Essai d'expert
Voix : Modèles inclusifs et participatifs pour le tourisme côtier et marin

Quels outils ou mécanismes ont été efficaces pour créer des opportunités d'engagement efficace des parties prenantes dans le développement du tourisme côtier et marin ? Comment ces outils ou mécanismes doivent-ils être adaptés pour assurer l'inclusion active des membres particulièrement vulnérables ou privés de leurs droits de la communauté ?

The Honourable Randy Boissonnault
L'honorable Randy Boissonnault
Ministre du Tourisme et Ministre associé des Finances, Canada

Le Canada est une nation océanique. L'économie mondiale des océans connaît une expansion et une transformation rapides, et l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques prévoit qu'elle fera plus que doubler d'ici 2030. Le Canada s'efforce de tirer parti de cette croissance. Nos atouts nationaux, y compris le plus long littoral du monde, l'accès à trois océans, l'innovation scientifique et technologique océanique de pointe et un solide bilan en matière de conservation, offrent un solide avantage comparatif. À l'heure actuelle, l'économie océanique du Canada génère 36,1 milliards C$ de produit intérieur brut (PIB) par an, soutient près de 300 000 emplois et est essentielle à la qualité de vie des 4,8 millions de Canadiens vivant dans nos collectivités côtières. Les secteurs maritimes du Canada, y compris le tourisme maritime, apportent des contributions économiques importantes, en particulier pour les collectivités côtières rurales.

Avant le début de la pandémie de COVID-19, le tourisme au Canada était une industrie à forte croissance et à fort potentiel et venait de connaître plusieurs années record en termes de revenus et de nombre de touristes visitant le Canada. En 2019, le tourisme représentait 2 % du PIB du Canada, 3 % des exportations totales et 4 % de tous les emplois. Le tourisme est une industrie exclusivement inclusive. Composé principalement de petites et moyennes entreprises, il emploie une proportion plus élevée de jeunes, de femmes, de personnes LGBTQ2 et de personnes racialisées et autochtones par rapport à leur part de la main-d'œuvre. L'industrie est également une importante source d'emplois pour les nouveaux arrivants au Canada; en 2019, 28 % des employés du tourisme étaient des immigrants ou des résidents non permanents. Le tourisme est important dans toutes les régions du Canada, y compris les grandes et les petites villes, les régions rurales et éloignées, les communautés autochtones, les communautés côtières et dans le Nord.

Les offres touristiques côtières et marines contribuent de manière significative à l'industrie, car elles attirent les voyageurs nationaux et internationaux avec des activités spécifiques à la destination telles que l'observation des baleines, la pêche récréative, la plongée sous-marine et les croisières dans l'Arctique. L'industrie des croisières est à elle seule un moteur important de l'industrie du tourisme et une partie importante de l'économie canadienne, en particulier dans les collectivités côtières. En 2019, l'industrie des croisières a généré plus de $4 milliards de production économique et soutenu plus de 30 000 emplois.

Le COVID-19 a durement frappé notre industrie touristique. Le gouvernement du Canada travaille avec des collectivités partout au Canada pour soutenir la reprise de l'industrie. Le secteur du tourisme et de l'hôtellerie a reçu une aide estimée à $23 milliards dans le cadre des programmes d'urgence du gouvernement fédéral. Le budget 2021 a prévu 1 milliard de TP3T sur trois ans pour le secteur du tourisme, notamment dans les domaines suivants :

  • $500 millions pour le Tourism Relief Fund, qui soutient des projets de tourisme rural dans tout le pays, y compris les communautés côtières. Cela comprend $50 millions destinés spécifiquement au tourisme autochtone.
  • $200 millions pour soutenir les grands festivals et événements du Canada.
  • $200 millions pour soutenir les festivals et événements locaux.
  • $100 millions à Destination Canada pour des campagnes de marketing visant à promouvoir les destinations touristiques canadiennes.

Pour soutenir la reprise en cours, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à faire en sorte que le Canada demeure reconnu comme une destination sûre de choix. Les niveaux élevés de vaccination au Canada, ainsi que la promotion continue des mesures de santé publique par la population canadienne, la preuve normalisée de vaccination et la collecte numérique d'informations sur les voyageurs via ArriveCAN, ont fait en sorte que le Canada demeure un endroit sûr et sécurisé à visiter.

De plus, le Canada continue de donner la priorité à la croissance de l'économie bleue afin de créer des opportunités pour les secteurs de l'eau douce et de l'océan et les communautés côtières. En tant que nation océanique, le Canada peut soutenir sa reprise touristique en tirant parti et en développant les caractéristiques des communautés côtières, y compris, mais sans s'y limiter, notre océan, pour attirer les voyageurs nationaux et internationaux. L'exposition et l'expansion du tourisme océanique soutiendront la croissance de l'économie des visiteurs sur les trois côtes du Canada et créeront plus d'emplois, de possibilités et de bien-être économique dans les communautés côtières et autochtones. 

La Stratégie fédérale de croissance du tourisme

Le 21 mai 2019, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la première Stratégie fédérale pour la croissance du tourisme (FTGS), dans le but de tirer parti du tourisme pour stimuler la croissance économique et créer des emplois dans tout le pays. La stratégie a accordé la priorité au tourisme rural et éloigné afin de créer de nouvelles opportunités économiques dans ces régions et d'ouvrir aux touristes davantage la beauté naturelle à couper le souffle du Canada. En fait, l'un des piliers de la FTGS était de « développer le tourisme dans les collectivités du Canada », y compris dans les collectivités rurales et éloignées. Pour y parvenir, un Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes (FEC) de $58,5 millions a été créé pour investir dans les produits touristiques liés à l'hiver et aux saisons intermédiaires, au tourisme rural et éloigné, au tourisme autochtone, à l'inclusivité (en particulier pour les communautés LGBTQ2) et au tourisme culinaire.

Pour éclairer l'élaboration de la stratégie, le gouvernement du Canada a mené un dialogue considérable avec divers intervenants partout au Canada, y compris de nombreuses collectivités côtières. En 2018, le gouvernement a lancé une tournée d'une semaine à travers le pays pour rencontrer les acteurs touristiques locaux à travers une série de tables rondes. Les réunions ont réuni des associations de l'industrie (par exemple, Indigenous Tourism BC), des organisations culinaires (par exemple, Ocean Wise), diverses organisations communautaires (par exemple, Vancouver Pride Society), des organisations autochtones (par exemple, Kivalliq Inuit Association), des opérateurs touristiques (par exemple, des circuits, des fermes, des festivals). , les universités, les gouvernements locaux, les sociétés d'État, les autorités de transport et plus encore. Dispersées à travers le Canada, les tables rondes ont eu lieu à Winnipeg et à Churchill, au Manitoba; Rankin Inlet, Nunavut; et Vancouver, Kelowna et Victoria, Colombie-Britannique.

Le 18 mai 2022, le Canada a lancé le processus de consultation pour renouveler la Stratégie fédérale de croissance du tourisme afin de continuer à soutenir l'industrie touristique canadienne, à la suite des répercussions de la pandémie de COVID-19. Le gouvernement du Canada travaillera avec les entreprises touristiques, leurs homologues provinciaux et territoriaux et les partenaires touristiques autochtones pour renouveler la stratégie avec une nouvelle perspective post-pandémique. Dans le cadre de ces efforts, et pour s'assurer que les entreprises autochtones participent à la reprise, le budget de 2022 propose de fournir $20 millions sur deux ans pour soutenir un nouveau Fonds pour le tourisme autochtone afin d'aider l'industrie touristique autochtone à se remettre de la pandémie et à se positionner pour une croissance durable à long terme. Le budget propose également de fournir $4,8 millions sur deux ans à l'Association touristique autochtone du Canada pour soutenir ses activités, qui continuent d'aider l'industrie touristique autochtone à se reconstruire et à se remettre de la pandémie. L'examen et les ajustements du gouvernement aux restrictions de voyage et aux mesures de santé publique complètent ces efforts et soutiendront davantage la croissance de l'économie touristique du Canada.

Le renouvellement de la Stratégie fédérale de croissance du tourisme abordera une gamme de thèmes liés à la reprise et à la croissance du secteur : attraction d'investissements et développement de destinations; les possibilités de croissance du secteur touristique autochtone; la croissance dans les collectivités rurales et éloignées; tourisme sportif; tourisme culinaire; les perspectives du travail et de la main-d'œuvre; et le tourisme culturel et communautaire. Par exemple, l'engagement inclura des intervenants dans les zones rurales pour discuter de leurs défis particuliers lorsqu'ils s'engagent dans l'économie touristique, ainsi qu'avec des représentants d'entreprises touristiques autochtones qui s'efforcent de stimuler la prospérité économique de leurs communautés, ainsi que de présenter des expériences authentiques aux visiteurs. au Canada. Le gouvernement engagera également les communautés culturelles pour discuter des avantages que la riche diversité du Canada apporte au secteur du tourisme. Tout au long de ce processus d'engagement, le gouvernement veillera à ce que les voix de toutes les régions du pays soient entendues.

L'économie bleue du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada s'emploie à développer l'économie bleue grâce à une approche pangouvernementale qui contribuera à faire croître l'économie des océans et des eaux douces du Canada et à soutenir la croissance durable à long terme du secteur canadien du poisson et des fruits de mer; positionner le Canada pour réussir dans les secteurs à croissance rapide de l'économie bleue tels que la technologie océanique; faire progresser les objectifs de réconciliation, de restauration, de conservation et de climat ; et veiller à ce que les collectivités côtières du Canada prospèrent.

Dans le rapport 2021 du MIT Technology Review Blue Technology Barometer, le Canada s'est classé 10e parmi les nations du monde et s'est particulièrement bien comporté dans la catégorie de l'environnement océanique en matière de réduction du carbone[1]. Le Canada continuera de faire progresser ce travail, en particulier dans le domaine de l'inclusion, à mesure qu'il développe son économie bleue et s'appuie sur le travail de la Stratégie fédérale pour la croissance du tourisme en mettant l'accent sur les communautés côtières rurales et en travaillant avec et en écoutant une diversité de points de vue.

Afin d'éclairer le développement de l'économie bleue et d'entendre les voix traditionnellement sous-représentées, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé auprès des principales parties prenantes de février à juin 2021 dans le cadre de 40 tables rondes, associées à un engagement sectoriel et régional ciblé. Le processus a réuni plus de 1 600 participants, dont 233 identifiés comme étant des Autochtones et 318 identifiés comme des femmes. Le 11 mars 2022, le gouvernement a publié un document « Ce que nous avons entendu » qui répertorie les contributions et les commentaires de tous les participants, y compris les partenaires provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones, le secteur privé, les organisations non gouvernementales et le milieu universitaire. Par exemple, la Supergrappe des océans du Canada a pu recueillir des commentaires lors de tables rondes sur des questions d'inclusivité, telles que « Les femmes dans l'économie bleue ». Les collaborations, les partenariats et le réseautage ont été fortement soutenus tout au long de l'engagement comme moyen de respecter les connaissances autochtones et d'assurer l'accessibilité aux connaissances et aux données non exclusives.

Ce processus d'engagement a identifié trois moyens clés par lesquels l'économie bleue pourrait favoriser plus de prospérité et d'inclusion dans les secteurs océaniques du Canada, notamment en faisant progresser la participation des peuples autochtones ; identifier et éliminer les obstacles à la croissance inclusive ; et développer la main-d'œuvre et les compétences nécessaires. De plus, les parties prenantes ont indiqué l'importance de l'équité régionale pour assurer une représentation équitable dans la large répartition des avantages de l'économie bleue du Canada. Pour mieux comprendre ces nuances régionales et la mise en œuvre de solutions locales, le gouvernement a organisé des tables rondes dans des régions spécifiques.

Mécanismes pour accroître la participation des groupes sous-représentés à l'économie bleue

L'engagement total des Canadiens sous-représentés dans les industries océaniques traditionnelles et émergentes constitue toujours des obstacles, tels que des environnements peu accueillants ou biaisés, le manque de sensibilisation aux opportunités ou des parcours d'éducation et d'emploi clairs.

Le Canada offre actuellement divers programmes pour accroître la participation des groupes sous-représentés à l'économie océanique. Par exemple, la Supergrappe des océans du Canada est un modèle de grappe dirigé par l'industrie qui stimule la collaboration intersectorielle, accélère l'innovation et fait croître l'économie océanique du Canada grâce au financement de l'industrie et du gouvernement du Canada. La supergrappe des océans soutient les groupes sous-représentés par le biais d'initiatives telles que le projet de pivot de carrière autochtone, un programme visant à faciliter et à soutenir des stages de travail significatifs pour les peuples autochtones qui souhaitent explorer des options de carrière dans l'économie des océans en soutenant leur emploi pendant 12 mois avec une supergrappe des océans. entreprise membre, en mettant l'accent sur la création d'emplois permanents à temps plein.

De plus, le Centre for Ocean Ventures and Entrepreneurship (COVE), situé à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, est une plaque tournante permettant aux entreprises liées à l'océan de mener des activités de recherche et de développement, de créer de nouveaux produits, d'accéder à des équipements de détection et de surveillance marines à des fins de test et de favoriser le démarrage -ups à travers le Start Up Yard. COVE propose un programme de stages pour un apprentissage intégré au travail basé sur des projets, axé sur la diversité croissante de la main-d'œuvre et l'accélération de la croissance et de l'innovation en introduisant de nouveaux entrants avec des perspectives, une éducation et une expérience diverses dans le secteur.

Les agences de développement régional (ADR) du Canada sont chargées de promouvoir le développement économique dans tout le pays grâce à des relations régionales établies. Les mandats et programmes existants des ADR soutiennent directement les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), les groupes autochtones et d'autres organisations qui investissent dans la technologie, les initiatives de croissance des entreprises, les pratiques durables et le renforcement des capacités, en les aidant à créer de bons emplois et à saisir les formidables opportunités du économie bleue mondiale. Par exemple, les ADR ont mis en place le Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes, un investissement sur deux ans en 2019-2020 et 2020-2021 pour soutenir les collectivités partout au Canada dans la création, l'amélioration ou l'amélioration des produits, des installations et des expériences touristiques. Le FEC a concentré ses investissements dans cinq domaines : le tourisme d'hiver et de saison intermédiaire, le tourisme rural et éloigné, le tourisme autochtone, la diversité et l'inclusion, et les expériences culinaires. Actuellement, les RDA distribuent le Fonds d'aide au tourisme de $500 millions sur deux ans. Ces investissements ont couvert les secteurs de l'économie bleue, y compris le tourisme marin et les loisirs, et sont adaptés aux besoins et aux réalités spécifiques des PME et des communautés de chaque région canadienne, éclairés par une profonde expertise acquise au fil des années de travail avec des entreprises, des organisations et des les réseaux qu'ils représentent. En tirant parti des connaissances des RDA sur les priorités régionales du secteur océanique, des réseaux avec les principaux intervenants locaux de l'océan, tels que les groupes autochtones, et de l'expérience dans le soutien des secteurs océaniques, les RDA s'efforcent de relever les défis régionaux et de favoriser de nouvelles opportunités.

Conclusion

Un certain nombre de thèmes reviennent dans le processus d'engagement des parties prenantes sur la croissance de l'économie bleue du Canada. Il s'agit notamment de la nécessité de tirer parti du potentiel des communautés côtières, telles que les attractions touristiques côtières et marines, les ports et autres services maritimes ; la nécessité d'adopter une approche territoriale pour développer l'économie bleue ; le rôle crucial du financement public et du financement; l'importance de développer une main-d'œuvre inclusive; développement économique rural; et investir dans l'infrastructure de base comme les quais communautaires et l'infrastructure à large bande. Ces thèmes s'harmonisent avec les priorités fédérales existantes pour faire croître l'économie touristique du Canada de manière inclusive, notamment en faisant la promotion d'expériences touristiques autochtones authentiques et diversifiées, en tirant parti des régions rurales et éloignées pour attirer les touristes et en développant des expériences culinaires et de la mer à la table.

L'économie des visiteurs est au cœur de la reprise économique complète du Canada après la pandémie mondiale. Le tourisme côtier et marin contribuera à stimuler la croissance future de ce secteur essentiel. Le Canada a ce que le monde veut dans le tourisme de l'océan bleu. En travaillant avec divers partenaires et en apprenant de nos collègues internationaux, nous positionnerons le Canada pour une croissance responsable et durable de son économie du tourisme océanique.

—–

[1] MIT Technology Review, « The Blue Technology Barometer », novembre 2021, https://www.technologyreview.com/2022/01/05/1040367/the-blue-technology-barometer/.

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Voices: Inclusive and Participatory Models for Coastal and Marine Tourism

What tools or mechanisms have been effective in creating opportunities for impactful engagement of stakeholders in the development of coastal and marine tourism? How do these tools or mechanisms need to be tailored to ensure active inclusion of particularly vulnerable or disenfranchised members of the community?

The Honourable Randy Boissonnault
The Honourable Randy Boissonnault
Minister of Tourism and Associate Minister of Finance, Canada

Canada is an ocean nation. The global ocean economy is rapidly expanding and transforming, with the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development forecasting it will more than double in size by 2030. Canada is working to leverage this growth. Our national assets, including the longest coastline in the world, access to three oceans, cutting-edge ocean science and technology innovation, and a strong track record on conservation, provide a strong comparative advantage. Currently Canada’s ocean-based economy generates C$36.1 billion in gross domestic product (GDP) annually, sustains nearly 300,000 jobs and is crucial to the quality of life of the 4.8 million Canadians living in our coastal communities. Canada’s marine sectors, including marine tourism, make significant economic contributions, particularly for rural coastal communities.

Before the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, tourism in Canada was a high-growth, high-potential industry and was coming off several record-breaking years in terms of revenue and the number of tourists visiting Canada. In 2019, tourism represented 2 percent of Canada’s GDP, 3 percent of total exports and 4 percent of all jobs. Tourism is a uniquely inclusive industry. Comprised mostly of small and medium-sized businesses, it employs a higher proportion of youth, women, LGBTQ2 individuals, and racialised and Indigenous persons compared to their share of the workforce. The industry is also a significant source of employment for newcomers to Canada; in 2019, 28 percent of tourism employees were immigrants or non-permanent residents. Tourism is important in every region of Canada, including large and small cities, rural and remote areas, Indigenous communities, coastal communities and in the North.

Coastal and marine tourism offerings contribute significantly to the industry, as they attract domestic and international travellers with destination-specific activities such as whale watching, recreational fishing, scuba diving and Arctic cruises. The cruise industry alone is a significant driver of the tourism industry and an important part of the Canadian economy, particularly in coastal communities. In 2019, the cruise industry generated over $4 billion in economic output and supported over 30,000 jobs.

COVID-19 hit our tourism industry hard. The Government of Canada is working with communities across Canada to support the industry’s recovery. The tourism and hospitality sector received an estimated $23 billion in support through the federal government’s emergency programmes. Budget 2021 provided $1 billion over three years to the tourism sector, including in the following areas:

  • $500 million for the Tourism Relief Fund, which provides support to rural tourism projects all across the country, including coastal communities. This includes $50 million designated specifically to Indigenous tourism.
  • $200 million to support Canada’s major festivals and events.
  • $200 million to support local festivals and events.
  • $100 million to Destination Canada for marketing campaigns to promote Canadian travel destinations.

To support the ongoing recovery, the Government of Canada is committed to ensuring that Canada remains recognised as a safe destination of choice. Canada’s strong vaccination levels, along with continued promotion of public health measures by the people of Canada, standardised proof of vaccination and digital collection of traveller information through ArriveCAN, have ensured that Canada remains a safe and secure place to visit.

In addition, Canada continues to prioritise the growth of the blue economy to create opportunities for freshwater and ocean sectors and coastal communities. As an ocean nation, Canada can support its tourism recovery by leveraging and developing characteristics in coastal communities, including but not limited to our ocean, to draw both domestic and international travellers. The exposure and expansion of ocean-based tourism will support the growth of the visitor economy on all three of Canada’s coasts and create more jobs, opportunities and economic well-being in coastal and Indigenous communities. 

The Federal Tourism Growth Strategy

On 21 May 2019, the Government of Canada announced the first Federal Tourism Growth Strategy (FTGS), with the objective of leveraging tourism to drive economic growth and create jobs throughout the country. The strategy prioritised rural and remote tourism in order to drive new economic opportunities in those regions, and to open tourists to more of Canada’s breathtaking natural beauty. In fact, a pillar of the FTGS was ‘to Build Tourism in Canada’s Communities’, including in rural and remote communities. To help achieve this, a $58.5 million Canadian Experiences Fund (CEF) was established to invest in tourism products related to winter and shoulder seasons, rural and remote tourism, Indigenous tourism, inclusiveness (especially for LGBTQ2 communities) and culinary tourism.

To inform development of the strategy, the Government of Canada conducted considerable engagement with diverse stakeholders across Canada, including many coastal communities. In 2018, the government launched a week-long, cross-country tour to meet with local tourism stakeholders through a series of roundtables. The meetings convened industry associations (e.g. Indigenous Tourism BC), culinary organisations (e.g., Ocean Wise), diverse community organisations (e.g. Vancouver Pride Society), Indigenous organisations (e.g. Kivalliq Inuit Association), tourism operators (e.g. tours, farms, festivals), universities, local governments, Crown corporations, transportation authorities and more. Dispersed throughout Canada, the roundtables were held in Winnipeg and Churchill, Manitoba; Rankin Inlet, Nunavut; and Vancouver, Kelowna and Victoria, British Columbia.

On 18 May 2022, Canada launched the consultation process to renew the Federal Tourism Growth Strategy to continue supporting Canada’s tourism industry, following the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic. The Government of Canada will work with tourism businesses, provincial and territorial counterparts, and Indigenous tourism partners to renew the strategy with a new post-pandemic lens. As part of these efforts, and to ensure that Indigenous businesses are part of the recovery, the 2022 budget proposes to provide $20 million over two years to support a new Indigenous Tourism Fund to help the Indigenous tourism industry recover from the pandemic and position itself for long-term, sustainable growth. The budget also proposes to provide $4.8 million over two years to the Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada to support its operations, which continue to help the Indigenous tourism industry rebuild and recover from the pandemic. The government’s review and adjustments to travel restrictions and public health measures complement these efforts and will further support the growth of Canada’s tourism economy.

The renewal of the Federal Tourism Growth Strategy will address a range of themes related to the sector’s recovery and growth: investment attraction and destination development; opportunities for growing the Indigenous tourism sector; growth in rural and remote communities; sports tourism; culinary tourism; labour and workforce outlooks; and cultural and community-based tourism. For instance, engagement will include stakeholders in rural areas to discuss their particular challenges when engaging in the tourism economy, as well as with representatives of Indigenous tourism businesses who are working to drive economic prosperity for their communities, as well as showcase authentic experiences for visitors to Canada. The government will also engage cultural communities to discuss the benefits that Canada’s rich diversity brings to the tourism sector. Throughout this engagement process, the government will ensure that voices from every region of the country are heard.

Canada’s Blue Economy

The Government of Canada is working to develop the blue economy with a whole-of-government approach that will help to grow Canada’s ocean and freshwater economy and support the long-term, sustainable growth of Canada’s fish and seafood sector; position Canada to succeed in fast-growing sectors of the blue economy such as ocean technology; advance reconciliation, restoration, conservation and climate objectives; and ensure that Canada’s coastal communities thrive.

In the 2021 MIT Technology Review Blue Technology Barometer report, Canada ranked 10th among the world’s nations and performed particularly well in the category of ocean environment in carbon reduction[1]. Canada will continue to advance this work, especially in the area of inclusion, as it grows its blue economy and builds on the work of the Federal Tourism Growth Strategy with its focus on rural coastal communities and working with and hearing from a diversity of perspectives.

To inform the development of the blue economy and to hear from traditionally under-represented voices, the Government of Canada engaged with key stakeholders from February to June 2021 through 40 roundtables, coupled with targeted sector and regional engagement. The process connected with over 1,600 participants, of which 233 identified as Indigenous persons and 318 identified as women. On 11 March 2022, the government released a ‘What We Heard’ document that catalogued input and commentary from all participants, including provincial, territorial and Indigenous partners, private sector, non-governmental organisations and academia. For example, Canada’s Ocean Supercluster was able to gather feedback from roundtables on inclusivity issues, such as ‘Women in the Blue Economy’. Collaborations, partnerships and networking were strongly supported throughout the engagement as a means to respect Indigenous knowledge and ensure accessibility to non-proprietary knowledge and data.

This engagement process identified three key ways that the blue economy could foster more prosperity and inclusion in Canada’s ocean sectors, including advancing the participation of Indigenous peoples; identifying and addressing barriers to inclusive growth; and developing the necessary labour force and skills. Additionally, stakeholders indicated the importance of regional equity to ensure equitable representation in the broad distribution of the benefits of Canada’s blue economy. To better understand these regional nuances and the implementation of place-based solutions, the government held roundtables in specific regions.

Mechanisms for increasing participation of under-represented groups in the blue economy

Full engagement of  under-represented Canadians in traditional and emerging ocean industries still fact obstacles, such as unwelcoming or biased environments, lack of awareness of opportunities, or clear educational and employment pathways.

Canada is currently providing various programmes to increase the participation of under-represented groups in the ocean economy. For example, Canada’s Ocean Supercluster is an industry-led cluster model driving cross-sectoral collaboration, accelerating innovation and growing Canada’s ocean economy with funding from both industry and the Government of Canada. The Ocean Supercluster is supporting under-represented groups through initiatives such the Indigenous Career Pivot Project—a programme to facilitate and support meaningful work placements for Indigenous peoples wishing to explore career options in the ocean economy by supporting their employment for 12 months with an Ocean Supercluster member company, with a focus on creating permanent full-time positions.

Additionally, the Centre for Ocean Ventures and Entrepreneurship (COVE), located in Halifax, Nova Scotia, is a hub for ocean-related companies to conduct research and development, create new products, access marine sensing and monitoring equipment for testing, and nurture start-ups through the Start Up Yard. COVE provides an internship programme for project-based, work-integrated learning, with a focus on growing workforce diversity and accelerating growth and innovation by introducing new entrants with diverse perspectives, education and experience to the sector.

Canada’s regional development agencies (RDAs) are charged with promoting economic development across the country through established regional relationships. RDAs’ existing mandates and programmes directly support small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), Indigenous groups and other organisations investing in technology, business growth initiatives, sustainable practices and capacity building, helping them to create good jobs and seize the tremendous opportunities of the global blue economy. For example, the RDAs delivered the Canadian Experiences Fund—a two-year investment in 2019–20 and 2020–21 to support communities across Canada as they created, improved or enhanced tourism products, facilities and experiences. The CEF focused investments in five areas: winter and shoulder season tourism, rural and remote tourism, Indigenous tourism, diversity and inclusion, and culinary experiences. Currently, the RDAs are delivering the two-year $500 million Tourism Relief Fund. These investments have spanned blue economy sectors, including marine tourism and recreation, and are tailored to the specific needs and realities of SMEs and communities in each Canadian region, informed by a deep well of expertise acquired over years of working with local businesses, organisations and the networks they represent. By leveraging RDA knowledge of regional ocean sector priorities, networks with key local ocean stakeholders such as Indigenous groups, and experience in supporting ocean sectors, the RDAs work to address regional challenges and foster further opportunities.

Conclusion

A number of themes recur in the process of engaging stakeholders on growing Canada’s blue economy. These include the need to leverage the potential of coastal communities, such as coastal and marine tourism attractions, harbours and other marine services; the need to take a place-based approach to developing the blue economy; the critical role of government funding and financing; the importance of developing an inclusive labour force; rural economic development; and investing in foundational infrastructure such as community wharves and broadband infrastructure. These themes align with existing federal priorities to grow Canada’s tourism economy inclusively, including promoting diverse and authentic Indigenous tourism experiences, leveraging rural and remote areas to draw in tourists, and developing culinary and sea-to-table experiences.

The visitor economy is central to Canada’s full economic recovery from the global pandemic. Coastal and marine tourism will help drive future growth in this critical sector. Canada has what the world wants in blue ocean tourism. By working with diverse partners and learning from our international colleagues, we will position Canada for responsible and sustainable growth of its ocean tourism economy.

—–

[1] MIT Technology Review, “The Blue Technology Barometer,” November 2021, https://www.technologyreview.com/2022/01/05/1040367/the-blue-technology-barometer/.

Close
back to top