专家论文
规划:可持续海洋规划创新以激励向可持续沿海和海洋旅游的转变

规划工具和治理机制如何成为沿海和海洋旅游部门变革的催化剂?可以复制或扩展的创新示例有哪些?

Amy Trice
艾米特莱斯
海洋规划海洋保护局局长

海洋治理的复杂性

可持续的沿海和海洋旅游,即对自然和文化资源和系统的非消耗性利用,为保护和保存生物多样性和文化提供了机会,同时支持当地和土著经济[1].这种方法为各级政府提供了一种工具,可以避免保护或利用来支持经济的二元选择。任何政府都面临的挑战是有效地平衡旅游业,确保保护自然和文化系统不仅是为了金钱利益,而且是为了它们提供的生存、生存或文化价值。

在综合海洋管理的背景下推进可持续旅游业的首要挑战是海洋治理是复杂的、多尺度的和分散的。专属经济区受国家法律的约束,然后在每个国家内由管理机构和管理这些机构的法律进一步细分。沿海地区可能进一步受到地区、州或地方当局及其各个机构和部门的管辖。这些部门为支持社区、经济和健康生态系统的整体管理带来了挑战。对于考虑可持续沿海和海洋旅游的社区、地区或国家而言,综合方法对于平衡人民的需求和价值以及其他现有用途和生态系统需求至关重要,以确保旅游业不会导致过度开发。随着对海洋和沿海空间的竞争日益激烈,以及与气候变化相关的新的和预期的挑战,比以往任何时候都更需要一种综合方法。可持续沿海和海洋旅游规划必须考虑这些海洋治理问题、竞争性海洋利用、过度开发风险以及气候变化的挑战,以限制对社区、文化和生态系统的影响,同时为旅游创造适当的空间并平衡其需求。理想情况下,一个明确的法律结构概述了旅游业的价值(生态、文化、公平、经济),作为更广泛的、新的综合海洋管理立法的一部分而被采纳,可以为确定和推进目标和目的提供方向。然而,正如美国在州和联邦层面所证明的那样,新立法通常难以通过和实施,因此近期的替代方案包括解释现有法律[2] 采取综合管理办法,增加现行法律规定,发布行政命令。

推进可持续沿海和海洋旅游的社会目标

如果发起综合海洋管理的社会和政府定义的价值之一是激励可持续的沿海和海洋旅游,那么第一步就是概述实现这一价值的目标和目标[3].与概述目标和目的相一致,与可持续旅游管理相关的初步行动包括推进旅游数据和信息的收集和传播;改善国家级机构和其他各级政府之间相关管理实体的协调,包括国际、国家、地区、州、部落、土著或地方政府;让利益相关者、社区、土著人民和公众参与进来;定义一个工作定义 可持续旅游;并评估可能影响旅游业的潜在海洋使用冲突。然后可以通过促进娱乐、访问、公平、使用、可持续性和保护等主题来定义可持续旅游,并采取政策。通过有意义的参与和生态系统需求定义由社区价值观驱动的相关政策将创建一个规划和治理方案,其中社区投资和可持续发展得到推进。

来自科学、传统和土著知识、地方知识和人类活动部门的可用证据将为目标和目标提供信息。发展对可用知识的理解和基线势在必行。这种理解还包括分析沿海和海洋旅游的当前和未来趋势,这些趋势会因国家、地点、基线知识水平和制度结构而异。随着知识可用性的变化,政策必须建立灵活性和适应性。让社区、原住民、海洋使用者和公众参与到对当前知识状态的分析中是成功规划过程的关键,因为这些群体将看到他们的知识和人类活动信息反映在治理框架中。这种参与和对框架的相关支持反过来又加强了政治意愿和机构领导力。

尽管美国于 2021 年加入海洋专家组并承诺到 2026 年制定这样的计划,但美国尚未全面制定国家综合海洋管理计划。然而,美国已经有两个已完成的区域海洋计划,以及许多可以在地方、州或地区层面推广的创新方法和解决方案。一些例子已经被纳入州和地区的海洋计划。美国在制定综合海洋管理计划方面面临的挑战将是适当扩展这些解决方案,以在全国范围内定义可持续的海洋和沿海旅游。

可扩展以促进可持续旅游业的创新治理和规划解决方案示例

  • 利用调查让当地社区参与规划:休闲划船是美国东北部的一项热门活动[4]. 2012 年启动东北海洋计划时,关于这一重要海洋利用的空间活动的信息很少。这一巨大的数据差距使得评估与其他用途(例如海上风电开发)的潜在冲突或协同作用具有挑战性。与划船行业、各州和美国海岸警卫队的代表合作发起的一项针对东北部休闲划船者的调查访问了活动数据,并绘制了可在东北海洋数据门户上查看的热门休闲划船地点的地图。划船者提供了有关休闲划船的空间范围和经济价值的宝贵信息,以及划船者对与其他用途的冲突或协同作用的看法。对冲浪、皮划艇、游泳、浮潜、野生动物观赏和潜水等其他休闲活动也进行了类似的调查。东北海洋计划根据这些调查概述了该地区的娱乐活动,并将对沿海管理者考虑的重要政策联系起来。例如,海滩和沙丘侵蚀是沿海洪水的原因和结果,是一个主要的区域问题。然后,可以考虑对海岸恢复力解决方案进行全面评估,因为管理人员正在努力平衡扩大的海滩所带来的增强风暴保护、经济、娱乐和旅游效益,以及环境和其他潜在影响以及在岸上清除、运输和放置沙子的成本[5].

关键创新: 休闲用户调查为分析休闲活动提供了一个低成本模型,因为可持续海洋和沿海旅游业的政策得到了定义,同时提供了让这些社区参与规划过程的额外好处。

  • 促进公平的沿海准入:可持续的娱乐和旅游应包括在不与部落或土著权利和使用冲突的情况下获取自然资源的公共权利。还应考虑维持生计捕鱼和获取食物等活动,特别注意记录较少的用途,例如城市地区的码头捕鱼。例如,加利福尼亚州不需要从公共码头钓鱼的许可证[6].在罗德岛州,采集海藻的权利由 1843 年的原始州宪法保障。然而,尽管有这些类型的权利,但海滨房主通常会限制和阻止公众进入海滩。在罗德岛,对沿海地区的活动具有管辖权的州政府机构沿海资源管理委员会通过发布公园、野生动物保护区、海滩、渔场、船坡道、小径和沿岸景观的指南,促进公众进入海岸线。海岸。该指南包括有用的信息,包括在哪里找到通道、停车位的可用性和残疾人士的无障碍环境。此外,罗德岛公共交通管理局提供前往多个热门海滩的巴士。一项名为“海滩巴士”的快速服务在夏季运行。公共交通的可用性是确保所有社区都能公平使用海滩的关键。

关键创新:政府可以通过直接让社区参与、指定出入地点、提供信息、提供公共交通和让当地居民负担得起停车费,促进公众公平地进入海滩和捕鱼区。 

  • 规划 气候适应力以保护历史遗迹和文化传统: Gullah/Geechee 人传统上居住在北卡罗来纳州、南卡罗来纳州、乔治亚州和佛罗里达州的沿海地区和海岛[7]. 2021 年,美国环境保护署 (EPA) 通过 EPA 的“可持续社区构建模块”计划向 Gullah/Geechee 国家的圣赫勒拿岛提供技术援助[8].景观设计师为圣赫勒拿岛 Gullah/Geechee Living Landscape 创建了效果图。这些效果图提供了一个绿色基础设施项目网络的视觉示例,圣赫勒拿岛和南卡罗来纳州博福特县的 Gullah/Geechee 社区打算开发这些项目。这些项目将缓冲风暴潮并减轻海平面上升的影响,同时保护当地的粮食生产、历史遗迹和文化传统。这项工作将与社区成员合作,对整个岛屿的绿色基础设施项目进行资产映射,巩固行动计划并连接资金来源,以在社区和屏障岛建立气候适应力。 Gullah/Geechee Living Landscape 将突出地点之间的联系,为每个地点设定明确的复原力目标,并与县和州合作,确保在计划和政策中体现出适合文化的气候适应解决方案。

关键创新: 政府可以直接与传统和土著社区接触并为其提供资金,以共同发展文化上适当的气候变化复原力。气候复原力规划也可以用作高级别的协调政策,在社区确定他们对可持续旅游业的接受度、兴趣和价值观时,进一步让他们参与进来。

  • 在海洋和海岸保护中连接文化和海洋遗产:国家海洋和大气管理局管理着超过 620,000 平方英里的海洋和五大湖水域网络。该网络包括 15 个海洋保护区以及 Papahānaumokuākea、玫瑰环礁、东北峡谷和海山、太平洋偏远岛屿和马里亚纳海沟海洋国家纪念碑。夏威夷群岛座头鲸国家海洋保护区通过与海洋保护相适应的水上活动来鼓励负责任和可持续的旅游,包括划船、浮潜、皮划艇、休闲钓鱼和观鲸。合作项目评估和监测座头鲸的数量、鲸鱼的分布和数量、鲸鱼的行为和潜在的人类影响。计划还支持搁浅反应和公民科学努力。座头鲸,在夏威夷语中称为 koholā,是夏威夷原住民历史、传说和与海洋联系的重要组成部分。保护区的管理决策考虑了夏威夷的文化和海洋遗产,这也反映在保护区的具体管理计划和目标中,包括活文化传统行动计划[9].任何国家海洋保护区都需要的管理计划[10],旨在成为总结现有计划和法规的特定于站点的文件;阐明愿景、目的、目的和优先事项;并确保公众参与管理过程。

关键创新:与尊重一个地区的文化和海洋历史的土著合作伙伴和当地社区合作研究可以使信息更加全面,避免冲突,保护重要的栖息地和文化区,并支持可持续的海洋旅游。海洋和沿海保护管理计划应反映与土著社区的直接接触。

  • 在私人和公共土地上定义缅因州水道:在东北部的缅因州海岸附近,该州拥有大约 1,300 个无人居住的沿海岛屿,其中一些只是小岩石露头。在 1980 年代中期,该州与非营利组织 Island Institute 合作,评估这些房产的娱乐潜力。他们确定适合娱乐用途的公共岛屿成为原始缅因岛小径的基础,现在是一条 375 英里的水道,供划桨手、水手、摩托艇爱好者和环保主义者使用,延伸缅因州海岸的长度。它连接了 250 多个野生岛屿和大陆站点,可供日间使用或过夜露营。在某些地方,土地所有者允许访问他们的财产,相信缅因岛步道协会成员和其他用户将在他们访问期间担任负责任的管家。水上步道由协会运营,该协会是一个致力于保护和享受这些野生岛屿的非营利组织,其理念是让步道的使用者成为岛屿管家[11].缅因岛步道建立在与场地所有者合作的基础上,从私人土地所有者到非营利组织以及联邦、州和地方机构。缅因岛步道协会维护一个应用程序和步道位置指南。

关键创新:以水道的形式对可持续旅游采取统一的方法,组织访问并为活动设定标准,可以促进该地区的活动,提高意识,联系合作伙伴并激发对宝贵娱乐资源的保护。

—–

[1] “沿海和海洋旅游业是可持续的、有弹性的、应对气候变化、减少污染、支持生态系统再生和生物多样性保护,并投资于当地就业和社区。”可持续海洋经济高级别小组(海洋小组), 可持续海洋经济的转型, https://www.oceanpanel.org/ocean-action/files/transformations-sustainable-ocean-economy-eng.pdf。

[2] 有关解决分裂和尊重不同级别政府的方法的示例,请参见沿海区管理法 (CZMA)。 CZMA 提供国家利益,并使各个州能够实现国家利益的目标; https://coast.noaa.gov/czm/act/。

[3] 如需帮助定义适当的目标和目的,请参阅 C. Ehler 和 F. Douvere。 海洋空间规划:循序渐进的基于生态系统的管理方法, 政府间海洋学委员会和人与生物圈计划, IOC 手册和指南 no. 53, ICAM Dossier no. 6(巴黎:联合国教科文组织,2009 年)。

[4] 休闲划船调查描述了从缅因州到纽约的 373,766 名海上划船者的休闲划船活动。该调查详细绘制了该地区的划船路线图。经济分析显示,2012 年,907,000 次海上划船旅行创造了约 $35 亿美元,相当于近 27,000 个全年就业岗位。

[5] 见东北海洋规划, 东北海洋计划, 2016, https://neoceanplanning.org/plan/。

[6] 加利福尼亚州的公共码头在法律上有一个特殊的名称。加利福尼亚州法规第 14 篇第 1.88 节,https://wildlife.ca.gov/Fishing/Ocean/Beach-Fishing。

[7] Gullah/Geechee 国家,https://gullahgeecheenation.com。

[8] 美国环境保护署,“可持续社区的基石”,https://www.epa.gov/smartgrowth/building-blocks-sustainable-communities。

[9] 夏威夷群岛座头鲸国家海洋保护区, 2020年经营计划, https://hawaiihumpbackwhale.noaa.gov/management/management-plan.html。

[10] 参见《国家海洋保护区法》,https://nmssanctuaries.blob.core.windows.net/sanctuaries-prod/media/archive/library/national/nmsa.pdf;和国家海洋保护区,“管理 101”,https://sanctuaries.noaa.gov/management/mgt101.html。

[11] 缅因岛步道协会,https://mita.org/。

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Planning: Innovation in Sustainable Ocean Planning to Incentivize a Shift to Sustainable Coastal and Marine Tourism

How have planning instruments and governance mechanisms been a catalyst for change in the coastal and marine tourist sector? What are examples of innovation that could be replicated or scaled?

Amy Trice
Amy Trice
Director, Ocean Planning Ocean Conservancy

The complexity of ocean governance

Sustainable coastal and marine tourism, the non-consumptive use of natural and cultural resources and systems, provides an opportunity to protect and conserve biodiversity and culture while supporting local and Indigenous economies[1]. This approach offers a tool to governments at all scales to avoid the binary choice of protect or exploit to support economies. The challenge for any government is to balance tourism effectively ensuring that natural and cultural systems are protected not simply for monetary gain but for the existential, subsistence or cultural values they provide.

The overarching challenge to advancing sustainable tourism in the context of integrated ocean management is that ocean governance is complex, multi-scale and fragmented. Exclusive economic zones are subject to national laws and then further subdivided within each nation by management agencies and the laws governing those agencies. Coastal areas may be further subject to regional, state or local authorities and their various agencies and departments. These divisions create challenges for holistic management to support communities, economies and healthy ecosystems. For communities, regions or nations considering sustainable coastal and marine tourism, a comprehensive approach is critical to balance the needs and values of the people as well as other existing uses and ecosystem needs to ensure that tourism does not lead to overexploitation. With ever-increasing competition for ocean and coastal space coupled with new and anticipated challenges related to climate change, an integrated approach is needed more than ever. Planning for sustainable coastal and marine tourism must consider these ocean governance issues, competing ocean uses, overexploitation risks, and the challenges of climate change to limit impacts to communities, cultures and ecosystems while simultaneously creating appropriate space for tourism and balancing its needs.Ideally, a clear legal structure outlining the values (ecological, cultural, equity, economic) for a visitor industry, adopted as part of broader, new legislation for integrated ocean management, can provide direction for defining and advancing goals and objectives. Yet, as demonstrated in the United States at both the state and federal levels, new legislation is often difficult to adopt and implement, so near-term alternatives include interpreting existing law[2] to take an integrated management approach, adding provisions to existing laws, and issuing administrative orders.

Advancing the societal goal of sustainable coastal and marine tourism

If one of the values defined by a society and government initiating integrated ocean management is to incentivise sustainable coastal and marine tourism, outlining goals and objectives to achieve this value is the first step[3]. In concert with outlining goals and objectives, initial actions relevant to sustainable tourism management include advancing collection and dissemination of tourism data and information; improving coordination of the relevant management entities among national-level agencies and at other levels of government, including international, national, regional, state, Tribal, Indigenous or local governments; engaging stakeholders, communities, Indigenous peoples and the public; defining a working definition of sustainable tourism; and evaluating potential ocean use conflicts that may impact tourism. Sustainable tourism can then be defined, and policies adopted, through themes such as advancing recreation, access, equity, use, sustainability and conservation. Defining relevant policies that are driven by community values through meaningful engagement and ecosystem needs will create a planning and governance scenario where communities are invested and sustainability is advanced.

Evidence available from science, Traditional and Indigenous knowledge, and local knowledge, and sectors of human activity will inform the goals and objectives. Developing an understanding and baseline of available knowledge is imperative. This understanding also includes analysing current and future trends for coastal and marine tourism, which will vary given the country, location, level of baseline knowledge and institutional structures. Policies must build in flexibility and adaptability as the availability of knowledge changes. Engaging communities, Indigenous peoples, ocean users and the public throughout analysis of the current state of knowledge is key to a successful planning process, as those groups will see their knowledge and human activity information reflected in the governance framework. This engagement and the associated support for the framework, in turn, reinforce political will and institutional leadership.

The United States has yet to fully develop a national, integrated ocean management plan, although the country joining the Ocean Panel in 2021 brought a commitment to develop such a plan by 2026. Two completed regional ocean plans already exist in the United States, however, as well as many innovative approaches and solutions that can be scaled at the local, state or regional levels. Some examples are already incorporated into state and regional ocean plans. The challenge for the United States in developing an integrated ocean management plan will be to scale these solutions appropriately to define sustainable ocean and coastal tourism nationally.

Examples of innovative governance and planning solutions that can be scaled to advance sustainable tourism

  • Using surveys to engage local communities in planning: Recreational boating is a popular activity in the Northeast United States[4]. When the Northeast Ocean Plan was initiated in 2012, minimal information existed on the spatial activity of this important ocean use. This significant data gap made it challenging to assess potential conflicts or synergies with other uses, such as offshore wind development. A survey of recreational boaters in the Northeast, initiated in partnership with representatives of the boating industry, states and the U.S. Coast Guard, accessed data on activity and developed maps of popular recreational boating locations that can be viewed on the Northeast Ocean Data Portal. Boaters provided valuable information about the spatial extent and economic value of recreational boating as well as boaters’ perspectives on conflicts or synergies with other uses. Similar surveys were conducted for other recreational activities such as surfing, kayaking, swimming, snorkelling, wildlife viewing and diving. The Northeast Ocean Plan outlines recreational activities in the region based on these surveys and links specific policies that are important for coastal managers to consider. For example, beach and dune erosion, both a cause and effect of coastal flooding, is a major regional issue. A full assessment of coastal resilience solutions could then be considered as mangers work to balance the enhanced storm protection, economic, recreational and tourism benefits provided by a widened beach weighing against the environmental and other potential effects and costs of removing, transporting and placing sand onshore[5].

Key innovation: Recreational user surveys offer a low-cost model for analysing recreational activities as policies for sustainable marine and coastal tourism are defined, while simultaneously offering the added benefit of engaging those communities in the planning process.

  • Facilitating equitable coastal access: Sustainable recreation and tourism should include the public right to access natural resources where it does not conflict with Tribal or Indigenous rights and uses. Activities such as subsistence fishing and food access should also be considered, with specific attention to less-documented uses such as pier fishing in urban areas. The state of California, for example, does not require a license to fish from public piers[6]. In the state of Rhode Island, the right to collect seaweed isguaranteed by the original 1843 state constitution. However, despite these types of rights, public access to beaches is often limited and discouraged by waterfront homeowners. In Rhode Island, the state agency with jurisdiction over activities in coastal areas, the Coastal Resources Management Council, facilitates public access to the shoreline by publishing a guide to parks, wildlife refuges, beaches, fishing sites, boat ramps, pathways and views along the coast. The guide includes useful information, including where to locate access, the availability of parking and accessibility for disabled people. In addition, the Rhode Island Public Transit Authority offers buses to a number of popular beaches. An express service called the ‘Beach Bus’ operates during the summer months. The availability of public transportation is key to ensuring beach access is equitable to all communities.

Key innovation: Government can facilitate equitable public access to beaches and fishing areas by engaging communities directly, designating access sites, making the information available, providing public transportation and making parking affordable for local residents. 

  • Planning for climate resilience to protect historic sites and cultural traditions: The Gullah/Geechee people have traditionally resided in the coastal areas and the Sea Islands of the states of North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia and Florida[7]. In 2021, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) provided technical assistance to St. Helena Island in the Gullah/Geechee Nation through the EPA’s Building Blocks for Sustainable Communities program[8].Landscape architects created renderings for the St. Helena Island Gullah/Geechee Living Landscape. These renderings provide visual examples of a network of green infrastructure projects that the Gullah/Geechee community of Saint Helena Island and Beaufort County, South Carolina, intend to develop. The projects will buffer storm surge and mitigate impacts of sea level rise while also protecting local food production, historic sites and cultural traditions. The effort will work with community members on asset mapping of green infrastructure projects throughout the island, solidifying action plans and connecting funding sources to build climate resilience into the community and the barrier island. The Gullah/Geechee Living Landscape will highlight the connections between sites, set clear resilience goals for each location and work with the county and state to ensure culturally appropriate climate adaptation solutions are reflected in plans and policies.

Key innovation: Governments can engage directly with and fund traditional and Indigenous communities to co-develop culturally appropriate resilience to climate change. Climate resilience planning can also be used as a high-level coordinating policy to engage communities further as they define their acceptance, interest and values for sustainable tourism.

  • Connecting cultural and maritime heritage in marine and coastal protection: The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration manages a network of more than 620,000 square miles of marine and Great Lakes waters. The network includes fifteen marine sanctuaries as well as the Papahānaumokuākea, Rose Atoll, Northeast Canyons and Seamounts, Pacific Remote Islands and Marianas Trench marine national monuments. The Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary encourages responsible and sustainable tourism through water-based activities that are compatible with ocean protection, including boating, snorkelling, kayaking, recreational fishing and whale watching. Collaborative projects assess and monitor the population of humpback whales, whale distribution and abundance, whale behaviour and potential human impacts. Programs also support stranding responses and citizen science efforts. Humpback whales, called koholā in Hawaiian, are an important part of Native Hawaiians’ history, legends and connection to the sea. The sanctuary’s management decisions consider Hawaiʻi’s cultural and maritime heritage, which is also reflected in the specific management plan and goals for the sanctuary, including a Living Cultural Traditions Action Plan[9]. Management plans, required for any national marine sanctuary[10], are intended to be site-specific documents that summarise existing programs and regulations; articulate visions, goals, objectives and priorities; and ensure public involvement in management processes.

Key innovation: Collaborative research with Indigenous partners and local communities that respects a region’s cultural and maritime history can make information more comprehensive, avoid conflicts, protect important habitats and cultural areas, and support sustainable marine tourism. Marine and coastal protection management plans should reflect direct engagement with Indigenous communities.

  • Defining a Maine water trail on private and public land: Off the coast of Maine in the Northeast, the state owns approximately 1,300 uninhabited coastal islands, some of them only small rocky outcroppings. In the mid-1980s, the state collaborated with the Island Institute, a non-profit organisation, to evaluate the recreational potential of these properties. The public islands they identified as suitable for recreational use became the basis of the original Maine Island Trail, now a 375-mile water trail for paddlers, sailors, motorboaters and conservationists that extends the length of the Maine coast. It connects over 250 wild islands and mainland sites that are open for day use or overnight camping. In some locations, landowners allow access to their properties trusting that Maine Island Trail Association members and other users will be responsible stewards during their visits. The water trail is operated by the association, a non-profit organisation dedicated to the protection and enjoyment of these wild islands, embracing the idea that users of the trail will become island stewards[11]. The Maine Island Trail is built on partnerships with site owners, from private landowners to non-profit organisations and federal, state and local agencies. The Maine Island Trail Association maintains an app and guide to trail locations.

Key innovation: Having a unified approach to sustainable tourism in the form of a water trail that organises access and sets standards for activities can boost activity in the area, enhance awareness, connect partners and motivate protection of a valuable recreational resource.

—–

[1] ‘Coastal and ocean-based tourism is sustainable, resilient, addresses climate change, reduces pollution, supports ecosystem regeneration and biodiversity conservation and invests in local jobs and communities.’ High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy (Ocean Panel), Transformations for a Sustainable Ocean Economy, https://www.oceanpanel.org/ocean-action/files/transformations-sustainable-ocean-economy-eng.pdf.

[2] See Coastal Zone Management Act (CZMA) for an example of ways to address fragmentation and respect for varying levels of government. CZMA provides a national benefit and enables individual states to accomplish goals of national interest; https://coast.noaa.gov/czm/act/.

[3] For help defining appropriate goals and objectives, see C. Ehler and F. Douvere. Marine Spatial Planning: A Step-by-Step Approach toward Ecosystem-Based Management, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission and Man and the Biosphere Programme, IOC Manual and Guides no. 53, ICAM Dossier no. 6 (Paris: UNESCO, 2009).

[4] The recreational boating survey characterised the recreational boating activity of 373,766 marine boaters from Maine to New York. The survey detailed maps of boating routes across the region. Economic analyses revealed that 907,000 boating trips on the ocean generated approximately $3.5 billion and the equivalent of nearly 27,000 year-round jobs in the Northeast in 2012.

[5] See Northeast Ocean Planning, Northeast Ocean Plan, 2016, https://neoceanplanning.org/plan/.

[6] Public piers in the State of California have a special designation in law. Section 1.88 of Title 14, California Code of Regulations, https://wildlife.ca.gov/Fishing/Ocean/Beach-Fishing.

[7] Gullah/Geechee Nation, https://gullahgeecheenation.com.

[8] U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, “Building Blocks for Sustainable Communities,” https://www.epa.gov/smartgrowth/building-blocks-sustainable-communities.

[9] Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary, Management Plan 2020, https://hawaiihumpbackwhale.noaa.gov/management/management-plan.html.

[10] See National Marine Sanctuaries Act, https://nmssanctuaries.blob.core.windows.net/sanctuaries-prod/media/archive/library/national/nmsa.pdf; and National Marine Sanctuaries, “Management 101,” https://sanctuaries.noaa.gov/management/mgt101.html.

[11] Maine Island Trail Association, https://mita.org/.

Close
back to top