Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: 英国加入可持续海洋经济高级别小组 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组发布可持续旅游报告并伴随专家观点 Arrow Featured: 海洋小组领导人在联合国海洋会议上的联合声明 Arrow
专家论文
邮轮:邮轮旅游的未来

可持续性对邮轮业意味着什么?鉴于大流行继续对邮轮业产生影响,如何实现这一目标?邮轮旅游的未来在哪里?

Joseph M. Cheer, PhD
Joseph M. Cheer 博士
日本和歌山大学旅游研究中心旅游地理学联合主编兼可持续旅游教授

邮轮旅游:一切照旧还是负责任的转变?

掀起波澜

在动荡的全球背景下预测任何事物的未来容易被低估或夸大,但未来情景思维对于理解可能出现的无数轨迹仍然至关重要。全球旅游业是易受不可预测的全球事件影响的典范,其经济因大流行引发的放缓而受到严重破坏[1].另一方面是对抗气候变化和脱碳的一个福音,因为旅行者已经基本停飞,环境也有治愈的空间[2].

随着大流行的长长阴影消散,以及自由旅行的回归,早期迹象表明,随着 2022 年夏季北半球的到来,旅游业将出现热潮。唉,在解雇或解雇工人,封存飞机和酒店房间之后,一个人手不足和准备不足的旅游业是否能避免出现的混乱还有待观察[3].

在冠状病毒大流行的前沿,庞大的全球旅游供应链的一部分是邮轮旅游[4].该行业因作为传染病传播的典型实验室而受到指责,是第一个被关闭的行业,使通常穿越全球的游轮舰队停止。

据此,我将针对邮轮旅游现状回答两个问题:

  1. 可持续性对邮轮业意味着什么,鉴于大流行对该行业的持续影响,如何实现这一目标?
  2. 邮轮旅游的未来在哪里?

在提出这些问题时,地球之友提醒我,邮轮行业和政策制定者对可持续性、负责任的旅游和海洋健康的承诺不足:

几十年来,邮轮业的商业行为已将沿海社区、乘客、船员以及沿海和海洋生态系统的环境、气候和公共卫生置于危险之中。此外,大多数政府拒绝为邮轮业制定强有力的法规,忽视该行业对社区和环境造成的持续损害,或者屈服于行业压力,开发其原始资源以获取行业利润。

可持续的游轮旅游:一枪越过船头

与“可持续旅游”一样,“可持续游轮旅游”是一个矛盾的说法,只能通过在线和光鲜的印刷广告中的巧妙营销和公关活动来拯救[5].有什么比拖着一艘有几个购物中心那么大的游轮穿越公海,同时排放废气和污染原始水道更不可持续的呢?

邮轮假期已成为 规定的,吸引了逃避这一切的逃避现实的幻想,在日常生活中如此令人沉醉,在长期大流行之后更是如此。突显其受欢迎程度的是一种使消费变得轻松便捷的商业模式,其价格通常对精打细算的大众旅游市场具有吸引力[6].考虑多个目的地行程、从黎明到黄昏的活动、无尽的自助餐、滚动的娱乐活动,以及船上收容的熟悉度和安全性,而不必在航空公司值机柜台和海关和移民检查处挤来挤去。

邮轮旅游商业模式是一个天才的创造——在离岸避税天堂注册公司,在几乎没有国际警务的公海航行,在可疑的工作条件下雇用来自欠发达和劳动力成本低的国家的船员,并控制乘客支出船上,并一直说服目的地,将游轮游客转变为实际停留游客的潜力是合理的[7].更重要的是,在不受陆地约束的情况下,在危机时期或目的地管理者及其政府开始要求更大份额的情况下,锚定并转移到更有利和有利可图的运营管辖区的能力是有利的,以及更真正可持续的运营。

但是,与许多雇佣数千人并看似能够促进经济发展的主导行业部门一样,它们的宣传和游说效力帮助邮轮旅游避开了更有效的监管[8].在冠状病毒大流行的早期,该部门反对要求其负责任和负责的呼吁是显而易见的。这反映了它倾向于拒绝对一般商业模式的批评的方式(明确地说,我指的是占邮轮旅游市场最大份额的大型游轮,与较小的探险和内河游轮业务不同)。

如果邮轮旅游业想要追求真正的可持续发展,并把盈利作为首要目标,那么减少向巨人化的转变将是一个起点。此外,对更高效和低碳船舶的呼声在很大程度上被置若罔闻,但也有一些新出现的例外。

此外,邮轮旅游部门不能认为自己明显脱离了港口社区的福祉以及邮轮对泻湖和海洋健康、水质以及海岸和结构侵蚀等的影响。这些影响一直是世界上许多最受欢迎的邮轮目的地的祸根——邮轮公司从港口访问中获利,却很少考虑对目的地的长期和不断升级的社会和环境危害。

可持续性的基本前提是确保地球不会为子孙后代受到损害。因此,邮轮业能否证明其运营符合真正的社会和环境可持续性意图,仍有待观察。这对于更广泛的旅游业来说也是一个持续的挑战。

未来:负责任的邮轮旅游还是更多?

可以肯定的是,邮轮旅游作为一种流行的旅行方式将持续存在[9].游轮游客忠诚于他们的消费行为[10].更重要的是,邮轮假期通常在物有所值方面具有吸引力,并且适合热衷于在封闭环境中一起度假的家庭和社会团体。最重要的是,邮轮旅游可以为其他旅游细分市场提供理想的刺激,同时让更多偏远和周边目的地能够接触到原本难以吸引的人群[11].

然而,最近,特别是在冠状病毒大流行之前,巴塞罗那、威尼斯、杜布罗夫尼克和迈阿密等热门邮轮目的地过度旅游的影响主导了关于邮轮旅游成本对目的地社区社会和生态福祉的讨论[12].

不出所料,邮轮旅游的主要倡导机构邮轮行业协会 (CLIA) 对该行业赞不绝口:“CLIA 邮轮公司是负责任旅游的领导者和创新者,为旅行者提供体验世界的最佳方式. . . .邮轮业一直是负责任旅游的领导者,包括其对环境保护的坚定承诺、成为我们所到之处的管家、提供有价值的职业机会,尤其是对客人和船员的健康和安全。[13].

证据是否支持这种自我表扬仍然值得怀疑[14].为了出现此类证据,邮轮公司需要为研究人员和调查人员提供不受限制的数据访问权限[15].可以说,继续压舱门会让人怀疑该行业的整体可持续性证书。

在其 2021 游轮报告卡中,该行业最早和最热心的批评者之一地球之友对 18 家主要游轮公司和 202 艘游轮进行了排名,展示了在污水处理、减少空气污染、水质合规等领域的关键措施, 透明度和刑事违法[16].除了极少数例外,该行业继续低于任何可能类似于负责任的邮轮旅游和对海洋健康的承诺。

游轮的问题非常广泛。从游轮对环境的整体影响到游轮对海洋生物的污染影响——游轮行业需要整顿自己的行为。为了实现清洁巡航,我们需要邮轮业停止助长气候危机,停止污染我们的空气和水,用废物破坏海洋生态、海洋、海滩和珊瑚礁,并隐藏它们的排放物。[17]

当谈到海洋的健康和依赖海洋的社区的福祉时,这种批评确实只适用于邮轮旅游。它确实表明,创造可持续的邮轮旅游将需要超越口头上的服务和一切照旧,并开始将人和地球置于利润之前。这是一种更广泛的萎靡不振,象征着旅游业和更广泛的企业商业模式[18].

漂绿和邮轮旅游已成为同义词,因为该行业的最大参与者仍然很少关注目的地社区和环保活动家的担忧,而是优先考虑股东价值和投资回报[19].将海洋视为一条通道、一个无底且有弹性的垃圾场和别人的问题的观点仍然很顽固。

早期迹象表明,邮轮旅游业在大流行后即将复苏。据报道,邮轮假期的远期销售,迫切需要复苏的目的地正在张开双臂欢迎邮轮,旅行的渴望正在复苏。总体而言,邮轮旅游业的未来是有保证的——它的巨大人气已被证明能够抵御危机——但它是否承认并采取行动应对更负责任和可持续运营的紧迫性仍然存在疑问。在此之前,海洋的健康以及依赖它的人类和非人类的福祉仍处于平衡状态。

最近的头条新闻 华盛顿邮报 blares,“尽管船上有 COVID,但邮轮仍在打破记录:“生活还在继续”[20].这就是挑战的艰巨性。使邮轮旅游更加可持续和负责任,并克服消费者的矛盾心理,是邮轮行业狂妄自大的一项艰巨任务。

—–

[1] AA Lew、JM Cheer、M. Haywood、P. Brouder 和 NB Salazar,“2020 年全球 COVID-19 转型后的旅游愿景,” 旅游地理 22,没有。 3 (2020): 455–66,

https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2020.1770326; JM Cheer、D. Lapointe、M. Mostafanezhad 和 T. Jamal,“危机中的全球旅游业:研究和实践的概念框架”, 旅游期货杂志 7,没有。 3(2021):278–94,https://doi.org/10.1108/JTF-09-2021-227。

[2] 埃。克罗斯利,“在 COVID-19 之后,生态悲痛激发了旅游业对环境修复的渴望,” 旅游地理 22,没有。 3 (2020):536–46,https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2020.1759133。

[3] J. Buckley,“这艘邮轮刚刚取消了最新的船舶发射”,CNN,2022 年 6 月 9 日,https://edition.cnn.com/travel/article/virgin-voyages-resilient-lady-cancelation/index.html; M. Townsend,“部长被警告员工危机将导致‘不可避免’的旅行混乱,航空联盟说,” 守护者,2022 年 6 月 4 日,https://www.theguardian.com/travel/2022/jun/04/minister-was-warned-staff-crisis-would-lead-to-inevitable-travel-chaos-says-aviation-union .

[4] A. Radic、R. Law、M. Lück、H. Kang、A. Ariza-Montes、JM Arjona-Fuentes 和 H. Han,“现在的启示或对冠状病毒的过度反应:全球邮轮旅游业危机”, 可持续性 12,没有。 17(2020):6968,https://doi.org/10.3390/su12176968; P. Pounder,“负责任的领导力和 COVID-19:小岛在游轮旅游中掀起波澜”, 国际公共领导杂志 17,没有。 1(2021):118-31,https://doi.org/10.1108/IJPL-08-2020-0085。

[5] L. Renaud,“重新考虑全球流动性:在 COVID-19 之后远离大众游轮旅游”, 旅游地理 22,没有。 3(2020):679–89,https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2020.1762116。

[6] R. Dowling 和 C. Weeden, 游轮旅游 (英国埃格姆:CABI,2017)。

[7] J. Cheer,“不溺水,挥手:COVID-19 后邮轮旅游去哪儿?” 蒙纳士镜片,2020 年 4 月 21 日,https://lens.monash.edu/@politics-society/2020/04/21/1380110/not-drowning-waving-where-to-for-cruise-tourism-post-covid-19。

[8] L. James、LS Olsen 和 A. Karlsdóttir,“北极的可持续发展和邮轮旅游:冰岛伊萨菲厄泽和格陵兰卡科尔托克的利益相关者观点”, 可持续旅游杂志 28,没有。 9(2020):1425–41,https://doi.org/10.1080/09669582.2020.1745213。

[9] B. 溜冰场,“海上极限:无处航行及其元世界”, 旅游地理 22,没有。 2 (2020):392–412,”https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2019.1637450。

[10] JI Castillo-Manzano、M. Castro-Nuño 和 R. Pozo-Barajas,“沉迷于游轮?通过 e-WOM 方法实现游轮忠诚度行为的关键驱动因素,” 国际当代酒店管理杂志. 34,没有。 1 (2022): 361–81,

https://doi.org/10.1108/IJCHM-05-2021-0642.

[11] J. Connell,“亚洲及太平洋的蓝海旅游:冠状病毒危机前的趋势和方向”,ADBI 工作论文系列,第1204(2020),https://www.econstor.eu/handle/10419/238561。

[12] Milano, C.、Cheer, JM 和 Novelli, M. (Eds.)。 (2019)。 过度旅游:旅游和旅游中的过度、不满和措施.卡比。

[13] 邮轮行业协会 (CLIA),“关于 CLIA”,2022,https://cruising.org/en/about-the-industry/about-clia。

[14] N. Leposa,“有问题的蓝色增长:与海洋和沿海旅游业增长相关的社会可持续性问题的主题综合”, 可持续性科学 15,没有。 4 (2020): 1233–44, https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s11625-020-00796-9。

[15] A. Papathanassis,“邮轮旅游的当前问题:解构第六届国际邮轮会议”, 当前的旅游问题 23,没有。 14(2020):1711-17,https://doi.org/10.1080/13683500.2019.1654984。

[16] 地球之友,“2021 年游轮报告卡”,https://foe.org/cruise-report-card/。

[17] 地球之友,“清洁的巡航行业会是什么样子?”,2020 年 9 月 15 日,https://foe.org/blog/what-would-a-clean-cruising-industry-look-like/。

[18] CM Hall,“构建可持续旅游发展:2030 年议程和可持续旅游的管理生态”, 可持续旅游杂志 27,没有。 7(2019):1044–60,https://doi.org/10.1080/09669582.2018.1560456。

[19] E. Guaraldo,“抵制游客的目光。反对威尼斯泻湖游轮开采主义的艺术激进主义,” 泻湖景观 1,没有。 1 (2021): 101–24,

https://edizionicafoscari.unive.it/media/pdf/article/the-venice-journal-of-environmental-humanities/2021/1/art-10.30687-LGSP–2021-01-008_tliCK9R.pdf.

[20] H. Sampson,“尽管船上有 Covid,但邮轮仍在打破记录:‘生活还在继续’” 华盛顿邮报,2022 年 5 月 10 日,https://www.washingtonpost.com/travel/2022/05/10/cruises-booking-covid-outbreaks/。

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Cruises: The Future of Cruise Tourism

What does sustainability mean for the cruise industry and how can this be achieved in light of the impact the pandemic continues to have on the cruise industry? What is the future of cruise tourism?

Joseph M. Cheer, PhD
Joseph M. Cheer, PhD
Co-editor-in-Chief, Tourism Geographies, and Professor of Sustainable Tourism, Center for Tourism Research, Wakayama University, Japan

Cruise tourism: Business as usual or a responsible turn?

Making waves

Prognosticating about the future of anything in volatile global contexts is prone to under- or overstatement, yet futures scenario thinking remains vital to understanding the myriad trajectories likely to emerge. The global tourism industry is an exemplar of vulnerability to unpredictable global events, and one whose economy has been hugely disrupted by the pandemic-induced slowdown[1]. The flip side has been a boon to the fight against climate change and decarbonisation, as travellers have been largely grounded and the environment has been given room to heal[2].

As the long shadow of the pandemic dissipates, and a return to unfettered travel returns, early signs point to a tourism rush as the summer of 2022 beckons in the Northern Hemisphere. Alas, after having furloughed or dismissed workers, and mothballed aircraft and hotel rooms, whether an undermanned and underprepared tourism industry will stave off the emergent chaos remains to be seen[3].

One part of the vast global tourism supply chain at the vanguard of the coronavirus pandemic was cruise tourism[4]. Censured for being an archetypal laboratory for the spread of contagion, the industry was the first to be shut down, bringing to a halt the armada of cruise ships usually traversing the globe.

Accordingly, I will aim to answer two questions about the status quo of cruise tourism:

  1. What does sustainability mean for the cruise industry, and how can this be achieved in light of the pandemic’s continuing impact on the industry?
  2. What is the future of cruise tourism?

In doing posing these questions, I am reminded by Friends of the Earth of the cruise sector’s and policymakers’ underwhelming commitment to sustainability, responsible tourism and ocean health:

For decades, the cruise industry’s business practices have put the environment, climate, and public health of coastal communities, passengers, crew, and coastal and marine ecosystems at risk. In addition, most governments have refused to enact strong regulations for the cruise industry, ignored the ongoing damage the industry does to communities and the environment, or have caved to industry pressure to develop their pristine resources for industry profit.

Sustainable cruise tourism: A shot across the bow

Like ‘sustainable tourism’, ‘sustainable cruise tourism’ is an oxymoron, saved only by slick marketing and public relations campaigns in online and glossy print advertisements[5]. What could be more unsustainable than hauling a cruise ship the size of several shopping malls across the high seas, while at the same time spewing out exhaust fumes and fouling pristine waterways?

Cruise holidays have become de rigueur, appealing to escapist fantasies of getting away from it all, so redolent in the everyday, and more so after the confinement of a long pandemic. Underlining its popularity is a business model that makes for easy and convenient consumption, at price points usually attractive to the budget-conscious mass tourist market[6]. Consider multiple destination itineraries, dawn-to-dusk activities, endless buffets, rolling entertainment, and the familiarity and security of containment on a vessel without having to jostle at airline check-in counters and customs and immigration checks.

The cruise tourism business model is a genius creation—registering companies in offshore tax havens, plying the high seas where little international policing is possible, employing crew from less-developed and low-labour-cost countries under dubious working conditions, and containing passenger spending aboard, and all the while convincing destinations that the potential to convert cruise tourists to actual staying visitors is plausible[7]. What is more, in not being land-bound, the ability to pull up anchor and move on to more favourable and profitable operating jurisdictions is advantageous in times of crisis, or where destination managers and their governments start demanding a bigger slice of the pie, and more genuinely sustainable operations.

But like many dominant industry sectors that employ thousands of people, and have the appearance of being able to boost economies, their powers of advocacy and lobbying effectiveness has helped cruise tourism stave off more effective regulation[8]. Early in the coronavirus pandemic, the sector’s opposition to calls for it to be responsible and accountable was noticeable. This mirrors the way it has tended to rebuff criticisms of the general business model (to be clear, I refer to large cruise liners that comprise the lion’s share of the cruise tourism market, as distinct from smaller expedition and river cruise operations).

If the cruise tourism sector wanted to pursue genuine sustainability, and de-prioritise profitability as its primary goal, curtailing shifts towards gigantism would be a starting point. Furthermore, calls for more efficient and decarbonised ships have largely fallen on deaf ears, with some emerging exceptions.

Furthermore, the cruise tourism sector cannot see itself as manifestly removed from the well-being of port communities and the impacts of its cruises on lagoon and ocean health, water quality and coastal and structural erosion, among others. These effects have been the bane of many of the world’s most popular cruise destinations—cruise companies profiting from port visits while giving little consideration to the longer-running and escalating social and environmental harms to destinations.

The essential premise of sustainability is to ensure that the planet is not compromised for generations to come. Consequently, whether the cruise industry can demonstrate that its operations are in accordance with genuine social and environmental sustainability intentions remains to be seen. This too is a persistent challenge for the wider tourism sector generally.

The future: Responsible cruise tourism or more of the same?

What is certain is that cruise tourism as a popular mode of travel will persist[9]. Cruise tourists are loyal in their consumer behaviour[10]. What is more, cruise-based holidays are generally attractive in terms of value-for-money and are amenable to family and social groups keen on holidaying together in a contained setting. Most important, cruise tourism can offer an ideal fillip to other tourist segments, while giving more remote and peripheral destinations access to hordes they would otherwise struggle to attract[11].

In recent times, however, and particularly prior to the coronavirus pandemic, the effects of overtourism in popular cruise destinations such as Barcelona, Venice, Dubrovnik and Miami dominated discussion about the cost of cruise tourism for destination communities’ social and ecological well-being[12].

As could be expected, the cruise tourism’s key advocacy body, the Cruise Lines Industry Association (CLIA), sings the praises of the sector: ‘CLIA cruise lines are leaders and innovators in responsible tourism and offer the best way for travelers to experience the world. . . . The cruise industry has always been a leader in responsible tourism, including its demonstrated commitment to environmental protection, being stewards of the places we visit, providing rewarding career opportunities, and above all, to the health and safety of guests and crew’[13].

Whether evidence supports such self-praise remains questionable[14]. For such evidence to emerge, cruise companies would need to provide researchers and investigators unfettered access to data[15]. Continuing to batten down the hatches, as it were, invites doubt about the industry’s overall sustainability credentials.

In its 2021 Cruise Ship Report Card, one of the sector’s earliest and most ardent critics, Friends of the Earth, ranks 18 major cruise lines and 202 cruise ships, showcasing key measures in the areas of sewage treatment, air pollution reduction, water quality compliance, transparency and criminal violations[16]. With very few exceptions, the sector continues to undershoot anything that might resemble responsible cruise tourism and a commitment to ocean health.

Problems with cruise ships are extensive. From the overall environmental impact of cruise ships to cruise ship pollution effects on marine life—the cruise industry needs to clean up its act. In order to have clean cruising, we need the cruise industry to stop contributing to the climate crisis, polluting our air and water, destroying marine ecology, oceans, beaches and coral reefs with waste, and hiding their emissions.[17]

When it comes to the health of the ocean and the well-being of communities that rely on them, such criticism does apply solely to cruise tourism. What it does demonstrate is that creating a sustainable cruise tourism will require transcending lip service and business as usual and beginning to put people and planet before profit. This is a wider malaise that is emblematic of tourism, and corporate business models more broadly[18].

Greenwashing and cruise tourism have become synonymous as the sector’s largest actors continue to pay little heed to the concerns of destination communities and environmental activists and instead prioritise shareholder value and return on investment[19]. The view of the ocean as a thoroughfare, a bottomless and resilient dumping ground and someone else’s problem, remains stubborn.

Early signs are that a post-pandemic recovery of cruise tourism is in the offing. Forward sales of cruise holidays are reported, destinations desperate for recovery are welcoming cruises with open arms and the itch to travel is resurgent. The future of cruise tourism in general is assured—its enormous popularity has proved resilient to crises—but whether it acknowledges and acts on the urgency of more responsible and sustainable operations remains in question. Until it does, the ocean’s health and the well-being of the humans and non-humans who rely on it remain in the balance.

A recent headline in the Washington Post blares, ‘Cruises Are Smashing Records despite COVID on Board: “Life Goes On”’[20]. Therein lies the enormity of the challenge. To make cruise tourism more sustainable and responsible, and overcome consumer ambivalence, is a vital task made more difficult by cruise industry hubris.

—–

[1] A.A. Lew, J.M. Cheer, M. Haywood, P. Brouder and N.B. Salazar, “Visions of Travel and Tourism after the Global COVID-19 Transformation of 2020,” Tourism Geographies 22, no. 3 (2020): 455–66,

https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2020.1770326; J.M. Cheer, D. Lapointe, M. Mostafanezhad and T. Jamal, “Global Tourism in Crisis: Conceptual Frameworks for Research and Practice,” Journal of Tourism Futures 7, no. 3 (2021): 278–94, https://doi.org/10.1108/JTF-09-2021-227.

[2] É. Crossley, “Ecological Grief Generates Desire for Environmental Healing in Tourism after COVID-19,” Tourism Geographies 22, no. 3 (2020): 536–46, https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2020.1759133.

[3] J. Buckley, “This Cruise Line Just Canceled Its Latest Ship Launch,” CNN, 9 June 2022, https://edition.cnn.com/travel/article/virgin-voyages-resilient-lady-cancelation/index.html; M. Townsend, “Minister Was Warned Staff Crisis Would Lead to ‘Inevitable’ Travel Chaos, Says Aviation Union,” The Guardian, 4 June 2022, https://www.theguardian.com/travel/2022/jun/04/minister-was-warned-staff-crisis-would-lead-to-inevitable-travel-chaos-says-aviation-union.

[4] A. Radic, R. Law, M. Lück, H. Kang, A. Ariza-Montes, J.M. Arjona-Fuentes and H. Han, “Apocalypse Now or Overreaction to Coronavirus: The Global Cruise Tourism Industry Crisis,” Sustainability 12, no. 17 (2020): 6968, https://doi.org/10.3390/su12176968; P. Pounder, “Responsible Leadership and COVID-19: Small Island Making Big Waves in Cruise Tourism,” International Journal of Public Leadership 17, no. 1 (2021): 118–31, https://doi.org/10.1108/IJPL-08-2020-0085.

[5] L. Renaud, “Reconsidering Global Mobility: Distancing from Mass Cruise Tourism in the Aftermath of COVID-19,” Tourism Geographies 22, no. 3 (2020): 679–89, https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2020.1762116.

[6] R. Dowling and C. Weeden, Cruise Ship Tourism (Egham, UK: CABI, 2017).

[7] J. Cheer, “Not Drowning, Waving: Where to for Cruise Tourism Post-COVID-19?,” Monash Lens, 21 April 2020, https://lens.monash.edu/@politics-society/2020/04/21/1380110/not-drowning-waving-where-to-for-cruise-tourism-post-covid-19.

[8] L. James, L.S. Olsen and A. Karlsdóttir, “Sustainability and Cruise Tourism in the Arctic: Stakeholder Perspectives from Ísafjörður, Iceland and Qaqortoq, Greenland,” Journal of Sustainable Tourism 28, no. 9 (2020): 1425–41, https://doi.org/10.1080/09669582.2020.1745213.

[9] B. Rink, “Liminality at-Sea: Cruises to Nowhere and Their Metaworlds,” Tourism Geographies 22, no. 2 (2020): 392–412,” https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2019.1637450.

[10] J.I. Castillo-Manzano, M. Castro-Nuño and R. Pozo-Barajas, “Addicted to Cruises? Key Drivers of Cruise Ship Loyalty Behavior through an e-WOM Approach,” International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management. 34, no. 1 (2022): 361–81,

https://doi.org/10.1108/IJCHM-05-2021-0642.

[11] J. Connell, “Blue Ocean Tourism in Asia and the Pacific: Trends and Directions before the Coronavirus Crisis,” ADBI Working Paper Series, no. 1204 (2020), https://www.econstor.eu/handle/10419/238561.

[12] Milano, C., Cheer, J. M., & Novelli, M. (Eds.). (2019). Overtourism: Excesses, discontents and measures in travel and tourism. CABI.

[13] Cruise Line Industry Association (CLIA), “About CLIA,” 2022, https://cruising.org/en/about-the-industry/about-clia.

[14] N. Leposa, “Problematic Blue Growth: A Thematic Synthesis of Social Sustainability Problems Related to Growth in the Marine and Coastal Tourism,” Sustainability Science 15, no. 4 (2020): 1233–44, https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s11625-020-00796-9.

[15] A. Papathanassis, “Current Issues in Cruise Tourism: Deconstructing the 6th International Cruise Conference,” Current Issues in Tourism 23, no. 14 (2020): 1711–17, https://doi.org/10.1080/13683500.2019.1654984.

[16] Friends of the Earth, “Cruise Ship Report Card, 2021,” https://foe.org/cruise-report-card/.

[17] Friends of the Earth, “What Would a Clean Cruising Industry Look Like?,” 15 September 2020, https://foe.org/blog/what-would-a-clean-cruising-industry-look-like/.

[18] C.M. Hall, “Constructing Sustainable Tourism Development: The 2030 Agenda and the Managerial Ecology of Sustainable Tourism,” Journal of Sustainable Tourism 27, no. 7 (2019): 1044–60, https://doi.org/10.1080/09669582.2018.1560456.

[19] E. Guaraldo, “Resisting the Tourist Gaze. Art Activism against Cruise Ship Extractivism in the Venice Lagoon,” Lagoonscapes 1, no. 1 (2021): 101–24,

https://edizionicafoscari.unive.it/media/pdf/article/the-venice-journal-of-environmental-humanities/2021/1/art-10.30687-LGSP–2021-01-008_tliCK9R.pdf.

[20] H. Sampson, “Cruises Are Smashing Records despite Covid on Board: ‘Life Goes On,’” Washington Post, 10 May 2022, https://www.washingtonpost.com/travel/2022/05/10/cruises-booking-covid-outbreaks/.

Close
back to top