精选: 各国签署海洋与气候行动联合宣言 Arrow 精选: COP28 值得关注的 10 个海洋事件 Arrow 精选: 阅读新报告:海洋作为气候变化的解决方案 Arrow 精选: 阅读 2023 年联合国大会海洋小组领导人联合公报 Arrow

COP28 上宣布新的绿色航运挑战

2023 年 12 月 5 日

去年,在 COP27 上,海洋小组的两名成员, 挪威和美国发起一项减少航运温室气体排放的新举措 并呼吁其他国家、港口和公司加入其中。一年后,在迪拜举行的 COP28 会议公布了最新进展情况,并为实现这一雄心勃勃的目标做出了进一步承诺。  

国际航运承载着全球贸易总量的约 80%,在温室气体 (GHG) 排放方面对地球造成了相当大的损失。  

在今年的绿色航运挑战活动上,美国总统气候特使约翰·克里表示:“如果航运业是一个国家,那么它将成为世界第八大排放国。这并非无关紧要,相反,它具有巨大的意义,因为到 2050 年,你无法实现全球净零排放——如果没有这个行业成为前沿和中心,你就无法接近我们保持 1.5 的活力所需的目标在转型中。” 

航运排放量平均增加 过去二十年 尽管由于 COVID-19,2020 年全球航运增长出现中断。而且,尽管人们一直在努力通过翻新船舶以提高燃油效率等措施来减少这些排放,但仍需要在这一领域采取更多行动来实现全球气候目标。到2030年实现净零排放, 国际航运排放量需要减少近 15%.  

自去年发起“绿色航运挑战赛”以来, 国际海事组织(IMO)发布新战略 目标是根据“国情”在 2050 年或前后实现净零排放。这一国际公认的目标将推动采取进一步行动解决船舶排放问题。

海洋小组最近委托的一份报告指出,航运脱碳是七个海洋气候子行业的关键组成部分,到 2050 年,这些子行业总共可以实现高达 35% 的年度减排量,以将全球气温上升控制在 1.5°C 以下。   

挪威首相乔纳斯·加尔·斯托尔在今年绿色航运挑战活动的闭幕词中赞扬了参与该倡议的各方,特别是私营公司所发表的声明,并表示: “这不是竞争,而是合作”……“[我们需要]建立基础设施来竞争”。 

在今年的活动中,各国和私人合作伙伴发布了多项新公告,以进一步实现挑战赛的目标,其中包括: 

绿色航运走廊 

  • 美国宣布与英国、加拿大和韩国合作,为主要贸易路线建立绿色航运走廊。 
  • 美国和韩国——就使用绿色乙醇或氨为选定航线上的船舶提供动力进行可行性研究。 
  • 纳米比亚——绿色氢计划将与马士基麦金尼默勒零碳航运中心共同开发绿色走廊。 
  • Wallenius Wilhelmsen – 致力于到 2027 年开发第一条绿色走廊,包括陆地和海上交通。 
  • 日本 - 加大力度发展绿色航运走廊,包括开发和引进零排放船舶和碳中和港口倡议,其中包括修订日本港口法、实施港口脱碳工作可视化系统以及利用新氢技术开展示范项目等新能源到港口。 
  • 英国 – 双边绿色航运走廊协议,包括与荷兰、挪威和丹麦的国际绿色走廊基金,以及《克莱德班克绿色航运走廊宣言》。 
  • 智利——智利绿色走廊预可行性研究已完成,可行性研究正在进行中。 

监管和承诺进展 

  • 挪威 – 宣布了到 2024 年在国内各个部门实现航运净零排放的具体任务。 
  • 澳大利亚 – 宣布海上减排国家行动计划。 

替代燃料和船舶进展 

  • 美国——能源部投资 $70 亿美元建设全国氢能中心,与多个港口合作以实现海上脱碳。 
  • 太平洋蓝色航运合作伙伴关系(斐济、马绍尔群岛、基里巴斯、所罗门群岛、东戈、图瓦卢和瓦努阿图)——在 7 个成员国改造/更换超过 11 000 艘船舶。 
  • 法国 – 宣布投入 $8 亿用于绿色航运创新,并设立 $12 亿公私投资基金,作为未来国家海上脱碳路线图的一部分,其中包括 $5 亿的公共资金,以及目前来自 CMA CGM 的 $2 亿的资金投资港口基础设施、生产可持续海洋燃料、改造和更换现有船舶以及政府船队脱碳。 
  • Höegh Autoliners(挪威)投资 $12 亿美元建造 12 艘新的净零氨运输船,称为 Aurora 级。第一艘船预计将于 2027 年使用清洁氨运行。与雅苒(燃料供应商)和现代(氨发动机生产商)合作。  
  • AP Moller-Maesk – 宣布为 12 艘大型双燃料新船签订 50 万吨绿色甲醇承购协议,目标是明年建造 180 艘绿色燃料船舶。到 2030 年预计需要 2100 万吨绿色燃料。 
  • CMA CGM – 投资超过 $150 亿用于船队脱碳,目标是到 2028 年使 180 艘船舶能够使用替代燃料。  
  • EU + Wallenius Wilhelmsen – 大规模测试风力推进,目标是开发仅由风力驱动的完整 RORO(滚装、滚装)船。 “Orcelle Wind”船将于 2027 年下水。 
  • DP World – 投资 2.5 亿英镑建造混合动力电动 PNO 先锋支线船,将油耗降低了 40%。投资 4 艘甲醇动力船舶,有望按照 COP27 商定的那样,到 2027 年减少 70 万吨排放。 
  • 亚马逊与宜家、巴塔哥尼亚、阿斯彭研究所和 Tchibo – 零排放海事买家联盟 (ZEMBA) 联盟于 3 月份宣布成立,旨在加速零排放 (ZE) 航运的商业部署,实现规模经济,并帮助减少排放海上排放。 2023 年 9 月,宣布了将于 2025 年交付 ZE 航运服务的建议书征询书 (RfP),通过此寻求在三年内提供 600,000 20 英尺集装箱的由 ZE 燃料驱动的远洋运输服务。 

发展中国家的脱碳 

  • 挪威在 2024 年至 2030 年间为“绿色航行 2050”投资 $1900 万(与 IMO 合作,资助发展中国家向清洁航运业转型)。 
  • 太平洋蓝色航运伙伴关系(斐济、马绍尔群岛、基里巴斯、所罗门群岛、东戈、图瓦卢和瓦努阿图)的成立旨在调整海运,以实现更广泛的 2050 年净零排放目标(到 2030 年减少排放量 40%,到 2040 年减少排放量 80%,到 2050 年将达到 100%)。 
  • 英国 – 支持发展中国家实施 2023 年 IMO 温室气体战略 – 向 IMO 自愿多捐助信托基金提供 150,000 英镑,以支持参加 IMO 温室气体会议,向 IMO 温室气体技术合作信托基金提供 100,000 英镑。 

 

有关绿色航运挑战公告的完整列表,请访问: https://greenshippingchallenge.org/announcements/ 

观看 COP28 活动录像

Close
back to top

Featured: Countries sign onto a joint declaration on ocean and climate action Arrow Featured: 10 ocean events to watch out for at COP28 Arrow Featured: Read the new report: The Ocean as a Solution to Climate Change Arrow Featured: Read the Ocean Panel Leaders joint communiqué issued at the 2023 UN General Assembly Arrow

New Green Shipping Challenge Announcements made at COP28

Dec 5, 2023

Last year at COP27, two members of the Ocean Panel, Norway and the USA launched a new initiative to cut greenhouse gas emissions from shipping and challenged other countries, ports and companies to join them.  One year on, COP28 in Dubai saw an update on progress and further commitments made towards this ambitious goal.  

International shipping carries approximately 80% of all global trade, taking a considerable toll on the planet in terms of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions.  

At this year’s Green Shipping Challenge event John Kerry, US Special Presidential Envoy for Climate remarked, “if shipping were a nation, it would be the eighth largest emitter in the world. This is not inconsequential, on the contrary it’s of enormous significance because you don’t get to net-zero global by 2050 – you don’t get anywhere near where we need to be to keep 1.5 alive — without this industry being front and centre in the transition.” 

Emissions from shipping have on average increased over the last two decades despite a break in global shipping growth in 2020 due to COVID-19. And, while there have been efforts to reduce these emissions through measures like refurbishing ships to improve fuel efficiency, more action in this area is needed to meet global climate goals. To achieve net zero emissions by 2030, a nearly 15 percent reduction in international shipping emissions is needed.  

Since the Green Shipping Challenge was launched last year, the International Maritime Organization (IMO), published its new strategy with a target to hit net zero “by or around” 2050 depending on “national circumstances”. This internationally recognised target will spur further action in tackling emissions from shipping vessels.

A recent Ocean Panel-commissioned report, identified decarbonising shipping as a key component of seven ocean-based climate sub-sectors that together could deliver up to 35% of the annual emission cuts needed by 2050 to keep global temperature rise below 1.5°C.   

In his closing remarks at this year’s Green Shipping Challenge event, Norwegian Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Støre praised the announcements made by those participating in the initiatives, particularly the private companies stating, “this is not about competition but about collaboration” … “[we need to] build the infrastructure upon which you will compete”. 

This year’s event saw multiple new announcements from countries and private partners that further the goal of the Challenge, they included: 

Green Shipping Corridors 

  • USA announced partnership with UK, Canada, and the Republic of Korea to form Green Shipping Corridors for major trade routes. 
  • USA and Korea – carrying out feasibility studies on using green ethanol or ammonia to power ships on selected routes. 
  • Namibia – Green Hydrogen Program will develop Green Corridors with Mærsk McKinney Møller Center for Zero Carbon Shipping. 
  • Wallenius Wilhelmsen – committed to developing the first green corridor by 2027 including land and sea transportation. 
  • Japan – enhanced efforts towards developing Green Shipping Corridors, including development and introduction of zero-emission ships and Carbon Neutral Port Initiative which includes amending Japan’s Port and Harbour act, implementing a system to visualise port decarbonisation efforts and conducting demonstration projects with new hydrogen technologies other new energy sources to ports. 
  • UK – Bilateral green shipping corridors agreements including International Green Corridor Fund with the Netherlands, Norway, and Denmark, and the Clydebank Declaration for Green Shipping Corridors. 
  • Chile – Chilean Green Corridor Pre-Feasibility Study has been finalised, feasibility studies now in progress. 

Regulatory and Commitment Progress 

  • Norway – announced their concrete mandate to reach net zero shipping emissions in various domestic sectors by 2024. 
  • Australia – announces a Maritime Emissions Reduction National Action Plan. 

Alternative Fuels and Vessels Progress 

  • USA – Department of Energy invests $7 billion in hydrogen hubs across the country, working with several ports to unlock maritime decarbonisation. 
  • Pacific Blue Shipping Partnership (Fiji, Marshall Islands, Kiribati, Solomon Islands, Tongo, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu) – retrofitting/replacing >11 000 vessels in the 7-member countries. 
  • France –announced $800 million towards green shipping innovation, and the creation of a $1.2 billion public-private investment fund as part of the future national Maritime decarbonisation Roadmap, including $500 million of public funding, and currently $200 million from CMA CGM to go towards investments in port infrastructures, production of sustainable marine fuels, retrofitting and replacing current ships, and decarbonisation of government fleet. 
  • Höegh Autoliners (Norway) investing $1.2 billion in building 12 new net-zero ammonia carriers known as the Aurora Class. The first vessel expected to run on clean ammonia in 2027. Working with Yara (fuel provider) and Hyundai (producer of ammonia engine).  
  • A.P. Moller-Maesk –announced green methanol offtake agreement of 500 000 tonnes for 12 large dual-fuel newbuildings, aiming for 180 green-fuel vessels next year. By 2030 projected to need 21 million tonnes of green fuel. 
  • CMA CGM – invested >$15 billion in decarbonising fleet, aiming for 180 vessels capable of using alternative fuels by 2028.  
  • EU + Wallenius Wilhelmsen – testing wind propulsion at scale, with the aim of developing a full RORO (roll-on, roll-off) vessel being propelled solely by wind power. “Orcelle Wind” vessel set to be launched in 2027. 
  • DP World – investing £250 million into hybrid electric PNO pioneer feeder which decreased fuel consumption by 40%. Investing in 4 methanol powered vessels and on track to reduce emissions by 700 000 tonnes by 2027 as agreed at COP27. 
  • Amazon with IKEA, Patagonia, the Aspen Institute and Tchibo – Zero-Emission Maritime Buyers Alliance (ZEMBA) coalition announced in March, with the aim to accelerate commercial deployment of zero-emission (ZE) shipping, enable economies of scale, and help minimize maritime emissions. September 2023, announced Request for Proposals (RfP) for ZE shipping services to be delivered by 2025, through this seeking ocean shipping services powered by ZE fuels for 600,000 20 foot contained over a three year period. 

Decarbonisation of Developing Countries 

  • Norway investing $19 million between 2024-2030 to Green Voyage 2050 (partnership with IMO to fund developing countries transition to a cleaner shipping sector). 
  • Pacific Blue Shipping Partnership (Fiji, Marshall Islands, Kiribati, Solomon Islands, Tongo, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu) set up to align sea transport to reach broader 2050 net-zero emissions targets (decrease emissions by 40% in 2030, 80% by 2040, and 100% by 2050). 
  • UK –support of developing countries to deliver the 2023 IMO GHGStrategy – £150,000 to IMO Voluntary multi-donar trust fund to support attendance to IMO GHG meetings, and £100,000 to IMO’s GHG Technical Cooperation Trust Fund. 

 

For the full list of Green Shipping Challenge announcements visit: https://greenshippingchallenge.org/announcements/ 

Watch the COP28 Event Recording

Close
back to top