专家论文
愿景设定:2030 年和 2050 年可持续的沿海和海洋旅游业

什么是 2030 年和 2050 年的可持续沿海和海洋旅游?到 2025 年,实现这一雄心勃勃的愿景需要哪些三个关键转变?

Daniel Gschwind
丹尼尔·格施温德
昆士兰旅游业委员会首席执行官

可持续性不是旅游业的选择,而是核心业务。昆士兰旅游业委员会 (QTIC) 拥有 1,000 名直接成员和大约 3,000 名附属区域成员。他们包括大大小小的旅游经营者、培训机构、大学、顾问、行业供应商甚至地方议会。我们的会员所在的州拥有澳大利亚一些最具标志性的自然资产。因此,几十年来,倡导和实践可持续发展一直是优先事项。我们行业的商业未来取决于它。随着全球环境压力的增加,我们的行业可以帮助证明同时繁荣和可持续的未来是可能的。

旅游业有多种定义,但其核心是“远离家乡的行为和过程”[1].或者,换一种说法,它是从不同的角度看待世界的行为。我们需要一个不同的视角来实现可持续沿海和海洋部门的雄心勃勃的愿景。从事旅游业的人,无论是消费者还是提供者,都非常有能力成为积极变革的推动者,并使旅游业成为实现这一愿景中目标的有效驱动力。

就其本质而言,旅游活动处于经济、社会和环境领域的交叉点,依赖于每一个领域,并对所有人产生影响。尽管通常以纯粹的经济或商业术语来衡量,但旅游业与社区、文化和自然资产(包括海洋环境和海洋)共同依赖,以创造适销对路的体验。商业旅游不是通过“榨取”过程获取利润,而是对作为“经商”方式的社会和环境可持续实践具有实质性的兴趣。

就游客而言,“远离家乡”并从不同的角度受益,他们往往对他们的社会和环境环境有更高的认识。正如 Sinead Mulhern 所说, '沉浸在完全不同的文化中的时刻在让旅行者发展更开放的心态方面发挥着关键作用[2]

经营者的商业私利和游客潜在的开放思想为我们提供了一个机会来促进和推动在 2030 年和 2050 年实现可持续沿海和海洋旅游所需的三个关键转变:

  1. 一种更全面地评估我们的环境和社会资产以及经济措施的方法。
  2. 更好地理解和分配私营和公共部门以及集体和个人角色之间的责任。
  3. 实现变革的紧迫感更强。

在第一个班次中,也许没有什么比大堡礁 (GBR) 更具启发性了,它沿着昆士兰海岸绵延约 2,500 公里。不到 60 年前,GBR 计划为当地农民开采“珊瑚块”作为廉价的石灰石肥料,而现在列入联合国世界遗产名录的 GBR 海洋公园的大部分区域都拥有政府分配的石油勘探租约[3].只有少数意识到 GBR 生态系统内在价值的人及时果断地干预,才避免了灾难,让 GBR 发展成为澳大利亚主要的自然旅游拉票,价值 $56 亿,年收入超过 $64 亿,维持 64,000 个工作岗位。

理解和保护 GBR 生态系统及其与沿海社区和经济的关系的过程一直持续到今天。在此过程中,旅游业、研究人员、社区和管理机构之间的伙伴关系有助于加深对珊瑚礁作为自然资源和经济资产的价值的认识。 2004 年,QTIC 和世界自然基金会 (WWF) 发布了第一份关于全球变暖对 GBR 生态系统和依赖它的沿海经济构成威胁的报告[4].该报告使用了最新的政府间气候变化专门委员会情景来估计GBR价值的潜在损失。 2018 年,QTIC 和 WWF 委托编写的一份报告采用了一种经济方法来估算保持 GBR 的经济和环境价值所需的投资[5].

从经济、旅游利用和社区的角度来应对海洋公园管理的挑战,支持了政策和管理的重大变化。意识到如何通过环境可持续的实践来促进繁荣可以使社区和行业成为变革的强烈倡导者。如果没有旅游业的直言不讳的支持,尽管有令人信服的科学证据,但非常成功的代表性地区计划不太可能按设计实施[6].该行业的支持是通过来自个人“冠军”和思想领袖的强有力的、基于证据的倡导以及通过与相关利益相关者和社区团体的耐心参与而获得的。在为变革建立广泛支持的过程中,信任是不可替代的。对海洋环境服务如何带来三重底线效益形成实际的、基于地方的理解的社区和行业将使我们更接近我们的目标。

第二个必要的转变是第一个转变的延伸。海洋等复杂、大规模的环境资产,具有特殊的产权情况,对协调有效行动提出了巨大挑战。一方面,当地社区需要适应可能对海洋产生负面影响的各种经济优先事项,包括渔业和沿海开发。另一方面,水质和塑料污染等大规模挑战需要采取全面的全球措施。在规模的两端,机构和个人都需要了解他们在带来变革中的角色和责任。我们需要鼓励个人和机构自问他们如何融入全球生态系统。

可以做两件事来促进这种反思。首先,应用研究,将科学专业知识与行业从业者、资源管理者以及第二原住民相结合,可以帮助我们更好地了解行动的相互依存性以及海洋利用和管理实践的影响。这一动机促使旅游业与科学家和其他利益相关者合作,于 2006 年在凯恩斯创建了珊瑚礁和雨林研究中心,其目标之一是创建“一个独特的参与框架,研究人员和最终用户可以在其中协作定义和实施以解决方案为中心的科学'[7].在随后的英联邦环境计划的财政支持下,该计划已为工业、社区和资源管理者(包括大堡礁海洋公园管理局 (GBRMPA))提供了许多具有实际应用的研究项目。诸如此类的合作研究可以提供更广泛的受众可以访问的证据,以吸引相关方并分配当地和全球责任。正如联合国世界遗产委员会在其 2012 年关于 GBR 的任务报告中所承认的那样,科学知识的协作生成本身可以激发个人的责任感和行动感:“针对商业海洋旅游的计划和许可安排已经系统地实施,并且一系列已制定政策、立场声明和指南,并以清晰透明的方式向公众传达。由于采取了这种协调一致的行动,主要是通过建立行业伙伴关系,商业海洋旅游现在得到了可持续的规划和管理,对环境和社会的影响最小化,例如拥挤”[8].

各方积极参与研究和数据收集,包括通过“公民科学”计划,也非常成功地应用于 GBRMPA 的珊瑚礁监护学校计划,该计划“赋予学生权力,让他们有参与大局的感觉,并鼓励他们会产生积极的影响'[9].一个目标不同的珊瑚礁守护者委员会计划“认识到 [that] 珊瑚礁的有效管理和保护需要行业、社区和各级政府的协调努力”[10].越来越多的沿海地方政府(目前有 19 个,总人口约 100 万居民)正在开展实际项目,以“通过提高珊瑚礁的健康和复原力的活动来保护和养护海洋公园”[11].同样,非常成功的“大堡礁之眼”监测和评估计划使任何访问大堡礁的人都能通过收集有关珊瑚礁健康、海洋动物和事件的有价值信息来了解大堡礁,从而为大堡礁的长期保护做出贡献并告知我们如何管理珊瑚礁'[12].后一个项目专门针对游客,他们可以更深入地了解生态过程和变化的驱动因素。正如联合国教科文组织的使命报告所指出的那样,“增加游客设施以支持可持续旅游业并提高财产本身的价值也是实现审美价值的重要贡献”[13].最近的研究证实了这一评估,该研究发现,“77% 的人认为大堡礁是他们作为澳大利亚人身份的一部分,43% 的人将其列为最鼓舞人心的澳大利亚标志,是澳大利亚人的 5 倍多。乌鲁鲁的水平,第二个最鼓舞人心的图标'[14].对海洋生态的知情“视线”和任何积极参与是实现个人行为改变的最可能途径,也将有助于形成公众舆论和政策方向。如果不是公众对其价值的强烈欣赏,GBR 海洋公园将无法享受其保护水平和政府资助。

第三个关键转变必须是对我们星球的海洋正面临威胁并需要地方和全球采取行动的紧迫感要大得多。前两个转变倡导的更多理解和参与将更容易证明过度使用、污染或全球变暖导致的负面趋势。为行业和资源管理者确定补救措施和实施变革也将更容易。同样重要的是,消息灵通的地方社区可以在地方、国家和全球层面塑造和促进必要的政策变革。

让更广泛的受众及时获取与位置相关的数据和研究结果对于将社区和行业转变为积极的利益相关者至关重要。通过可信赖的来源(包括行业组织)进行的科学交流绝不应该是事后的想法,而必须从项目概念开始整合到任何应用研究中。与强制相比,知识是可持续发展行动的更强大驱动力。在 QTIC,我们进一步发现最好通过“点对点”交付来促进变革。 “领先于曲线”的成功企业比外部机构更有可能引起其他运营商对新实践的需求和益处的关注。对等支持可以通过工作组、委员会、网络活动和在线讨论组进行。后者在 COVID 大流行期间与我们的会员特别相关。

我们都是海洋生态的一部分,我们都依赖于它的可持续未来。我们越能向个人、社区和政策制定者提供信息并让他们参与进来,我们就越有可能实现可持续海洋经济高级别小组提出的目标。

—–

[1] 大英百科全书,“旅游”,https://www.britannica.com/topic/tourism。

[2] S. Mulhern,“旅行如何让你思想更开放”, 世界包装工队,2019 年 6 月 19 日,https://www.worldpackers.com/articles/how-traveling-makes-you-more-open- mind.

[3] 一、麦卡尔曼, 珊瑚礁:一段充满激情的历史 (纽约:维京人,2013 年),266。

[4] 世界自然基金会 大堡礁 2050:气候变化对澳大利亚大堡礁的影响, 2004 年 2 月.

[5] 昆士兰农民联合会、昆士兰旅游业委员会、世界自然基金会和海洋公园旅游经营者协会, 投资大堡礁作为经济基础设施, 2016.

[6] L. Fernandes 等人,“在大堡礁建立具有代表性的禁捕区:海洋保护区理论的大规模实施”, 保护生物学 19,没有。 6 (2005): 1733–44; J. Day、L. Fernandes、A. Lewis、G. De'ath、S. Slegers、B. Barnett、B. Kerrigan 等人,“保护大堡礁世界遗产区生物多样性的代表性区域计划, “ 在 第九届国际珊瑚礁研讨会,印度尼西亚巴厘岛,2000 年 10 月 23 日至 27 日.

[7] 珊瑚礁和雨林研究中心,“我们的服务”,https://www.rrrc.org.au/our-services/。

[8] 联合国教科文组织任务报告,大堡礁反应监测任务

(澳大利亚),2012 年 3 月 6 日至 14 日,24。

[9] 大堡礁海洋公园管理局 (GBRMPA),“珊瑚礁监护学校”,https://www.gbrmpa.gov.au/our-work/our-programs-and-projects/reef-guardians/reef-guardian-schools。

[10] GBRMPA,“珊瑚礁守护者委员会”,https://www.gbrmpa.gov.au/our-partners/reef-guardian-councils。

[11] GBRMPA,“珊瑚礁守护者委员会”。

[12] GBRMPA,“珊瑚礁之眼”,https://www.gbrmpa.gov.au/our-work/eye-on-the-reef。

[13] 教科文组织使命报告 GBR (N154) 2012, 17。

[14] J. Goldberg、N. Marshall、A. Birtles 等人,“气候变化、大堡礁和澳大利亚人的反应”, 帕尔格雷夫通讯 2 (2016): 15046.

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Vision Setting: A Sustainable Coastal and Marine Tourism Sector in 2030 and 2050

What is sustainable coastal and marine tourism in 2030 and 2050? What are three key shifts needed by 2025 to achieve this ambitious vision?

Daniel Gschwind
Daniel Gschwind
Chief Executive, Queensland Tourism Industry Council

Sustainability is not an option for tourism, it is core business. The Queensland Tourism Industry Council (QTIC) has 1,000 direct members and about 3,000 affiliate regional members. They include large and small tourism operators, training organisations, universities, consultants, industry suppliers and even local councils. Our members operate in a state with some of Australia’s most iconic natural assets. As a result, advocating for and practicing sustainability has been a priority for decades. Our industry’s commercial future depends on it. As global environmental pressures increase, our industry can help demonstrate that a simultaneously prosperous and sustainable future is possible.

Tourism is defined in various ways, but at its core it is ‘the act and process of spending time away from home’[1]. Or, to put it differently, it is the act of looking at the world from a different perspective. A different perspective is what we need to achieve the ambitious vision of a sustainable coastal and marine sector. The people engaged in tourism, both consumers and providers, are exceptionally well placed to become agents for positive change and to make tourism an effective driver towards the goals embedded in that vision.

By its very nature, tourism activity sits at the intersection of economic, social and environmental spheres, dependent on each and having an impact on all. Although often measured in purely economic or commercial terms, tourism is co-dependent on community, culture, and natural assets, including marine environments and the ocean, to create marketable experiences. Rather than deriving profits through an ‘extractive’ process, commercial tourism has a material interest in socially and environmentally sustainable practices as a way of ‘doing business’.

Visitors, for their part, being ‘away from home’ and benefitting from a different perspective, tend to have a higher awareness of their social and environmental surroundings. As Sinead Mulhern puts it, Moments of being immersed in a totally different culture play a key role in allowing travelers to develop a more open mind.’[2]

Operators’ commercial self-interest and visitors’ potential open-mindedness offer us an opportunity to promote and drive the three key shifts needed to achieve sustainable coastal and marine tourism in 2030 and 2050:

  1. A more comprehensive way of valuing our environmental and social assets alongside economic measures.
  2. A better understanding and assignment of responsibilities across private and public sectors and between collective and individual roles.
  3. A greater sense of urgency to achieving change.

On the first shift, perhaps no example is more instructive than the Great Barrier Reef (GBR), which stretches about 2,500 kilometres along the coast of Queensland. Less than 60 years ago the GBR was slated to have ‘lumps of coral’ mined as cheap limestone fertiliser for a local farmer, and most of what is now the UN World Heritage–listed GBR Marine Park had oil exploration leases allocated by the government[3]. Only the timely and determined intervention of a few individuals who perceived the intrinsic value of the GBR ecosystem prevented disaster and allowed the GBR to evolve into Australia’s major natural tourism drawcard, valued at $56 billion, generating more than $6.4 billion in annual revenue and sustaining 64,000 jobs.

The process of understanding and protecting the GBR ecosystem and its relationship with the coastal community and economy continues to this day. Along the journey, the partnership between the tourism industry, researchers, the community and the management agencies has helped develop a deeper appreciation of the reef’s value as a natural resource and an economic asset. In 2004 the QTIC and the Worldwide Fund for Nature (WWF) published the first report on threats global warming poses to both the GBR ecosystem and the coastal economy that depends on it[4]. The report used the latest Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change scenarios to estimate the potential losses in the GBR’s value. In 2018 a report commissioned by QTIC and WWF applied an economic methodology to estimate the investment needed to retain the GBR’s economic and environmental value[5].

Bringing an economic, tourism-use and community perspective to challenges of marine park management has supported significant changes in policy and management. Awareness of how prosperity can be enhanced through environmentally sustainable practices can make communities and industries fierce advocates for change. Without the tourism industry’s outspoken support, it is unlikely the highly successful Representative Areas Program would have been implemented as designed despite compelling scientific evidence[6]. The industry’s support was gained both by strong, evidence-based advocacy from individual ‘champions’ and thought leaders and through patient engagement with relevant stakeholders and community groups. Trust cannot be substituted in the process of building broad-based support for change. Communities and industries that develop a practical, place-based understanding of how the ocean’s environmental services can deliver triple bottom-line benefits will take us closer to our goals.

The second, necessary shift is an extension of the first. Complex, large-scale environmental assets like the ocean, with particular property-right circumstances, pose an enormous challenge in co-ordinating effective actions. On the one hand, local communities need to accommodate diverse economic priorities that may negatively impact on the ocean, including fishing and coastal development. On the other hand, large-scale challenges, like water quality and plastics pollution, require comprehensive, global measures. At both ends of the scale, agencies and individuals need to understand their roles and their responsibilities in bringing about change. We need to encourage individuals and agencies to ask themselves how they fit into the global ecosystem.

Two things can be done to prompt this reflection. Firstly, applied research, combining scientific expertise with practitioners from industry, resource managers and, secondly, First Nations People, can help us better understand the interdependency of actions and the impacts of ocean use and management practices. This motivation prompted the tourism industry to collaborate with scientists and other stakeholders to create the Reef and Rainforest Research Centre in Cairns in 2006, with one objective being creation of ‘a unique engagement framework in which researchers and end users collaboratively define and implement solution-focused science’[7]. Financially supported under subsequent Commonwealth environmental programs, this initiative has delivered numerous research projects with practical applications for industry, the community and resource managers, including the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (GBRMPA). Collaborative research such as this can provide the evidence, accessible to a broader audience, to engage relevant parties and allocate local and global responsibilities. As the UN World Heritage Committee recognised in its 2012 Mission Report on the GBR, the collaborative generation of scientific knowledge can itself drive a greater sense of individual responsibly and actions: ‘Plans and permitting arrangements targeting commercial marine tourism have been systematically implemented and an array of policies, position statements and guidelines has been developed and are communicated in a clear and transparent manner to the public. As a result of this concerted action, and primarily through the establishment of industry partnerships, commercial marine tourism is now planned and managed sustainably, with minimal environmental and social impacts such as crowding’[8].

Active engagement of all parties in research and data gathering, including through ‘citizen science’ programs, has also been very successfully applied in the GBRMPA’s Reef Guardian Schools program, which ‘empowers students and gives them a sense of involvement in the bigger picture and encourages them to make a positive difference’[9]. A differently targeted Reef Guardian Councils program ‘recognises [that] the effective management and protection of the Reef requires a coordinated effort from industries, communities and all levels of government’[10]. A growing number of local governments along the coastline, currently 19 with a combined population of approximately 1 million residents, are undertaking practical projects to ‘protect and conserve the Marine Park through activities that improve the health and resilience of the Reef’[11]. Similarly, the highly successful Eye on the Reef ‘monitoring and assessment program enables anyone who visits the Great Barrier Reef to contribute to its long-term protection by collecting valuable information about reef health, marine animals and incidents that is used to understand the bigger picture and inform how we manage the Reef’[12]. The latter program is specifically aimed at visitors, who gain a much deeper understanding of ecological processes and the driving factors of change. As the UNESCO Mission Report noted, ‘The increased provision of visitor facilities to support sustainable tourism and enhance the appreciation of the property in itself is also an important contributor to the realisation of aesthetic values’[13]. This assessment was confirmed by more recent research, which found that ‘77 per cent of people felt the Great Barrier Reef was part of their identity as Australians and 43 per cent of people listed it as the most inspiring Australian icon, more than five times the level of Uluru, the second most inspiring icon’[14]. An informed ‘line of sight’ to ocean ecologies and any active engagement is the most likely path towards individual behavioural change and will also help frame public opinion and policy direction. The GBR Marine Park would not enjoy its level of protection and government funding if not for the strong public appreciation of its value.

The third key shift must be a far greater sense of urgency that our planet’s ocean is under threat and needs both local and global action. The greater understanding and engagement advocated under the first two shifts will make it easier to demonstrate negative trends resulting from overuse, pollution or global warming. It will also be easier to identify remedial actions and implement change for industry and resource managers. Equally important, a better-informed local community can shape and promote necessary policy change at the local, national and global levels.

Making location-relevant data and research findings accessible to a broader audience in a timely manner is critical to turning communities and industry into active stakeholders. Science communication, through trusted sources, including industry organisations, should never be an afterthought but must be integrated into any applied research from project conception. Knowledge is a more powerful driver for action on sustainability than compulsion. At QTIC we have further found that change is best promoted through ‘peer-to-peer’ delivery. Successful businesses that are ‘ahead of the curve’ are far more likely than external agencies to get the attention of other operators regarding the need for and benefit of new practices. Peer-to-peer support can occur through working groups, committees, networking events and on-line discussion groups. The latter was particularly relevant for our members during the COVID pandemic.

We are all part of the ocean’s ecology and we all depend on its sustainable future. The more we can inform and engage individuals, communities and policymakers, the more likely we will be to achieve the goals articulated by the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy.

—–

[1] Encyclopaedia Britannica, “Tourism,” https://www.britannica.com/topic/tourism.

[2] S. Mulhern, “How Traveling Makes You More Open-Minded,” WorldPackers, 19 June 2019, https://www.worldpackers.com/articles/how-traveling-makes-you-more-open-minded.

[3] I. McCalman, The Reef: A Passionate History (New York: Viking, 2013), 266.

[4] WWF Great Barrier Reef 2050: The Implications of Climate Change for Australia’s Great Barrier Reef, February 2004.

[5] Queensland Farmers Federation, Queensland Tourism Industry Council, WWF, and Association of Marine Park Tourism Operators, Investing in the Great Barrier Reef as Economic Infrastructure, 2016.

[6] L. Fernandes et al., “Establishing Representative No-Take Areas in the Great Barrier Reef: Large-Scale Implementation of Theory on Marine Protected Areas,” Conservation Biology 19, no. 6 (2005): 1733–44; J. Day, L. Fernandes, A. Lewis, G. De’ath, S. Slegers, B. Barnett, B. Kerrigan et al., “The Representative Areas Program for Protecting Biodiversity in the Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Area,” in Proceedings 9th International Coral Reef Symposium, Bali, Indonesia, 23–27 October 2000.

[7] Reef and Rainforest Research Centre, “Our Services,” https://www.rrrc.org.au/our-services/.

[8] UNESCO Mission Report , Reactive Monitoring Mission to Great Barrier Reef

(Australia), 6th to 14th March 2012, 24.

[9] Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (GBRMPA), “Reef Guardian Schools,” https://www.gbrmpa.gov.au/our-work/our-programs-and-projects/reef-guardians/reef-guardian-schools.

[10] GBRMPA, “Reef Guardian Councils,” https://www.gbrmpa.gov.au/our-partners/reef-guardian-councils.

[11] GBRMPA, “Reef Guardian Councils.”

[12] GBRMPA, “Eye on the Reef,” https://www.gbrmpa.gov.au/our-work/eye-on-the-reef.

[13] UNESCO Mission Report GBR (N154) 2012, 17.

[14] J. Goldberg, N. Marshall, A. Birtles et al., “Climate Change, the Great Barrier Reef and the Response of Australians,” Palgrave Communications 2 (2016): 15046.

Close
back to top