精选: 各国签署海洋与气候行动联合宣言 Arrow 精选: COP28 值得关注的 10 个海洋事件 Arrow 精选: 阅读新报告:海洋作为气候变化的解决方案 Arrow 精选: 阅读 2023 年联合国大会海洋小组领导人联合公报 Arrow

海洋小组呼吁各国采用 100% 可持续海洋管理目标

2023 年 12 月 4 日

迪拜(2023 年 12 月 2 日)— 12月2日,可持续海洋经济高级别小组(Ocean Panel)发布《海洋与气候行动联合宣言》,呼吁世界各国可持续管理其国家水域100%,维护长期健康和复原力海洋的。
该宣言由海洋小组成员和美洲国家组织总秘书处签署,强调健康的海洋在应对气候变化方面的重要性,并指出基于海洋的解决方案有可能将“排放差距”减少多达1.5°C 路径上的 35%。

“我们邀请所有海洋和沿海国家团结起来,实现100%可持续海洋管理的目标,并支持海洋小组今天发起的海洋行动宣言。” Jonas Gahr Støre,挪威首相兼海洋小组联合主席.

海洋小组的 18 个成员致力于在国家管辖范围内对海洋进行 100% 可持续管理,以促进长期经济和社会发展——通过保护支撑这一发展的自然海洋生态系统,并可持续地利用海洋资源。它们总共代表了世界 50% 的海岸线和超过 45% 的世界专属经济区 (EEZ)。

昨天,太平洋国家领导人还承诺通过“解锁蓝色太平洋繁荣计划”进行全面海洋管理。该计划旨在可持续管理太平洋100%并有效保护其中的30%,使其成为世界上最大的保护工作之一。

“太平洋面积4000万平方公里,几乎是俄罗斯面积的3倍。太平洋发生的事情关系到地球的成败。”说 汤加首相西奥西·奥法基瓦哈福劳·索瓦莱尼。 “这就是为什么我们致力于保护蓝色大陆的 30%,同时努力保护和可持续管理关键的生态系统。我们的目的是向世界展示太平洋人民的韧性和坚定的希望。”

要使这一雄心勃勃的计划成为可能,需要全球伙伴关系和适当的资金来支持保护。今天,全球环境基金 (GEF) 首席执行官卡洛斯·曼努埃尔·罗德里格斯 (Carlos Manuel Rodriguez) 宣布承诺投入 $1.25 亿美元,贝索斯地球基金总裁兼首席执行官安德鲁·斯蒂尔 (Andrew Steer) 博士宣布为该计划捐款 $100 万美元。

海洋小组宣言呼吁各国在其国家气候目标中采取基于海洋的行动,包括国家自主贡献(NDC)、长期战略和适应沟通。它还邀请各国采用可持续海洋计划(专家小组首创的政策工具)作为实现 100% 可持续管理的工具。

关于可持续海洋经济高级别小组

海洋小组由挪威和帕劳共同主持,成员包括澳大利亚、加拿大、智利、斐济、法国、加纳、印度尼西亚、牙买加、日本、肯尼亚、墨西哥、纳米比亚、挪威、帕劳、葡萄牙、塞舌尔、英国和美国美利坚合众国。这18个国家总共代表了世界海岸线的50%、全球专属经济区的45%、世界渔业的26%、世界船队的20%。海洋小组得到联合国秘书长海洋问题特使的支持。基于对改善海洋状况的共同认识,海洋小组各国致力于制定国家可持续海洋计划,旨在可持续管理国家管辖范围内的100%海洋区域。如需了解更多信息,请访问 oceanpanel.org。世界资源研究所(WRI)担任海洋小组的秘书处。了解更多信息,请访问 www.wri.org/our-work/topics/ocean.

 

本新闻稿最初发布在世界资源研究所的网站上:https://www.wri.org/news/release-ocean-panel-calls-nations-adopt-100-sustainable-ocean-management-target

Close
back to top

Featured: Countries sign onto a joint declaration on ocean and climate action Arrow Featured: 10 ocean events to watch out for at COP28 Arrow Featured: Read the new report: The Ocean as a Solution to Climate Change Arrow Featured: Read the Ocean Panel Leaders joint communiqué issued at the 2023 UN General Assembly Arrow

Ocean Panel Calls for Nations to Adopt 100% Sustainable Ocean Management Target

Dec 4, 2023

DUBAI (December 2, 2023) — On December 2, the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy (Ocean Panel) launched the Joint Declaration on Ocean and Climate Action, calling for countries around the world to sustainably manage 100% of their national waters, to safeguard the long term health and resilience of the ocean.
The Declaration, signed by members of the Ocean Panel and the General Secretariat of the Organization of American States, emphasizes the importance of a healthy ocean in tackling climate change, citing that ocean-based solutions can potentially reduce the “emissions gap” by up to 35% on a 1.5°C pathway.

“We invite all ocean and coastal states to unite in the goal of 100% sustainable ocean management and to endorse the ocean action declaration launched by the Ocean Panel today” said Jonas Gahr Støre, Prime Minister of Norway and co-chair of the Ocean Panel.

The 18 members of the Ocean Panel have committed to 100% sustainable management of the ocean under national jurisdictions to advance long-term economic and social development — by protecting the natural marine ecosystems that underpin that development, and by using the ocean’s resources sustainably. Together they represent 50% of the world’s coastlines and over 45% of the world’s Exclusive Economic Zones (EEZs).

Yesterday, leaders of Pacific nations also committed to holistic ocean management through the Unlocking Blue Pacific Prosperity Plan. The Plan will aim to sustainably manage 100% of the Pacific Ocean and effectively protect 30% of it, making it one of the world’s largest conservation efforts.

“The Pacific is 40 million square kilometers, almost 3 times the size of Russia. What happens to the Pacific is make or break for the planet.” said Siaosi ‘Ofakivahafolau Sovaleni, Prime Minister of Tonga. “That’s why we have committed to protecting 30% of our blue continent as we strive to protect and sustainably manage critical ecosystems. We mean to show the world that Pacific people are resilient and determined to hope.”

Making this ambitious plan possible will require global partnerships and fit-for-purpose funding to support conservation. Today Carlos Manuel Rodriguez CEO of the Global Environment Facility (GEF) announced a commitment of $125 million and Dr Andrew Steer, President and CEO of the Bezos Earth Fund announced a contribution of $100 million to this initiative.

The Ocean Panel declaration calls for countries to adopt ocean-based action in their national climate goals, including Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs), long-term strategies and adaptation communications. It also invites countries to adopt Sustainable Ocean Plans (a policy tool pioneered by the Panel) as a vehicle to achieving 100% sustainable management.

About the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy

Co-chaired by Norway and Palau, the Ocean Panel includes Australia, Canada, Chile, Fiji, France, Ghana, Indonesia, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Namibia, Norway, Palau, Portugal, Seychelles the United Kingdom, and the United States of America. Together, these 18 nations represent 50% of the world’s coastlines, 45% of global EEZs, 26% of the world’s fisheries, 20% of the world’s shipping fleet. The Ocean Panel is supported by the UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for the Ocean. Based on the shared understanding of the need to improve the state of the ocean, the countries in the Ocean Panel are committed to producing national sustainable ocean plans with the aim of sustainably managing 100% of the ocean area under national jurisdiction. Learn more at oceanpanel.org. World Resources Institute (WRI) serves as the Secretariat for the Ocean Panel. Learn more at www.wri.org/our-work/topics/ocean.

 

This release was originally published on World Resources Institute’s website at: https://www.wri.org/news/release-ocean-panel-calls-nations-adopt-100-sustainable-ocean-management-target

Close
back to top