专家论文
声音:沿海和海洋旅游的包容性和参与性模式

哪些工具或机制有效地为利益相关者有效参与沿海和海洋旅游业的发展创造机会?如何调整这些工具或机制,以确保积极融入社区中特别脆弱或被剥夺权利的成员?

The Honourable Randy Boissonnault
尊敬的兰迪·布瓦松
加拿大旅游部长兼财政部副部长

加拿大是一个海洋国家。全球海洋经济正在迅速扩张和转型,经济合作与发展组织预测,到 2030 年,其规模将增加一倍以上。加拿大正在努力利用这一增长。我们的国家资产,包括世界上最长的海岸线、通往三大洋的通道、尖端的海洋科技创新以及良好的保护记录,提供了强大的比较优势。目前,加拿大的海洋经济每年创造 C$361 亿的国内生产总值 (GDP),维持近 300,000 个工作岗位,对生活在沿海社区的 480 万加拿大人的生活质量至关重要。加拿大的海洋部门,包括海洋旅游业,对经济做出了重大贡献,特别是对农村沿海社区。

在 COVID-19 大流行爆发之前,加拿大的旅游业是一个高增长、高潜力的行业,并且在收入和访问加拿大的游客数量方面连续数年破纪录。 2019 年,旅游业占加拿大 GDP 的 2%、出口总额的 3% 和所有就业机会的 4%。旅游业是一个独特的包容性产业。它主要由中小型企业组成,与他们在劳动力中的份额相比,它雇用的青年、女性、LGBTQ2 个人以及种族和土著人的比例更高。该行业也是加拿大新移民的重要就业来源; 2019年,28%的旅游从业人员是移民或非永久居民。旅游业在加拿大的每个地区都很重要,包括大小城市、农村和偏远地区、土著社区、沿海社区和北部。

沿海和海洋旅游产品对该行业做出了重大贡献,因为它们通过特定目的地的活动(如赏鲸、休闲钓鱼、水肺潜水和北极游轮)吸引了国内外游客。邮轮业本身就是旅游业的重要推动力,也是加拿大经济的重要组成部分,尤其是在沿海社区。 2019年,邮轮业创造了超过$4亿的经济产出,支撑了3万多个就业岗位。

COVID-19 严重打击了我们的旅游业。加拿大政府正在与加拿大各地的社区合作,以支持该行业的复苏。通过联邦政府的紧急计划,旅游业和酒店业获得了大约 $230 亿的支持。 2021 年预算在三年内为旅游业提供了 $10 亿,包括以下领域:

  • $5亿用于旅游救助基金,为包括沿海社区在内的全国乡村旅游项目提供支持。这包括专门用于土著旅游业的 $50 百万。
  • $2亿支持加拿大的重大节日和活动。
  • $2亿支持当地的节日和活动。
  • $1 亿给 Destination Canada 用于推广加拿大旅游目的地的营销活动。

为了支持持续的复苏,加拿大政府致力于确保加拿大仍然被公认为是一个安全的首选目的地。加拿大强大的疫苗接种水平,加上加拿大人民不断促进公共卫生措施、标准化的疫苗接种证明和通过 ArriveCAN 收集旅客信息的数字化,确保加拿大仍然是一个安全可靠的旅游目的地。

此外,加拿大继续优先发展蓝色经济,为淡水和海洋部门以及沿海社区创造机会。作为一个海洋国家,加拿大可以通过利用和发展沿海社区(包括但不限于我们的海洋)的特色来支持其旅游业的复苏,以吸引国内外游客。海洋旅游的曝光和扩张将支持加拿大所有三个海岸的游客经济增长,并在沿海和土著社区创造更多的就业机会、机会和经济福祉。 

联邦旅游业增长战略

2019 年 5 月 21 日,加拿大政府宣布了第一个联邦旅游业增长战略 (FTGS),目标是利用旅游业推动全国经济增长和创造就业机会。该战略优先考虑农村和偏远地区的旅游业,以推动这些地区的新经济机会,并让游客更多地欣赏加拿大令人叹为观止的自然美景。事实上,FTGS 的一个支柱是“在加拿大社区建设旅游业”,包括在农村和偏远社区。为帮助实现这一目标,加拿大设立了一个 $5850 万的加拿大体验基金 (CEF),用于投资与冬季和平季、乡村和偏远旅游、土著旅游、包容性(特别是 LGBTQ2 社区)和美食旅游相关的旅游产品。

为制定该战略,加拿大政府与加拿大各地的不同利益相关者进行了大量接触,包括许多沿海社区。 2018 年,政府启动了为期一周的跨国旅游,通过一系列圆桌会议与当地旅游利益相关者会面。会议召集了行业协会(例如土著旅游 BC)、烹饪组织(例如 Ocean Wise)、多元化社区组织(例如温哥华骄傲协会)、土著组织(例如 Kivalliq Inuit 协会)、旅游经营者(例如旅游、农场、节日) 、大学、地方政府、国营公司、交通当局等。圆桌会议分散在加拿大各地,在曼尼托巴省的温尼伯和丘吉尔举行;兰金湾,努纳武特;和不列颠哥伦比亚省的温哥华、基洛纳和维多利亚。

在 COVID-19 大流行的影响之后,加拿大于 2022 年 5 月 18 日启动了更新联邦旅游业增长战略的磋商程序,以继续支持加拿大的旅游业。加拿大政府将与旅游企业、省和地区同行以及原住民旅游合作伙伴合作,以新的大流行后视角更新该战略。作为这些努力的一部分,并确保原住民企业成为复苏的一部分,2022 年预算建议在两年内提供 $2000 万,以支持新的原住民旅游基金,以帮助原住民旅游业从大流行中恢复过来,并将自己定位为长期、可持续的增长。该预算还建议在两年内向加拿大原住民旅游协会提供 $480 万美元,以支持其运营,继续帮助原住民旅游业重建并从大流行中恢复。政府对旅行限制和公共卫生措施的审查和调整补充了这些努力,并将进一步支持加拿大旅游经济的增长。

联邦旅游业增长战略的更新将解决与该行业复苏和增长相关的一系列主题:投资吸引力和目的地开发;发展土著旅游业的机会;农村和偏远社区的增长;体育旅游;美食旅游;劳动力和劳动力前景;以及文化和社区旅游。例如,参与将包括农村地区的利益相关者,讨论他们在参与旅游经济时所面临的特殊挑战,以及与致力于推动社区经济繁荣的土著旅游企业的代表一起讨论,并向游客展示真实的体验到加拿大。政府还将与文化社区一起讨论加拿大丰富的多样性给旅游业带来的好处。在整个参与过程中,政府将确保听到来自该国每个地区的声音。

加拿大的蓝色经济

加拿大政府正致力于以政府整体方式发展蓝色经济,这将有助于发展加拿大的海洋和淡水经济,并支持加拿大鱼类和海产品行业的长期、可持续增长;使加拿大在海洋技术等蓝色经济快速增长的领域取得成功;推进和解、恢复、保护和气候目标;并确保加拿大的沿海社区蓬勃发展。

在 2021 年 MIT Technology Review Blue Technology Barometer 报告中,加拿大在世界国家中排名第 10 位,在海洋环境类别中的碳减排表现尤为出色[1].加拿大将继续推进这项工作,特别是在包容性领域,因为它发展其蓝色经济,并以联邦旅游业增长战略的工作为基础,重点关注农村沿海社区,并与不同的观点合作并听取他们的意见。

为了解蓝色经济的发展并听取传统上代表性不足的声音,加拿大政府在 2021 年 2 月至 2021 年 6 月期间通过 40 场圆桌会议与主要利益相关者进行了接触,并结合了有针对性的部门和区域参与。该过程涉及 1,600 多名参与者,其中 233 人被确定为土著人,318 人被确定为妇女。 2022 年 3 月 11 日,政府发布了一份“我们所听到的”文件,其中列出了所有参与者的意见和评论,包括省、地区和土著合作伙伴、私营部门、非政府组织和学术界。例如,加拿大的海洋超级集群能够从圆桌会议中收集有关包容性问题的反馈,例如“蓝色经济中的女性”。在整个参与过程中大力支持协作、伙伴关系和网络,以此作为尊重土著知识和确保非专有知识和数据的可及性的一种手段。

这一参与过程确定了蓝色经济可以促进加拿大海洋部门更加繁荣和包容的三种关键方式,包括促进土著人民的参与;识别和解决包容性增长的障碍;并发展必要的劳动力和技能。此外,利益相关者表示区域公平对于确保在加拿大蓝色经济利益的广泛分配中公平代表的重要性。为了更好地了解这些地区的细微差别和基于地点的解决方案的实施,政府在特定地区举行了圆桌会议。

增加代表性不足的群体参与蓝色经济的机制

代表性不足的加拿大人充分参与传统和新兴海洋产业仍然存在障碍,例如不受欢迎或有偏见的环境、缺乏机会意识或明确的教育和就业途径。

加拿大目前正在提供各种计划,以增加代表性不足的群体对海洋经济的参与。例如,加拿大的海洋超级集群是一个以行业为主导的集群模式,在行业和加拿大政府的共同资助下,推动跨部门合作、加速创新和发展加拿大的海洋经济。海洋超级集群正在通过土著职业枢纽项目等举措为代表性不足的群体提供支持,该项目旨在通过支持他们在海洋超级集群中就业 12 个月,促进和支持希望探索海洋经济职业选择的土著人民进行有意义的工作实习的计划成员公司,专注于创造永久性全职职位。

此外,位于新斯科舍省哈利法克斯的海洋风险和创业中心 (COVE) 是海洋相关公司进行研发、创造新产品、使用海洋传感和监测设备进行测试和培育创业的中心通过启动场-ups。 COVE 为基于项目的、工作整合的学习提供实习计划,重点是通过向该行业引入具有不同观点、教育和经验的新进入者来增加劳动力多样性并加速增长和创新。

加拿大的区域发展机构 (RDA) 负责通过已建立的区域关系促进全国的经济发展。 RDA 的现有任务和计划直接支持中小型企业 (SME)、土著团体和其他组织投资于技术、业务增长计划、可持续实践和能力建设,帮助他们创造良好的就业机会并抓住全球蓝色经济。例如,RDA 提供了加拿大体验基金——在 2019-20 年和 2020-21 年进行为期两年的投资,以支持加拿大各地的社区创造、改进或增强旅游产品、设施和体验。 CEF 重点投资于五个领域:冬季和平季旅游、乡村和偏远旅游、原住民旅游、多样性和包容性以及烹饪体验。目前,RDA正在交付为期两年的$5亿旅游救济基金。这些投资跨越了蓝色经济领域,包括海洋旅游和娱乐,并根据加拿大每个地区的中小企业和社区的具体需求和现实量身定制,并得益于多年来与当地企业、组织和他们所代表的网络。通过利用 RDA 对区域海洋部门优先事项的了解、与当地主要海洋利益相关者(如土著群体)的网络以及支持海洋部门的经验,RDA 致力于应对区域挑战并创造更多机会。

结论

在让利益相关者参与发展加拿大蓝色经济的过程中,许多主题反复出现。其中包括需要利用沿海社区的潜力,例如沿海和海洋旅游景点、港口和其他海洋服务;需要采取基于地方的方法来发展蓝色经济;政府资助和融资的关键作用;发展包容性劳动力的重要性;农村经济发展;投资基础设施,如社区码头和宽带基础设施。这些主题与现有的联邦优先事项相一致,以包容性地发展加拿大的旅游经济,包括促进多样化和真实的原住民旅游体验,利用农村和偏远地区吸引游客,以及开发烹饪和从海上到餐桌的体验。

游客经济是加拿大从全球大流行中全面经济复苏的核心。沿海和海洋旅游将有助于推动这一关键领域的未来增长。加拿大拥有世界对蓝海旅游的需求。通过与不同的合作伙伴合作并向我们的国际同事学习,我们将使加拿大在其海洋旅游经济的负责任和可持续发展方面处于有利地位。

—–

[1] 麻省理工学院技术评论,“蓝色技术晴雨表”,2021 年 11 月,https://www.technologyreview.com/2022/01/05/1040367/the-blue-technology-barometer/。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Voices: Inclusive and Participatory Models for Coastal and Marine Tourism

What tools or mechanisms have been effective in creating opportunities for impactful engagement of stakeholders in the development of coastal and marine tourism? How do these tools or mechanisms need to be tailored to ensure active inclusion of particularly vulnerable or disenfranchised members of the community?

The Honourable Randy Boissonnault
The Honourable Randy Boissonnault
Minister of Tourism and Associate Minister of Finance, Canada

Canada is an ocean nation. The global ocean economy is rapidly expanding and transforming, with the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development forecasting it will more than double in size by 2030. Canada is working to leverage this growth. Our national assets, including the longest coastline in the world, access to three oceans, cutting-edge ocean science and technology innovation, and a strong track record on conservation, provide a strong comparative advantage. Currently Canada’s ocean-based economy generates C$36.1 billion in gross domestic product (GDP) annually, sustains nearly 300,000 jobs and is crucial to the quality of life of the 4.8 million Canadians living in our coastal communities. Canada’s marine sectors, including marine tourism, make significant economic contributions, particularly for rural coastal communities.

Before the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, tourism in Canada was a high-growth, high-potential industry and was coming off several record-breaking years in terms of revenue and the number of tourists visiting Canada. In 2019, tourism represented 2 percent of Canada’s GDP, 3 percent of total exports and 4 percent of all jobs. Tourism is a uniquely inclusive industry. Comprised mostly of small and medium-sized businesses, it employs a higher proportion of youth, women, LGBTQ2 individuals, and racialised and Indigenous persons compared to their share of the workforce. The industry is also a significant source of employment for newcomers to Canada; in 2019, 28 percent of tourism employees were immigrants or non-permanent residents. Tourism is important in every region of Canada, including large and small cities, rural and remote areas, Indigenous communities, coastal communities and in the North.

Coastal and marine tourism offerings contribute significantly to the industry, as they attract domestic and international travellers with destination-specific activities such as whale watching, recreational fishing, scuba diving and Arctic cruises. The cruise industry alone is a significant driver of the tourism industry and an important part of the Canadian economy, particularly in coastal communities. In 2019, the cruise industry generated over $4 billion in economic output and supported over 30,000 jobs.

COVID-19 hit our tourism industry hard. The Government of Canada is working with communities across Canada to support the industry’s recovery. The tourism and hospitality sector received an estimated $23 billion in support through the federal government’s emergency programmes. Budget 2021 provided $1 billion over three years to the tourism sector, including in the following areas:

  • $500 million for the Tourism Relief Fund, which provides support to rural tourism projects all across the country, including coastal communities. This includes $50 million designated specifically to Indigenous tourism.
  • $200 million to support Canada’s major festivals and events.
  • $200 million to support local festivals and events.
  • $100 million to Destination Canada for marketing campaigns to promote Canadian travel destinations.

To support the ongoing recovery, the Government of Canada is committed to ensuring that Canada remains recognised as a safe destination of choice. Canada’s strong vaccination levels, along with continued promotion of public health measures by the people of Canada, standardised proof of vaccination and digital collection of traveller information through ArriveCAN, have ensured that Canada remains a safe and secure place to visit.

In addition, Canada continues to prioritise the growth of the blue economy to create opportunities for freshwater and ocean sectors and coastal communities. As an ocean nation, Canada can support its tourism recovery by leveraging and developing characteristics in coastal communities, including but not limited to our ocean, to draw both domestic and international travellers. The exposure and expansion of ocean-based tourism will support the growth of the visitor economy on all three of Canada’s coasts and create more jobs, opportunities and economic well-being in coastal and Indigenous communities. 

The Federal Tourism Growth Strategy

On 21 May 2019, the Government of Canada announced the first Federal Tourism Growth Strategy (FTGS), with the objective of leveraging tourism to drive economic growth and create jobs throughout the country. The strategy prioritised rural and remote tourism in order to drive new economic opportunities in those regions, and to open tourists to more of Canada’s breathtaking natural beauty. In fact, a pillar of the FTGS was ‘to Build Tourism in Canada’s Communities’, including in rural and remote communities. To help achieve this, a $58.5 million Canadian Experiences Fund (CEF) was established to invest in tourism products related to winter and shoulder seasons, rural and remote tourism, Indigenous tourism, inclusiveness (especially for LGBTQ2 communities) and culinary tourism.

To inform development of the strategy, the Government of Canada conducted considerable engagement with diverse stakeholders across Canada, including many coastal communities. In 2018, the government launched a week-long, cross-country tour to meet with local tourism stakeholders through a series of roundtables. The meetings convened industry associations (e.g. Indigenous Tourism BC), culinary organisations (e.g., Ocean Wise), diverse community organisations (e.g. Vancouver Pride Society), Indigenous organisations (e.g. Kivalliq Inuit Association), tourism operators (e.g. tours, farms, festivals), universities, local governments, Crown corporations, transportation authorities and more. Dispersed throughout Canada, the roundtables were held in Winnipeg and Churchill, Manitoba; Rankin Inlet, Nunavut; and Vancouver, Kelowna and Victoria, British Columbia.

On 18 May 2022, Canada launched the consultation process to renew the Federal Tourism Growth Strategy to continue supporting Canada’s tourism industry, following the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic. The Government of Canada will work with tourism businesses, provincial and territorial counterparts, and Indigenous tourism partners to renew the strategy with a new post-pandemic lens. As part of these efforts, and to ensure that Indigenous businesses are part of the recovery, the 2022 budget proposes to provide $20 million over two years to support a new Indigenous Tourism Fund to help the Indigenous tourism industry recover from the pandemic and position itself for long-term, sustainable growth. The budget also proposes to provide $4.8 million over two years to the Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada to support its operations, which continue to help the Indigenous tourism industry rebuild and recover from the pandemic. The government’s review and adjustments to travel restrictions and public health measures complement these efforts and will further support the growth of Canada’s tourism economy.

The renewal of the Federal Tourism Growth Strategy will address a range of themes related to the sector’s recovery and growth: investment attraction and destination development; opportunities for growing the Indigenous tourism sector; growth in rural and remote communities; sports tourism; culinary tourism; labour and workforce outlooks; and cultural and community-based tourism. For instance, engagement will include stakeholders in rural areas to discuss their particular challenges when engaging in the tourism economy, as well as with representatives of Indigenous tourism businesses who are working to drive economic prosperity for their communities, as well as showcase authentic experiences for visitors to Canada. The government will also engage cultural communities to discuss the benefits that Canada’s rich diversity brings to the tourism sector. Throughout this engagement process, the government will ensure that voices from every region of the country are heard.

Canada’s Blue Economy

The Government of Canada is working to develop the blue economy with a whole-of-government approach that will help to grow Canada’s ocean and freshwater economy and support the long-term, sustainable growth of Canada’s fish and seafood sector; position Canada to succeed in fast-growing sectors of the blue economy such as ocean technology; advance reconciliation, restoration, conservation and climate objectives; and ensure that Canada’s coastal communities thrive.

In the 2021 MIT Technology Review Blue Technology Barometer report, Canada ranked 10th among the world’s nations and performed particularly well in the category of ocean environment in carbon reduction[1]. Canada will continue to advance this work, especially in the area of inclusion, as it grows its blue economy and builds on the work of the Federal Tourism Growth Strategy with its focus on rural coastal communities and working with and hearing from a diversity of perspectives.

To inform the development of the blue economy and to hear from traditionally under-represented voices, the Government of Canada engaged with key stakeholders from February to June 2021 through 40 roundtables, coupled with targeted sector and regional engagement. The process connected with over 1,600 participants, of which 233 identified as Indigenous persons and 318 identified as women. On 11 March 2022, the government released a ‘What We Heard’ document that catalogued input and commentary from all participants, including provincial, territorial and Indigenous partners, private sector, non-governmental organisations and academia. For example, Canada’s Ocean Supercluster was able to gather feedback from roundtables on inclusivity issues, such as ‘Women in the Blue Economy’. Collaborations, partnerships and networking were strongly supported throughout the engagement as a means to respect Indigenous knowledge and ensure accessibility to non-proprietary knowledge and data.

This engagement process identified three key ways that the blue economy could foster more prosperity and inclusion in Canada’s ocean sectors, including advancing the participation of Indigenous peoples; identifying and addressing barriers to inclusive growth; and developing the necessary labour force and skills. Additionally, stakeholders indicated the importance of regional equity to ensure equitable representation in the broad distribution of the benefits of Canada’s blue economy. To better understand these regional nuances and the implementation of place-based solutions, the government held roundtables in specific regions.

Mechanisms for increasing participation of under-represented groups in the blue economy

Full engagement of  under-represented Canadians in traditional and emerging ocean industries still fact obstacles, such as unwelcoming or biased environments, lack of awareness of opportunities, or clear educational and employment pathways.

Canada is currently providing various programmes to increase the participation of under-represented groups in the ocean economy. For example, Canada’s Ocean Supercluster is an industry-led cluster model driving cross-sectoral collaboration, accelerating innovation and growing Canada’s ocean economy with funding from both industry and the Government of Canada. The Ocean Supercluster is supporting under-represented groups through initiatives such the Indigenous Career Pivot Project—a programme to facilitate and support meaningful work placements for Indigenous peoples wishing to explore career options in the ocean economy by supporting their employment for 12 months with an Ocean Supercluster member company, with a focus on creating permanent full-time positions.

Additionally, the Centre for Ocean Ventures and Entrepreneurship (COVE), located in Halifax, Nova Scotia, is a hub for ocean-related companies to conduct research and development, create new products, access marine sensing and monitoring equipment for testing, and nurture start-ups through the Start Up Yard. COVE provides an internship programme for project-based, work-integrated learning, with a focus on growing workforce diversity and accelerating growth and innovation by introducing new entrants with diverse perspectives, education and experience to the sector.

Canada’s regional development agencies (RDAs) are charged with promoting economic development across the country through established regional relationships. RDAs’ existing mandates and programmes directly support small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), Indigenous groups and other organisations investing in technology, business growth initiatives, sustainable practices and capacity building, helping them to create good jobs and seize the tremendous opportunities of the global blue economy. For example, the RDAs delivered the Canadian Experiences Fund—a two-year investment in 2019–20 and 2020–21 to support communities across Canada as they created, improved or enhanced tourism products, facilities and experiences. The CEF focused investments in five areas: winter and shoulder season tourism, rural and remote tourism, Indigenous tourism, diversity and inclusion, and culinary experiences. Currently, the RDAs are delivering the two-year $500 million Tourism Relief Fund. These investments have spanned blue economy sectors, including marine tourism and recreation, and are tailored to the specific needs and realities of SMEs and communities in each Canadian region, informed by a deep well of expertise acquired over years of working with local businesses, organisations and the networks they represent. By leveraging RDA knowledge of regional ocean sector priorities, networks with key local ocean stakeholders such as Indigenous groups, and experience in supporting ocean sectors, the RDAs work to address regional challenges and foster further opportunities.

Conclusion

A number of themes recur in the process of engaging stakeholders on growing Canada’s blue economy. These include the need to leverage the potential of coastal communities, such as coastal and marine tourism attractions, harbours and other marine services; the need to take a place-based approach to developing the blue economy; the critical role of government funding and financing; the importance of developing an inclusive labour force; rural economic development; and investing in foundational infrastructure such as community wharves and broadband infrastructure. These themes align with existing federal priorities to grow Canada’s tourism economy inclusively, including promoting diverse and authentic Indigenous tourism experiences, leveraging rural and remote areas to draw in tourists, and developing culinary and sea-to-table experiences.

The visitor economy is central to Canada’s full economic recovery from the global pandemic. Coastal and marine tourism will help drive future growth in this critical sector. Canada has what the world wants in blue ocean tourism. By working with diverse partners and learning from our international colleagues, we will position Canada for responsible and sustainable growth of its ocean tourism economy.

—–

[1] MIT Technology Review, “The Blue Technology Barometer,” November 2021, https://www.technologyreview.com/2022/01/05/1040367/the-blue-technology-barometer/.

Close
back to top