求的可持续沿海和海洋旅游,就没有健康的海洋。管理良好的旅游业可以支持保护,同时促进可持续发展,并为沿海社区提供收入机会和更高的生活质量。到 2030 年,我们有机会把事情做好。毕竟,这符合旅游业的自身利益;自然是其最重要的商业伙伴。酒店、游轮、旅游经营者和该行业漫长而广泛的供应链依赖于美丽的目的地,以实现其长期的业务健康。世界野生动物基金会 (WWF) 未来十年的愿景是与我们的合作伙伴一起为保护自然的旅游业做出贡献,所有供应链参与者汇聚在一起,为人类、自然和企业创造价值。这种方法由联合国可持续发展目标和全球可持续旅游理事会 (GSTC) 制定的行业和标准和原则制定。

自成立以来,WWF 一直与旅游业合作。整个旅游业的企业越来越意识到任何给定海景的竞争需求,栖息地丧失和气候变化之间的复杂关系,以及旅游业在恢复和提高海洋复原力方面可以发挥的转型作用。

它始于从“首先不伤害”的心态转变为对人类和地球做出净贡献。这需要一种整体方法,利用现有运动来保护地方,提供融资渠道以支持可持续旅游企业,并确保与土著人民和当地社区共同制定政策并最终使他们受益。

将产业转向自然积极的旅游业

需要发生的第一个转变将是结构性的,将可持续旅游纳入自然与人类 30×30 雄心壮志的雄心壮志联盟[2].基于区域的保护干预措施需要综合、全面,并以对当地人民、全球社会和自然的良好成果为基础。当地社区和土著人民对其自然海景的主权需要通过在旅游、自然和人共存的地区共同制定的保护计划进行编纂。因此,企业需要协同工作,并与受沿海开发和旅游活动直接影响的社区合作。这必须包括在基础设施项目的整个生命周期中嵌入可持续性和弹性原则。这一愿景还很大程度上依赖于改进的旅游管理系统,包括提高旅行者、私营部门和当地社区的能力、教育和包容性。

第二个转变是感性的,从过时的大众旅游转向可持续的恢复性旅游。整个旅游供应链的心态也应该转变为将保护野生动物视为海洋旅游的最佳合作伙伴。在世界野生动物旅游的第一项主要研究中,牛津大学野生动物保护研究部的研究人员得出结论,全球高达 40% 的旅游是跨海景和景观的野生动物旅游[3].野生动物观赏,包括标志性物种,如鲸鱼、鲨鱼、海龟、海豚和其他巨型动物,为旅游业带来了数十亿美元的收入。从这个意义上说,全球和许多地区的可持续蓝色经济仍然是最重要的生计来源之一,也是当地经济的强劲引擎。可持续旅游业应改善保护区的治理,加强管理机构与当地利益相关者之间的合作,以实现更显着的经济和环境互惠。

第三个转变需要来自金融。旅游业可以是一项大生意,并且可以通过金融市场的资本流动来实现。仅在大流行之前的 2019 年,旅游业就占了 $9480 亿的资本投资,占当年全球总投资的 4.3%[4].这些资金流需要与可持续的蓝色经济保持一致,以最大限度地减少短期、中期和长期风险,例如气候变化和环境退化造成的风险。

包括银行和投资者在内的金融机构迫切需要采用和实施可持续蓝色经济金融原则及其相关指南[5].本指南旨在支持关键部门,包括向可持续海洋和沿海旅游业的过渡,以支持与客户和投资组合公司的合作,将实践转向自然积极成果。此外,保护自然资本和社会凝聚力的当地旅游企业和社区必须拥有公平和可持续的资本来源以促进长期自然资源管理的发展和激励。

拉丁美洲的一个例子是,美洲开发银行与联合国世界旅游组织合作发起了一项挑战,以资助可持续旅游业的发展,为环境可持续性和就业引入了创新。通过挑战获得融资的企业包括 Green Fins Global Hub,该中心旨在支持哥斯达黎加和多米尼加共和国的小型海洋旅游企业达到更高的环境标准。另一项业务是特立尼达和多巴哥的 Experience Nariva,旨在刺激受 Ramsar 保护的 Narira Swamp 的生态旅游,以造福当地社区并为良好的环境管理创造激励措施。

如果政策不能跟上紧迫的需求并预测未来自然保护和旅游业的动荡,这三个转变就无法实现。适当的政策可以促成新的理想方向,刺激创新并帮助应对挑战和问题。

例如,政府可以提供激励措施、资源、耐久性、投资确定性和其他必要条件,以鼓励企业参与和投资于自然积极的旅游业。自 1990 年发布第一份报告以来,政府间气候变化专门委员会一直在分享基于科学的评估、风险和选择,以帮助决策者了解必须做什么[6].这种提高认识的努力推动了创新的解决方案,例如厄瓜多尔加拉帕戈斯国家公园的太阳能游览船,这是公园与世界自然基金会合作的结果,或者是 2008 年美国为碳捕获提供税收抵免的法律,即 45Q。它已被确定为帮助联合航空公司最近承诺到 2050 年实现净零排放的一个因素。

政策还可以在整个司法管辖区(通常是多个司法管辖区)和各个部门大规模解决问题,支持变革的范围和速度。建议的政策需要在全球、国家和地方层面得到加强,并在类似的时间范围内发挥最大的影响。

与企业携手引领潮流

作为旨在为人类和自然创造更美好未来的领先保护组织,我们认识到我们不能单独做到这一点。 WWF 与社区、政府和公司一起参与我们的保护工作,以创造持久的变化。这就是为什么 WWF 十多年来一直与一些世界领先的酒店和旅游业公司合作,以应对保护威胁,并做出了显着的反应。

一个值得注意的案例研究涉及我们与皇家加勒比集团的合作,以证明其旅行社符合 GSTC 标准[7].在 WWF 的建议下,皇家加勒比集团承诺通过 GSTC 框架提高其旅游产品的可持续性。该公司设定的目标是到 2020 年通过 GSTC 认可的认证机构认证的运营商提供 1,000 次旅游,约占其旅游组合的 25-30%。截至 2020 年 12 月,它已通过 29 个不同国家的 33 家不同旅行社完成了 2000 多次 GSTC 认证的旅行。

促成这一成就的是皇家加勒比地区的主要工作人员和当地旅行社对 GSTC 标准和认证流程进行了深思熟虑的教育,并制定了优先选择 GSTC 认证旅行社的可持续采购政策。皇家加勒比是第一家基于 GSTC 认可的认证采用优惠购买的大型旅游公司。这使旅游经营者能够自豪地帮助保护环境,同时节省成本。当岸上游览旅游经营者获得认证时,它会产生重要的乘数效应,因为这些经营者经常向其他邮轮公司和旅游公司提供旅游服务。

WWF 还与德国国际开发署 (GIZ) 在洪都拉斯和伯利兹进行了三项 GSTC 目的地评估,并与当地政府和民间社会一起进行了皇家加勒比。与该公司和 Donsol 一起在菲律宾开展了类似的可持续旅游计划。世界自然基金会希望在未来几年扩大与皇家加勒比的合作,并在伯利兹和其他地区共同建立更广泛的自然积极倡议。作为 WWF 的自然积极业务战略的一部分,这种模式有可能被其他企业合作伙伴复制。

在毁灭性干旱期间,我们还与领先的酒店经营者希尔顿一起在其位于南非的一些酒店中领导了变革性的淡水资源计划。 WWF 正在探索与希尔顿的合作,以设计目的地管理计划,以改善海鲜采购、影响客户行为并进一步开展基于区域的恢复工作。

带走

如果我们想在 2030 年实现海洋保护的雄心,自然积极的旅游业不仅是可能的,而且是必要的。随着政府、金融和酒店业的参与度越来越高,我们有理由抱有希望,但仍然需要做大量的工作弯曲自然和气候变化的衰退曲线。为了保持旅游商业模式所依赖的自然资本,企业需要立即采取行动,以免游客所寻求的风景秀丽的海滩和海洋生态系统被不可持续的发展和气候变化抹去。金融界也有强大的动力将资本流重新导向自然积极的企业;应该利用这一点来加速过渡,以造福于人类、地球与和平。

—–

[1] 世旅组织。 “国际游客人数提前两年达到 14 亿”,2019 年 1 月。https://www.unwto.org/global/press-release/2019-01-21/international-tourist-arrivals-reach-14-billion - 未来两年的预测

[2] 雄心勃勃的联盟。 https://www.hacfornatureandpeople.org/home

[3] PLOS ONE。 “客户并不总是正确的——野生动物旅游需求增加对保护和动物福利的影响” https://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0138939

[4] 国际可持续发展研究所。 “英联邦小州的旅游业复苏和复原力:在 COVID-19 之后推动循环经济路径”。 https://www.iisd.org/articles/tourism-recovery-resilience-commonwealth-small-states-circular-economy

[5] 联合国环境规划署金融倡议, 扭转局势:如何为可持续的海洋恢复融资,2021 年 3 月,https://www.unepfi.org/publications/turning-the-tide/。

[6] IPCC 报告。 https://www.ipcc.ch/reports/

[7] GSTC。皇家加勒比 2020 年可持续发展报告。 https://www.gstcouncil.org/royal-caribbeans-2020-sustainability-report/

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Vision Setting: A Sustainable Coastal and Marine Tourism Sector in 2030 and 2050

What is sustainable coastal and marine tourism in 2030 and 2050? What are three key shifts needed by 2025 to achieve this ambitious vision?

Caroline Tippett
Caroline Tippett
Vice President of Ocean Markets and Finance, World Wildlife Fund

As pandemic restrictions are being lifted gradually in most coastal regions, millions of tourists will be swarming to their favourite beach destinations this summer. Tourism remains an effective and familiar way for people to connect with nature. Although a healthy ocean is unequivocally a cornerstone of high-quality traveller experiences, the most significant market-based contributor to finance protected areas and a tool to benefit local communities and businesses, the dominant mass tourism approach does not take nature into account—with devastating consequences for marine habitat and its fauna.

With more than 1.4 billion international travellers travelling the world before the pandemic, according to the UN World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)[1], the potential for tourism as a powerful and transformative force for sustainable development is significant. In 2019, the tourism sector was the third largest for exports, one of the fastest growing, the largest service employer and one of the most critical drivers of economic growth through job and enterprise creation, export revenues and infrastructure development. This trend is forecast to resume when the pandemic recedes.

There is no healthy ocean without sustainable coastal and marine tourism at a scale to meet consumer demand. Well-managed tourism can support conservation while contributing to sustainable development and providing income opportunities and a higher quality of life for coastal communities. We have an opportunity by 2030 to get things right. After all, it’s in the tourism industry’s self-interest; nature is its most important business partner. Hotels, cruise ships, tour operators and the industry’s long and wide supply chain depend on beautiful destinations for their long-term business health. The vision of the World Wildlife Fund (WWF) for the next decade is to contribute with our partners in conservation towards nature-positive tourism where all supply chain actors converge to create value for people, nature and businesses. This approach has been framed by the UN Sustainable Development Goals and the industry and standards and principles set by the Global Sustainable Tourism Council (GSTC).

Since its inception, WWF has partnered with the travel industry. Businesses across the travel industry are increasingly aware of the competing needs in any given seascape, how habitat loss and climate change are intricately related, and the transformational role the travel industry can play in restoring and elevating ocean resilience.

It starts with a shift from a ‘first do no harm’ mentality to making a net contribution to people and the planet. This requires a holistic approach that leverages existing movements to protect places, provides access to financing to support sustainable tourism enterprises and ensures policies are co-created with and ultimately benefit Indigenous Peoples and local communities.

Shifting industry to nature-positive tourism

The first shift that needs to occur will be structural, factoring sustainable tourism into the High Ambition Coalition for Nature and People 30×30 ambitions[2]. Area-based conservation interventions need to be integrated, holistic and based on good outcomes for local people, global society and nature. The sovereignty of local communities and Indigenous Peoples over their natural seascapes needs to be codified through co-created conservation plans in areas where tourism, nature and people coexist. Thus, businesses need to work in synergy and team up with communities directly impacted by coastal developments and tourism activities. This will have to include embedding sustainability and resilience principles across the lifecycle of infrastructure projects. This vision also relies heavily on improved tourism management systems, including raising the capacities, education and inclusiveness of travellers, the private sector and local communities.

The second shift is perceptual, moving from outdated mass tourism to sustainable, restorative tourism. Mentalities across the tourism supply chain should also shift to view protecting wildlife as the best partner for ocean tourism. In the first major study of world wildlife tourism, researchers at the University of Oxford’s Wildlife Conservation Research Unit concluded that up to 40 percent of tourism worldwide is wildlife tourism across seascapes and landscapes[3]. Wildlife viewing, including iconic species like whales, sharks, turtles, dolphins and other megafauna, drives billions of dollars for the tourism industry. In this sense, a sustainable blue economy globally and in many areas remains one of the most significant livelihood generators and a robust engine for local economies. Sustainable tourism should improve governance in protected areas and strengthen cooperation between management bodies and local stakeholders for more significant mutual economic and environmental benefits.

The third shift needs to come from finance. Tourism can be big business and is enabled by capital flows from financial markets. In 2019 alone, before the pandemic, tourism accounted for $948 billion in capital investment, or 4.3 percent of total investment worldwide that year[4]. These financial flows need to be aligned to a sustainable blue economy to minimise short-, medium- and long-term risks, such as those stemming from climate change and a degraded environment.

Financiers, including banks and investors, urgently need to adopt and implement the Sustainable Blue Economy Finance Principles and their associated guidance[5]. This guidance has been developed to support key sectors, including the transition to sustainable marine and coastal tourism, to support the work with clients and portfolio companies to shift practices towards nature-positive outcomes. In addition, local tourism businesses and communities protecting natural capital and social cohesion must have equitable and sustainable sources of capital to grow and incentives for long-term natural resource management.

One example of this in Latin America, where the InterAmerican Development Bank launched a challenge in collaboration with the UNWTO to finance sustainable tourism development that introduced innovation for environmental sustainability and employment. Businesses that won financing through the challenge include the Green Fins Global Hub, which aims at supporting small marine tourism enterprises in Costa Rica and the Dominican Republic to achieve higher environmental standards. Another business, Experience Nariva in Trinidad and Tobago, aims to stimulate ecotourism in the Narira Swamp, a Ramsar-protected site, to benefit local communities and create incentives for good environmental stewardship.

These three shifts cannot be fulfilled if policies do not keep up with the pressing needs and anticipate future upheavals in nature conservation and the tourism industry. Appropriate policies can enable new and desirable directions, spur innovation and help address challenges and problems.

For example, governments could provide incentives, resources, durability, certainty for investments and other necessary conditions to encourage businesses to engage and invest in nature-positive tourism. Since its first report in 1990, the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change has been sharing science-based assessments, risks and options to help policymakers understand what must be done[6]. This awareness-raising effort has driven innovative solutions like a solar-powered tour boat in Ecuador’s Galapagos National Park, the result of a collaboration between the park and WWF, or the 2008 U.S. law that provides tax credits for carbon capture, known as 45Q. It has been identified as one factor in helping United Airlines recently commit to becoming net zero by 2050.

Policies also can address issues at scale, across an entire jurisdiction and often multiple jurisdictions, and various sectors, supporting the scope and pace of change. The recommended policies need to be reinforced at the global, national and local levels, and within similar time frames for maximum impact.

Leading the way hand in hand with businesses

As the leading conservation organisation aiming at creating a better future for people and nature, we recognise that we cannot do this alone. WWF engages in our conservation work with communities, governments and companies to create lasting change. That is why WWF has been partnering with some of the world’s leading corporations in the hospitality and tourism sector for over a decade to meet conservation threats, with remarkable response.

One notable case study concerns our work with Royal Caribbean Group to certify its tour operators to the GSTC standard[7]. At WWF’s recommendation, Royal Caribbean Group committed to increasing the sustainability of its tour offerings through the GSTC framework. The company set a target to provide 1,000 tours through operators certified by a GSTC-accredited certification body by 2020, representing about 25–30 percent of its tour portfolio. By December 2020, it had achieved over 2,000 GSTC-certified tours through 33 different tour operators in 29 different countries.

Contributing to this achievement was the thoughtful education of key Royal Caribbean staff and local tour operators on the GSTC standard and certification process and establishing a sustainable procurement policy preferring GSTC-certified tour operators. Royal Caribbean was the first major travel company to adopt preferential purchasing based on GSTC-accredited certification. This has allowed tour operators to proudly help protect the environment while also saving costs. When a shore excursion tour operator is certified, it creates an important multiplier effect, as these operators often provide tours to other cruise lines and travel companies.

WWF additionally piloted three GSTC destination assessments in Honduras and Belize with the German Agency for International Development (GIZ) and Royal Caribbean with the local governments and civil society. Similar sustainable tourism initiatives were carried out in the Philippines together with the company and Donsol. WWF is looking to expand its collaboration with Royal Caribbean in the coming years and build together a broader nature-positive initiative in Belize and other regions. This model has the potential to be replicable with other corporate partners as part of WWF’s nature-positive business strategy.

With leading hotelier Hilton, we also have led transformative freshwater resource initiatives in some of their properties in South Africa during the devastating drought. WWF is exploring collaboration with Hilton to design destination stewardship initiatives to improve seafood sourcing, influence customer behaviour and further area-based restoration efforts.

Takeaway

Nature-positive tourism is not only possible but necessary if we want to meet ocean conservation ambitions by 2030. There is reason to be hopeful, with the growing engagement from governments and the financial and hospitality sectors, but an awful lot of work is still needed to bend the curve of decline in nature and climate change. To maintain the natural capital on which the tourism business model is based, businesses need to act now, before the scenic beaches and marine ecosystems tourists seek are wiped away by unsustainable developments and climate change. There is also strong momentum in the finance community to redirect capital flows towards nature-positive businesses; this should be harnessed to accelerate the transition for the benefit of people, planet and peace.

—–

[1] UNWTO. “International Tourist Arrivals Reach 1.4 Billion Two Years Ahead Of Forecasts”, January 2019. https://www.unwto.org/global/press-release/2019-01-21/international-tourist-arrivals-reach-14-billion-two-years-ahead-forecasts

[2] High Ambition Coalition. https://www.hacfornatureandpeople.org/home

[3] PLOS ONE. “The Customer Isn’t Always Right—Conservation and Animal Welfare Implications of the Increasing Demand for Wildlife Tourism” https://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0138939

[4] IISD. “Tourism Recovery and Resilience in Commonwealth Small States: Driving circular economy pathways post-COVID-19”. https://www.iisd.org/articles/tourism-recovery-resilience-commonwealth-small-states-circular-economy

[5] UN Environment Programme Finance Initiative, Turning the Tide: How to Finance a Sustainable Ocean Recovery, March 2021, https://www.unepfi.org/publications/turning-the-tide/.

[6] IPCC reports. https://www.ipcc.ch/reports/

[7] GSTC. Royal Caribbean’s 2020 Sustainability Report. https://www.gstcouncil.org/royal-caribbeans-2020-sustainability-report/

Close
back to top