Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
融资:将雄心与实现可持续发展的手段联系起来

存在哪些融资机制来支持对可持续沿海和海洋旅游模式的投资并克服实现规模的关键障碍?还需要什么?

Eleanor Carter
埃莉诺·卡特
可持续解决方案国际咨询 (SSIC) 创始人兼执行董事; Chumbe Island Coral Park 联合总监
Sibylle Riedmiller
西比尔·里德米勒
Chumbe Island Coral Park 创始人兼董事;坦桑尼亚酒店协会 (HAT) 董事会保护委员会主席。

私营部门参与海洋治理的未开发潜力

2016 年,世界各国承诺实现 30×30 的目标——确保到 2030 年全球 30% 的海洋(及其陆地面积)得到有效和公平的保护和管理[1].在海洋领域,这意味着在世界范围内扩大海洋保护区 (MPA) 的建立。这些主要是由政府和国家实体开发和管理的,虽然这种治理形式在政治和法律上可能是稳健的,但它经常受到缺乏资金(政府优先事项相互冲突)、人员配备和现场管理不足以及缺乏有效管理有时是广阔海洋区域的能力[2].这导致了过多的“纸公园”,这意味着它们存在于纸上,但没有管理行动或增加对水上的生物多样性保护[3].

近年来,其他形式的 MPA 治理得到了认可。国际自然保护联盟 (IUCN) 将其他治理类别定义为社区主导(由土著人民和当地社区)、私人治理(由私营部门实体)和共享治理(通过上述或跨界的组合)[4].

在这些类别中,IUCN 将私人保护区 (PPA) 定义为私人治理下的保护区,即“由个人和个人群体;非政府组织;公司,包括为管理 PPA 组而成立的商业公司和小公司;营利性所有者,例如生态旅游公司;大学和野外站等研究实体;或宗教实体[5].

在陆地保护方面,存在范围广泛的 PPA,并且近年来取得了长足的进步,而在海洋领域,得到正式认可的相对较少。对私营部门参与海洋保护的期望在很大程度上仍仅限于慈善资金或企业社会责任贡献。然而,越来越多的证据表明,私营部门不仅可以为场地提供支持性资金;在适当的情况下,它可以为海洋保护区提供整体、经济、全包的管理服务[6].

一个未开发的机会

私营部门对支持海洋治理的兴趣并不新鲜,尤其是旅游业。自 1990 年代以来,人们一直在讨论“创业型海洋保护区”、“海洋保护协议”、以潜水旅游为主导的保护区和“酒店管理的海洋保护区”的潜力[7].但这些方法中很少有在保护界获得关注或认可,批评往往针对私营部门参与不公平或包含排他性原则(例如,旅游企业为潜水游客或海滩创建自我声明的预留空间)不包括当地利益相关者和/或缺乏法律认可的准入区域)。当然,这些挑战已经存在,并非所有实施此类努力的私营部门参与者都以生物多样性保护和合作为核心。但这种对私营部门参与者的不信任掩盖了 在适当的条件适用时可能。

成功的海洋私人保护区 (M-PPA) 的两个最著名的例子是坦桑尼亚桑给巴尔的 Chumbe 岛和印度尼西亚的 Misool 海洋保护区。这两个 M-PPA 都是正式认可的保护区,都由生态旅游企业领导。

 

Chumbe 岛珊瑚公园

无人居住的 Chumbe 岛(图 1)于 1991 年被确定为海洋生物多样性热点,并成立了一家私人公司 Chumbe Island Coral Park Ltd. (CHICOP) 来游说保护该岛。通过 CHICOP 的努力,Chumbe 岛 MPA 于 1994 年在法律上公布,其中包括禁止捕捞的珊瑚礁保护区和完全受保护的陆地森林保护区。

 

图1. 春贝岛

资源: Chumbe Island Coral Park Ltd.

 

CHICOP 与桑给巴尔政府签署了管理协议,CHICOP 将全面资助和管理该场地,使其成为世界上第一个 M-PPA。岛上的一小块地区被租给 CHICOP 用于建立生态旅馆,以充分资助作为非营利实体的运营,所有来自岛上游客的收入都用于资助保护管理和当地学校的广泛教育计划,社区和更广泛的利益相关者。这也使 Chumbe 成为世界上第一个财务自给自足的 MPA。

生态旅馆采用最先进的生态建筑和技术开发,确保对环境零影响;外联和就业机会从一开始就针对附近社区,扩大就业机会以支持当地更广泛的企业发展。管理协议和单独的开发租约可定期更新。

自该岛成为 M-PPA 以来,同行评议的研究表明,禁捕礁保护区中的鱼类生物量增加了 750%,其溢出效应支持距离 Chumbe 边境数公里的可持续渔业和粮食安全,其中有活的硬珊瑚保护区覆盖率达到80%。该项目还为 13,000 多名学童和社区成员提供了教育服务,并继续在当地开展一系列社区支持和企业发展计划。

 

米索尔海洋保护区

位于四王群岛(印度尼西亚巴布亚)的米苏尔生态度假村 (MER) 是一家私营公司,于 2005 年开始运营,当时它与当地传统业主签订了一项租赁协议,在该地区建造生态旅馆并建立禁捕海洋保护区。保护该地区海洋生物多样性的区域(图 2)。同时,印度尼西亚政府正在该地点建立一个 MPA(边界重叠,MPA 覆盖更大的区域),因此 MER 禁捕保护区作为 MPA 的禁捕区之一嵌入了法律公布的 MPA (NTZ)。

 

图 2.米索尔海洋保护区

资源:米苏尔基金会(Baseftin)。

 

为了管理该地区,MER 建立了 Misool 基金会作为一个单独的保护管理实体,随着时间的推移,租赁用于保护管理的区域扩大到总面积 1,220 平方公里,其中包括两个由受限齿轮走廊连接的大型 NTZ。该基金会通过定期巡逻和一系列保护研究和政策举措,雇用、培训和授权当地社区成员管理该地区。

与这些社区的租赁安排包括财务付款(固定期限、可续期)以及提供一系列支持服务。这包括社区教育计划(支持当地学校运营和高等教育奖学金)和社区回收服务。 MER 和基金会还为这些偏远社区提供必要的就业和培训机会。

自该地点成为 M-PPA 以来,同行评审的研究表明,NTZ 中的鱼类生物量增加了 250%,保护区内的鲨鱼数量大约是保护区外的 25 倍。 2010 年至 2016 年间,海洋蝠鲼的目击次数也增加了 25 倍。

 

在 Chumbe 和 Misool,保护和可持续管理海洋生态系统以及参与和支持当地社区的驱动力是其商业模式的核心。这些项目展示了可持续海洋管理方面的可复制创新,并促使人们越来越认识到 M-PPA 可以为保护区管理提供可靠的替代治理方法。

与资源不足的国家管理的 MPA 不同,M-PPA 可以产生独立融资和管理场地的手段,可以适当地配备强大的实地人员,可以创造就业机会并支持当地生计,以及他们在其业务所依赖的海洋环境的长期健康中拥有既得的商业利益。

复制和扩展这种方法需要具备重要的条件,我们将在下面详细介绍。国际保护界可以发挥重要作用,促进这些条件,通过更广泛的私营部门参与来激励向可持续沿海和海洋管理的转变。

愿意参与公私伙伴关系——私营部门(尤其是旅游企业)在全球海洋治理中的作用需要得到更多的认可,必须加强与该部门的接触。在几乎所有已建立的 M-PPA 中,都需要某种形式的公私合作伙伴关系,以使该地点得到正式承认和法律认可,无论是通过管理协议(如 Chumbe 的情况),还是通过分层管理和传统租赁(如 Misool 的情况)。政府需要政策框架和机制来实现这一点,国际保护界可以在指导和认可方面提供支持。

任期保障——建立 M-PPA 需要长期的规划和投资,而这反过来又需要任期保障。例如,一些 M-PPA 可能基于租赁安排或其他固定期限协议;虽然应该建立一些审查期限以确保所有各方都实现其承诺,但期限安排需要在很长一段时间内成为可能,以确保 M-PPA 在未来得到保护和有效管理。

投资优惠— M-PPA 的私营部门投资者将承担三重底线[8] 其融资中的承诺通常远远超出常规商业投资者的承诺。这包括对渔民、学校和包括政治领导人在内的更广泛社区的海洋保护和非关税区互惠互利的宣传和提高认识计划的投资,作为赢得支持和建立成功的地方伙伴关系的先决条件。提供激励措施可以帮助鼓励这些社会企业家,无论是税收激励措施还是运营激励措施,都有助于降低与关键管理成就相关的非商业成本。

透明的三重底线管理目标、指标和指标——私营部门参与者需要能够清楚地展示他们的商业计划和机制,以提供有效的 M-PPA 管理。这包括透明的管理规划,具有与运营的社会目标、保护管理目标及其业务和融资目标相关的明确目标、指标和指标。

明确的参与机制和当地社区的参与— 任何 M-PPA 的成功都将在很大程度上依赖于当地社区和利益相关者从一开始的有效参与和参与(如 Chumbe 和 Misool 的案例)。为此,任何试图建立 M-PPA 的私营部门都需要能够展示将用于这种参与的方法。这可能是通过积极创造就业机会、生计支持、教育计划、当地领导人作为项目顾问的参与或其他机制来确保当地对倡议的支持和参与。

明确的生物多样性保护适应性管理机制— M-PPA 需要能够兑现其生物多样性保护承诺。为此,需要聘用和培训适当熟练的技术人员和/或顾问,以确保有效的保护管理。这可能包括社会科学家、生物物理学家、外联和教育家。管理规划应证明有效的适应性管理机制已到位,以确保保护场地的生态和生物多样性,并且需要建立定期(最好是同行评审的)报告机制。

 

前面的路

近年来,围绕 M-PPA 的对话愈演愈烈。 2016 年,IUCN 呼吁成员国促进 PPA(陆地和海洋)以支持生态系统完整性(决议 #036 WCC),最近围绕替代治理框架的讨论已将“其他基于区域的有效保护措施”(OECMs)视为在一系列治理类型下反映更广泛的海洋保护工作的机制[9].海洋保护区的可持续融资已成为一个越来越有针对性的话题,导致人们越来越认识到社会企业家和“影响投资者”在支持海洋治理方面必须发挥的作用[10].尽管如此,这种讨论仍然主要局限于国际保护界,私营部门的代表主要由大型企业基金会或投资实体提供。

M-PPA 更有可能由中小型企业 (SME) 建立和运营,这些企业拥有直接的既得利益,并将在现场保持长期的实地存在,但这些潜在的参与者大部分仍处于外部讨论。通过建立的 PPA 和旅游部门协会,通过国际以及国家或区域特定对话与这些中小企业接触[11] 和其他平台将很重要,为政府、非政府组织和潜在的 M-PPA 投资者和运营商提供更通用的指导方针(理想情况下与在 M-PPA 的现实和运营要求方面有经验的私营部门参与者合作开发)也很重要治理)。

随着世界寻求加速建立和有效管理海洋生物多样性保护区,我们不能再让私营部门陷入困境。如果我们要实现 30×30 的目标,并在未来保护重要的海洋生态系统和海洋生产力,所有利益相关者都需要参与。

—–

[1] 国际自然保护联盟 (IUCN),“支持私人保护区”,WCC 2016 Res 036,2016,https://portals.iucn.org/library/node/46453。

[2] 经济合作与发展组织(经合组织), 海洋保护区:经济、管理和有效政策组合 (巴黎:经合组织出版社,2017 年),http://dx.doi.org/10.1787/9789264276208-en。

[3] L. Coad、JEM Watson、J. Geldmann、ND Burgess、F. Leverington、M. Hockings、K. Knights 和 M. Di Marco,“保护区资源的普遍短缺破坏了保护生物多样性的努力,” 生态与环境前沿 17,没有。 5 (2019): 259–64; E. Di Minin 和 T. Toivonen,“全球保护区扩张:创造的不仅仅是纸上公园”, 生物科学 65,没有。 7 (2015): 637–38; DA Gill、MB Mascia、GN Ahmadia、L. Glew、SE Lester、M. Barnes、I. Craigie 等人,“能力不足阻碍全球海洋保护区的绩效”, 自然 543,没有。 7647(2017):665-69。

[4] N.达德利,编辑, 应用保护区管理类别的指南 (瑞士格兰德:IUCN,2008 年); PJS Jones、RH Murray 和 O. Vestergaard,“实现有效和公平的海洋保护区:结合治理方法的指南”,联合国环境规划署,2019 年。

[5] BA Mitchell、S. Stolton、J. Bezaury-Creel、HC Bingham、TL Cumming、N. Dudley、JA Fitzsimons 等人, 私人保护区指南, 最佳实践保护区指南系列没有。 29(瑞士格兰德:IUCN,2018 年)。

[6] 世界自然保护联盟, 私人保护区的未来, 2015, https://www.iucn.org/content/futures-privately-protected-areas; IUCN,“支持私人保护区”; L. Nordlund、U. Kloiber、E. Carter 和 S. Riedmiller,“Chumbe 岛珊瑚公园:治理分析”, 海洋政策 41 (2013),doi.org/10.1016/j.marpol.2012.12.018。

[7] S. Colwell,“创业型海洋保护区:小规模、商业支持的珊瑚礁保护区”,在 珊瑚礁:可持续管理的挑战和机遇, 110–14(华盛顿特区:世界银行,1997 年); J. Udelhoven、E. Carter 和 B. Gilmer, 海洋保护协议:印度尼西亚珊瑚三角区的可行性分析 (弗吉尼亚州阿灵顿:大自然保护协会,2010 年); J. De Groot 和 S. Bush,“潜水旅游在库拉索引领创业海洋保护区的潜力”, 海洋政策 34 (2010): 1051–59, 10.1016/j.marpol.2010.03.004; C. Torres 和 N. Hanley,“21 世纪沿海和海洋生态系统服务的经济估值:从管理角度看的概述”,DEA 工作论文第 1 号。 75 (2016),巴利阿里群岛大学。

[8] 在经济学中,三重底线认为企业运营有益于“三”底线——财务、社会和环境——作为衡量企业为利润、人类和地球取得成就的绩效的衡量标准。 J. Elkington,“迈向可持续发展的公司:可持续发展的双赢商业战略”, 加州管理评论 36,没有。 2 (1994): 90–100; T. Hacking 和 P. Guthrie,“阐明三重底线、综合和可持续性评估含义的框架,” 环境影响评估审查 28 (2008): 73–89。

[9] OECM 与 PPA 不同。 OECM 被定义为“一个地理上定义的区域 保护区以外的地方,以实现积极和持续的长期成果的方式进行治理和管理,以就地保护具有相关生态系统功能和服务的生物多样性以及适用的文化、精神、社会经济和其他当地相关价值”( CBD/COP/DEC/14/8-2018)。因此,虽然 OECM 不是 受法律保护的区域(并且可能没有将保护作为保护的主要原因),M-PPA 正式和合法的保护区(并且确实将保护作为保护的主要原因)。

[10] 影响力投资 寻求产生财务回报,同时也创造积极的社会或环境影响。这可以包括对社会负责的投资以及环境、社会和治理投资。除了影响力投资, 慈善投资 也正在成为一个更被接受的术语,用于定义捐赠资金对具有明确生物多样性保护和社会支持目标的社会或环境商业实体的贡献。

[11] 存在许多国家 PPA 协会和国际网络。长跑 (https://www.thelongrun.org/) 是一个非营利组织,旨在通过提供全球生态圈静修地认证(全球可持续旅游委员会认可的标准)来扩大私营部门和旅游业内的自然保护。

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Financing: Connecting Ambition with the Means to Achieve Sustainability

What finance mechanisms exist to support investment in sustainable coastal and marine tourism models and overcome key barriers to achieving scale? What else is needed?

Eleanor Carter
Eleanor Carter
Founder & Executive Director, Sustainable Solutions International Consulting (SSIC); Co-Director Chumbe Island Coral Park
Sibylle Riedmiller
Sibylle Riedmiller
Founder-Director of Chumbe Island Coral Park; Chair of the Conservation Committee on the Board of Directors of the Hotels Association of Tanzania (HAT).

The untapped potential of private sector involvement in marine governance

In 2016, nations around the world committed to a 30×30 target—to ensure that 30 percent of the world’s ocean (and its land area) is protected and managed effectively and equitably by 2030[1]. In the marine realm, this has meant scaling up the establishment of marine protected areas (MPAs) around the world. These are largely developed and managed by governments and state entities, and while this form of governance can be politically and legally robust, it is often challenged by a lack of financing (with conflicting government priorities), inadequate staffing and on-site management, and a lack of capacity to manage sometimes vast oceanic areas effectively[2]. This has led to a plethora of ‘paper parks’, meaning they exist on paper but without management actions or increased biodiversity protection on the water[3].

Other forms of MPA governance have gained recognition in recent years. The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) defines additional categories of governance as community-led (by Indigenous peoples and local communities), private governance (by private sector entities) and shared governance (through a combination of the above or transboundary)[4].

Among these categories, IUCN defines a privately protected area (PPA) as a protected area under private governance, that is, ‘by individuals and groups of individuals; non-governmental organisations; corporations, including commercial companies and small companies established to manage groups of PPAs; for-profit owners such as ecotourism companies; research entities such as universities and field stations; or religious entities’[5].

In terrestrial conservation, a wide range of PPAs exist and have advanced considerably in recent years, while in the marine sector relatively few are formally recognised. Expectations of the private sector’s involvement in marine conservation has remained largely limited to philanthropic funding or corporate social responsibility contributions. However, a growing body of evidence suggests that the private sector can go far beyond providing supportive funds for a site; under the right circumstances, it can offer holistic, cost-effective and full-package management services for MPAs[6].

An untapped opportunity

The private sector’s interest in supporting marine governance is not new, particularly the tourism sector. Since the 1990s there have been discussions about the potential for ‘entrepreneurial MPAs’, ‘marine conservation agreements’, dive tourism–led conservation areas, and ‘hotel managed marine reserves’[7]. But few of these approaches have gained traction or recognition in the conservation community, with criticism often levelled at private sector involvement for being inequitable or for including exclusionary principles (for example, tourism businesses creating self-declared set-asides for dive tourists, or beach access areas excluding local stakeholders and/or lacking legal recognition). Certainly these challenges have existed, and not all private sector actors implementing such efforts have had biodiversity conservation and collaboration at their core. But this distrust of private sector actors has overshadowed the considerable achievements that are possible when appropriate conditions apply.

Two of the best-known examples of successful marine privately protected areas (M-PPAs) are Chumbe Island in Zanzibar, Tanzania, and Misool Marine Reserve in Indonesia. Both of these M-PPAs are formally recognised protected areas, and both are led by ecotourism businesses.

 

Chumbe Island Coral Park

Uninhabited Chumbe Island (Figure 1) was identified as a marine biodiversity hotspot in 1991, and a private company, Chumbe Island Coral Park Ltd. (CHICOP), was established to lobby for the island’s protection. Through CHICOP’s efforts the Chumbe Island MPA was legally gazetted in 1994, including a no-take coral reef sanctuary and fully protected forest reserve on land.

 

Figure 1. Chumbe Island

Source: Chumbe Island Coral Park Ltd.

 

Management agreements were signed between CHICOP and the government of Zanzibar for CHICOP to fully finance and manage the site, making it world’s first M-PPA. A small area of the island was leased to CHICOP for the establishment of an ecolodge to fully fund operations as a not-for-profit entity, with all revenue generated from visitors to the island funding conservation management and an extensive education program for local schools, communities and wider stakeholders. This also made Chumbe the world’s first financially self-sustaining MPA.

The ecolodge was developed with state-of-the-art eco-architecture and technology to ensure zero impact on the environment; and outreach and employment opportunities were targeted to nearby communities from the outset, with job creation extending to support wider enterprise development locally. The management agreements and separate development lease are fixed-term renewable.

Since the island became an M-PPA, peer reviewed studies have shown that fish biomass in the no-take reef sanctuary has increased by 750 percent, with the spillover effect supporting sustainable fisheries and food security many kilometres from Chumbe’s borders, with live hard coral cover reaching 80 percent coverage in the protected area. The project has also provided education services to more than 13,000 schoolchildren and community members and continues to run a range of community support and enterprise development initiatives locally.

 

Misool Marine Reserve

Located in Raja Ampat (Papua, Indonesia), Misool Eco Resort (MER), a private company, began operations in 2005 when it entered into a lease agreement with local traditional owners to build an ecolodge and establish a no-take marine reserve in the area to protect the region’s marine biodiversity (Figure 2). Concurrently, the government of Indonesia was establishing an MPA at the site (with overlapping boundaries, the MPA covering a larger area), and thus the MER no-take reserve became embedded in the legally gazetted MPA as one of the MPA’s no-take zones (NTZs).

 

Figure 2. Misool Marine Reserve

Source: Misool Foundation (Baseftin).

 

To manage the area, MER established the Misool Foundation as a separate conservation management entity, and over time the areas leased for conservation management expanded to cover a total of 1,220 square kilometres, including two large NTZs bridged by a restricted gear corridor. The foundation employs, trains and empowers local community members to manage the area through regular patrols and a range of conservation research and policy initiatives.

The lease arrangement with these communities includes a financial payment (fixed term, renewable), and the provision of a range of support services. This includes a community education program (support for local school operations and scholarships for advanced education) and a community recycling service. MER and the foundation also provide essential employment and training opportunities to these remote communities.

Since the site became an M-PPA, peer reviewed studies have shown that fish biomass in the NTZs has increased by 250 percent, and there are approximately 25 times more sharks within the reserve than directly outside of the protected areas. Oceanic manta sightings also increased 25-fold between 2010 and 2016.

 

In both Chumbe and Misool, the drive to protect and sustainably manage the marine ecosystem, and engage and support local communities, was at the core of their business models. The projects showcase replicable innovation in sustainable ocean management and have catalysed a growing recognition that M-PPAs can provide a credible alternative governance approach to conservation area management.

Unlike under-resourced state-managed MPAs, M-PPAs can generate the means to finance and manage the site independently, they can be appropriately staffed with a strong on-the-ground presence, they can create job opportunities and support local livelihoods, and they have a vested business interest in the long-term health of the marine environment upon which their operations depend.

Replicating and scaling this approach requires important conditions to be in place, which we detail below. The international conservation community has an important role to play in promoting these conditions to incentivise a shift to sustainable coastal and marine management through wider private sector engagement.

Willingness to engage in public-private partnerships—Greater acknowledgement is needed of the role the private sector (particularly tourism businesses) can play in global ocean governance, and engagement with this sector must be strengthened. In nearly all M-PPAs established, some form of public-private partnership will be required in order for the site to be formally recognised and legally endorsed, whether through management agreements (as in the case of Chumbe), or through tiered management and traditional leasing (as in the case of Misool). Governments need policy frameworks and mechanisms to enable this, and the international conservation community can provide support in terms of guidance and endorsement.

Security of tenure—Establishing an M-PPA requires long-term planning and investment, which in turn requires security of tenure. For example, some M-PPAs may be based on leasehold arrangements or other fixed-term agreements; and while some term for review should be established to ensure all parties are achieving their commitments, the tenurial arrangement needs to be possible for the very long term to ensure that the M-PPA remains protected and effectively managed into the future.

Investment incentives—Private sector investors in M-PPAs will be taking on triple-bottom-line[8] commitments in their financing that generally go far beyond regular business investor commitments. This includes investment in outreach and awareness-raising programs about the mutual benefits of marine conservation and NTZs for fishers, schools and wider communities, including political leaders, as a precondition for winning support and building successful local partnerships. Providing incentives can help encourage these social entrepreneurs, whether they be tax incentives or operational incentives that help reduce non-commercial costs linked to key management achievements.

Transparent triple-bottom-line management goals, targets and indicators—Private sector actors need to be able to clearly demonstrate their business plans and mechanisms to deliver effective M-PPA management. This includes transparent management planning, with clear goals, targets and indicators related to the operations’ social objectives, conservation management objectives, and their business and financing objectives.

Clear engagement mechanisms and involvement of local communities—The success of any M-PPA will rely heavily on the effective engagement and involvement of local communities and stakeholders from the outset (as in the cases of Chumbe and Misool). To this end, any private sector endeavour to establish an M-PPA needs to be able to demonstrate the methods that will be used for this engagement. This may be through proactive job creation, livelihood support, education programs, involvement of local leaders as advisors to the project or other mechanisms to ensure local support for the initiative and involvement in it.

Clear adaptive management mechanisms for biodiversity conservation—An M-PPA needs to be able to deliver on its biodiversity conservation commitments. To this end, appropriately skilled technical staff and/or advisors need to be engaged and trained to ensure effective conservation management. This may include social scientists, biophysical scientists, outreach and educationalists. Management planning should demonstrate that effective adaptive management mechanisms are place to ensure the preservation of the sites’ ecology and biodiversity, and regular (ideally peer-reviewed) reporting mechanisms need to be in place.

 

The path ahead

In recent years the dialogue around M-PPAs has intensified. In 2016 IUCN called on member states to promote PPAs (both terrestrial and marine) to support ecosystem integrity (Resolution #036 WCC), and more recently the discourse around alternative governance frameworks has recognised ‘Other area-based Effective Conservation Measures’ (OECMs) as a mechanism to reflect wider marine conservation efforts under a range of governance typologies[9]. Sustainable financing for MPAs has become an increasingly targeted topic, resulting in increased recognition of the role social entrepreneurs and ‘impact investors’ must play in supporting marine governance[10]. Nonetheless this discourse remains largely confined to the international conservation community, with private sector representation being predominantly provided by large corporate foundations or investment entities.

M-PPAs are more likely to be established and operated by small to medium enterprises (SMEs), who have a direct vested interest and will maintain long-term on-the-ground presence at a site, yet these potential actors remain largely outside of discussions. Engaging these SMEs through international as well as nationally or regionally specific dialogue, through established PPA and tourism sector associations[11] and other platforms, will be important, as will providing more universal guidelines to governments, non-governmental organisations and potential M-PPA investors and operators (ideally developed collaboratively with private sector actors who have experience in the realities and operational imperatives of M-PPA governance).

As the world seeks to accelerate the establishment and effective management of marine biodiversity refuges, we can no longer keep the private sector at bay. All stakeholders need to be engaged if we are to achieve the 30×30 targets, and to conserve vital marine ecosystems and ocean productivity into the future.

—–

[1] International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), “Supporting Privately Protected Areas,” WCC 2016 Res 036, 2016, https://portals.iucn.org/library/node/46453.

[2] Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), Marine Protected Areas: Economics, Management and Effective Policy Mixes (Paris: OECD Publishing, 2017), http://dx.doi.org/10.1787/9789264276208-en.

[3] L. Coad, J.E.M. Watson, J. Geldmann, N.D. Burgess, F. Leverington, M. Hockings, K. Knights and M. Di Marco, “Widespread Shortfalls in Protected Area Resourcing Undermine Efforts to Conserve Biodiversity,” Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment 17, no. 5 (2019): 259–64; E. Di Minin and T. Toivonen, “Global Protected Area Expansion: Creating More than Paper Parks,” Bioscience 65, no. 7 (2015): 637–38; D.A. Gill, M.B. Mascia, G.N. Ahmadia, L. Glew, S.E. Lester, M. Barnes, I. Craigie et al., “Capacity Shortfalls Hinder the Performance of Marine Protected Areas Globally,” Nature 543, no. 7647 (2017): 665–69.

[4] N. Dudley, ed., Guidelines for Applying Protected Area Management Categories (Gland, Switzerland: IUCN, 2008); P.J.S. Jones, R.H. Murray and O. Vestergaard, “Enabling Effective and Equitable Marine Protected Area: Guidance on Combining Governance Approaches,” UN Environment Programme, 2019.

[5] B.A. Mitchell, S. Stolton, J. Bezaury-Creel, H.C. Bingham, T.L. Cumming, N. Dudley, J.A. Fitzsimons et al., Guidelines for Privately Protected Areas, Best Practice Protected Area Guidelines Series no. 29 (Gland, Switzerland: IUCN, 2018).

[6] IUCN, The Futures of Privately Protected Areas, 2015, https://www.iucn.org/content/futures-privately-protected-areas; IUCN, “Supporting Privately Protected Areas”; L. Nordlund, U. Kloiber, E. Carter and S. Riedmiller, “Chumbe Island Coral Park: Governance Analysis,” Marine Policy 41 (2013), doi.org/10.1016/j.marpol.2012.12.018.

[7] S. Colwell, “Entrepreneurial Marine Protected Areas: Small-Scale, Commercially Supported Coral Reef Protected Areas,” in Coral Reefs: Challenges and Opportunities for Sustainable Management, 110–14 (Washington, DC: World Bank, 1997); J. Udelhoven, E. Carter and B. Gilmer, Marine Conservation Agreements: Feasibility Analysis in the Coral Triangle—Indonesia (Arlington, VA: The Nature Conservancy, 2010); J. De Groot and S. Bush, “The Potential for Dive Tourism Led Entrepreneurial Marine Protected Areas in Curacao,” Marine Policy 34 (2010): 1051–59, 10.1016/j.marpol.2010.03.004; C. Torres and N. Hanley, “Economic Valuation of Coastal and Marine Ecosystem Services in the 21st Century: An Overview from a Management Perspective,” DEA Working Paper no. 75 (2016), Universitat de les Illes Balears.

[8] In economics, the triple bottom line maintains that business operations benefit ‘three’ bottom lines—financial, social and environmental—as a measure of performance as businesses advance achievements for profit, people and the planet. J. Elkington, “Towards the Sustainable Corporation: Win-Win-Win Business Strategies for Sustainable Development,” California Management Review 36, no. 2 (1994): 90–100; T. Hacking and P. Guthrie, “A Framework for Clarifying the Meaning of Triple Bottom-Line, Integrated, and Sustainability Assessment,” Environmental Impact Assessment Review 28 (2008): 73–89.

[9] OECMs are different from PPAs. OECMs are defined as “a geographically defined area other than a Protected Area, which is governed and managed in ways that achieve positive and sustained long-term outcomes for the in-situ conservation of biodiversity with associated ecosystem functions and services and where applicable, cultural, spiritual, socio–economic, and other locally relevant values” (CBD/COP/DEC/14/8–2018). Therefore, while OECMs are not legally protected areas (and may not have conservation as a primary reason for preservation), M-PPAs are formally and legally protected areas (and do have conservation as a primary reason for preservation).

[10] Impact investing seeks to generate financial returns while also creating a positive social or environmental impact. This can include socially responsible investment and environmental, social and governance investment. Beyond impact investing, philanthropic investing is also becoming a more accepted term to define the contribution of donor funds to social or environmental business entities with clear biodiversity conservation and social support targets.

[11] A number of national PPA associations and an international network exist. The Long Run (https://www.thelongrun.org/) is a non-profit organisation that aims to expand nature conservation by the private sector and within the tourism industry by offering sites certification as Global Ecosphere Retreats, a standard recognised by the Global Sustainable Tourism Council.

Close
back to top