精选: 各国签署海洋与气候行动联合宣言 Arrow 精选: COP28 值得关注的 10 个海洋事件 Arrow 精选: 阅读新报告:海洋作为气候变化的解决方案 Arrow 精选: 阅读 2023 年联合国大会海洋小组领导人联合公报 Arrow

COP28 值得关注的 10 个海洋事件

《联合国气候变化框架公约》第 28 次缔约方会议 11 月 30 日至 12 月 12 日在迪拜举行, 阿联酋 哪里 世界领导人将齐聚一堂,继续就气候危机进行谈判,以创造一个更加宜居的未来。  

2023 年 11 月 30 日

今年的缔约方会议 提供了一个独特的历史性机会 通过有史以来第一个“全球盘点”,让人们关注世界是否采取了足够的措施来抑制排放、增强抵御能力并增加对气候解决方案的金融投资。 

COP28 的一个主要焦点将是各国如何利用全球盘点报告(9 月 23 日发布)的调查结果来实现将气温上升限制在 1.5°C 的全球目标,并应对气候变化的影响。这 最新海洋小组委托报告 展示了海洋在实现这一目标方面可以发挥的重要作用。研究发现,到 2050 年,海洋气候解决方案可实现高达 35% 的年度减排量,以将全球气温上升控制在 1.5° 以下C。  

虽然海洋提供了一个重要的行动机会领域,但随着气候变化的影响持续加剧,2023 年海洋温度将达到有史以来最热的水平。采取紧急措施保护海洋健康免受气候变化影响的必要性从未如此迫切。 

在 COP28 的两周内,各种活动将探讨这些关键问题,以下是一些值得关注的亮点:  

1. 没有海洋就没有巴黎:合作大规模激活海洋气候解决方案 
11 月 30 日 |海洋馆| 11:00-12:00
主办单位: 世界经济论坛
此次活动将强调海洋在《巴黎协定》取得成功方面的重要作用,同时也认识到基于海洋的气候解决方案通常不被视为辩论的核心。本次会议将展示雄心勃勃的伙伴关系,支持 为气候、自然和人类保护和恢复海洋生态系统,并将提出具体的后续步骤以扩大雄心。
更多信息 

2. 实现全球目标的气候前卫海洋保护战略
12 月 1 日 |积极自然馆 | 11:00 – 12:00 
主办单位: 彭博慈善, G局部的 F和为 C口服 埃夫斯, 时间大自然保护协会 (TNC), 联合国环境署 程序 (环境署), 力争韧性, 海洋与气候电子平台, 和 全球红树林联盟(GMA).
此次活动将在更广泛的国际目标背景下展示红树林和珊瑚礁突破的重要性,同时强调综合气候适应能力和生物多样性保护战略的必要性。由于即将召开的 2025 年联合国海洋会议将包括盘点 2030 年中期实现海洋相关目标的进展情况,此次活动将进一步邀请主要领导人和主要专家讨论尼斯路线图以及备受期待的会议的雄心壮志。
在这里注册  

3. 发挥海洋应对气候危机的潜力 
12 月 1 日 |加拿大馆 | 14:00-15:00
主办单位: 加拿大渔业和海洋部, 海洋面板
为了探索更好地协调拟议行动,以发挥海洋应对气候变化的潜力,海洋小组成员国将齐聚一堂,增加协调的机会,以反映《海洋作为气候变化解决方案》报告和《海洋气候对话》总结报告的成果。该活动还将探讨各国政府如何通过由海洋小组国家代表和青年参与者组成的小组来支持青年主导的创新海洋和沿海气候项目。 

4. 2030 年海洋十年:海洋十年气候行动的科学与伙伴关系 
12 月 3 日 |海洋馆| 9:30-12:00
主办单位: 联合国海洋十年
联合国海洋十年将举办这场时长 2.5 小时的活动,主题是海洋科学和知识在应对气候危机中的关键作用。各种各样的演讲者将讨论海洋科学对气候行动的关键需求,展示海洋十年迄今为止取得的进展,探讨剩余的优先事项和挑战,并概述海洋十年为国家、区域和全球做出贡献的未来前景减缓和适应的气候政策框架。 

5. 上升的海洋: 中号动员 海洋和气候行动资源 
12 月 4 日 |海洋馆| 15:30-17:00
主办单位:法国欧洲和外交部, 哥斯达黎加政府 – 2025 年联合国海洋会议 

这个事件 是共同由主办 各国政府 法国和哥斯达黎加以及 深入探讨对第三届联合国海洋会议(尼斯,2025 年 6 月)至关重要的关键问题。该活动由伍兹霍尔海洋研究所和斯克里普斯海洋学研究所在海洋馆联合举办,并得到了达飞轮船的特别支持,讨论了海洋与气候关系、可持续社区以及弹性蓝色经济的金融方面。 

6. 加速海洋自然发展基于可持续海洋计划的解决方案 
12 月 8 日 |英联邦馆 | 16:30-17:45
主办单位:英联邦秘书处、英国政府、 海洋面板
主办单位为 英联邦秘书处、英国政府和海洋小组,本次活动将提供一个论坛,讨论来自世界各地的不同政府和从业者在努力加速基于海洋自然的解决方案项目方面的经验。它将探讨如何通过使用可持续海洋计划和100%可持续海洋管理的整体管理方法来支持加速实现气候、生物多样性和可持续发展目标的行动。该活动还将发布更新后的英联邦蓝色宪章“Blueing the NDC”报告。本报告探讨了各国为实现各自国家自主贡献中的海洋行动承诺和目标而采取的途径。它还详细介绍了制定和实现当前海洋承诺以及修订后的国家自主贡献中未来优先事项的最佳实践和建议。 

7. 海洋高级别活动:通过 100% 可持续海洋管理推动海洋突破 
12 月 9 日 |阿尔瓦哈剧院 | 14:00-15:30
主办单位: COP 28 主席, 可持续海洋经济高级别小组, 海洋行动2030, 海洋与气候平台马拉喀什伙伴关系; 高级别气候冠军
此次高级别活动将聚焦海洋,通过采用可持续海洋计划,提出各国对 100% 可持续海洋管理目标的承诺,并展示支持实施海洋突破的具体行动。
观看直播 

8. 海洋金融与蓝色经济  
12 月 4 日 |海洋馆| 9:30-10:30 
由哥斯达黎加和法国在尼斯(2025 年 6 月)联合主办的即将举行的联合国海洋会议要想取得成功,需要 动员 金融部门和所有经济参与者共同努力实现繁荣的蓝色经济愿景,并履行全球承诺 协同作用 新的全球融资协议。这次高级别活动将是就这些主题进行对话并深入探讨的机会 脱碳 海上运输,是一个亟待解决的课题。 

9. COP 28 的绿色航运挑战:加速零排放转型 
12 月 9 日 |美国馆 | 14:30 – 15:30 
在去年的 COP27 上推出后, 挪威和美国共同领导 在 COP28 上重聚 托管更新 绿色航运 挑战e.此次活动将 强调 通过现有的进展 最后签署者为应对挑战采取的雄心勃勃的举措 脱碳 运输 部门, 以雄心勃勃的行动的新公告为特色。 

10. 蓝碳在减缓气候变化方面的未来:提高认识并释放潜力
12 月 9 日 |加拿大馆 | 10:30 – 11:30
主办单位: 加拿大渔业和海洋部, 贝德福德海洋研究所
红树林、盐沼等蓝碳生态系统 有能力 封存大量二氧化碳,使它们成为应对气候变化的宝贵盟友。 然而, 尽管像这样的工具 蓝碳手册, 对蓝碳的认识仍然存在差距'减缓气候变化的潜力和局限性。这个事件 将要 召开 各国政府和海洋学机构的领导人深入讨论蓝碳作为气候缓解工具 鼓励 呼吁在生态系统恢复和标准化监测和评估机制等关键领域树立雄心。预计政府领导人将宣布国家蓝碳战略,而圆桌会议参与者将利用他们的最新发现和案例研究来支持更强有力的蓝碳科学和政策。 

Close
back to top

Featured: Countries sign onto a joint declaration on ocean and climate action Arrow Featured: 10 ocean events to watch out for at COP28 Arrow Featured: Read the new report: The Ocean as a Solution to Climate Change Arrow Featured: Read the Ocean Panel Leaders joint communiqué issued at the 2023 UN General Assembly Arrow

10 ocean events to watch out for at COP28

The UNFCCC COP28 runs from 30 November until 12 December in Dubai, UAE where world leaders will convene to continue negotiations on the climate crisis to create a more livable future.  

Nov 30, 2023

This year’s COP offers a unique and historic opportunity to correct the course on climate change through the first-ever “Global Stocktake”, shining a spotlight on whether the world is doing enough to curb emissions, build resilience and increase financial investments in climate solutions. 

A major focus of COP28 will be how countries leverage the findings of the Global Stocktake report (published September 23) to keep the global goal of limiting temperature rise to 1.5°C and address the impacts of climate change. The latest Ocean Panel-commissioned report demonstrates the significant role the ocean can play in achieving this. It finds that climate solutions from the ocean could deliver up to 35% of the annual emission cuts needed by 2050 to keep global temperature rise below 1.5°C.  

While the ocean offers a major opportunity area for action, 2023 has seen the hottest temperatures ever recorded in the ocean as the effects of climate change continue to intensify. The need to take urgent measures to protect the ocean’s health from climate change has never been more pressing. 

Throughout the two weeks of COP28, events and activities will explore these critical issues, here are a few highlights to look out for:  

1. No Paris Without the Ocean: Partnerships to Activate Ocean-Climate Solutions at Scale 
30 November | Ocean Pavilion | 11:00-12:00
Organisers: World Economic Forum
This event will highlight the essential role of the ocean in achieving success of the Paris Agreement while also recognising that ocean-based climate solutions are often not considered as central to the debate. This session will showcase ambitious partnerships that support the conservation and restoration of ocean ecosystems for climate, nature, and people, and will propose concrete next steps to scale up ambition.
More information 

2. The Climate-forward Ocean Conservation Strategies to Deliver on Global Targets
1 December | Nature-positive Pavilion | 11:00 – 12:00 
Organisers: Bloomberg Philanthropies, Global Fund for Coral Reefs, The Nature Conservancy (TNC), the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), Race to Resilience, Ocean & Climate Platform, and Global Mangrove Alliance (GMA).
This event will showcase the importance of the Mangrove and Coral Reef Breakthroughs within the broader context of international targets while emphasizing the need for integrated climate resilience and biodiversity preservation strategies. As the coming UN Ocean Conference 2025 will include a stocktaking of progress to achieve ocean-related targets at the midway point to 2030, this event will further feature key leaders and leading experts discussing the road map to Nice and ambitions for the much-anticipated convening.
Register here  

3. Reaching the Ocean’s Potential for Addressing the Climate Crisis 
1 December | Canada Pavilion | 14:00-15:00
Organisers: Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ocean Panel
To explore better alignment of proposed actions to reach the ocean’s potential for addressing climate change, Ocean Panel member countries will gather to increase opportunities for alignment to reflect the outcomes of the Ocean as a Solution to Climate Change report and the Ocean Climate Dialogues summary report. The event will also examine how governments can support youth-led innovative ocean and coastal climate projects with a panel comprising of Ocean Panel country representatives and youth participants. 

4. Ocean Decade 2030: Science & Partnerships for Climate Action through the Ocean Decade 
3 December | Ocean Pavilion | 9:30-12:00
Organisers: UN Ocean Decade
The UN Ocean Decade will host this 2.5 hour event on the critical role of ocean science and knowledge in tackling the climate crisis. A diverse array of speakers will discuss key needs in ocean science for climate action, showcase progress to date in the Ocean Decade, explore the remaining priorities and challenges, and outline the future perspectives for the Ocean Decade to contribute to national, regional, and global climate policy frameworks for mitigation and adaptation. 

5. Rising Ocean: Mobilising resources for action on oceans and climate 
4 December | Ocean Pavilion | 15:30-17:00
Organisers: Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs France, Government of Costa Rica – UN Ocean Conference 2025 

This event is co-hosted by the Governments of France and Costa Rica and delve into critical issues vital for the 3rd UN Ocean Conference (Nice, June 2025). Co-organized at the Ocean Pavilion by Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution and Scripps Institution of Oceanography, with special support from CMA CGM, this event addresses the ocean-climate relationship, sustainable communities, and the financial aspects of a resilient blue economy. 

6. Accelerating Marine NatureBased Solutions through Sustainable Ocean Plans 
8 December | Commonwealth Pavilion | 16:30-17:45
Organisers: Commonwealth Secretariat, UK Governement, Ocean Panel
Hosted by the Commonwealth Secretariat, the UK Government and the Ocean Panel, this event will provide a forum to discuss diverse government and practitioner experiences from around the globe in efforts to accelerate marine nature-based solution projects. It will explore how a holistic management approach through the use of Sustainable Ocean Plans and 100% sustainable ocean management can support accelerated action towards climate, biodiversity and SDG goals. The event will also launch the updated Commonwealth Blue Charters ‘Blueing the NDCs’ report. This report examines pathways that countries are taking towards ocean-based action commitments and targets in their respective NDCs. It also details best practices and recommendations for the development and achievement of current ocean-based commitments and future priorities in revised NDCs. 

7. Ocean High Level Event: Powering Ocean Breakthroughs with 100% Sustainable Ocean Management 
9 December | Al Waha Theatre | 14:00-15:30
Organisers: COP 28 Presidency, High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy, Ocean Action 2030, Ocean & Climate Platform on behalf of the Marrakech Partnership; High-Level Climate Champions
This high-level event will cast a spotlight on the ocean and put forth country commitments towards the 100% Sustainable Ocean Management goal, through the adoption of Sustainable Ocean Plans and showcase tangible actions supporting implementation of the Ocean Breakthroughs.
Watch live 

8. Ocean Finance and the Blue Economy  
4 December | Ocean Pavilion | 9:30-10:30 
Success at the upcoming UN Ocean Conference, co-hosted by Costa Rica and France in Nice (June 2025), will require the mobilisation of the financial sector and all economic actors to achieve the vision of a thriving blue economy, and the implementation of global commitments in synergy with a new global financing pact. This high-level event will be an opportunity to pursue conversations on these topics as well as deep dive into the decarbonisation of maritime transport, an urgent topic to tackle. 

9. The Green Shipping Challenge at COP 28: Accelerating the Zero Emission Transition 
9 December | USA Pavilion | 14:30 – 15:30 
After launching at last year’s COP27, Co-leads Norway and USA are reuniting at COP28 to host an update to the Green Shipping Challenge. The event will highlight progress made through existing ambitious initiatives taken by signatories to the challenge last year to decarbonise the shipping sector, and feature new announcements of ambitious action. 

10. The Future of Blue Carbon in Climate Mitigation: Raising Awareness and Unlocking Potential
9 December | Canada Pavilion | 10:30 – 11:30
Organisers: Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Bedford Institute of Oceanography
Blue carbon ecosystems such as mangroves and salt marshes are capable of sequestering large amounts of carbon dioxide, making them invaluable allies in the fight against climate change. However, despite tools like the Blue Carbon Handbook, there are still gaps in knowledge about blue carbons potential and limitations in climate mitigation. This event will convene leaders from national governments and oceanographic institutions for in-depth discussion of blue carbon as a climate mitigation tool and encourage calls for ambition in crucial areas like ecosystem restoration and standardized monitoring and evaluation mechanisms. Government leaders are expected to make announcements on national blue carbon strategies, while roundtable participants will draw on their latest findings and case studies to support stronger blue carbon science and policy. 

Close
back to top