Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
公平:确保每个人都能从沿海和海洋旅游中受益

什么在增加流向当地社区的利益、减少沿海和海洋旅游对当地社区的影响以及避免扩大不平等方面是有效的?

Dr. Fanny Douvere
范妮·杜维尔博士
联合国教科文组织海洋世界遗产项目负责人

在海洋世界遗产地建设公平和有弹性的生态系统和社区

联合国 2021 年世界海洋评估指出,沿海社区在全球海洋保护和可持续海洋旅游中的作用越来越受到重视。这是因为当地社区经常在管理海岸和海洋生态系统方面发挥关键作用,同时首当其冲地受到气候影响。

虽然沿海旅游有可能带来好处,但它也可能对可能已经供不应求的当地海洋资源造成巨大压力。例如,不可持续的沿海旅游开发会损害海洋生态系统,导致大量生物多样性丧失,并对依赖海洋为生的当地社区造成负面影响[1].沿海社区和团体的利益相关者,包括当地社区、妇女或传统所有者,经常没有或没有充分参与与沿海旅游开发项目相关的决策和将影响他们的管理决策[2].

可持续旅游业可以成为一种积极的前进方式,特别是如果它很好地融入了该地区的整体沿海地区保护和养护。旅游业可以为当地社区提供重要的经济价值和机会,如果得到可持续管理,可以为遗址的长期保护做出核心贡献。当经济利益得到公平分配并反映其社会和文化价值时,社区更有可能调动集体资源并保护沿海和海洋旅游景点。

世界遗产

联合国教育、科学及文化组织 (UNESCO) 的《世界遗产公约》是世界上最广泛的保护体系之一,保护具有“突出普遍价值”的自然和文化场所。今天,世界遗产名录包括 1,154 个自然和文化遗址,其中许多是受欢迎的旅游目的地。世界遗产的认可伴随着为子孙后代可持续保护世界上最有价值的遗址的要求。联合国教科文组织世界遗产名录中的 50 个海洋遗址是海洋中生产力最高、种类最多的水域之一,它们对于维持依赖它们的土著人民和海洋社区的生计至关重要。

当前状态

生活在沿海社区的数百万人正在应对大规模旅游或过度捕捞导致鱼类资源减少的压力[3].这可能会破坏以资源为基础的生计的可持续性和沿海社区的福祉。此外,当地社区可能无法公平分享海洋工业产生的利益,或在海洋环境和相关资源风险的决策中拥有发言权。虽然他们没有从资源中受益,或者没有充分受益,但他们确实承担了保护资源的成本。

受益于海洋生态系统的复原力社区,包括在世界遗产地的社区,往往成为为子孙后代保护沿海和海洋生态系统的主要倡导者。然而,通常缺乏必要的基础设施和机制来适当地过滤当地社区的利益。这些对当地社区的潜在好处可能包括创造就业和收入、改善社区内的基础设施以及提高知识和技能。实现这一目标的机制包括收入分享安排、生态系统服务付费和共同管理等方法。例如,自 1999 年列入世界遗产名录以来,南非的 iSimangaliso 湿地公园已经创造了数千个就业机会,其中大部分是可持续旅游业。它使整个地区摆脱了贫困,并为青年就业提供了机会。

为了成为一个公平和可持续的旅游模式,项目的利益相关者应确保当地社区的福祉,包括在决策过程中,并通过保护当地生态系统。

弹性珊瑚礁倡议

珊瑚礁是最多样化的海洋生态系统之一,吸引了来自全球 100 多个国家的游客[4].珊瑚礁的社会、文化和经济价值估计为US$1万亿[5].这些珊瑚礁系统保护沿海社区免受洪水和侵蚀,同时也维持当地的自给捕鱼和旅游业。联合国教科文组织对气候变化对世界遗产珊瑚礁影响的首次全球科学评估表明,在一切照旧的气候情景下,所有 29 个列入世界遗产名录的珊瑚礁可能会在本世纪末之前停止作为珊瑚礁系统发挥作用[6].气候变化的影响正在影响全球所有珊瑚礁,因此旅游区当地社区的收入也将在大多数地区受到影响。我们需要建立复原力并帮助社区适应已经发生在我们身上的不可避免的变化。我们可以通过公平公正的政策和方法,并通过授权当地和土著社区掌握他们的未来来做到这一点。

为了可持续发展,沿海和海洋旅游必须考虑当地和土著社区的需求。可持续发展目标 14 呼吁我们“保护和可持续利用海洋和海洋资源以实现可持续发展”。这需要所有部门的不同海洋用户的积极参与,以在决策过程中形成共同愿景。

为了解决这个问题,弹性珊瑚礁倡议被调动起来,在帕劳、伯利兹、法国和澳大利亚的四个联合国教科文组织海洋世界遗产地中评估自然与人之间的相互作用。通过这个由大堡礁基金会和一个国际合作伙伴团队领导的项目,我们正在制定珊瑚礁恢复战略,以全面了解生态系统以及生活在珊瑚礁中并从中受益的人们。我们的目标是开发一种高度创新的方法来应对气候风险,并增强当地社区的应变能力,以便为未来做出不同的规划。四个试点海洋世界遗产地中的每一个都任命了一名首席复原力官 (CRO),负责制定综合气候适应战略,该战略不仅评估生态系统的保护,还评估当地社区的需求和优先事项。 CRO 的作用还在于授权当地社区共同开发创造性的解决方案,以可持续地适应不断变化的环境环境,通过将社会、文化和经济价值放在首位,让自然和人类共同繁荣发展。这是一种整体方法,将所有合作伙伴带到谈判桌前,并在风暴、极端天气事件或大规模白化将变得越来越激烈和频繁的环境中确定优先事项。这项工作有助于为当地社区提供珊瑚礁和当地生态系统的所有权。

澳大利亚宁格鲁海岸

四个世界遗产地之一,西澳大利亚的宁格鲁海岸,拥有世界上最长的近岸珊瑚礁之一,自 2011 年以来一直被联合国教科文组织列入世界遗产名录。宁格鲁珊瑚礁接待了数十万国内外游客每年,为该地区带来巨大的经济价值。

作为该倡议的一部分,对宁格鲁海岸进行了经济评估研究,以制定针对珊瑚礁的气候变化适应战略。研究表明,在 2018-19 年,珊瑚礁为当地社区创造了 1,000 多个可持续就业岗位,并为西澳大利亚的经济贡献了超过 AU$1 亿。珊瑚礁对该地区的传统所有者也具有重要的社会和文化价值。通过评估宁格鲁海岸对当地经济的贡献,该倡议有助于支持世界遗产地的气候风险和适应战略的发展。

联合国教科文组织的一项紧急计划旨在通过减少当地的各种压力来提高世界遗产珊瑚礁的复原力,预计这将有助于将复原力珊瑚礁的工作扩展到其他列入世界遗产名录的珊瑚礁,优先考虑发展中国家的珊瑚礁。

依赖珊瑚礁谋生的无数人和社区增加了当地的支持以保护它。如前所述,当经济利益公平分配给当地社区时,社区更有可能保护和照顾沿海和海洋旅游景点。可持续和公平的旅游业可以支持当地社区的生计,并确保沿海地区的保护和养护。

弹性珊瑚礁倡议是大堡礁基金会、大自然保护协会的珊瑚礁弹性网络、哥伦比亚大学弹性城市和景观中心、弹性城市催化剂、联合国教科文组织和建筑、工程、施工、运营和管理 (AECOM) 之间的合作。该计划投资 $1000 万美元,运行至 2024 年春季[7].

公平和可持续的旅游业可以支持当地社区

为当地社区提供回报的可持续旅游是确保每个人都能从沿海和海洋旅游中受益的一种非常有效的方法。这是人与自然双赢的方法。当当地社区从旅游业中获得经济利益时,往往会极大地有利于当地生态系统的保护和保护。这些模式应在全球范围内复制,以确保当地社区维护社会、文化、经济和生态价值,并使其能够适应全球变暖导致的不断变化的环境。

—–

[1] AD Rogers, A. Aburto-Oropeza 等人, 关键生境和生物多样性:清单、阈值和治理,NSUWorks,新星东南大学,2020 年 5 月,https://nsuworks.nova.edu/occ_facreports/131。

[2] H. Österblom、CCC Wabnitz、D. Tladi 等人, 迈向海洋股权 (华盛顿特区:世界资源研究所,2020 年),www.oceanpanel.org/how-distribute-benefits-ocean-equitably。

[3] N. Andrews, NJ Bennett, P. Le Billon, SJ Green, AM Cisneros-Montemayor, S. Alson, NJ Gray 和 U. Rashid Sumaila,“石油、渔业和沿海社区:对环境、生计影响的回顾,空间与治理,” 能源、研究与社会科学 75(2021),https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S221462962100102X。

[4] N. Knowlton 和 J. Jackson,“珊瑚和珊瑚礁”,在 生物多样性百科全书,第 2 版,由 SA Levin 编辑,330–45(阿姆斯特丹:Elsevier,2013 年); M. Spalding、L. Burke、SA Wood、J. Ashpole、J. Hutchison 和 P. Ermgassen,“绘制珊瑚礁旅游的全球价值和分布”, 海洋政策 82 (2017): 104–13, https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0308597X17300635?via%3Dihub.

[5] SF Heron 等人, 气候变化对世界遗产珊瑚礁的影响:第一次全球科学评估 (巴黎,联合国教科文组织世界遗产中心,2017 年),https://whc.unesco.org/document/158688。

[6] 苍鹭等人, 气候变化对世界遗产珊瑚礁的影响.

[7] 联合国教科文组织世界遗产公约,“通过弹性珊瑚礁塑造气候适应的未来”,https://whc.unesco.org/en/reefresilience/。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Equity: Ensuring Everyone Can Benefit from Coastal and Marine Tourism

What has been effective in increasing the benefits that flow to local communities, reducing the impacts of coastal and marine tourism on local communities and avoiding widening inequalities?

Dr. Fanny Douvere
Dr. Fanny Douvere
Head of UNESCO Marine World Heritage Programme

Building equitable and resilient ecosystems and communities in marine World Heritage sites

The UN’s World Ocean Assessment in 2021 states that the role of coastal communities is being increasingly valued in ocean conservation and sustainable marine tourism around the world. This is because local communities often play a critical role in the stewardship of the coast and marine ecosystems while experiencing the brunt of climate impacts.

While coastal tourism has the potential to deliver benefits, it can also put significant pressure on local marine resources, which may already be in short supply. Unsustainable coastal tourism development, for example, harms marine ecosystems, leading to substantial biodiversity loss and negative impacts to local communities that rely on the ocean for their livelihoods[1]. Stakeholders from coastal communities and groups, including local communities, women or traditional owners, are frequently not, or not adequately, included in decisions related to coastal tourism development projects and management decisions that will impact them[2].

Sustainable tourism can be a positive way forward, in particular if it is well integrated in the overall coastal zone protection and conservation of the area. The tourism sector can provide significant economic value and opportunities to local communities and, if sustainably managed, make a core contribution to the long-term protection of sites. Communities are more likely to mobilise collective resources and protect coastal and marine tourism sites when economic benefits are equitably distributed and reflect their social and cultural values.

World Heritage sites

The World Heritage Convention of the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is one of the most extensive conservation systems in the world, protecting both natural and cultural places of ‘outstanding universal value’. The World Heritage List counts today 1,154 natural and cultural sites, many which are popular tourist destinations. World Heritage recognition comes with the requirement to sustainably protect the world’s most valuable sites for future generations. The 50 marine sites on UNESCO’s World Heritage List are among the ocean’s most productive and diverse waters, and they are critical to sustaining the livelihoods of Indigenous people and ocean communities who depend on them.

Current state

Millions of people living in coastal communities are dealing with the pressures of large-scale tourism or dwindling fish stocks due to overfishing[3]. This can undermine the sustainability of resource-based livelihoods and the well-being of coastal communities. In addition, local communities may not receive an equitable share of the benefits that ocean industries generate, or have a voice in decision-making about the risks to the marine environment and associated resources. While they don’t benefit from the resource, or not sufficiently, they do bear the cost of protecting it.

Resilient communities that benefit from marine ecosystems, including at World Heritage sites, often become major advocates for the protection of coastal and marine ecosystems for future generations. However, the necessary infrastructure and mechanisms are often lacking to appropriately filter benefits to local communities. These potential benefits to local communities could include generating employment and income, improving infrastructure within the community and enhancing knowledge and skills. The mechanisms to achieve this include approaches such as revenue-sharing arrangements, payment for ecosystem services and co-management approaches. iSimangaliso Wetland Park in South Africa, for example, has created thousands of jobs since its World Heritage listing in 1999, most of which are in sustainable tourism. It has lifted entire areas out of poverty and offers opportunities for youth employment.

To be an equitable and sustainable tourism model, a project’s stakeholders should ensure the well-being of local communities, including in the decision-making process, and through protection of the local ecosystem.

Resilient Reefs Initiative

Coral reefs are some of the most diverse marine ecosystems, attracting tourists from over 100 countries worldwide[4]. The social, cultural and economic value of coral reefs is estimated to be US$1 trillion[5]. These reef systems protect coastal communities from flooding and erosion while also sustaining local subsistence fishing and tourism. UNESCO’s first global scientific assessment of climate change impacts on World Heritage coral reefs suggests that all 29 World Heritage–listed coral reefs might cease to function as reef systems before the end of the century under business-as-usual climate scenarios[6]. The impacts of climate change are affecting all coral reefs globally, so the revenues to local communities in tourist areas will also be impacted in most regions. We need to build resilience and help communities adapt to the inevitable change that is already upon us. We can do so through equitable and just policies and approaches, and by empowering local and indigenous communities to take ownership of their future.

To be sustainable, coastal and marine tourism must account for the needs of local and Indigenous communities. Sustainable Development Goal 14 calls for us to ‘conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development’. This requires the active participation of diverse ocean users across all sectors to develop a shared vision in decision-making processes.

In an effort to address this, the Resilient Reefs Initiative was mobilised to assess the interface between nature and people across an initial four UNESCO marine World Heritage sites in Palau, Belize, France and Australia. Through this project, which is led by the Great Barrier Reef Foundation along with an international team of partners, we are developing reef resilience strategies that take a holistic view of the ecosystem and people living and benefitting from the reef. We aim to develop a highly innovative approach to address climate risk and build the resilience of local communities to plan differently for the future. A chief resilience officer (CRO) has been appointed in each of the four pilot marine World Heritage sites and is tasked with developing an integrated climate adaptation strategy that assesses not only the protection of ecosystems but also the needs and priorities of the local communities. The CRO’s role is also to empower local communities to co-develop creative solutions to sustainably adapt to the changing environmental circumstances to allow both nature and people to thrive by placing their social, cultural and economic values first. It is a holistic approach that brings all partners to the table and sets priorities in an ever more rapidly changing environment where storms, extreme weather events or mass bleaching will become increasingly intense and frequent. This work helps to provide local communities with ownership of the reef and the local ecosystem.

Ningaloo Coast, Australia

One of the four World Heritage sites, the Ningaloo Coast in Western Australia, has one of the longest near-shore reefs in the world and has been on UNESCO’s World Heritage list since 2011. The Ningaloo Reef hosts hundreds of thousands of domestic and international tourists each year, providing significant economic value to the region.

As part of the initiative, an economic valuation study of the Ningaloo Coast was conducted for the creation of a climate change adaptation strategy for the reef. The study showed that in 2018–19, the reef generated over 1,000 sustainable jobs for the local community and contributed over AU$100 million to the economy in Western Australia. The reef also has important social and cultural value to traditional owners of the region. By assessing the contribution of the Ningaloo Coast to the local economy, the initiative helps support the development of the World Heritage site’s climate risk and adaptation strategies.

A UNESCO emergency plan to boost resilience of World Heritage coral reefs by reducing a mix of local pressures is expected to help extend the Resilient Reefs work to other World Heritage–listed reefs, with a priority for those in developing countries.

The countless people and communities dependent on the reef for their livelihood increase local buy-in to protect it. As previously mentioned, communities are more likely to protect and take care of coastal and marine tourism sites when economic benefits are fairly distributed to the local community. Sustainable and equitable tourism can support the livelihoods of local communities as well as ensure coastal zone protection and conservation.

The Resilient Reefs Initiative is a collaboration between the Great Barrier Reef Foundation, The Nature Conservancy’s Reef Resilience Network, Columbia University’s Center for Resilient Cities and Landscapes, Resilient Cities Catalyst, UNESCO and Architecture, Engineering, Construction, Operations, and Management (AECOM). The initiative has an investment of US$10 million and runs until spring 2024[7].

Equitable and sustainable tourism can support local communities

Sustainable tourism that provides a return to local communities is a highly effective approach to ensuring that everyone can benefit from coastal and marine tourism. It is a win-win approach for both people and nature. When local communities receive economic benefits from the tourism industry, it often hugely benefit the conservation and protection of local ecosystems. These models should be replicated on a global scale to ensure that social, cultural, economic and ecological values are upheld within local communities and they are empowered to adapt to the changing circumstances resulting from global warming.

—–

[1] A.D. Rogers, A. Aburto-Oropeza et al., Critical Habitats and Biodiversity: Inventory, Thresholds and Governance, NSUWorks, Nova Southeastern University, May 2020, https://nsuworks.nova.edu/occ_facreports/131.

[2] H. Österblom, C.C.C. Wabnitz, D. Tladi et al., Towards Ocean Equity (Washington, DC: World Resources Institute, 2020), www.oceanpanel.org/how-distribute-benefits-ocean-equitably.

[3] N. Andrews, N.J. Bennett, P. Le Billon, S.J. Green, A.M. Cisneros-Montemayor, S. Amongin, N.J. Gray and U. Rashid Sumaila, “Oil, Fisheries and Coastal Communities: A Review of Impacts on the Environment, Livelihoods, Space and Governance,” Energy, Research & Social Science 75 (2021), https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S221462962100102X.

[4] N. Knowlton and J. Jackson, “Corals and Coral Reefs,” in Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, 2nd ed., edited by S.A. Levin, 330–45 (Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2013); M. Spalding, L. Burke, S.A. Wood, J. Ashpole, J. Hutchison and P. Ermgassen, “Mapping the Global Value and Distribution of Coral Reef Tourism,” Marine Policy 82 (2017): 104–13, https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0308597X17300635?via%3Dihub.

[5] S.F. Heron et al., Impacts of Climate Change on World Heritage Coral Reefs: A First Global Scientific Assessment (Paris, UNESCO World Heritage Centre, 2017), https://whc.unesco.org/document/158688.

[6] Heron et al., Impacts of Climate Change on World Heritage Coral Reefs.

[7] UNESCO World Heritage Convention, “Shaping the Future of Climate Adaptation through Resilient Reefs,” https://whc.unesco.org/en/reefresilience/.

Close
back to top