Featured: Climate: An Area of Opportunity Arrow Featured: 10 ocean activities to look out for at COP27 Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Leaders Meet during UN General Assembly Arrow Featured: The Ocean Panel Launches its first-ever progress report, ‘Tracking Blue: From Ambition to Action for a Sustainable Ocean Economy’ Arrow Featured: United Kingdom Joins High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy Arrow Featured: Ocean Panel Launches Sustainable Tourism Report and Accompanying Expert Perspectives Arrow Featured: Joint Statement by Ocean Panel Leaders at the United Nations Ocean Conference Arrow

Andrés Manuel López Obrador

May 26, 2022

Andrés Manuel López Obrador was born on November 13, 1953, in Tepetitán, a town in the municipality of Macuspana, Tabasco. He has a degree in Political Science and Public Administration from the National Autonomous University of Mexico (1973 – 1976).

He began his political career by supporting the candidacy for senator of the Tabasco, poet Carlos Pellicer, for the state of Tabasco. In 1977, he was director of the Tabasco Indigenous Institute, where he carried out important work dedicated to the Chontal Indians.

In 1984, he returned to the Federal District to assume the direction of Social Promotion of the National Consumer Institute. From August 2, 1996, to April 10, 1999, he held the position of president of the Party of the Democratic Revolution (PRD).

Mr. Andrés Manuel López Obrador distinguished himself for being the main critic of the bank rescue, known as Fobaproa, in 1999.

From December 2000 to July 2005, he was Head of Government of the Federal District, becoming the first president to assume the position for six years. In 2004, the City Mayors survey rated him as the second best mayor in the world.

He was three times a candidate for the presidency of the Republic, in the elections of 2006, 2012 and 2018. In his third nomination for the position as head of the Executive Power in 2018, he won the election with 53.19% of the votes, which gave him an advantage of 17 million 503 thousand 363 votes against his closest opponent.

He assumed the position of constitutional president of the United Mexican States on December 1, 2018, the day on which a regime change began, the Fourth Transformation of Mexico.

back to top