Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: Le Royaume-Uni rejoint le groupe de haut niveau pour une économie océanique durable Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel lance un rapport sur le tourisme durable et les perspectives d'experts qui l'accompagnent Arrow Featured: Déclaration conjointe des dirigeants du panel sur l'océan à la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l'océan Arrow
Essai d'expert
Équité : faire en sorte que tout le monde puisse bénéficier du tourisme côtier et marin

Qu'est-ce qui a été efficace pour augmenter les bénéfices qui reviennent aux communautés locales, réduire les impacts du tourisme côtier et marin sur les communautés locales et éviter l'aggravation des inégalités ?

Dr. Fanny Douvere
Dr Fanny Douvere
Responsable du programme du patrimoine mondial marin de l'UNESCO

Construire des écosystèmes et des communautés équitables et résilients dans les sites marins du patrimoine mondial

L'évaluation mondiale des océans de l'ONU en 2021 indique que le rôle des communautés côtières est de plus en plus valorisé dans la conservation des océans et le tourisme marin durable dans le monde entier. En effet, les communautés locales jouent souvent un rôle essentiel dans la gestion des écosystèmes côtiers et marins tout en subissant le poids des impacts climatiques.

Alors que le tourisme côtier a le potentiel d'offrir des avantages, il peut également exercer une pression importante sur les ressources marines locales, qui peuvent déjà être rares. Le développement non durable du tourisme côtier, par exemple, nuit aux écosystèmes marins, entraînant une perte substantielle de biodiversité et des impacts négatifs sur les communautés locales qui dépendent de l'océan pour leur subsistance[1]. Les parties prenantes des communautés et groupes côtiers, y compris les communautés locales, les femmes ou les propriétaires traditionnels, ne sont souvent pas, ou pas suffisamment, inclus dans les décisions liées aux projets de développement du tourisme côtier et aux décisions de gestion qui auront un impact sur eux[2].

Le tourisme durable peut être une voie positive, en particulier s'il est bien intégré dans la protection et la conservation globales de la zone côtière. Le secteur du tourisme peut apporter une valeur économique et des opportunités importantes aux communautés locales et, s'il est géré de manière durable, apporter une contribution essentielle à la protection à long terme des sites. Les communautés sont plus susceptibles de mobiliser des ressources collectives et de protéger les sites touristiques côtiers et marins lorsque les avantages économiques sont équitablement répartis et reflètent leurs valeurs sociales et culturelles.

Sites du patrimoine mondial

La Convention du patrimoine mondial de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO) est l'un des systèmes de conservation les plus étendus au monde, protégeant à la fois les lieux naturels et culturels de « valeur universelle exceptionnelle ». La Liste du patrimoine mondial compte aujourd'hui 1 154 sites naturels et culturels, dont beaucoup sont des destinations touristiques prisées. La reconnaissance du patrimoine mondial s'accompagne de l'exigence de protéger durablement les sites les plus précieux du monde pour les générations futures. Les 50 sites marins inscrits sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO comptent parmi les eaux océaniques les plus productives et les plus diversifiées, et ils sont essentiels au maintien des moyens de subsistance des peuples autochtones et des communautés océaniques qui en dépendent.

État actuel

Des millions de personnes vivant dans les communautés côtières sont confrontées aux pressions du tourisme à grande échelle ou à la diminution des stocks de poissons due à la surpêche[3]. Cela peut compromettre la durabilité des moyens de subsistance basés sur les ressources et le bien-être des communautés côtières. En outre, les communautés locales peuvent ne pas recevoir une part équitable des avantages générés par les industries océaniques ou n'avoir pas voix au chapitre dans la prise de décision concernant les risques pour l'environnement marin et les ressources associées. S'ils ne profitent pas ou pas suffisamment de la ressource, ils supportent le coût de sa protection.

Les communautés résilientes qui bénéficient des écosystèmes marins, y compris sur les sites du patrimoine mondial, deviennent souvent les principaux défenseurs de la protection des écosystèmes côtiers et marins pour les générations futures. Cependant, l'infrastructure et les mécanismes nécessaires font souvent défaut pour filtrer de manière appropriée les avantages pour les communautés locales. Ces avantages potentiels pour les communautés locales pourraient inclure la création d'emplois et de revenus, l'amélioration des infrastructures au sein de la communauté et l'amélioration des connaissances et des compétences. Les mécanismes pour y parvenir comprennent des approches telles que les accords de partage des revenus, le paiement des services écosystémiques et les approches de cogestion. Le parc iSimangaliso Wetland en Afrique du Sud, par exemple, a créé des milliers d'emplois depuis son inscription au patrimoine mondial en 1999, dont la plupart sont dans le tourisme durable. Il a sorti des régions entières de la pauvreté et offre des opportunités d'emploi pour les jeunes.

Pour être un modèle de tourisme équitable et durable, les parties prenantes d'un projet doivent assurer le bien-être des communautés locales, y compris dans le processus de prise de décision, et à travers la protection de l'écosystème local.

Initiative pour les récifs résilients

Les récifs coralliens font partie des écosystèmes marins les plus diversifiés, attirant des touristes de plus de 100 pays à travers le monde[4]. La valeur sociale, culturelle et économique des récifs coralliens est estimée à 1 TP 3 000 milliards de dollars US[5]. Ces systèmes de récifs protègent les communautés côtières des inondations et de l'érosion tout en soutenant la pêche de subsistance et le tourisme locaux. La première évaluation scientifique mondiale de l'UNESCO des impacts du changement climatique sur les récifs coralliens du patrimoine mondial suggère que les 29 récifs coralliens inscrits au patrimoine mondial pourraient cesser de fonctionner comme des systèmes de récifs avant la fin du siècle dans des scénarios climatiques de statu quo[6]. Les impacts du changement climatique affectent tous les récifs coralliens du monde, de sorte que les revenus des communautés locales dans les zones touristiques seront également impactés dans la plupart des régions. Nous devons renforcer la résilience et aider les communautés à s'adapter au changement inévitable qui est déjà à nos portes. Nous pouvons le faire par le biais de politiques et d'approches équitables et justes, et en donnant aux communautés locales et autochtones les moyens de s'approprier leur avenir.

Pour être durable, le tourisme côtier et marin doit tenir compte des besoins des communautés locales et autochtones. L'objectif de développement durable 14 nous appelle à « conserver et utiliser durablement les océans, les mers et les ressources marines pour le développement durable ». Cela nécessite la participation active de divers utilisateurs de l'océan dans tous les secteurs pour développer une vision commune dans les processus de prise de décision.

Dans un effort pour résoudre ce problème, l'Initiative Récifs résilients a été mobilisée pour évaluer l'interface entre la nature et l'homme sur quatre premiers sites marins du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO à Palau, au Belize, en France et en Australie. Grâce à ce projet, qui est dirigé par la Great Barrier Reef Foundation avec une équipe internationale de partenaires, nous développons des stratégies de résilience des récifs qui adoptent une vision holistique de l'écosystème et des personnes vivant et bénéficiant du récif. Nous visons à développer une approche très innovante pour faire face au risque climatique et renforcer la résilience des communautés locales pour planifier différemment l'avenir. Un responsable de la résilience (CRO) a été nommé dans chacun des quatre sites pilotes du patrimoine mondial marin et est chargé de développer une stratégie intégrée d'adaptation au climat qui évalue non seulement la protection des écosystèmes mais aussi les besoins et les priorités des communautés locales. Le rôle du CRO est également de donner aux communautés locales les moyens de co-développer des solutions créatives pour s'adapter durablement aux circonstances environnementales changeantes afin de permettre à la nature et aux personnes de prospérer en plaçant leurs valeurs sociales, culturelles et économiques au premier plan. Il s'agit d'une approche holistique qui réunit tous les partenaires autour de la table et fixe des priorités dans un environnement en constante évolution où les tempêtes, les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes ou le blanchiment de masse deviendront de plus en plus intenses et fréquents. Ce travail contribue à donner aux communautés locales la propriété du récif et de l'écosystème local.

Côte de Ningaloo, Australie

L'un des quatre sites du patrimoine mondial, la côte de Ningaloo en Australie occidentale, possède l'un des plus longs récifs côtiers au monde et figure sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO depuis 2011. Le récif de Ningaloo accueille des centaines de milliers de touristes nationaux et internationaux. chaque année, apportant une valeur économique importante à la région.

Dans le cadre de l'initiative, une étude d'évaluation économique de la côte de Ningaloo a été menée pour la création d'une stratégie d'adaptation au changement climatique pour le récif. L'étude a montré qu'en 2018-2019, le récif a généré plus de 1 000 emplois durables pour la communauté locale et a contribué plus de 100 millions AU$ à l'économie de l'Australie occidentale. Le récif a également une valeur sociale et culturelle importante pour les propriétaires traditionnels de la région. En évaluant la contribution de la côte de Ningaloo à l'économie locale, l'initiative aide à soutenir le développement des stratégies d'adaptation et de gestion des risques climatiques du site du patrimoine mondial.

Un plan d'urgence de l'UNESCO visant à renforcer la résilience des récifs coralliens du patrimoine mondial en réduisant un mélange de pressions locales devrait aider à étendre le travail sur les récifs résilients à d'autres récifs inscrits au patrimoine mondial, avec une priorité pour ceux des pays en développement.

Les innombrables personnes et communautés qui dépendent du récif pour leur subsistance augmentent l'adhésion locale pour le protéger. Comme mentionné précédemment, les communautés sont plus susceptibles de protéger et de prendre soin des sites touristiques côtiers et marins lorsque les avantages économiques sont équitablement distribués à la communauté locale. Un tourisme durable et équitable peut soutenir les moyens de subsistance des communautés locales et assurer la protection et la conservation des zones côtières.

La Resilient Reefs Initiative est une collaboration entre la Great Barrier Reef Foundation, le Reef Resilience Network de The Nature Conservancy, le Center for Resilient Cities and Landscapes de l'Université de Columbia, Resilient Cities Catalyst, l'UNESCO et Architecture, Engineering, Construction, Operations, and Management (AECOM). L'initiative a un investissement de US$10 million et court jusqu'au printemps 2024[7].

Un tourisme équitable et durable peut soutenir les communautés locales

Le tourisme durable qui rapporte aux communautés locales est une approche très efficace pour garantir que chacun puisse bénéficier du tourisme côtier et marin. C'est une approche gagnant-gagnant pour l'homme et la nature. Lorsque les communautés locales reçoivent des avantages économiques de l'industrie du tourisme, cela profite souvent énormément à la conservation et à la protection des écosystèmes locaux. Ces modèles devraient être reproduits à l'échelle mondiale pour s'assurer que les valeurs sociales, culturelles, économiques et écologiques sont maintenues au sein des communautés locales et qu'elles sont habilitées à s'adapter aux circonstances changeantes résultant du réchauffement climatique.

—–

[1] AD Rogers, A. Aburto-Oropeza et al., Habitats critiques et biodiversité : inventaire, seuils et gouvernance, NSUWorks, Nova Southeastern University, mai 2020, https://nsuworks.nova.edu/occ_facreports/131.

[2] H. Österblom, CCC Wabnitz, D. Tladi et al., Vers l'équité des océans (Washington, DC : Institut des ressources mondiales, 2020), www.oceanpanel.org/how-distribute-benefits-ocean-equitably.

[3] N. Andrews, NJ Bennett, P. Le Billon, SJ Green, AM Cisneros-Montemayor, S. Amongin, NJ Gray et U. Rashid Sumaila, « Oil, Fisheries and Coastal Communities : A Review of Impacts on the Environment, Livelihoods, Espace et gouvernance », Énergie, recherche et sciences sociales 75 (2021), https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S221462962100102X.

[4] N. Knowlton et J. Jackson, « Coraux et récifs coralliens », dans Encyclopédie de la biodiversité, 2e éd., édité par SA Levin, 330–45 (Amsterdam : Elsevier, 2013) ; M. Spalding, L. Burke, SA Wood, J. Ashpole, J. Hutchison et P. Ermgassen, « Cartographie de la valeur et de la distribution mondiales du tourisme sur les récifs coralliens », Politique maritime 82 (2017): 104–13, https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0308597X17300635?via%3Dihub.

[5] SF Héron et al., Impacts du changement climatique sur les récifs coralliens du patrimoine mondial : une première évaluation scientifique mondiale (Paris, Centre du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, 2017), https://whc.unesco.org/document/158688.

[6] Héron et al., Impacts du changement climatique sur les récifs coralliens du patrimoine mondial.

[7] Convention du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, « Façonner l'avenir de l'adaptation au climat grâce à des récifs résilients », https://whc.unesco.org/en/reefresilience/.

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Equity: Ensuring Everyone Can Benefit from Coastal and Marine Tourism

What has been effective in increasing the benefits that flow to local communities, reducing the impacts of coastal and marine tourism on local communities and avoiding widening inequalities?

Dr. Fanny Douvere
Dr. Fanny Douvere
Head of UNESCO Marine World Heritage Programme

Building equitable and resilient ecosystems and communities in marine World Heritage sites

The UN’s World Ocean Assessment in 2021 states that the role of coastal communities is being increasingly valued in ocean conservation and sustainable marine tourism around the world. This is because local communities often play a critical role in the stewardship of the coast and marine ecosystems while experiencing the brunt of climate impacts.

While coastal tourism has the potential to deliver benefits, it can also put significant pressure on local marine resources, which may already be in short supply. Unsustainable coastal tourism development, for example, harms marine ecosystems, leading to substantial biodiversity loss and negative impacts to local communities that rely on the ocean for their livelihoods[1]. Stakeholders from coastal communities and groups, including local communities, women or traditional owners, are frequently not, or not adequately, included in decisions related to coastal tourism development projects and management decisions that will impact them[2].

Sustainable tourism can be a positive way forward, in particular if it is well integrated in the overall coastal zone protection and conservation of the area. The tourism sector can provide significant economic value and opportunities to local communities and, if sustainably managed, make a core contribution to the long-term protection of sites. Communities are more likely to mobilise collective resources and protect coastal and marine tourism sites when economic benefits are equitably distributed and reflect their social and cultural values.

World Heritage sites

The World Heritage Convention of the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is one of the most extensive conservation systems in the world, protecting both natural and cultural places of ‘outstanding universal value’. The World Heritage List counts today 1,154 natural and cultural sites, many which are popular tourist destinations. World Heritage recognition comes with the requirement to sustainably protect the world’s most valuable sites for future generations. The 50 marine sites on UNESCO’s World Heritage List are among the ocean’s most productive and diverse waters, and they are critical to sustaining the livelihoods of Indigenous people and ocean communities who depend on them.

Current state

Millions of people living in coastal communities are dealing with the pressures of large-scale tourism or dwindling fish stocks due to overfishing[3]. This can undermine the sustainability of resource-based livelihoods and the well-being of coastal communities. In addition, local communities may not receive an equitable share of the benefits that ocean industries generate, or have a voice in decision-making about the risks to the marine environment and associated resources. While they don’t benefit from the resource, or not sufficiently, they do bear the cost of protecting it.

Resilient communities that benefit from marine ecosystems, including at World Heritage sites, often become major advocates for the protection of coastal and marine ecosystems for future generations. However, the necessary infrastructure and mechanisms are often lacking to appropriately filter benefits to local communities. These potential benefits to local communities could include generating employment and income, improving infrastructure within the community and enhancing knowledge and skills. The mechanisms to achieve this include approaches such as revenue-sharing arrangements, payment for ecosystem services and co-management approaches. iSimangaliso Wetland Park in South Africa, for example, has created thousands of jobs since its World Heritage listing in 1999, most of which are in sustainable tourism. It has lifted entire areas out of poverty and offers opportunities for youth employment.

To be an equitable and sustainable tourism model, a project’s stakeholders should ensure the well-being of local communities, including in the decision-making process, and through protection of the local ecosystem.

Resilient Reefs Initiative

Coral reefs are some of the most diverse marine ecosystems, attracting tourists from over 100 countries worldwide[4]. The social, cultural and economic value of coral reefs is estimated to be US$1 trillion[5]. These reef systems protect coastal communities from flooding and erosion while also sustaining local subsistence fishing and tourism. UNESCO’s first global scientific assessment of climate change impacts on World Heritage coral reefs suggests that all 29 World Heritage–listed coral reefs might cease to function as reef systems before the end of the century under business-as-usual climate scenarios[6]. The impacts of climate change are affecting all coral reefs globally, so the revenues to local communities in tourist areas will also be impacted in most regions. We need to build resilience and help communities adapt to the inevitable change that is already upon us. We can do so through equitable and just policies and approaches, and by empowering local and indigenous communities to take ownership of their future.

To be sustainable, coastal and marine tourism must account for the needs of local and Indigenous communities. Sustainable Development Goal 14 calls for us to ‘conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development’. This requires the active participation of diverse ocean users across all sectors to develop a shared vision in decision-making processes.

In an effort to address this, the Resilient Reefs Initiative was mobilised to assess the interface between nature and people across an initial four UNESCO marine World Heritage sites in Palau, Belize, France and Australia. Through this project, which is led by the Great Barrier Reef Foundation along with an international team of partners, we are developing reef resilience strategies that take a holistic view of the ecosystem and people living and benefitting from the reef. We aim to develop a highly innovative approach to address climate risk and build the resilience of local communities to plan differently for the future. A chief resilience officer (CRO) has been appointed in each of the four pilot marine World Heritage sites and is tasked with developing an integrated climate adaptation strategy that assesses not only the protection of ecosystems but also the needs and priorities of the local communities. The CRO’s role is also to empower local communities to co-develop creative solutions to sustainably adapt to the changing environmental circumstances to allow both nature and people to thrive by placing their social, cultural and economic values first. It is a holistic approach that brings all partners to the table and sets priorities in an ever more rapidly changing environment where storms, extreme weather events or mass bleaching will become increasingly intense and frequent. This work helps to provide local communities with ownership of the reef and the local ecosystem.

Ningaloo Coast, Australia

One of the four World Heritage sites, the Ningaloo Coast in Western Australia, has one of the longest near-shore reefs in the world and has been on UNESCO’s World Heritage list since 2011. The Ningaloo Reef hosts hundreds of thousands of domestic and international tourists each year, providing significant economic value to the region.

As part of the initiative, an economic valuation study of the Ningaloo Coast was conducted for the creation of a climate change adaptation strategy for the reef. The study showed that in 2018–19, the reef generated over 1,000 sustainable jobs for the local community and contributed over AU$100 million to the economy in Western Australia. The reef also has important social and cultural value to traditional owners of the region. By assessing the contribution of the Ningaloo Coast to the local economy, the initiative helps support the development of the World Heritage site’s climate risk and adaptation strategies.

A UNESCO emergency plan to boost resilience of World Heritage coral reefs by reducing a mix of local pressures is expected to help extend the Resilient Reefs work to other World Heritage–listed reefs, with a priority for those in developing countries.

The countless people and communities dependent on the reef for their livelihood increase local buy-in to protect it. As previously mentioned, communities are more likely to protect and take care of coastal and marine tourism sites when economic benefits are fairly distributed to the local community. Sustainable and equitable tourism can support the livelihoods of local communities as well as ensure coastal zone protection and conservation.

The Resilient Reefs Initiative is a collaboration between the Great Barrier Reef Foundation, The Nature Conservancy’s Reef Resilience Network, Columbia University’s Center for Resilient Cities and Landscapes, Resilient Cities Catalyst, UNESCO and Architecture, Engineering, Construction, Operations, and Management (AECOM). The initiative has an investment of US$10 million and runs until spring 2024[7].

Equitable and sustainable tourism can support local communities

Sustainable tourism that provides a return to local communities is a highly effective approach to ensuring that everyone can benefit from coastal and marine tourism. It is a win-win approach for both people and nature. When local communities receive economic benefits from the tourism industry, it often hugely benefit the conservation and protection of local ecosystems. These models should be replicated on a global scale to ensure that social, cultural, economic and ecological values are upheld within local communities and they are empowered to adapt to the changing circumstances resulting from global warming.

—–

[1] A.D. Rogers, A. Aburto-Oropeza et al., Critical Habitats and Biodiversity: Inventory, Thresholds and Governance, NSUWorks, Nova Southeastern University, May 2020, https://nsuworks.nova.edu/occ_facreports/131.

[2] H. Österblom, C.C.C. Wabnitz, D. Tladi et al., Towards Ocean Equity (Washington, DC: World Resources Institute, 2020), www.oceanpanel.org/how-distribute-benefits-ocean-equitably.

[3] N. Andrews, N.J. Bennett, P. Le Billon, S.J. Green, A.M. Cisneros-Montemayor, S. Amongin, N.J. Gray and U. Rashid Sumaila, “Oil, Fisheries and Coastal Communities: A Review of Impacts on the Environment, Livelihoods, Space and Governance,” Energy, Research & Social Science 75 (2021), https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S221462962100102X.

[4] N. Knowlton and J. Jackson, “Corals and Coral Reefs,” in Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, 2nd ed., edited by S.A. Levin, 330–45 (Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2013); M. Spalding, L. Burke, S.A. Wood, J. Ashpole, J. Hutchison and P. Ermgassen, “Mapping the Global Value and Distribution of Coral Reef Tourism,” Marine Policy 82 (2017): 104–13, https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0308597X17300635?via%3Dihub.

[5] S.F. Heron et al., Impacts of Climate Change on World Heritage Coral Reefs: A First Global Scientific Assessment (Paris, UNESCO World Heritage Centre, 2017), https://whc.unesco.org/document/158688.

[6] Heron et al., Impacts of Climate Change on World Heritage Coral Reefs.

[7] UNESCO World Heritage Convention, “Shaping the Future of Climate Adaptation through Resilient Reefs,” https://whc.unesco.org/en/reefresilience/.

Close
back to top