Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
邮轮:邮轮旅游的未来

可持续性对邮轮业意味着什么?鉴于大流行继续对邮轮业产生影响,如何实现这一目标?邮轮旅游的未来在哪里?

Daniel Skjeldam
丹尼尔·斯凯尔丹
海达路德集团首席执行官

我们在风暴中的灯塔:未来邮轮运营商的原则

为了维持海洋和地球的未来,现在需要我们所有人采取行动。最新的联合国状况报告给了我们大约 2.5 年的时间排放必须达到峰值,以将全球变暖限制在 1.5 和 2 度[1].这大约是自大流行开始以来的时间,一点也不长。我们目前缺乏未来所需的具体解决方案,因此未来两到三年对于邮轮业的未来来说是“生死攸关”。

我们需要正确的态度、更多的行动和适应新的经营方式——快。我们应该放心地在可持续解决方案上花费更多。坦率地说,这对每个人来说都是最痛苦的地方,这就是为什么现在几乎没有变化的原因。如果我们想要更可持续,我们将不得不为此付出代价。就是这么简单。

在挪威海岸和极地地区拥有近 130 年的历史,Hurtigruten Group 的船只已经带领探险者在世界上最苛刻的水域和原始海域进行了壮观的航行。我们运送了重要的货物,并为偏远沿海地区的人们和社区提供了重要的运输服务。我们积累了其他邮轮公司很少(如果有的话)可以展示的知识和经验,并培养了一种适应性和开拓精神,使我们充满信心地走向未来。

这一直是关键业务决策的基础,例如我们何时禁止使用重质燃料油;禁止使用一次性塑料;推出三艘电池混合动力船,包括最可持续的游轮 MS 弗里乔夫·南森;最近,启动了一项重大升级计划,在未来 10 到 15 年内将二氧化碳排放量减少 25%,将氮氧化物排放量减少 80%[2].

我们不会止步于此。我们现在正计划开发零排放船舶,到 2030 年,我们将运营第一艘零排放客船,沿挪威海岸航行[3].这条海岸线将成为我们这种规模的客船以及零排放船舶所需的基础设施的重要试验场。我们正在引领绿色旅游业的变革,但我们不能独自做到这一点。

并非我们行业中的每个人都受到开发解决方案的驱动,有时,领导者之间存在集体工作的惯性。谈到可持续性,许多人认为旅游业,尤其是邮轮业,不能成为解决方案的一部分。我得到它。感觉问题太大了。然而,这个理论是错误的。我们 能够 必须 成为解决方案的一部分。

我们需要舒适地驶入未知水域。作为一名领导者,我觉得通过这些挑战工作可以激发人们最好的一面。有了合适的耐力和人才,它可以带来必要的创新和解决方案的开发,使该行业更接近海洋和地球的可持续未来。

可持续的道路

如果我们要实现可持续的转型,就必须以可持续的价值观为基础。我们需要为客人提供具有绿色足迹的体验。我们需要确保我们的员工参与发展可持续业务,并确保我们的投资者看到转型的价值。

一个在全球雇佣 3.34 亿人并在 2019 年占国内生产总值 10% 的行业完全有能力留下积极和可持续的历史足迹,因此我们必须努力确保能够有效地衡量这些足迹。

旅游业在 2021 年秋季于格拉斯哥举行的联合国气候变化大会 (COP26) 期间做出了历史性承诺。在“旅游业气候行动格拉斯哥宣言”中,几家公司与政府和目的地一起承诺将排放量减少一半2030 年,最迟到 2050 年实现净零排放[4].为了实现这一目标,我们需要使用我们的项目来开发目前尚未完全可用的解决方案。

我们在挪威海岸的零排放项目就是这样一项努力:我们今天没有所有的答案,但我们正在与最优秀的开发人员和研究人员合作,试图找到它们。我们的目标是建造一艘符合我们价值观的船舶,并遵循以下概述的关键原则——这些原则应该共同成为我们在风暴中的灯塔,成为可持续邮轮业的灯塔。

地方合作和参与。 我们将继续与我们航行的当地社区整合和发展关系。在挪威,一份报告告诉我们,我们的船只为每位乘客创造的价值是全包游轮的五倍。通过与当地参与者的伙伴关系和合作,我们的行业可以而且应该为创造留在当地社区的价值做出贡献,并与当地供应商合作,在运营商、社区和我们的客人之间实现互惠互利的关系。

科学的方法。 以我们的基础设施为平台,我们为研究人员、科研机构和组织提供了开展重要工作、获取样本和监测原本难以到达的区域的机会。对科学项目 CRUISE#SCIENCE 的评估表明,它为 Hurtigruten Group 和斯瓦尔巴大学中心增加了价值[5].当我们的客人参加采样、演示和讲座时,他们对气候变化以及天气模式的快速变化如何影响自然有了独特的了解。拥有知识和洞察力的客人报告说,他们在应对气候变化方面承担了更多的个人责任。

大众旅游不可持续.如果我们想让邮轮旅游变得可持续,我们就必须应对大众旅游。无论您是带着 7,000 名游客还是 700 名游客上岸,无论是在小社区还是在大城市,这都会有所不同。可持续的旅游业在规模上必须是可持续的,大型游轮永远无法像小型船舶运营商那样维持和支持当地社区。

对 ESG 的承诺.报告环境影响、社会问题和治理 (ESG) 将有助于重组未来的邮轮业。通过透明的报告,我们可以看到我们面临的挑战并帮助制定正确的解决方案。我们的目标是成为世界上最可持续的旅游运营商,推动行业的 ESG 界限。我们不会止步于获得经营许可;我们将尽最大努力超越法规,寻求全球一流的 ESG 解决方案。为了实现这一目标,我们为邮轮行业开发了 ESG 报告模型[6].这是一项开创性的工作,我们希望它可以为其他运营商提供一个模板。

海洋和水的零排放.倾倒灰水和黑水和使用重油的时代需要结束。我们必须专注于可以帮助将排放减少到零的项目,尽管技术解决方案还不是全部。随着我们零排放项目的顺利进行,我们的目标是在 2030 年之前看到第一艘零排放船在挪威海岸航行。

零浪费.游轮提供了一个独特的机会。通过完全控制所有发生和关闭的事情,我们可以控制消耗并真正减少我们的浪费。关于在北极积累的微塑料的消息充分说明了我们仍然面临的挑战[7].我们创建的基础设施必须做的不仅仅是为我们的客人提供美好时光;它还必须在我们访问的每个地方都满足我们的要求。

这些是每个想成为未来邮轮业一部分的人都应该遵守的原则。要实现联合国可持续发展目标,并为子孙后代保护我们的海洋,需要行动和心态。

一艘船抵达港口时是否载有数百名或数千名乘客,这会产生巨大的差异。客人和运营商是否为当地社区和港口创造价值会产生巨大的影响。当客人愿意为更可持续的冒险花费更多时,这会产生巨大的变化。所有这些对于实现零排放至关重要。

在海达路德集团,我们支持海洋专家组的呼吁[8].作为邮轮行业的参与者,您要么可持续地航行到日落中,要么落后并沉没。没有其他选择。我们希望每个运营商都能成功,拥抱绿色复苏期。凭借集体精神、强大的合作伙伴关系以及对可持续解决方案进行投资的意愿,我们可以实现我们的目标,并在未来遇到的许多风暴中幸存下来。

—–

[1] 联合国新闻,“联合国气候报告:将全球变暖限制在 1.5 度是‘现在或永远’”,2022 年 4 月 4 日,https://news.un.org/en/story/2022/04/1115452。

[2] Hurtigruten Group,“Hurtigruten Expeditions 的 MS 弗里乔夫·南森 被评为世界上最可持续的游轮”,新闻稿,2021 年 10 月 27 日,https://www.mynewsdesk.com/hurtigruten/pressreleases/hurtigruten-expeditions-ms-fridtjof-nansen-rated-the-worlds-most-sustainable-游轮3139603; Hurtigruten Group,“Hurtigruten Norway 对电池和生物燃料进行大规模投资——减排 25%”,新闻稿,2021 年 5 月 11 日,https://presse.hurtigruten.no/pressreleases/hurtigruten-norway-makes-a-电池和生物燃料的大规模投资将排放量减少 25% 3098614。

[3] Hurtigruten Group,“Hurtigruten Norge vil bygge nullutslippsskip innen 2030”,新闻稿,2022 年 3 月 31 日,https://presse.hurtigruten.no/pressreleases/hurtigruten-norge-vil-bygge-nullutslippsskip-innen-2030-3172062。

[4] 世界旅游组织,“格拉斯哥宣言:全球紧急呼吁致力于旅游业十年行动”,2021 年 9 月 21 日,https://www.unwto.org/news/the-glasgow-declaration-an-urgent-全球呼吁承诺承诺十年的旅游气候行动。

[5] B. Damsgård、A. Vader、J. Søreide 和 K. Nørregaard, 北极游轮上的公民科学(CRUISE#SCIENCE) (挪威朗伊尔城:斯瓦尔巴大学中心,2020 年)。

[6] 海达路德集团, 2021 年环境、社会及管治报告, https://www.hurtigruten.com/group/sustainability/reports/esg/2021/。

[7] Havforskningsinstituttet,“Mikroplast frå Europa hopar seg opp i Arktis”,2022 年 3 月 24 日,https://www.hi.no/hi/nyheter/2022/mars/mikroplast-fra-europa-hopar-seg-opp-i-arktis .

[8] 可持续海洋经济高级别小组,“转型:我们的行动呼吁”,https://www.oceanpanel.org/ocean-action/transformations.html。

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Cruises: The Future of Cruise Tourism

What does sustainability mean for the cruise industry and how can this be achieved in light of the impact the pandemic continues to have on the cruise industry? What is the future of cruise tourism?

Daniel Skjeldam
Daniel Skjeldam
CEO, Hurtigruten Group

Our lighthouse in the storm: principles for future cruise operators

To sustain the future of the ocean and the planet, action from all of us is needed now. The latest UN status report gives us about 2.5 years before emissions must reach their peak, to limit global warming to 1.5 and 2 degrees[1]. That’s about the amount of time since the pandemic started, not long at all. We currently lack necessary concrete solutions for the future, so the next two to three years are ‘do or die’ for the cruise industry’s future.

We need the right attitude, more action and adaption to new ways of doing business—fast. We should get comfortable spending more on sustainable solutions. Let’s be frank, that’s where it hurts the most for everyone, and that’s why there’s so little change right now. If we want to be more sustainable, we are going to have to pay for it. It’s that simple.

With almost 130 years of history along the Norwegian coast and in polar regions, Hurtigruten Group’s ships have taken expedition guests on spectacular voyages through some of the world’s most demanding waters and pristine marine areas. We have shipped vital cargo and provided people and communities in remote coastal areas with a critical transport service. We have built knowledge and experience that few, if any, other cruise companies can demonstrate, and developed an adaptability and pioneering spirit that drives us confidently into the future.

This has been the basis for key business decisions, such as when we banned heavy fuel oil; banned single-use plastics; launched three battery hybrid ships, including the most sustainable cruise ship, the MS Fridtjof Nansen; and, most recently, embarked on a significant upgrade program to cut carbon dioxide by 25 percent and reduce nitrogen oxides by 80 percent over the next 10 to 15 years[2].

And we won’t stop there. We are now planning to develop zero-emission ships, and by 2030 we will operate the first zero-emission passenger ship that will sail along the Norwegian coast[3]. This coastline will be an important testing ground for passenger ships of our size, and for the infrastructure zero-emission ships will require. We are leading the change for a greener travel industry, but we cannot do it alone.

Not everyone in our industry is driven by developing solutions and, at times, there is inertia among leaders to work collectively. When it comes to sustainability, many think the tourism industry, not least the cruise industry, cannot be part of the solution. I get it. The problems feel too big. However, that theory is wrong. We can and must be a part of the solution.

We need to get comfortable sailing into unchartered waters. As a leader, I feel that working through such challenges brings out the best in people. With the right stamina and talent, it can lead to necessary innovation and development of solutions that will bring the industry closer to a sustainable future for the ocean and the planet.

The sustainable path

If we are to achieve a sustainable transition, it must be based on sustainable values. We need to offer our guests experiences that have a green footprint. We need to make sure that our employees are part of developing a sustainable business and that our investors see the value of the transformation.

An industry that employed 334 million worldwide and accounted for 10 percent of gross domestic product in 2019 is perfectly positioned to leave positive and sustainable historical footprints, so we must work to ensure that these can be measured effectively.

The tourism industry made a historic commitment during the UN Climate Change Conference (COP26) in Glasgow in the autumn of 2021. In the ‘Glasgow Declaration for Climate Action in Tourism’, several companies joined governments and destinations in committing to cut emissions in half by 2030 and achieve net zero by 2050 at the latest[4]. To get there we need to use our projects to develop solutions that are not fully available today.

Our zero-emission project along the Norwegian coast is an such an effort: we do not have all the answers today, but we are teaming up with the best developers and researchers to try and find them. We aim to build a ship that is in line with our values, and that follows the key principles outlined below—principles that together should be our lighthouse in the storm, a beacon for a sustainable cruise industry.

Local cooperation and engagement. We will continue to integrate and develop relationships with local communities where we sail. In Norway, a report tells us that our ships create five times as much value per passenger as an all-inclusive cruise. Through partnerships and cooperation with local actors, our industry can and should contribute to create value that remains in local communities and work with local suppliers to achieve a mutually beneficial relationship among operators, communities and our guests.

The scientific approach. With our infrastructure as a platform, we give researchers, scientific institutions and organisations the opportunity to do their important work, obtain samples and monitor areas that would otherwise be hard to reach. Evaluations of the science project CRUISE#SCIENCE showed that it added value to both Hurtigruten Group and the University Centre in Svalbard[5]. When our guests get to participate in sampling, demonstrations and lectures, they gain a unique understanding of climate change and how nature is affected by rapid changes in weather patterns. Armed with knowledge and insight, guests report that they take more personal responsibility in tackling climate change.

Mass tourism is not sustainable. We have to deal with mass tourism if we want cruise tourism to become sustainable. It makes a difference whether you are going ashore with 7,000 or 700 tourists, both in small communities or larger cities. A sustainable tourism industry must be sustainable in size, and mega cruise ships will never be able to sustain and support local communities in the way smaller ship operators can.

Commitment to ESG. Reporting on environmental impact, social issues and governance (ESG) will help restructure the cruise industry of the future. Through transparent reporting, we can see our challenges and help develop the right solutions. Our ambition is to be the most sustainable travel operator in the world, pushing the industry’s boundaries for ESG. We won’t stop at a license to operate; we will do our utmost to go beyond regulations and look to best-in-class ESG solutions globally. To get there, we have developed a model for ESG reporting for the cruise industry[6]. This is groundbreaking work, and we hope it can provide a template for other operators.

Zero emissions to sea and water. The time of dumping greywater and blackwater and using heavy oil needs to be over. We must focus on projects that can help cut emissions to zero, although the technological solutions are not all there yet. With our zero-emissions project well underway, we aim to see the first emission-free ship sail along the Norwegian coast before 2030.

Zero waste. Cruise ships provide a unique opportunity. With full control over everything that goes on and off, we can take control of consumption and truly minimise our waste. The news about microplastics accumulating in the Arctic says a lot about the challenges we still face[7]. The infrastructure we create must do more than offer our guests a good time; it must also do what is required of us in every place we visit.

These are principles everyone who wants to be part of the cruise industry of the future should commit to. To reach the UN Sustainable Development Goals, and take care of our ocean for future generations, requires both action and mindset.

It makes a huge difference whether a ship arrives in port with hundreds or thousands of passengers. It makes a huge difference whether guests and operators create value for local communities and ports. It makes a huge difference when guests are willing to spend more for more sustainable adventures. All of this is vital to get to zero emissions.

At Hurtigruten Group, we support the Ocean Panel’s call[8]. As a player in the cruise industry, you either sail sustainably into the sunset, or you fall behind and sink. There are no other options. We want every operator to succeed and embrace the green recovery period. With the collective spirit, strong partnerships and willingness to invest in sustainable solutions, we can achieve our goals, and survive the many storms that come our way in the future.

—–

[1] UN News, “UN Climate Report: It’s ‘Now or Never’ to Limit Global Warming to 1.5 Degrees,” 4 April 2022, https://news.un.org/en/story/2022/04/1115452.

[2] Hurtigruten Group, “Hurtigruten Expeditions’ MS Fridtjof Nansen Rated the World’s Most Sustainable Cruise Ship,” press release, 27 October 2021, https://www.mynewsdesk.com/hurtigruten/pressreleases/hurtigruten-expeditions-ms-fridtjof-nansen-rated-the-worlds-most-sustainable-cruise-ship-3139603; Hurtigruten Group, “Hurtigruten Norway Makes a Large-Scale Investment in Batteries and Biofuel—Cuts Emissions by 25%,” press release, 11 May 2021, https://presse.hurtigruten.no/pressreleases/hurtigruten-norway-makes-a-large-scale-investment-in-batteries-and-biofuel-cuts-emissions-by-25-percent-3098614.

[3] Hurtigruten Group, “Hurtigruten Norge vil bygge nullutslippsskip innen 2030,” press release, 31 March 2022, https://presse.hurtigruten.no/pressreleases/hurtigruten-norge-vil-bygge-nullutslippsskip-innen-2030-3172062.

[4] World Tourism Organization, “The Glasgow Declaration: An Urgent Global Call for Commitment to a Decade of Action in Tourism,” 21 September 2021, https://www.unwto.org/news/the-glasgow-declaration-an-urgent-global-call-for-commitment-to-a-decade-of-climate-action-in-tourism.

[5] B. Damsgård, A. Vader, J. Søreide and K. Nørregaard, Citizen Science on Arctic Cruise Ships (CRUISE#SCIENCE) (Longyearbyen, Norway: University Centre in Svalbard, 2020).

[6] Hurtigruten Group, ESG Report 2021, https://www.hurtigruten.com/group/sustainability/reports/esg/2021/.

[7] Havforskningsinstituttet, “Mikroplast frå Europa hopar seg opp i Arktis,” 24 March 2022, https://www.hi.no/hi/nyheter/2022/mars/mikroplast-fra-europa-hopar-seg-opp-i-arktis.

[8] High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy, “Transformations: Our Call to Action,” https://www.oceanpanel.org/ocean-action/transformations.html.

Close
back to top