专家论文
规划:可持续海洋规划创新以激励向可持续沿海和海洋旅游的转变

规划工具和治理机制如何成为沿海和海洋旅游部门变革的催化剂?可以复制或扩展的创新示例有哪些?

Darrell Wade
达雷尔韦德
Intrepid Travel 联合创始人兼董事长

南极洲如何成为负责任的海洋旅游的典范 

南极洲已成为气候变化的象征——那么,一家可持续的旅游公司如何在这个脆弱的生态系统中运营旅行与履行其环境和社会责任之间取得平衡呢?

自 2019 年我们宣布将业务扩展到南极洲以来,这就是 Intrepid Travel 提出的问题,并且内部和外部利益相关者继续向我们提出这个问题。对于 Intrepid 而言,在南极洲开展业务是一个经过深思熟虑的选择。但这并不是一个容易的决定。

Intrepid 决定在南极洲开展业务,因为我们相信这将为我们的客户、合作伙伴和股东提供令人难以置信的体验并创造价值。我们还知道,运营我们自己的产品将使我们能够更好地控制各个方面,包括环境因素。与所有 Intrepid 之旅一样,南极洲航行是 100% 碳中和,我们的七点气候行动计划包括承诺双倍抵消我们的极地探险[1].话虽如此,我们认识到抵消不足以应对气候危机,这就是为什么我们致力于实现基于科学的目标,以科学告诉我们将全球变暖限制在 1.5C 的必要速度和规模使我们的业务脱碳.我们也对南极洲的治理框架充满信心,并相信这也有助于了解世界其他地区海洋旅游业的发展。

作为全球最大的旅游 B 公司,Intrepid 考虑了人、地球和利润的三重底线,南极也不例外。我们深入思考了我们的旅行可能产生的积极和消极影响,并试图采用一种平衡两者的模式。

Intrepid 已实现碳中和 12 年,我们是世界上唯一一家通过基于科学的目标倡议验证了基于科学的气候目标的旅行社,该倡议推动了雄心勃勃的私营部门气候行动。作为新的南极洲运营商,Intrepid 相信我们不仅可以向南极洲的其他领先运营商学习,而且我们可以及时分享我们的经验并帮助进一步提高极地旅行的可持续性标准。

跨行业合作是一种强大的变革工具,我相信它可以推动创新。我还是世界旅行和旅游理事会的联合主席,其成员是全球私营部门的旅游企业,去年我代表 Intrepid 参加了 COP26,领导讨论,最终签署了《格拉斯哥旅游业气候行动宣言》。这标志着全球旅游业首次就通过商定目标解决碳排放的共同愿景走到一起。

Intrepid 在南极洲是一个相对较新的参与者,但与我们经营的许多其他目的地不同,该大陆长期以来一直受到强有力的治理的支持。南极洲的大部分旅游业可以为全球更负责任的邮轮业提供基准。作为南极洲旅游业负责任的未来的一部分,我们可以吸取有助于为整个邮轮业提供信息的经验教训。想到三个:

  1. 模型治理框架

负责任的海洋旅游面临的最大挑战之一是治理。期限 国际水域 已经成为证明无法执行非法废物倾倒、航运碳排放增加、过度捕捞甚至严重侵犯人权等事情的拐杖。南极条约体系创建了一个大陆层面的治理框架。该条约于 1959 年起草,作为一项集体协议,以确保南极洲永远存在于追求和平与科学的过程中。值得注意的是 不受管制 追求财富和繁荣,或资源开采。旅游经营者只能从作为条约一部分的政府机构获得经营许可,这有助于限制经营。

容量管理方面的限制值得注意。只有 72 艘船获准在南极洲旅游。这些公司每年平均运送 75,000 名旅客前往南极洲。船舶根据容量进一步细分。第 1 类是少于 200 名旅客,第 2 类是 200-500 名旅客,第 3 类是超过 500 名旅客。最后一类船舶不能在南极半岛登陆。每次前往陆地的旅行都受到一套严格的具体指导方针的约束,旨在限制对环境的影响。此外,使用船用瓦斯油的具体要求适用于所有船舶。

然而,南极洲的监管行业机构国际南极旅游运营商协会 (IAATO) 在集体应对气候变化方面存在明显差距。 IAATO 有机会领导商定的目标,我们期待成为全行业响应的一部分。

建立在这个南极条约体系框架的基础上,帮助我们了解了更负责任的海洋旅游之路,但我们还有很长的路要走。对于 Intrepid 而言,符合我们基于科学的碳排放目标的脱碳操作是一个关键因素。然而,我们并不是在自欺欺人地认为这很容易实现。作为我们到 2035 年实现净零排放承诺的一部分,关键步骤将是投资一艘新的节能船舶。

  1. 旅游与追求和平与科学 

《南极条约》管辖该大陆上的所有活动,这意味着旅游业务往往直接或间接地发展为追求和平与科学。这使得在南极洲度假真正不同于其他任何地方的游轮。

我们还知道,旅行将人们聚集在一起,让人们得以一窥脆弱的环境、非凡的野生动物以及这些地方面临的威胁。这种对其他人和地方的共同理解和更深层次的尊重在保护我们的星球的未来方面发挥着至关重要的作用。

通过与科学界的密切合作,南极旅游走得更远。从某种意义上说,全球海洋旅游大部分都是提取性的,它对减轻旅行者的影响几乎没有作用,更不用说理解它了。但旅游业可以支持科学研究的想法是一个值得探索的共享价值模式。

Intrepid 希望将公民科学融入我们的极地航行,最引人注目的是我们与世界自然基金会合作开展 WWF 南极洲巨人号航行[2].这使旅行者可以与世界自然基金会澳大利亚分会的科学家一起工作,以进一步研究鲸鱼。在这些旅行中收集的数据,包括旅行者的数据,直接有助于了解鲸鱼种群。尽管批评者可能会说游客参与可能是一种表演性影响,但它更多的是为旅行者提供一个了解他们所访问的地方的环境影响的机会。此外,正如我们一次又一次地看到的那样,所进行的科学是真实的,并导致了真实的结果。

公民科学还加深了旅行者对目的地的使命感——它超越了仅仅访问南极洲就能让旅行者成为目的地的管家的想法。它实际上将休闲与科学、人类与地球结合在一起,并在更广泛的水上和陆地上具有令人兴奋的旅游潜力。

  1. 经济范式转变:价值超过数量 

与更广泛的全球邮轮业相比,南极洲是大众旅游的对立面。 2019 年,有 74,401 人前往南极洲——这只是同年前往加勒比海的 3200 万人的一小部分。一年内前往加勒比海的人数将超过未来 400 年前往南极洲的人数。这种对比充分说明了旅游业的开发、管理和定位方式,以及确保可持续增长的重要性。

南极旅行是一种特权。对于大多数旅行者来说,它地理位置偏远,经济成本高昂。对于运营商来说,它是一种高收益产品,它更注重获取经济价值而不是客流量。这种“价值超过数量”的方法是确保在这里旅行长寿的关键,因为大众旅游将是南极洲的终结。

当我们谈论可持续旅游的经济价值时,我们通常会关注支持当地经济的资金。由于该大陆没有永久的人类居民,因此很容易批评南极洲的旅游业没有内在的经济价值。事实并非如此。

首先,Intrepid Travel 和南极洲的其他运营商都是营利性实体。虽然社会和环境目标是我们业务的核心,但成为一家盈利的公司是支持我们在全球开展影响力工作的原因。为了在南极洲运营,所有运营商每天向每位乘客支付一定比例的费用,以资助 IAATO 等自我监管的行业机构,这反过来又有助于与南极条约缔约方合作管理目的地。南极洲旅游业还直接和间接地为船舶出发的国家和港口的经济做出了重大贡献。这包括通过创造就业机会、从当地供应商处购买商品和食品,以及通过港口住宿和其他服务产生的间接影响。在严格的收入基础上,南极洲旅游是我们收益最高的旅游产品之一,也是我们业务成功的关键驱动力,这再次推动了我们更广泛的使命和目标工作。

在我们超过 1,000 次旅行的全球旅游组合中,南极洲一直是我们收入最高的目的地。不幸的是,它也是我们最高的二氧化碳排放量2 排放。为了实现我们雄心勃勃的减排目标,我们不仅需要找到一种方法来使我们的南极洲业务脱碳,而且还要找到一种方法来为这项工作提供资金。我们的财务成功将直接影响我们做到这一点的能力。我们正在进行的权衡是投资新船和技术的长期观点的一部分,这将使我们能够在不久的将来在南极洲提供更负责任的低影响体验。

最后的笔记

自从启动我们的南极洲计划以来,Intrepid 一直受到该行业的旅游业方法以及帮助维持其未来的现有基础的鼓舞。也就是说,事情并不完美,我们还有很多工作要做。

对于 Intrepid 来说,很明显,更负责任的南极旅游必须包括对脱碳的更高承诺。虽然我们将投资一艘新船以确保显着减少我们的影响,但我们仍然致力于建立更强大的合作伙伴关系,改善我们的供应链,投资于公民科学,并确保我们为非洲大陆旅游业的未来做出积极贡献。

我们必须在供应有限的情况下满足南极旅游的需求。这种集体治理方法,特别是其对和平与科学的有目的的方法,将有利于加勒比和地中海等其他脆弱的邮轮环境。在更广泛地看待负责任的海洋旅游时,我概述的三个支柱——集体治理、支持和平与科学的旅游业以及价值大于数量——都提供了宝贵的经验教训,可以在全球邮轮市场中采用,以告知更负责任的未来.

世界上最后一片大荒野将永远吸引游客,我们必须履行我们的道德、环境、社会和经济义务,在南极洲创造一个可以忽略不计的影响和非开采的存在,为子孙后代维持这个目的地。

—–

[1] 无畏,“气候”,https://www.intrepidtravel.com/au/climate。

[2] 无畏,“世界自然基金会南极之旅”,https://www.intrepidtravel.com/antarctic-tours-wwf。

 

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Planning: Innovation in Sustainable Ocean Planning to Incentivize a Shift to Sustainable Coastal and Marine Tourism

How have planning instruments and governance mechanisms been a catalyst for change in the coastal and marine tourist sector? What are examples of innovation that could be replicated or scaled?

Darrell Wade
Darrell Wade
Co-founder and Chairman of Intrepid Travel

How Antarctica Can Become An Example for Responsible Ocean Tourism 

Antarctica has become a symbol for climate change—so how does a sustainable travel company balance operating trips in this fragile ecosystem with meeting its environmental and social responsibilities?

This was the question Intrepid Travel asked—and that we continue to be asked by both internal and external stakeholders—since we announced our expansion into Antarctica in 2019. For Intrepid, setting up operations in Antarctica was a considered choice. But that didn’t make it an easy decision.

Intrepid made the decision to operate in Antarctica as we believed it would offer an incredible experience and create value for our customers, partners and shareholders. We also knew that operating our own product would provide us with greater control of all aspects, including environmental considerations. Like all Intrepid trips, Antarctica voyages are 100 percent carbon-neutral, and our seven-point Climate Action Plan includes a commitment to double offset our Polar Expeditions[1]. That being said, we recognise that offsets are not enough to address the climate crisis, which is why we have committed to science-based targets to decarbonise our business at the pace and scale that science tells us is necessary to limit global warming to 1.5C. We were also confident in the governance framework of Antarctica and believed that could help inform the evolution of ocean tourism in other parts of the world, too.

As the world’s largest travel B Corporation, Intrepid considers a triple bottom line of people, planet and profit, and Antarctica is no different. We thought deeply about the positive—and negative—impacts our trips would have and tried to adopt a model that balanced both.

Intrepid has been carbon-neutral for 12 years, and we’re the only tour operator in the world with verified science-based climate targets with the Science Based Targets initiative, which drives ambitious private-sector climate action. As a new Antarctica operator, Intrepid was confident we would not only learn from other leading operators in Antarctica but also that in time we could share our experience and help further improve sustainability criteria in polar travel.

Cross-industry collaboration is a powerful vehicle for change, one that I believe drives innovation. I also co-chair the World Travel and Tourism Council, whose members are global private-sector tourism businesses, and last year I attended COP26 on Intrepid’s behalf to lead discussions that culminated in the signing of the Glasgow Declaration on Climate Action in Tourism. That signalled the first time the global travel industry came together on a shared vision for addressing carbon emissions through agreed targets.

Intrepid is a relatively new player in Antarctica, but the continent has long been supported by strong governance—unlike many of the other destinations in which we operate. Much of the approach to tourism in Antarctica can provide a baseline for a more responsible cruise industry worldwide. As part of a responsible future for Antarctica tourism, we can draw on lessons that help inform the entire cruise industry. Three come to mind:

  1. Model governance framework

One of the greatest challenges for responsible ocean tourism is governance. The term international waters has become a crutch justifying an inability to enforce things like illegal waste dumping, rising carbon emissions from shipping, overfishing and even severe human rights violations. The Antarctic Treaty System creates a framework for governance at a continental level. This treaty was drafted in 1959 as a collective agreement to ensure Antarctica would always exist in the pursuit of peace and for science. It notably is not governed in the pursuit of wealth and prosperity, or resource extraction. Tourism operators can only get licenses to operate from a government body that is part of the treaty, which helps limit operations.

Restrictions around capacity management are noteworthy. Only 72 ships are licensed for tourism in Antarctica. These collectively carry an average of 75,000 travellers to Antarctica each year. Ships are further broken down into categories based on capacity. Category 1 is less than 200 travellers, Category 2 is 200–500 travellers and Category 3 is more than 500 travellers. Ships in this last category cannot land on the Antarctica Peninsula. Each excursion to land is governed by a strict set of specific guidelines designed to limit the impact on the environment. Furthermore, specific requirements on using marine gas oil apply to all ships.

However, a clear gap exists in the collective response to climate change by Antarctica’s regulating industry body, the International Association of Antarctica Travel Operators (IAATO). IAATO has the opportunity to lead with agreed targets and we look forward to being part of that industry-wide response.

Building on this Antarctic Treaty System framework has helped us understand the path to more responsible ocean tourism, but we have a long way to go. For Intrepid, decarbonising operations in line with our science-based carbon emissions targets is a key factor. However, we aren’t kidding ourselves that this will be easy to achieve. The key step will be investing in a new energy-efficient ship as part of our commitment to net-zero emissions by 2035.

  1. Tourism and the pursuit of peace and science 

The Antarctic Treaty governs all activity on the continent, which means travel operations tend to be developed both directly and indirectly in the pursuit of peace and science. This makes holidaying in Antarctica truly different from a cruise anywhere else.

We also know that travel brings people together and provides a glimpse into fragile environments, extraordinary wildlife and the threats facing these places. This shared understanding and deeper respect for other people and places plays a crucial role in protecting our planet for the future.

Antarctica tourism goes even further by working closely with the scientific community. Much of global ocean tourism is extractive in the sense it does little to mitigate travellers’ impact, let alone understand it. But the idea that tourism can support science and research is a shared-value model worth exploring.

Intrepid has looked to incorporate citizen science into our polar voyages, most notably in our partnership with the World Wildlife Fund on WWF Giants of Antarctica sailings[2]. This allows travellers to work alongside WWF-Australia’s scientists to further their research into whales. Data collected on these trips, including by travellers, contribute directly to understanding of whale populations. Although critics may say tourist participation can be a form of performative impact, it is more about providing travellers with an opportunity to understand the environmental implications of a place they are visiting. Plus, the science being conducted is real and leads to real results, as we’ve seen time and time again.

Citizen science also deepens a traveller’s sense of purpose in a destination—it goes beyond the idea that simply visiting Antarctica will make a traveller a steward of the destination. It actually brings together leisure and science, people and planet and has exciting potential for tourism more broadly, on both water and land.

  1. Economic paradigm shift: Value over volume 

Antarctica is the antithesis of mass tourism compared to the wider global cruise industry. In 2019, 74,401 people travelled to Antarctica—a fraction of the 32 million people who cruised to the Caribbean that same year. More people cruise to the Caribbean in a single year than are set to visit Antarctica in the next 400 years. That contrast speaks volumes to how tourism is developed, managed and positioned, as well as the importance of ensuring that growth is sustainable.

Antarctic travel is very much a privilege. It is geographically remote and financially cost-prohibitive for most travellers. For operators, it is a high-yield product that focuses more on deriving economic value than on passenger volume. This ‘value over volume’ approach is key to ensuring the longevity of travel here, as mass tourism would be the end of Antarctica.

When we talk about the economic value of sustainable tourism, we traditionally look at money supporting local economies. Since the continent has no permanent human residents, it is easy to criticise tourism in Antarctica as having no intrinsic economic value. That is simply not the case.

First, Intrepid Travel and other operators in Antarctica are for-profit entities. And while social and environmental purpose sits at the heart of our business, being a profitable company is what supports our impact work globally.  To operate in Antarctica, all operators pay a percentage per passenger per day to fund self-regulating industry bodies like IAATO, which in turn helps manage the destination in collaboration with Antarctic Treaty parties. Antarctica tourism also contributes significantly, directly and indirectly, to the economies of countries and ports from which ships depart. This includes through job creation, the purchase of goods and food from local suppliers, and indirect impacts through accommodations and other services in ports. On strictly a revenue basis, Antarctica tourism is one of our highest yielding tour products and a key driver of our business success, which again fuels our broader mission and purpose work.

Out of our global tour portfolio of more than 1,000 trips, Antarctica is consistently our top-performing destination in terms of revenue. Unfortunately, it is also our highest in terms of CO2 emissions. For us to reach our ambitious emission-reduction goals, we will need to find a way not only to decarbonise our Antarctica operations but also find a way to fund that effort. Our financial success will directly impact our ability to do that. The trade-off we are making is part of a longer-term view to invest in a new ship and technologies that will allow us to deliver a more responsible low-impact experience in Antarctica in the near future.

Final notes

Since launching our Antarctica programme, Intrepid has been encouraged by the industry’s approach to tourism and the foundations that exist to help sustain its future. That said, things are not perfect, and we have a lot of work to do.

For Intrepid, what’s clear is that more responsible Antarctica tourism must include a heightened commitment to decarbonisation. And while we will invest in a new ship to ensure our impact is significantly reduced, we remain committed to building stronger partnerships, improving our supply chain, investing in citizen science and ensuring that we contribute positively to tourism’s future on the continent.

We must meet the demand for tourism in Antarctica with a limited supply. This collective governance approach, specifically its purposeful approach towards peace and science, is one that would benefit other fragile cruise environments like the Caribbean and Mediterranean. When looking more broadly at responsible ocean tourism, the three pillars I have outlined—collective governance, tourism in support of peace and science, and value over volume—all offer valuable lessons which can be adopted in global cruise markets to inform a more responsible future.

The world’s last great wilderness will always draw visitors, and we must execute our moral, environmental, social and economic obligation to create a negligible impact and non-extractive existence in Antarctica to sustain this destination for future generations.

—–

[1] Intrepid, “Climate,” https://www.intrepidtravel.com/au/climate.

[2] Intrepid, “Antarctica Tours with WWF,” https://www.intrepidtravel.com/antarctic-tours-wwf.

 

Close
back to top