新的全球联盟,2030 年海洋行动,支持制定和实施可持续海洋计划的表格

2021 年 11 月 2 日
资料来源:海洋小组
新闻稿
download

伦敦(2021 年 12 月 7 日)——一个新的全球联盟, 海洋行动2030,今天启动,致力于为各国提供技术和财政援助,以制定和实施可持续海洋计划。这些计划是可持续海洋经济高级别小组(海洋小组)的核心建议,是综合、可持续和包容性海洋管理的基础,造福于人类、自然和经济。

海洋行动 2030 涉及全球 16 家领先的技术和金融机构,致力于解决与向可持续海洋经济过渡相关的问题。成员机构有:亚洲开发银行、蓝色繁荣联盟、环境保护基金、欧洲复兴开发银行、联合国粮食及农业组织、全球环境基金、美洲开发银行、政府间海洋学委员会(IOC)教科文组织、海洋保护协会、生物多样性公约秘书处、大自然保护协会、联合国开发计划署、联合国环境规划署、世界银行、世界资源研究所和世界自然基金会。

“世界银行全力支持各国走上蓝色经济之路。我们已经与要求财政援助的国家合作,以实施高级别小组的建议,”说 卡琳·肯珀, 世界银行环境、自然资源和蓝色经济全球总监,在联盟成立仪式上。

“可持续海洋计划的实施可以为国家水域内三分之一的海洋带来改进、包容和综合管理,”说 朱利安·巴比埃,联合国教科文组织政府间海洋学委员会(IOC)海洋政策负责人。 “凭借其在海洋空间规划方面的专业知识,IOC-UNESCO 支持各国从孤立的部门管理转向将海洋视为可持续和公平发展引擎的综合规划框架。”

该联盟提供一系列技术和财政支持。例如,世界银行支持其客户国家实施蓝色经济方法,重点关注健康海洋中海洋部门的可持续和综合发展。 IOC-UNESCO 现在提供一个交钥匙项目,帮助各国制定整合经济和环境规划和分区的海洋空间规划。蓝色繁荣联盟刚刚与斐济共和国合作启动了一项计划,以帮助该国实现可持续管理 100% 的海洋和海洋资源的愿景,同时履行其到 2030 年保护 30% 的全球领导承诺。

今天还推出了新的海洋小组委托指南, '100% 可持续海洋管理:可持续海洋计划简介'.该指南与来自世界各地的领先专家合作编写,并得到海洋专家组国家的贡献,深入探讨了可持续海洋计划的“谁、什么、何时、何地、为什么以及如何”。它定义了九个主要属性以及一套有用的组件,这些组件构成了可以增加购买、投资和行动的有效计划。

“可持续海洋计划简介旨在帮助各国开始或加速迈向可持续海洋经济的旅程,”说 彼得豪根博士,挪威海洋研究所项目主任,海洋专家组专家组主席。 “该指南适用于所有国家,无论其起点和国情如何。”

2020 年 12 月,海洋小组成员宣布了他们的共同目标,即在可持续海洋计划的支持下,可持续地管理其国家管辖范围内的所有海洋区域。一年后,可持续海洋规划指南的发布是朝着推进这一雄心勃勃的标题承诺迈出的重要一步。海洋行动 2030 联盟的成员将支持这一努力。

关于可持续海洋经济高级别小组

成立于 2018 年 9 月的可持续海洋经济高级别小组 (Ocean Panel) 是一项独特的倡议,由服务于世界领导人组成,他们正在为可持续海洋经济创造动力,其中有效保护、可持续生产和公平繁荣齐头并进手。通过与广泛的利益相关者合作,海洋小组旨在确定大胆的解决方案,将海洋健康、财富和公平联系起来,并在全球范围内加速和扩大响应行动。欲了解更多信息,请访问 www.oceanpanel.org 和 @OceanPanel。

如需更多咨询,请联系 Katie.Wood@wri.org

Close
back to top

New Global Coalition, Ocean Action 2030, Forms to Support the Development and Implementation of Sustainable Ocean Plans

Nov 2, 2021
Source: Ocean Panel
Press Release
download

LONDON (December 7, 2021)—A new global coalition, Ocean Action 2030, launched today, dedicated to providing countries with technical and financial assistance to develop and implement Sustainable Ocean Plans. These plans, a core recommendation of the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy (Ocean Panel), are a foundation for integrated, sustainable and inclusive ocean management that benefits people, nature and the economy.

Ocean Action 2030 involves 16 leading technical and financial institutions working around the world on issues relevant to the transition to a sustainable ocean economy. The member institutions are: Asian Development Bank, Blue Prosperity Coalition, Environmental Defense Fund, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, Global Environment Facility, Inter-American Development Bank, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO, Ocean Conservancy, Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity, The Nature Conservancy, United Nations Development Programme, United Nations Environment Programme, The World Bank, World Resources Institute and World Wide Fund for Nature.

“The World Bank is fully committed to supporting countries as they embark on a path towards a Blue Economy approach. We are already working with countries that have requested financial assistance to implement the recommendations of the High Level Panel,” said Karin Kemper, Global Director of Environment, Natural Resources and Blue Economy at the World Bank, on the launch of the coalition.

“The implementation of Sustainable Ocean Plans could bring about improved, inclusive and integrated management to the one-third of the ocean that is within national waters,” said Julian Barbière, Head of Marine Policy at the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of UNESCO. “Building on its expertise in marine spatial planning, IOC-UNESCO supports countries to move away from isolated sectoral management to an integrated planning framework that considers the ocean as an engine of sustainable and equitable development.”

The coalition offers a range of technical and financial support. For instance, the World Bank provides support to its client countries to implement a Blue Economy approach focused on the sustainable and integrated development of oceanic sectors in healthy oceans. The IOC-UNESCO now offers a turnkey program to help countries develop marine spatial plans that integrate economic and environmental planning and zoning. The Blue Prosperity Coalition has just launched a program in partnership with the Republic of Fiji, to assist the country’s vision to sustainably manage 100% of its ocean and marine resources while implementing their global leadership commitments to protect 30% by 2030.

Also launched today was the new Ocean Panel-commissioned guide, ‘100% Sustainable Ocean Management: An Introduction to Sustainable Ocean Plans’. Prepared in collaboration with leading experts from around the world and with contributions from Ocean Panel countries, the guide delves into the “who, what, when, where, why and how” of Sustainable Ocean Plans. It defines nine main attributes along with a suite of useful components that make up effective planning that can increase buy-in, investment and action.

“An Introduction to Sustainable Ocean Plans is designed to help countries begin or accelerate their journey toward a sustainable ocean economy,” said Dr. Peter Haugan, Program Director at the Institute of Marine Research in Norway and Chair of the Ocean Panel’s Expert Group. “The guidance is relevant to all countries, regardless of their different starting points and national circumstances.”

In December 2020, members of the Ocean Panel announced their shared aim to sustainably manage all of the ocean area under their national jurisdictions, supported by Sustainable Ocean Plans. One year in, the launch of guidance on sustainable ocean planning is an important step toward advancing this ambitious headline commitment. The members of the Ocean Action 2030 coalition will support this effort.

About the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy

Established in September 2018, the High Level Panel for a Sustainable Ocean Economy (Ocean Panel) is a unique initiative made up of serving world leaders who are building momentum for a sustainable ocean economy in which effective protection, sustainable production and equitable prosperity go hand in hand. By working collaboratively with a wide array of stakeholders the Ocean Panel aims to identify bold solutions that bridge ocean health, wealth and equity and accelerate and scale responsive action worldwide. For more information visit www.oceanpanel.org and @OceanPanel.

For additional inquiries contact Katie.Wood@wri.org

Close
back to top