Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: Le Royaume-Uni rejoint le groupe de haut niveau pour une économie océanique durable Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel lance un rapport sur le tourisme durable et les perspectives d'experts qui l'accompagnent Arrow Featured: Déclaration conjointe des dirigeants du panel sur l'océan à la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l'océan Arrow
Essai d'expert
Croisières : l'avenir du tourisme de croisière

Que signifie la durabilité pour l'industrie des croisières et comment y parvenir compte tenu de l'impact que la pandémie continue d'avoir sur l'industrie des croisières ? Quel avenir pour le tourisme de croisière ?

Joseph M. Cheer, PhD
Joseph M. Cheer, Ph.D.
Co-rédacteur en chef, Tourism Geographies, et professeur de tourisme durable, Centre de recherche sur le tourisme, Université de Wakayama, Japon

Tourisme de croisière : Business as usual ou virage responsable ?

Faire des vagues

Pronostiquer sur l'avenir de quoi que ce soit dans des contextes mondiaux instables est sujet à sous-estimation ou surestimation, mais la réflexion sur les scénarios futurs reste essentielle pour comprendre la myriade de trajectoires susceptibles d'émerger. L'industrie mondiale du tourisme est un exemple de vulnérabilité aux événements mondiaux imprévisibles, et dont l'économie a été extrêmement perturbée par le ralentissement induit par la pandémie[1]. Le revers de la médaille a été une aubaine pour la lutte contre le changement climatique et la décarbonisation, car les voyageurs ont été en grande partie cloués au sol et l'environnement a eu la possibilité de guérir[2].

Alors que l'ombre de la pandémie se dissipe et que le retour aux voyages sans entraves revient, les premiers signes indiquent une ruée vers le tourisme à l'approche de l'été 2022 dans l'hémisphère Nord. Hélas, après avoir mis en congé ou licencié des travailleurs et mis sous cocon des avions et des chambres d'hôtel, il reste à voir si une industrie du tourisme sous-équipée et sous-préparée conjurera le chaos émergent.[3].

Une partie de la vaste chaîne d'approvisionnement mondiale du tourisme à l'avant-garde de la pandémie de coronavirus était le tourisme de croisière[4]. Censurée comme étant un laboratoire par excellence de la propagation de la contagion, l'industrie a été la première à être mise à l'arrêt, mettant à l'arrêt l'armada de paquebots de croisière parcourant habituellement le globe.

En conséquence, je tenterai de répondre à deux questions sur le statu quo du tourisme de croisière :

  1. Que signifie la durabilité pour l'industrie des croisières et comment y parvenir compte tenu de l'impact continu de la pandémie sur l'industrie ?
  2. Quel avenir pour le tourisme de croisière ?

En posant ces questions, les Amis de la Terre me rappellent l'engagement décevant du secteur des croisières et des décideurs politiques envers la durabilité, le tourisme responsable et la santé des océans :

Pendant des décennies, les pratiques commerciales de l'industrie des croisières ont mis en danger l'environnement, le climat et la santé publique des communautés côtières, des passagers, de l'équipage et des écosystèmes côtiers et marins. En outre, la plupart des gouvernements ont refusé de promulguer des réglementations strictes pour l'industrie des croisières, ont ignoré les dommages continus que l'industrie cause aux communautés et à l'environnement, ou ont cédé à la pression de l'industrie pour développer leurs ressources vierges au profit de l'industrie.

Tourisme de croisière durable : un coup de crosse

Comme le « tourisme durable », le « tourisme de croisière durable » est un oxymore, sauvé uniquement par des campagnes de marketing et de relations publiques astucieuses dans des publicités en ligne et sur papier glacé.[5]. Quoi de plus insoutenable que de transporter un bateau de croisière de la taille de plusieurs centres commerciaux à travers la haute mer, tout en crachant des gaz d'échappement et encrassant des voies navigables vierges ?

Les vacances en croisière sont devenues de rigueur, faisant appel aux fantasmes d'évasion d'évasion, si odorants du quotidien, et plus encore après le confinement d'une longue pandémie. Sa popularité est soulignée par un modèle commercial qui permet une consommation facile et pratique, à des prix généralement attractifs pour le marché du tourisme de masse soucieux de son budget.[6]. Envisagez plusieurs itinéraires de destination, des activités de l'aube au crépuscule, des buffets sans fin, des divertissements roulants, ainsi que la familiarité et la sécurité du confinement sur un navire sans avoir à vous bousculer aux comptoirs d'enregistrement des compagnies aériennes et aux contrôles des douanes et de l'immigration.

Le modèle commercial du tourisme de croisière est une création géniale : enregistrement d'entreprises dans des paradis fiscaux offshore, navigation en haute mer où peu de services de police internationaux sont possibles, emploi d'équipages de pays moins développés et à faible coût de main-d'œuvre dans des conditions de travail douteuses, et maîtrise des dépenses des passagers. à bord, tout en convainquant les destinations que le potentiel de conversion des croisiéristes en véritables visiteurs en séjour est plausible[7]. De plus, en n'étant pas lié à la terre, la capacité de lever l'ancre et de passer à des juridictions d'exploitation plus favorables et plus rentables est avantageuse en temps de crise, ou lorsque les gestionnaires de destination et leurs gouvernements commencent à exiger une plus grande part du gâteau, et des opérations plus véritablement durables.

Mais comme de nombreux secteurs industriels dominants qui emploient des milliers de personnes et semblent pouvoir stimuler les économies, leurs pouvoirs de plaidoyer et leur efficacité en matière de lobbying ont aidé le tourisme de croisière à éviter une réglementation plus efficace.[8]. Au début de la pandémie de coronavirus, l'opposition du secteur aux appels à la responsabilité et à l'obligation de rendre compte était perceptible. Cela reflète la façon dont il a eu tendance à repousser les critiques du modèle commercial général (pour être clair, je fais référence aux grands paquebots de croisière qui constituent la part du lion du marché du tourisme de croisière, par opposition aux petites opérations d'expédition et de croisière fluviale).

Si le secteur du tourisme de croisière voulait poursuivre une véritable durabilité et ne pas donner la priorité à la rentabilité comme objectif principal, freiner les changements vers le gigantisme serait un point de départ. En outre, les appels à des navires plus efficaces et décarbonés sont largement tombés dans l'oreille d'un sourd, à quelques exceptions près.

De plus, le secteur du tourisme de croisière ne peut pas se considérer comme manifestement éloigné du bien-être des communautés portuaires et des impacts de ses croisières sur la santé des lagons et des océans, la qualité de l'eau et l'érosion côtière et structurelle, entre autres. Ces effets ont été le fléau de bon nombre des destinations de croisière les plus populaires au monde - les compagnies de croisière profitant des visites portuaires tout en accordant peu d'attention aux dommages sociaux et environnementaux à plus long terme et croissants pour les destinations.

La prémisse essentielle de la durabilité est de veiller à ce que la planète ne soit pas compromise pour les générations à venir. Par conséquent, il reste à voir si l'industrie des croisières peut démontrer que ses opérations sont conformes à de véritables intentions de durabilité sociale et environnementale. Cela aussi est un défi persistant pour le secteur du tourisme au sens large en général.

L'avenir : tourisme de croisière responsable ou autre ?

Ce qui est certain, c'est que le tourisme de croisière en tant que mode de déplacement populaire persistera[9]. Les croisiéristes sont fidèles à leur comportement de consommation[10]. De plus, les vacances en croisière sont généralement attractives en termes de rapport qualité-prix et s'adressent à des groupes familiaux et sociaux désireux de passer des vacances ensemble dans un cadre confiné. Plus important encore, le tourisme de croisière peut offrir un coup de pouce idéal à d'autres segments touristiques, tout en donnant aux destinations plus éloignées et périphériques un accès à des hordes qu'elles auraient autrement du mal à attirer.[11].

Ces derniers temps, cependant, et en particulier avant la pandémie de coronavirus, les effets du surtourisme dans les destinations de croisière populaires telles que Barcelone, Venise, Dubrovnik et Miami ont dominé les discussions sur le coût du tourisme de croisière pour le bien-être social et écologique des communautés de destination.[12].

Comme on pouvait s'y attendre, le principal organisme de défense du tourisme de croisière, la Cruise Lines Industry Association (CLIA), chante les louanges du secteur : « Les compagnies de croisière CLIA sont des leaders et des innovateurs en matière de tourisme responsable et offrent le meilleur moyen pour les voyageurs de découvrir le monde. . . . . L'industrie des croisières a toujours été un chef de file du tourisme responsable, y compris son engagement démontré envers la protection de l'environnement, en étant les gardiens des lieux que nous visitons, en offrant des opportunités de carrière enrichissantes et, surtout, en faveur de la santé et de la sécurité des invités et de l'équipage.[13].

Que les preuves soutiennent une telle auto-éloge reste discutable[14]. Pour que de telles preuves émergent, les compagnies de croisières devraient fournir aux chercheurs et aux enquêteurs un accès sans entrave aux données[15]. Continuer à fermer les écoutilles, pour ainsi dire, invite à douter des références globales de l'industrie en matière de durabilité.

Dans son rapport sur les navires de croisière 2021, l'un des premiers et des plus ardents critiques du secteur, Friends of the Earth, classe 18 grandes compagnies de croisières et 202 navires de croisière, présentant des mesures clés dans les domaines du traitement des eaux usées, de la réduction de la pollution atmosphérique et de la conformité à la qualité de l'eau. , transparence et infractions pénales[16]. À de très rares exceptions près, le secteur continue de sous-estimer tout ce qui pourrait ressembler à un tourisme de croisière responsable et à un engagement envers la santé des océans.

Les problèmes avec les navires de croisière sont considérables. De l'impact environnemental global des navires de croisière aux effets de la pollution des navires de croisière sur la vie marine, l'industrie des croisières doit faire le ménage. Afin d'avoir une croisière propre, nous avons besoin que l'industrie des croisières cesse de contribuer à la crise climatique, polluant notre air et notre eau, détruisant l'écologie marine, les océans, les plages et les récifs coralliens avec des déchets et cachant leurs émissions.[17]

Lorsqu'il s'agit de la santé de l'océan et du bien-être des communautés qui en dépendent, ces critiques ne s'appliquent qu'au tourisme de croisière. Ce qu'il démontre, c'est que la création d'un tourisme de croisière durable nécessitera de transcender les paroles et les affaires comme d'habitude et de commencer à faire passer les gens et la planète avant le profit. Il s'agit d'un malaise plus large qui est emblématique du tourisme, et plus largement des modèles d'affaires des entreprises[18].

L'écoblanchiment et le tourisme de croisière sont devenus synonymes alors que les plus grands acteurs du secteur continuent de ne prêter que peu d'attention aux préoccupations des communautés de destination et des militants écologistes et privilégient plutôt la valeur actionnariale et le retour sur investissement.[19]. La vision de l'océan comme voie de passage, dépotoir sans fond et résilient et problème de quelqu'un d'autre, reste tenace.

Les premiers signes indiquent qu'une reprise post-pandémique du tourisme de croisière est en vue. Des ventes à terme de vacances en croisière sont signalées, des destinations désespérées pour la reprise accueillent les croisières à bras ouverts et l'envie de voyager refait surface. L'avenir du tourisme de croisière en général est assuré - son énorme popularité s'est avérée résistante aux crises - mais il reste à savoir s'il reconnaît et agit en fonction de l'urgence d'opérations plus responsables et durables. Jusqu'à ce qu'il le fasse, la santé de l'océan et le bien-être des humains et des non-humains qui en dépendent restent en jeu.

Un titre récent dans le Poste de Washington hurle, "Les croisières battent des records malgré le COVID à bord : "La vie continue""[20]. C'est là que réside l'énormité du défi. Rendre le tourisme de croisière plus durable et responsable, et surmonter l'ambivalence des consommateurs, est une tâche vitale rendue plus difficile par l'orgueil de l'industrie des croisières.

—–

[1] AA Lew, JM Cheer, M. Haywood, P. Brouder et NB Salazar, « Visions des voyages et du tourisme après la transformation mondiale de la COVID-19 en 2020 », Géographies touristiques 22, non. 3 (2020): 455–66,

https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2020.1770326 ; JM Cheer, D. Lapointe, M. Mostafanezhad et T. Jamal, « Tourisme mondial en crise : cadres conceptuels pour la recherche et la pratique », Journal de l'avenir du tourisme 7, non. 3 (2021) : 278–94, https://doi.org/10.1108/JTF-09-2021-227.

[2] É. Crossley, "Le chagrin écologique génère le désir de guérison environnementale dans le tourisme après COVID-19", Géographies touristiques 22, non. 3 (2020) : 536–46, https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2020.1759133.

[3] J. Buckley, « Cette compagnie de croisière vient d'annuler son dernier lancement de navire », CNN, 9 juin 2022, https://edition.cnn.com/travel/article/virgin-voyages-resilient-lady-cancelation/index.html ; M. Townsend, "Le ministre a été averti que la crise du personnel entraînerait un chaos de voyage" inévitable ", déclare le syndicat de l'aviation," Le gardien, 4 juin 2022, https://www.theguardian.com/travel/2022/jun/04/minister-was-warned-staff-crisis-would-lead-to-inevitable-travel-chaos-says-aviation-union .

[4] A. Radic, R. Law, M. Lück, H. Kang, A. Ariza-Montes, JM Arjona-Fuentes et H. Han, « Apocalypse Now ou réaction excessive au coronavirus : la crise mondiale de l'industrie du tourisme de croisière », Durabilité 12, non. 17 (2020) : 6968, https://doi.org/10.3390/su12176968 ; P. Pounder, « Leadership responsable et COVID-19 : les petites îles font de grandes vagues dans le tourisme de croisière », Revue internationale du leadership public 17, non. 1 (2021) : 118–31, https://doi.org/10.1108/IJPL-08-2020-0085.

[5] L. Renaud, « Reconsidérer la mobilité mondiale : s'éloigner du tourisme de croisière de masse au lendemain de la COVID-19 », Géographies touristiques 22, non. 3 (2020) : 679–89, https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2020.1762116.

[6] R. Dowling et C. Weeden, Tourisme de croisière (Egham, Royaume-Uni : CABI, 2017).

[7] J. Cheer, "Pas de noyade, ondulation : où aller pour le tourisme de croisière après la COVID-19 ?" Lentille de Monash, 21 avril 2020, https://lens.monash.edu/@politics-society/2020/04/21/1380110/not-drowning-waving-where-to-for-cruise-tourism-post-covid-19.

[8] L. James, LS Olsen et A. Karlsdóttir, "Durabilité et tourisme de croisière dans l'Arctique : perspectives des parties prenantes d'Ísafjörður, Islande et Qaqortoq, Groenland", Journal du tourisme durable 28, non. 9 (2020) : 1425–41, https://doi.org/10.1080/09669582.2020.1745213.

[9] B. Rink, "Liminality at-Sea: Cruises to Nowhere and Their Metaworlds," Géographies touristiques 22, non. 2 (2020): 392–412 », https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2019.1637450.

[10] JI Castillo-Manzano, M. Castro-Nuño et R. Pozo-Barajas, « Accro aux croisières ? Principaux moteurs du comportement de fidélité des navires de croisière grâce à une approche e-WOM », Journal international de la gestion hôtelière contemporaine. 34, non. 1 (2022): 361-81,

https://doi.org/10.1108/IJCHM-05-2021-0642.

[11] J. Connell, « Blue Ocean Tourism in Asia and the Pacific: Trends and Directions before the Coronavirus Crisis », ADBI Working Paper Series, no. 1204 (2020), https://www.econstor.eu/handle/10419/238561.

[12] Milano, C., Cheer, JM et Novelli, M. (Eds.). (2019). Surtourisme : excès, mécontentements et mesures dans les voyages et le tourisme. CABI.

[13] Cruise Line Industry Association (CLIA), « À propos de la CLIA », 2022, https://cruising.org/en/about-the-industry/about-clia.

[14] N. Leposa, « Croissance bleue problématique : une synthèse thématique des problèmes de durabilité sociale liés à la croissance du tourisme marin et côtier », Sciences de la durabilité 15, non. 4 (2020) : 1233–44, https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s11625-020-00796-9.

[15] A. Papathanassis, « Enjeux actuels du tourisme de croisière : déconstruire la 6e Conférence internationale sur la croisière », Problèmes actuels du tourisme 23, non. 14 (2020) : 1711–17, https://doi.org/10.1080/13683500.2019.1654984.

[16] Amis de la Terre, "Cruise Ship Report Card, 2021", https://foe.org/cruise-report-card/.

[17] Amis de la Terre, "À quoi ressemblerait une industrie de la croisière propre ?", 15 septembre 2020, https://foe.org/blog/what-would-a-clean-cruising-industry-look-like/.

[18] CM Hall, "Construire un développement touristique durable : l'Agenda 2030 et l'écologie managériale du tourisme durable", Journal du tourisme durable 27, non. 7 (2019) : 1044–60, https://doi.org/10.1080/09669582.2018.1560456.

[19] E. Guaraldo, « Résister au regard touristique. Activisme artistique contre l'extractivisme des navires de croisière dans la lagune de Venise », Paysages lagunaires 1, non. 1 (2021): 101–24,

https://edizionicafoscari.unive.it/media/pdf/article/the-venice-journal-of-environmental-humanities/2021/1/art-10.30687-LGSP–2021-01-008_tliCK9R.pdf.

[20] H. Sampson, "Les croisières battent des records malgré le Covid à bord : 'La vie continue'" Poste de Washington, 10 mai 2022, https://www.washingtonpost.com/travel/2022/05/10/cruises-booking-covid-outbreaks/.

Close
back to top

Expert Essay
Cruises: The Future of Cruise Tourism

What does sustainability mean for the cruise industry and how can this be achieved in light of the impact the pandemic continues to have on the cruise industry? What is the future of cruise tourism?

Joseph M. Cheer, PhD
Joseph M. Cheer, PhD
Co-editor-in-Chief, Tourism Geographies, and Professor of Sustainable Tourism, Center for Tourism Research, Wakayama University, Japan

Cruise tourism: Business as usual or a responsible turn?

Making waves

Prognosticating about the future of anything in volatile global contexts is prone to under- or overstatement, yet futures scenario thinking remains vital to understanding the myriad trajectories likely to emerge. The global tourism industry is an exemplar of vulnerability to unpredictable global events, and one whose economy has been hugely disrupted by the pandemic-induced slowdown[1]. The flip side has been a boon to the fight against climate change and decarbonisation, as travellers have been largely grounded and the environment has been given room to heal[2].

As the long shadow of the pandemic dissipates, and a return to unfettered travel returns, early signs point to a tourism rush as the summer of 2022 beckons in the Northern Hemisphere. Alas, after having furloughed or dismissed workers, and mothballed aircraft and hotel rooms, whether an undermanned and underprepared tourism industry will stave off the emergent chaos remains to be seen[3].

One part of the vast global tourism supply chain at the vanguard of the coronavirus pandemic was cruise tourism[4]. Censured for being an archetypal laboratory for the spread of contagion, the industry was the first to be shut down, bringing to a halt the armada of cruise ships usually traversing the globe.

Accordingly, I will aim to answer two questions about the status quo of cruise tourism:

  1. What does sustainability mean for the cruise industry, and how can this be achieved in light of the pandemic’s continuing impact on the industry?
  2. What is the future of cruise tourism?

In doing posing these questions, I am reminded by Friends of the Earth of the cruise sector’s and policymakers’ underwhelming commitment to sustainability, responsible tourism and ocean health:

For decades, the cruise industry’s business practices have put the environment, climate, and public health of coastal communities, passengers, crew, and coastal and marine ecosystems at risk. In addition, most governments have refused to enact strong regulations for the cruise industry, ignored the ongoing damage the industry does to communities and the environment, or have caved to industry pressure to develop their pristine resources for industry profit.

Sustainable cruise tourism: A shot across the bow

Like ‘sustainable tourism’, ‘sustainable cruise tourism’ is an oxymoron, saved only by slick marketing and public relations campaigns in online and glossy print advertisements[5]. What could be more unsustainable than hauling a cruise ship the size of several shopping malls across the high seas, while at the same time spewing out exhaust fumes and fouling pristine waterways?

Cruise holidays have become de rigueur, appealing to escapist fantasies of getting away from it all, so redolent in the everyday, and more so after the confinement of a long pandemic. Underlining its popularity is a business model that makes for easy and convenient consumption, at price points usually attractive to the budget-conscious mass tourist market[6]. Consider multiple destination itineraries, dawn-to-dusk activities, endless buffets, rolling entertainment, and the familiarity and security of containment on a vessel without having to jostle at airline check-in counters and customs and immigration checks.

The cruise tourism business model is a genius creation—registering companies in offshore tax havens, plying the high seas where little international policing is possible, employing crew from less-developed and low-labour-cost countries under dubious working conditions, and containing passenger spending aboard, and all the while convincing destinations that the potential to convert cruise tourists to actual staying visitors is plausible[7]. What is more, in not being land-bound, the ability to pull up anchor and move on to more favourable and profitable operating jurisdictions is advantageous in times of crisis, or where destination managers and their governments start demanding a bigger slice of the pie, and more genuinely sustainable operations.

But like many dominant industry sectors that employ thousands of people, and have the appearance of being able to boost economies, their powers of advocacy and lobbying effectiveness has helped cruise tourism stave off more effective regulation[8]. Early in the coronavirus pandemic, the sector’s opposition to calls for it to be responsible and accountable was noticeable. This mirrors the way it has tended to rebuff criticisms of the general business model (to be clear, I refer to large cruise liners that comprise the lion’s share of the cruise tourism market, as distinct from smaller expedition and river cruise operations).

If the cruise tourism sector wanted to pursue genuine sustainability, and de-prioritise profitability as its primary goal, curtailing shifts towards gigantism would be a starting point. Furthermore, calls for more efficient and decarbonised ships have largely fallen on deaf ears, with some emerging exceptions.

Furthermore, the cruise tourism sector cannot see itself as manifestly removed from the well-being of port communities and the impacts of its cruises on lagoon and ocean health, water quality and coastal and structural erosion, among others. These effects have been the bane of many of the world’s most popular cruise destinations—cruise companies profiting from port visits while giving little consideration to the longer-running and escalating social and environmental harms to destinations.

The essential premise of sustainability is to ensure that the planet is not compromised for generations to come. Consequently, whether the cruise industry can demonstrate that its operations are in accordance with genuine social and environmental sustainability intentions remains to be seen. This too is a persistent challenge for the wider tourism sector generally.

The future: Responsible cruise tourism or more of the same?

What is certain is that cruise tourism as a popular mode of travel will persist[9]. Cruise tourists are loyal in their consumer behaviour[10]. What is more, cruise-based holidays are generally attractive in terms of value-for-money and are amenable to family and social groups keen on holidaying together in a contained setting. Most important, cruise tourism can offer an ideal fillip to other tourist segments, while giving more remote and peripheral destinations access to hordes they would otherwise struggle to attract[11].

In recent times, however, and particularly prior to the coronavirus pandemic, the effects of overtourism in popular cruise destinations such as Barcelona, Venice, Dubrovnik and Miami dominated discussion about the cost of cruise tourism for destination communities’ social and ecological well-being[12].

As could be expected, the cruise tourism’s key advocacy body, the Cruise Lines Industry Association (CLIA), sings the praises of the sector: ‘CLIA cruise lines are leaders and innovators in responsible tourism and offer the best way for travelers to experience the world. . . . The cruise industry has always been a leader in responsible tourism, including its demonstrated commitment to environmental protection, being stewards of the places we visit, providing rewarding career opportunities, and above all, to the health and safety of guests and crew’[13].

Whether evidence supports such self-praise remains questionable[14]. For such evidence to emerge, cruise companies would need to provide researchers and investigators unfettered access to data[15]. Continuing to batten down the hatches, as it were, invites doubt about the industry’s overall sustainability credentials.

In its 2021 Cruise Ship Report Card, one of the sector’s earliest and most ardent critics, Friends of the Earth, ranks 18 major cruise lines and 202 cruise ships, showcasing key measures in the areas of sewage treatment, air pollution reduction, water quality compliance, transparency and criminal violations[16]. With very few exceptions, the sector continues to undershoot anything that might resemble responsible cruise tourism and a commitment to ocean health.

Problems with cruise ships are extensive. From the overall environmental impact of cruise ships to cruise ship pollution effects on marine life—the cruise industry needs to clean up its act. In order to have clean cruising, we need the cruise industry to stop contributing to the climate crisis, polluting our air and water, destroying marine ecology, oceans, beaches and coral reefs with waste, and hiding their emissions.[17]

When it comes to the health of the ocean and the well-being of communities that rely on them, such criticism does apply solely to cruise tourism. What it does demonstrate is that creating a sustainable cruise tourism will require transcending lip service and business as usual and beginning to put people and planet before profit. This is a wider malaise that is emblematic of tourism, and corporate business models more broadly[18].

Greenwashing and cruise tourism have become synonymous as the sector’s largest actors continue to pay little heed to the concerns of destination communities and environmental activists and instead prioritise shareholder value and return on investment[19]. The view of the ocean as a thoroughfare, a bottomless and resilient dumping ground and someone else’s problem, remains stubborn.

Early signs are that a post-pandemic recovery of cruise tourism is in the offing. Forward sales of cruise holidays are reported, destinations desperate for recovery are welcoming cruises with open arms and the itch to travel is resurgent. The future of cruise tourism in general is assured—its enormous popularity has proved resilient to crises—but whether it acknowledges and acts on the urgency of more responsible and sustainable operations remains in question. Until it does, the ocean’s health and the well-being of the humans and non-humans who rely on it remain in the balance.

A recent headline in the Washington Post blares, ‘Cruises Are Smashing Records despite COVID on Board: “Life Goes On”’[20]. Therein lies the enormity of the challenge. To make cruise tourism more sustainable and responsible, and overcome consumer ambivalence, is a vital task made more difficult by cruise industry hubris.

—–

[1] A.A. Lew, J.M. Cheer, M. Haywood, P. Brouder and N.B. Salazar, “Visions of Travel and Tourism after the Global COVID-19 Transformation of 2020,” Tourism Geographies 22, no. 3 (2020): 455–66,

https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2020.1770326; J.M. Cheer, D. Lapointe, M. Mostafanezhad and T. Jamal, “Global Tourism in Crisis: Conceptual Frameworks for Research and Practice,” Journal of Tourism Futures 7, no. 3 (2021): 278–94, https://doi.org/10.1108/JTF-09-2021-227.

[2] É. Crossley, “Ecological Grief Generates Desire for Environmental Healing in Tourism after COVID-19,” Tourism Geographies 22, no. 3 (2020): 536–46, https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2020.1759133.

[3] J. Buckley, “This Cruise Line Just Canceled Its Latest Ship Launch,” CNN, 9 June 2022, https://edition.cnn.com/travel/article/virgin-voyages-resilient-lady-cancelation/index.html; M. Townsend, “Minister Was Warned Staff Crisis Would Lead to ‘Inevitable’ Travel Chaos, Says Aviation Union,” The Guardian, 4 June 2022, https://www.theguardian.com/travel/2022/jun/04/minister-was-warned-staff-crisis-would-lead-to-inevitable-travel-chaos-says-aviation-union.

[4] A. Radic, R. Law, M. Lück, H. Kang, A. Ariza-Montes, J.M. Arjona-Fuentes and H. Han, “Apocalypse Now or Overreaction to Coronavirus: The Global Cruise Tourism Industry Crisis,” Sustainability 12, no. 17 (2020): 6968, https://doi.org/10.3390/su12176968; P. Pounder, “Responsible Leadership and COVID-19: Small Island Making Big Waves in Cruise Tourism,” International Journal of Public Leadership 17, no. 1 (2021): 118–31, https://doi.org/10.1108/IJPL-08-2020-0085.

[5] L. Renaud, “Reconsidering Global Mobility: Distancing from Mass Cruise Tourism in the Aftermath of COVID-19,” Tourism Geographies 22, no. 3 (2020): 679–89, https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2020.1762116.

[6] R. Dowling and C. Weeden, Cruise Ship Tourism (Egham, UK: CABI, 2017).

[7] J. Cheer, “Not Drowning, Waving: Where to for Cruise Tourism Post-COVID-19?,” Monash Lens, 21 April 2020, https://lens.monash.edu/@politics-society/2020/04/21/1380110/not-drowning-waving-where-to-for-cruise-tourism-post-covid-19.

[8] L. James, L.S. Olsen and A. Karlsdóttir, “Sustainability and Cruise Tourism in the Arctic: Stakeholder Perspectives from Ísafjörður, Iceland and Qaqortoq, Greenland,” Journal of Sustainable Tourism 28, no. 9 (2020): 1425–41, https://doi.org/10.1080/09669582.2020.1745213.

[9] B. Rink, “Liminality at-Sea: Cruises to Nowhere and Their Metaworlds,” Tourism Geographies 22, no. 2 (2020): 392–412,” https://doi.org/10.1080/14616688.2019.1637450.

[10] J.I. Castillo-Manzano, M. Castro-Nuño and R. Pozo-Barajas, “Addicted to Cruises? Key Drivers of Cruise Ship Loyalty Behavior through an e-WOM Approach,” International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management. 34, no. 1 (2022): 361–81,

https://doi.org/10.1108/IJCHM-05-2021-0642.

[11] J. Connell, “Blue Ocean Tourism in Asia and the Pacific: Trends and Directions before the Coronavirus Crisis,” ADBI Working Paper Series, no. 1204 (2020), https://www.econstor.eu/handle/10419/238561.

[12] Milano, C., Cheer, J. M., & Novelli, M. (Eds.). (2019). Overtourism: Excesses, discontents and measures in travel and tourism. CABI.

[13] Cruise Line Industry Association (CLIA), “About CLIA,” 2022, https://cruising.org/en/about-the-industry/about-clia.

[14] N. Leposa, “Problematic Blue Growth: A Thematic Synthesis of Social Sustainability Problems Related to Growth in the Marine and Coastal Tourism,” Sustainability Science 15, no. 4 (2020): 1233–44, https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s11625-020-00796-9.

[15] A. Papathanassis, “Current Issues in Cruise Tourism: Deconstructing the 6th International Cruise Conference,” Current Issues in Tourism 23, no. 14 (2020): 1711–17, https://doi.org/10.1080/13683500.2019.1654984.

[16] Friends of the Earth, “Cruise Ship Report Card, 2021,” https://foe.org/cruise-report-card/.

[17] Friends of the Earth, “What Would a Clean Cruising Industry Look Like?,” 15 September 2020, https://foe.org/blog/what-would-a-clean-cruising-industry-look-like/.

[18] C.M. Hall, “Constructing Sustainable Tourism Development: The 2030 Agenda and the Managerial Ecology of Sustainable Tourism,” Journal of Sustainable Tourism 27, no. 7 (2019): 1044–60, https://doi.org/10.1080/09669582.2018.1560456.

[19] E. Guaraldo, “Resisting the Tourist Gaze. Art Activism against Cruise Ship Extractivism in the Venice Lagoon,” Lagoonscapes 1, no. 1 (2021): 101–24,

https://edizionicafoscari.unive.it/media/pdf/article/the-venice-journal-of-environmental-humanities/2021/1/art-10.30687-LGSP–2021-01-008_tliCK9R.pdf.

[20] H. Sampson, “Cruises Are Smashing Records despite Covid on Board: ‘Life Goes On,’” Washington Post, 10 May 2022, https://www.washingtonpost.com/travel/2022/05/10/cruises-booking-covid-outbreaks/.

Close
back to top