精选: 各国签署海洋与气候行动联合宣言 Arrow 精选: COP28 值得关注的 10 个海洋事件 Arrow 精选: 阅读新报告:海洋作为气候变化的解决方案 Arrow 精选: 阅读 2023 年联合国大会海洋小组领导人联合公报 Arrow
专家论文
声音:沿海和海洋旅游的包容性和参与性模式

哪些工具或机制有效地为利益相关者有效参与沿海和海洋旅游业的发展创造机会?如何调整这些工具或机制,以确保积极融入社区中特别脆弱或被剥夺权利的成员?

Lisa Bishop
丽莎毕晓普
恐龙湾之友主席

起源于 1700 年代,公民科学(也称为“社区科学”)包括公众参与广泛的科学探究,通过让参与者与专业科学家合作来鼓励好奇心和加深对科学的理解。在世界各地,公民科学让公众(包括那些弱势和被剥夺权利的人)参与、教育和授权公众参与研究,这些研究为环境和治理政策提供信息,他们通常无法以任何其他方式影响[1].

公民科学,广泛了解基于地方的传统知识系统[2],是为利益相关者创造机会以帮助发展沿海和海洋旅游业的最有效工具。这两个学科之间的联系激发了对管理的承诺,并提供了衡量和减轻旅游业对本土文化以及沿海和海洋生物多样性的影响的方法。增加对有机社区管家和文化从业者的直接资助将加速并强调公民科学与基于地方的传统知识之间的联系,这对于发展和实施转型的沿海和海洋旅游模式至关重要。

联合国世界旅游组织估计,2017 年全球有 13 亿游客参观了沿海景点,预计到 2030 年将有超过 18 亿游客前往这些目的地[3].这种强度的旅行以多种方式影响近岸海洋环境,包括在生态敏感地区颁布防晒霜污染。公民科学和传统知识都有助于衡量与旅游业相关的防晒个人护理产品的程度,并为夏威夷欧胡岛哈瑙马湾的这些珊瑚礁有毒污染物制定缓解策略;和夏威夷夏威夷岛的卡哈鲁乌湾。

恐龙湾是夏威夷最古老的海洋生物保护区,也是世界各地夏威夷的标志性象征,在 COVID-19 大流行前一天有 3,000-6,000 人参观。公民科学对于利益相关者成功倡导减少海湾过度旅游并减轻其影响至关重要。 2017 年,公民科学确定,恐龙湾的防晒霜污染测量水平在夏威夷最高[4].这项研究有助于夏威夷通过世界上第一个禁止销售含有氧苯酮和辛氧酸盐的防晒霜的禁令[5].随后的一项公民科学研究表明,游泳者的氧苯酮对恐龙的珊瑚礁生态系统构成严重威胁,海滩淋浴也可能导致海湾的污染。它建议进一步研究以确定在密集旅游期间恐龙的防晒霜负荷是否也对公共健康构成威胁[6].由于大约 95% 的恐龙湾游客是游客,社区利益相关者的这项第二项研究提供了一项新的预防政策,以减轻旅游业对恐龙湾海洋生态系统生物多样性的威胁,因为夏威夷转向大流行后的再生旅游模式[7].

 

“恐龙湾之友一直是宝贵的资源,做了很多对该地区有法律管辖权的人没有做的工作。”

——夏威夷州参议员克里斯·李(2020 年)

 

占地 4 英亩的 Kahalu'u 湾是夏威夷岛西侧访问量最大的海洋休闲场所,在大流行之前每年接待超过 400,000 名游客。社区利益相关者对这一重要自然资源的管理建立在 库木利波[8],崇敬的夏威夷创世圣歌 `uku ko`ako`a (珊瑚虫)作为地球上所有生命的基础。 Kahalu'u 湾教育中心及其 ReefTeach 志愿者将公民科学与夏威夷当地文化传统和实践之间的联系优化为持续的生态系统健康监测和社区教育和培训计划,将教育转变为帮助管理海湾以造福居民和游客一样[9].

 

在 Cindi Punihaole-Kennedy 阿姨的领导下,Kahalu'u Bay 教育中心 (KBEC) 坚定地平衡了 Kahalu'u Bay 的管理'精致的生态系统和丰富的文化历史,同时将该地点确立为夏威夷岛游客的必看景点。通过与州和县以及大西夏威夷社区的社区倡导者的有效合作,KBEC 被公认为夏威夷栖息地管理和负责任旅游业的领导者,保护我们的社区'受气候变化影响的珍贵资源,供后代享用。

——夏威夷州参议员 Dru Mamo Kanuha(2022 年)

 

将互补的公民科学和基于地方的传统知识系统整合到不断发展的再生旅游模式中,以激发和肯定有机管理,确保积极融入社区中特别脆弱或被剥夺权利的成员。

大流行导致的旅游业暂停为世界提供了一个机会来体验、记录和衡量因几代过度旅游而受到损害的自然资源的空前复苏。这种环境复兴不能被忽视或遗忘。它激发了与全球旅游业的利益相关者驱动的合作伙伴关系,转向以欢迎游客分享的学习机会为基础的再生旅游模式 库利亚纳 (责任)自然资源管理。

建立在夏威夷旅游局 20-25 战略计划的自然资源、夏威夷文化、社区和品牌营销四大支柱之上[10], 这 马拉玛 夏威夷教育运动与众多利益相关者合作,包括弱势和被剥夺权利的社区成员,因为它邀请游客丰富他们对夏威夷群岛的体验,更加强调分享夏威夷文化、回馈目的地并为后代保护其丰富资源。这项新的教育活动针对尊重他们所访问和负责任地探索的地方的文化和环境的正念旅行者,强调了恢复夏威夷自然资源、延续夏威夷文化并为身临其境的游客参与这些努力的机会的重要性[11].

旅游业在拥有非凡自然资源和独特文化和传统的地方蓬勃发展。通过尊重、保护和保存后代体验的协作再生旅游模式,游客的体验和利益相关者资源得到了显着改善。通过与社区利益相关者直接合作以确保永久保护自然和文化资源的无限机会,全球旅游业可以为可持续的沿海和海洋旅游建立充满希望和相互支持的包容性社区。

 

“看到 2022 年联合国海洋会议牵头制定合作可持续海洋解决方案的道路令人鼓舞,我们很自豪您选择了恐龙湾之友的毕晓普女士为夏威夷向世界其他地区发声.既然我们已经摆脱了 COVID 19,全球旅游业的重新开放为该行业提供了前所未有的机会,可以与利益相关者合作开发可再生的沿海和海洋旅游模式,为子孙后代保护自然资源和文化传统。

——夏威夷州代表吉恩·沃德(2022)

—–

[1] C. Doyle、D. Rodreck、Y. Li、M. Luczak-Roesch、D. Anderson 和 CM Pierson,“在课堂上使用网络进行科学:在线公民参与教学”,在 WebSci '19:第 10 届 ACM 网络科学会议论文集 (纽约:计算机协会,2019),71–80,https:// 土井:10.1145/3292522.3326022; T. Gura,“公民科学:业余专家”, 自然 496(2013),https://doi:10.1038/nj7444-259a。

[2] TD Jessen、NC Ban、NX Claxton、CT Darimont 等人,“土著知识对生态和进化理解的贡献”, 生态与环境前沿 20,没有。 2(2021),https://doi.org/10.1002/fee.2435。

[3] 世界旅游组织, 世旅组织 旅游亮点: 2017 年版 (马德里:世旅组织,2017 年),https://doi.org/10.18111/9789284419029。

[4] CA Downs,“恐龙湾海洋生物保护区海水中氧苯酮污染的基线测量”,2018 年。

[5] 第 104 号法案,“与水污染有关”,夏威夷会议法律,2018 年。

[6] CA Downs, L. Bishop, MS Diaz Cruz, SA Haghshenas, D. Stien, AMS Rodrigues 等人,“防晒霜污染造成的氧苯酮污染及其对恐龙湾的生态威胁,美国夏威夷州瓦胡岛,” 化学圈 291(2021):132880,https://doi.org/10.1016/j.chemosphere.2021.132880。

[7] 檀香山市和县公园和娱乐部,每月通讯,2022 年 2 月,https://www.honolulu.gov/parks-hbay/home.html。

[8] “Kumulipo:夏威夷创作圣歌”, 他Make'e Wa'a, 2015, https://www.hemakeewaa.org/kumulipo-and-duality-of-nature。

[9] Kohala 中心,Kahaluʻu 湾教育中心,2022,https://kohalacenter.org/kbec。

[10] 夏威夷旅游局, 战略计划 2020–2025, https://www.hawaiitourismauthority.org/media/4286/hta-strategic-plan-2020-2025.pdf。

[11] 夏威夷旅游局,“夏威夷旅游局发起夏威夷马拉马教育运动”,新闻稿,2021 年 6 月 1 日,https://www.hawaiitourismauthority.org/news/news-releases/2021/hawaii-tourism-authority-launches-educational-马拉马夏威夷战役/。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Voices: Inclusive and Participatory Models for Coastal and Marine Tourism

What tools or mechanisms have been effective in creating opportunities for impactful engagement of stakeholders in the development of coastal and marine tourism? How do these tools or mechanisms need to be tailored to ensure active inclusion of particularly vulnerable or disenfranchised members of the community?

Lisa Bishop
Lisa Bishop
President, Friends of Hanauma Bay

Originating in the 1700s, citizen science (also referred to as ‘community science’) embraces public involvement in a broad range of scientific inquiry, encouraging curiosity and greater understanding of science by enabling participants to work with professional scientists. All over the world, citizen science engages, educates and empowers the public, including those who are vulnerable and disenfranchised, to get involved in research that informs environmental and governance policies they frequently would not be able to influence in any other way[1].

Citizen science, extensively informed by place-based traditional knowledge systems[2], is the most effective tool for creating opportunities for stakeholders to help develop coastal and marine tourism. The nexus between these two disciplines inspires a commitment to stewardship and provides methodologies to measure and mitigate the impacts of tourism on native cultures and coastal and marine biodiversity. Improved direct funding to organic community stewards and cultural practitioners will accelerate and underscore the nexus between citizen science and place-based traditional knowledge critical to the development and implementation of transformational coastal and marine tourism models.

The UN World Tourism Organization estimates that 1.3 billion tourists visited coastal attractions worldwide in 2017, and it projects more than 1.8 billion travellers to these destinations by 2030[3]. This intensity of travel impacts near-shore marine environments in many ways, including the promulgation of sunscreen pollution in ecologically sensitive areas. Both citizen science and traditional knowledge are instrumental in measuring the extent of sunscreen personal care products tied to tourism and developing mitigation strategies for these reef-toxic pollutants in Hanauma Bay, Oʻahu, Hawaiʻi; and Kahaluʻu Bay, Hawaiʻi Island, Hawaiʻi.

Hanauma Bay is Hawai’iʻs oldest Marine Life Conservation District and an iconic symbol of Hawaiʻi around the world, visited by 3,000–6,000 people a day before the COVID-19 pandemic. Citizen science is critical to the successful advocacy of stakeholders to reduce overtourism at the bay and mitigate its impacts. In 2017, citizen science determined that Hanauma Bay had the highest measured level of sunscreen pollution in Hawaiʻi[4]. This study was instrumental in Hawaiʻi’s passage of the world’s first ban on the sale of sunscreens containing oxybenzone and octinoxate[5]. A subsequent citizen science study demonstrated that oxybenzone from swimmers poses a serious threat to Hanauma’s coral reef ecosystem and that beach showers may also contribute to the bay’s contamination. It recommended further studies to determine whether the sunscreen load at Hanauma during periods of intensive tourism also poses a threat to public health[6]. Since approximately 95 percent of all visitors to Hanauma Bay are tourists, this second study by community stakeholders informs a new precautionary policy mitigating tourism’s demonstrated threat to the biodiversity of Hanauma’s marine ecosystem as Hawaiʻi pivots to a post-pandemic regenerative tourism model[7].

 

‘Friends of Hanauma Bay has been an invaluable resource, doing much of the work that those who have legal jurisdiction over the area haven’t.’

—Hawaiʻi state senator Chris Lee (2020)

 

The four-acre Kahaluʻu Bay is the most visited marine recreation site on Hawaiʻi Island’s west side, seeing over 400,000 visitors a year before the pandemic. Community stakeholders’ stewardship of this important natural resource is founded on the Kumulipo[8], the Hawaiian creation chant that reveres ʻuku koʻakoʻa (coral polyps) as the foundation of all life on earth. The Kahaluʻu Bay Education Center and its ReefTeach volunteers optimise the nexus between citizen science and place-based Hawaiian cultural traditions and practices into ongoing ecosystem health monitoring and community education and training programs that transform education into an invitation to help steward the bay to benefit residents and visitors alike[9].

 

The Kahaluʻu Bay Education Center (KBEC), under the leadership of Aunty Cindi Punihaole-Kennedy, has firmly balanced the management of Kahaluʻu Bays delicate ecosystem and rich cultural history, while establishing the site as a must-see for visitors to Hawaiʻi Island. Through effective partnerships with the State and County, as well as community advocates in the greater West Hawaiʻi community, KBEC is recognized as a leader in habitat management and responsible tourism in Hawaiʻi, protecting our communitys beloved resource from the impacts of climate change for future generations to enjoy.’

—Hawaiʻi state senator Dru Mamo Kanuha (2022)

 

Integrating complementary citizen science and place-based traditional knowledge systems into evolving models of regenerative tourism that inspire and affirm organic stewardship ensures the active inclusion of particularly vulnerable or disenfranchised members of the community.

The pause in tourism due to the pandemic offered the world an opportunity to experience, document and measure an unprecedented resurgence in natural resources harmed by generations of overtourism. This environmental renaissance cannot be unseen or forgotten. It inspires a stakeholder-driven partnership with the tourism industry worldwide to pivot towards regenerative tourism models underpinned by learning opportunities that welcome visitors to share kuleana (responsibility) for natural resource stewardship.

Founded on the four pillars of natural resources, Hawaiian culture, community and brand marketing of the Hawaiʻi Tourism Authority’s 20–25 Strategic Plan[10], the Mālama Hawaiʻi Educational Campaign engages with numerous stakeholders, including vulnerable and disenfranchised community members, as it invites visitors to enrich their experience of the Hawaiian Islands with a greater emphasis on sharing Hawaiian culture, giving back to the destination and conserving its abundance for future generations. By targeting mindful travellers who respect the culture and environment of the places they visit and explore responsibly, this new educational campaign highlights the importance of restoring Hawaiʻi’s natural resources, perpetuating Hawaiian culture and offering opportunities for immersive visitor participation in these efforts[11].

Tourism thrives in locations with extraordinary natural resources and unique cultures and traditions. Visitors’ experiences and stakeholder resources are measurably improved through collaborative regenerative tourism models that respect, protect and conserve the experience for future generations. With unlimited opportunities to partner directly with community stakeholders to ensure that natural and cultural resources are conserved in perpetuity, the worldwide tourism industry can build inclusive communities of hope and mutual support for sustainable coastal and marine tourism.

 

‘It is inspiring to see the 2022 United Nations Ocean Conference lead the effort to chart a course to collaborative sustainable ocean solutions and we’re so proud you chose Ms. Bishop from Friends of Hanauma Bay to speak for Hawaiʻi to the rest of the world.  Now that we are coming out of COVID 19, the reopening of global tourism offers the industry unprecedented opportunities to partner with stakeholders in developing regenerative coastal and marine tourism models that preserve natural resources and cultural traditions for future generations.’

– Hawaiʻi state representative Gene Ward (2022)

—–

[1] C. Doyle, D. Rodreck, Y. Li, M. Luczak-Roesch, D. Anderson, and C.M. Pierson, “Using the Web for Science in the Classroom: Online Citizen Participation in Teaching and Learning,” in WebSci ’19: Proceedings of the 10th ACM Conference on Web Science (New York: Association for Computing Machinery, 2019), 71–80, https:// doi:10.1145/3292522.3326022; T. Gura, “Citizen Science: Amateur Experts,” Nature 496 (2013), https://doi:10.1038/nj7444-259a.

[2] T.D. Jessen, N.C. Ban, N.X. Claxton, C.T. Darimont et al., “Contributions of Indigenous Knowledge to Ecological and Evolutionary Understanding,” Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment 20, no. 2 (2021), https://doi.org/10.1002/fee.2435.

[3] World Tourism Organization, UNWTO Tourism Highlights: 2017 Edition (Madrid: UNWTO, 2017), https://doi.org/10.18111/9789284419029.

[4] C.A. Downs, “Baseline Measurement of Seawater for Oxybenzone Contamination at the Hanauma Bay Marine Life Conservation District,” 2018.

[5] Act 104, “Relating to Water Pollution,” Session Laws of Hawaiʻi, 2018.

[6] C.A. Downs, L. Bishop, M.S. Diaz Cruz, S.A. Haghshenas, D. Stien, A.M.S. Rodrigues et al., “Oxybenzone Contamination from Sunscreen Pollution and Its Ecological Threat to Hanauma Bay, Oahu, Hawaii, U.S.A.,” Chemosphere 291 (2021): 132880, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.chemosphere.2021.132880.

[7] City and County of Honolulu Department of Parks and Recreation, monthly newsletter, February 2022, https://www.honolulu.gov/parks-hbay/home.html.

[8] “Kumulipo: Hawaiian Creation Chant,” He Make‘e Wa‘a, 2015, https://www.hemakeewaa.org/kumulipo-and-duality-of-nature.

[9] Kohala Center, Kahaluʻu Bay Education Center, 2022, https://kohalacenter.org/kbec.

[10] Hawaiʻi Tourism Authority, Strategic Plan 2020–2025, https://www.hawaiitourismauthority.org/media/4286/hta-strategic-plan-2020-2025.pdf.

[11] Hawaiʻi Tourism Authority, “Hawaii Tourism Authority Launches Educational Malama Hawaii Campaign,” press release, 1 June 2021, https://www.hawaiitourismauthority.org/news/news-releases/2021/hawaii-tourism-authority-launches-educational-malama-hawaii-campaign/.

Close
back to top