气候变化将摧毁区域渔业并导致超过 90% 的珊瑚礁旅游收入损失。世界领导人必须快速跟踪适应性管理流程

2019 年 12 月 6 日
资料来源:海洋小组

新闻稿

马德里,2019 年 12 月 6 日:气候变化有增无减可能导致珊瑚礁旅游收入损失超过 90%,而一些西非国家的鱼类资源预计将减少 85% (1),根据对各国的首次分析2气候对关键海洋部门的影响,今天在世界领导人聚集在马德里举行的联合国气候变化会议 (COP25) 时发布。

受可持续海洋经济高级别小组的委托,由 14 位政府首脑组成的小组 (3),“气候变化对海洋经济的预期影响”评估了全球对当地气候对三个最大海洋来源的影响——基于收入和就业——珊瑚礁旅游、野生捕捞渔业和海洋水产养殖。

该分析详细说明了气候变化将对海洋和海洋经济产生的广泛而严重的影响,并呼吁采取前瞻性、合作和公平的全球应对措施。它强调了采取行动遏制全球碳排放的紧迫性,以及采取适应性方法管理我们的海洋资源,以应对社会经济不平等现象的预期上升。这样的回应不仅可以提高这些重要行业的弹性和面向未来的能力,还可以提高利润。

 

史蒂夫盖恩斯,该分析的合著者 和高级别专家组 (4) 代表说:“直到现在,我们才开始理解全球供暖不减将对我们的关键海洋产业产生的全部力量——这令人不寒而栗。为了避免未来几十年即将发生的经济危机、对社区的广泛破坏、饥饿和资源冲突,我们必须紧急恢复海洋健康。这意味着采取迅速而雄心勃勃的行动来遏制气候变化,同时减轻我们对海洋施加的其他巨大压力。幸运的是,今天的大胆行动可能会给大多数国家带来巨大的好处。”

使用新模型评估国家和区域层面的影响,该分析基于政府间气候变化专门委员会 (IPCC) 的估计,即到 2050 年,气候导致的海洋健康下降将使全球经济每年损失 $428 亿美元和 $1.979 万亿美元到 2100 年。它强调,虽然不同国家和气候情景的严重程度差异很大,但受影响最严重的将是赤道沿线的发展中国家,这些国家对当前全球变暖的影响最小,而且通常依赖珊瑚礁旅游和鱼类资源维持当地生计并确保粮食安全。

一个主要发现是随着海洋变暖并在未来气候情景下变得更加酸性,鱼类将迁移到较冷水域的程度(5)。这将危及一些地区的渔业社区,并增加因资源转移而发生冲突的可能性。

 

加纳总统 Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo,说:“很明显,气候变化将加剧全球不平等,使像我们这样的发展中国家更难承受其可怕的影响。为了实现我们的非洲超越援助目标,同时避免资源冲突的增加,我们对气候变化的应对必须具有前瞻性、合作性和公平性。随着物种进出水域,重新思考我们如何管理海洋资源至关重要,这不仅对我们的可持续粮食生产和繁荣,而且对我们在中期的生存也至关重要。”

全球每年价值 $358 亿美元的珊瑚礁旅游业也将受到气候变化的严重影响。逐国分析详细表明,如果不减弱,到 2100 年,它将导致所有地区的珊瑚礁旅游收入损失超过 90%,埃及、印度尼西亚、墨西哥、泰国和澳大利亚的平均损失将上升到 95%,这是五个最大珊瑚礁的所在地旅游产业。即使采取行动减少碳排放,预计该行业仍将遭受高达66%的经济损失。

 

牙买加总理安德鲁·霍尔内斯,说:“像牙买加这样的小岛国对气候变化的贡献最小,但由于我们的地理位置,我们在身体上很脆弱,因此在财政上也很容易受到气候变化的影响。我们近四分之一的经济建立在旅游业之上,因此必须迅速采取行动避免这些对我们的珊瑚礁造成的灾难性影响。牙买加将发挥自己的作用,我们期待发达国家发挥他们的作用。”

该文件呼吁对管理气候变化对海洋经济的影响采取前瞻性、合作和公平的应对措施。它强调了适应性渔业管理和跨越国家、区域和国际边界的新合作协议的重要性,以确保物种在合适的栖息地转移和变化时得到良好的管理。它强调许多国家可以通过这种方法维持或提高未来的利润和捕捞量,但强调即使是最好的渔业改革也无法抵消最负面的气候变化情景 (6)。在这种情况下,发展可持续和适应气候变化的海洋水产养殖可能是一些国家解决方案的重要组成部分。为了帮助保护珊瑚礁旅游业,必须通过保护和恢复以及其他措施来增强海洋生态系统的复原力,例如减少旅游业对气候的影响。

 

Eric Schwaab,海洋、环境保护基金高级副总裁兼高级小组咨询网络成员,说:“如果我们不能同时对渔业管理和气候变化采取行动,损失的规模将是巨大的。气候变化已经从根本上改变了海洋生态系统,影响了鱼类的丰度和捕捞地点。但一切都没有丢失。如果我们限制碳排放并加快可持续和适应性渔业管理,海洋仍然可以成为全球数十亿人食物、营养、生计和福祉的主要来源。”

 

编者注:

(1) 在最不严重排放情景下,预计 8 个国家(其中 7 个位于西非)的最大可持续产量(MSY)将减少 5-10%。在最严重的情况下,117 个国家的 MSY 预计将减少 5-100%。预计塞内加尔以南和安哥拉以北的所有 18 个西非国家的 MSY 减少量将超过 85%。太平洋岛国也将因这一困境而遭受巨大损失,因为在所有排放情景下,除了斐济、汤加和新西兰之外,所有这些国家的 MSY 预计都会下降。

(2) 阅读《气候变化对海洋经济的预期影响》 这里.这是从现在到 2020 年 6 月发布的 16 篇蓝皮书系列之一。每篇论文都提供了强有力的事实基础,为 2020 年可持续海洋经济高级别小组的工作和最终建议提供信息。本文建立关于“海洋作为应对气候变化的解决方案:五个行动机会”的报告,该报告也是由可持续海洋经济高级别小组委托并于 2019 年 9 月发布的。该报告可在 这里.

(3) 可持续海洋经济高级别小组是一个独特的服务于世界领导人的团体,具有在政策、治理和金融方面触发、扩大和加速海洋保护和生产行动所需的权力。澳大利亚、加拿大、智利、斐济、加纳、印度尼西亚、牙买加、日本、肯尼亚、墨西哥、纳米比亚、挪威、帕劳和葡萄牙都派代表参加了小组。访问 oceanpanel.org 了解更多信息 世界资源研究所 (WRI) 作为高级别小组的秘书处。在 www.wri.org/our-work/topics/ocean 了解更多信息。

(4) 高级别专家组由来自世界各地的经验丰富的研究人员和政策分析师组成。该小组提供和审查相关的科学意见,并针对小组提出的问题和挑战提出切实可行的解决方案。 (5) 请参阅交互式网页 (https://sfg-ucsb.shinyapps.io/fishcast2/),了解气候变化对世界各地海洋渔业的国别影响以及通过气候适应性缓解这些影响的机会渔业管理改革。 (6) 在全球范围内,MSY 预计在最不严重的气候变化情景下增加 0.6%,在最严重的情景下减少 21.8%。

Close
back to top

Skip to main content

Climate change set to devastate regional fisheries and cause reef tourism revenue losses of over 90%. Adaptive management processes must be fast tracked by world leaders

Date
 
Location
Madrid

Madrid, December 6th, 2019: Unabated climate change could cause coral reef tourism revenue losses of over 90%, while some West African countries are forecast to see fish stocks decline by 85% (1), according to a first-of-its-kind analysis2 into country-by-country climate impacts on key ocean sectors, published today as world leaders gather at the U.N. climate change conference(COP25) in Madrid.

Commissioned by the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy, a group of 14 heads of government (3), ‘The expected impacts of climate change on the ocean economy’ assesses global to local climate impacts on three of the largest sources of ocean-based revenue and jobs - coral reef tourism, wild capture fisheries and marine aquaculture.

The analysis details the wide ranging and severe impacts that climate change will have on the ocean and ocean-based economy and calls for a forward looking, cooperative and equitable global response. It emphasises the urgency of action to curb global carbon emissions, coupled with an adaptive approach to the management of our ocean resources in order to tackle an expected rise in socioeconomic inequities. Such a response would not only improve resilience and future-proof these vital industries, but could also improve profits.

Steve Gaines, co-author of the analysis and High Level Panel Expert Group (4) representative, said: “Only now are we starting to comprehend the full force that unabated global heating will unleash on our key ocean industries - and it is chilling. To avert an impending economic crisis, widespread devastation to communities, hunger and resource conflicts in coming decades, we must urgently restore ocean health. That means taking rapid and ambitious action to curb climate change, while easing the other enormous pressures we put on the ocean. Fortunately, bold actions today could have dramatic benefits for most countries.”

Using new models to assess impacts at country and regional levels, the analysis builds on estimates by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) that climate-induced declines in ocean health will cost the annual global economy $428 billion by 2050 and $1.979 trillion by 2100. It underlines that, while the severity varies significantly across countries and climate scenarios, worst impacted will be developing countries along the equator that have contributed the least to the current state of global warming and which often rely on reef tourism and fish stocks to sustain local livelihoods and ensure food security.

A major finding is the extent to which fish will migrate to cooler waters as the ocean warms and becomes more acidic under future climate scenarios (5). This will jeopardise fishing communities in some regions and increase the potential for conflicts over shifting resources.

President of Ghana, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, said: “It is clear that climate change is poised to exacerbate global inequities, making it even harder for developing countries like ours to withstand its dire impacts. To achieve our objective of an Africa beyond Aid while averting the rise of resource conflicts, our response to climate change must be forward looking, cooperative and equitable. Rethinking how we manage our marine resources as species shift in and out of waters is vital, not only for our sustainable food production and prosperity, but for our very survival over the medium term.”

Reef tourism, worth US$35.8 billion globally every year, will also be severely impacted by climate change. Country by country analysis details that, if unabated, it will cause reef tourism revenue losses of over 90% across all regions by 2100, rising to an average of 95% in Egypt, Indonesia, Mexico, Thailand and Australia, home to the five largest coral reef tourism industries. Even if action is taken to cut carbon emissions, the industry is still expected to suffer economic losses of up to 66%.

Prime Minister of Jamaica, Andrew Holness, said: “Small island states, like Jamaica, have contributed least to climate change yet, by virtue of our geography, we are left physically vulnerable, and thereby fiscally vulnerable, to its impacts. Almost a quarter of our economy is built on tourism, so rapid action to avert these catastrophic impacts on our coral reefs is imperative. Jamaica will play its part, and we look to developed nations to play theirs.”

The paper calls for a forward looking, cooperative and equitable response to managing the impacts of climate change on the ocean economy. It emphasises the importance of adaptive fisheries management and new cooperative agreements across national, regional and international boundaries to ensure species are well-managed as suitable habitats shift and change. It underlines that many countries could maintain or improve profits and catches into the future through this approach yet highlights that even the best fisheries reforms will not be able to offset the most negative climate change scenarios (6). In these circumstances, developing sustainable and climate resilient marine aquaculture could be an important part of the solution for some countries. To help preserve the reef tourism industry, the resilience of ocean ecosystems must be enhanced through conservation and restoration and other measures, such as reducing the climate impact of tourism. 

Eric Schwaab, Senior Vice President, Oceans, Environmental Defense Fund and High Level Panel Advisory Network member, said: “The magnitude of losses will be substantial if we fail to take action on fisheries management and climate change in tandem. Climate change is already fundamentally altering ocean ecosystems, impacting fish abundance and where they can be caught. But all is not lost. If we limit carbon emissions and fast track sustainable and adaptive fisheries management, the ocean can still be a major source of food, nutrition, livelihoods and well being for billions of people around the world.”


Notes to Editors:


(1) Under the least severe emissions scenario, eight countries, seven of which are in West Africa, are projected to experience reductions in Maximum Sustainable Yield (MSY) of 5-10%. Under the most severe scenario,117 countries are projected to experience reductions in MSY of 5-100%. All 18 West African countries south of Senegal and north of Angola are forecast to experience reductions in MSY greater than 85%. The Pacific Island States will also suffer greatly with this predicament as MSY is expected to decrease, under all emissions scenarios, in all of them except Fiji, Tonga and New Zealand. (2) Read ‘The expected impacts of climate change on the ocean economy’ here:www.oceanpanel.org/bluepapers. This is one of a series of 16 blue papers to be published between now and June 2020. Each paper offers a robust fact base to inform the work and the final recommendations of the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy in 2020.This paper builds on the report ‘The Ocean as a Solution to Climate Change: Five Opportunities for Action,’which was also commissioned by the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy and launched in September 2019. That report can be found at https://oceanpanel.org/climate (3) The High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy is a unique grouping of serving world leaders with the authority needed to trigger, amplify and accelerate action for ocean protection and production in policy, governance and finance. Australia, Canada, Chile, Fiji, Ghana, Indonesia, Jamaica, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Namibia, Norway, Palau and Portugal are all represented on the Panel. Learn more at oceanpanel.org World Resources Institute (WRI) serves as the Secretariat for the High Level Panel. Learn more at www.wri.org/our-work/topics/ocean.
(4) The High Level Panel Expert Group is made up of experienced researchers and policy analysts from around the world. The group provides and reviews relevant scientific input and proposes practical solutions to the questions and challenges raised by the Panel. (5) See the interactive web face (https://sfg-ucsb.shinyapps.io/fishcast2/) for country - by - country impacts of climate change on marine fisheries around the world and opportunities to mitigate these impacts through climate-adaptive fisheries management reforms. (6) Globally, MSY is forecast to increase by 0.6% under the least severe climate change scenario and decrease by 21.8% under the most severe scenario.