专家论文
邮轮:邮轮旅游的未来

可持续性对邮轮业意味着什么?鉴于大流行继续对邮轮业产生影响,如何实现这一目标?邮轮旅游的未来在哪里?

Honourable Edmund Bartlett, CD, MP
尊敬的 Edmund Bartlett, CD, MP
牙买加旅游部长

尽管发生了 COVID-19 大流行且复苏步伐缓慢,但沿海和海洋旅游业仍然是世界经济中增长最快的部门之一。对于小岛屿发展中国家 (SIDS) 而言,包括邮轮旅游在内的旅游业是经济增长和创造就业机会的主要驱动力,是外汇的主要收入来源,对确保经济恢复力至关重要。展望未来,该部门的核心可持续性挑战,特别是对于沿海国家和加勒比海等脆弱小岛屿发展中国家而言,将是国际社会(公共和私人)对决定性海洋气候行动的承诺程度。跨领域的可持续性考虑,如生态系统保护、减少污染和塑料废物、生物多样性保护和蓝色经济中的绿色技术投资,必须成为邮轮旅游业和更普遍的旅游业发展的主流。海洋使近 200 个国家和海外领土的国内和国际旅游成为可能。在全球范围内,海洋和沿海资源和产业的市场价值估计为每年 $3 万亿美元,约占全球 GDP 的 5%,而海洋经济对全球增加值的贡献保守估计在数量级每年 US$1.5 万亿,约占全球增加值的 3%[1].

沿海和海洋旅游业的发展是蓝色经济的重要组成部分,也是它帮助我们实现可持续发展目标 (SDG) 的能力。这不仅与可持续发展目标 14(“保护和可持续利用海洋、海洋和海洋资源”)有关,还与蓝色经济在实现其他可持续发展目标中的作用有关,例如可持续发展目标 1(“在世界各地消除一切形式的贫困”)。根据联合国世界旅游组织的数据,邮轮业每年为全球经济提供 120 万个就业岗位,并为全球经济贡献 $1500 亿美元。随着全球海洋经济的迅速发展,这为在我们的海洋和沿海地区实现可持续发展带来了越来越多的机遇和挑战,特别是在气候变化和当前的 COVID-19 大流行的情况下。

沿海和海洋旅游业为全球经济发展做出了重大贡献,尤其是在高度依赖旅游业的加勒比地区。对海洋和海洋资源的严重依赖对于邮轮乘客的消费体验至关重要。根据国际邮轮公司协会(CLIA)的数据,2018 年邮轮行业为全球经济贡献了 $1501.3 亿美元,而 2019 年该行业在全球贡献了 $1544.6 亿美元。在国家层面,2019年,邮轮旅游通过旅游休闲服务、餐饮服务、客运服务以及娱乐和文化服务为牙买加经济贡献了J$216亿。

重要的是要平衡蓝色经济带来的经济收益与资源的适当保护和可持续利用,以及对沿海社区的社会影响。 2010-20 年期间,全球邮轮业迎来了有史以来最快的增长,对海洋和沿海环境产生了重大影响。在 COVID-19 大流行之前,牙买加经济通过邮轮旅游平均赚取了 $1.745 亿美元。 2020年邮轮旅游创汇总额为$4550万美元。

然而,随着各国从大流行的经济影响中解脱出来,人们观察到“人类更年期”对环境的有益影响[2].根据经济合作与发展组织的数据,能源排放量下降了 7%,与农业相关的环境压力下降了 2%。我们需要考虑游轮旅游对环境的影响,因为游轮是未经处理的污水和其他威胁海洋生存的污染物的主要生产者。联合国环境规划署将游轮确定为海洋生态系统的主要污染源之一[3].此外,美国环境保护署估计,游轮产生的废物每人每天 2.6 至 3.5 公斤不等。废物管理受《国际防止船舶污染公约》管辖[4].

邮轮旅游业对可持续发展需求的响应对其存在至关重要。换言之,海洋必须保持原始状态,必须实施有效的固体废物管理措施,并且必须严格遵守流行病学标准,以确保健康安全。令人欣慰的是,尽管邮轮旅游会损害环境,但它也有可能支持可持续的海洋旅游。为此,邮轮旅游必须考虑环境影响、承载能力、社会责任以及旅游业与当地社区的融合。必须特别注意使邮轮业蓬勃发展的环境因素。必须努力使海洋保持原始状态。除了污染问题之外,从大流行中吸取的教训还要求邮轮行业仔细管理健康协议,以确保为旅行者提供安全、可靠和无缝的体验。此外,与邮轮旅游相关的陆上游览、景点和体验的结构必须确保符合环境标准和实践。这也确保了与当地社区建立伙伴关系,因为文化资产被巡洋舰消耗。这种方法已在历史名镇法尔茅斯得到积极展示,牙买加港务局与旅游部和皇家加勒比邮轮公司合作,实施了几个项目,以使港口城市更具可持续性和包容性。各个实体和社区之间的持续利益相关者协商确定了具有重大社会经济机会的优先投资领域。一些优先举措包括修复市中心的水广场,以及改善和保护遗产基础设施、改善排水系统和美化街道。港务局还为重建新农贸市场发挥了重要作用,耗资 5 亿日元,以提升游客在该镇的购物体验。当局还建造了一个手工艺村,以促进 90 名手工业者的正规化。这些供应商经过培训和注册,并成立了一个协会来代表他们的利益。三轮车服务的创建促进了市民融入游轮体验,因为它为法尔茅斯的单身年轻人和居民创造了就业机会,同时提供了以安全方式进行的有组织的历史和遗产之旅[5].

尽管产生了影响,但大流行为加强邮轮业的生存能力和可持续性提供了机会。例如,它提供了一个重新审视行业运营和影响的机会,以便制定有效管理中断的战略和政策。在这方面,CLIA 报告其打算到 2027 年,拥有 26 艘由液化天然气 (LNG) 提供动力的游轮,全球 81% 的运力配备先进的废水处理系统,以及 174 艘配备岸电连接的游轮[6].蒙特哥湾游轮港口为船只提供液化天然气设施,但仅限于少数游轮。蒙特哥湾也提供岸电连接。邮轮业有望以更加可持续、精简和高效的模式回归,该模式将更加注重遵守协议以管理风险、维护和保护行业运营以及它所依赖的海洋和海洋资源。牙买加邮轮业的运营必须严格遵守卫生与健康部的规定以及旅游部的 COVID-19 健康与安全协议[7].

随着世界开始为摆脱大流行做准备,最重要的考虑因素之一是公共卫生和安全。必须与卫生和港口当局合作制定严格的公共卫生和安全措施和协议。公共卫生要求和行业实践之间的协调和协作对于建立和遵守安全协议和措施是必要的,特别是那些与船上医疗和卫生设施有关的协议和措施。

邮轮旅游对加勒比地区的经济可持续性至关重要。加勒比地区是世界领先的远洋游轮目的地之一,也是最赚钱的游轮空间之一。根据 加勒比新闻数字 杂志,加勒比地区接待了全球约 60% 的游轮乘客。加勒比旅游组织报告称,2014 年约有 2500 万游轮乘客访问了 24 个加勒比目的地,这一数字在 2015 年增长了 11%。这为港口的经济发展和港口社区的社会发展提供了巨大的机遇。这将允许制定措施,使港口和邮轮公司能够系统地解决该行业的经济、社会和环境影响。

更重要的是,邮轮旅游和可持续的邮轮旅游可以成为传统上被锁定在沉默文化中的社区的转型工具。将邮轮港口开发整合到历史悠久的皇家港口小镇,旨在将历史悠久的社区转变为可持续的遗产、环境和文化景点,同时升级其物理基础设施并改善居民的经济和社会条件。该开发项目最终将引导该镇转变为一个融入当地人民以及对敏感生态和自然资源进行良好治理和管理的城镇。在整个项目中共同努力,促进主要政府机构之间的合作,并促进皇家港口人民融入整个开发活动。利益相关者讨论引起的一项重大项目修改是将港口三级污水系统(最初仅用于港口)搬迁到异地位置。污水处理厂将在其运营中利用现代技术,最大限度地减少建筑占地面积并提高运营效率。

我们当前的时刻为重新定义邮轮旅游提供了一个理想的机会。该行业的未来将受到对技术进步的投资的推动,这些投资旨在提高效率和改善体验,同时减少社会和环境影响。现在,我们比以往任何时候都更有机会准确定义目的地的物理限制,改变旅行路线并设计有效的目的地保护和修复项目。各国政府需要通过确保必要的监管和立法安排到位,来适应不断增长的游轮需求。推广健全的环境实践、复原力战略和环境管理系统对于重新构想的邮轮旅游业至关重要。最后,支持游轮的陆上体验和景点必须适应和发展新的创意和创新策略,以满足不断增长的需求。

海洋的健康和可持续性对于旅游业乃至地球的生存至关重要。在这方面,作为一个小岛屿发展中国家,牙买加欢迎可持续海洋经济高级别小组(Ocean Panel)关于到2030年实现可持续旅游经济的目标[8].在 COVID-19 之后的时期,沿海和海洋旅游,尤其是游轮旅游将出现增长。这需要实施健全和稳健的战略、政策和管理实践,以确保国家和社区、这一代和下一代的可行性和可持续性。

—–

[1] PG Patil、J. Virdin、SM Diez、J. Roberts 和 A. Singh, 迈向蓝色经济:加勒比地区可持续增长的承诺 (华盛顿特区:世界银行,2016 年),https://documents1.worldbank.org/curated/en/965641473449861013/pdf/AUS16344-REVISED-v1-BlueEconomy-FullReport-Oct3.pdf。

[2] IA Callejas、CM Lee、DR Mishra、SL Felgate、C. Evans、A. Carrias、A. Rosado 等人,“COVID-19 人类更年期对伯利兹沿海泻湖水清澈度的影响”, 海洋科学前沿,2021 年 5 月 5 日,https://doi.org/10.3389/fmars.2021.648522。

[3] L. Jeftic、SB Sheavly 和 E. Adler, 海洋垃圾:全球挑战 (华盛顿特区:联合国环境规划署,2009 年)。

[4] LS约翰逊, 游轮排放评估报告, 不。 EPA 842-R-07-005(华盛顿特区:美国环境保护署,2008 年)。

[5] 牙买加的自愿国家审查(2018 年)定义了“未婚青年”。 . .与 14-24 岁年龄组、失业或劳动力之外的人、未上学或未接受培训的人一样”。 牙买加关于 2030 年可持续发展议程实施情况的自愿国家审查报告,2018 年 6 月,https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/content/documents/19499JamaicaMain_VNR_Report.pdf。

[6] 国际邮轮协会, 2022 年邮轮业状况展望, https://cruising.org/-/media/clia-media/research/2022/clia-state-of-the-cruise-industry-2022_updated.ashx。

[7] C. Patterson,“正在制定恢复巡航运营的协议”, 牙买加信息服务,2021 年 8 月 13 日,https://jis.gov.jm/protocols-being-development-for-resumption-of-cruise-operations/。

[8] “沿海和海洋旅游必须是可持续的、有弹性的、应对气候变化、减少污染、支持生态系统再生和生物多样性保护,并投资于当地就业和社区。”可持续海洋经济高级别小组, 可持续海洋经济的转型:保护、生产和繁荣的愿景, 2020, https://www.oceanpanel.org/ocean-action/files/transformations-sustainable-ocean-economy-eng.pdf。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Cruises: The Future of Cruise Tourism

What does sustainability mean for the cruise industry and how can this be achieved in light of the impact the pandemic continues to have on the cruise industry? What is the future of cruise tourism?

Honourable Edmund Bartlett, CD, MP
Honourable Edmund Bartlett, CD, MP
Minister of Tourism of Jamaica

Despite the COVID-19 pandemic and the slow pace of recovery, coastal and marine tourism remains one of the fastest-growing sectors in the world economy. For small island developing states (SIDS), tourism, including cruise tourism, is a major driver of economic growth and job creation, a major earner of foreign exchange and has been critical to ensuring economic resilience. Going forward, the sector’s core sustainability challenge, particularly for coastal states and vulnerable SIDS like those in the Caribbean, will be the extent to which the international community (both public and private) commits to decisive ocean-based climate actions. Cross-cutting sustainability considerations such as ecosystem protection, reducing pollution and plastic waste, biodiversity conservation and investments in green technologies within the blue economy must necessarily be mainstreamed in the development of the cruise tourism industry and tourism more generally. Oceans enable domestic and international tourism for almost 200 countries and overseas territories. Globally, the market value of marine and coastal resources and industries is estimated at US$3 trillion per year, or about 5 percent of global gross domestic product, whereas the contribution of the ocean economy to global value added has been estimated conservatively to be on the order of US$1.5 trillion annually, or roughly 3 percent of global value added[1].

The development of coastal and marine tourism represents a significant component of the blue economy and its ability to help us attain the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). This relates not only to SDG 14 (‘Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources’) but also to the blue economy’s role in achieving other SDGs, such as SDG 1 (‘End poverty in all its forms everywhere’). According to the UN World Tourism Organization, the cruise sector supports 1.2 million jobs and contributes US$150 billion to the global economy every year. As the global ocean economy rapidly expands, this presents increasing opportunities for and challenges to achieving sustainability in our ocean and on our coasts, particularly in the face of climate change and the current COVID-19 pandemic.

Coastal and ocean-based tourism contributes significantly to economic development worldwide—especially in the highly tourism-dependent Caribbean. The heavy reliance on marine and ocean resources is vital for the experiences cruise passengers consume. According to the Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA), the cruise subsector in 2018 contributed US$150.13 billion to the global economy, while in 2019 the sector contributed US$154.46 billion globally. At the national level, in 2019, cruise tourism contributed J$21.6 billion to the Jamaican economy through tourism recreational services, food and beverage services, passenger transport services, and recreational and cultural services.

It is important to balance the economic gains to be derived from the blue economy with the appropriate conservation and sustainable use of the resources, along with the social impact on coastal communities. The 2010–20 period ushered in the fastest growth ever in the cruise industry worldwide, with significant impacts on the marine and coastal environment. Before the COVID-19 pandemic, the Jamaican economy earned an average of US$174.5 million through cruise tourism. In 2020, the foreign exchange earnings for cruise tourism totalled US$45.5 million.

However, as countries reeled from the economic impact of the pandemic, beneficial environmental effects of the ‘anthropause’ were observed[2]. According to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, energy emissions declined by 7 percent and agriculture-related environmental pressures declined by 2 percent. We need to consider the environmental impacts of cruise tourism, since cruise ships are a major producer of untreated effluents and other pollutants which threaten the ocean’s survival. The UN Environment Programme identified cruise ships as one of the principal pollution sources in marine ecosystems[3]. In addition, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency estimates that waste from cruise ships varies from 2.6 to 3.5 kilograms per person daily. Management of waste is governed by the International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships[4].

The cruise tourism sector’s responsiveness to sustainability demands is vital to its existence. In other words, the ocean must be kept in pristine condition, effective solid waste management practices must be implemented, and epidemiological standards must be strictly followed to enable health security and safety. One can take solace in the fact that, as much as cruise tourism can harm the environment, it also has the potential to support sustainable ocean tourism. To this end, cruise tourism must take into account environmental impacts, carrying capacity, social responsibility and the integration of tourism within the local community. Special attention must be given to environmental factors that enable a thriving cruise industry. Efforts must be made to keep the ocean in pristine condition. In addition to pollution concerns, the lessons learned from the pandemic demand that the cruise industry carefully manage health protocols to guarantee a safe, secure and seamless experience for the traveller. In addition, onshore excursions, attractions and experiences associated with cruise tourism must be structured to ensure compliance with environmental standards and practices. This also ensures that partnerships are built with local communities, as cultural assets are consumed by cruisers. This approach has been actively demonstrated in the historic town of Falmouth, where the Port Authority of Jamaica, in partnership with the Ministry of Tourism and the Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines, implemented several projects to make the port town more sustainable and inclusive. Continuous stakeholder consultations across various entities and communities identified priority areas for investment with significant socioeconomic opportunities. Some of the priority initiatives include the rehabilitation of Water Square in the town centre as well as the improvement and preservation of heritage infrastructure, drainage improvements and streetscaping. The Port Authority was also instrumental in the rehabilitation of the new farmer’s market at a cost of J$500 million to enhance visitors’ experience of shopping in the town. The authority also constructed a craft village to facilitate the formalisation of 90 craft traders. These vendors were trained and registered, and an association was established to represent their interests. The creation of a pedicab service facilitated integration of the townspeople into the cruise experience, as it created employment opportunities for unattached young men and residents of Falmouth and simultaneously provided an organised historical and heritage-based tour delivered in a safe manner[5].

Despite the impact, the pandemic has afforded opportunities to strengthen the viability and sustainability of the cruise industry. For example, it offered a chance to re-examine the industry’s operations and impact in order to develop strategies and policies for the effective management of disruptions. In this regard, CLIA has reported its intention, by 2027, to have 26 cruise ships powered by liquefied natural gas (LNG), 81 percent of global capacity fitted with advanced wastewater treatment systems and 174 cruise ships with shoreside power connectivity[6]. The Montego Bay Cruise Port provides LNG facilities to vessels, but only to a few cruise ships. Shoreside power connectivity is also available in Montego Bay. The cruise industry is expected to return with a more sustainable, streamlined and efficient model that will place greater focus on adherence to protocols to manage risk and to preserve and protect the industry’s operations as well as the marine and ocean resources on which it depends. The cruise industry’s operations in Jamaica must strictly comply with regulations of the Ministry of Health and Wellness, as well as the Ministry of Tourism’s COVID-19 Health and Safety Protocols[7].

As the world begins to prepare for its emergence from the pandemic, one of the most important considerations is public health and safety. Stringent measures and protocols for public health and safety must be established in partnership with health and port authorities. An alignment and collaboration between public health requirements and industry practices are necessary to establish and adhere to safety protocols and measures, especially those concerning medical and health facilities onboard vessels.

Cruise tourism is critical to the economic sustainability of the Caribbean. The Caribbean region is among the world’s leading ocean cruise destinations and one of the most lucrative spaces for cruises. According to Caribbean News Digital magazine, the Caribbean receives approximately 60 percent of the global share of cruise ship passengers. The Caribbean Tourism Organization reported that approximately 25 million cruise ship passengers visited 24 Caribbean destinations in 2014—a figure that increased by 11 percent in 2015. This presents a considerable opportunity for the economic development of ports as well as the social development of port communities. This will allow the development of measures which will allow ports and cruise lines to systematically address the industry’s economic, social and environmental impacts.

More important, cruise tourism and sustainable cruise tourism can be a transformational tool for communities that have traditionally been locked in a culture of silence. The integration of a cruise port development in the historic township of Port Royal is intended to transform the historically rich community into a sustainable heritage, environmental and cultural attraction, while upgrading its physical infrastructure and improving the economic and social conditions of the residents. The development will ultimately guide the transformation of the town into one with inclusion of the local people as well as good governance and management of sensitive ecological and natural resources. Concerted efforts were made throughout the project to foster collaboration among the key government agencies and to facilitate the integration of the people of Port Royal in the entire development exercise. A significant project modification arising from stakeholder discussion was the relocation of the on-port tertiary-level sewage system (which was originally only for the port) to an offsite location. The sewage treatment plant will utilise modern technology in its operations, allowing for a minimised building footprint and increased operational efficiency.

Our current moment offers an ideal opportunity to redefine cruise tourism. The future of the industry will be driven by investments in technological advancements that seek to increase efficiency and improve experiences while reducing social and environmental impacts. Now more than ever, we have an opportunity to accurately define the physical limits of destinations, vary travel itineraries and design effective destination conservation and rehabilitation projects. Governments will need to adjust to the growing demand for cruises by ensuring that the necessary regulatory and legislative arrangements are in place. The promotion of sound environmental practices, resilience strategies and environmental management systems will be essential for a reimagined cruise tourism industry. Finally, the on-land experiences and attractions that support cruises must adapt and evolve with new creative and innovative strategies in order to satisfy the increasing demand.

The health and sustainability of our ocean are critical to the survival of the tourism industry and, by extension, our planet. In this regard, as a small island developing state, Jamaica welcomes the goal of the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy (Ocean Panel) to achieve a sustainable tourism economy by 2030[8]. The period that follows COVID-19 will see increased growth in coastal and marine based tourism, especially cruise tourism. This demands the implementation of sound and robust strategies, policies and management practices that ensure viability and sustainability for countries and communities, for this generation and the next.

—–

[1] P.G. Patil, J. Virdin, S.M. Diez, J. Roberts and A. Singh, Toward a Blue Economy: A Promise for Sustainable Growth in the Caribbean (Washington, DC: World Bank, 2016), https://documents1.worldbank.org/curated/en/965641473449861013/pdf/AUS16344-REVISED-v1-BlueEconomy-FullReport-Oct3.pdf.

[2] I.A. Callejas, C.M. Lee, D.R. Mishra, S.L. Felgate, C. Evans, A. Carrias, A. Rosado et al., “Effect of COVID-19 Anthropause on Water Clarity in the Belize Coastal Lagoon,” Frontiers in Marine Science, 5 May 2021, https://doi.org/10.3389/fmars.2021.648522.

[3] L. Jeftic, S.B. Sheavly and E. Adler, Marine Litter: A Global Challenge (Washington, DC: UN Environment Programme, 2009).

[4] L.S. Johnson, Cruise Ship Discharge Assessment Report, no. EPA 842-R-07-005 (Washington, DC: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 2008).

[5] Jamaica’s voluntary national review (2018) defines ‘unattached youth . . . as those who are in the age group of 14–24 years, unemployed or outside the labour force, and not in school or in training’. Jamaica Voluntary National Review Report on the Implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, June 2018, https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/content/documents/19499JamaicaMain_VNR_Report.pdf.

[6] Cruise Lines International Association, 2022 State of the Cruise Industry Outlook, https://cruising.org/-/media/clia-media/research/2022/clia-state-of-the-cruise-industry-2022_updated.ashx.

[7] C. Patterson, “Protocols Being Developed for Resumption of Cruise Operations,” Jamaica Information Service, 13 August 2021, https://jis.gov.jm/protocols-being-developed-for-resumption-of-cruise-operations/.

[8] “Coastal and ocean-based tourism must be sustainable, resilient, address climate change, reduce pollution, support ecosystem regeneration and biodiversity conservation and invest in local jobs and communities.” High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy, Transformations for a Sustainable Ocean Economy: A Vision for Protection, Production and Prosperity, 2020, https://www.oceanpanel.org/ocean-action/files/transformations-sustainable-ocean-economy-eng.pdf.

Close
back to top