专家论文
复原力:确保沿海和海洋旅游的未来

如何加强沿海和海洋旅游的复原力,以及沿海和海洋旅游如何帮助加强东道国和社区的复原力?考虑抵御外来威胁(如气候变化)以及不可预测的未来冲击(如全球流行病)的能力。

Sally Yozell
萨莉·约泽尔
史汀生中心环境安全项目高级研究员兼主任

沿海和海洋旅游,一个受到威胁的关键部门

海洋环境的健康及其生态系统提供的服务是海洋和沿海旅游业的核心,也是全球社区蓝色经济的基础。每年都有数以百万计的游客在沿海国家和小岛国寻找珊瑚礁、清澈的海水、沙滩和丰富多彩的海洋生物。蓝色旅游业(以活动是在陆地还是海上进行区分)占全球国内生产总值 (GDP) 的 5%,占全球就业的近 7%[1].这些旅游资金的经济影响远远超出了海岸线。例如,珊瑚礁活动(即浮潜和潜水)的直接支出估计为每年 $190 亿美元;然而,每年额外的 $160 亿与“珊瑚礁附近”旅游业有关,包括“珊瑚礁在产生清澈平静的海水和沙滩、壮丽景色、新鲜海鲜甚至广泛用于广告方面的作用”[2].这些以海洋为基础的旅游业是商业供应链的起点,虽然通常集中在当地,但可以延伸到世界各地。 2019年,太平洋岛国(大洋洲)旅游总经济影响达$1420亿。同年,加勒比海地区海洋旅游的经济影响在地理上要小得多,为 $480 亿,占加勒比海经济总量的 14%[3].

然而,支持这种充满活力的旅游经济的海岸线及其沿线地区总是受到气候变化破坏性影响的威胁。海洋温度和酸度的上升、越来越严重的风暴和海平面上升都在影响海洋旅游业。然而,威胁并不止于海岸线。不可持续的旅游业、老化的基础设施以及提供支持服务的人员往往会对沿海地区和周边社区造成意想不到的威胁;计划外开发、环境退化、污染和污染径流造成的过度拥挤都会对海洋资源及其所支持的地方造成压力和损害[4].蓝色经济的力量和韧性与它周围的地理、人民和自然资源密不可分。

弹性,从珊瑚礁到山脊

任何加强沿海恢复力的计划都必须认识到沿海和海洋旅游业面临的来自陆地和海边的相互关联的风险。这包括考虑到经营这些企业的社区,以及受高地和整个海景发生的环境事件影响的基础设施。虽然基于海洋的风险通常最受关注,但复原力规划还必须了解和考虑陆地压力源对海岸的脆弱性。

史汀生中心通过其气候和海洋风险脆弱性指数 (CORVI) 进行的一系列风险评估清楚地表明了这些综合风险。 CORVI 是一种已在 11 个岛国和沿海城市使用的决策支持工具,它从整体上审视陆地和海洋景观,重点关注经济、政治、社会和环境风险因素,以生成沿海城市风险概况,并针对气候提出具体建议风险缓解和行动。

例如,在加勒比地区,袭击牙买加蓝山或圣基茨和尼维斯山丘的风暴可能引发洪水,影响数英里外的社区和企业。当内陆洪水遇到沿海风暴潮和海平面上升时,可能会发生灾难性洪水。这会广泛影响旅游经济。游轮码头、机场、酒店、餐厅和休闲用品商都面临着受到影响的风险——包括损坏恢复成本,以及时间和工资损失。内陆强降雨和风暴潮引发的洪水对各种规模的沿海城市构成威胁,从巴斯特尔、圣基茨和尼维斯的 13,000 名居民到坦桑尼亚沿海城市达累斯萨拉姆的 700 万居民。此外,这些风暴将被过量养分、污染物和沉积物污染的径流倾倒到海洋环境中,损害了已经因海水变暖和海洋酸度增加而受到压力的珊瑚礁和海草生态系统。风暴相关径流被认为是对珊瑚礁系统的主要新兴威胁,影响资源的商业和娱乐用途,例如浮潜、休闲钓鱼和生物勘探[5].

洪水事件的范围和影响,无论是源自风暴潮还是暴雨,不仅取决于水量或土地的拓扑结构。例如,最近在牙买加金斯敦进行的一项脆弱性评估显示,来自蓝山的洪水因生态系统退化、非正规住房普遍存在和固体废物管理不足而加剧[6].后者会堵塞排水通道,扩大受影响的区域并加剧影响。与非正规住房相关的风险在全球范围内越来越重要,尤其是在肯尼亚蒙巴萨等快速发展的城市,该城市的人口在过去二十年几乎翻了一番,65% 的人口居住在非正规住区[7].评估和规划不充分,或缺乏执法能力,可能导致这些非正规住区位于危险的斜坡或城市分水岭上,从而加剧风险,远远超出它们的直接距离。应对气候风险不再是环境部委和非政府组织的唯一职权范围,还应包括经济、财政和发展部委、企业代表和市政府。它应该采取跨越陆海边界的整体方法。

COVID-19,学习的机会

2020 年春天,随着 COVID-19 开始在世界范围内传播,沿海和海洋旅游陷入停顿。随着各国政府实施社交距离、隔离和旅行限制,全球旅游市场遭受了自有记录以来最大的一次市场混乱。 2020 年,国际入境人数下降了 74%——旅客减少了 10 亿人,这使 100 至 1.2 亿个工作岗位面临风险[8].高度依赖沿海和海洋旅游的经济体受到重创。加勒比地区的沿海和海洋旅游 GDP 下降了 58%,太平洋岛国的沿海旅游 GDP 下降了 45%。相比之下,2020 年(所有部门的)总 GDP 分别下降了 9% 和 2.5%。

具有讽刺意味的是,与此同时,关于自然恢复的轶事和意外报道开始通过社交媒体传播。威尼斯的运河开始畅通无阻,可以看到鱼在游泳。海豚出现在意大利南部的水道中。一氧化碳2 排放量下降了 6%,抹去了五年的增长[9].不幸的是,也有负面影响,因为海洋和沿海旅游业提供的保护资金减少了,他们资助的恢复和加强海洋生态系统的努力也减少了。

然而,有一件事仍然很清楚:沿海和海洋旅游的风险超出了水的边缘。这些风险是多层面的,不能使用孤立的方法来解决。无论是针对气候风险、全球流行病还是其他潜在冲击进行规划,复原力规划都必须是全面和全面的,评估该风险的环境、经济、社会和政治方面,并了解不同风险如何交叉和复合。 COVID-19 大流行为重新思考弹性和建立更具弹性的沿海旅游经济提供了独特的机会。

重新思考弹性:建立更具弹性的沿海旅游经济

建立复原力并在项目和计划中采取综合行动以保护旅游经济需要开放一种新的思维方式。鉴于沿海和海洋旅游业和东道社区面临的多维、相互关联和地理范围广泛的风险,加强沿海复原力需要汇集来自政府、私营部门和民间社会的不同专家和利益相关者。很多时候,这些不同的利益相关者之间的关系是有限的。同一政府的不同部委或部门可以各自为政,不一定相互影响。从事沿海和海洋旅游工作的人员可以发挥召集作用,将企业主、民间社会领袖、财政部、地方政府、环境部、城市规划师、物流专家等聚集在一起。这种类型的合作还有助于为具有多维利益的复原力行动和项目(例如基于自然的解决方案)获得政治和财政支持。实施基于自然的解决方案,例如红树林或珊瑚礁恢复,可以提供就业机会,增强旅游经济,防止风暴潮和洪水,为海洋野生动物提供栖息地,可以减少海岸侵蚀,隔离碳并为港口设施提供生态系统效益。当通过单一视角看待这些好处或评估这些好处以解决渔业、港口或洪水管理的单一任务时,提案可能没有推动行动的政治影响力。但是,当所有的好处一起评估时,这些结果的强度应该足以推动项目的实施。然而,这样的行动仍然需要一种协作的方式。

建立沿海地区对气候变化的适应能力需要许多具有不同专业知识的参与者。较富裕的国家、发展组织、金融机构和沿海经营的企业,包括娱乐和旅游业(连锁酒店、航空公司、生态旅游、邮轮公司等),将需要共同努力,支持全球南部沿海地区的气候适应。从历史上看,气候适应力的资金一直落后于碳减排资金。然而,许多拥有沿海和海洋旅游的社区,尤其是小岛屿国家和沿海最不发达国家,对气候变化的责任最小,但最容易受到其影响。 2021 年的 COP26 展示了这一缺点以及对更多抗灾资金的需求。迈向 2022 年 11 月的 COP27 为国际社会(包括私营部门和公共部门)提供了一个机会来平衡这种不平等,并共同努力增加和通过绿色气候基金、适应基金、全球环境基金和其他国际筹资机制分配资金。此外,将在埃及沙姆沙伊赫召开的 COP27 或“适应”缔约方会议可以鼓励和激励采用整体和地理范围广泛的方法来提高沿海气候恢复力。

气候适应资助者和决策者需要保证他们的资金将被明智地使用,并且当地资助的项目将有效地降低气候风险和脆弱性。仅有的 10% 的气候融资 出于各种原因在地方层面进行投资——从缺乏专业知识到数据不足以及国家计划未适用于当地需求。史汀生中心开发了 CORVI,以促进一种全面的方法,填补当地的数据空白并查明气候风险最大的领域。 CORVI 是全面的;它着眼于 100 项风险指标,并结合专家调查、访谈和现有数据集来制定风险评分,突出沿海城市面临的特定海洋和气候风险。在此过程中,CORVI 汇集了 10 个气候和海洋风险类别的公共和私人专家提供他们的专业知识,这通常是这样一个多元化的团队第一次跨部门合作,尽管他们属于同一政府或来自同一个政府部门。同一个小岛社区。从加勒比海到南太平洋,旅游业人员提供的专业知识在全球目前正在进行或已完成的 11 个 CORVI 项目中一直很有价值[10].

为了在最重要的地方建立复原力,将采取全社会的方法,要求与沿海和海洋旅游相关的每个人,如政府、企业和民间社会,通力合作。我们必须抓住机遇,帮助保护和维护生态系统,包括海草、红树林、珊瑚、湿地和沙滩,这些生态系统自然会回馈并提供保护。为了取得成功,决策者应该超越水的边缘,全面全面地评估和行动。一个有弹性的蓝色经济要求海洋和陆地环境都是可持续和健康的。

—–

[1] AH Bhuiyan、A. Darda、W. Habib 和 B. Hossain,“孟加拉国科克斯巴扎尔的海洋旅游促进可持续发展”,亚洲开发银行研究所工作文件 1151(2020 年)。 https://www.adb.org/publications/marine-tourism-sustainable-development-cox-bazar-bangladesh

[2] M. Spalding、L. Burke、SA Wood、J. Ashpole、J. Hutchison 和 P. Ermgassen,“绘制珊瑚礁旅游的全球价值和分布”, 海洋政策 82(2017 年 1 月):104–13,10.1016/j.marpol.2017.05.014。

[3] 世界旅游理事会,“经济影响报告”,2021 年,https://wttc.org/Research/Economic-Impact。

[4] Bhuiyan 等人,“海洋旅游促进可持续发展”。

[5] A. Shore、JA Sims、M. Grimes、LI Howe-Kerr、CGB Grupstra、SM Doyle、L. Stadler 等人,“在遥远的礁石上:极端风暴后的人为影响影响海绵健康和细菌群落, ” 海洋科学前沿 8(2021):608036.doi:10.3389/fmars.2021.60803; 6J.L. Orlando 和 SH Yee,“将陆源沉积物输送与珊瑚礁生态系统服务的下降联系起来”, 河口和海岸 40(2017):359–75,https://doi.org/10.1007/s12237-016-0167-0。

[6] T. Rouleau、J. Stuart 和 S. Yozell,“CORVI 风险概况:牙买加金斯敦”,史汀生中心,2020 年 6 月 1 日,https://www.stimson.org/2020/corvi-risk-profile-kingston-jamaica /

[7] 联合国人居署, 联合国人居署对肯尼亚可持续城市发展的支持, 卷。 4、 社区领袖能力建设报告 (Nairobi: UN Human Settlements Programme, 2016), https://unhabitat.org/sites/default/files/download-manager-files/UN-Habitat%20SSUDK_%20Report_Vol%204_final.LowRes.pdf.

[8] 世界旅游组织,“2020 年:旅游史上最糟糕的一年,国际入境人数减少了 10 亿人”,2021 年 1 月 28 日,https://www.unwto.org/news/2020-worst-year-in-tourism-history-with-国际入境人数减少 10 亿。

[9] 国际能源署,“2020 年全球能源评论:Covid-19 危机对全球能源需求和二氧化碳的影响2 排放,”https://www.iea.org/reports/global-energy-review-2020/global-energy-and-co2-emissions-in-2020。

[10] CORVI 项目正在巴斯特尔、圣基茨和尼维斯进行或完成;巴巴多斯布里奇敦;卡斯特里,圣卢西亚; Chattogram,孟加拉国;斯里兰卡科伦坡;菲律宾达古潘;坦桑尼亚达累斯萨拉姆;牙买加金斯敦;肯尼亚蒙巴萨;斐济苏瓦;和基里巴斯的塔拉瓦。

Close
back to top

Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow
Expert Essay
Resilience: Ensuring a Future for Coastal and Marine Tourism

How can the resilience of coastal and marine tourism be strengthened and how can coastal and marine tourism help strengthen the resilience of host destinations and communities? Consider resilience to exogenous threats, such as climate change, as well as unpredictable future shocks, such as global pandemics.

Sally Yozell
Sally Yozell
Senior Fellow & Director, Environmental Security Program, The Stimson Center

Coastal and marine tourism, a key sector under threat

The health of the marine environment and the services its ecosystems provide are central to ocean and coastal tourism and underpin the blue economies of  communities around the globe. Millions of tourists seek out coral reefs, crystal-clear waters, sandy beaches and colourful marine life in coastal countries and small island states each year. The blue tourism industry (distinguished by whether the activities happen on land or sea) comprises 5 percent of global gross domestic product (GDP) and almost 7 percent of global employment[1]. The economic impacts of these tourism dollars reach far beyond the shoreline. For instance, direct spending on coral reef activities (i.e. snorkelling and diving) has been estimated at US$19 billion per year; however, an additional $16 billion per year has been linked to ‘reef-adjacent’ tourism, including ‘the role of reefs in generating clear calm waters and beach sand, outstanding views, fresh seafood and even their widespread use in advertising’[2]. These ocean based tourism industries are the starting point for business supply chains that, while generally concentrated locally, can reach around the world. In 2019, tourists in the Pacific Island countries (Oceania) had a total economic impact of $142 billion. The same year, the economic impact of marine tourism in the Caribbean, much smaller geographically, was $48 billion, making up 14 percent of the total Caribbean economy[3].

Yet the places in and along the shoreline that support such vibrant tourism economies are invariably threatened by the damaging effects of climate change. Rising ocean temperatures and acidity, increasingly severe storms and rising sea levels are all impacting marine based tourism. Yet the threats do not stop at the coastline. Unsustainable tourism, aging infrastructure and often people who provide support services can cause unintended threats along to  coastal areas las well as in the surrounding communities; overcrowding from unplanned development, environmental degradation, pollution and polluted runoff all can pressure and harm marine resources and the places they support[4]. The strength and resilience of the blue economy is inextricably connected to the geographies, the people and the natural resources that surround it.

Resiliency, from reefs to ridges

Any plan to strengthen coastal resilience must recognise the interconnected risks that coastal and marine tourism faces from the land and the seaside. This includes taking into account  the communities that host these businesses, and the infrastructure affected by environmental events occurring upland and across the seascape. While ocean-based risks often receive the most attention, resilience planning must also understand and consider the vulnerabilities to the coast from land-based stressors.

These integrated risks have been clearly shown in a series of risk assessments conducted by the Stimson Center through its Climate and Ocean Risk Vulnerability Index (CORVI). CORVI, a decision-support tool that has been used in 11 island states and coastal cities, looks holistically across the land- and seascape focusing on economic, political, social and environmental risk factors to produce a coastal city risk profile with specific recommendations for climate risk mitigation and action.

For example, in the Caribbean, storms which hit the Blue Mountains in Jamaica or the hills of St. Kitts and Nevis can cause flooding that affects communities and businesses miles away. When inland flooding meets coastal storm surge and sea level rise, catastrophic flooding can occur. This can impact the tourism economy broadly. Cruise ship terminals, airports, hotels, restaurants and recreational outfitters are all at risk from the impacts—including damage recovery costs, as well as lost time and wages. Flooding from heavy inland rainfall and storm surge poses a risk to coastal cities of every size, from the 13,000 residents of Basseterre, St. Kitts and Nevis, to the more than 7 million living in the coastal city of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. In addition, these storms dump runoff, polluted with excess nutrients, contaminants and sediments, into the marine environment, harming coral reefs and seagrass ecosystems already stressed by warming waters and increasing ocean acidity. Storm-associated runoff is considered a major emerging threat to coral reef systems, affecting commercial and recreational uses of the resource such as snorkelling, recreational fishing, and bioprospecting[5].

The extent and impact of flooding events, whether originating from storm surge or heavy rainfall, is not only determined by the quantity of water or the topology of the land. For example, a recent vulnerability assessment in Kingston, Jamaica, revealed that flooding from the Blue Mountains is exacerbated by degraded ecosystems, widespread informal housing and shortcomings in solid waste management[6]. The latter can clog drainage channels, expanding the area affected and compounding the impacts. Risks related to informal housing are increasingly relevant around the world, especially in fast-growing cities like Mombasa, Kenya, which has nearly doubled in population over the last two decades, and where 65 percent of the population lives in informal settlements[7]. Inadequate assessment and planning, or a lack of enforcement capabilities, may lead to those informal settlements being located on precarious slopes or city watersheds, exacerbating risks well beyond their immediate proximity. Addressing climate risks can no longer be the sole purview of environmental ministries and non-governmental organisations but should also include economic, finance and development ministries, business representatives and municipal governments. It should take a holistic approach that crosses the land-sea boundary.

COVID-19, an opportunity for learning

In the spring of 2020, as COVID-19 began to spread around the world, coastal and marine tourism ground to a halt. As governments instituted social distancing, quarantines and travel restrictions, the global tourism market endured the single-biggest disruption to the market since record keeping began. In 2020, international arrivals dropped 74 percent—1 billion fewer travellers, which put between 100 and 120 million jobs at risk[8]. Economies highly dependent on coastal and marine tourism were hit hard. The Caribbean experienced a 58 percent decline in coastal and marine tourism GDP, and Pacific Island countries’ coastal tourism GDP declined by 45 percent. For comparison, declines in total GDP (for all sectors) were 9 percent and 2.5 percent, respectively, in 2020.

Ironically, at the same time, anecdotal and unexpected reports of nature’s recovery began to trickle in through social media. The canals in Venice began to run clear and fish could be viewed swimming. Dolphins appeared in waterways in southern Italy. CO2 emissions dropped by 6 percent, erasing five years of increase[9]. Unfortunately, there were also negative effects, as conservation dollars provided by marine and coastal tourism were reduced, as were the efforts to restore and enhance marine ecosystems that they had funded.

One thing remains clear, however: risks to coastal and marine tourism reach beyond the water’s edge. These risks are multidimensional and cannot be addressed using an isolated approach. Whether planning for climate risks, global pandemics or other potential shocks, resilience planning must be comprehensive and holistic, assessing the environmental, economic, social and political aspects of that risk, and understanding how different risks intersect and compound. The COVID-19 pandemic has presented a unique opportunity to rethink resilience and build a more resilient coastal tourism economy.

Rethinking resilience: Building a more resilient coastal tourism economy

Building resilience and taking integrated action in projects and programmes to safeguard the tourism economy requires opening up to a new way of thinking. Given the multidimensional, interlinked and geographically broad scope of risks faced by coastal and marine tourism and host communities, strengthening coastal resilience requires bringing together diverse experts and stakeholders from across government, the private sector and civil society. Too often, the relationship between these different stakeholders is limited. Different ministries or departments of the same government can be siloed and do not necessarily interact. Those working in coastal and marine tourism can play a convening role, bringing business owners, civil society leaders, finance ministries, local government, environment ministries, urban planners, logistics experts and more into the room together. This type of collaboration can also help garner political and financial support for resilience actions and projects that have multidimensional benefits, such as nature-based solutions. Implementing nature-based solutions, such as mangrove or coral reef restoration, provides jobs, enhances the tourism economy, protects against storm surge and flooding, provides habitat for marine wildlife, can reduce coastal erosion, sequesters carbon and provides ecosystem benefits for port facilities. When these benefits are seen through a single lens or assessed to address a single mandate for fisheries, ports or flood management, proposals may not have the political heft to drive action. But when all of the benefits are assessed together, the strength of such outcomes should be enough to push implementation of projects forward. Yet such action still requires a collaborative approach.

Building coastal resilience to climate change requires many players with different kinds of expertise. Wealthier nations, development organisations, financial institutions and businesses that operate along the coast, including recreation and tourism (hotel chains, airlines, ecotourism, cruise lines, etc.) will need to work together to support climate adaptation across the coastal Global South. Historically, funding for climate resilience has lagged behind funding for carbon mitigation. Yet many communities that host coastal and marine tourism, especially small island states and coastal least developed countries, are the least responsible for climate change but most vulnerable to its impacts. This shortcoming, and the need for more resilience funding, was on display at COP26 in 2021. Moving towards COP27 in November 2022 presents an opportunity for the international community, both the private and public sectors, to balance this inequity and work together to increase and distribute funds through the Green Climate Fund, the Adaptation Fund, the Global Environment Facility and other international funding mechanisms. In addition, COP27 or the ‘Adaptation’ COP, which will convene in Sharm El-Sheik, Egypt, can encourage and incentivise a holistic and geographically broad approach to coastal climate resilience.

Climate adaptation funders and decision-makers need assurances that their money will be spent wisely, and that locally funded projects will effectively reduce climate risk and vulnerability. Only 10 percent of climate finance is invested at the local level for various reasons—from lack of expertise to inadequate data and national plans that haven’t been applied to local needs. The Stimson Center developed CORVI to facilitate a comprehensive approach that fills local data gaps and pinpoints areas of greatest climate risk. CORVI is comprehensive; it looks at 100 risk indicators and combines expert surveys, interviews, and existing datasets to develop risk scores which highlight the specific ocean and climate risks a coastal city faces. During the process, CORVI brings together public and private experts across 10 categories of climate and ocean risk to provide their expertise, which is often the first time such a diverse group has worked together across sectors, despite being part of the same government or from the same small island community. The expertise provided by those in the tourism industry has been consistently valuable across the 11 CORVI projects currently either underway or completed around the world, from the Caribbean to the South Pacific[10].

To build resilience where it matters most will take an all-of-society approach, requiring that everyone with a stake in coastal and marine tourism, such as governments, businesses and civil society, work cooperatively. We must seize opportunities to help protect and preserve ecosystems, including seagrasses, mangroves, corals, wetlands and sandy beaches, which naturally give back benefits and offer protection. To succeed, decision-makers should look beyond the water’s edge and assess and act comprehensively and holistically. A resilient blue economy requires that both the marine and terrestrial environments be sustainable and healthy.

—–

[1] A.H. Bhuiyan, A. Darda, W. Habib and B. Hossain, “Marine Tourism for Sustainable Development in Cox’s Bazar, Bangladesh,” Asian Development Bank Institute Working Paper 1151 (2020). https://www.adb.org/publications/marine-tourism-sustainable-development-cox-bazar-bangladesh

[2] M. Spalding, L. Burke, S.A. Wood, J. Ashpole, J. Hutchison and P. Ermgassen, “Mapping the Global Value and Distribution of Coral Reef Tourism,” Marine Policy 82 (January 2017): 104–13, 10.1016/j.marpol.2017.05.014.

[3] World Travel and Tourism Council, “Economic Impact Reports,” 2021, https://wttc.org/Research/Economic-Impact.

[4] Bhuiyan et al., “Marine Tourism for Sustainable Development.”

[5] A. Shore, J.A. Sims, M. Grimes, L.I. Howe-Kerr, C.G.B. Grupstra, S.M. Doyle, L. Stadler et al., “On a Reef Far, Far Away: Anthropogenic Impacts Following Extreme Storms Affect Sponge Health and Bacterial Communities,” Frontiers in Marine Science 8 (2021): 608036. doi:10.3389/fmars.2021.60803; 6J.L. Orlando and S.H. Yee, “Linking Terrigenous Sediment Delivery to Declines in Coral Reef Ecosystem Services,” Estuaries and Coasts 40 (2017): 359–75, https://doi.org/10.1007/s12237-016-0167-0.

[6] T. Rouleau, J. Stuart and S. Yozell, “CORVI Risk Profile: Kingston, Jamaica,” Stimson Center, 1 June 2020, https://www.stimson.org/2020/corvi-risk-profile-kingston-jamaica/

[7] UN-Habitat, UN-Habitat Support to Sustainable Urban Development in Kenya, vol. 4, Report on Capacity Building for Community Leaders (Nairobi: UN Human Settlements Programme, 2016), https://unhabitat.org/sites/default/files/download-manager-files/UN-Habitat%20SSUDK_%20Report_Vol%204_final.LowRes.pdf.

[8] World Tourism Organization, “2020: Worst Year in Tourism History with 1 Billion Fewer International Arrivals,” 28 January 2021, https://www.unwto.org/news/2020-worst-year-in-tourism-history-with-1-billion-fewer-international-arrivals.

[9] International Energy Agency, “Global Energy Review 2020: The Impacts of the Covid-19 Crisis on Global Energy Demand and CO2 Emissions,” https://www.iea.org/reports/global-energy-review-2020/global-energy-and-co2-emissions-in-2020.

[10] CORVI projects are underway or completed in Basseterre, St. Kitts and Nevis; Bridgetown, Barbados; Castries, St. Lucia; Chattogram, Bangladesh; Colombo, Sri Lanka; Dagupan, the Philippines; Dar es Salaam, Tanzania; Kingston, Jamaica; Mombasa, Kenya; Suva, Fiji; and Tarawa, Kiribati.

Close
back to top