专家论文
转型:沿海和海洋旅游在可持续海洋经济中的作用

沿海和海洋旅游如何成为支持各国向可持续海洋经济过渡的基石?

Nathalie Corredor
娜塔莉·科雷多
四季酒店及度假村企业发展高级副总裁
Caitrin O’Brien
凯特琳·奥布莱恩
四季酒店及度假村环境、社会和治理 (ESG) 副总裁

旅游业是世界上最大的雇主和经济贡献者之一,占 2019 年全球总就业人数和全球国内生产总值的 10% 以上[1].岛屿和沿海地区的经济特别依赖旅游业,该行业占安圭拉、安提瓜和巴布达、阿鲁巴、圣卢西亚和马尔代夫等国就业人数的 50% 以上[2].岛国还面临与气候变化相关的显着增加的风险,这增加了在海洋地区建立可持续经济的紧迫性。

联合国在 SDG 具体目标 14.7 中强调了旅游业对可持续发展目标 (SDGs) 贡献的重要性,该目标确立了“增加 SIDS [小岛屿发展中国家] 和 LDC [最不发达国家] 的经济利益的雄心。到 2030 年实现海洋资源的可持续利用,包括渔业、水产养殖和旅游业的可持续管理[3].旅游业有一个特殊的机会,可以通过专注于当地就业、可持续和当地采购以及可持续运营等领域,为可持续海洋经济做出贡献。

从早期开始,四季酒店及度假村的指导原则就是黄金法则:待人如己。对我们来说,这包括以真正的关怀和体贴对待所有人和我们的星球。今天,我们在世界各地的酒店、度假村和住宅通过我们的环境、社会和治理计划体现了对环境和社区的尊重. 对于我们位于岛屿或沿海和海洋地区的度假村,这些努力在我们的运营中尤为根深蒂固。

当地就业

鉴于许多岛国特别依赖旅游业促进经济发展,当地就业实践是海洋和沿海地区可持续旅游业的重要组成部分。酒店业在世界上任何行业中具有最高的向上流动潜力,大多数职位不需要大学学位。许多酒店领导者的职业生涯始于一线员工,该行业提供了许多可供任何人使用的职业机会,并有可能积极改变当地社区。马尔代夫四季度假村酒店学徒计划是旅游业如何创造改变生活机会的真实体现。自 2001 年以来,Landaa Giraavaru 和 Kuda Huraa 度假村每年帮助 17 至 20 岁的马尔代夫年轻人通过获得从事酒店业所需的经验来创造赋权的未来。自 2010 年以来,政府认可的技术和职业教育和培训学徒计划,为期一年的学徒计划是一项实践和理论计划,在激烈和协作的环境中集中酒店运营的各个方面的职业培训,由酒店经理教授工作”和在教室里。学科范围从食品和饮料准备到工程、家政和安全海上运输,每个学徒都与现场导师合作,以提供支持和进一步的技能传授。 2022 届毕业生总数超过 700 名马尔代夫四季度假村酒店毕业生,他们中的许多人不仅在四季酒店,而且在更广泛的马尔代夫旅游业取得了成功。由于这些努力,马尔代夫四季度假村超过 50% 的员工是当地马尔代夫人。

Four Seasons 也很自豪能够参与可持续酒店联盟的青年就业计划,该计划旨在提高面临障碍的年轻人的技能,包括来自低收入家庭的人、没有父母照顾的人、人口贩运幸存者、难民和生活在残疾[4].我们致力于利用马尔代夫度假村建立的模式和通过青年就业计划开发的工具,将我们的学徒计划扩大到我们投资组合中的其他酒店。

可持续和本地采购

虽然位于沿海和海洋地区的酒店和度假村有特殊的机会为可持续的海洋经济做出贡献并从中受益,但整个世界都高度依赖健康的海洋,因为它在我们的全球生态系统中发挥着关键作用,包括调节气候并为人们提供营养。采购实践在负责任的旅游中发挥着特别重要的作用,特别是对于必须进口大量商品的岛屿。通过专注于可持续采购实践,例如可持续收获的海鲜或现场种植的农产品,旅游业可以减少我们供应链对环境的影响,并为支持当地经济做出贡献。

Sayan 的巴厘岛四季度假村和金巴兰湾的巴厘岛四季度假村通过优先考虑当地、有机、微型和基层供应商、发展关系和支持该地区的社会合作社来体现这一努力。在度假村的 Ocean to Table 体验中,客人可以与当地渔民一起在金巴兰湾外出吃午饭,并参观村里历史悠久的鱼市,了解度假村如何采购海鲜。这次旅行为渔民提供了额外的收入来源,他们还在度假村的儿童俱乐部开展活动,向小客人介绍金巴兰的渔业以及如何撒网。两家度假村均在当地采购所有新鲜农产品,并在其内部花园种植超过 25 种蔬菜、香草、香料和水果,用于烹饪课程和“零浪费”鸡尾酒工作坊。马来西亚兰卡威四季度假村拥有自己的传统鱼屋,由当地渔民设计,采用岛上种植的木材制成,采用低影响、世代相传的捕鱼方法。

四季酒店致力于让我们的每一位客人都能体验到他们所访问地点的当地文化。实现这一目标的最切实的方式之一是从当地工匠那里采购家具、艺术品和工艺品。 Naviva®, Punta Mita 是一个四季度假村,将于 2022 年底开业,度假村几乎 100% 的组件都来自墨西哥当地工匠和家具制造商,重点是可持续和天然材料。通过这一承诺,度假村将为当地社区提供重要支持,创造远远超出酒店边界的机会。

可持续运营

Four Seasons 致力于在我们的全球运营中嵌入可持续发展实践,我们在世界各地的酒店正在采取重大措施来减少碳排放、能源和水的消耗以及废物的产生。一次性塑料对我们美丽的海洋生态系统构成了特别重大的威胁。这就是为什么在过去几年中,四季酒店一直专注于确定一次性塑料的来源并实施替代品,以减少我们的环境足迹,同时提供提升的客人体验。目前,我们所有的酒店都在从宾客体验中消除一次性塑料制品,包括用可持续的替代品替换塑料水瓶和室内设施。我们特别专注于在沿海地区和塑料泄漏对当地海洋环境构成重大威胁的地方加快塑料减少和改善废物管理实践。包括越南南海四季度假酒店、马来西亚兰卡威四季度假酒店、夏威夷华拉莱四季度假酒店和佛罗里达州瑟夫赛德冲浪俱乐部四季酒店在内的度假村均已在现场实施零废物每年将淘汰数千个塑料瓶的装水厂。

除了我们致力于消除一次性塑料制品之外,每家酒店都对碳排放、能源、水和废物的年度减排目标负责。这些目标是通过我们的全球可持续发展管理系统实施的,每家酒店在实现这些目标方面的进展都会被跟踪并每季度向领导层报告。我们正在使用我们的环境基线数据来建立与可持续发展目标相一致的雄心勃勃的长期全球目标。可持续能源对于岛国来说是一个特别的挑战,因为度假村通常需要在当地自行发电。位于德罗什岛的波拉波拉岛四季度假村和塞舌尔四季度假村等物业使用太阳能光伏系统来产生清洁电力,从而减少对柴油发电机的需求。除了减少酒店的碳排放外,这些努力还有助于减少所有岛上居民的污染。

我们还专注于让客人参与我们的可持续发展工作。马尔代夫四季度假村有现场海洋生物学家团队,他们教育客人并让客人参与他们的保护项目,包括与蝠鲼信托基金联合进行的蝠鲼研究[5],海龟康复和珊瑚恢复。 2000 年,位于库达呼拉的马尔代夫四季度假村开始与 Reefscapers 建立开创性的合作伙伴关系,以保护和再生马尔代夫的珊瑚[6].通过四季 Reefscapers 项目,位于库达呼拉 (Kuda Huraa) 和 Landaa Giraavaru 的马尔代夫四季度假村 (Four Seasons Resorts Maldives) 为 40 种珊瑚的 500,000 多块珊瑚的再生做出了贡献,这些珊瑚被移植到 7,000 个珊瑚框架上。该项目是世界上最成功的珊瑚再植项目之一,拥有印度洋最大的人工珊瑚礁群。 Four Seasons 的客人可以帮助将珊瑚移植到由当地岛民雇佣的合作社建造的框架上,然后通过 Marine Savers 网站上的照片更新观看珊瑚礁的生长。世界各地的其他酒店也在实施类似的具有影响力的项目,让客人参与生物多样性保护和保护,例如位于 Papagayo 半岛的哥斯达黎加四季度假村的“珊瑚园艺体验”,墨西哥蓬塔米塔四季度假村的海龟保护计划和尼维斯四季度假村,以及通过夏威夷华拉莱四季度假村的 Alaka'i Nalu 和 Kumu Kai 海洋教育中心开展海洋保护教育。

沿海和海洋目的地有很多机会让客人参与可持续发展,通过海滩清理、突出负责任采购的菜单项目和教育节目等简单的行动。通过这些类型的客人参与努力,旅游业可以产生连锁反应,即使在游客回国后,这种连锁反应也会继续产生共鸣并产生更积极的影响。

结论

虽然大流行给该行业带来了不可否认的挑战,但随着全球边境重新开放,旅游业有机会以更可持续的方式重建,特别是在沿海和海洋地区,适当保护和保护我们的海洋对于两国的成功至关重要旅游业和地球。通过关注当地就业、可持续和当地采购以及可持续运营,沿海和海洋旅游业可以为可持续的海洋经济奠定基础,创造积极影响,同时为人类和我们的星球建设一个更加繁荣和有弹性的未来。

—–

[1] 有关百分比,请参阅世界旅行和旅游理事会, 旅行和旅游业:2020 年全球经济影响和趋势, June 2020, https://wttc.org/Portals/0/Documents/Reports/2020/Global%20Economic%20Impact%20Trends%202020.pdf?ver=2021-02-25-183118-360.

[2] R. Hutt,“这些地方最依赖旅游业获得就业机会”,世界经济论坛,2020 年 8 月 27 日,https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2020/08/destinations-rely-most-on-旅游-旅游/。

[3] 联合国可持续发展目标, 14

保护和可持续利用海洋和海洋资源以促进可持续发展, https://sdgs.un.org/goals/goal14

[4] 可持续酒店联盟,“青年就业计划”,2021 年,https://sustainablehospitalityalliance.org/our-work/youth-employment/youth-employment-programme/。

[5] Manta Trust,“通过研究、教育和合作进行保护”,https://www.mantatrust.org/。

[6] Reefscapers,主页,https://reefscapers.com/。

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Transformation: The Role of Coastal and Marine Tourism in a Sustainable Ocean Economy

How can coastal and marine tourism be a foundational building block for supporting countries to transition to a sustainable ocean economy?

Nathalie Corredor
Nathalie Corredor
SVP Corporate Development, Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts
Caitrin O’Brien
Caitrin O’Brien
VP Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG), Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts

The travel and tourism industry is one of the world’s largest employers and economic contributors, accounting for over 10 percent of total global employment and global gross domestic product in 2019[1]. The economies of islands and coastal areas are particularly dependent on travel and tourism, with the industry accounting for well over 50 percent of employment in nations such as Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, St. Lucia and the Maldives[2]. Island nations also face significantly heightened risks associated with climate change, increasing the urgency of establishing sustainable economies in ocean regions.

The United Nations has highlighted the importance of the tourism industry’s contribution to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in SDG Target 14.7, which establishes the ambition to ‘increase the economic benefits to SIDS [small island developing states] and LDCs [least developed countries] from the sustainable use of marine resources, including through sustainable management of fisheries, aquaculture and tourism’ by 2030[3]. The travel and tourism industry has a particular opportunity to contribute to sustainable ocean economies by focusing efforts on areas such as local employment, sustainable and local sourcing, and sustainable operations.

Since its very early days, the guiding principle of Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts has been the Golden Rule: Treat others as you would like to be treated. For us, this includes treating all people and our planet with true care and consideration. Today our hotels, resorts and residences around the world embody this respect for the environment and our communities through our Environmental, Social and Governance program. For our resorts located on islands or in coastal and marine areas, these efforts are particularly engrained in our operations.

Local employment

Given many island nations’ particular reliance on tourism for economic development, local employment practices are a critical building block of sustainable tourism in marine and coastal regions. The hospitality industry has some of the highest potential for upward mobility of any industry in the world, with university degrees not required for most positions. Many hotel leaders started their careers as line-level staff, and the industry offers many career opportunities that are available to anyone and have the potential to positively transform local communities. The Four Seasons Resorts Maldives Hospitality Apprenticeship Program is a true embodiment of how the tourism industry can create life-changing opportunities. Since 2001, the resorts of Landaa Giraavaru and Kuda Huraa have helped an annual intake of Maldivian youngsters aged 17 to 20 to create empowered futures by gaining the experience required to pursue a career in the hospitality industry. A government-accredited Technical and Vocational Education and Training Apprenticeship Program since 2010, the year-long apprenticeship effort is a practical and theoretical scheme that concentrates vocational training in all aspects of hotel operations in an intense and collaborative environment, taught by hotel managers ‘on the job’ and in classrooms. Disciplines range from food and beverage preparation to engineering, housekeeping and safe maritime transportation, with every apprentice partnered with an on-site mentor for support and further transfer of skills. The Class of 2022 brings the total number of Four Seasons Resorts Maldives Hospitality graduates to more than 700, many of whom have gone on to successful careers not only with Four Seasons but in the broader Maldivian tourism industry. As a result of these efforts, over 50 percent of Four Seasons Resorts Maldives employees are local Maldivians.

Four Seasons is also proud to participate in the Sustainable Hospitality Alliance’s Youth Employment Programme, which seeks to upskill young people who have faced barriers, including people from low-income families, those living without parental care, survivors of human trafficking, refugees and people living with disabilities[4]. We are committed to scaling up our apprenticeship programming to other hotels across our portfolio, using the model established by the Maldives resorts and the tools developed through the Youth Employment Programme.

Sustainable and local sourcing

While hotels and resorts located in coastal and marine regions have a particular opportunity to contribute to and benefit from a sustainable ocean economy, the entire world is highly dependent on a healthy ocean for the critical role it plays in our global ecosystem, including regulating the climate and providing nourishment to people. Sourcing practices play an especially relevant role in responsible tourism, especially for islands where a high percentage of goods must be imported. By focusing on sustainable sourcing practices, such as sustainably harvested seafood or produce grown on-site, the tourism industry can reduce the environmental impact of our supply chains and contribute to supporting local economies.

Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan and Four Seasons Resort Bali at Jimbaran Bay embody this effort by prioritising local, organic, micro- and grassroots suppliers, developing relationships and supporting social cooperatives in the region. In the resorts’ Ocean to Table experience, guests can go out in Jimbaran Bay with a local fisherman to catch their lunch, and visit the historic fish market in the village to see how the property sources its seafood. This tour provides an extra revenue stream for the fishermen, who also run an activity at the resort’s Kids Club teaching little guests about Jimbaran’s fishing industry and how to throw a net. Both resorts source all fresh produce locally and grow over 25 varieties of vegetables, herbs, spices and fruit in their on-site gardens, which are used in cooking classes and ‘Zero Waste’ cocktail workshops. Four Seasons Resort Langkawi in Malaysia has its own traditional fish house that was designed by a local fisherman, crafted from island-grown wood and uses low-impact, generations-old fishing methods.

Four Seasons endeavours to enable each of our guests to experience the local culture of the location they are visiting. One of the most tangible ways this comes to life is through the sourcing of furniture, artwork and crafts from local artisans. Naviva®, Punta Mita, a Four Seasons Resort which is set to open in late 2022, will source almost 100 percent of the resort’s components from local Mexican artisans and furniture makers, with a focus on sustainable and natural materials. Through this commitment, the resort will provide significant support to the local community, creating opportunities that extend well beyond the boundaries of the property.

Sustainable operations

Four Seasons is committed to embedding sustainability practices throughout our global operations, and our properties around the world are taking significant steps to reduce carbon emissions, energy and water consumption, and waste production. Single-use plastics pose a particularly significant threat to our beautiful marine ecosystems. That is why over the past several years, Four Seasons has focused on identifying sources of disposable plastic and implementing alternatives that reduce our environmental footprint while delivering an elevated guest experience. All of our hotels are currently eliminating single-use plastics from the guest experience, including replacing plastic water bottles and in-room amenities with sustainable alternatives. We are especially focused on expediting plastics reduction and improving waste management practices in coastal regions and locations where plastic leakages pose a significant threat to local marine environments. Resorts including Four Seasons Resort The Nam Hai in Vietnam, Four Seasons Resort Langkawi in Malaysia, Four Seasons Resort Hualālai in Hawai‘i, and Four Seasons Hotel at the Surf Club in Surfside, Florida, have all implemented zero-waste, on-site water-bottling plants that will eliminate thousands of plastic bottles per year.

In addition to our commitment to eliminate single-use plastics, each hotel is held accountable to annual reduction targets for carbon emissions, energy, water and waste. These targets are implemented through our global sustainability management system, and each property’s progress towards these goals is tracked and reported to leadership on a quarterly basis. We are in the process of using our environmental baseline data to establish ambitious, long-term global goals that will align with the SDGs. Sustainable sources of energy are a particular challenge for island nations, where resorts are often required to generate their own power on-site. Properties such as Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora and Four Seasons Resort Seychelles at Desroches Island use solar photovoltaic systems to generate clean power that reduces the need for diesel generators. In addition to reducing the hotel’s carbon emissions, these efforts help to reduce pollution for all island inhabitants.

We are also focused on engaging our guests in our sustainability efforts. Four Seasons Resorts in the Maldives have on-site marine biologist teams who educate and involve guests in their conservation projects, including manta ray research in association with the Manta Trust[5], sea turtle rehabilitation and coral restoration. In 2000, Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa began a pioneering partnership with Reefscapers to protect and regrow coral in the Maldives[6]. Through the Four Seasons Reefscapers project, Four Seasons Resorts Maldives at Kuda Huraa and Landaa Giraavaru have contributed to regrowing more than 500,000 pieces of 40 species of coral, transplanted onto 7,000 coral frames. The project is one of the most successful coral replanting efforts in the world, featuring the Indian Ocean’s largest mass of artificial reefs. Four Seasons guests can help transplant the coral onto frames built by a cooperative that employs local islanders, and then watch their reef grow via photo updates on the Marine Savers website. Other hotels around the world are also implementing similarly impactful projects that engage guests in biodiversity preservation and conservation, such as the ‘Coral Gardening Experience’ at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo, sea turtle conservation programs at Four Seasons Resort Punta Mita, Mexico, and Four Seasons Resort Nevis, and ocean conservation education through the Alaka‘i Nalu and Kumu Kai Marine Education Center at Four Seasons Resort Hualālai, Hawai‘i.

Coastal and marine destinations have an abundance of opportunities to engage guests in sustainability, through simple actions such as beach clean-ups, highlighting responsibly sourced menu items and educational programming. Through these types of guest engagement efforts, the tourism industry can create a ripple effect that will continue to resonate and create even more positive impact even after visitors return home.

Conclusion

While the pandemic resulted in undeniable challenges for the industry, as borders reopen globally the tourism industry has the opportunity to build back more sustainably, particularly in coastal and marine locations where proper preservation and protection of our ocean is most critical to the success of both the tourism industry and the planet. Through a focus on local employment, sustainable and local sourcing, and sustainable operations, the coastal and marine tourism industry can lay the foundations for a sustainable ocean economy, creating a positive impact while building a more prosperous and resilient future for people and our planet.

—–

[1] For percentage, see World Travel and Tourism Council, Travel and Tourism: Global Economic Impact and Trends 2020, June 2020, https://wttc.org/Portals/0/Documents/Reports/2020/Global%20Economic%20Impact%20Trends%202020.pdf?ver=2021-02-25-183118-360.

[2] R. Hutt, “These Are the Places That Rely Most on Tourism for Jobs,” World Economic Forum, 27 August 2020, https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2020/08/destinations-rely-most-on-tourism-travel/.

[3] UN Sustainable Development Goals, 14

Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development, https://sdgs.un.org/goals/goal14

[4] Sustainable Hospitality Alliance, “Youth Employment Programme,” 2021, https://sustainablehospitalityalliance.org/our-work/youth-employment/youth-employment-programme/.

[5] Manta Trust, “Conservation through Research, Education and Collaboration,” https://www.mantatrust.org/.

[6] Reefscapers, home page, https://reefscapers.com/.

Close
back to top