可持续海洋经济高级别小组在墨西哥城召开第 25 次会员代表会议

2022 年 5 月 9 日
资料来源:海洋小组
新闻稿
download

墨西哥城,墨西哥(2022 年 5 月 9 日)—— 来自可持续海洋经济高级别小组(海洋小组)16 个成员国的代表今天齐聚一堂,参加了第 25 次成员代表会议。

海洋专家组由挪威首相和帕劳总统共同主持,还包括澳大利亚、加拿大、智利、斐济、法国、加纳、印度尼西亚、牙买加、日本、肯尼亚、墨西哥、纳米比亚、葡萄牙和美国美国的。这 16 个国家合计约占世界海岸线的 46%、42% 的经济专属区、25% 的渔业和 20% 的船队。海洋小组得到联合国秘书长海洋问题特使的支持。基于对改善海洋状况的共同认识,海洋专家组各国致力于制定国家可持续海洋计划,以可持续管理国家管辖范围内的海洋区域 100%。

本次会议标志着自 COVID-19 大流行开始以来的第一次面对面的代表会议,也是 2022 年的关键点,被誉为海洋超级年。继小组成员主办的两场活动之后——今年 4 月中旬在帕劳科罗尔举行的我们的海洋会议和将于 6 月下旬在葡萄牙里斯本举行的联合国海洋会议之前——代表会议提供了一个重要的机会来思考在海洋行动议程方面取得的进展以及加快交付或确保持续势头的机会。

关于墨西哥参与该小组,墨西哥总统安德烈斯·曼努埃尔·洛佩斯·奥夫拉多尔明确表示,“墨西哥的转型为我们的人民带来了普遍的福祉,因此,我们国家必须利用资源以最尊重和负责任的方式保护我们的海洋和海岸。作为海洋小组的一员,我们有机会为那些依赖海洋健康的社区实现社会正义,并有一个非常明确的框架来帮助我们保护我们的自然资源。”

挪威首相乔纳斯·加尔·斯托尔(Jonas Gahr Støre)和海洋小组联合主席对有机会会面表示欢迎,并表示:“小组内的奉献与合作让我感到鼓舞,为实现可持续管理的海洋创造动力。我们的目标是创造一个未来,让我们所有人都能更好地应对气候变化和粮食安全等全球挑战,并确定人类和地球都受益的基于海洋的解决方案。”

帕劳总统兼海洋委员会联合主席 Surangel Whipps Jr. 在评论会议时说:“在帕劳,有一句谚语说,‘为了到达目的地,我们都必须朝着同一个方向划桨’。在海洋小组会议上,我们被提醒只有通过持续合作,我们才能在实现真正可持续和公正的海洋经济的共同目标方面取得更大进展,有效保护、可持续生产和公平繁荣齐头并进。 ”

墨西哥外交部长马塞洛·埃布拉德 (Marcelo Ebrard) 庆祝这次会议,他任命“墨西哥外交政策的当前愿景将达成一项全球共同协议以实现海洋的可持续管理视为优先事项。一项协议,虽然它必须利用海洋给我们的好处,但也必须保证今世后代的福祉。我们为墨西哥在这件事上的伟大领导力为我们共同的海洋和海岸实现保护、繁荣和可持续生产的愿景而感到自豪,这将转化为我们社区的切实利益,特别是那些直接依赖于海洋”。

海洋小组秘书处负责人兼世界资源研究所海洋项目全球主任克里斯蒂安·泰勒基(Kristian Teleki)对有机会会面表示欢迎,并表示:“迫切需要采取果断行动来阻止海洋健康状况的下降。海洋小组各国展现的集体领导力对于在国际舞台上提升海洋问题和推动可持续海洋经济的行动至关重要,人类和地球——整个蓝色星球——可以繁荣发展

海洋超级年为海洋专家组提供了大量的机会来强调海洋提出的解决方案以及向可持续生产、有效保护和公平繁荣齐头并进的可持续海洋经济过渡的重要性。在墨西哥城举行的代表会议对于专家组成员来说是一个重要的里程碑,他们可以就新兴倡议、可持续海洋计划和专家组的扩大影响进行反思、合作和分享观点。

墨西哥负责多边事务和人权的副部长玛莎·德尔加多(Martha Delgado)在评论本次会议时表示:“墨西哥非常荣幸能够主办本次可持续海洋经济高级别小组第 25 次夏尔巴协作会议。我们很兴奋,因为正是通过这些空间,我们可以共同加强成员国之间的战略合作,以实现我们迈向有效的可持续海洋经济的目标。我向你保证,你可以在墨西哥找到一个宝贵的盟友,以实现专家组推动的新海洋行动议程”。

关于可持续海洋经济高级别小组

可持续海洋经济高级别小组(海洋小组)成立于 2018 年 9 月,是一项独特的倡议,由服务于世界领导人组成,这些领导人正在为可持续海洋经济创造动力,在这种经济中,有效保护、可持续生产和公平繁荣齐头并进手。通过与广泛的利益相关者合作,海洋小组旨在确定大胆的解决方案,将海洋健康、财富和公平联系起来,并在全球范围内加速和扩大响应行动。欲了解更多信息,请访问 www.oceanpanel.org@OceanPanel.

如需更多咨询,请联系 Katie.Wood@wri.org

Close
back to top

The High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Convenes the 25th Member Representative Meeting in Mexico City

May 9, 2022
Source: Ocean Panel
Press Release
download

MEXICO CITY, MEXICO (9 May 2022) – Representatives from the 16 member countries of the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy (Ocean Panel) came together for the 25th Member Representative meeting today.

Co-chaired by the Prime Minister of Norway and the President of Palau, the Ocean Panel also includes Australia, Canada, Chile, Fiji, France, Ghana, Indonesia, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Namibia, Portugal, and the United States of America. Together, these 16 nations represent approximately 46 percent of the world’s coastlines, 42 percent of its Economic Exclusive Zones, 25 percent of its fisheries, and 20 percent of its shipping fleet. The Ocean Panel is supported by the UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for the Ocean. Based on the shared understanding of the need to improve the state of the ocean, the countries in the Ocean Panel are committed to developing national Sustainable Ocean Plans with the aim of sustainably managing 100% of the ocean area under national jurisdiction.

This meeting marks the first in-person representative meeting since the COVID-19 pandemic began, as well as a pivotal point in 2022, hailed as the Ocean Super Year. Following on the heels of two events hosted by Panel members –the Our Ocean Conference which was held in mid-April this year in Koror, Palau and preceding the United Nations Ocean Conference which will be held in late-June in Lisbon, Portugal – the representative meeting provides a key opportunity to reflect on progress being made towards the ocean action agenda and opportunities to accelerate delivery or ensure continued momentum.

About the participation of Mexico in this Panel, the President of Mexico, Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador has clearly stated that “the transformation of Mexico brings general well-being to our population, therefore, it is essential for our country to take advantage of the resources of our seas and coasts in the most respectful and responsible manner. Being part of this Ocean Panel which gives us the opportunity to achieve social justice for those communities that depend on the health of the ocean, with a very clear framework that will help us to protect our natural resources.”

Norwegian Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Støre, and also Ocean Panel Co-Chair welcomed the opportunity to meet and said “I am encouraged by the dedication and cooperation within the Panel to build momentum toward achieving a sustainably managed ocean. Our aim is a future where we all are better poised to tackle global challenges such as climate change and food security, and identify ocean based solutions where both people and planet benefit.”

Commenting on the meeting the President of Palau, and Ocean Panel Co-Chair Surangel Whipps Jr. said, “in Palau, there is a saying, ‘in order to reach your destination, we all must paddle in the same direction’. At meetings of the Ocean Panel , we are reminded that only through continued collaboration will we be able to enhance progress toward our shared aim of a truly sustainable and just ocean economy where effective protection, sustainable production and equitable prosperity go hand-in-hand.”

Minister of Foreign Affairs of Mexico, Marcelo Ebrard, celebrated this meeting by appointing that “the current vision of the Mexican foreign policy considers as a priority to reach a common global agreement to achieve a sustainable management of the Ocean. An agreement that, although it must take advantage of the benefits that the ocean gives us, must also guarantee the well-being of present and future generations. We are proud of the great leadership that Mexico has had in this matter to ground the vision of protection, prosperity and sustainable production for our shared seas and coasts, which will be translated into tangible benefits for our communities, especially those that depend directly on the ocean”.

Head of the Secretariat of the Ocean Panel, and Global Director of the Ocean Programme at World Resources Institute, Kristian Teleki welcomed the opportunity to meet and said: “The need for decisive action to stem the decline in health of the ocean is urgent. The collective leadership shown by the countries of the Ocean Panel is crucial for elevating ocean issues on the international stage and driving action for a sustainable ocean economy where people & planet – the whole blue planet – can prosper

The Ocean Super year is a plethora of opportunities for the Ocean Panel to highlight the solutions the ocean presents and the importance of transitioning to a sustainable ocean economy where sustainable production, effective protection and equitable prosperity go hand-in-hand. The representative meeting held in Mexico City is a crucial milestone for Panel members to reflect, collaborate, and share perspectives on emerging initiatives, sustainable ocean plans, and the widening impact of the Panel.

Martha Delgado, Undersecretary for Multilateral Affairs and Human Rights of Mexico, commenting on this meeting stated that “it is a great honor for Mexico to host this twenty-fifth Sherpa Meeting of the High-Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy. We are excited because it is through these spaces that we can together strengthen the strategic collaboration between member countries to meet our goal of moving to an effective sustainable ocean economy. I assure you that you can find in Mexico a valuable ally to materialize the new ocean action agenda promoted by the Panel”.

About the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy

Established in September 2018, the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy (Ocean Panel) is a unique initiative made up of serving world leaders who are building momentum for a sustainable ocean economy in which effective protection, sustainable production and equitable prosperity go hand in hand. By working collaboratively with a wide array of stakeholders the Ocean Panel aims to identify bold solutions that bridge ocean health, wealth and equity and accelerate and scale responsive action worldwide. For more information visit www.oceanpanel.org and @OceanPanel.

For additional inquiries contact Katie.Wood@wri.org

Close
back to top