Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
转型:沿海和海洋旅游在可持续海洋经济中的作用

沿海和海洋旅游如何成为支持各国向可持续海洋经济过渡的基石?

Sue Snyman
苏·斯尼曼
非洲领导大学野生动物保护学院研究主任

沿海和海洋旅游,全球旅游业增长最快的部分之一[1],已经是一种成熟的自然旅游形式,也是世界各地的一项重要海洋经济活动,使其成为各国向可持续海洋经济过渡的基础。如果管理得当,它可以在保护海洋资源和生态系统方面发挥重要作用,直接通过公园收费和征税,以及通过慈善事业和旅游企业对生物多样性保护的投资来保护其资产基础。海洋和沿海旅游业依赖于运转良好、健康的生态系统以及状况良好的海洋和沿海资源,激励旅游企业照顾这些资源并对其进行投资,以确保自身的成功和可持续性。沿海和海洋旅游的收入可以为发展和发展其他海洋经济活动提供平台。相关的价值链和乘数,如住宿、食物、交通、导游、船只等,也很广泛,为许多当地人创造就业和收入,并为发展做出贡献。这些已经确立的海洋和沿海旅游要素是各国在向可持续海洋经济过渡时可以依赖的基础。

多元化建立弹性

与海洋和沿海资源相关的旅游活动的多样性使海洋和沿海旅游业更具弹性,因为可以提供的产品和服务的多样性是广泛的,雇用了许多人,并在众多部门创造了广泛而重要的价值链。潜水、垂钓、浮潜、游渔村、帆船、冲浪、皮划艇、观鲸、观海鸟、观海龟筑巢孵化、沙滩休闲等活动,吸引着不同旅游动机、不同能力的游客花费时间和金钱以及不同的偏好活动。这些成熟的海洋经济活动为海洋经济其他领域的投资提供了重要的收入,并且可以与许多其他海洋经济活动(包括红树林碳项目、海藻养殖等)相结合和联合运营。过度依赖任何一种海洋经济活动都会增加风险。以沿海和海洋旅游为基础,并在此基础上通过多样化的活动来加强复原力,创造更多就业机会并增加收入。

案例研究:马达加斯加的 Masoala Forest Lodge

鉴于气候变化、海洋和沿海保护以及相关旅游业的威胁,需要政府和国际保护界提供更多的政治支持,以及承认私营部门可以为有效的保护区管理和生计做出的贡献当地人的。以敏感和可持续的方式进行的生态旅游可以为海洋保护和更广泛的海洋经济做出重要贡献。

一个例子是马达加斯加东北部的马索阿拉半岛。在该地区,1997 年在 Masoala 国家公园下建立了三个海洋保护区:Tampolo、Ambodilaitry Masoala 和 Tanjona。此外,从 2007 年起,在野生动物保护协会的 MaMaBay 计划下,在整个安东吉尔湾景观中组织了一系列 27 个地方管理的海洋区域 (LMMA),以便为当地居民可持续地管理海洋资源。 2013 年,马达加斯加政府通过了安东吉尔湾渔业管理计划,给予居住在这些 LMMA 附近的渔民使用权。 2015 年,这些渔民由安东吉尔湾渔民联合会组织,该组织得到该地区和海洋资源和渔业部的认可。实际上,许多非居民外来者非法利用这些资源并用于商业目的;与世界各地的保护区一样,预算限制意味着有时保护不足。在缺乏更多财政资源的情况下,已证明在减少非法使用方面取得成功的一种机制是生态旅游经营者的存在、当地人在生态旅游中的就业以及生态旅游经营者向国家公园支付费用,这种结合使自然资源替代经济价值。

Masoala Forest Lodge (MFL) 成立于 2003 年,横跨 Ambodiforaha LMMA 和 Tampolo 海洋保护区,依靠完整且有吸引力的生态系统来吸引游客。与大多数生态旅游业务一样,它对当地经济的两个最大贡献是雇用当地员工和支付使用保护区的费用。 2019 年,MFL 雇佣了来自 Ambodiforaha、Marofototro、Navana 和 Cap Masoala 当地村庄的 34 名员工,并为其客人和导游共使用了 1,788 张公园门票,价值 55,236,500 阿里亚里(约 14,000 欧元)。其中第一个为当地社区提供了另一种收入来源,而第二个为公园的运营预算做出了贡献。此外,2012 年,MFL 发起了一项反对不可生物降解废物的运动,成立了一个妇女团体,在附近的村庄提供垃圾处理容器,并使用自己的船每周将垃圾从这些村庄运送到地区首府马罗安塞特拉。到那时,旅馆已经制定了不使用一次性塑料的政策。其他活动包括每周一次的海滩清理,以清除海滩上冲刷的塑料。生态旅游业务运营遵循最大化收入和提高成本效益的商业原则,以确保海洋保护区活动的可持续收入来源,体现了以商业为导向的成功方法,以实现可持续和有效的海洋保护区管理,并建立可持续的海洋经济。

确保海洋和沿海旅游业成为可持续海洋经济的基石

随着各国向可持续海洋经济过渡,为了支持增长,海洋和沿海旅游业的主要考虑因素包括:

  1. 调整旅游和保护目标,旅游企业投资于他们所依赖的资产基础(海洋和海洋资源),从而保护海洋和沿海生态系统,例如桑给巴尔的 Chumbe 岛[2].由于旅游业如果管理不当,可能会破坏海洋资源、生态系统和景观,因此应制定特定的沿海和海洋旅游业可持续性标准和标准,以及相关的监测和评估计划和协议,以防止过度旅游、最大化收益和最小化成本。
  2. 发展价值链 通过增加对当地商品和服务供应商的使用。这些供应商的能力建设将确保可持续地提供所需质量和数量的商品和服务。例如,请参阅南非的旅游企业合作伙伴关系[3].旅游价值链在利用海洋资源方面需要更加可持续。这将增加旅游乘数,从而增加就业和家庭收入,同时长期保护海洋资源。供应商的能力建设应确保与保护目标保持一致。
  3. 促进人类健康与可持续海洋经济之间的联系.保护和投资海洋经济以及该经济所依赖的资源,对于预防未来的流行病和确保长期可持续性至关重要[4].应强调保护与旅游之间的明确联系。两者应该相互依存,因为可持续管理的旅游业可以支持保护,而可持续保护对于可行的自然旅游至关重要。
  4. 促进协作和伙伴关系 私营部门、当地社区、非政府组织、政府和学术界。此类伙伴关系应通过促进可持续的海洋和海洋旅游、整合保护、惠益分享来专注于保护业务[5] 和能力建设,以建立长期的复原力。
  5. 不断创新和适应 确保海洋和沿海旅游业的可持续性,不仅在提供的产品和服务方面,而且在整合其他海洋经济活动以促进多样化和发展更广泛的海洋经济。
  6. 进一步发展现有的海洋和沿海旅游业 产品和服务的多样性,这确保了比大多数其他形式的自然旅游更具弹性。长期复原力不仅需要维持和维持这种多样性,还需要将其他海洋经济活动整合到旅游产品中或与旅游产品并列。例如,红树林碳项目可以与观鸟生态旅游相结合,或者当地社区成员可以在生态旅游区可持续地收获或养殖鱼类或海草。例如,在南非夸祖鲁-纳塔尔省,Gugulesizwe 营地为生态旅游者提供前往当地村庄的乘船游览,在那里他们了解使用传统方法和从沿海地区收集的当地食物可持续捕捞鱼类[6].
  7. 提高意识 在当地和国际游客中,鼓励他们提出问题并确保他们从事的海洋和沿海旅游是可持续的,并有助于当地经济和生物多样性保护。人们还可以将旅游业作为一种工具,在游客、工作人员和包括当地社区在内的所有相关利益相关者中进行教育和提高认识,让他们了解保护海洋和沿海资源对发展和发展海洋经济的重要性。例如,Chumbe 岛(桑给巴尔)为青年团体提供环境教育,提高人们对海洋保护重要性的认识[7].更广泛地说,在整个非洲,生态旅游公司 Wilderness Safaris 开展了一个名为“荒野中的儿童”的项目,该项目为居住在保护区内或保护区附近的儿童提供环境教育[8].更广泛地说,其他社区发展和教育计划也被证明可以增加对保护的支持[9].
  8. 你无法管理你不衡量的东西.更好的数据可以加强对海洋和沿海旅游的经济、社会和环境成本和收益的理解,以及它们在海洋经济中的作用,以及如何最大化收益以支持和发展可持续海洋经济的其他要素。

为了过渡到可持续的海洋经济,我们必须确保作为基石的海洋和沿海旅游业本身是可持续的:经济、社会和环境。多元化、影响深远和可持续的价值链、公平的利益分享计划以及海洋资源可持续管理和相关旅游业务的能力建设,将为建设可持续海洋经济奠定坚实的基础。通过对海洋和沿海资源保护的直接和间接投资,这可以增强旅游体验,改善当地社会经济条件,为发展海洋经济的其他领域提供重要资金,并为生物多样性保护做出贡献。

—–

[1] Leposa (2020),D. Dimitrovski、A. Lemmetyinen、L. Nieminen 和 T. Pohjola,“了解沿海和海洋旅游的可持续性:多利益相关者分析”, 目的地营销与管理杂志 19(2021 年 3 月),https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jdmm.2021.100554。

[2] 钢筋混凝土巴克利, 保护旅游 (英国牛津:CABI,2010); S. Snyman 和 A. Spenceley, 非洲保护区的私营部门旅游业 (英国牛津:CABI,2019)。

[3] CM Rogerson、A. Benkenstein 和 N. Mwongera,“印度洋沿岸国家的沿海旅游和经济包容性”, 非洲门户, 2018 年 10 月 18 日, https://www.africaportal.org/publications/coastal-tourism-and-economic-inclusion-indian-ocean-rim-association-states/; J. Mitchell 和 C. Ashley, 旅游与减贫:通往繁荣的途径 (伦敦:劳特利奇,2010)。

[4] 世界经济论坛, 2021 年全球风险报告, 第 16 版., https://www3.weforum.org/docs/WEF_The_Global_Risks_Report_2021.pdf。

[5] S. Snyman 和 K. Bricker, 生活在边缘:保护区旅游的利益共享 (伦敦:劳特利奇,2021);斯尼曼和斯宾塞利, 私营部门旅游.

[6] 大天空,“欢迎来到 Gugulesizwe”,https://bigskies.travel/maputaland/gugulesizwe/。

[7] 斯尼曼和斯宾塞利, 私营部门旅游.

[8] 荒野中的儿童,主页,https://www.childreninthewilderness.com。

[9] S. Snyman,“评估影响六个南部非洲国家社区成员对旅游业和保护区态度的主要因素”, 小江户 56,没有。 2 (2014), doi:10.4102/koedoe.v56i2.1139。

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Transformation: The Role of Coastal and Marine Tourism in a Sustainable Ocean Economy

How can coastal and marine tourism be a foundational building block for supporting countries to transition to a sustainable ocean economy?

Sue Snyman
Sue Snyman
Director of Research, School of Wildlife Conservation, The African Leadership University

Coastal and marine tourism, one of the fastest-growing segments of the global tourism industry[1], is already a well-established form of nature-based tourism and a key ocean economy activity around the world, making it foundational to countries’ transition to a sustainable ocean economy. If managed sustainably, it can play an important role in protecting marine resources and ecosystems, contributing directly through park fees and levies, as well as through philanthropy and investments by tourism businesses in biodiversity conservation to protect their asset base. Marine and coastal tourism is dependent on functioning, healthy ecosystems and marine and coastal resources that are in a good condition, incentivising tourism businesses to take care of these resources, and to invest in them, to ensure their own success and sustainability. Revenues from coastal and marine tourism can provide a platform for developing and growing other ocean economy activities. The related value chains and multipliers, such as accommodation, food, transport, guides, boats, and so on, are also extensive, creating employment and revenue for many local people, and contributing to development. These already established elements of marine and coastal tourism serve as foundational building blocks on which countries can rely as they transition to a sustainable ocean economy.

Diversification builds resilience

The diversity of tourism activities related to marine and coastal resources enables marine and coastal tourism to be more resilient, as the diversity of products and services which can be offered is extensive, employing many people and creating extensive, important value chains across numerous sectors. Activities such as diving, fishing, snorkelling, visiting fishing villages, sailing, surfing, kayaking, whale-watching, sea bird-watching, watching turtles nest and hatch, and simply relaxing on a beach attract tourists with diverse motivations for travel, different abilities to spend time and money and different preferred activities. These well-established ocean economy activities provide important revenues for investment in other areas of the ocean economy and can be combined, and operated in conjunction, with numerous other ocean economy activities, including mangrove carbon projects, seaweed farming and the like. Overreliance on any one ocean economy activity increases risk. Using coastal and marine tourism as a foundation and building on this by diversifying activities will strengthen resilience, create more employment and increase revenues.

Case study: Masoala Forest Lodge, Madagascar

Given the threats of climate change, marine and coastal conservation, and related tourism, need more political support from governments and the international conservation community, as well as recognition of the contributions that the private sector can make to both effective conservation area management and the livelihoods of local people. Ecotourism, conducted sensitively and sustainably, can be an important contributor to marine conservation and the broader ocean economy.

One example is the Masoala Peninsula in northeast Madagascar. In this region, three marine protected areas were established in 1997 under Masoala National Park: Tampolo, Ambodilaitry Masoala and Tanjona. In addition, from 2007 onwards, a series of 27 locally managed marine areas (LMMAs) were organised throughout the Antongil Bay landscape under the MaMaBay programme of the Wildlife Conservation Society in order to sustainably manage marine resources for local residents. In 2013, Madagascar’s government adopted the Antongil Bay Fisheries Management Plan, giving access rights to fishers living adjacent to these LMMAs. In 2015 these fishers were organised under the Federation of Fishermen of Antongil Bay, a body recognised by the region and the Ministry of Marine Resources and Fisheries. In reality, many non-resident outsiders utilise these resources illegally and for commercial purposes; as with protected areas around the world, budgetary constraints mean that protection is sometimes inadequate. In the absence of greater financial resources, one mechanism that has proven successful in mitigating illegal use is the presence of ecotourism operators, employment of local people in ecotourism and the payment of fees to the national park by ecotourism operators, a combination that gives the natural resources an alternative economic value.

Masoala Forest Lodge (MFL), established in 2003, straddles the Ambodiforaha LMMA and the Tampolo Marine Reserve and depends on an intact and appealing ecosystem to attract tourists. As with most ecotourism operations, its two greatest contributions to the local economy are employment of local staff and payment for use of the protected area. In 2019 MFL employed 34 staff from the local villages of Ambodiforaha, Marofototro, Navana and Cap Masoala, and used a total of 1,788 park tickets for its guests and guides, valued at 55,236,500 ariary (approximately 14,000 euros). While the first of these provides an alternative source of income for the local community, the second contributes to the operational budget of the park. In addition, in 2012 MFL started a campaign against non-biodegradable waste by forming a women’s group, providing refuse disposal receptacles in the nearby villages and using its own boats for weekly waste removal from these villages to the regional capital of Maroantsetra. The lodge by then already had a policy of not using single-use plastic. Additional activities include weekly beach clean-ups to remove plastic washed up on the beaches. The ecotourism business operations follow commercial principles for maximising revenue and promoting cost-effectiveness to ensure a sustainable revenue stream for MPA activities, exemplifying a successful business-oriented approach to sustainable and effective MPA management and to building a sustainable ocean economy.

Ensuring that marine and coastal tourism acts as a building block for a sustainable ocean economy

In order to support growth as countries transition to a sustainable ocean economy, key considerations for marine and coastal tourism include the following:

  1. Align tourism and conservation objectives, with tourism businesses investing in the asset base (marine and ocean resources) on which they rely, thereby safeguarding marine and coastal ecosystems, as at Zanzibar’s Chumbe Island[2]. Since tourism, if not managed properly, can damage ocean resources, ecosystems and landscapes, specific coastal and marine tourism sustainability criteria and standards should be developed, as should related monitoring and evaluation plans and protocols to prevent overtourism, maximise benefits and minimise costs.
  2. Grow the value chains by increasing the use of local suppliers of goods and services. Capacity building for these suppliers will ensure sustainable provision of the required quality and quantity of goods and services. For examples, see the Tourism Enterprise Partnership in South Africa[3]. Tourism value chains need to be made more sustainable in their use of ocean resources. This will increase the tourism multipliers, and thereby employment and household incomes, while also conserving ocean resources in the long term. Capacity building for suppliers should ensure alignment with conservation objectives.
  3. Promote linkages between human health and a sustainable ocean economy. Conservation and investment in the ocean economy, and the resources on which this economy depends, will be essential to prevent future pandemics and ensure long-term sustainability[4]. Clear linkages should be emphasised between conservation and tourism. The two should be interdependent, since sustainably managed tourism can support conservation and sustainable conservation is essential to viable nature-based tourism.
  4. Facilitate collaboration and partnerships among the private sector, local communities, non-governmental organisations, government and academia. Such partnerships should focus on the business of conservation by promoting sustainable ocean and marine tourism, integrating conservation, benefit-sharing[5] and capacity building to build long-term resilience.
  5. Continuously innovate and adapt to ensure the sustainability of marine and coastal tourism, not only in the products and services offered but also in the integration of other ocean economy activities to promote diversification and grow the broader ocean economy.
  6. Further grow marine and coastal tourism’s existing diversity of products and services, which ensures greater resilience than is found in most other forms of nature-based tourism. Long-term resilience will require not only maintaining and sustaining this diversity but also integrating other ocean economy activities into or alongside the tourism product. For example, a mangrove carbon project could combine with bird-watching ecotourism, or local community members might sustainably harvest or farm fish or seagrass in an ecotourism area. For example, in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa, Gugulesizwe Camp offers ecotourists a boat excursion to a local village, where they learn about sustainable fish harvesting using traditional methods and local foods collected from the coastal area[6].
  7. Raise awareness among local and international tourists, encouraging them to ask questions and ensure that the marine and coastal tourism they are engaging in is sustainable and contributes to local economies and biodiversity conservation. One can also use tourism as a tool to educate and raise awareness among tourists, staff and all related stakeholders, including local communities, about the importance of conserving marine and coastal resources to grow and develop the ocean economy. For example, Chumbe Island (Zanzibar) provides environmental education for youth groups, raising awareness about the importance of marine conservation[7]. More broadly, across Africa, the ecotourism company Wilderness Safaris runs a programme called Children in the Wilderness, which provides environmental education to children living in or near conservation areas[8]. More broadly, other community development and education programmes have also been shown to increase support for conservation[9].
  8. You can’t manage what you don’t measure. Better data can strengthen understanding of the economic, social and environmental costs and benefits of marine and coastal tourism, as well as the role these play in the ocean economy and how benefits can be maximised to support and develop other elements of a sustainable ocean economy.

To transition to a sustainable ocean economy, we must ensure that marine and coastal tourism, as the building block, is itself sustainable: economically, socially and environmentally. Diversified, far-reaching and sustainable value chains, equitable benefit-sharing schemes and capacity building in the sustainable management of ocean resources and related tourism businesses will provide a solid base on which to build a sustainable ocean economy. This can enhance the tourist experience, improve local socioeconomic conditions, provide important capital for growing other areas of the ocean economy and contribute to biodiversity conservation, through direct and indirect investments in the conservation of marine and coastal resources.

—–

[1] Leposa (2020) in D. Dimitrovski, A. Lemmetyinen, L. Nieminen and T. Pohjola, “Understanding Coastal and Marine Tourism Sustainability: A Multi-stakeholder Analysis,” Journal of Destination Marketing and Management 19 (March 2021), https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jdmm.2021.100554.

[2] R.C. Buckley, Conservation Tourism (Oxford, UK: CABI, 2010); S. Snyman and A. Spenceley, Private Sector Tourism in Conservation Areas in Africa (Oxford, UK: CABI, 2019).

[3] C.M. Rogerson, A. Benkenstein and N. Mwongera, “Coastal Tourism and Economic Inclusion in Indian Ocean Rim Association States,” Africa Portal, 18 October 2018, https://www.africaportal.org/publications/coastal-tourism-and-economic-inclusion-indian-ocean-rim-association-states/; J. Mitchell and C. Ashley, Tourism and Poverty Reduction: Pathways to Prosperity (London: Routledge, 2010).

[4] World Economic Forum, The Global Risks Report 2021, 16th ed., https://www3.weforum.org/docs/WEF_The_Global_Risks_Report_2021.pdf.

[5] S. Snyman and K. Bricker, Living on the Edge: Benefit-Sharing from Protected Area Tourism (London: Routledge, 2021); Snyman and Spenceley, Private Sector Tourism.

[6] Big Skies, “Welcome to Gugulesizwe,” https://bigskies.travel/maputaland/gugulesizwe/.

[7] Snyman and Spenceley, Private Sector Tourism.

[8] Children in the Wilderness, home page, https://www.childreninthewilderness.com.

[9] S. Snyman, “Assessment of the Main Factors Impacting Community Members’ Attitudes towards Tourism and Protected Areas in Six Southern African Countries,” Koedoe 56, no. 2 (2014), doi:10.4102/koedoe.v56i2.1139.

Close
back to top