Andrew Holness

26 mai 2022

Andrew Michael Holness a été élu neuvième Premier ministre de la Jamaïque en 2016. Il a précédemment été Premier ministre d'octobre 2011 à janvier 2012. Il est le plus jeune Premier ministre de la Jamaïque à ce jour et le premier à être né après l'indépendance nationale.

Holness a été élu pour la première fois député du Parti travailliste jamaïcain à l'âge de 25 ans et en est à son quatrième mandat consécutif. Auparavant, il a été porte-parole de l'opposition sur les terres et le développement, le logement et l'éducation, et ministre de l'Éducation, où il s'est concentré sur l'amélioration de l'alphabétisation en Jamaïque et a supervisé l'introduction du programme d'avancement de carrière - un programme de formation technique et professionnelle postsecondaire. pour les jeunes seuls. Il a conservé le portefeuille de l'éducation en tant que premier ministre.

Holness est née à Spanish Town, Sainte-Catherine. Il a obtenu un BSc en études de gestion et une maîtrise en études du développement de l'Université des Antilles. Avant d'entrer en politique, il a travaillé comme directeur exécutif de la Voluntary Organization for Uplifting Children.

Close
back to top

Featured: Countries sign onto a joint declaration on ocean and climate action Arrow Featured: 10 ocean events to watch out for at COP28 Arrow Featured: Read the new report: The Ocean as a Solution to Climate Change Arrow Featured: Read the Ocean Panel Leaders joint communiqué issued at the 2023 UN General Assembly Arrow

Andrew Holness

Andrew Michael Holness was elected Jamaica’s ninth Prime Minister in 2016. He previously served as Prime Minister from October 2011 to January 2012. He is Jamaica’s youngest Prime Minister to date, and the first to be born after National Independence.

Holness was first elected a Member of Parliament for the Jamaica Labour Party at the age of 25 and is in his fourth consecutive term. Previously, he served as Opposition Spokesperson on Land and Development, Housing, and Education, and as Minister of Education, where he focused on improving literacy in Jamaica and oversaw the introduction of the Career Advancement Programme –a post-secondary technical and vocational training programme for unattached youth. He has retained the Education Portfolio as Prime Minister.

Holness was born in Spanish Town, St Catherine. He gained a BSc in Management Studies and a MSc in Development Studies from the University of the West Indies. Before entering politics, he worked as Executive Director of the Voluntary Organisation for Uplifting Children.

Close
back to top