Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
公平:确保每个人都能从沿海和海洋旅游中受益

什么在增加流向当地社区的利益、减少沿海和海洋旅游对当地社区的影响以及避免扩大不平等方面是有效的?

Freya Higgins-Desbiolles
芙蕾雅·希金斯-德比奥勒斯
泰莱大学旅游研究与创新中心客座教授(马来西亚);滑铁卢大学(加拿大)休闲与休闲研究系兼职副教授;南澳大利亚大学(澳大利亚)兼职 UniSA 商业

沿海和海洋旅游被认为是沿海社区和小岛屿发展中国家蓝色经济的重要方面。这 蓝色经济 指“可持续利用海洋资源促进经济增长、改善生计和就业,同时保护海洋生态系统的健康”[1].国际沿海和海洋旅游协会定义 沿海和海洋旅游 作为“涉及远离以海洋环境和/或沿海地区为宿主或重点的居住地的娱乐活动”[2].活动的货币化、影响和收益各不相同,从昂贵的封闭式海滩度假村和高端巡航到低成本、低影响的自然体验和公民科学项目,以保护甚至恢复沿海和海洋栖息地。

股权要求

然而,蓝色经济的倡导被批评为试图利用开发海洋资源的机会,以牺牲生态健康和人类福祉为代价[3].人类社区一直依赖并深深依附于这些环境,因此公平问题是相当大的,其中社会公平发挥着关键作用。

这里的社会公平是指: 承认和公平对待所有将从现有或新兴海洋产业中受益或受其影响的群体;将他们纳入会影响他们的发展计划和政策,以及;实现这些行业的利益和负担的更公平分配[4].

一个 多方利益相关者方法 可以帮助赢得对沿海和海洋旅游的支持,并确保三重底线成果(经济、社会和生态)[5].利益相关者可能包括当地社区、旅游企业、旅游协会、渔业利益、政府、土著保管人和非政府组织。旅游企业和政府当局经常使用利益相关者管理方法和企业社会责任倡议来平衡相互竞争的利益并为其运营赢得社会认可。

优先考虑当地社区 然而,在旅游决策中高于其他利益相关者可能是可取的,因为他们有更多的利害关系[6].旅游业的促进和发展往往需要复杂的权力主张,以获取、控制和受益于全球社区所拥有的资源[7],包括沿海和海洋资源。通过关注当地社区重新定义旅游业,在沿海管理和沿海旅游开发过程中以社区而不是旅游业为中心,可能会抵消这些权力不平衡。这将通过有意义和有效的参与性方法来实现,这些方法优先支持以社区为基础的旅游业、整合当地旅游业供应链和报酬丰厚的当地工人。相反,如果社区仅作为众多利益相关者中的一个进行管理,他们的权利、利益和利益可能得不到充分服务。在这种情况下,社区可能会转向抗议和激进主义。

这可以从美国佛罗里达州的基韦斯特更安全清洁船舶委员会的案例中看出。该委员会代表当地社区采取行动,塑造基韦斯特邮轮业的旅游治理[8]. 2020 年 11 月,该组织的工作引发了全民投票,其中超过 60% 的选民批准了当地法令,出于社会和环境原因,禁止大型游轮访问,而是将基韦斯特港定位为小型船舶目的地。反对者正试图通过州立法和其他方式推翻这些措施,社区正在通过游说、研究和抗议来回应这些措施。同样,在威尼斯,Comitato No Grandi Navi 反对邮轮业通过威尼斯泻湖进入城市,“出于安全、公共卫生和保护泻湖生态系统的原因”[9].

在寻求更大的公平性时,重要的是要了解 交叉性,对许多人的歧视采取多种交叉结构形式的概念[10].沿海和海洋资源的政策和管理应识别这些形式的压迫并努力抵消或减轻它们。例如,结构性歧视做法可能基于种族、民族、阶级、种姓、性别、性取向、宗教、残疾和年龄。这些影响人们如何获取、享受和受益于沿海和海洋资源,以及相关的旅游和休闲活动。跨部门知情政策将特别关注受这种多重和复合压迫影响的人群的权利和利益。例如,支持妇女、少数族裔、老年人、残疾人和失业者(以及属于多个此类类别的人)的无障碍项目和基础设施[11] 享受沿海度假和海滩度假,正如在交叉性和公平问题前沿的一些社会旅游倡议中所看到的那样。例如,澳大利亚的海滩垫试验显示了使用可接近的方法进入沿海和海洋场所的好处。在昆士兰州的试验中,莫顿湾地区的市长说:“我们看到人们为了使用沙滩垫而四处奔波,从轮椅使用者到行动不便的老年人和使用婴儿车的当地家庭”[12].巴西领先的社会旅游倡议之一是 Serviço Social do Comércio (SESC),其使命是“实现旅游业的民主化”。例如,位于圣保罗州海岸的 Bertioga 的 SESC 度假村迎合弱势群体和工人,并提供自然游览[13].无障碍和社会旅游倡导者倡导“全民旅游”的理念,并努力消除人们享受海滩和海洋环境等景点的障碍。如果没有这些举措,沿海和海洋旅游体验可能仍然无法获得,并导致整个社会部门的不平等。对交叉性和公平性的理解需要融入社区咨询过程、行业招聘和就业实践、中小微企业支持计划、贷款和赠款计划以及政府计划中。

为确保公平和包容是海洋旅游政策的核心,深入了解社区权力动态和边缘化过程至关重要。 “飞入,飞出”的顾问不容易做到这一点。见解必须来自社区。最近的研究结果表明 公民社会科学 可以成为一种强大的方式,既包括边缘化社区,又设计由公民参与支持的新的循证政策[14].一个例子是为澳大利亚沿海旅游小镇拜伦湾制定了负责任的游客代码的合作。拜伦湾承诺源于拜伦青年剧院的年轻成员推动的公民社会科学方法,他们在参与南十字星大学儿童和青少年中心的“我们的家乡假日小镇”研究项目之后,...... . .咨询了当地生态旅游运营商 Vision Walks、当地 Arakwal 妇女 Delta Kay 和该地区的其他青年团体,包括拜伦青年服务中心的青年团体[15].公民社会科学“促进公民参与处理其特定社会生活世界的知识生产”[16] 并且可以导致努力保护沿海社区和生态免受过度旅游。

非殖民化是通往公平正义的途径

公平方法有助于确保蓝色经济发展造成的损害获得补救的机会是平均分配的。然而, 司法途径 需要解决不平等的结构性原因,并确保与沿海和海洋生态系统的接触是公平、公正和长期可持续的。

特别是,必须尊重土著人民与其海洋环境之间的内在关系。许多澳大利亚原住民旅游企业都与“海洋之国”建立了合作关系,并带来了独特且极具价值的旅游体验,例如北领地阿纳姆地屡获殊荣的 Lirrwi 旅游[17],以及昆士兰库库亚兰吉县的徒步文化冒险[18]. 2007 年《联合国土著人民权利宣言》就尊重土著权利并将其纳入沿海和海洋旅游政策提供了指导(尤其见第 11 条和第 25 条)[19]. 非殖民化 将这些努力更进一步,涉及原住民土地、水域和生活方式的遣返。例子包括夏威夷的“独木舟文化”指导和圣地亚哥的 Native Like Water 冲浪项目。

夏威夷的独木舟文化源于夏威夷国家的第一部法律:“独木舟文化引导了非殖民主义的愿景”以及 1973 年的水权决定:“人民有权保护水域以保护自己的生命”。使用要求充分提供夏威夷传统和习惯权利、野生动物、维持生态平衡和风景秀丽,以及保护和改善水域的[20].这种土著法律方式可以作为沿海和海洋旅游政策和实践的非殖民指南。

正如 Native Like Water 的 Marc Chavez 解释的那样,冲浪在世界许多地方开始是一种土著活动,包括夏威夷、北美太平洋沿岸和秘鲁。在成为圣地亚哥的地区,西班牙殖民者将土著部落从海岸转移到沙漠,削弱了他们与沿海环境的联系。最近,非原住民已经将冲浪作为一种“产业”进行商业化。 Native Like Water 是一个针对美洲原住民青年的计划,旨在“重申和重建我们与海洋、水道以及与我们自己的关系”[21].这种原住民旅游形式将原住民青年与咸水生态重新联系起来,并努力恢复他们的联系和监护权[22].

确保更公平的沿海和海洋旅游的建议:

  • 制定政策并制定计划,确保当地社区从沿海和海洋旅游机会中受益。这包括有意义的协商,以确保沿海开发和海洋保护政策不会损害社区对海岸的享受,而是加强社区的娱乐和休闲。需要通过赠款和资金支持社区拥有的企业,特别是微型和小型企业,以确保社区从沿海旅游中获得经济利益。包容性就业战略对于确保当地社区成员获得与沿海旅游发展相关的就业机会至关重要。
  • 为社区公平制定参与式方法,这些方法源自最佳实践全球指南,但也针对当地知识和生活方式进行定制。最近关于协同设计(或协同设计)的思考建立了与社区的关系,培养了管理的意图,并且可以塑造以确保潜在的边缘化群体被包括在这些对话中[23].
  • 认真关注旅游业中的性别问题,利用联合国世界旅游组织的 旅游业公共部门性别平等主流化指南旅游企业性别包容战略[24].
  • 支持公民和社区科学以及社会科学计划,以利用并告知社区知识和关心当地沿海和海洋环境,从而使他们能够参与式方法。
  • 尊重和支持土著人民保护沿海和海洋环境的权利和责任。管理当局和企业需要遵循最佳实践,赋予沿海和海洋环境的土著管理者权力。共同治理和土著治理正在成为海洋生态系统管理的成功方法[25].土著旅游经营者也应优先获得商业支持,以确保他们对沿海旅游解释的贡献是充满活力、教育性和可持续的海洋旅游业的一部分。
  • 为无障碍和社会旅游开发方案、支持和基础设施[26].这是公平的支柱,所有利益相关者都应致力于实现“全民旅游”。

最后,政府间气候变化专门委员会 2022 年的报告表明,为未来的危机做好准备至关重要。气候变化对沿海环境的影响威胁着这些生态系统和依赖它们的社区。当我们制定政策来预防或缓解气候变化时,我们需要为以这些地方为家的社区考虑公正和公平的政策选择。

—–

[1] 世界银行,“什么是蓝色经济?”信息图,2017 年 6 月 6 日,https://www.worldbank.org/en/news/infographic/2017/06/06/blue-economy。

[2] MB Orams 和 M. Lück,“沿海和海洋旅游”,在 威利布莱克威尔旅游伴侣,由 AA Lew、CM Hall 和 AM Williams 编辑,479-89(英国奇切斯特:John Wiley & Sons,2014),https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118474648;报价 488。

[3] NJ Bennett、AM Cisneros-Montemayor、J. Blythe 等人,“迈向可持续和公平的蓝色经济”, 自然可持续性 2 (2019):991–93,https://doi.org/10.1038/s41893-019-0404-1。

[4] AM Cisneros-Montemayor、M. Moreno-Báez、M. Voyer、EH Allison、WWL Cheung、M. Hessing-Lewis、MA Oyinlola 等人,“社会公平和福利作为变革性蓝色经济的纽带:行业回顾的影响,” 海洋政策 109(2019):103702,https://doi.org/10.1016/j.marpol.2019.103702;报价2。

[5] D. Dimitrovski、A. Lemmetyinen、L. Nieminen 和 T. Pohjola,“了解沿海和海洋旅游的可持续性:多利益相关者分析”, 目的地营销与管理杂志 19(2021):100554,https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jdmm.2021.100554。

[6] F. Higgins-Desbiolles,“COVID-19 后社会化旅游以实现社会和生态正义”, 旅游地理 22,没有。 3(2020):610-23,doi:10.1080/14616688.2020.1757748。

[7] F. Higgins-Desbiolles 和 BC Bigby,编辑, 当地旅游业的转变:赋予社区权力 (英国布里斯托尔:Channel View,即将出版)。

[8] 基韦斯特更安全清洁船舶委员会,“选票语言”,2021 年,https://www.safercleanerships.com/ballot-language。

[9] No Grandi Navi,“我们问什么”,nd,2022 年 4 月 18 日访问,http://www.nograndinavi.it/cosa-chiediamo-2/。

[10] KW Crenshaw,“关于交叉性”(2016 年),https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-DW4HLgYPlA。

[11] A. Diekmann 和 S. McCabe, 社会旅游手册 (英国切尔滕纳姆:爱德华·埃尔加,2020)。

[12] K. Knight,“该地区的海滩垫是无障碍旅游的关键”, 摩顿日报,2020 年 6 月 24 日,https://www.moretondaily.com.au/news/regions-beach-mats-key-to-accessibility-tourism。

[13] 国际社会旅游组织, 旅游在行动:世界各地社会政策和计划的 20 个例子, 2017, https://www.isto.international/wp-content/uploads/2019/12/EN_Tourism-in-actions-20-examples-of-social-policies-programmes-around-the-world.pdf;引文 8-9。

[14] A. Albert、B. Balázs、E. Butkevičienė、K. Mayer 和 J. Perelló,“公民社会科学:参与社会研究的新方法和既定方法”,在 公民科学,由 K. Vohland、A. Land-Zastra、L. Ceccaroni、R. Lemmens、J. Perelló、M. Ponti、R. Samson 和 K. Wagenknecht 编辑,119-38(瑞士 Cham:Springer,2021 年), https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-58278-4_7;报价 119.

[15] 拜伦之道誓言,“拜伦之道誓言是什么?”,nd,2022 年 4 月 19 日访问,https://www.byronpledge.com.au/about/。

[16] S. Thomas、D. Scheller 和 S. Schröder,“公民社会科学中的共同创造:研究论坛作为交流和参与的方法论基础”, 人文社会科学传播 8,没有。 244(2021),https://doi.org/10.1057/s41599-021-00902-x;报价 1。

[17] Lirrwi 旅游,“关于 Lirrwi 旅游”,nd,2022 年 4 月 18 日访问,https://www.lirrwitourism.com.au/about-us。

[18] Walkabout Cultural Adventures,“My Country”,nd,2022 年 4 月 18 日访问,https://www.walkaboutadventures.com.au/my-country.html。

[19] 联合国,《联合国土著人民权利宣言》(2007 年),https://www.un.org/development/desa/indigenouspeoples/declaration-on-the-rights-of-indigenous-peoples.html。

[20] S. Ganaden,“独木舟法则”,在 绕道:夏威夷的非殖民主义指南,由 HK Aikau 和 VV Gonzalez 编辑,373–79(北卡罗来纳州达勒姆:杜克大学出版社,2019 年);引用 377.

[21] Sea of Change,“Native Like Water”,nd,2022 年 4 月 4 日访问,https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rDKlakMubR0。

[22] A. Peters 和 F. Higgins-Desbiolles,“去边缘化旅游研究:作为游客的澳大利亚原住民”, 酒店与旅游管理杂志 19(2012):1-9,http://dx.doi.org/10.1017/S1839526012000077。

[23] J. Liburd、E. Duedahl 和 C. Heape,“共同设计旅游业以促进可持续发展”, 可持续旅游杂志 (2020),doi:10.1080/09669582.2020.1839473。

[24] 世界旅游组织(UNWTO), 旅游业公共部门性别平等主流化指南 (马德里:世旅组织,2022 年),https://www.e-unwto.org/doi/book/10.18111/9789284423248;世旅组织, 旅游企业性别包容战略 (马德里:世旅组织,2022 年),https://www.e-unwto.org/doi/10.18111/9789284423262。

[25] M. Parsons 和 L. Taylor,“为什么土著知识应该成为我们治理世界海洋的重要组成部分”, 谈话,2021 年 6 月 8 日,https://theconversation.com/why-indigenous-knowledge-should-be-an-essential-part-of-how-we-govern-the-worlds-oceans-161649。

[26] 见国际社会旅游组织, 旅游在行动.残疾人支持指南,“残疾人无障碍旅行和旅游”,nd,2022 年 4 月 19 日访问,https://www.disabilitysupportguide.com.au/information/article/disability-accessible-travel-and-tourism。

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Equity: Ensuring Everyone Can Benefit from Coastal and Marine Tourism

What has been effective in increasing the benefits that flow to local communities, reducing the impacts of coastal and marine tourism on local communities and avoiding widening inequalities?

Freya Higgins-Desbiolles
Freya Higgins-Desbiolles
Visiting Professor Centre for Research and Innovation in Tourism, Taylor’s University (Malaysia); Adjunct Associate Professor Department of Recreation and Leisure Studies, University of Waterloo (Canada); Adjunct UniSA Business, University of South Australia (Australia)

Coastal and marine tourism are recognised as important facets of the blue economy for coastal communities and small island developing states. The blue economy refers to the ‘sustainable use of ocean resources for economic growth, improved livelihoods, and jobs while preserving the health of ocean ecosystem’[1]. The International Coastal and Marine Tourism Society defines coastal and marine tourism as ‘recreational activities which involve travel away from one’s place of residence which has as their host or focus the marine environment and/or the coastal zone’[2]. Activities are varied in their monetisation, impacts and benefits, from exclusive and expensive gated beach resorts and high-end cruising to low-cost, lower-impact nature experiences and citizen-science projects to protect and even restore coastal and marine habitats.

Demands for equity

Blue economy advocacy has been criticised, however, as an attempt to cash in on opportunities to exploit ocean resources, at the cost of ecological health and human well-being[3]. Human communities have been dependent on and deeply attached to these environments, so the equity issues are considerable, with social equity playing a key role.

Social equity here refers to: the recognition and fair treatment of all groups that would benefit from or be impacted by existing or nascent ocean industries; their inclusion in development plans and policies that would affect them, and; the achievement of a more just distribution of benefits and burdens from these industries[4].

A multi-stakeholder approach can help win support for coastal and marine tourism and secure triple bottom-line outcomes (economic, social and ecological)[5]. Stakeholders may include local communities, tourism businesses, tourism associations, fishing interests, governments, Indigenous custodians and non-governmental organisations. Tourism businesses and government authorities often use stakeholder management approaches and corporate social responsibility initiatives to balance competing interests and win social approval for their operations.

Prioritising local communities above other stakeholders in tourism decision-making may be desirable, however, as they have more at stake[6]. Tourism promotion and development often entail complex assertions of power to access, control and benefit from the resources held in communities around the globe[7], including coastal and marine resources. Redefining tourism through a focus on the local community, centring the community rather than the tourism industry in coastal management and coastal tourism development processes, may counter these power imbalances. This would occur through meaningful and effective participatory approaches that prioritise support for community-based tourism, integrated local supply chains for tourism and well-remunerated local workers. In contrast, if communities are managed as only one stakeholder among many, their rights, interests and benefits may be ill-served.  In such cases, communities may turn to protests and activism.

This can be seen in the case of the Key West Committee for Safer Cleaner Ships in the U.S. state of Florida. The committee has acted on behalf of the local community to shape tourism governance of the cruise industry in Key West[8]. In November 2020, the group’s work led to a referendum in which more than 60 percent of voters approved local ordinances preventing visits by big cruises ships and instead positioning the Port of Key West as a small-ship destination, for both social and environmental reasons. Opponents are attempting to overturn these measures through state legislation and other means, to which the community is responding with lobbying, research and protests. Similarly, in Venice the Comitato No Grandi Navi opposes the cruise industry’s access to the city through the Venetian lagoon ‘for reasons of safety, public health and defense of the lagoon ecosystem’[9].

In seeking greater equity, it is important to understand intersectionality, the concept that discrimination for many people takes multiple and intersecting structural forms[10]. Policy and management of coastal and marine resources should identify these forms of oppression and work to counteract or mitigate them. Structural discriminatory practices might be based, for example, on race, ethnicity, class, caste, gender, sexual orientation, religion, disability and age. These influence how populations may access, enjoy and benefit from coastal and marine resources, as well as the associated tourism and leisure activities. Intersectionally informed policies will pay particular attention to the rights and interests of populations impacted by such multiple and compounding oppressions. For instance, accessibility programmes and infrastructures to support women, minorities, senior citizens, the disabled, and the unemployed (and those who fall in multiple such categories)[11] to enjoy coastal holidays and beach resorts, as seen in some social tourism initiatives at the cutting edge of issues of intersectionality and equity. For example, beach matting trials in Australia show the benefits of accessible approaches to coastal and marine sites. Of the trials in Queensland, the mayor of Moreton Bay Region stated, ‘We saw people travel far and wide to use the beach matting, from wheelchair users to seniors with limited mobility and local families using prams’[12]. One of Brazil’s leading social tourism initiatives is the Serviço Social do Comércio (SESC), whose mission is to ‘democratize access to tourism’. For example, an SESC resort in Bertioga, on the coast of São Paulo state, caters to disadvantaged populations and workers and offers nature excursions[13]. Accessible and social tourism advocates champion the idea of ‘tourism for all’ and work to bring down barriers to people’s enjoyment of sites such as beaches and marine environments. Without such initiatives, coastal and marine tourism experiences might remain inaccessible and result in inequities for whole sectors of society. Understanding of intersectionality and equity needs to be embedded in community consultation processes, in the industry’s recruitment and employment practices, in support programmes for micro and small to medium enterprises, in loans and grant schemes, as well as in government programmes.

To ensure that equity and inclusion are central in marine tourism policies, in-depth insights of community power dynamics and marginalisation processes are essential. This is not easily accomplished by ‘fly in, fly out’ consultants; insights must come from the community. Recent findings suggest that citizen social science can be a powerful way to both include marginalised communities and design new evidence-based policies supported by citizen participation[14]. One example is the collaboration that resulted in a responsible visitor’s code for the coastal tourism town of Byron Bay, Australia. The Byron Bay Pledge emerged from a citizen social science approach driven by young members of Byron Youth Theatre, who, ‘following their involvement in the “Our Home Holiday Town” research project with the Centre for Children and Young People at Southern Cross University, . . . consulted with local ecotourism operator Vision Walks, local Arakwal woman Delta Kay and other youth groups in the area including those at the Byron Youth Service’[15]. Citizen social science ‘foster[s] citizens’ engagement in the knowledge production that deals with their specific social lifeworlds’[16] and can lead to efforts to protect coastal communities and ecologies from overtourism.

Decolonising as a pathway to equity with justice

Equity approaches help ensure that access to remediation for damages caused by blue economy developments is evenly and fairly distributed. However, justice approaches are needed to resolve the structural causes of inequities and ensure that engagement with coastal and marine ecologies is fair, just and sustainable in the long-term.

In particular, it is essential to respect the intrinsic relationship between Indigenous Peoples and their ocean environments. The relationship with ‘Sea Country’ features in many Aboriginal Australian tourism enterprises and results in unique and highly valued tourism experiences, such as the award-winning Lirrwi Tourism in Arnhem Land, Northern Territory[17], and Walkabout Cultural Adventures on Kuku Yalanji Country, Queensland[18]. The 2007 United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples offers guidance on respecting and integrating Indigenous rights in coastal and marine tourism policies (see especially Articles 11 and 25)[19]. Decolonisation takes these efforts a step further and involves the repatriation of Indigenous lands, waters and lifeways. Examples include ‘canoe culture’ guidance in Hawai’i and the surfing programmes of Native Like Water in San Diego.

Canoe culture in Hawai’i is derived from the first law of the nation of Hawai’i: ‘canoe culture has guided decolonial visions’ as well as a 1973 water rights decision: ‘The right of the people to have the waters protected for their use demands adequate provision for traditional and customary Hawaiian rights, wildlife, maintenance of ecological balance and scenic beauty, and the preservation and enhancement of the waters’[20]. Such Indigenous law ways can act as decolonial guides for coastal and marine tourism policy and practices.

As Marc Chavez of Native Like Water explains, surfing started as an Indigenous activity in many places around the world, including Hawai’i, the Pacific coast of North America and Peru. In the area that became San Diego, Spanish colonisers displaced Native tribes from the coast to the desert, weakening their connection to the coastal environment. More recently, non-Indigenous people have appropriated surfing and commercialised it as an ‘industry’. Native Like Water is a programme for Native American youth ‘to reaffirm and re-establish our relationship with the ocean, with the waterways and the relationship with ourselves’[21]. This form of Indigenous tourism reconnects Indigenous youth to saltwater ecologies and works to revive their connections and custodianship[22].

Recommendations for ensuring more equitable coastal and marine tourism:

  • Develop policies and build programmes that ensure that the local community benefits from coastal and marine tourism opportunities. This includes meaningful consultation to ensure that coastal development and marine protection policies do not compromise communities’ enjoyment of their coasts but instead enhance community recreation and leisure. Support for community-owned businesses through grants and funding, particularly of micro and small enterprises, is needed to ensure that communities receive economic benefits from coastal tourism. Inclusive employment strategies are essential to ensure local community members’ access to job opportunities associated with coastal tourism developments.
  • Develop participatory approaches for equity in communities that are derived from best practice global guidelines but also customised to local knowledges and lifeways. Recent thinking on collaborative design (or co-design) builds relationships with communities, fosters intentions of stewardship and can be shaped to ensure that potentially marginalised groups are included in these dialogues[23].
  • Give careful attention to gender in tourism, using the UN World Tourism Organization’s Gender Mainstreaming Guidelines for the Public Sector in Tourism and Gender-Inclusive Strategy for Tourism Businesses[24].
  • Support citizen and community science and social science programmes to tap and also inform community knowledges and care for their local coastal and marine environments and thereby empower them for participatory approaches.
  • Respect and support Indigenous Peoples’ rights and responsibilities to protect coastal and marine environments. Governing authorities and businesses need to follow best practices in empowering Indigenous custodians of coastal and marine environments. Co-governance and Indigenous governance are emerging as successful approaches to marine ecosystem management[25]. Indigenous tourism operators should also be prioritised for business support to ensure that their contributions to coastal tourism interpretation are part of a vibrant, educative and sustainable marine tourism industry.
  • Develop programmes, supports and infrastructure for accessible and social tourism[26]. This is a pillar of equity and all stakeholders should commit themselves to achieving ‘tourism for all’.

Finally, reports from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change in 2022 suggest it is essential to prepare for future crises. Climate change effects on coastal environments threaten these ecosystems and the communities that depend on them. When we enact policies to prevent or remediate climate change, we need to consider just and equitable policy choices for the communities that call these places home.

—–

[1] World Bank, “What Is the Blue Economy?,” infographic, June 6, 2017, https://www.worldbank.org/en/news/infographic/2017/06/06/blue-economy.

[2] M.B. Orams and M. Lück, “Coastal and Marine Tourism,” in The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Tourism, edited by A.A. Lew, C.M. Hall and A.M. Williams, 479–89 (Chichester, UK: John Wiley & Sons, 2014), https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118474648; quotation 488.

[3] N.J. Bennett, A.M. Cisneros-Montemayor, J. Blythe et al., “Towards a Sustainable and Equitable Blue Economy,” Nature Sustainability 2 (2019): 991–93, https://doi.org/10.1038/s41893-019-0404-1.

[4] A.M. Cisneros-Montemayor, M. Moreno-Báez, M. Voyer, E.H. Allison, W.W.L. Cheung, M. Hessing-Lewis, M.A. Oyinlola et al., “Social Equity and Benefits as the Nexus of a Transformative Blue Economy: A Sectoral Review of Implications,” Marine Policy 109 (2019): 103702, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.marpol.2019.103702; quotation 2.

[5] D. Dimitrovski, A. Lemmetyinen, L. Nieminen and T. Pohjola, “Understanding Coastal and Marine Tourism Sustainability: A Multi-stakeholder Analysis,” Journal of Destination Marketing and Management 19 (2021): 100554, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jdmm.2021.100554.

[6] F. Higgins-Desbiolles, “Socialising Tourism for Social and Ecological Justice after COVID-19,” Tourism Geographies 22, no. 3 (2020): 610–23, doi:10.1080/14616688.2020.1757748.

[7] F. Higgins-Desbiolles and B.C. Bigby, eds., The Local Turn in Tourism: Empowering Communities (Bristol, UK: Channel View, forthcoming).

[8] Key West Committee for Safer Cleaner Ships, “Ballot Language,” 2021, https://www.safercleanerships.com/ballot-language.

[9] No Grandi Navi, “What We Ask,” n.d., accessed 18 April 2022, http://www.nograndinavi.it/cosa-chiediamo-2/.

[10] K.W. Crenshaw, “On Intersectionality” (2016), https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-DW4HLgYPlA.

[11] A. Diekmann and S. McCabe, The Handbook of Social Tourism (Cheltenham, UK: Edward Elgar, 2020).

[12] K. Knight, “Region’s Beach Mats Key to Accessibility Tourism,” Moreton Daily, 24 June 2020, https://www.moretondaily.com.au/news/regions-beach-mats-key-to-accessibility-tourism.

[13] International Social Tourism Organisation, Tourism in Actions: 20 Examples of Social Policies & Programmes around the World, 2017, https://www.isto.international/wp-content/uploads/2019/12/EN_Tourism-in-actions-20-examples-of-social-policies-programmes-around-the-world.pdf; quotation 8–9.

[14] A. Albert, B. Balázs, E. Butkevičienė, K. Mayer and J. Perelló, “Citizen Social Science: New and Established Approaches to Participation in Social Research,” in The Science of Citizen Science, edited by K. Vohland, A. Land-Zastra, L. Ceccaroni, R. Lemmens, J. Perelló, M. Ponti, R. Samson and K. Wagenknecht, 119–38 (Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2021), https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-58278-4_7; quotation 119.

[15] Byron Way Pledge, “What’s the Byron Way Pledge?,” n.d., accessed 19 April 2022, https://www.byronpledge.com.au/about/.

[16] S. Thomas, D. Scheller and S. Schröder, “Co-creation in Citizen Social Science: The Research Forum as a Methodological Foundation for Communication and Participation,” Humanities Social Science Communications 8, no. 244 (2021), https://doi.org/10.1057/s41599-021-00902-x; quotation 1.

[17] Lirrwi Tourism, “About Lirrwi Tourism,” n.d., accessed 18 April 2022, https://www.lirrwitourism.com.au/about-us.

[18] Walkabout Cultural Adventures, “My Country,” n.d., accessed 18 April 2022, https://www.walkaboutadventures.com.au/my-country.html.

[19] United Nations, United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (2007), https://www.un.org/development/desa/indigenouspeoples/declaration-on-the-rights-of-indigenous-peoples.html.

[20] S. Ganaden, “Laws of the Canoe,” in Detours: A Decolonial Guide to Hawai’i, edited by H.K. Aikau and V.V. Gonzalez, 373–79 (Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 2019); quotation 377.

[21] Sea of Change, “Native Like Water,” n.d., accessed 4 April 2022, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rDKlakMubR0.

[22] A. Peters and F. Higgins-Desbiolles, “De-marginalising Tourism Research: Indigenous Australians as Tourists,” Journal of Hospitality and Tourism Management 19 (2012): 1–9, http://dx.doi.org/10.1017/S1839526012000077.

[23] J. Liburd, E. Duedahl and C. Heape, “Co-designing Tourism for Sustainable Development,” Journal of Sustainable Tourism (2020), doi:10.1080/09669582.2020.1839473.

[24] World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), Gender Mainstreaming Guidelines for the Public Sector in Tourism (Madrid: UNWTO, 2022), https://www.e-unwto.org/doi/book/10.18111/9789284423248; UNWTO, Gender-Inclusive Strategy for Tourism Businesses (Madrid: UNWTO, 2022), https://www.e-unwto.org/doi/10.18111/9789284423262.

[25] M. Parsons and L. Taylor, “Why Indigenous Knowledge Should Be an Essential Part of How We Govern the World’s Oceans,” The Conversation, 8 June 2021, https://theconversation.com/why-indigenous-knowledge-should-be-an-essential-part-of-how-we-govern-the-worlds-oceans-161649.

[26] See International Social Tourism Organisation, Tourism in Actions. Disability Support Guide, “Disability Accessible Travel and Tourism,” n.d., accessed 19 April 2022, https://www.disabilitysupportguide.com.au/information/article/disability-accessible-travel-and-tourism.

Close
back to top